Skip to Content
202

4.4 based on 202 customer reviews

115
68
12
4
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20/03/2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21/09/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

202 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp zeiss lens.

DSC-HX90V 12/11/2017 by Dixy (United Kingdom)

This is an early birthday present, it's wonderful, I can send the photos on wifi to my iPad mini. It has a viewfinder, flash, tilting screen, 30 times zoom, it won an award last year too. I like taking macro shots and landscapes and it gives very good results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Features

DSC-HX90V 11/11/2017 by wwwwwwwwwww (United Kingdom)

I have the 60v model and bought this one for my wife. The inclusion of a viewfinder is a major improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good camera

DSC-HX90V 31/10/2017 by Niboryad44 (United Kingdom)

The Sony HX90V with view finder is perfect now when taking pictures in bright sun light, in fact i use it all the time it is that good, reduction in size of camera is good , the only point i would make is that the video button is quite small to deal with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

DSCHX90V/B 23/10/2017 by Eli1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to be serve as a light and small camera that is a step-up from a point-and-shoot. The camera impresses me greatly. The image quality is incredible. The normal digital camera functionality is excellent. The additional features such as video, manual programming, and wifi are astounding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent zoom & features/lacks quality longevity

DSC-HX90V 23/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera 14 months ago. I’d spent some time discussing the options of various cameras, I already have robust cameras for sports etc, but wanted something conpact with a great lens and zoom and wifi. The camera was everything I’d expected and I was very pleased with it until the 14th month of ownership. Then the screw stopped working, the camera sustained no knocks or water etc, one minimise I’m viewing images through the screen then then 30 mins later it’s stopped providing any data via the screen. Not the quality I’d expect and I’m very dissapointed. I’ve a canon G10 and G12 plus an Olympus Tough TG2 and TG4. All great camera and have taken some tough travels. Sadly all lack a good zoom lens. All have still perform as new! But not my Sony. This was my First Sony camera and whilst impressed by its features somethings not right to have a screen simply fail on me. ☹️

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Full of Features

DSC-HX90V 21/10/2017 by Jimnjo (United Kingdom)

Excellent camera, handy size without all the hassle of a full size SLR. Some of the buttons etc are a little small but once you get used to using the camera it’s soon easy to find the best way to use all the features. recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera for it's size

DSC-HX90V 14/10/2017 by Tedtek (United Kingdom)

I Bought this camera because of its small size and picture quality.The zeiss 30X lens is stunning for a lens of such a small form factor,also the camera is very good on auto but has all the manual control you could want. The popup viewfinder is very good to, and the rear screen that can be flipped up for taking shots from the waist ect is very useful and a good size and quality in all it is a great travel camera for someone who doesn't want to carry a larger camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent performance but some poor design points

DSC-HX90V 12/10/2017 by Lisbon Shopper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago as a replacement for a stolen WX500. I like the performance and enhancements but some external design features are still very irritating. The battery needs frequent charging but this facility is so fussy. The little flap covering the socket gets in the way of attaching the lead, which has to be inserted the right way round. And why is the charging light hidden inside this unit rather than visually obvious? Second, there is an easy switch for the flash but the on/off for the camera is small, flat to the surface and needs a finger nail poked at it for efficient operation. Very poor design. This, I will say, is untypical of normal Sony design. Last and positive, Wi-fi export of photos is excellent and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Awesome zoom

DSCHX90VB 05/10/2017 by Travelbrigitte (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few month’s ago and took it already on many trips . It’s my “ always by me camera” it’s in my purse ! I take it with me on my bicycle tours or motorbike tours ! Just a fantastic tiny product ! Highly recommend this one !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and outstanding pictures

DSCHX90VB 25/09/2017 by Thayne65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to take on a trip across the US. And it was the best. Small, compact size made it easy to take everywhere. Features let me take landscapes, night scenes and fireworks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-HX90V 24/09/2017 by Carrie43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very compact ideal for handbags but still takes excellent photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super spec

DSC-HX90V 23/09/2017 by Nakedbaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is without doubt the most feature packed camera in its size. The specification is incredible. Really easy to use too and the WiFi functionality means photos can be sent on really easily. Battery life seems very good too plus it can be charged with a phone charger or power bank if away from civilisation!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

software up date

DSCHX90VB 25/08/2017 by Trikeman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish I could put GPS or real location on finished picture, it does show location on Sony application but cant seem to transfer data to pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Excellent quality

DSC-HX90V 22/08/2017 by Beefriendly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Zeiss lens gives superb quality images. The intelligent auto setting is very useful. The camera fails to focus if the light is too poor and prompts one to use the flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great compact.

DSC-HX90V 22/08/2017 by BAZ 41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously owned a DSC-HX9V and until it ceased to operate I was very happy with the camera I had however owned the camera for several years and decided to stay with Sony. This DSC-HX90V is far more intuitive to use should you want to use Shutter Priority Aperture Priority or even Bracketing. It is great to use simply as a point and shoot camera. So far I am extremely happy with this product and I would recommend it. Picture quality seems excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great pictures!

DSCHX90V/B 19/08/2017 by Traveler 24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received my camera and couldn't wait to play. I had read ALL the reviews and found the negatives to others didn't concern me. Weighs a bit more than I thought it would, but love the features and the quality of pictures. The 180 viewing screen is one of my favorite features. It is an advanced 'idot' camera if you want a straight point and shot you do not need all the features this camera has.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HX90V operates in -25deg C.

DSC-HX90V 16/08/2017 by Chajef (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this having lost a small Canon on Ben Nevis Scotland. Specific use small and compact for outdoor activities including Expedition to Svalbard. Expected Temperature range -15 to -30 deg C.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Superbly compact

DSC-HX90V 21/07/2017 by Anythingwithaplugon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just amazed what Sony have managed to put into such a small body. It has all the flexibility of a DSLR and though the images are somewhat compromised compared with my A77 the results are still amazing, and, with the 30X optical zoom is a must not just for your pocket when out and about but to complement the DSLR in your camera bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

State of the art

DSC-HX90V 20/07/2017 by Steve R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A wonderful high quality camera. Stunning quality at longer focal lengths and truly a pocket camera available at all times. Perfect for saving space when longer lens required

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 17/07/2017 by Bibby 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a fantastic Sony bridge camera, but am finding it a bit bulky (also when I take it out the case I don't know where to put the case!) and wanted a compact camera so I could put it in my handbag. Well this little camera does everything my larger camera does, but in a smaller version. I did buy the fitted case for it which flaps downs so you don't have the problem of having to put the case somewhere). I love it! Takes amazing quality photos, its neat, easy to use, I love the fact that I can have a view finder if I need one, love the way the flash pops up and, in fact, like everything about it. So very pleased I decided to take the plunge and get a compact camera (I have kept my bridge camera too, so I have the choice, lucky me). Thoroughly recommend this great little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Replacement camera

DSC-HX90V 14/07/2017 by Fred bloggs junior (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera two weeks ago and I am still struggling to understand the instructions

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Excellent small pocket/purse camera

DSC-HX90V 27/06/2017 by Warrior165 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this same camera previously but had it stolen whilst on holiday-loved it so much that I simply re ordered another one-as couldn't find anything that had the same or better features and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good small compact camera

DSC-HX90V 26/06/2017 by Ollyseba (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have replaced my Nikon J1 with this camera, due to it going faulty after 6 years of great service. The Sony is a good camera with the added feature of a eye piece, but we do not feel it is as solid as the Nikon and doubt it will last as long.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Takes time to understand, but worth the effort

DSC-HX90V 24/06/2017 by StephenP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a definite step up from a compact camera. Having experienced problems using cheaper models without a viewfinder, we were keen to get something for use in bright light. Didn't want the expense of an SLR, so this is ideal. Looking forward to taking snaps in the sunshine, now.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Mr

DSC-HX90V 16/06/2017 by fusilier (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its my very first SONY camera and I'm delighted . I got a lot of help from the little shop where I bought it. The owners were very knowledgeable and have many years of photographic experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little zoom

DSC-HX90V 11/06/2017 by col_h (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera for those times when I didn't want to take my alpha77 out with me. The 77's a great camera but a little too bulky to take out on a bike ride especially if I were to take a telephoto lens along as well. But the HX90 I can just slip into my pocket. It's got a phenomenal zoom range for such a small camera. I've been playing 'spot the object' when trying it out. I take a wide angle shot or one around 50mm equivalent and then zoom right in on something in the scene. When I look at the two pictures on my computer later I would be hard pressed to see where the building or garden ornament in the close up appears in the wide angle one if I didn't already know. I was a bit doubtful whether the extra digital zoom would be of any use but on a sunny day with the camera resting on a solid support the results are quite respectable. I'll be keeping this camera in my bag so that I've always got a camera to hand when spot a nice view.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great traveling camera

DSC-HX90V 10/06/2017 by Eltel60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a full frame DSLR camera which is great but heavy and cumbersome when travelling. This Sony camera is excellent for traveling. The zoom range is great and the quality of the pictures it produces are brilliant and it all fits into your pocket! Ivan really recommend this camera for the travelling photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Compact Camera

DSC-HX90V 03/06/2017 by Daviesm4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to use when travelling to save carrying my A6000. I used it at my nephews wedding and got some great shots. Really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Appalling Instruction Manual

DSC-HX90V 27/05/2017 by OldNick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and haven't really used it much. The instruction manual (Web version) is absolutely hopeless. The cheap paper one supplied with the camera is even worse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Brilliant case

DSC-HX90V 21/05/2017 by Chriz mm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought because it has an 'ever ready' case, not a pouch, and is compact and, of course, has a Zeiss lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent pictures, but GPS tagging limited

DSC-HX90V 17/05/2017 by Andrew1955 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've not owned a travel compact camera before and I am impressed by its features. The WiFi connectivity is not what I expected, since it can apparently only upload to a smartphone and not, for example, to Onedrive or DropBox. However, this appears to be the same for all similar cameras, irrespective of make. I have configured my phone to upload the imported photos to OneDrive, thereby accomplishing what I wanted. One feature I particularly wanted was GPS tagging. Unfortunately I am very disappointed with this, since less than half the photos I took on a recent holiday have actually been tagged. The camera can take anything up to 4-5 minutes to determine its location when first switched on even when using GPS assist data. If you then switch off before taking another photo you have to wait again, albeit usually for 'only' 30-40 seconds if you haven't moved far. Furthermore, in many situations in a built-up area, the camera could not find its location however long I waited. My cheap android phone could find a fix with no problem. So, an excellent camera provided you are not too bothered about GPS tagging your photographs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Surpassed My Expectations

DSC-HX90V 15/05/2017 by difaJP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over a year ago and it was only when I changed my computer that I finally registered it, not realising I had not done this at purchase. This camera is pocket sized but packs a big punch. The zoom is excellent with a steady shot better than any previous I have used. The eyepiece is a boon although somewhat flimsy. The ability to use different or manual settings is well documented enabling easy access to alternative settings. The video is also excellent although wind noise is quite noticeable in the open.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

An excellent camera for travellers, poor software

DSC-HX90V 09/05/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking to replace a 5-year old Canon G12, for use when travelling, and in most respects, though not quite all, this camera matches or exceeds the merits I was looking for. The only points on which the camera itself doesn't quite match are (a) that the flip-out monitor is less fully articulated, so can't be used so easily with a side view (but what the literature doesn't tell you is, it works fine with the camera held upside down over your head - the camera gives the picture the normal orientation without being asked); (b) the lack of a shoe for an external flash and (c) the lack of a dedicated exposure compensation dial (though the control dial substitutes well enough). The USB cable connection for recharging and downloading is small, a bit fiddly and looks as if it may be a bit vulnerable to damage. Careful handling will certainly be required with the pop-up flashgun and viewfinder. On the very considerable plus side, these small reservations are well outweighed by the camera's excellent Zeiss lens with an unbelievable 720mm telephoto zoom, it's small and handy size, surely unmatched by any rival with equivalent features, which is a real boon for travellers (I would recommend getting a case with a neck sling); the useful control ring feature, which permits many adjustments according to context; and first rate picture quality. The only thing that stops me awarding full 5 stars is Sony's PlayMemories software. On my Macintosh, after a reported successful installation, this simply doesn't work but freezes every time, and it is evident online that my experience is shared by many others. So I have had to uninstall it and use older Canon software to download images in a convenient way (automatically, into folders assigned by shooting date). This is a disappointment of a sort that one would not expect from a major manufacturer like Sony, and it does a disservice to a truly excellent camera, so I hope very much Sony will fix the software and issue a usable upgrade (and let me know about it). The camera itself, however, is great and I am well pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Buy Independant

DSC-HX90V 01/05/2017 by spikey123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Am glad I bought this camera at an independent dealer as I had several operation problems which were quickly sorted out( being an old age person!!). There are many features which I am gradually getting to use, and being so compact easy to carry around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great for travel

DSCHX90V/B 10/04/2017 by Kathy Y (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is great for travel with it's small size. I like the 3 X's zoom and GPS. Still learning about it and I am sure it will have other features that I will enjoy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20/03/2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Pleased with product let down by SD card copying

DSC-HX90V 06/03/2017 by pixbrain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with features / functionality. (a) Can't just copy photos to a PC from SD card or over a USB cable using MS Win 10 explorer and delete them at the same time. Have to use the camera functions to delete them otherwise the camera does not automatically detect that they have been deleted! Playmemories is a waste of time - better album tools such as Pixfiler out there. (b) Eye piece pop-up good feature but fiddly to setup.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

17

0

Tiny but amazing pictures and zoom

DSC-HX90V 28/02/2017 by Patrick105 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for its tiny size, so it easily fits in my pocket. Yet it boasts an amazing 30 x zoom and will geotag the pictures with the built-in GPS. Picture quality is really outstanding and I can easily last a day on a single battery. However, I like to keep a spare battery and this is so tiny, its not really an issue. I prefer to transfer pictures to my computer via the SD card for maximum speed, although I do like the ability to connect my mobile phone to the camera and pull pictures via Wifi - ideal if you want to immediately share something. At first I was skeptical of the viewfinder - why would you want that with such a large screen at the back. Well I changed my mind, as its really nice to use to properly frame the picture and avoid glare etc. The back screen can flip and there are enough creative / manual controls on the camera to keep me interested, as I also have an SLR. But prefer to use this for portability. There is a control ring on the lease, which is like a digital ring to use in the menus. The only thing it does not have is a hot shoe for a larger flash. I used that on a previous camera, but was not a fan of it. Was more trouble to carry a large flash gun. Decided I would rather use my large SLR if I was going to do that, a more balanced setup. If you are wondering, do you really need a 30x zoom. Probably not most of the time, but when you do need it, the feature is there ready to use and I do use it. The GPS does require synchronisation with a PC or mobile app to download the latest GPS satellite data, which is recommended, as this speeds up satellite acquisition and hence positioning. It can take a little time for the camera to pick up the GPS position. Some people may be considering merging pictures with geotag data from a phone app - I have done that and am not a fan of fiddly processes - time differences between phone and camera become an issue if travelling between time zones. Use the GPS on the camera and spend more time enjoying yourself!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Ecellent travel camera

DSC-HX90V 22/02/2017 by BigBubble (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a careful review of small zoom travel cameras I decided on the Sony HX90V and I am delighted with the purchase. Small, beautifully made and with everything to make taking excellent travel shots easy and rewarding.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A Good Camera - Movie button/USB fiddly

DSC-HX90V 17/02/2017 by doverrog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just a few weeks ago and haven't tried everything yet. The viewfinder is exceptionally good and very bright and clear. There is some noise in video mode when using the zoom as the motor can be heard. Button for movie is rather fiddly to use as is getting the mini USB connector into the slot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Lightweight with great zoom range

DSC-HX90V 16/02/2017 by Micandtez (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lots of features which I am just getting to grips with. The flash is very fiddly to bring up which must be done before it can be used. My previous one came up automatically. I take a lot of photos in bright sunshine so pop up viewfinder is great as I can see what I am taking rather than guessing. As a small point I pick it up and cannot immediately recognise whether it is upside down, which if you are in a rush to take a photo can be annoying. Buttons etc are all very small especially the on off button. I do not think it would be suitable for someone with big fingers. Other than that I am very pleased with my decision to buy it and would buy another.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Another lovely compact camera

DSC-HX90V 06/02/2017 by Cheryl M (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use very neat and light so always in my handbag, and great results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Ideal

DSC-HX90V 28/01/2017 by Jerra (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has all the features I was looking for and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Not used yet

DSC-HX90V 20/01/2017 by Seafarer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product seems great. Bought for certain travel only as have a Sony RX10 for normal use. Contact me again in April if you want an informed review.

0

7

0

Very Happy With Everything

DSC-HX90V 16/01/2017 by skindog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera & features . Upgrade From my last sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice size

DSCHX90VB 16/01/2017 by ck1213 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a small camera with a good zoom. This fits all my requirements.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent travel companion

DSC-HX90V 09/01/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera was bought as a travel camera to avoid taking my fx DSLR, it beat my expectations for quality and ease of use, easy to tuck away in a pocket when not needed. I found at 30x zoom it needed a little help with stability but picture quality was great. My only dislike is not being able to use the RAW image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very nice, very compact camera

DSC-HX90V 08/01/2017 by Kentgent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only just received the camera, so haven't explored all its capabilities, and I'm conscious that other reviews have criticised its low light performance, but as a compact second camera which I can carry when I don't want to take my main one, it's good so far

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So simple to use

DSC-HX90V 05/01/2017 by Misstyc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present that ticks all the boxes. Just wanted easy point and click and this was perfect, close ups great, just love this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wanted more zoom than my DSC - HX9V

DSCHX90V/B 03/01/2017 by MS AGS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for our trip to the Capital Reef National Park in Utah

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

GPS

DSCHX90V/B 01/01/2017 by Annctfq (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I RECEIVED THIS for Christmas. This is my 3rd Sony digital camera. They seem to always getting better. I have not used this one yet. Still reading the guide book. The print is so small my husband is typing the guide on the computer for me. I wanted a GPS on the camera.

0

4

0

Camera

DSCHX90V/B 26/12/2016 by bewque (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got for Christmas and works great so far. Great size and view finder great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

HX90V

DSC-HX90V 11/12/2016 by XXXXXXXXX (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera about 2 weeks ago to replace my HX60 as this one has GPS plus builtin view finder and a tilting screen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Pocket gem

DSC-HX90V 10/12/2016 by NealG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After looking at a number of cameras which provide similar features it came down to this or a Panasonic. I went with the Sony as it has a viewfinder and the flip out screen. What a gem this camera is: compact, great quality pictures, great focus response and shutter reaction. It has many features and like all digital cameras takes a while to get used to but overall a terrific little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic camera has been my travel buddy

DSC-HX90V 06/12/2016 by Terry_McK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my first Sony HSX-90V just prior to departing on a 4 month trip through Asia, then on to Europe for 8 months. I left my DSLR at home as I wanted something easy to carry yet powerful. This camera has exceeded my expectations on all fronts, and I had no hesitation on buying another when I broke my first after dropping it from a great height. We have had marvelous responses to our Instagram account @travelkiwis where the photos have come almost exclusively from this camera. I love it and don't go anywhere without it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

It's all the average photographer could desire!

DSC-HX90V 25/11/2016 by jhd101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's got everything, producing excellent images close up, distance, panoramic, video...and is wonderfully portable, too.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Impressive Compact for Demanding Photographers

DSC-HX90V 21/11/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We haven't had this long but have already taken some impressive photos. Full zoom - first day, got a wow squirrel photo at 1/40sec, impressive stabilisation; November moon, the closest for decades had to be photographed, superb result, this demanded good manual control of focus, spot metering and exposure - impressive for a compact camera. Manual focussing, normally impossible in the dark, was easy due to the screen display.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

9

0

0

Very compact

DSC-HX90V 21/11/2016 by peso123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera for two weeks. All appears well: the photos are pin sharp. The zoom from wide angle to 720mm is impressive on something so small. The pop-up viewfinder is a little awkward to use and I would have preferred a built-in viewfinder, but had to compromise on this point to achieve the other great benefits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very Pleased has great features

DSC-HX90V 05/11/2016 by Ivan 63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very Happy and glad that I made the purchase a month ago

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Small

DSC-HX90V 03/11/2016 by Sjbl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good for travelling that the right size to slip into a pocket

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-HX90V 28/10/2016 by Gadgeteer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera recently to replace another. My main use is for holiday/ travel photography. Have practised with it in all situations and it has behaved very well. The selfie screen is a welcome addition. If any thing, the camera is almost too small!! A great camera, ideal for all photographs, especially for travel.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

After early experience.

DSC-HX90V 16/10/2016 by Johns Bro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned and used Panasonic TZ5 and TZ30 cameras for some time I intended to upgrade to TZ80. However having browsed reviews and information I changed to the Sony HX90V. So far I am very pleased with my choice. It clearly gives better results than my old Panasonics. A slight more bulk for pocket, but TZ80 would no doubt have been same. I have not managed to explore all the facilities yet but they look very promising, probably far more than I will ever use. The hinged screen and viewfinder are big pluses. The screen is very good indead. Build quality appears to be very good. I hope that the pop up viewer and flash will prove to be trouble free. I had become used to setting flash to fire on auto when required. So far I keep forgetting to pop up the Sony flash when necessary. A small matter . I prefer the Panasonic switch for ON/OFF instead of Sony push button. I remember the Zeiss Vario-Sonnar lenses on my 35mm compacts in the past. A very good choice for the HX90V. I have rated the ease of use as medium. No doubt with more experience I will rate it higher. Writing a review after short experience is not easy. I tried to include some photos but they were all too large.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Fabulous!

DSC-HX90V 07/10/2016 by NickiB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Knocks the spots off the Panasonic Lumix it replaces. I am delighted with it ... hope your after care service (should I ever need it) is as good as the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera

DSCHX90VB 19/09/2016 by osoblanko (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago and it is great, Very good Zoom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

fits in my pocket but full of features

DSC-HX90V 17/09/2016 by sandy 13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't used it that much yet but very pleased with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good photos, great zoom

DSC-HX90V 16/09/2016 by Bob0153 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with the performance of the product, in particular the zoom is great. One problem has been that the screen doesn't seem properly fixed in. I have been taking photos of birds in a very hot insect infested place and it looks like the insect repellant has got inside the screen causing some fuzziness in the screen. Been taking too many photos to take the camera back to get it repaired!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worst Sony product I've ever purchased

DSC-HX90V 30/08/2016 by Jim1740 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Never got to use, screen went blank after about two pictures, returned for a refund.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Sony-HX90V compact camera

DSC-HX90V 28/08/2016 by Pamie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Could 'nt be happier with my camera,small enough to fit in my hand bag,takes great photos,easy to use ,great to have a view finder, this feature is the reason I bought the camera.All in all a great camera ,could 'nt be more pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent little camera

DSC-HX90V 25/08/2016 by Nellie22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had a sony ccompact camera for some time which I love but wanted replace it with a similar one but with a better zoom lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Compact

DSC-HX90V 22/08/2016 by nickname not used (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just the job. Stacked with all the latest photo tech.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony HX90V

DSC-HX90V 01/08/2016 by Snapper Fish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few months ago and I am generally very happy with it. My mane issue is when you put down the electronic viewfinder it turns off the camera, WHY!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Not perfect but a good choice for a bridge camera

DSC-HX90V 01/07/2016 by mikh43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first 'bridge' camera and basically I am very pleased with it. The many positives include an excellent Zeiss lens with a 20x optical zoom rendered eminently usable by excellent image stabilisation. The camera is good enough that the automatic settings almost always provide very good images. There is a plethora of customisable settings that I am still working through! To be picky, the negatives are: (1) I am concerned that the manually popped-up viewfinder and flash feel very fragile; (2) the numerous on-device settings do not seem to be organised in a very intuitive manner - but, in fairness, I probably need to customise the function keys etc. (3) the huge manual is fairly comprehensive but again organised in a very non-intuitive fashion; (4) I find it rather difficult to get the ideal focus once I leave the automatic settings - though DMF works well most of the time (if only I could switch off the focus magnifier!); this is particularly true of macro shots (again - a problem with every camera I have owned). Sony prices for batteries are exorbitant but fortunately there are good non-OEM choices. I am still hunting for a convenient case. Finally, the Play Memories software works but is clunky - silly things like a non-customisable date format are annoying - rather slow in use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0