Skip to Content
409

4.3 based on 409 customer reviews

220
127
27
18
17
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02/10/2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29/09/2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

409 Customer Reviews

0

Great Value

DSCW830B 08/11/2017 by Cowboy Mafia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace a Nikon P & S that I had lost. While it didn't have some features that my more expensive Nikon had, this had the features I really needed. I liked that it had 20.1MP instead of the 16 that my former Nikon had. The only other feature I wished this camera had was wifi, but not even that was a deal breaker. Going to be using it this weekend while in Memphis. Looking forward to the pictures from this little guy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

FANTASTIC ZOOM WITH VERY CLEAR PIC.

DSCW830B 07/11/2017 by MOUSEY22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I PURCHASED THIS CAMERA A FEW MONTHS AGO AND JUST LOVE IT AND VERY EASY TO USE. LOVE THE SIZE SMALL BUT MIGHTY. EXCELLENT PANORAMA VIEW THAT REALLY TAKES IT ALL IN. IF YOU BUY THIS CAMERA YOU WILL LOVE IT AND PRICE FANTASTIC. SO MANY EXTAS ON THIS CAMERA I CAN'T LIST THEM ALL.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

DSCW830 27/10/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it yesterday and it seems to take awesome pics and looks handy to carry with me in trips

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Handy

DSCW830B 27/10/2017 by oldglory (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera to use in my art - Am an Landscape oil painter - Need to be able potograph my paintings to download into my computer - Works great -

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

DSCW830 23/10/2017 by daddyjay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's very compact and works well, but it sometimes puts up a fight when I try to download pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My sony.

DSC-W830 18/10/2017 by wattie (United Kingdom)

bought it the online great piece of equipment and price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSCW830 11/10/2017 by gofleet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched this camer and it puts out perfect pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera!

DSCW830B 07/10/2017 by Hearnlady (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this today and it's working wonderfully! I am a jewelry designer, so I needed something a little more crisp than my camera phone. This camera is small, lightweight and easy to work with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great little camera

DSCW830B 07/10/2017 by OGIHal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this camera to replace a old point and shoot that recently broke (not a Sony product). Love the quality of the photos, panoramas, and movies! The processing time between individual photos seems to be slow, but we knew that from the reviews we read before purchasing, the photo quality more than makes up for the lag. We have not tried the burst mode yet, and have not missed any photos due to the processing lag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camera!

DSC-W830 28/09/2017 by VWC318 (USA)

Just purchased this camera but before buying I read many reviews. I agree that the on/off button is difficult to use. It's not that it's too small, it's that it doesn't protrude enough to press. When taking videos, I find the audio is too low the the sound is even only a few feet away. I guess the mic is meant for the user not the subject. So far the photos and videos look pretty good so I'm happy with the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cannot upload photos to my computer

DSCW830B 25/09/2017 by Emelia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have uploaded photos in the past but unable to load recent photos to my computer

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Nice and compact with good features

DSC-W830 21/09/2017 by Annon67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a few weeks ago still getting to know the camera. Could have done with a more informative user manual in the box. Had to go on line and even then led a merry dance to find it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good quality pictures.

DSCW830 13/09/2017 by Freckles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great product. The only problem for me is that the buttons on top of the camera are too small.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cyber shot and Zeiss lenses remain a great combo

DSCW830B 13/09/2017 by justjackie51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a compact and as pocket-size as possible. This one fit the bill and is the second cyber shot camera I have purchased over the years. Two trips to Yellowstone in the last year and the camera kept shooting but unfortunately my phone camera was full and never indicated it was no longer saving shots so I lost a fair amount from last year's expedition. This year I was maybe a little wiser.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good value

DSC-W830 11/09/2017 by ProfchrisO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it for my wife who is a technophobe - she can handle it ok. The zoom is not quite as good as I expected but I crop the photos later. Pity it does not come with a memory card.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent choice

DSC-W830 08/09/2017 by barbosa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

small and compact so you can take any wear summer or winter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dinky size

DSC-W830 06/09/2017 by Cooillady (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my sony dcw330 which unfortunately broke didnt think I could get a better one. So wae delighted with this model much smaller than the 330 but as I suffer with arthritis its so much lighter so very helpful to me. I love the panoramic feature still practising to get a smooth sweep but 2 I have taken are ok for first attempts I am just a play photographer but my husband who has been taking photos for over 50 years was stunned at the quality of images I would say to anyone wantig a lightweight digital camera dont hesitate to purchase this model. I even formatted the cameras and sd cards myself.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slow and fiddly

DSC-W830 01/09/2017 by NorfolkJohnny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very handy size, but limited video quality and zoom. Can hear focus when using video- annoying in recording. Slow to recover when taking pics other than on Easy Mode. Compared to Canon , Fiddly to operate - on/off button too small, and shutter release is often difficult to find in such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good quality & features

DSCW830B 31/08/2017 by squirreley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just before leaving on a trip. Tested it out the day before I left. Easily set it up and took a few pictures. Very happy with what it showed me. Will be able to better comment after I get back from vacation.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

OK

DSCW830B 30/08/2017 by Evie1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks nice in a picture but feels cheap. There is no way to know if the battery is charging or no.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worst camera ever owned

DSCW830 25/08/2017 by Poppins (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought camera before trip. Second day on trip camera stopped working. 90 degrees and walking on forest trail. Camera developed corrosion (?) and Sony warranty didn't cover. Where did corrosion come from? Not overly humid.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-W830 15/08/2017 by Jimo2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had other digital cameras, but this is the best! It is so very clever at autofocussing. It is literally a point and click camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for a compact camera

DSC-W830 15/08/2017 by SUMMERHIPPY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera has a lot of features for a compact camera. The point and shoot technology is a real time saver and good for the novice photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W830 13/08/2017 by Red Barron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The instructions on downloading to the computer were vague, not everyone is a technical whizz. My husband and I are silver surfers and needed more help.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Sony DSCW830 - Black Camera

DSCW830B 12/08/2017 by Martha908 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera to replace 2 previous Nikon Cool Pix cameras & an exact same model camera. I do not remember having this much trouble trying to set the previous (same model) camera up prior to use. This time, I wanted to get it set up ASAP because I wanted to take a photo of the moon; but, was unable to do so because the camera is stuck on Language & can't it to accept my selection.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great pictures

DSC-W830 01/08/2017 by littledook (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is neat easy to use and took good photos of my prize dahlia. Like all new items it takes time a practice to get used to. Very pleased so far

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Just what I wanted

DSCW830 16/07/2017 by Clyde12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little camera is just what I needed. It is small and takes great pictures. Not a lot of effort to learn or set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very usable product

DSC-W830 15/07/2017 by Amanda2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this little pocket camera - very small, easy to take the photos. I had a bit of a problem at first getting the photos off it on to a pc - but my grandson taught me how to di it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact

DSC-W830 15/07/2017 by Annieb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a small camera that I could take out and about rather than using up memory on my phone. I'm not overly tech savvy so it had to be easy to use too. Pleased when I first got it but a little disappointed when I started to use it as there were no instructions (have to go online for them). Found if I wanted to take a quick pic it didn't happen. Have since found out that you need to half press then full press. Getting used to it now but a little handy hints booklet for those of us who need it would've made this 4 stars.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Handy, nice features

DSC-W830 11/07/2017 by Alx007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought product one month ago and am happy with the product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovee my Cybershot

DSCW830 10/07/2017 by DaveMC (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent replacement for my last Cybershot, love the extra features, ease of use, better zoom and 20 megapixels! What more could I want!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One hand usage

DSCW830 08/07/2017 by RainPebble (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a paid photographer for insurance underwriters, I found this camera to be perfect for my professional looking photos. It is easy to use and it recharges quickly. Very light weight and fits nicely in hand or pocket. Ellen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera!

DSCW830 08/07/2017 by cliff57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was really amazed at he quality of the still photos and using zoom photos still look great, no loss of sharpness. Great camera for the price!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Little Camera

DSC-W830 07/07/2017 by Happyshopper21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased as a replacement. Wanted a small easy camera better than my phone. Love this, simple to use, all automatic, great pictures. Usual Sony quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very handy pocket size camera

DSC-W830 07/07/2017 by Sea eagle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, picture quality excellent. Light weight . A good all round compact camera .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0