Skip to Content
36

4.3 based on 36 customer reviews

18
14
2
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

36 Customer Reviews

0

Bought for livestreaming

8 GB built-in memory 18/11/2017 by Lopaka334 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace another older camera for live streaming church services. I haven't had it long enough to comment on the live streaming quality. The camera seems to work fairly well as far as the actual video and zooming. I am concerned about the quality of the actual camera body. I seems too light and flimsy for any rough handling. There are little doors and covers that I can see will be knocked off very easily. And the monitor seems like it could get knocked off easily. Plastic is not my favorite material, which this is. Also, I found the included operating guide quite hard to read because it is tiny black print on gray newsprint paper. If you try to read it in any subdued light, it is nearly impossible. The price was reasonable but it may be because it is plastic.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera

Without built-in memory 30/10/2017 by bighammerfan (United Kingdom)

Very good picture and I love the fact I can send videos straight to another device wirelessly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing handycam

Without built-in memory 14/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

Had this baby for a couple of weeks now and wow, it is fantastic. The still shots at nearly 10 meg are brilliant. The video is truly HD and the Wifi works. I can transfer images to my mobile and my computer. It fits easily into the pocket, so can be available anytime. I have it set to record both MP4 and the best HD video so I may transfer small footage to fb my mobile. A wonderful recorder of daily life or I could become a videographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very poor quality picture

HDR-CX455 06/10/2017 by Dandy2 (USA)

This is my 8th or 9th Sony Handycam over the last 20 years. I have loved all of them until now. The picture quality is very poor. After switching to Highest Quality a tree shows no leaves, just a blur of color. The LCD monitor is so dark that even after increasing the brightness that I cannot tell what I am focusing on. While zooming the picture is out of focus until the zoom stops. I am very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Documents on how touse the product can be better.

Without built-in memory 25/09/2017 by Dave at college (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Instruction manual could be better. I found instructions a bit confusing. Getting used to zooming in/out takes a while if you are not used to these features.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

GREAT PRODUCT AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE

8 GB built-in memory 24/09/2017 by GSSN1966 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

EXCEPTIONAL EASE IN USE. ANYONE CAN OPERATE AND THE VIDEO QUALITY IS SUPERB.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Overall Quality

HDR-CX455 20/09/2017 by zeach (USA)

I bought this camera to film snowboarding and wakeboarding. The zoom exceeded my expectations, and the camera's interface is easy to use. I would definitely recommend this product

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great Camcorder

Without built-in memory 16/08/2017 by Asim792 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camcorder for beginners. It has lots of great features for example touchscreen monitor, wi-fi, NFC 60x zoom. It is not that heavy and can easily be mounted on a tripod.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Feature rich and good design for first time user

Without built-in memory 09/08/2017 by Gitmo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the CX450 as I wanted more functions (ie zoom, exposure control) than provided by my mobile phone without trading off image quality and compactness. This camera achieves that. Battery life is OK and connectivity to other devices I have is good. I particularly like the wireless features. The negatives for me are that the image is not easy to see in bright sunlight and the hand-strap is a little flimsy and small for European male sized hands. I would also like a 'hairy' type wind filter to fit over the mic to further reduce wind noise. Overall it is good value for money though.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Goodnall rounder

Without built-in memory 04/07/2017 by charlie88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camcorder because of good reviews and also because I rate Sony. As I have two Sony cameras anyway with which I am very pleased this seemed to be the way to go. All I can say is the camcorder is excellant and does everything anyone could expect extremely well. This is a very fine performing camcorder and I would thoroughly recommend it to any who are considering a purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Well featured

Without built-in memory 28/05/2017 by Big belly boy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to shoot instructional videos and the footage quality seems excellent . The camera is fairly easy to use even for a complete 'technophobe' like me, which brings to light my only complaint. There is no proper manual with the camera and I don't want to go on the web I want a hard copy. With the addition of a remote control and a lapel mic this is a very useable product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good buy for the price

8 GB built-in memory 19/04/2017 by JACK7838 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

it is easy to use, good value and price, would recommend for first timers

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and very easy to use and surprisingly good

Without built-in memory 27/03/2017 by roxdude (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product mainly to shoot videos for youtube and for the price it has alot of cool features. The main reason also was the external sound and 5.1 sound which really does work well even if not using an external mic. Some fucntions you can operate via a smart phone etc although a bit limited is very usefull. you can also stream live so ticks alot of boxes. but it really does do a good job even on auto everything. i am quite impressed. like anything it is not perfect. navigating the menu is not easy at first but gets easier the more you use it. but on a whole it gets a big thumbs up from me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very easy to use

Without built-in memory 13/02/2017 by swansea cinders (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go on special holiday and it did every thing i hoped it would do. the zoom feature is excellent and is simple to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great hanycam

Without built-in memory 10/02/2017 by Parkes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Great handycam dos a great job good video and pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Such a clever piece of kit

Without built-in memory 08/01/2017 by JC Kelt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an old, mechanical Handycam - what a difference!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera for the price

Without built-in memory 25/12/2016 by Floobultastic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this given to me as a birthday gift. Great for beginner and great quality for price. My only complaint at the moment is how bugged Sony's website is...connecting accounts was hard and bugged, got past all that and only to find the free editing software could not be downloaded still trying to resolve.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Brilliant camcorder

Without built-in memory 09/10/2016 by Rjcalv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camcorder to video my wedding and it done a first class job ,, cheaper than a photographer, my uncle used it just point and click

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The only camcoder with a mic jack

Without built-in memory 22/09/2016 by RalphNT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally had to retire my old Hitachi DVD cam. It was a great cam at the time but as it was DVD, copying files to the PC took too long. Plus there was that "finalisation" issue. As I use the cam for work, I wanted one which woud accommodate a mic input. The only ones on the market which did so seemed to be the professional models at five time the price. So I'm made up. The only thing I can't understand is, if you're going to allow a mic input, why isn't there a "shoe" on the top to attach the mic?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Great video recorder

Without built-in memory 04/09/2016 by johnr121 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to record my wedding really good picture when shown through tv . Sound very good to

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great quality

Without built-in memory 19/08/2016 by Dave tvr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was given as a 65 birthday present, what a difference from the old cassette tape one. Have so far been unable to download software required to upload onto laptop, keeps saying no connection which there is!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Camcorder

Without built-in memory 30/07/2016 by Butch010 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product two weeks ago and no micro sd card supplied so couldn't use product immediately

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

8

0

camcorder

Without built-in memory 28/07/2016 by michaelmd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good product with great sound and picture quality,fits neatly in the hand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great features and easy to use

Without built-in memory 25/06/2016 by Richard48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camcorder a couple of weeks ago and am very pleased with it. Its very easy to use and the touch screen is a great addition. The picture and sound quality are both very good and the still image quality at 9.2 mega pixels makes a real difference. The camera has a carl zeiss lens and is really light and compact to carry around. I wanted a camcorder for quality video and stills and this fits the bill perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great little versatile handycam!

Without built-in memory 23/06/2016 by MJBs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it just before going on holiday to upgrade my old handycam. Easy to carry around and catch precious moments of the grandchildren. Excellent quality picture and comfortable to use. Copied well to DVD when purchased separate cable. Very pleased with purchase and good value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wish I'd bought a diferent camera

Without built-in memory 10/06/2016 by Stephen99999999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To have a product that does not work with Microsoft Windows is ridiculous

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

19

0

Top Marks...

Without built-in memory 14/05/2016 by Brilane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading the printed user manual, and consulting the online e-manual, I found that the trial results were excellent in all respects. The camcorder is very light and fits snugly into the palm of the hand. I am using a micro SDHC class 10 card.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Just what we wanted & value for money

Without built-in memory 02/05/2016 by Expat_Scouse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just what we wanted & value for money would defiantly recommend this model

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Good all round camcorder

Without built-in memory 26/04/2016 by NMC68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great video quality. Easy to use straight out of the box. Not easy to view the monitor in sunlight and miss not having a viewfinder. Very pleased with the camcorder overall though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

First cam corder

Without built-in memory 25/04/2016 by daisy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to take on holiday and was very pleased by the compactness of it and the ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but powerful

Without built-in memory 15/03/2016 by Popsbenji (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is product on the market which states " it does exactly what it says on the tin". This product does more than it says on the description. Small but a powerful camera to have. Love it - love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Packed with useful features at a bargain price

Without built-in memory 06/03/2016 by Soxer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i've been using a Sony HX400V bridge camera to shoot video for my work, but wanted to try out a dedicated video camera. Chose this model on price and that fact it had wi fi feature, though so far I can't play material through my Sony Bravia smart telly and not been able to wirelessly transfer content to my laptops either. Operation is so easy, open it up and you're powered up ready to go. It's light, feels nicely finished off and I am delighted that is has a Zeiss lens, another reason I chose it over other brands. I've not used it too much yet, but am very pleased with the results so far especially indoors. The attached You Tube video is an example of just playing around in my local butchers shop.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0