Skip to Content
342

4.5 based on 342 customer reviews

226
91
13
7
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

DSCRX100M3/B 13/10/2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

DSCRX100M3/B 18/01/2017 by muskturtle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

343 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M3 20/01/2018 by jblackie1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A few years since I had a camera, using my phone. Very impressed by the quality of the pictures, particularly in low light. Also very good at videos, panning shots useful for landscapes. Looking forward to getting to know the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera - shame about the software

DSC-RX100M3 16/01/2018 by TrailingTim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is as good as the reviews so I won’t be returning it. But the online Sony software is a nightmare. The camera claims to be WiFi enabled but cannot link to my computer wirelessly - and I don’t want to edit images on a phone screen. The manual is of very limited help and the Play Memories software is a nightmare. Oh, and I failed to convince the Online register system that I was not a robot. Clearly Sony’s robot was unable to accept that I was not one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M3 16/01/2018 by Sonymac2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a two months ago and until now works perfectly. I recommend!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact, quality pictures and cincenient

DSC-RX100M3 12/01/2018 by Norm42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant for holidays. Easy to use, portable, excellent controls, quality device!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact with all the features of a larger camera

DSC-RX100M3 12/01/2018 by JGS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used the camera over Christmas and was impressed with the overall picture quality and ease of use. Simple point and press if that is what you want or you can use the many additional features for the more specific images -and it will fit in my pocket!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So many features!

DSC-RX100M3 11/01/2018 by AlexMUK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given a DSC RX100 III for Christmas, and so far my experiences are very positive. My previous camera was a HX50 compact zoom camera, and the RX100 III is a massive leap forwards. First impressions and things I like so far: 1) Pop-up electronic view finder is extremely usable and I find that it helps me with framing and composition greatly. The EVF is bright and sharp, and has good enough diopter adjustment to allow me to use it without my glasses - really excellent.. I love it for this feature alone. It really is a feat of engineering to cram a high quality pop-up EVF into such a compact chassis 2) Fast lens at wide apertures and big (ish) sensor with wide ISO range make it much more usable in low-light conditions where you can't use flash 3) Advanced drive modes, aperture and exposure priority modes really allow you to start to experiment with creative effects in different shooting scenarios. The creative shooting modes are a lot of fun - I had a lot of fun with the colour filter mode that allows you to have red objects in colour and the rest in B&W - great shooting letter boxes and phone boxes! 3) Rear screen pivots up and is capable of rotating 180 degrees to allow selfies. I'm not generally a selfie-taker, but it allows you to frame them correctly if you need to and would also be good for vloggers in video mode 4) Overall image quality is very strong for a compact camera - images appear sharp and crisp with good detail and exposure is generally very good across a range of natural and artificial lighting situations in the auto modes including artificial lighting and overcast days 5) The camera makes reliable choices for focus and there seem to be very few shots where the the scene analysis has put focus where I didn't expect it to. 6) Powerful built-in flash - it didn't look like much, but is surprisingly powerful and can be flipped up for bounce flash. Just as well because there isn't a hot shoe any more... 7) Startup is quite quick from pressing power to ready to shoot - much better than my old HX50 8) A lot of flexibility and control - I bought this camera because I wanted to start to experiment with expanding my photographic techniques beyond the use of auto modes and this camera has a lot of DSLR-type configurability and flexibility. (Possibly too much for me to get to grips with quickly - there is a lot to work with!) 9) Good stabilisation on video modes - very usable, without 'jelly roll' type artefacts Areas that could be better 1) Closing the EVF shuts off the camera, and this can't be defeated. This should be a configurable setting 2) No external mic input. This is a shame as this would be a very useful video camera for vloggers but being limited to the internal stereo mike is quite limiting 3) slightly longer zoom range would be useful for candid portraits 4) Fast lens is stopped down quickly as you zoom 5) Needs a thumb grip on the right of the camera, especially if you have big hands Overall, I'm very pleased and impressed and look forwards to years of great photos from this camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning compact,slr level features

DSC-RX100M3 09/01/2018 by Munro277 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A friend has been using one of these on his backpacking trips for years, but on a recent trip to the Artic circle the results on his northern light pictures were amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 08/01/2018 by porcupine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good size for carrying in all situations although some of the buttons are not always easy to access. The picture quality is good in poor light conditions but a flash unit that comes up automatically would be useful, appreciating that it is not always necessary. A better zoom would be very useful as I feel that this is its main drawback. Very satisfied with all other major features.

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera!

DSC-RX100M3 08/01/2018 by Stevedean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera. Many more features than you would expect from such a small size, and excellent image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First impressions

DSC-RX100M3 07/01/2018 by Paul C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a great travel/compact camera with a good sensor and great reviews. The Mk 5 has some great reviews and in most of them they say that the older models where just as good, cheaper and if you don't need 4k are worth a look. So I looked and choose the M3. The photos are great but the lack of time lapse as standard is a let down. Overall the menus are easy to use and the Fn button is great for quick access to lots of useful features. I am looking forward to using this camera in the future and to capture some great shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera

DSC-RX100M3 06/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

May even part with my DSLR it s so good . A superb take anywhere camera with outstanding control and picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

DSC-RX100M3 04/01/2018 by Peabee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use but with more advanced features. Small enough to take on a hanglider and use one handed though this can be tricky with gloves. A raised shoot button would help with that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony rx100 iii

DSC-RX100M3 04/01/2018 by Jr55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased a Sony rx100 iii it takes excellent pictures has a fast 1.8 lens it is very well made is small enough to carry all the time and the WiFi is easy to use I would recommend this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great IQ and build, but handling not ideal

DSC-RX100M3 03/01/2018 by Pdk42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very good compact camera that delivers excellent image quality for its size. Shooting raw and with careful post processing it will deliver great images up to ISI 3200. The lens is sharp over most of the frame, even wide open, and it offers a good zoom range. With an aperture of f1.8 to f2.8 it is also pretty bright and can offer the opportunity for blurring backgrounds if you work at it. My only real complaint is that it's not ideal in the handling/ergonomics department. It's probably fine if you just shoot JPEG on iAuto, but if you're an enthusiast photographer and want control over focus, exposure, aperture etc, and are used to using larger cameras, then you'll likely get frustrated with it at times. However, I accept that when a camera gets this small the handling will always be compromised - but I think with a just an extra dial at the front (like the Canon G5xii), it's would be immensely better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

brilliant compact ,cant fault this product

DSC-RX100M3 02/01/2018 by cheesy1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent product.i sold a lot of Nikon camera equipment,bodies,lenses etc and then wondered whether I had done the wright thing.After using the RX100 for a couple of weeks I am now getting the same results from a much smaller and lighter unit.Im glad I made the change.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact

DSC-RX100M3 01/01/2018 by cybermanrx100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only owned for 2 weeks, so not yet explored all its fearures, but impressed by the range of settings available, and had good results so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality camera

DSC-RX100M3 30/12/2017 by Mikeeeeeeee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Intuitive and easy to use in automatic mode. The camera adjusts the settings to produce the optimum pic for the conditions; great results so far. I have still to explore the additional functions and settings. My only complaint is the hideous process of signing up on line for Sony's picture management software which was tortuous and confusing; you end up with an account which is combined with on line gaming features. The software itself is difficult to use, and I am not confident with its security and the amount of information that may be shared, and with whom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good things come in small "packages"

DSC-RX100M3 29/12/2017 by Ropeyrider (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic Potential but it was a Christmas present so I've not had enough time to try all the features yet. The pop-up viewfinder is a great asset. I find it difficult to apply the light pressure needed to focus and end up firing off multiple shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 19/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality compact camera, takes fantastic photographs, once you understand the settings, happy with my product..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX100 M3

DSC-RX100M3 14/12/2017 by Steve1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Sony camera . owned it less than one month and very impressed with performance and photos. Easy to use but still learning from menu . Quality of build is good , heavier than I expected but not a problem . metal construction , not plastic . Very happy so far , been a Sony fan for over 40 years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High quality images

DSC-RX100M3 11/12/2017 by WilliamEH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous compact was nearly ten years old and the technology has moved on since then.The image quality of the RX100M3 in RAW enables me to obtain and manipulate very high quality images. It has been quite a learning curve to understand all the menus and features but well worth the effort. Online resources such as You Tube have proved invaluable. This camera is not replacing my DSLR but augmenting my resources. Importantly, it fits into my pocket or into the small Sony leather case and can be carried by me when the DSLR is too heavy or conspicuous. I look forward to experimenting further.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The perfect compact?

DSC-RX100M3 10/12/2017 by Spinky12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a pocket size camera without having to compromise to much on the image quality I'm used to from my DSLR. After a lot of research, and pros and cons lists, I arrived at the RX100 III. After two weeks of intensive use I can say that I got exactly what I wanted. Build quality is great and it's a tiny body so easily fits in my pocket. Auto focus is quick and accurate and image quality is brilliant even at higher ISOs. Video wasn't high on my list of requirements (if it had been I might have gone for the RX100 mk IV or V) but I was surprised how well it performed. I used the RX100 III as a 2nd camera in a simple set up and it outperformed the far more expensive primary camera in dynamic range and colour balance. Overall I'm very impressed and it's secured it's place by my side for daily use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony rx100 m3

DSC-RX100M3 09/12/2017 by luteum123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good compact camera. Takes great pictures and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M3 08/12/2017 by Cav42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use controls, good viewfinder and excellent quality pictures. Only problem is connecting via WiFi to phone to send pictures. Very hit and miss with more misses than hits!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb pocketabikity

DSC-RX100M3 04/12/2017 by Edinburgh 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after a long time deliberating over it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Rx 100 III initial impressions

DSC-RX100M3 04/12/2017 by Pedro the first (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for its larger sensor and thus better IQ. Well made. However the small controls mean that this is more a "point and shoot" camera than a true photographic tool. You are to be congratulated in building in an EVF,but I think this would have been better had it been built into the body rather than a "pop up". For street photography the time taken to raise and switch on the EVF means that the "moment" has often passed before the photo can be taken.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 03/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a girls camera really as the buttons are so small but it's great for carrying with me all the time and the quality is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera upgrade

DSC-RX100M3 23/11/2017 by Jonny99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as an upgrade to an older compact and to use as a replacement to taking out my DSLR too often. I used it in anger on a trip to Norway to see the Northern Lights and was not disappointed by the quality of photos and versatility of the camera. It has a solid, quality feel when in use and the lens is quick enough not to have to use the flash in low light conditions. Maybe the lens could be a bit longer, 70mm (equivalent) is ok (similar to my standard DSLR lens) but there was the odd occasion when zooming in more would have been good. I would also advise buying the additional grip to attach (I got this as part of a kit), it makes quite a bit of difference to holding the camera. Overall though I am pleased with the camera and would recommend any in the range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Camera except for just 3x optical zoom

DSCRX100M3/B 21/11/2017 by Amdrone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is pocketable and pricey. Its menus take a little getting used to but not too difficult. The picture quality is excellent and night photos look good. The fact that one can transfer photos wirelessly to phone/tablet is very convenient. The remote phone taking app works well as well. I would like to change the camera mode through the remote App. Right now some functions can be changed only in the manual mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

COMPACT ALL-ROUNDER

DSC-RX100M3 20/11/2017 by Tedsmum (United Kingdom)

I took the camera on holiday to Bolivia the first time I used it. It was brilliant for making videos and panoramic views. Most of the time I used the intelligent auto setting for street photography, Bolivians can be reluctant to be photographed. The only downside is the amount of zoom. 24-70mm is a bit short for most things. So I would say a great all round camera, but if you need more detail at long distances (e.g. wildlife) this is not the camera for you. Lightweight, it fit easily into my pocket. The matching case (purchased extra) provided extra protection when carrying it in my backpack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Happy snapper

DSC-RX100M3 17/11/2017 by MSuz (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera after trying it out at a Sony sponsored ice hockey game. Since then I've used it in a number of different settings. It is versatile and helps a"point and click girl" take great pics. Also I am disabled and this camera is no too heavy or bulky for me to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good little camera

DSC-RX100M3 14/11/2017 by More Anon (United Kingdom)

The Sony RX100 Mk3 is a great little camera if you need something that fits in your pocket and can take very good jpegs. Colours are excellent, images sharp in good light. It's a big notch above the average point-and-shoot but a big notch below larger APS-C cameras. Because of its small size and design, it isn't great to handle, but it has a lot of advanced features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

great travel camera

DSC-RX100M3 14/11/2017 by telp (United Kingdom)

excellent picture quality, easy to use ,great features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

camera

DSC-RX100M3 13/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

I upgraded form a RX100 to this one. The picture was taken on the 06/11/2017 at 7-45pm. With no flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What a marvel!

DSC-RX100M3 10/11/2017 by Twizzle (United Kingdom)

This camera, the Sony RX100 111, produces some of the best photos of any 1" sensor camera. It is extremely well built, mostly of metal, and is heavier than you would expect. Whilst the Menu takes some getting used to ,once you get the hang of it ,with programming functions, it produces lovely photos. I only shoot jpeg and feel there is no need to process the output. Really pleased with it, and I only wish I had the money to afford the Sony RX1R 11 camera!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality compact.

DSC-RX100M3 08/11/2017 by Egg G (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera new about two weeks ago and love it. Solid build and very pocketable, excellent picture quality, very customizable. Zoom could do with a bit more reach and user guide is poor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

liitle beauty

DSC-RX100M3 07/11/2017 by cycling mad (United Kingdom)

Little beauty !, well that's what I think, I have the a7r, and need something to go into my back pocket when cycling.I also need to upload images to my phone whilst out. This camera fits the bill. Not to mention the terrific image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery Compartment Defective

DSC-RX100M3 30/10/2017 by Canyoneer (USA)

I bought this camera to take with me on hikes. On my first day in Grand Canyon, the battery compartment opened up as I walked 100 feet between photo shots. The battery also fell out and despite a half dozen other people looking for it, it could not be found. The next day, the same thing happened but I found my spare battery this time. I now tape the battery compartment. This shouldn't be necessary on a camera of this cost. The articulating screen should also fold in, as Canon does, so I don't need to add screen protectors. The picture quality varies greatly. Some will have great quality but the next picture - even of the same scene - will be overexposed; no consistency.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera. Shame about the instruction b

DSC-RX100M3 27/10/2017 by Alsie 94 (United Kingdom)

This is an extremely good compact camera with some features not found on an upmarket SLR including ND filter and wireless connectivity. The only shame is Sony have saved costs by producing a scant Instruction Booklet although this can be remedied by going online to a fuller excellent version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent quality photos

DSC-RX100M3 22/10/2017 by Howardismyname (United Kingdom)

The reviews that describe image quality seem very accurate, the photos are excellent with low noise, good colours and well exposed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An excellent companion for my A7

DSC-RX100M3 17/09/2017 by Andrew 77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been considering this for some time and was advised by several stickists to go for M3 not M5 My only criticis is the very poor pop-up viewfinder - I wear spectacles!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's all in there...

DSC-RX100M3 09/09/2017 by AndrewWT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since buying this camera ten days ago I have taken nearly 700 pictures all over Iceland in all weathers and light conditions. The camera has responded perfectly although I had a steep learning curve remembering where some of the featured are "hiding", and which are unavailable in certain modes. The screen mobility is a little restricted and quirky, without a physically protected position but the whole has withstood a challenging outdoor week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointed

DSC-RX100M3 28/08/2017 by Endybubu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Battery doesn't want to charged, keep saying doesn't supply any power, I have to buy a new adaptor and spare battery, that's not cheap! Doesn't send image to iPhone, it said sending....but nothing happened

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This is the 21st century's Leica M3

DSC-RX100M3 27/08/2017 by BILLidontcareuseitagain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the models I, II, III, and IV. 3 years ago I went through Calcutta and Darjeeling with a I and a II; and the A3+ prints hang on my wall. I am.only sorry I didn't have a MIII. It is the most useful to date.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Eric

DSC-RX100M3 27/08/2017 by Rumbold (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago and am just amazed at the functionality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great compact

DSC-RX100M3 23/08/2017 by jack z (USA)

i had a sony compact years ago and always loved the pictures it took. had a canon but just wasnt happy with it so i happy with it. went back to sony and could not been happier. first time i used it i was at a wedding. i shot in manual and was amazef how it performed in low light with out flash. pictures were excellent. the only thing I didn't like was the focusing in low light love this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic travel friend

DSC-RX100M3 22/08/2017 by PH Kringster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this wonderful camera, but I wish I did it a year ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features.

DSC-RX100M3 14/08/2017 by So nice (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was recommended to m by a friend, and I am happy with th photos I have taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera.

DSC-RX100M3 09/08/2017 by Polash100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a little miracle especially after you learn about what all the settings can do. It is compact and easy to transport. It also takes superb fast moving scenes. I am incredibly impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A huge little Camera!

DSC-RX100M3 28/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very flexible and impressive Camera with outstanding prformance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony RX100 111

DSC-RX100M3 24/07/2017 by Jim R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First Class camera Optical Viewfinder Excellent very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superbly sharp compact.

DSC-RX100M3 21/07/2017 by Ray4711 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use compact without being fiddly. Produces lovely sharp photos in either automatic or with manual settings. Beautiful depth of field.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cybershot DSC RX100M3

DSCRX100M3/B 17/07/2017 by iberger (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought and like product. Manual very poor to help neophyte read clearly to have sufficient information. Sony went cheap on providing a readable manual

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony DSC-RX100M3 - a critical assessment.

DSC-RX100M3 15/07/2017 by Caffrey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony DSC RX100 M3 compact camera I have recently obtained a M3 Sony RX100 camera to replace a Canon S120 camera which I had for a few years. The Sony seemed to be considerably more advanced and has been hailed by some reviewers as the almost perfect advanced compact camera. In my opinion, however, it could be developed considerably further. My main gripes about the M3 are firstly that its viewing screen is not adequate to properly view the high quality images and secondly that the relatively short zoom range of the lens can feel very limiting. No doubt the camera has a fine lens to provide ultra sharp images and that is desirable if one is prepared to do quite a lot of adjustments off-camera. Possible solutions to these problems is to make it possible to clip the camera onto the back of a tablet (22 x 14 cm say). This would give a screen size of about 308 sq cm as opposed to the 6 x 4 cm camera screen (24 sq cm) – a 12 fold difference. Put a few off-screen controls on the tablet as well such as zoom control and shutter release and the problem is solved. Regarding the plethora of controls on-camera I think that there are just too many. The main purpose of the camera should just be to capture as simply as possible all the information necessary to make it possible to manipulate various parameters later if necessary. Why complicate things out of sight on the camera when it is far easier to later make many of the adjustment on a computer? Perhaps there could be two sets of processing programmes: a relatively straight forward one for easy use and a more advanced one to make maximum use of the camera's capabilities. Then perhaps there could be additional on-camera features such as shutter speed, aperture and ISO settings bracketing. An automatic GPS tracker and self-setting clock would also be nice! Could be a bit lighter as well by using a marial such as titanium in its construction. T A Dyer, Cambridge, U K

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A pocket-sized wonder

DSC-RX100M3 13/07/2017 by MalyLad (United Kingdom)

Having read extremely favourable online technical reviews of this camera, I reluctantly abandoned my usual Canon choice by going for the Sony product and have not been disappointed. It really is a piece of technical wizardry with particularly favourable features such as the fast lens and the pop-up electronic viewfinder. My only disappointment was the extremely limited usefulness of the Sony manual; having paid a substantial sum for the camera, I expected far more. However, I bought a digital book called 'A Photographer's Guide to the Sony DSC-RX100 III' by Alexander S White which I have found to be absolutely excellent; I strongly recommend it to anyone who is new to this camera. It's early days yet to judge the quality of the images from the camera but first impressions are very favourable and I'm expecting to get many years of service from this expensive piece of kit. I also would say that I made the right choice in going for the version III which is a lot cheaper than the latest version which seems to have few additional features, and none that I was interested in. I also bought the Sony carrying case which is an excellent fit but rather over-priced in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product

DSC-RX100M3 13/07/2017 by Obi Wan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good camera, would recommend this camera to friends

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy little Snapper

DSC-RX100M3 13/07/2017 by Cadran (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this for moments when my DSLR camera was either to much hassle or not with me. And it works fantastically

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100 review

DSC-RX100M3 12/07/2017 by Stanley Durham (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good camera, superb picture quality, especially for beginners like me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So easy to Use

DSC-RX100M3 09/07/2017 by Sandie14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this camera for a few weeks but already I have taken so many photos, panoramic, group, close up what ever and they have come out great. I am still learning the features but all shots so far have exceeded my expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best small camera available.

DSC-RX100M3 06/07/2017 by Jeddydxx33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Did some research and the advice which echoed in my thoughts was this. "The best camera is the one you have with you". So a camera that easily fits your hand or hangs off your neck that goes totally unnoticed, yet has the picture power of many bigger more expensive cameras. It was a 'no brainer' for me, Sony RX100 M3 best available camera in its price point. Awesome, very easy to get familiar with its many controls and features. Takes great pictures and Sony colour rendition is in my opinion the very best on small cameras. Absolutely brilliant, I love my RX100 M3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many hidden qualities

DSCRX100M3/B 29/06/2017 by Krys201 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an amazing little camera that can easily shift from auto shots to manually adjusted shots. There are many different options hiding in the menu. It's lightweight and very well designed. The battery doesn't last long especially if you take panoramas so I bought a second battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Recommendation from a professional photographer

DSC-RX100M3 25/06/2017 by Gerry17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera to have if you are a regular DSLR user. So light and great for the beach because you can get underwater housing. Great in low light, shoots in RAW, deals with movement well and is pocket size! Fantastic! I bought a waterproof bag for it in the sea but would love to try the official Sony hardcasing. Great camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact, easy to handle, great for travelling,

DSC-RX100M3 24/06/2017 by popsie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have carried my camera in a pocket so it's easy to travel with. All the instructions you need are embedded within the camera (great). Functions are many and easy overall a great little camera without having to lug massive bags of equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent photos and easy to use

DSC-RX100M3 21/06/2017 by shelley51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a digital SLR that I was finding too heavy when sightseeing. I am delighted with the usability and lightness and results of my photography with it. Both stills and videos are great quality. My only teething issues were pressing the buttons and wheel on the right when holding the camera but I think I'm over this now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera, but Play Memories app poor

DSC-RX100M3 16/06/2017 by Spoks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this about two weeks ago, and the quality of the pictures are stunning. Very happy with the camera. The only bugbear is the Play Memories app which I cannot get to work at all. The instructions seem to follow a completely different layout to whats on my phone and camera. Your are supposed to get a QR to scan but it nver comes up. An email to Sony just gave me links to the same web sites I had been looking at. Given up at the moment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mixed thoughts - not as good as I had hoped

DSC-RX100M3 14/06/2017 by AirmaxAndy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my Canon G15 after a friend highly recommended it. So far I am happy with it, but have not been impressed by the image quality - although more megapixels on paper, they dont seem to be usable megapixels as at 1:1 sharpness isn't brilliant - almost like its interpolating or something. It lacks crispness looking that closely. That said - printing uncropped images up to A3 size you dont really notice but since the lens doesn't zoom very far it is often necessary to crop hard if you can't get closer to the subject and that where the pixels matter. I shot some 1080p video on it and it took ages to import through the Sony software. Adobe Lightroom seemed to do a much better (and faster) job. Actually having played with the sony software I'd ditch it and use Lightroom every time. OLED Viewfinder is okay but i dont like having to remember to pull it back as well as pop it up. Flip screen works well. The WiFi control from iPad/iPhone needs an app installing on the camera. This seemed to work a lot better when the camera firmware was updated, but the remote control app is a bit unintuitive to use and options vanish and re-appear inexplicably. Some things like moving the AF point around the screen are buried in menus and would be better if they were easily accessed with one key. Early days - I will keep this camera a couple more weeks before deciding to trade it in - the jury's out.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Pocket powerhouse

DSC-RX100M3 09/06/2017 by Bern5000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it to take on holiday instead of my mirror less system and glad I did. Always in my pocket and auto settings normally bang on. I usually shoot in manual but have no need, so spend more time composing shots or catching candids. A few quirks with how it handles but easily worked around. I also had to buy a rubber grip as struggled to hold small sleek body, which works very well. Would have been nice to have it in box tho as an option. I held off buying because of price but the MK3 came on budget and so glad I did. I can see it replacing my mirror less system for most of the time now as it suits my hectic family life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket rocket!

DSC-RX100M3 07/06/2017 by thefotografa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd read a lot of reviews about this camera and thought that it was time to take the plunge! I have not been disappointed. How Sony can work such magic in a minuscule form factor defies logic. It delivers awesome photos and I can't be happier!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

pocketable titan

DSC-RX100M3 01/06/2017 by Real Wool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The options are huge but you can also just use auto and still end up with excellent photographs. Anti slip panel on front of camera would be helpful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent compact with view finder

DSC-RX100M3 29/05/2017 by Mile Muncher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera while on holiday in Cornwall as a birthday present. Early days but so far I am delighted to get high quality pictures in such a compact camera. It has re-ignited my interest in photography and is light enough to take cycling or into meetings and seminars. I'll be doing some studying of the instructions to get the best out of it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0