Skip to Content
49

4.4 based on 49 customer reviews

34
8
2
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

In A Word, "HOLY-MOLY!"

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2013 by TopHeadphones99 (USA)

I recently sold my A77 to get this camera to compliment my Sony NEX VG900 camcorder. Like the VG900, this is a fantastic piece of engineering. The images that the RX1 produces are very sharp and detailed. I used both the RX1 and A99 with 24mm F1.8 in a local Sony Retail Store and I was surprised to find that the RX1 turned out to have better image quality, since both of the cameras have a 35mm sensor. This camera is nicely sized and fits into a coat pocket, but not in a pants pocket. That's one issue. It also has a high quality metal build and the bottom section is the only part that is plastic. The out-of-focus blur is very creamy and smooth and turns out to be extra-gorgeous in videos. The video quality is good. Low light performance is nice up to ISO 6400. Even 12,800 ISO photos were reasonably clean. The fact that the lens has a leaf shutter means that it was completely silent and I love that. The burst rate is only 5 FPS but I can live with that. The gripes are that there is no viewfinder. I purchased the EVF attachment and it is fantastic in terms of quality. I don't recommend the Zeiss optical viewfinder. I purchased all of the accessories for the RX1 and things like the lens hood and thumb grip are EXPENSIVE! The continuous autofocus in both photos and videos is a bit sluggish but the focus peaking aids me to compensate for that. But there is no focus peaking in video. The battery is the same as the RX100 and does not give you good battery life, but it is reasonable. I look at photos from this camera and they look very sharp but when I zoom in on them, every detail looks perfectly rendered. This camera looks very subtle as well. Everyone sees that I have a pocketable camera but they don't know that it has better capability of a full-frame DSLR. I love the fact that is has the aperture ring, exposure compensation dial, and macro switch. That means that I don't have to do menu diving. Also, I can adjust exposure in video recording, which IS important. The shutter button is a cable release style and is the best I've pushed. There is no other word that I can describe this camera other than AMAZING. I would recommend it in a heart beat. It's basically a Point and Shoot, but I feel insulted calling it that. It's way more impressive than that. Kudos to Sony for achieving an incredible piece of engineering.

28

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but seriously flawed

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 19/08/2016 by Mike Urban (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a compact, full frame carry-everywhere camera, and the Sony seemed to fit the bill. It's well built (but not weatherproof, sadly) and is capable of excellent results. The main downside is that it is very slow in low light and the focusing can be frustratingly hit and miss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

50 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Poor quality

DSC-RX1 / DSC-RX1R 23/09/2017 by Fredbar (Canada)

Fixed lense camera but after couple of yeas dust can go inside camera and lense that is not repairable should pay for lense

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

I love Sony

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 17/02/2017 by kennyp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the rx1 for about 3 wks and love it. I also own the rx100, 5100,6000 which are all excellent for there individual purposes. This is my venture into full frame that wont hreak my back (17oz). It will be my carry around for street photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

as expected for a top end camera

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 21/01/2017 by Nickpicker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over a year ago and expected I have taken about 2000 photos only down side is charging the battery I bought a separate charger and a spare battery

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful Clarity

dscrx1-ca 16/11/2016 by LoriV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So excited I got this camera!. I also own a Sony mirrorless full frame camera. I was thinking about get a zoom lens for that camera, but came across this and decided to spend a few hundred more and not have to worry about changing lenses quickly to get a close up. I've only played with it a few times, but I am so pleased with the images I've taken thus far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unique mix of size and technical ability

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 07/11/2016 by Oldmike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks and feels like my first "proper" camera, which was a rangefinder in the early 70s. Prime lens, full frame, lots of metal, glass and heft. Design encourages creativity and use of manual settings. In use it's discrete, unlike the Chieftain tank gun turrets of similarly specced DSLRs. If you treat photography is an art form then this camera is well worth looking at. However, if you need to just make a record of things, there are better options. Personally, I love it - its looks, the way it feels, the beautifully engineered controls, the way it makes me think about the picture I'm taking, and end results I'm proud of.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but seriously flawed

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 19/08/2016 by Mike Urban (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a compact, full frame carry-everywhere camera, and the Sony seemed to fit the bill. It's well built (but not weatherproof, sadly) and is capable of excellent results. The main downside is that it is very slow in low light and the focusing can be frustratingly hit and miss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

SONY RX1

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 17/03/2016 by john fh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best camera in the world for size, usage, convenience

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

No firmware update !

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 01/03/2016 by hordlandsguten (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I baught this camera a couple of weeks ago, and it looks promessing so far. What is very odd is that the firmware is still on v 1.0, and no plans to upgrade according to Sony Support

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

9

1

0

Best fixed lens camera

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 11/09/2015 by bobed5897 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera recently and so far I am very pleased with the high standard of photographs that I have taken. The Zeiss lens is excellent and all pictures are very sharp. The camera is well amde and should last for many years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Great lens and electronics

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 12/06/2015 by Stephan2001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I started using the camera outdoors, really working well. Indoors I'm having some trouble getting external flashes to work because the shoe is not compatible with any other camera...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very pleased with the camera

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2015 by EFTC (USA)

Very pleased with this camera. I do wish Sony would issue a new firmware to address the slow auto focus issue.

4

2

0

The type of compact camera I always wanted

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 23/05/2015 by cptpatriot7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The RX1-R is the camera I always wanted, but was never made before. I always wanted a "no holds Barred" SMALL camera that offered all the features that the big SLR/DSLR had but were too cumbersome to have at hand on a routine basis. Like fast lens for low light and/or shallow depth of field, large Full fame sensor, built in flash plus hot shoe for key additional options. full auto mode to manual options. Many special effects. As the saying goes... "The best camera is..." the one you have with you to capture the one in a life image. Pros: A well built all around great camera. Cons: None really, there is no Perfect camera. some might wish to have had a removable lens (dust problem) then get one of Sony's Alpha7 series models. If you do some serious soul searching, you'll realize that most of you photos are/were taken with a single lens, most likely the prime kit lens that came with your camera. I upgraded my multi- lens NEX-7 for the RX1-R, finally realizing that in the past 50 years 90% of my images were with a prime lens. My telephoto and wide angle lenses stayed home or in the camera bag. Wish it was cheaper? Yes, the same could be said concerning certain top of the line watches or cars....

3

0

0

I like the camera very much, but not on video mode

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 10/03/2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is outstanding, I have RX-100 M2 , and I love it too.I love it a lot. But on video mod it is disaster. Can you do something to improve the quality of the video clips? Thx

2

1

0

Lacking in many ways...wish I could return it.

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 19/02/2015 by IvanK (USA)

I've owned many camera both "point and shoot" and DSLR. I have the RX1R about 2 month now and have used it a bit around the world. I've used it in many light settings and all modes of operation. I gave it 2 stars only because of the huge picture size and the ability to produce a nice landscape photo of still items. The autofocus is poor in low light and moving subjects.The Canon S-95 I have outperforms this camera in all ways except image size. It's a shame that a 3000 dollar camera can't preform as well as a 500 dollar camera. Hopefully I'll find someone to buy it !! from me because I'm sure Sony won't take it back.

14

9

0

As a camera should be

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 18/02/2015 by Nickpicker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First let me start my review by given everybody who’s thinking of purchasing the RXR1 how I arrived at my purchase. I started with cameras 1963, and owned two and quarter square roll film cameras and 35mm SLR cameras. Also did all my own developing and enlarging my black and white prints. So with fifty years being an amateur photographer and having owned many cameras, have always known the joy of being able to set a camera up with or without a light meter. These are the most important things to me which made me choose the RXR. My priorities were a camera which a viewfinder could be use and yes I have the FDA-EV1MK any concerning photographer would not be with one. The Zeiss lens having used microscopes for years have not found much too equal Zeiss plus all cameras fitted with Zeiss lens have given superb results. I went for a fixed lens because I found for landscapes, close up of plants and portrait this was ideal, when I did own different lens in the past I found I never needed to carry extra lens. I have had a cable release cable since 1963 and I am glad I held on to it because the RXR1 has a thread in the shutter release button which I may add works. If I have any gripes it’s the flash design while I understand the position when it’s activated is high to clear the lens when being use, the assembly feels flimsy. Also the socket for charging and downloading data could be more robust, but saying that there is no perfect camera we all find the design of the camera we own does not meet our individual needs. One thing would have been nice to have a professional developing software instead of the play memories you have to download to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

$1499 in-store and still can't sell these

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 15/02/2015 by JohnHarvard (USA)

Auto focus painfully slow (RX100-M1 is faster), such that I can never get a clear shot of my toddler. Image quality identical to RX100 if you print at 9x12 or less. This version is less sharp than the RX1R $1999.99 all winter long (Nov 2014-Feb2015) at Sony Stores in GTA, extra 25% off ($1499), during closing event (Jan-Feb 2015); caveat is that extended warranty will be charged as if item were the full $3000, and it's final sale. 1* (poor) rating given due to the online Sony price still at $3000 Item returned.

3

6

0

Amazing Camera

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 04/02/2015 by sangmoosa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera whilst on holiday in the US. I have always used full frame cameras and am totally amazed at the quality of the pictures on this camera. The size and weight are superb and the depth of clarity just unbelievable. A real winner in my books for the amateur and professional alike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

small size and good reviews

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 14/12/2014 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality of the photos are superb.size of camera is excellent.very easy to carry around all day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera. Needs firmware update.

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 24/10/2014 by CNJPHOTO (USA)

This camera produces amazing photos that equal and at times surpass those produced by monster sized DSLR's. Professional capability in a near pocket-sized body. Discreet and understated, it's great for street photography as well as for landscapes. It does however need a firmware update. Video should offer XAVC-S 50mbps codec like its little brother, the amazing SONY DSC RX10, and you should be able to use focus peaking in normal framing and while capturing video. Focus in general could be improved via firmware. Otherwise, a fantastic camera.

5

0

0

Where have you been all my life?

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 02/07/2014 by Gründahl (United Kingdom)

A wonderful camera. I know it's pointless to speculate what camera "someone or other" would use if he were alive today, but I really think that Cartier-Bresson would have been tempted by this. This is the camera that his company of choice have yet to come up with. Small, beautifully built, versatile, inconspicuous, silent and excellent resolution. Alright, it has a 35mm fixed lens and C-B is supposed to have used a 50mm almost exclusively, but here you're the photographer not C-B.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

15

0

Fantastic Camera

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 24/06/2014 by mixpix (United Kingdom)

This is a great camera but it wouldn't suit everyone. You are "restricted" to a 35mm full frame lens. The Zeiss quality is superb and the results are outstanding. I sold all my Canon gear to buy this camera and have not regretted it since. It will fit into a small bag and without the viewfinder would fit into a coat pocket. The Menu is easy to navigate and you have the option of a macro setting which works very well.Another great feature is flash sync to 1/2000th second. The finish is excellent and it oozes quality. I would recommend that you purchase the EVF, it is very expensive but makes the camera so much better to handle As regards the 35mm lens, all you have to do is move your feet to obtain a different view.I crop my images and this does not affect the quality or the ability to produce large prints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

9

0

RX1-R

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2014 by Hungryguts (United Kingdom)

I purchased my RX1-r about 3 months ago, main reason for chose being full size sensor with compact camera format. It performs very well, though I have to be careful with aperture settings when taking handheld shots as the speed often drops to 1/80th sec or below which can introduce camera shake. The lens is fairly wide angle which means getting up close to the subject by comparison to other cameras. Optional evf is very expensive, though I manage very well without, fixed position of LCD can mean laying on ground at times. I've had to research web for remote flashes as the sony hotshot is different to that of other cameras, ordered a Sony flash HLV-F43M as I couldn't get solid answers, again latest sony flashes which operate with this camera expensive. The AF is quite slow needs 2 secs to react, this can be annoying and I have lost a number of shots during street photography as a result. I quite like the peeking options which allow very accurate manual focusing. Camera is a very solid piece of kit when compared to the likes of the Sony A6000 and controls excellently positioned with options to change function buttons. Digital zoom is a waste of time as it detracts from image quality. The F2 lens is quite remarkable and cheap attachments to convert the lens to wide angle, macro or telephoto (70mm equivalent) start making the camera good value. Not a sports camera due to slow AF, street photography perfect and great fun. I've limited studio experience, but found the camera takes exceptional photos in this situation. Highly recommended as a practical alternative to carrying a large heavy camera around, for the person that wants high quality photos, likes to exploit a cameras virtues and doesn't need the camera for wildlife or sports. On a final note, I managed some excellent shots of the Northern lights on a recent trip to Iceland, even though they couldn't be seen with the human eye.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

3

0

Fantastic image quality.

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2014 by Lewi5 (United Kingdom)

Great colour and very sharp image quality. Fits in pocket. Viewfinder is an expensive extra though. Limited to 35mm only.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Great features and fantastic photos!!!!

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2014 by boyokos (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and I am soooo happy that I did ordered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A7r ..Superior Camera from Sony

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 03/01/2014 by AndyV (USA)

Outstanding performance in every way. Great Features. The battery charger cable does not work. Also, I did not receive an English Manual. It was French ?

3

4

0

Best photos taken in the palm of your hand..simple

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 27/11/2013 by Dhammawitt (USA)

Everything about this exudes quality. From the feel of the soft buttons, shutter to the heft of the full magnesium alloy body, they put thought into this camera, It's not just a luxury item, its for those who appreciate quality. It feels as if the CEO himself wanted this camera to exist. Its a no-compromise of quality camera system you can always take with you at the expense of compromising the features we're used to. Its not for full-on photography. It will however get you the best 35mm shot to exist.

8

3

0

Omission

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 28/10/2013 by Django292 (USA)

I just purchased this camera, so don't have a lot to say as of yet. However, when I went to process the first Raw files from this cutting edge camera, I was disappointed to find that Sony has not yet released the RAW support file needed for Mac-based computers and photo editing products. They have one out for Microsoft operating systems, but not for Mac OS. Guess they haven't realized that a high percentage of their customers are using Macs. Hope they correct the problem in short order.

22

5

0

Excellent image quality - good luck with focus

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 14/10/2013 by RCM1 (USA)

I have had the camera for about 6 months now and it is a great compact camera, however I have missed many shots due to the slow focus speeds. It has been out over a year and still no firmware updates which is troubling given the cost of the camera. It makes me feel that there is no real support for this hardware. There are many people requesting a firmware update but Sony clearly stated they have no plans for this which is unfortunate. It's a 4 star camera but taking a star off for the lack of support.

34

1

0

Simply Amazing

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 04/10/2013 by Otamad (USA)

This camera deserves much praise however, it comes with some frustration. The good: The IQ is mind boggling. It's better than any full frame DSLR I've used. The handling is great and the layout of the controls leaves little to be desired. The camera feels great and it reeks of precision. It is unobtrusive and it rarely causes a second look unlike a big DSLR. It's small enough that it can be a constant companion. Mine lives in my daily backpack. The 35mm focal length is ideal. The external articulated ELV is great. Some feel it should be built in. Those same people might complain that the camera is to large or wish for an articulated ELV. I like it the way it is. Also, the camera is dead quiet. The (not real) bad: the lowlight performance is excellent but the lowlight AF is compromised. My Olympus MFT has better lowlight AF. I typically revert to MF with peaking for lowlight close ups. The battery life is short but it's to be expected when considering size. A bigger battery means a bigger camera! The raw + JPEG only gives a med JPEG. The cost of accessories is high, if you don't like it make your own. The wish list: An articulated touch screen, IS & dust/moisture proofing. Buy this camera if want a high precision compact camera with a mind boggling IQ. If you can afford it, don't hesitate, just do it.

22

0

0

video recording unacceptably bad

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 20/09/2013 by KatieC (USA)

The RX1R is identical to the RX1 but this camera is minus the AA filter. How I wish I had gotten the RX1!!! Video recording has severe moire issues and any tilts or pans will accentuate even more. SONY are you doing anything about this with any kind of software update, if not, can I trade this in for the RX1? Please? Not happy at all about spending 3k on a camera that boasts HD video and gives me horrible image quality. Photos are great, but AF not very reliable - action photography should not even be attempted.

23

10

0

Excellent Quality

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 17/09/2013 by cas578 (USA)

Although it is pricey, the quality and features on the camera are so phenomenal. I had just received my Sony RX1R a week ago and the quality of the images are distinct and capture great detail. I am not a professional photographer or an individual in the graphic arts industry, however it really doesn't take much skill to observe high quality work and innovation. I am just a regular college student that will be using this product for my future endeavors. I would recommend this product for beginners interested in utilizing their skills in photography.

5

1

0

almost perfect

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 12/09/2013 by parkerjake (USA)

This is a very high quality camera , lens, and sensor combination capable of state of the art 35mm digital photography. The electronic viewfinder is a must have accessory as is a lens cap, but the Sony cap is ridiculously expensive and there are good alternatives. In fact, a lens cap should be included, and the packaging should be upgraded to reflect the high qualities of the camera. I would gladly purchase a fixed lens moderate telephoto version, say 80-90mm, because the lens sensor combination is likely to remain superior to any interchangeable lens version.

8

1

0

Over the top

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 07/09/2013 by Louslens (USA)

I have bee interested in photography since I was 11, I'm now 74. I have had many cameras and lugged around lens and equipment. I ordered this camera in July and received it late August. It was worth the wait. I am not a professional photographer, but this is the best camera I have ever used. Sony your to be congratulated.

13

0

0

Great Product

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 09/08/2013 by SoapCakes (USA)

I've had this camera now for a few months and have no complaints. Its a great camera. Curious about a Firmware update tho?

7

4

0

A fixed-lens Leica replacement

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 27/07/2013 by JZBuchwald (USA)

This RX1's lens is excellent, producing tack-sharp files with extraordinary resolution and dynamic range. It's a shame that the electronic viewfinder is not built in, but the addon eve,, though expensive, is better than any I've used before. There is one fault that really should be remedied as soon as possible: the focus distance scale behavior: 1. the scale only appears when the focus ring is turned. There should be an option to have it on all the time. 2. The scale is only in meters 3. The scale is pretty coarse 4. There is no indication of depth of field, as e.g. there is on the Fuji X cameras, which also have a much finer scale that can be switched to feet or meters. There's no reason not to remedy these problems with a firmware upgrade, which would make the camera nearly perfect.

25

1

0

"bazinga" Power in your Hand

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 23/07/2013 by LAfur (USA)

This is a Camera that will take you further with your photograph´s. Excellent in Low light. Great Focus. Awesome Lens 35mm Zeiss. best regards Lafur Photography

4

3

0

wonderful

RX1R (without Low-pass Filter) 29/06/2013 by werson69 (USA)

it is waonderful i hope to find it here in brazil soon!

7

39

0

In A Word, "HOLY-MOLY!"

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 02/06/2013 by TopHeadphones99 (USA)

I recently sold my A77 to get this camera to compliment my Sony NEX VG900 camcorder. Like the VG900, this is a fantastic piece of engineering. The images that the RX1 produces are very sharp and detailed. I used both the RX1 and A99 with 24mm F1.8 in a local Sony Retail Store and I was surprised to find that the RX1 turned out to have better image quality, since both of the cameras have a 35mm sensor. This camera is nicely sized and fits into a coat pocket, but not in a pants pocket. That's one issue. It also has a high quality metal build and the bottom section is the only part that is plastic. The out-of-focus blur is very creamy and smooth and turns out to be extra-gorgeous in videos. The video quality is good. Low light performance is nice up to ISO 6400. Even 12,800 ISO photos were reasonably clean. The fact that the lens has a leaf shutter means that it was completely silent and I love that. The burst rate is only 5 FPS but I can live with that. The gripes are that there is no viewfinder. I purchased the EVF attachment and it is fantastic in terms of quality. I don't recommend the Zeiss optical viewfinder. I purchased all of the accessories for the RX1 and things like the lens hood and thumb grip are EXPENSIVE! The continuous autofocus in both photos and videos is a bit sluggish but the focus peaking aids me to compensate for that. But there is no focus peaking in video. The battery is the same as the RX100 and does not give you good battery life, but it is reasonable. I look at photos from this camera and they look very sharp but when I zoom in on them, every detail looks perfectly rendered. This camera looks very subtle as well. Everyone sees that I have a pocketable camera but they don't know that it has better capability of a full-frame DSLR. I love the fact that is has the aperture ring, exposure compensation dial, and macro switch. That means that I don't have to do menu diving. Also, I can adjust exposure in video recording, which IS important. The shutter button is a cable release style and is the best I've pushed. There is no other word that I can describe this camera other than AMAZING. I would recommend it in a heart beat. It's basically a Point and Shoot, but I feel insulted calling it that. It's way more impressive than that. Kudos to Sony for achieving an incredible piece of engineering.

28

0

0

I'd have given it 6 stars if I could

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 13/05/2013 by allegretto (USA)

Fist of all, if you don't have the very best lens/body from Nikon, Canon, Leica etc, you will be very disappointed in the images from your current camera once you see these. Color balance a bit on the sat side for me, but that can be fixed in post. Good golly the sharpness and contrast, even in low light is amazing Very easy to handle if you have the thumb lever, still not too bad if you do not. Menus are easy to access ad understand. Only gripe is the obvious one about limitations of lens reach. has jiggled tele modes which are good, but not the real deal and not raw. A bargain at this price for the output quality of this thing.

14

4

0

Extremely happy and satisfied

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 06/05/2013 by PascalIV (USA)

All around this is a great camera. I rented several cameras before purchasing the RX1, including a Leica M and Nikon D-800E. Although some may think the RX1 is expensive—it is, in fact, a bargain when you look at all that it has to offer. I made several image test with each of the rented cameras. Without a doubt this camera fulfilled most of my needs and was not short on quality in any category. The materials, finish and workmanship is excellent, it is easy to use and the images are equal to other cameras that I tested. Color differences between the rented cameras where subtle and easily fixed with processing. It is a mirrorless camera with 2 lenses in one (wide and macro), excellent optics, a large 24 MP full frame sensor, optional (but necessary) electronic viewfinder, electronic level and bright screen. It is very easy to operate and fits into my jacket pocket. There is no guess work while composing the image. I am very, very happy with the quality of images thus far. I am a still photographer so I have not used the video. I imagine the quality on screen is off the charts.

22

0

0

An absolutely unique photographic tool w/out peer

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 08/02/2013 by TechnoGuy (USA)

If you managed to get this far through all the reviews of the camera, you're either a glutton for punishment, are you really are a researcher and aficionado of high-end digital photography. Let's assume it's the latter and get to the really interesting stuff. This camera is in a class of one. There's really nothing like it anywhere in the marketplace. It's absurdly expensive for a point-and-shoot, and yet it takes pictures that rival and in some cases exceed in overall quality what some of the very best full frame pro cameras are capable of generating . . . . . while fitting fairly comfortably in your jacket pocket. It looks like your neighbor's point-and-shoot $350 Canon, but costs more than your last vacation. It doesn't even have a viewfinder, either optical or electronic - although you can get a great electronic one, if you don't mind being soaked for another $450 on top of what you've already shelled out for this absurdly expensive but marvelous piece of technology. Or you can really get hosed completely by Zeiss, and get an optical viewfinder for another $650 - easily the most overpriced accessory in digital photography. It isn't the fastest focusing, and it requires you to move closer or farther to get the shot that you want instead of zooming in or out given the fixed focal length lens. It can be both maddening to use and at the same time . . . a breeze to use like any other point-and-shoot. It's like nothing else really. Its high ISO performance is equal to anything and I do mean anything out there. It's capable of taking very low noise images at ISO 6400, and with a little bit of cleanup and working in RAW, you can easily salvage high quality pictures at ISO 12,800 with lots of detail and very little loss of information due to noise. Overall, the camera is something of a walking contradiction in terms in many ways, and at the same time, it's a camera that's capable of inspiring enormous loyalty and probably will generate a truly cult-like following, while many other people may simply shake their heads at what they see as Sony's foolishness. Pros: 1) As good high ISO as virtually any full frame camera (with the possible exception of the Canon 1 Dx, Nikon D4 and D600 - and, at worst, it is very close to those benchmark systems in terms of low light ability - at best it is equal to any of them). 2) Capable of remarkable detail due to its 24 megapixel full frame sensor with excellent color and dynamic range. DxO sensor score of 93. 3) High quality Zeiss 35mm F 2.0 fixed lens that is sharp edge-to-edge (which for FF camera might cost $1200 or so by itself). 4) Intuitive but deep operating system and menu structures, immediately familiar to those coming from Sony Alpha background. Easy to run as full manual camera . . . or put on full AUTO, and all shades in between. Good aperture priority mode operation (my personal fav). 5) Capable of shooting 1080 at 60p and taking excellent videos in low light, and with full IS (image stabilization). 6) Remarkable compactness and portability for such enormous low light capabilities w/full frame sensor - an engineering tour de force in terms of cramming full frame capabilities into a point-and-shoot size and form factor (achievable only with a fixed lens). 7) Macro functionality in CZ lens. 8) Customizable buttons and other nice user config operating system features. 9) Crop/zoom functionality of x1.4 and x2.0 partially mitigates fixed lens restrictions (equivalent to 50 and 70 mm lens but with obvious loss of resolution). 10) High build quality w/ nice magnesium chassis - has very solid feel (it ought to for this much $!). 11) Decent flash. Cons: 1) Price. 2) Fixed focal length lens means extra work to get the shot properly framed - and forget about shooting subjects at a distance. 3) Tendency to underexpose one half to one third exposure value - why can't Sony for this much money get exposure values locked in? 4) Problems with focus lock in low light - mostly a standard contrast detection focus issue (but for example OM5 does better job). Fixable in firmware updates perhaps? 5) Likelihood of (or at least possibility of) planned obsolescence, as Sony may release a zoom lens version sometime in the next three years. 6) More than disappointing that Sony did not include an electronic viewfinder as standard equipment at this price. 7) Poor thumb grip with not enough contour - not easy to hold onto the camera with one hand. 8) No IS for stills - given that this is always sensor-based in Sony systems, not sure why omitted (hi ISO performance?). 9) Sony STILL hasn't made viewing photos and videos in any kind of alternating fashion easy - must surf menus or shoot video to get easy viewing access to videos on card. 10) Poor battery life. Must carry two batteries. 11) Lens zoom and crop functionality not available if shooting in RAW. 12) Flash has really modest output and no bounce functionality. Having more cons than pros doesn't mean that I don't like/love this camera. I'm a bit stunned by its capabilities on the one hand, and frustrated with its limitations on the other, but it's obvious that what makes it so remarkable actually locks in some of its limitations. You simply couldn't get this compact form factor with an EVF and even a 3x zoom lens. The lens alone would be huge, and this Zeiss lens itself is an engineering marvel, in terms of how small it really is for a FF sensor 2.0 lens. In the end, it's all about image quality, and here, both in stills and video, there is very little to complain about. And if you take this instead of your huge DSLR and bag of lenses, just because it's so damned convenient, isn't that the strongest endorsement you can make? I find that I am transitioning away from a very favorite Sony A65 as my default camera, just because this is so easy to carry. I'm still exploring the performance envelope of the RX-1, and will update this review as I go. It's a remarkable camera by any standard, and perhaps the most INTERESTING camera that has been made in the last 10 years, with the possible exception of the SLTs made also by Sony. Suggests that Sony is thinking outside the box and more creatively than anyone else.

84

4

0

Great, great camera. Awkward messy directions

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 17/01/2013 by UncleRuddy (USA)

Can't say enough good about this camera. It is a huge piece of photographic technology in a very small and, for the most part, user-friendly, very well-performing package. But beware the user manual. It is clearly put together by a bunch of technologists who have no idea how to explain how to use this camera in a comprehensive, orderly, rational, step-by-step way.

27

6

0

State-of-the-art images

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 17/12/2012 by Bayman (USA)

I took it out of the box, and did a few quick frames and discovered the finest quality digital files that I have ever produced. I have worked with many cameras, lenses, and digital backs over the years, including Nikon's D-4 and D800E, and in my opinion, this Sony betters them. The lens is razor-sharp and possesses that beautiful sense of space that only the best 35mm have. I closely inspected the images, that were shot at 100 ISO under normal daylight, and could not detect the slightest hint of noise! I plan to conduct tests to learn the extremes of the lens and sensor, but make no mistake, this camera is capable of producing professional or gallery-quality images. I only wish that it would be possible attach a viewfinder and an external flash at the same time. Currently, you must compose through the LCD screen when an external flash is attached. All in all, it's still a stunning camera, and when in hand, recalls the feeling of a Leica M2 that I once owned. It has a certain heft and cool metallic feel of a classic camera. And ooh, how those dials and ring click into place!

53

2

0

Little Tiny with Big Power

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 15/12/2012  (USA)

The RX1 arrived a few days ago.. This will be my third day with it. At present, I can say that I will more than likely keep it. Aside from the convenience and the ease of use and the sharpness, and its ability to depict true accurate color, and the amazing color gradation, and the impressive ability to shoot in low light, and the lightning fast focus, and the physical solidness of the camera, and the amazing macro action and the sharpness, did I mention the sharpness--aside from all that, it's fun. It's fun! You point it and you shoot it. No lens to screw on and lens caps to misplace. But there is a multitude of do-dad settings from which to choose available to the photograph master if he/she so chooses. (On the first day, I used the setting that makes skin look softer--VERY impressive.) It is not to say that I'm giving up the DSLR--my tried and true 5D Mark III is still near and dear to my aperture-opened heart . And although it never ceases to astound me, the new RX-1 is also astounding me quite nicely as well. Now about the cost. Hmmm. That a bit of a boat load now, isn't it. But try this...price a full sensor camera, body only. Now, add a high quality lens and you won't be getting off easily (Sony didn't skimp on the RX-1 lens--it's a honey.) A lot of photography is capturing the shot. The RX-1 frees the photographer in so many ways. It rides along wherever you go. And it's available to capture whatever you see. How fast? In a flash! CLICK!

35

6

0

RX1

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 10/12/2012 by Cole (USA)

This is a big time game changer from Sony like the RX100... Can't beat the IQ, UI, Quality...price could be better, but you won't find a better price either...I own the Nex-7 and the RX1 absolutely beats the Nex-7 at any level for IQ and High ISO performance...focus peaking works xclt as well...the RX1 will actually AF on Christmas Tree lights something the Nex System can't do...

24

7

0

Wish Canon Had Done This

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 12/11/2012 by PACoug (USA)

I'm absolutely sure this is the flattest lens Zeiss could make to do justice to a camera of this magnitude. What you are looking at will not be significantly improved upon for years, if that has any value in your decision to spend such a huge chunk for such a tiny lump. I can see this in a well-funded event photog's bag, to get close candids and cake shots, etc. while leaving the big rig on the tripod. But mostly I see it as a reporter's rig in places where SLRs are routinely confiscated. Now sure, the Mac Daddy lens on this thing might prompt El Presidente's bodyguards to take it anyway. But it stands a better chance of staying in a reporter's hand than a 7D with a battery grip and a white lens! And by the way, just as capable of getting wonderful shots. I would use this camera for high school seniors' portraits, lightbox product photography, street shooting, outdoor panoramas...but not if I can't afford it, which I can't, even with the expected long service life. It is a wonderful tool. Too expensive to be a toy.

27

17

0

Significant Camera in the history of photography

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 06/11/2012 by JSalk2011 (USA)

This is a significant camera in digital camera design. Sony has to be congratulated for this. I wish I had seen this before I purchased my Canon 5D Mark III. I would have stuck with my original 5D and bought this instead. I urge Sony to follow up with an interchangeable version. I would sell all my DSLR stuff and move to this.

28

13

0

Publishable photodocumentation

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 07/10/2012 by RXIchiban (USA)

Sony has combined more than a big sensor with a prime lens into its RX1. There are also the internal computer workings, hardware and software, that add flexibility. For example, combining Clear Zoom with HDR will result in macrophotography without loss of resolution. Add to that, 25600 ISO, and natural lighting at 6 inches becomes a reality. Accessorizing with a ring flash that flattens macro images will not be required. Endowing the camera with digital zoom gives you the equivalent of three prime lenses in the palm of your hand. The images will be of publication quality for scientific documentation and large artworks. I intend to put the RX1 to work in the laboratory, for macrophotography, and out of doors, for panoramic landscape imagery. RX1 is 1/2" wider and longer than the Nex-5 with the pancake lens.

153

9

0

Game changer

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 16/09/2012  (USA)

Impressive full frame sensor point and shoot camera! This opens up a whole new market for point and shoot cameras. Not knowing what costs are for this camera I only wish it was under 2K to make it more affordable for me. I just bought the RX100 and t was okay with that price for a 1" sensor. I really like this camera for it's compact size and Zeiss zoom. If and when you develop a full frame senor with interchangeable lenses camera like the RX1 style do develop many fine Zeiss lenses!

23

33

0

Most interesting camera of the year

RX1 (with Low-pass Filter) 12/09/2012 by salimmadjd (USA)

This could be the most interesting camera of the year if not in the past few years. I hope Sony will make a version with a 28/2 or 28/2.8 for street photography. 35/2 is great. But 28/2 might be more practical. With 24 MP there is room for cropping if you need a tighter shot but you can't expand 35 if you need a wider view.

31

39