Skip to Content
DVD PLAYER

Product Reviews

$59.99

36

4.0 based on 36 customer reviews

22
6
0
2
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

THIS IS A GREAT PLAYER

DVPSR510H 03/05/2014 by BUDVAN (USA)

I NEED A DVD PLAYER FOR THE MANY DVD I HAVE NOW. GREAT VALUE, PICTURE IS EXCELLENT.

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

I Expected More From Sony

DVP-SR510H 22/07/2017 by MARTYNI (USA)

I used to think the Sony name meant quality. Not any more. The DVD Upscaling Player Model DVP-SR510H is not worth any more than other off-brands. 1. Can't tell if power is on (if a light exists I cannot see it). 2. Very long delay when either eject button on unit or remote is got before it responds. 3. DVD load time is slower than it should be. 4. Older dvd tend to pause during replay a periodically then continue. Overall its ok but I would just get a cheaper brand next time for a "throw away" DVD player.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

36 Customer Reviews

0

Loving it!

DVP-SR510H 11/11/2017 by Janiewanie (USA)

NOTE: The weight that is shown on Sony's description seems very off. They show it as 18 pounds but it is nowhere near that - maybe 3 pounds, if that. . Our old portable dvd player (with a screen) died after many years of service. We get dvd's from N...x so we needed to replace the player fairly quickly. Our requirements were pretty simple - connect using AV cables (red, white, yellow) to our really old small Sharp Aquos, didn't have to be BluRay since we use standard dvd's, not too expensive, HAD TO READ DOLBY discs and works easily. At first we thought we needed to get a player with a screen, but after consideration realized we actually didn't need that feature since we only watch at home. I did a lot of research and the choices were somewhat limited. Still, there were enough to make choosing one a bit difficult. Finally we opted for this one. It came yesterday - ironically the same day we got our new N...x dvd. Opened the box, took the player out and connected it 1-2-3 to the tv using the av cable supplied and the plug (which is permanently attached to the player) into the wall outlet Put the new disc into the player, batteries (included) into the remote, set the input on my tv and powered it on. There was a brief setup guide and we were ready to watch. I must say just from this one movie - this little player is great. Everything worked smoothly and I really got a kick from the remote opening and closing the eject at a touch. I did have to fiddle with the aspect ratio on the tv which took 3 seconds. Pausing and restarting is easy - everything was easy. The size of the player is pretty small which for me is good because of limited counter space (we have the tv in the kitchen) The only drawback in my case is that there is actually no room for the player to stay on the counter all the time, so after use I have to unplug it and move it to another area. This is just my problem and isn't a negative about the player in any way. It would have been great if there was a case included but I suspect that most people are able to connect it to the tv and leave it. So the bottom line, after this one use, is that we really like this player and we're very happy with our choice. Time will tell whether we feel the same at a later date. But I'm hopeful that we will.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lowest quality ..

DVP-SR510H 19/10/2017 by CHOK (USA)

Bought this yesterday. Hooke it up.. TRIED power on on the remote .. nothing happened TRIED power on button on the unit .. nothing happened Switched electrical outlet source & repeated power on ..NOTHING happened.. I based my decision to buy this DVD player due mainly on SONY's quality reputation. SONY failed miserably.. NEVER again

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

User Friendly

DVPSR510H 31/07/2017 by Iowa Native (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to replace my old DVD player and the sales person said this is a great player for the money. He was so right. Picture is beautiful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I Expected More From Sony

DVP-SR510H 22/07/2017 by MARTYNI (USA)

I used to think the Sony name meant quality. Not any more. The DVD Upscaling Player Model DVP-SR510H is not worth any more than other off-brands. 1. Can't tell if power is on (if a light exists I cannot see it). 2. Very long delay when either eject button on unit or remote is got before it responds. 3. DVD load time is slower than it should be. 4. Older dvd tend to pause during replay a periodically then continue. Overall its ok but I would just get a cheaper brand next time for a "throw away" DVD player.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

good product

DVPSR510H 09/07/2017 by happyvally (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

haven't tried it yet, but have another just like it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

DVPSR510H 15/04/2017 by Cora G (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this today on the box it said HDMI easy link to TV but opened the box and no HDMI cord to connect To my TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

One of the best in ths range.

DVPSR510H 31/03/2017 by Carefulshopper (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just wanted a good basic DVD player. I found one in this Sony. Just the fact that it comes with a full size, easy to use remote is a blessing. And I can control certain functions of my Sony TV with this remote. Set up was very easy. Compact, sleek design makes it easy to place.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

plays well

DVPSR510H 15/01/2017 by Dougb06 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

plays well except i lost the remote so i cant access full control.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Great quality

DVPSR510H 15/01/2017 by Red725 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this DVD player a picture quality is great. Always happy with Sony products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Features!

DVPSR510H 13/12/2016 by cblack12345 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently and I'm happy I was able to. It's a great product and I use it all the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

PIECE OF JUNK !!!!!

DVPSR510H 08/06/2015 by Forge (USA)

This piece of junk ( and I'm being kind ) is very noisy. It makes a loud clicking sound the entire time a DVD is in the machine. It will not play some DVDs but will play others even if it's played them before. It won't play many brand new DVDs right out of the package but sometimes if you keep ejecting and reloading them it might. It will freeze while playing and you must stop play and start again from the beginning. I clean every DVD every time I play it and use a lens cleaner every 8-10 hours. It has done this from the start and has nothing to do with anything being dirty.

6

12

0

Good while it lasted

DVPSR510H 02/05/2015  (USA)

Worked great in the beginning, had it for about 1 1/2 years then it started turning on and off by itself. If playing a dvd, it would just stop and turn off on it's own. We didn't play very many dvd's on this one, so not sure what the problem is, but would not recommend this unit.

8

1

0

So Far Great

DVPSR510H 11/01/2015 by DDOT1080 (USA)

Purchased /1/10/15. Very Easy setup with HDMI cable. . Only issue is the same I had with the player it replaced. Have to use 2 Remotes. Comcast remote does not work with it. Have to use Visio TV remote to Choose INPUT source (HDMI 2) & Volume. SONY remote used only to Setup, Play/Pause open/close. No other functions work. Same as on previous DVD Players we owned. Frustrating.

6

0

0

Best in the category

DVPSR510H 27/08/2014 by SnowSkip (USA)

Pro: Inexpensive. Compact and light weight. Simple connection to a TV, no confusion. Con: You need the remote control to open the device for a DVD.

10

1

0

Good DVD player

DVPSR510H 24/08/2014 by Erro (USA)

This product works very well and saves your place on the DVD!

3

0

0

Works as advertised

DVPSR510H 24/08/2014 by DVDviewer (USA)

When my previous DVD player died I needed a new one. Searched the internet and found this one to be inexpensive and has a good reputation. It works as advertised.

6

0

0

Satisfatory perormance

DVPSR510H 18/08/2014 by Governor (USA)

I purchased this unit as an upgrade for an older player and so far, it has performed magnificently. There were a few features on this machine that I was not aware of until I brought it home and began using it. For the price, I would highly recommend it.

7

0

0

DVD Player

DVPSR510H 14/08/2014 by 80degrees (USA)

Easy to install & easy to use!

4

0

0

One Of My Best Buys

DVPSR510H 13/08/2014 by oneminute (USA)

I chose this dvd for the easy HDMI hookup. It plays very well. No problem playing dvds or MP3 CD's which I play frequently.

5

0

0

Great DVD Player

DVPSR510H 13/08/2014 by NomDePlume (USA)

Nice, compact-sized DVD player. Fits well in my small space and does a great job playing my DVDs. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.

6

1

0

very nice unit

DVPSR510H 12/08/2014 by 1inSmyrna (USA)

The system was easy to install and the DVD is hi-def using the HDMI cable.

5

0

0

grear buy

DVPSR510H 09/08/2014 by BIGGUNN (USA)

This my second Sony dvd player my first one gave out after many years, I have had many players of different makes but Sony is the only one that lasted longer and gave me better service . The different options of how it can be used make this one better than the old one and my old remote works on this dvd player.

7

2

0

Love the compact style

DVPSR510H 21/07/2014 by grannieoh (USA)

Glad I purchased this product. Excellent clarity and ease of use. Would recommend to others.

9

1

0

Exactly What I wanted

DVPSR510H 16/07/2014 by rudyw (USA)

I'm renting for 3 months and needed a small low cost DVD player with HDMI output. Small because I will place it in storage until I return next year and since I pay for volume of storage I wanted small. The player does what it was designed for without frills and can display closed captions. Meets all my needs.

10

2

0

Crystal Clear

DVPSR510H 16/07/2014  (USA)

Awesome and crystal clear picture for such a small device! I am amazed how vibrant the pictures float across the screen. The remote is a little slow to respond.

6

1

0

1080p Upscaling DVD Player

DVPSR510H 15/07/2014 by DVDs (USA)

It works as it should. One flaw is that there is no light on the deck to show if the power is on or what function mode its in. I have this player mounted high so it's difficult to see what it's doing so the lights would have been useful. I know it was made as an affordable player but LEDs are cheap, they could have at least have one for the power button on the deck.

7

8

0

It's better than good but not quite excelent.

DVPSR510H 15/07/2014  (USA)

I have used your product and find it to be better than good but not excellent. Lets say 4.5 Stars. I like the picture it gives me on my T.V. I also like the Sony Product itself. I have had no problems with this product as of yet and if I do I know Sony will stand behind their product.

3

4

0

a good buy

DVPSR510H 04/05/2014 by Crawford (USA)

A very good product for the price. I've had no problems with it, takes up little space and the picture is totally clear.

4

1

0

Good for the Money

DVPSR510H 04/05/2014 by EricP14 (USA)

I need an up-scaling DVD player for a 3rd bedroom. The product works great, looks great, and most importantly makes my DVD collection look great. Its small foot space is really ideal for any location. I highly recommend.

3

0

0

THIS IS A GREAT PLAYER

DVPSR510H 03/05/2014 by BUDVAN (USA)

I NEED A DVD PLAYER FOR THE MANY DVD I HAVE NOW. GREAT VALUE, PICTURE IS EXCELLENT.

10

0

0

Superb DVD player

DVPSR510H 03/05/2014 by CoolLouie (USA)

After purchasing my new DVD player, we watched our first movie. My family and I noticed right away that the picture and sound quality improved our viewing pleasure. Very happy with this purchase. Highly recommend this product for anyone who is looking for a newer DVD player.

10

0

0

Happy about my purchase

DVPSR510H 03/05/2014 by Yowsa (USA)

Works great and the price was excellent .

2

0

0

Piece of junk

DVPSR510H 30/03/2014 by reviewer13 (USA)

This player only lasted for about a year - and that is with very light usage too, maybe once or twice a month. The player is dead because the tray no longer ejects when you push the open/close button. Very disappointing Sony!

6

4

0

Works for a year

DVPSR510H 14/08/2013 by DoneInYYZ (USA)

I'll be honest ... I was a Sony fan from the 90s who had lapsed. I decided to test the waters after with an entry level purchase of a DVD player for the den. After less than a year (10 months) with my new DVD player it died. Took it into the Sony store and got my replacement, the DVP-SR510H. This 'replacement' lasted 14 months! Are these now throw-away pieces that are only supposed to last for a year? I've gotten more years out of a off-brand DVD player than this. I am loathe to revisit Sony products now given my personal experience with this simple but ineffectual piece of equipment.

46

7

0

Will stop working

DVPSR510H 13/08/2013 by ddb123 (USA)

It worked ok during 12 months, and after that, it only plays music cd´s, does not play dvd´s. Tried to clean it, doesn´t work. Next time, I´ll buy a different brand.

27

7

0

Great little DVD Player

DVPSR510H 02/08/2012 by bobt1 (USA)

Searching for a replacement DVD Player to work on my older HDTV that did not have multiple HDMI connectors (needed a component out on the DVD player) led me to few options available. This option turned out to be a great one. While it gave me the component out capability I needed today, it also has the HDMI and upscaling capability I desired to have to support a replacement TV we will be buying around year end. It was a simple install and intuitive to use. It cleanly plays dvd's with excellent quality. The remote control is simple and has all functions needed to operate. If only it could get up and put the DVD in for this couch potato. I highly recommend for any dvd user that doesn't require Blueray or 3D.

116

7