Skip to Content
427

4.3 based on 427 customer reviews

229
135
27
19
17
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02/10/2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29/09/2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

429 Customer Reviews

0

Just right for a good family Christmas

DSC-W830 20/01/2018 by Tom Cat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Early days but my first impression is very good and expect to learn so much more before long.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

DSC-W830 20/01/2018 by Fona58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very small so it fits easily into a pocket or bag meaning I can take it with me everywhere. Easy to use and great picture quality even in low light. Great little point and shoot camera. A couple of pics attached

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great little camera ,

DSC-W830 17/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ialready had a digital camera which is about ten years old now ,but this is much smaller and has all the features one needs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice movies

DSC-W830 15/01/2018 by Rasa123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this item,because I like doing movies in my life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good starter camera.

DSC-W830 14/01/2018 by dpw1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good size to slip into a pocket but controls are a bit fiddly for adult fingers. Reasonable quaity photos providing there is enough light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good...small

DSCW830 10/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buttons VERY small and hard to push. Smooth top on camera makes it easy to drop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great small camera

DSCW830 07/01/2018 by NannyZ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 2 years ago and enjoy using it. Small enough to keep in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and lightweight.

DSC-W830 05/01/2018 by cam31 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes great pictures compact and lightweight but I find it's just to small, almost toy like.Ideal if you need to carry It about all day.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Features

DSCW830 03/01/2018 by Eileen44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift for Christmas. Haven't used the camera yet but looking forward to taking it on my next trip

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

second time buyer

DSCW830 02/01/2018 by sdkim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought month ago, but keep sign comes out " Reset memory CARD"

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Affordable compact and easy.

DSCW830B 30/12/2017 by Seterius (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s compact. But can’t do pics in evening/night time

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Dang Little Camera

DSCW830B 27/12/2017 by MommyO15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera as a gift for Christmas, plan on using it for our trip to Disney in June. But being a BIG kid at heart I had to take it out of the package and play with it during Christmas time. It took amazing photos of my family and recorded great videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features! Amazing product!

DSCW830B 25/12/2017 by Didibee2200 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is possibly the best gift I could've recieved! Now I can remember the memories my best friend and I make, thanks for having amazing products that allow that to be possible!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony - W830 Camera

DSC-W830 13/12/2017 by Colinsax (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera only recently as a back up to my main camera, it's easy to use and it's compact, fits into the shirt pocket or into the wife's handbag. Ideal.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Compact and easy to operate

DSCW830 10/12/2017 by Big Danny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Should of bought a Sony camera before instead of a nikon with a plastic case and battery door which the plastic latches broke off. This camera is made of metal and will last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features and price and easy to operate.

DSCW830B 06/12/2017 by Romy1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera was easy to assemble and operate.It created such clear pictures and functions perfectly especially the wide angle and t feature in such a compact elephoto shots. Its an amazing feature in such a compact camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

boo

DSCW830B 05/12/2017 by janmo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

so far it works fine but, I CANNOT CHARGE OR HOOK TO MY COMPUTER. CONNECTION IN CAMERA IS TO SMALL..

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Pleased with the product - no problems.

DSC-W830 04/12/2017 by CumbriaLeo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the camera - I bought it to replace an earlier version of the same camera. This one has additional features. The earlier camera ceased to work - it had taken thousands of images in rough mountainous environment

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazed

DSCW830 25/11/2017 by werretired (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about a month ago after reading positive reviews. Easy to use & absolutely brilliant photos; have not used the video yet. If you need a compact camera, this is the one... Does not disappoint!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera for the price

DSCW830 20/11/2017 by 11121888 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

my second one must buy a backup battery, only issue is the charging is internal so you can't use the camera. My previous one I could charge the battery separately.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Value

DSCW830B 08/11/2017 by Cowboy Mafia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace a Nikon P & S that I had lost. While it didn't have some features that my more expensive Nikon had, this had the features I really needed. I liked that it had 20.1MP instead of the 16 that my former Nikon had. The only other feature I wished this camera had was wifi, but not even that was a deal breaker. Going to be using it this weekend while in Memphis. Looking forward to the pictures from this little guy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

FANTASTIC ZOOM WITH VERY CLEAR PIC.

DSCW830B 07/11/2017 by MOUSEY22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I PURCHASED THIS CAMERA A FEW MONTHS AGO AND JUST LOVE IT AND VERY EASY TO USE. LOVE THE SIZE SMALL BUT MIGHTY. EXCELLENT PANORAMA VIEW THAT REALLY TAKES IT ALL IN. IF YOU BUY THIS CAMERA YOU WILL LOVE IT AND PRICE FANTASTIC. SO MANY EXTAS ON THIS CAMERA I CAN'T LIST THEM ALL.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

DSCW830 27/10/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it yesterday and it seems to take awesome pics and looks handy to carry with me in trips

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Handy

DSCW830B 27/10/2017 by oldglory (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera to use in my art - Am an Landscape oil painter - Need to be able potograph my paintings to download into my computer - Works great -

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera

DSCW830 23/10/2017 by daddyjay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's very compact and works well, but it sometimes puts up a fight when I try to download pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My sony.

DSC-W830 18/10/2017 by wattie (United Kingdom)

bought it the online great piece of equipment and price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSCW830 11/10/2017 by gofleet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched this camer and it puts out perfect pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera!

DSCW830B 07/10/2017 by Hearnlady (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this today and it's working wonderfully! I am a jewelry designer, so I needed something a little more crisp than my camera phone. This camera is small, lightweight and easy to work with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great little camera

DSCW830B 07/10/2017 by OGIHal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this camera to replace a old point and shoot that recently broke (not a Sony product). Love the quality of the photos, panoramas, and movies! The processing time between individual photos seems to be slow, but we knew that from the reviews we read before purchasing, the photo quality more than makes up for the lag. We have not tried the burst mode yet, and have not missed any photos due to the processing lag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice little camera!

DSC-W830 28/09/2017 by VWC318 (USA)

Just purchased this camera but before buying I read many reviews. I agree that the on/off button is difficult to use. It's not that it's too small, it's that it doesn't protrude enough to press. When taking videos, I find the audio is too low the the sound is even only a few feet away. I guess the mic is meant for the user not the subject. So far the photos and videos look pretty good so I'm happy with the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0