Skip to Content
63

4.4 based on 63 customer reviews

37
20
4
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28/04/2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Does NOT record or capture meta-data to mp4 files

FDR-AX53 02/06/2016 by the1lemming (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my Sony AX53 since April 2016 and I am very happy with the video quality recorded by this device. However I have discovered that the Sony AX53 does not capture or record meta-data to the mp4 files it creates. Just about every other video capturing device that I own, from a smart-phone, to a tablet to an action camera such as a gopro, captures meta-data and records this information to the mp4 files. This useful information includes length, frame width, frame height, data rate, total bit rate, frame rate and stuff like that. Sadly the Sony AX53 does not record this information which is very useful when editing small movies. How can we edit videos properly if we can't work out important information which should be saved to the meta-data of the mp4 files?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

19

4

63 Customer Reviews

0

ROGER

FDRAX53/B 15/11/2017 by Road Warior (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up! Great memory options.Great for recording grandkids ball games.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality video pictures, not such good sound

FDR-AX53 13/11/2017 by Gricerman (United Kingdom)

I bought this Handycam 3 months ago and thought the picture quality was, as expected, excellent. The image stabilisation is also excellent. However I find the microphone being located on top of the camcorder with only a small; aperture pointing forward, does not give the best quality sound recordings. I shall have to purchase a separate microphone to plug in to give me better sound recordings to go with the video I am also concerned that the microphone being on top and exposed may be damaged if there is any mist or drizzle when recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

performance universal camera

FDR-AX53 12/11/2017 by Michal_k (USA)

excelent stabilization, a little bit problem with focus in interior wonderfull pictures and colors handycam usability I use camera in mountains and climbing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One big flaw

FDR-AX53 30/10/2017 by Mediamaker (USA)

The flip-open shoe cover on top of the camera flops around annoyingly during setup and in the heat of run-and-gun handheld action, striking the camera body. I've also found that tapping the follow-focus command on screen as gently as possible still shakes the camera, even on its VCT-VPR1 tripod, and the zoom command is difficult to set at a predictable, desired speed using any of the camera's zoom controls. The VPR1 tripod does offer slow and fast zoom on it's remote — if you can live with only two speeds rather than an infinite choice! Everything about the video quality and lens is wonderful, but these problems detract from perfection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cracking smallish 4K camcorder

FDR-AX53 29/10/2017 by Somerset Pete (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace an HDR-SR12E, superb picture quality, slightly more bulky than SR12E (bigger battery doesn't help) but great wide angle bigger zoom lens. Zoomed subjects tend to wander about a bit on Steadyshot, so still needs a steady hand. Bought a 256GB card so 5+ hours of shooting at full 4K 100Mb/s rate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great B roll and secondary camera

FDRAX53B 17/10/2017 by Quezy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this camera With my Sony PMW 200 and it does the job well. I biught 2 if this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent product

FDR-AX53 27/09/2017 by Gaynor Cliff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excited to start using this camera and recording family memories

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

THIS is the 4K Camcorder You're Looking For

FDRAX53B 23/09/2017 by B Stockwell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been hemming and hawing about making the move to 4K. All those hours spent on YouTube paid off. There was never a question of not going with Sony. The questions was WHICH camcorder would do the trick. A side-by-side-by-side comparison of three different Sony 4K camcorders made this model the one. The bigger sensor and the BOSS stabilization sealed the deal. No more shaky telephoto shots, no more tripods or steadicams needed. There are enough options and manual overrides to keep me happy. The image quality is astonishing and yes, I bought a 4K Ultra HD television to go with it. I sank some serious money into this and am relieved at the result. I film a lot of outdoor footage and buying this camcorder puts me ahead of anyone shooting 1920x1080p. There's a bit of a learning curve, but that always comes with buying any electronic item with bells and whistles. Still, I was shooting 4K within a few hours of unboxing and going over the manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great images

FDRAX53/B 18/09/2017 by dykeoki (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

image quality is great. had to do a manual power reset after the 2nd shoot. camera would not power up. trouble uploading 2nd shoot as saved in 4k but dropping frames when saved to hard drive. trying to see if can save as lesser quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for travelers

FDRAX53/B 17/09/2017 by grandpa norm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for trip to new Museum Of The American Revolution in Philadelphia and other sites. Also 4th of July fireworks on Washington Mall etc. Mt. Vernon and Monticello. Walking video was great! Screen grabs were as good as my Nikon DSLR. Still photos steady and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome camera

FDRAX53B 25/08/2017 by Bearkisser (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for my trip to Africa. It was so great to have a camera which has great stabilization. It was easy to follow a charging elephant without showing my shakiness. Also does wonderful photos and I won first place in county fair on pictures taken with this camera. I love that it takes pictures in the dark.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Really useful handy cam

FDR-AX53 25/08/2017 by Gourdando (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only just resonantly had the camera but was drawn to its size and and its promises of excellent specs . Not been disappointed love the use of its 16-9 chip and the motion cancelling properties ..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great piece of kit

FDR-AX53 24/08/2017 by Paulmcq1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few weeks ag for a holiday and updating my cameras

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera

FDR-AX53 09/08/2017 by Stephen52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to film my son's wedding and it is just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Packed full of features....

FDR-AX53 09/08/2017 by Rich_camera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought my AX53 a month ago after years of using a smaller camera that just wasn't up to the job. This is a lot heavier but the image quality with improved sound so far is great. Plus it's easy to use and is robust in design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love compact size

FDRAX53/B 30/07/2017 by shroudie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love all the features of the camera, but are unable to produce a DVD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

The best BOSS ever.

FDR-AX53 29/07/2017 by 98Dave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The stabilisation is brilliant, although I wish it would not disable itself when on a tripod. So far its lack of fully manual control has not caused me any concern whatsoever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Video Quality is Excellent

FDRAX53/B 17/07/2017 by flipthevideoguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best picture Quality I've ever had period And I shoot video 24/7

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camcorder with all its new features

FDR-AX53 12/07/2017 by Chris Loren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought as an upgrade for my next holidays and ended up using this on a professional shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony's best Handycam!

FDRAX53/B 04/07/2017 by JDMricist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is definitely Sony's best Handycam that checks all the right boxes. 4K, GREAT built in optical image stabilization!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 15/06/2017 by Michael12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to take 4K glad i did very good images lots of features can well recomend to anyone buying a good Camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great concept but lack of manual and ND filters de

FDR-AX53 13/06/2017 by Togshot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you want a fully auto handycam this hits most of the right notes....but the lack of full manual control and ND filters detracts from its overall usability and appeal. Sony really need to re-think usability. Also, if using an external microphone, which I do, you will need a riser to prevent the wind cover from encroaching into the field of view and shot!!!! Overall, the AX53 4K does produce good results albeit point and shoot users will have highlights blown-out unless you attach screw-in filters! In summary, too many shortcuts taken by Sony and these detract from the cameras potential. Real pity but there you have it............for me, a good backup option in cloudy conditions..

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Very pleased with this I have had it for 3weeks

FDR-AX53 05/06/2017 by JD21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this model is heavier than expected this helps to keep it stable Very pleaswed with the floating stabilizer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

2

0

Initially very good

FDR-AX53 17/05/2017 by Rogh11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this camcorder a few weeks, so I have not really given it a good road test. Initial impressions are very good. I bought this model because I felt it had the right level of features, with some manual control for filming my holidays. The only slight problem I am having is getting my hand in the correct position to hold the camcorder and operate the record and zoom buttons. It feels very different from my last Sony event tape camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Best in class

FDR-AX53 17/05/2017 by Skipper11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of the footage this camera produces is nothing short of stunning. The optical stabilisation is on a par with aftermarket gimbals and the slo-mo function works brilliantly. The zoom is astonishing - even the digital zoom. At it's price point it is the best there is. Faults? None although the zoom button is too small for me. But that's a minor quibble. This is the current market leader and integrates with all my other Sony gear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Simple to use

FDR-AX53 16/05/2017 by DH88Comet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Handycam as a replacement for my ageing Panasonic TM80 which I was beginning to find very limiting as all settings were accessed by nested menus via the touch screen. Although the AX53 also uses menus they are not so deeply nested. When I was researching video cameras I wanted more manual control, being able to assign functions to the manual ring is a definite boon. The other factors which drew me to the AX53 is the five-way image stabilisation and the Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Super 4k Camcorder

FDR-AX53 03/05/2017 by ChrisH57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this online as we are planning a once in a lifetime trip overseas and want to record the event.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Image Stabilization is incredible!

FDRAX53/B 02/05/2017 by cwmoff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camcorder for a month and bought it together with the Panasonic HC-WXF991K. I tried them both and decided on the Sony. Panasonic had slightly truer colors, higher megapixel stills, and a viewfinder eyecup, but had weaker image stabilization than the Sony and that was the deal breaker. I returned the Panasonic. The AX53 could use some menu refinement, a better viewfinder with an eyecup, but does a tremendous job with action shots and the stills are quite good quality. It feels good in my hand and does a great job shooting on auto. I am looking forward to using it for vacation and hobby videos.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

REMARKABLE CAMCORDER

FDRAX53/B 23/04/2017 by powerman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS CAMCORDER IS AN EASY TO USE HIGH TECH BARGAIN FOR ANYONE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony ax53 camcorder

FDR-AX53 11/04/2017 by Jimmy62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp pic resolution. Spoilt by horizontal distortion when panning at high resolution

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic 4K camcorder

FDR-AX53 30/03/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Fdr-ax53 is a fantastic 4k camcorder with excellent quality video and stills. The boss system works very well. Have bought the camcorder for travel and family in addition to the rx100 iv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A near perfect Semi Pro

FDR-AX53 29/03/2017 by Tony G (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a perfect little Camcorder for the amateur and the professional. Reasonable images in 4K, small and handy to take with you on all occasions plus its fantastic little stabilising lens for glide shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A GREAT PRODUCT

FDR-AX53 28/03/2017 by fenderman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this wonderful camcorder on a pop video shoot and found the 4k footage superb.The client remarked that the footage was sharp and clean We have used this camera for chromakey footage and it has been great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great, All Around Camera

FDRAX53/B 27/01/2017 by JenJenJen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera simply because it is a Sony. When I got home I looked up reviews on it. One company listed it as its choice for the best video camera on the market. I love having a viewfinder which my cheaper camera does not have. Since I shoot a lot of videos in low light, this camera is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Product from Japanese

FDRAX53/B 24/01/2017 by Karka Mira (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camcorder on the last day, I am very happy, I not yet using it so I always believe all product from Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

sony camera ax35

FDR-AX53 10/01/2017 by knickers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great product good all-round camera but needs a carry case -

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great camera

FDRAX53/B 02/01/2017 by marki1950 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is realy great camera, For this money 4K is great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Love the wifi

FDRAX53/B 01/01/2017 by Vjc834 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a Christmas gift from my wife. Not the model I would have chosen but still a great camera. I usually pick the best model and she usually picks the cheapest. I love the 4K and wifi and being able to control the camera from my phone through the Play Memories App. The menu is a little easier to understand compared to my HDR-XR550 but I still haven't been able to figure out how to change the sound from 2 channel to 5 channel. I wish it had internal memory like my other camera which has a 240GB hard drive. It also feels a lot lighter than my other camera and feels like a cheaply made camera where my other feels a lot heavier. I like the big manual control ring and the ease of changing what manual function the ring will control. I also like the viewfinder which a lot of new cameras do not have any more. I don't like the way you can't put your eye up to the viewfinder when you use an extended battery. I used to have a Sony camera that had an adjustable viewfinder that I was able to adjust upward and put my eye against, but the new models don't have that feature. I am very happy with the camera and hope to get many years of good use out of it like my previous Sony cameras.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Excellent colour

FDR-AX53 28/12/2016 by asianintrigue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it five months and use it most days.Sharpness and colour are outstanding. In low light quite good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Did not have tags when purchased.

FDRAX53/B 27/12/2016 by DA753 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product came "new" in the box without tags or stickers. Second hand from manufacture is unacceptable.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

6

0

Great image quality.Some unnecessary restrictions.

FDR-AX53 20/12/2016 by drummerboy99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On the whole I'm pleased. Image quality is great and the stabilisation is excellent. However, Sony have deliberately prevented it from having more than one element of manual control at a time. You can manually focus OR you can do iris OR you can control shutter speed. When you chose one, it cancels the previous and so on. This is so annoying because you can't get total manual control and make your own creative choices about which trade offs you want to make. But at the end of the day, it's the image quality that makes this worthwhile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

great camera recorder

FDRAX53/B 17/12/2016 by Desert fox (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera just now .Am exacting to start recording family memories

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Latest Upgrade

FDR-AX53 29/11/2016 by Old Car (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The last Handy cam was reaching the end of its life, I have worn out many devices. A great replacement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera but

FDRAX53/B 13/11/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera is great but transferring videos to my computer was very difficult. There should be a YouTube link so that people can see easily what to do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

9

3

0

Fabulous

FDR-AX53 21/09/2016 by Water boy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for family holiday stunning picture have yet to get into the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Does everything well

FDR-AX53 20/09/2016 by Lesmedia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camcorder about a month ago having previously used a HDR-CX730 camcorder for about 4 years. My new machine although slightly larger is performing to my best expectations, having just returned from a holiday where it was extensively used. I have yet to edit my project, but I know the results are up to my expectations having viewed some of the material.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

5

0

4k marvel

FDR-AX53 12/08/2016 by GagaD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the product.4k video as good as it gets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Sony Quality

FDR-AX53 11/07/2016 by Choc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

On first handling the camcorder feels quite heavy but most of the weight is due to it's x20 zoom lens which is worth the extra money for a great lens. Pros: Compact Surprisingly good photo stills Ultra Sharp video Sound reproduction is very good Cons: Problems seeing through eyecup outdoors (Fix this Sony!) Struggle's to keep in-focus when videoing fast moving objects i.e. aircraft, racing cars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

1

0

Great camera!

FDR-AX53 03/07/2016 by Pedro C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for a few weeks now and its stunningly good. The stabilisation is extraordinary even at long range. Low light performance is very good, and autofocus faultless. I'm used to Sony prosumer cameras and this is a huge improvement in all departments. The 4K footage by the way is superb!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

Boss Stabilization is awesome but still no 4k 50p

FDR-AX53 28/06/2016 by fwandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Boss stabilization is excellent. This model is better than last years AX33 but I would like a bigger sensor like a AX100 in a body this size. I really cannot believe in 2016 there is still no 4k 50p recording mode option.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

13

2

0

Top quality handycam

FDR-AX53 27/06/2016 by hanspeed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an experienced videographer and the AX53 is the best camera that I have ever owned. Whilst I bought the camera for its 4K capability, I am only using it at the moment for HD output using the highest quality setting of 50p and a bit rate of 50Mbps. The images are outstanding. The new 5 axis stabilisation system is quite amazing and optimises the 20x optical zoom which can extend further to 40x and results in shake free images. I will start using the 4K capability, when I purchase a large 4K screen TV during the next two years or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Does NOT record or capture meta-data to mp4 files

FDR-AX53 02/06/2016 by the1lemming (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my Sony AX53 since April 2016 and I am very happy with the video quality recorded by this device. However I have discovered that the Sony AX53 does not capture or record meta-data to the mp4 files it creates. Just about every other video capturing device that I own, from a smart-phone, to a tablet to an action camera such as a gopro, captures meta-data and records this information to the mp4 files. This useful information includes length, frame width, frame height, data rate, total bit rate, frame rate and stuff like that. Sadly the Sony AX53 does not record this information which is very useful when editing small movies. How can we edit videos properly if we can't work out important information which should be saved to the meta-data of the mp4 files?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

19

4

0

Surveillance Tool

FDR-AX53 31/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great video camera for obtaining surveillance footage. The feature I like are that you have an assignable button to switch to manual control a number of variables such as zoom or focus. When the cam powers up within 2 seconds and it restores that last selected positions and feature set (except the night-shot feature which needs to be manually switched on after power up) The only drawback (not really the video camera) is with the Sony Vegas software editing package and the difficulties that I have experienced in adding a time date stamp to the footage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Good Camera

FDR-AX53 28/05/2016 by Rhosyn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

+ side- Fantastic picture and sound quality, very light and easy to handle. -side- Very hard to see anything through the viewfinder in brilliant sunshine, it would help if had an eye cup, also I find the fader a bit awkward to use and it can't be used on all settings, which is a pity as the fader helps to tell a story, it would be better if it had a fader button on the side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Great feature and big advance on my last one

FDR-AX53 23/05/2016 by Walkerab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the handy cam and has much more to offer over and above my last one but lighter and does not seem so well built. Also photos can be downloaded online but videos only in certain formats unfortunately.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image stabilizer.

FDR-AX53 12/05/2016 by tspark95 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgrading my old camcorder, i found the Sony AX53 to be the best to suit my needs. As i do a lot of Air show and car racing videos, the camera has good smooth image stabilization for fast action. Also being able to control the camera manually is a must, as well as being able to use an external microphone to stop wind noise. Picture quality is excellent, film in 4K and watch in 1080p is so clear and sharp. So far i'm very pleased and can't wait for my next show.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good Handycam but could be better.

FDR-AX53 12/05/2016 by Gord flyer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camcorder a month ago and although the recorded 4K video is great there are two major issues that spoil it for my application. I use it mainly for recording model aircraft flying and trying to keep track of a moving target with the EVF is very difficult because the viewfinder is way too small compared to that of a DSLR camera. The second point is that i find the zoom rocker far too sensitive. On the plus side the zoom can be controlled more accurately with the rotating ring at the front of the lens. The auto focus is generally good for most subjects but again it tends to drift in and out if you can't keep the subject inntge field of view. Finally, the eyecup is rubbish at keeping the sunlight out. If ever a camera needed a decent comfortable rubber eyecup, this one certainly does. I have contacted Sony regarding this and they say there is an accessory available but I am struggling to get one. Overall this is a good camcorder that gives great 4K video but not really suitable for sports use in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great performance

FDR-AX53 05/05/2016 by Jeanpied (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought just under a month ago, used extensively on a long weekend in Amsterdam, filming flower displays at the Kuekelhof gardens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Pretty good camcorder

FDR-AX53 30/04/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great stabilisation features. Great image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28/04/2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

great features, easy to use,

FDR-AX53 16/04/2016 by jackus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only owned this for a couple of weeks, but really pleased with it, picture and sound quality are superb. Lots of great features and easy to work around menu's, well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Nice to handle and good features

FDR-AX53 16/04/2016 by Joe69er (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and am finding it to be one of the best cameras I have had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Video stabilisation is very good.

FDR-AX53 08/04/2016 by bigdude (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been making films for over forty years and this camera makes it a pleasure to keep doing it. The quality of the video at all of the settings is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0