Skip to Content
94

4.3 based on 94 customer reviews

54
26
6
4
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

HDRCX405/B 28/04/2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to work, little problems on the menu otherwise very functional

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nice

HDRCX405/B 04/01/2017 by tails12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I dont like how its difficult to upload videos to the computer.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

94 Customer Reviews

0

for my son's soccer games

HDRCX405B 19/11/2017 by moon7sun6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't know yet I will use it tomorrow for my son's soccer games

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera

HDR-CX405 17/11/2017 by SallyAction (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for business use to film short video clips for our website and it is very easy to use, produces excellent quality video footage and is ultra light weight. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a good quality basic camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So easy to use

HDRCX405B 12/11/2017 by Dave747 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was surprised at how light in your hand this camera is and the controls are right where they should be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and simple to use!

HDRCX405B 12/11/2017 by Mazola (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a video recorder to record my daughter's concerts at college. This was very inexpensive and does everything I need. The instructions are very easy to follow and the playback is very clear, both video and audio. I have had more expensive camcorders before, but they had features that I never used. I really like the USB cord attached directly to the camera. This helps prevent having to search for cables! I can just record the concert and when I get home, I just plug in the camera and download the video. I can even edit the video with the free software!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome for short films

HDRCX405/B 04/10/2017 by Darrell J (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an awesome product, very easy to use very awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I am happy with the cam.

HDRCX405/B 25/09/2017 by Muscle man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is easy to use. It offers great value. I highly recommend it to any one who wants a cheap cam.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very stylish

HDR-CX405 20/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This will replace a very old Sony camcorder that has seen better days and stopped working

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great love it

HDRCX405B 20/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good cam i love it easy to use nice and the auto feature for pic or videos love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cam not working

HDRCX405/B 12/09/2017 by Bhasy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to use cam as the VF screen not sensitive to touch. No action possible incl recording. Review not possible now. The review given below is bsed on my views on the other 2 Sony Handy mams I bought in last 9 yrs. Need help to activate the cam. No warranty fm Sony. Only 39 days warranty by Seller, according to Invoice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

handy camera

HDRCX405/B 09/09/2017 by Drdre (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

so far it's great..camera is easy to use and operate

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

having trouble

HDRCX405B 07/09/2017 by Carole28 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this to record my son's band and i can't even access the videos to download them to my computer i wish i could this faster without having to check a bunch of sites for help

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2017

Hi Carole28, We apologize for the inconvenience. It's easy to transfer recorded videos to a computer. The link provided will show you the proper steps on how to import movies from this camcorder to a computer. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/35806

0

Excellent cam for regular users

HDRCX405/B 04/09/2017 by Pastor Chui (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has been working fine without problems for a couple of years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I just got this product and it is very easy to use

HDRCX405/B 04/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product / affordable price. I am replacing a Handy cam and I am very excited to see the differences.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good

HDRCX405B 01/09/2017 by dashy1970 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product - does as it's advertised. The wifi hardware is built-in I guess but does not have firmware. It should come with the wifi feature. Sony, this is cheap, that you have built the feature but has not enabled it in this model, for that we have to go to the higher model.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great product, it does the job and user-friendly!

HDRCX405B 28/08/2017 by Niecie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This item is a gift it's user-friendly and I am having a blast videoing summer keepsakes and memories!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great video recorder

HDRCX405B 26/08/2017 by dopey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for several months now and I LIKE it very much. It is very light to hold, the 'steady shot' feature works well. I have taken videos while walking and you cannot see any movement in the video. The 60X zoom is excellent. Better than I expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact and easy to use

HDRCX405B 25/08/2017 by chizzilla75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this cam for a summer trip to Japan and its the most memorable trip ever all captured on this tiny jewel. I was surprised at the length of time the battery lasted. It was contact right to fit into my pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use and compact.

HDRCX405B 25/08/2017 by Jhybridge (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to store and carry along. It is light weight and the battery life is good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

It is a great starter camrecorder

HDRCX405/B 24/08/2017 by Papa D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm going is it for my you tube channel. I got it as gift, easy to use, has on board mic, it works ok .The zoom on the lense 60 x, small and a flipout LCD sreen for viewing.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple but powerful

HDRCX405/B 22/08/2017 by Odjie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's use to make my own documentation, All this function help me to make it.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

cx405

HDRCX405/B 23/07/2017 by Himself Devine (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera to record Celtic Tenor concerts in Ireland. It worked great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy size, easy to fit in pocket

HDR-CX405 19/07/2017 by Padetrois (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I which gave sterling service. bought this to relace a Sanyo Xacti which recently packed in. The Sony is very user friendly, the on screen menus are easy to navigate and understand. I've used it to make videos and stills of my grandchildren and so far I'm impressed. Don't know about battery life yet as there's always been loads for what I need. Transfer of data to my laptop couldn't be easier. Quality is escellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

pretty sucky sony site

HDRCX405/B 16/07/2017 by qpat00 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the vid camera worked fine taking the video as far as i know-its trying to get the vid to my computer that is sucky-going to sony site is totally unfriendly.....multi billion dollar company and the site is sucky. cant really take the Q&A since i have no idea how to get these vids to my computer first. i registered yet it wont allow me to create a user id and password. it wont allow me to download playmemories home version. I have impt vids, peple are expecting them and i cant do anything with them.

0

0

0

Confusing, disjointed and I can't get my videos!

HDRCX405B 03/07/2017 by Welltraveled (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera hoping that I could plug it into my computer to get my videos. No such luck. Download, register, tell Sony you don't want them to sell your information, register some more...and all the while, I can't get the video off of my camera!

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent Product

HDRCX405/B 02/07/2017 by LindaLou (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera before our camping trip out west and I'm so glad I did! It takes such crisp clear videos and photo's. And the zoom feature is awesome! It zooms in so close from so far away. It's very light and small and there is no shake in the videos. excellent camcorder!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Camera

HDRCX405/B 24/06/2017 by ab2017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really enjoying it. Easy to use. Our church purchased this camera for video use.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Simple and Clean

HDRCX405/B 16/06/2017 by NorthernKaos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just a quick upgrade and was worth it. This replaced our previous model and it was a huge step forward. The picture quality is great and the zoom outstanding. It is as simple as point and shot. Any one can pick up this camcorder and make movies in seconds.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great camera

HDR-CX405 03/05/2017 by POPSICKLE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I AM PLEASED I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA AND WILL ENJOY USING IT ON MY CRUISE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great to Handle

HDRCX405/B 01/05/2017 by Rogue Trojans (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This by far is the best camcorder I've ever purchased period!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice and compact. Very easy to set up and use

HDRCX405B 02/04/2017 by Mooneyman (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it today and had it set up and running in a few minutes. It is compact yet has a big view screen and a good size hand strap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money

HDR-CX405 27/03/2017 by Pacoll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Much mo sophisticated than I had expected for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HELP!!!

HDRCX405/B 27/03/2017 by papajim42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to use. Still do not know if I can record to a disc and play on my computer. Manual is as clear as muddy water.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

7

0

size, easy to handle

HDRCX405/B 01/03/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product over a year ago ,works likes new

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Little Camera

HDR-CX405 26/02/2017 by shitwig (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had it a week so I'm still getting used to it. So far I' very impressed with the quality of the movies and the stills, and also the ease of operation. Having some problems downloading to the computer but that's down to me being not too computer literate. Time will tell but I think we are going to get along very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Zoom

HDRCX405/B 16/02/2017 by Lisa82 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder takes great HD video and the zoom is very nice. It's very lightweight and the hand strap fits perfectly. Still photos and low lighting video come out nicely.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Camera

HDRCX405B 15/02/2017 by Dekeman10 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the features of what I can do with it. EXCELLENT!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

love it

HDRCX405B 13/02/2017 by king t (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Just used it this weekend and it's easy to use and works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera for the money.

HDRCX405/B 13/02/2017 by asdfghjkl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, light weight, good quality videos. I like that it automatically links to my Sony TV and that I can use the TV remote to navigate and play videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

SOFTWARE FAULT PLAY MEMORIES

HDR-CX405 08/02/2017 by willywinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

NOT UP TO SONY STANDARDS NOT FIXING PLAYMEMORIES SOFTWARE PROBLEMS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

8

1

0

All The Goodies For A Buffet Price

HDRCX405/B 07/02/2017 by kajguy2012 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the MSRP, the HDR-CX405 present an outstanding value. Packed into its feather-lite form factor are some of the major the technologies in Sony's much more expensive products, including the BIONZ X processor and the Exmor R CMOS. The feature set is just right for this price point and the Zeiss lens in thrown in for extra measure! The quality of the video is exceptional for what you pay, and, at the highest setting, leaves little to be desired. The BIONZ X processor produces vivid color and the Optical Steady Shot is almost invisible in its operation. Oh, there is also a 60x Clear Image Zoom that allowed me to shoot some birds atop the clock tower of the iconic Tower Theater in Downtown Los Angeles. I was quite impressed! The videos are easy to process with the proprietary Sony PlayMemory software that can be downloaded from Sony's wed site. No software comes in the package. However, in addition to an AC charger, there is a HDMI connector so you can enjoy your videos on your HD TV. The only downside is that the viewing screen is not touch enabled, required navigation through a tiny joystick. But, in practical use, this is not an issue. Well done, Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great buy

HDRCX405B 16/01/2017 by jiji5 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use. user friendly, it takes 10 minutes to get familiar with all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Camera

HDR-CX405 16/01/2017 by Bandit999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with the purchase of the camera, easy to use, very light as well... super quality results from this little camera, worth the money! the only downside is there is no external microphone jack, but of course you cant have everything..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice

HDRCX405/B 04/01/2017 by tails12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I dont like how its difficult to upload videos to the computer.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Simple to Use & Lightweight

HDRCX405/B 27/12/2016 by Antdog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's light to hold so my arm doesn't tire when I have to hold it up for extended periods of time. I also like how simple it is to use. Just flip open the screen, and push a button to shoot a still photo, or start recording video. I've owned it less than a week... so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Feels cheap and flimsy

HDR-CX405 04/12/2016 by Yorkshirevideos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Sony DCR-SR52 that has given several years of excellent service. It had a metal body and was strongly constructed. Although the CX405 works well and gives good results, the body is plastic and feels cheap and flimsy. I doubt that it will last very long.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Lightweight and easy to use

HDRCX405B 16/11/2016 by telebiker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this video camera for my girlfriend's mom's 90th birthday party. Very easy to use and excellent video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Starter Camera

HDRCX405/B 16/10/2016 by DarqJacq (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very excited to learn about this camera. I wish the included instruction booklet had a bit more detail about how to use all camera features as I am an absolute newbie to camcorders. I also wish it came with a memory card. Overall, it is easy to use. I think it's a great starter camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

bought for hunting

HDRCX405/B 15/10/2016 by msburrage74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

used it today for the first time for hunting. It worked great! actually filmed 2 small does with it. easy to operate, ultra light. and great picture on the recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Light and compact

HDR-CX405 11/10/2016 by Mcrhegolfer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this camcorder has a wide range of facilities and is surprisingly easy to use. Small ,compact and easy to handle and carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Good Product

HDRCX405/B 26/09/2016 by rick223 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light...Easy to use. Very good quality of video and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

We love it! Quick to charge and Very steady viewin

HDRCX405/B 10/09/2016 by zacisone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in May of this year, esp for Grandchildren. It has worked well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Light weight and responsive

HDR-CX405 18/07/2016 by Valerie2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this beauty for a trip to Canadian Rockies and it certainly lived up to expectations. Easy and light to carry. Takes stills easily while filming. Good picture quality and easy to connect to PC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A very handy handycam

HDR-CX405 29/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy so far, but cannot find a method of changing the 'Highlight Movie' default tunes. My version of Playmemories does not seem to support this model. I am also a bit concerned that it is not very rugged and wonder if it will survive as long as my previous Sony camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Handy travel cam

HDR-CX405 03/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Records good quality images in a small unit. Images look a little soft, but are good for everyday use. Reasonable battery life, easy to use usb cable in the handle for charging and downloading. Not easy to transfer to computer, even with help from proprietary software from Sony which tends to hang on my iMac.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Great

HDR-CX405 25/05/2016 by Stevenwithav (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good for use and for quality! Would definitely recommend Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant

HDR-CX405 13/05/2016 by PeterMB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first camcorder very light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A great little camera giving superb results

HDR-CX405 13/05/2016 by Station Master (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at several Sony cameras but there were so many good reviews with this one that I decided this was the one for me. It is very light weight and could almost slip into your pocket. The picture quality in HD is fantastic equal to broadcast quality. A simple point and shoot camera once you have programmed it to your requirements. Excellent value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

9

0

Wonderful video camera

HDR-CX405 28/04/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having bought this wonderful Handycam a month ago I was staggered that such a small, lightweight item could take such great, clear videos. For thirty years of using camcorders that download via leads I was impressed by the simplicity of the modern system. No heavy battery and no large moving storage unit. A really wonderful machine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Review

HDR-CX405 17/04/2016 by tinyguitarman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife brought me this as part of my birthday present, being disabled I find it fairly easy to use, but downloading I find a bit difficult. Having said that my wife can-could help in that department as what you have to put the memory stick in I find very "fiddly" as a disabled man.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Handcam says it all

HDR-CX405 04/04/2016 by John127 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A typical Sony product, no problems using it. However, hiding the usb connector in the hand strap confused me when I first tried to charge the battery; it's a neat idea if only its location picture was a bit clearer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Easy to use CX405

HDR-CX405 18/03/2016 by AntKa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

.I bought this for a holiday we had planned and I am so pleased I did. It was so easy to use and after a few practices I soon found any problems were easy to solve. Light and compact it was great to handle and manoeuvre giving great results. I have never had such good footage of our grandchildren, all the family in fact, which, will be enjoyed by our grandchildren when they film their own family, hopefully. I use it every month to show how the children are growing and maturing. It's wonderful for us an excellent purchace.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Easy to use

HDR-CX405 15/03/2016 by Sam 3232 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item about a month ago, easy to set up and takes great videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

0

Features are excellent for home videos

HDR-CX405 08/03/2016 by Domny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only bought item last week as present for my hubby. Item will get fully tested when on holiday.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Good all round camera

HDR-CX405 06/03/2016 by Pritch 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used a couple of times so far impressed by battery life on full charge find the charging method I.e the USB fly sad somewhat cumbersome however no other criticisms at this stage

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Great picture

HDR-CX405 07/02/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this camcorder couple weeks ago and I am very happy with the pictures quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Small and neat

HDR-CX405 26/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to take video on holiday so haven't tried it completely yet. Did a small sample, it played well on samsung smart tv, and edited video in imovie11. Not a lot of complicated menus and controls in fact a very basic camcorder. Should do for basic video and photos.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

small compact and easy to use

HDR-CX405 07/01/2016 by jackie183 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this as a Christmas present and cannot believe how light and easy to use it is. I have had a couple of much bigger video cameras and this one is so easy to carry around on a day out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great handycam

HDR-CX405 04/01/2016 by bass24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great little handycam easy to use and simple instruction to follow glad i got it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

CX405 Awesome for home movies or when out.

HDR-CX405 05/12/2015 by DAVEL2449 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my old sony handycam purchased over 10 years ago, just wanted a better zoom,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Super Quality Movies

HDR-CX405 16/11/2015 by Niceday (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this device for a month now. I bought it to take on a trip to New Zealand and Fiji for Christmas so I have spent lots of time learning how to get the best from it. In a nutshell, it is simple to use and the quality of the movies and the still photos is second to none. If I were forced to make a criticism, I would say that it suffers from a grainy quality if the light levels are too low. What camera doesn't? ,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

6

0

fANTASTIC CAMERA

HDR-CX405 05/11/2015 by Smash2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and it a fantastic purchase!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0