222

4.4 based on 222 customer reviews

128
72
13
4
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20/03/2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21/09/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

222 Customer Reviews

0

Captured

DSC-HX90V 19/02/2018 by royrodg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for a week and i am just getting to grips with all its features.It seems to be a good piece of kit taking nice crisp pictures in various situations,But it is little heavier and not as sleek as my previous camera & one slight negative also is that you can`t print the location from gps on the actual image as i could with my previous lumix TZ40,but generally i am very happy with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features if they worked

DSCHX90VB 15/02/2018 by Zamster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera two weeks ago and nothing but problems

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Essential features

DSC-HX90V 14/02/2018 by fracto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the camera, however instruction booklet poor and quite tricky to upload pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A lot to get to know & remember in a hurry!!

DSC-HX90V 10/02/2018 by BCC1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As I said, taking me a long time to take it all on board. I don't suppose I'll ever use all the features!!! Excellent flash results. BC

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent all round camera

DSC-HX90V 09/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this camera, in particular zoom lens is excellent, view finder, flip up screen, works well in low light levels.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - HX90V -better than binoculars

DSC-HX90V 04/02/2018 by Wilburforce (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago as an upgrade to an earlier version which did not have a viewfinder. It is a great all purpose small camera with a huge zoom range. It was sometimes difficult to use its predecessor as with the sun behind you , as all good photographers should have , you could often struggle to see the screen image. I bought both cameras to supplement my wife and my binoculars. I have had one cataract fixed in my viewfinder eye and the other is coming along nicely but being originally very short sighted and wearing contacts binoculars often problematic. My wife also struggles to use binos. With these Sony cameras, if you can keep them steady enough, they are better than most binos and capture that elusive rare bird to share the image of. Also excellent to video the grandchildren . One possible improvement - a wider angle "bottom" end for indoor use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little machine

DSC-HX90V 29/01/2018 by Minny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't taken many pics because of bad weather. However, I did take some for a "rain" competition at my Camera Club. Despite poor lighting, the pictures came out well and I gained top marks for one of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A must have compact camera

DSC-HX90V 28/01/2018 by Towmam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera really delivers professional results with an amazing zoom lens, I use it with a tripod and delivered amazing results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding!

DSC-HX90V 26/01/2018 by Gordeju (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I took this phto during my holidays last Christmas

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

compact easy to use

DSC-HX90V 22/01/2018 by gangster grandad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to use with very good zoom feature more convenient than SLR and lighter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great ease of use

DSC-HX90V 21/01/2018 by ERS31 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to replace my old Sony compact camera which was 20x optical zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quite the upgrade!

DSCHX90VB 14/01/2018 by uncledoug74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from an older Cybershot and this camera has many more features and capabilities than my previous camera. I haven’t explored enough of it yet, but I’m excited to see what it (and I can do). This camera still has most of my last camera’s auto features, which produce amazing photos (DSC-WX300), so I know how to use those features, but I have to learn to use the more advanced settings which I’m excited about! I can’t fully rate this camera yet since it’s so new to me, so some of my ratings may be scores could change as I use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very easy to use

DSC-HX90V 08/01/2018 by Zen Boy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality very good for compact camera zoom outstanding a lot of features yet to use, as usual the build quality could not be better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little gem

DSC-HX90V 03/01/2018 by Benby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only owned this camera for a few weeks and haven't yet used it much and particularly not to its full potential. However, to date I have found its picture quality excellent, it is easy to operate and its size and weight make it ideal for taking with me on my walking trips. So far I am delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First Impressions

DSC-HX90V 28/12/2017 by ChrisHJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a keen amateur photographer and Sony fan, I have just taken delivery of the Hx90v so I can have a 'camera' with me at all times. It's beautifully compact with its 'pop up' viewfinder and flash and has the benefit of a 30x zoom. My very first impressions of image quality are favourable however a lower light shot comparison with a decent smartphone left me thinking....

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still got to get to know it properly.

DSC-HX90V 28/12/2017 by Loubylou12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my camera only two weeks ago. So far so good apart from the syncing it to my smart phone bit! I’m enjoying getting to know it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A Grst Little Camera with Bags of Bells & Whistle

DSC-HX90V 27/12/2017 by Rapid Snapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product a couple of weeks ago and has worked very well over Christmas. It is easy to use in auto mode and the clarity of photos is first class.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excelent price excellent service

DSC-HX90V 11/12/2017 by Bowing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality well made easy to use all Sony products a well made and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Right Pain

DSC-HX90V 09/12/2017 by Sturgi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera in its self is good but trying to connect and transfer pictures to iPhone or iPad using WiFi does not work just sits there connecting, connecting, connecting which really defeats the object. This leaves me with a dilemma do I send it back and buy a camera that does what it says as I really don’t want to take my laptop on my holidays.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Weakest point is the pop up flash, very fragile

DSCHX90VB 06/12/2017 by MeMtl (Canada)

Pop up flash fail to latch closed for several months, then started working again. Concerned about this risk of failure. Focus is slow compared to my hx50.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharp zeiss lens.

DSC-HX90V 12/11/2017 by Dixy (United Kingdom)

This is an early birthday present, it's wonderful, I can send the photos on wifi to my iPad mini. It has a viewfinder, flash, tilting screen, 30 times zoom, it won an award last year too. I like taking macro shots and landscapes and it gives very good results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Features

DSC-HX90V 11/11/2017 by wwwwwwwwwww (United Kingdom)

I have the 60v model and bought this one for my wife. The inclusion of a viewfinder is a major improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good camera

DSC-HX90V 31/10/2017 by Niboryad44 (United Kingdom)

The Sony HX90V with view finder is perfect now when taking pictures in bright sun light, in fact i use it all the time it is that good, reduction in size of camera is good , the only point i would make is that the video button is quite small to deal with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

DSCHX90V/B 23/10/2017 by Eli1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to be serve as a light and small camera that is a step-up from a point-and-shoot. The camera impresses me greatly. The image quality is incredible. The normal digital camera functionality is excellent. The additional features such as video, manual programming, and wifi are astounding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent zoom & features/lacks quality longevity

DSC-HX90V 23/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera 14 months ago. I’d spent some time discussing the options of various cameras, I already have robust cameras for sports etc, but wanted something conpact with a great lens and zoom and wifi. The camera was everything I’d expected and I was very pleased with it until the 14th month of ownership. Then the screw stopped working, the camera sustained no knocks or water etc, one minimise I’m viewing images through the screen then then 30 mins later it’s stopped providing any data via the screen. Not the quality I’d expect and I’m very dissapointed. I’ve a canon G10 and G12 plus an Olympus Tough TG2 and TG4. All great camera and have taken some tough travels. Sadly all lack a good zoom lens. All have still perform as new! But not my Sony. This was my First Sony camera and whilst impressed by its features somethings not right to have a screen simply fail on me. ☹️

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Full of Features

DSC-HX90V 21/10/2017 by Jimnjo (United Kingdom)

Excellent camera, handy size without all the hassle of a full size SLR. Some of the buttons etc are a little small but once you get used to using the camera it’s soon easy to find the best way to use all the features. recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera for it's size

DSC-HX90V 14/10/2017 by Tedtek (United Kingdom)

I Bought this camera because of its small size and picture quality.The zeiss 30X lens is stunning for a lens of such a small form factor,also the camera is very good on auto but has all the manual control you could want. The popup viewfinder is very good to, and the rear screen that can be flipped up for taking shots from the waist ect is very useful and a good size and quality in all it is a great travel camera for someone who doesn't want to carry a larger camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent performance but some poor design points

DSC-HX90V 12/10/2017 by Lisbon Shopper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago as a replacement for a stolen WX500. I like the performance and enhancements but some external design features are still very irritating. The battery needs frequent charging but this facility is so fussy. The little flap covering the socket gets in the way of attaching the lead, which has to be inserted the right way round. And why is the charging light hidden inside this unit rather than visually obvious? Second, there is an easy switch for the flash but the on/off for the camera is small, flat to the surface and needs a finger nail poked at it for efficient operation. Very poor design. This, I will say, is untypical of normal Sony design. Last and positive, Wi-fi export of photos is excellent and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Awesome zoom

DSCHX90VB 05/10/2017 by Travelbrigitte (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few month’s ago and took it already on many trips . It’s my “ always by me camera” it’s in my purse ! I take it with me on my bicycle tours or motorbike tours ! Just a fantastic tiny product ! Highly recommend this one !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and outstanding pictures

DSCHX90VB 25/09/2017 by Thayne65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to take on a trip across the US. And it was the best. Small, compact size made it easy to take everywhere. Features let me take landscapes, night scenes and fireworks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-HX90V 24/09/2017 by Carrie43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very compact ideal for handbags but still takes excellent photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super spec

DSC-HX90V 23/09/2017 by Nakedbaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is without doubt the most feature packed camera in its size. The specification is incredible. Really easy to use too and the WiFi functionality means photos can be sent on really easily. Battery life seems very good too plus it can be charged with a phone charger or power bank if away from civilisation!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

software up date

DSCHX90VB 25/08/2017 by Trikeman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish I could put GPS or real location on finished picture, it does show location on Sony application but cant seem to transfer data to pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Excellent quality

DSC-HX90V 22/08/2017 by Beefriendly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Zeiss lens gives superb quality images. The intelligent auto setting is very useful. The camera fails to focus if the light is too poor and prompts one to use the flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great compact.

DSC-HX90V 22/08/2017 by BAZ 41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously owned a DSC-HX9V and until it ceased to operate I was very happy with the camera I had however owned the camera for several years and decided to stay with Sony. This DSC-HX90V is far more intuitive to use should you want to use Shutter Priority Aperture Priority or even Bracketing. It is great to use simply as a point and shoot camera. So far I am extremely happy with this product and I would recommend it. Picture quality seems excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great pictures!

DSCHX90V/B 19/08/2017 by Traveler 24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received my camera and couldn't wait to play. I had read ALL the reviews and found the negatives to others didn't concern me. Weighs a bit more than I thought it would, but love the features and the quality of pictures. The 180 viewing screen is one of my favorite features. It is an advanced 'idot' camera if you want a straight point and shot you do not need all the features this camera has.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HX90V operates in -25deg C.

DSC-HX90V 16/08/2017 by Chajef (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this having lost a small Canon on Ben Nevis Scotland. Specific use small and compact for outdoor activities including Expedition to Svalbard. Expected Temperature range -15 to -30 deg C.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

0

Superbly compact

DSC-HX90V 21/07/2017 by Anythingwithaplugon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just amazed what Sony have managed to put into such a small body. It has all the flexibility of a DSLR and though the images are somewhat compromised compared with my A77 the results are still amazing, and, with the 30X optical zoom is a must not just for your pocket when out and about but to complement the DSLR in your camera bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

State of the art

DSC-HX90V 20/07/2017 by Steve R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A wonderful high quality camera. Stunning quality at longer focal lengths and truly a pocket camera available at all times. Perfect for saving space when longer lens required

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 17/07/2017 by Bibby 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a fantastic Sony bridge camera, but am finding it a bit bulky (also when I take it out the case I don't know where to put the case!) and wanted a compact camera so I could put it in my handbag. Well this little camera does everything my larger camera does, but in a smaller version. I did buy the fitted case for it which flaps downs so you don't have the problem of having to put the case somewhere). I love it! Takes amazing quality photos, its neat, easy to use, I love the fact that I can have a view finder if I need one, love the way the flash pops up and, in fact, like everything about it. So very pleased I decided to take the plunge and get a compact camera (I have kept my bridge camera too, so I have the choice, lucky me). Thoroughly recommend this great little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Replacement camera

DSC-HX90V 14/07/2017 by Fred bloggs junior (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera two weeks ago and I am still struggling to understand the instructions

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Excellent small pocket/purse camera

DSC-HX90V 27/06/2017 by Warrior165 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this same camera previously but had it stolen whilst on holiday-loved it so much that I simply re ordered another one-as couldn't find anything that had the same or better features and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good small compact camera

DSC-HX90V 26/06/2017 by Ollyseba (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have replaced my Nikon J1 with this camera, due to it going faulty after 6 years of great service. The Sony is a good camera with the added feature of a eye piece, but we do not feel it is as solid as the Nikon and doubt it will last as long.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Takes time to understand, but worth the effort

DSC-HX90V 24/06/2017 by StephenP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a definite step up from a compact camera. Having experienced problems using cheaper models without a viewfinder, we were keen to get something for use in bright light. Didn't want the expense of an SLR, so this is ideal. Looking forward to taking snaps in the sunshine, now.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Mr

DSC-HX90V 16/06/2017 by fusilier (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its my very first SONY camera and I'm delighted . I got a lot of help from the little shop where I bought it. The owners were very knowledgeable and have many years of photographic experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little zoom

DSC-HX90V 11/06/2017 by col_h (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera for those times when I didn't want to take my alpha77 out with me. The 77's a great camera but a little too bulky to take out on a bike ride especially if I were to take a telephoto lens along as well. But the HX90 I can just slip into my pocket. It's got a phenomenal zoom range for such a small camera. I've been playing 'spot the object' when trying it out. I take a wide angle shot or one around 50mm equivalent and then zoom right in on something in the scene. When I look at the two pictures on my computer later I would be hard pressed to see where the building or garden ornament in the close up appears in the wide angle one if I didn't already know. I was a bit doubtful whether the extra digital zoom would be of any use but on a sunny day with the camera resting on a solid support the results are quite respectable. I'll be keeping this camera in my bag so that I've always got a camera to hand when spot a nice view.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great traveling camera

DSC-HX90V 10/06/2017 by Eltel60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a full frame DSLR camera which is great but heavy and cumbersome when travelling. This Sony camera is excellent for traveling. The zoom range is great and the quality of the pictures it produces are brilliant and it all fits into your pocket! Ivan really recommend this camera for the travelling photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Compact Camera

DSC-HX90V 03/06/2017 by Daviesm4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to use when travelling to save carrying my A6000. I used it at my nephews wedding and got some great shots. Really pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Appalling Instruction Manual

DSC-HX90V 27/05/2017 by OldNick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and haven't really used it much. The instruction manual (Web version) is absolutely hopeless. The cheap paper one supplied with the camera is even worse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Brilliant case

DSC-HX90V 21/05/2017 by Chriz mm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought because it has an 'ever ready' case, not a pouch, and is compact and, of course, has a Zeiss lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent pictures, but GPS tagging limited

DSC-HX90V 17/05/2017 by Andrew1955 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've not owned a travel compact camera before and I am impressed by its features. The WiFi connectivity is not what I expected, since it can apparently only upload to a smartphone and not, for example, to Onedrive or DropBox. However, this appears to be the same for all similar cameras, irrespective of make. I have configured my phone to upload the imported photos to OneDrive, thereby accomplishing what I wanted. One feature I particularly wanted was GPS tagging. Unfortunately I am very disappointed with this, since less than half the photos I took on a recent holiday have actually been tagged. The camera can take anything up to 4-5 minutes to determine its location when first switched on even when using GPS assist data. If you then switch off before taking another photo you have to wait again, albeit usually for 'only' 30-40 seconds if you haven't moved far. Furthermore, in many situations in a built-up area, the camera could not find its location however long I waited. My cheap android phone could find a fix with no problem. So, an excellent camera provided you are not too bothered about GPS tagging your photographs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Surpassed My Expectations

DSC-HX90V 15/05/2017 by difaJP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over a year ago and it was only when I changed my computer that I finally registered it, not realising I had not done this at purchase. This camera is pocket sized but packs a big punch. The zoom is excellent with a steady shot better than any previous I have used. The eyepiece is a boon although somewhat flimsy. The ability to use different or manual settings is well documented enabling easy access to alternative settings. The video is also excellent although wind noise is quite noticeable in the open.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

An excellent camera for travellers, poor software

DSC-HX90V 09/05/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking to replace a 5-year old Canon G12, for use when travelling, and in most respects, though not quite all, this camera matches or exceeds the merits I was looking for. The only points on which the camera itself doesn't quite match are (a) that the flip-out monitor is less fully articulated, so can't be used so easily with a side view (but what the literature doesn't tell you is, it works fine with the camera held upside down over your head - the camera gives the picture the normal orientation without being asked); (b) the lack of a shoe for an external flash and (c) the lack of a dedicated exposure compensation dial (though the control dial substitutes well enough). The USB cable connection for recharging and downloading is small, a bit fiddly and looks as if it may be a bit vulnerable to damage. Careful handling will certainly be required with the pop-up flashgun and viewfinder. On the very considerable plus side, these small reservations are well outweighed by the camera's excellent Zeiss lens with an unbelievable 720mm telephoto zoom, it's small and handy size, surely unmatched by any rival with equivalent features, which is a real boon for travellers (I would recommend getting a case with a neck sling); the useful control ring feature, which permits many adjustments according to context; and first rate picture quality. The only thing that stops me awarding full 5 stars is Sony's PlayMemories software. On my Macintosh, after a reported successful installation, this simply doesn't work but freezes every time, and it is evident online that my experience is shared by many others. So I have had to uninstall it and use older Canon software to download images in a convenient way (automatically, into folders assigned by shooting date). This is a disappointment of a sort that one would not expect from a major manufacturer like Sony, and it does a disservice to a truly excellent camera, so I hope very much Sony will fix the software and issue a usable upgrade (and let me know about it). The camera itself, however, is great and I am well pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Buy Independant

DSC-HX90V 01/05/2017 by spikey123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Am glad I bought this camera at an independent dealer as I had several operation problems which were quickly sorted out( being an old age person!!). There are many features which I am gradually getting to use, and being so compact easy to carry around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great for travel

DSCHX90V/B 10/04/2017 by Kathy Y (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is great for travel with it's small size. I like the 3 X's zoom and GPS. Still learning about it and I am sure it will have other features that I will enjoy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20/03/2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Pleased with product let down by SD card copying

DSC-HX90V 06/03/2017 by pixbrain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with features / functionality. (a) Can't just copy photos to a PC from SD card or over a USB cable using MS Win 10 explorer and delete them at the same time. Have to use the camera functions to delete them otherwise the camera does not automatically detect that they have been deleted! Playmemories is a waste of time - better album tools such as Pixfiler out there. (b) Eye piece pop-up good feature but fiddly to setup.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

17

0

Tiny but amazing pictures and zoom

DSC-HX90V 28/02/2017 by Patrick105 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for its tiny size, so it easily fits in my pocket. Yet it boasts an amazing 30 x zoom and will geotag the pictures with the built-in GPS. Picture quality is really outstanding and I can easily last a day on a single battery. However, I like to keep a spare battery and this is so tiny, its not really an issue. I prefer to transfer pictures to my computer via the SD card for maximum speed, although I do like the ability to connect my mobile phone to the camera and pull pictures via Wifi - ideal if you want to immediately share something. At first I was skeptical of the viewfinder - why would you want that with such a large screen at the back. Well I changed my mind, as its really nice to use to properly frame the picture and avoid glare etc. The back screen can flip and there are enough creative / manual controls on the camera to keep me interested, as I also have an SLR. But prefer to use this for portability. There is a control ring on the lease, which is like a digital ring to use in the menus. The only thing it does not have is a hot shoe for a larger flash. I used that on a previous camera, but was not a fan of it. Was more trouble to carry a large flash gun. Decided I would rather use my large SLR if I was going to do that, a more balanced setup. If you are wondering, do you really need a 30x zoom. Probably not most of the time, but when you do need it, the feature is there ready to use and I do use it. The GPS does require synchronisation with a PC or mobile app to download the latest GPS satellite data, which is recommended, as this speeds up satellite acquisition and hence positioning. It can take a little time for the camera to pick up the GPS position. Some people may be considering merging pictures with geotag data from a phone app - I have done that and am not a fan of fiddly processes - time differences between phone and camera become an issue if travelling between time zones. Use the GPS on the camera and spend more time enjoying yourself!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Ecellent travel camera

DSC-HX90V 22/02/2017 by BigBubble (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a careful review of small zoom travel cameras I decided on the Sony HX90V and I am delighted with the purchase. Small, beautifully made and with everything to make taking excellent travel shots easy and rewarding.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A Good Camera - Movie button/USB fiddly

DSC-HX90V 17/02/2017 by doverrog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just a few weeks ago and haven't tried everything yet. The viewfinder is exceptionally good and very bright and clear. There is some noise in video mode when using the zoom as the motor can be heard. Button for movie is rather fiddly to use as is getting the mini USB connector into the slot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Lightweight with great zoom range

DSC-HX90V 16/02/2017 by Micandtez (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lots of features which I am just getting to grips with. The flash is very fiddly to bring up which must be done before it can be used. My previous one came up automatically. I take a lot of photos in bright sunshine so pop up viewfinder is great as I can see what I am taking rather than guessing. As a small point I pick it up and cannot immediately recognise whether it is upside down, which if you are in a rush to take a photo can be annoying. Buttons etc are all very small especially the on off button. I do not think it would be suitable for someone with big fingers. Other than that I am very pleased with my decision to buy it and would buy another.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Another lovely compact camera

DSC-HX90V 06/02/2017 by Cheryl M (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use very neat and light so always in my handbag, and great results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Ideal

DSC-HX90V 28/01/2017 by Jerra (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has all the features I was looking for and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Not used yet

DSC-HX90V 20/01/2017 by Seafarer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product seems great. Bought for certain travel only as have a Sony RX10 for normal use. Contact me again in April if you want an informed review.

0

7

0

Very Happy With Everything

DSC-HX90V 16/01/2017 by skindog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera & features . Upgrade From my last sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice size

DSCHX90VB 16/01/2017 by ck1213 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a small camera with a good zoom. This fits all my requirements.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent travel companion

DSC-HX90V 09/01/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera was bought as a travel camera to avoid taking my fx DSLR, it beat my expectations for quality and ease of use, easy to tuck away in a pocket when not needed. I found at 30x zoom it needed a little help with stability but picture quality was great. My only dislike is not being able to use the RAW image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very nice, very compact camera

DSC-HX90V 08/01/2017 by Kentgent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only just received the camera, so haven't explored all its capabilities, and I'm conscious that other reviews have criticised its low light performance, but as a compact second camera which I can carry when I don't want to take my main one, it's good so far

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So simple to use

DSC-HX90V 05/01/2017 by Misstyc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present that ticks all the boxes. Just wanted easy point and click and this was perfect, close ups great, just love this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wanted more zoom than my DSC - HX9V

DSCHX90V/B 03/01/2017 by MS AGS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for our trip to the Capital Reef National Park in Utah

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

GPS

DSCHX90V/B 01/01/2017 by Annctfq (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I RECEIVED THIS for Christmas. This is my 3rd Sony digital camera. They seem to always getting better. I have not used this one yet. Still reading the guide book. The print is so small my husband is typing the guide on the computer for me. I wanted a GPS on the camera.

0

4

0

Camera

DSCHX90V/B 26/12/2016 by bewque (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got for Christmas and works great so far. Great size and view finder great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0