75

4.3 based on 75 customer reviews

46
19
4
2
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

76 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent pictures with varying degrees of light.

DSCHX80 15/02/2018 by JimmyT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really think this is a great camera for the price. Gives me everything I need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact but loaded with features

DSCHX80 12/02/2018 by Mr Mustache (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a compact point and shoot camera with a viewfinder for travel photos and the HX80 is exactly what I was looking for. Small enough to put in a pocket but with 30x zoom and loads of features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The flip monitor and the view finder

DSCHX80 09/02/2018 by miners (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had several sony camera's, give me achance to prove this one out. A month or so. One issue I am concerned with is the photo protam from Sony..needs work and make it simpler for some people. Perhaos you have other I am not aware of, if so, let me know..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Short on features for the price!

DSC-HX80 05/02/2018 by kstans (USA)

While it's great to have a view finder on a point and shoot I am very disappointed in the lack of features on this camera. For the price, I expected basic touch-up, d-lighting and at least crop capabilities. I have a mid-line Nikon that does a fantastic job of editing before I take photos to the PC editing software. Additionally, I think it's awkward that the camera turns off when you close the view finder.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features and so small

DSC-HX80 02/02/2018 by Mick7378 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is fantastic, I thought being so compact it would be rather limited, but was I surprised, I would say the quality of the pictures are better than my Nikon D3200. The zoom is fantastic I just cant tell you how impressed I am with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super image slandscape s flowers .

DSC-HX80 24/01/2018 by no nick name (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

ffotos on flicker [ stanleyrs] and youpic and for emailing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good add camera

DSCHX80 09/01/2018 by Sharon44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did buy this camera for a vacation as a second camera. It was so easy to use and carry I used it as much as my main camera. The zoom is great with speedy focus.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Really useful

DSC-HX80 06/01/2018 by Phil4355 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for Christmas to replace previous WX350 which has gone to another family member biggest plus is viewfinder which is a god send in bright sunlight as on the WX350 couldn’t see the screen .Camera takes really good pictures and will be invaluable in years to come as just pop in your pocket and take anywhere and I use these compact cameras more than camera with interchangeable lenses would definitely recommend this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Terrible Camera, Waste of Money

DSCHX80 03/01/2018 by erapps (USA)

This camera is terrible. The image quality is worse than my smartphone, which has less pixel-age.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Astonishing package

DSC-HX80 01/01/2018 by traveller327 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The technology packed into this very compact camera is astonishing. It out zooms massive cameras optically with more digitally, and its anti-blur technology lets you take distant photos in poor light and without shake. Great for slipping in a pocket on my worldwide travels, but outperforms heavier bigger unwieldy cameras. Add a mini-tripod and mobile phone control and it's superb. It's almost too small for my fingers but just OK!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I like it!

DSCHX80 28/12/2017 by Suzy463 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this for Christmas. I also have a Sony a300 and this is the first time I can fit my camera in my purse! I like it so far. It is easy to use and compact. Resolution is good. Zoom is good. I wish the flash popped up automatically.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SONY HX80

DSCHX80 25/12/2017 by Nickyjoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera take excellent photo's and video's are high quality !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slick Camera

DSCHX80 11/12/2017 by SugaBunny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the HX80 after reading many reviews and comparing with other compact cameras. Wanted this camera to carry all of the time so that I never miss a Sony "snap it" moment. Love that it shoots in Aperture, Shutter, or Manual Mode. Also since I'm familiar with DSLR and Mirrorless cameras found this camera easy to navigate and find the various features, which I found most in a day without reading the manual. Have had the HX80 for about a week and find that it takes great pictures inside and out. Love the popup viewfinder. I like the feel of the camera, the sizing is great, easy to handle and really easy to carry in my purse or my jacket/coat pocket. Also purchased the jacket case for it that fits it perfect. Slick camera with cool case. Highly recommend the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-HX80 30/11/2017 by Harri54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does everything i need and small enough not to be a pain to carry around

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great camera

DSC-HX80 30/11/2017 by Phyl1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago, and although I haven't used it properly yet it appears to be an excellent buy. It's easy to use, although I find a couple of things to be a little small to see, as I have to wear reading glasses. That applied to my old camera too, so not such a critism really. The pictures I've taken indoors appear to be of good quality, so I'm sure it will serve me well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features but too small.

DSC-HX80 29/11/2017 by Jenoseel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a Lumix DMC-TZ60 which has similar functions. HX80 is easier to use with various options easily accessible. One major advantage - viewfinder is far superior with very clear view. Only major disadvantage - much too small, especially for those like me with bigger fingers which made some controls awkward to access.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Includes everything!

DSCHX80 12/11/2017 by KatyBug (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a small camera that had the features of my large Canon. This little gem has even more features! I just have to read up on how to use them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Small, practical, easy to use. Just love it

DSCHX80 09/11/2017 by Hot Tamale (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This an awesome picture, I'm so happy I purchased it, and can't wait to go on my cruise starting tomorrow and create lasting memories

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Impressed with new features

DSCHX80 08/11/2017 by Zeppelinrules (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like all of the improvements SONY has made since the last Cyber-shot camera I bought in 2011. You guys rock!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Sidekick ever

DSC-HX80 06/11/2017 by picturepenni (USA)

I bought this camera as a back up to my DSLR, and it was the best decision made this year. I recently have used it to take pictures at my Grandsons football games and practices. I am just thrilled with the outcome. It was more versatile than my DSLR

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great features

DSCHX80 01/11/2017 by Dnyanesh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

handy,handy,perfect,perfect...............................................................................................................

0

3

0

New Camera - Not ready to review

DSCHX80 27/10/2017 by TedL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this camera. It has a fairly steep learning curve since I've shot Nikon for years. I'll write a review and post it when I've used it for a few weeks or months. Not ready to recommend at this time.

0

14

0

Mr

DSC-HX80 15/10/2017 by Whittle (United Kingdom)

Purchased three months ago. Main attraction was the 30x optical zoom, the sweep pan, and the compact size.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

17

0

Disappointed!

DSC-HX80 12/10/2017 by WRB46 (USA)

This is my 4th Sony p&s camera (DSC-P72, HX5V, HX30), and the first that has a maddening glitch. Shooting video of a bar band lit by varyingly colored lights, the camera cannot maintain focus. I chatted with Sony - no answers. I sent it in for - repairs? overhaul? (Sony repair center in CT) - no improvement. This never happened with any of the other 3 cameras, nor with my Sony Xperia compact phone. My recommendation answer ONLY applies with a caveat about this video glitch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfection in a small package!

DSCHX80 04/10/2017 by cptvideo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little powerhouse has it all--WiFi, NFC, eye level viewfinder, LCD flip screen, great Zeiss zoom lens and the list goes on. My first pictures were all keepers! Can't wait to shoot HiDef movies. But the best part-it fits in my pocket! The build quality looks first rate. Puts the fun back into serious picture taking--I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-HX80 26/09/2017 by Tezza88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for my trip to kefalonia and the quality of the photographs are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-HX80 25/09/2017 by Geowulf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little camera, fantastic picture quality and plenty of features. The viewfinder appears a little flimsy so I tend not to use it for fear of breaking it. The flip screen more than makes up for it though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

best camera I have ever had

DSCHX80 23/09/2017 by dummy1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes pictures with pop up view finder that you cannot see on screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful Color Pictures

DSCHX80 10/09/2017 by Frederick 848 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In the last 3 weeks I have used this camera to photograph a major Corvette show, plus Grand Canyon, Bryce and Zion Canyon and Lake Powell. Does well from moving buses and boats. Produces the best low light level shots I have ever taken. View finder is great for bright sun light. (Focus slide on view finder is a little awkward but works). Small and easy to carry in padded belt case by Case Logic co. Very happy with purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera with one problem

DSC-HX80 09/09/2017 by pgm1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for almost about two months, and have been really impressed by how much it has to offer for such a small camera. Image quality is nice and the zoom is the main reason I bought the HX80, and it's amazing having that range from such a smal package. It's nicely built too, feels really solid. However, there is one serious problem, that I've read about from other owners of the HX80 and HX90, who were complaining about dust on the sensor. Yes, you would think that as it is a sealed unit, this should not be an issue, but it is. I have to send my HX80 away, for how long I don't know, to get it cleaned. I keep my camera clean and in a bag at all times when I'm not using it, so this will happen again, probably when out of warranty!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed.

DSCHX80 31/08/2017 by wolf2cat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 5 months ago. My children are older teenagers now, so I don't take nearly the photos I use to. Now its only used at a family gathering here or a week's vacation there. Since owning this camera I have experienced times when the lens will not deploy when it is turned on (although the screen comes one) and just today, took a bunch of photos while at the zoo and not a single photo was actually captured/recorded. All operations of the camera indicated that it was in full working condition. I don't know why none of my zoo photos were actually captured or why it seems to be working fine now that I'm home. I have owned several Sony cameras over the years and have always loved them. Not feeling a lot of love for this Sony camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Excellent camera

DSC-HX80 28/08/2017 by Kimbellina (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just took the camera out walking and set on auto, this is the result !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Camera

DSCHX80 27/08/2017 by Trizman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice camera. Bought this for our trip to Disney world. We have used this so far at different places that we go. My only problem with it is the the WiFi.I can make it work at home but not anyplace else. Always ask for the code for the place you want to use the WiFi . How would you find the code for WiFi when it's free at different locations. Disney has free WiFi and I will not be avle to use it there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round

DSC-HX80 25/08/2017 by Gonnagetcha (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera two months ago, and have to say that it is extremely easy to use, and produces good quality pictures and video. Being very disappointed with my previous digital cameras (Fuji) as an all round performer, I decided to try the Sony. I am so glad I did, any scenario I have used the Camera in, it has performed above and beyond my expectations. The ease at which I can transfer pictures via the app is very impressive too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony camera DCS-HX80

DSCHX80 24/08/2017 by Steppete (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchase this camera for a birthday gift for my wife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Love the features

DSC-HX80 09/08/2017 by Cosmic (USA)

I bought this 3 weeks ago, I have since taken selfies, candids, and used the movie feature. I love the aperture setting and the intelligent settings. I bought this to have a quick point and shoot. I use Sony exclusively and chose between this and the NEX 5. This was more compact and I don't need to change lenses. The features are very similar to my professional cameras (a900,a77,a99). I have fun with this one and can grab and go without packing extra accessories. Love the view finder option. The sun out west in the desert is extreme and makes it hard to see the screen. No problem with this one! Love the camera, the functions, the ease of use and programing. I definitely recommend if you don't need GPS. If you want GPS take a look at the next generation DSC HX90V

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super compact camera

DSCHX80 06/08/2017 by jjfl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased yesterday, but I am already impressed with this camera. Still learning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Overly-complex, confusing and frustrating

DSC-HX80 24/07/2017 by Karldoog (USA)

I've had a few months to use and review this camera. This purchase replaced a Sony Cybershot H90, which was pretty much the PERFECT camera. I bought this new one hoping it would be a perfect replacement and perform in the same general manner, but I was wrong. It's WAAY too overly complex, with redundancy everywhere and no real convincing information or direction as to why you should use one setting versus another. The manual is vague in explaining things clearly. I found myself trying to understand the settings and options, and would get these icons and features stuck "on" without any idea how to turn them off. There are so many icons and available settings and options and features that are completely unexplained that I don't even know what half of them are, and have tried in vain to understand how to use them. I'm no "novice" with cameras like this, but this one has too many features to make it intuitive and easy to choose one for the right situation. There are a dizzying, confusing array of parameters and adjustments assigned to both "menu" and a "Function" buttons, PLUS features, options, and parameters assigned not only to the "spin wheel" on the face of the camera but to its up/down function as well! It's like being in some kind of a mirror maze.. Some settings don't actually show the lighting conditions of the photo until after the photo is taken. This results in some photos being horribly washed out, others too dark. In the old H90, I could confidently shoot almost any scene or subject almost intuitively. On this one, I've missed more good photos than anything. So many of them come out blurred or badly exposed. The worst thing is that the photos are almost invariably too "cold", with way too much blue in them. Of course you can "warm" them up in a photo editing program, but it's annoying. The camera also has a setting to correct this, but it seems that you have to do it for each and every photo, every time. Forget using the "memory" feature to save this setting. It's so inadequately explained in the manual as to make it useless. I definitely have "buyer's remorse". :(

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

Very Pleased

DSC-HX80 19/07/2017 by Catboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this before going on holiday to Italy, hadn't much time to check out all the options, but found it very simple to use with the menu display. Great little camera, light and compact and excellent quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use and great outcomes

DSCHX80 13/07/2017 by Elena7070707 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a cero tehnology type person, so I was afraid that I would not be able to use the camera well. I was wrong, it is easy to use and I love the capturing of moments with quality it gives me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Frustrating.

DSCHX80 04/07/2017 by Marzumo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I couldn't turn the thing on. The basic operating instructions are not at all clear. I had to go through the time and date settings about 10 times before I accidentally clicked on the right thing and got the camera to start functioning. I'm having a certain degree of buyer's remorse

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

View Finder a Great Attribute

DSCHX80 27/06/2017 by Mongel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this last night and are glad we did. What sold us was the optional view finder on the camera. We live in an area that has bright sunshine almost everyday. With just a display on the back, it is hard to compose a picture. The optional view finder on this camera eliminates this problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

It feels flimsy and has failed within one week

DSC-HX80 16/06/2017 by Z M G (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The pop ups for the view finder and flash feel so flimsy tha t I am reluctant to use them as I feel they could break at any time The first time I took out the SD card and tried to re insert it it would not click down I took the camera back to the shop and it was replaced The card problem has disappeared but my longer term reliability doubts have not Having said this the actual results in terms of photographs have bee very good and the useability is excellent

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0