Skip to Content
18

4.1 based on 18 customer reviews

10
4
1
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

18 Customer Reviews

0

Super Clear with Great Zoom

32 GB built-in memory 04/10/2017 by MRussell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this camera for home videos and for hunting. It has incredible HD zoom and it's better than anything I've ever had by a wide margin.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

VERY, VERY Nice Camera

32 GB built-in memory 12/09/2017 by SMW1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a camera that was modern and not yet too modern for things I would use it for. But, this one is superb. Does everything I need it to

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb quality video

Without built-in memory 01/09/2017 by Stuart R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was hesitant about changing from my DV tape sony hdr-hc9 with its excellent picture quality. Initial reaction is that my cx625 will be at least as good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features, I love Sony, wish it had ZEISS !!

32 GB built-in memory 06/08/2017 by JOHN1951USA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great features, great optical stabilizer, zoom lens, but wish it was ZEISS lens, not the Sony G lens! (I thought this was Zeiss lens when I bought it online!) Love it overall, smooth video, love surround sound 5.1....

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What They Don't Tell You......

HDR-CX675 21/06/2017 by Youtube Creator (Canada)

Youtube creator here. I bought this product hoping to take advantage of the Auto Intelligent balanced image stabilization. However, this product only records in AVCHD and XAVC, which, although formatted in MP4, is not as easy to edit and upload as a traditional MP4 file. You can use a "dual recording" mode which does record in MP4 as well as AVCHD, but the MP4 file will only be 720, not full 1080, and by using the "dual recording" mode, it actual negates the auto intelligent feature of the image stabilizer. Please note that I used iMovie and Final Cut as my editing software, which Sony advertises as being compatible with. My experience disagrees with that statement. I feel that Sony should advertise ALL the options and limitations of this product on it's website, even if it's only in the footnotes section. If you need to upload in a simple 1080 MP4 format, this is not the camera for you. If you edit using a laptop, or a desk top with anything less than a dual core processor, then this is not the camera for you. If you have limited space for memory, that this is not the camera for you. However, the image stabilizer in full active mode is amazing. It's unfortunate that I cannot use it in a simple day-to-day application.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Upgrade

32 GB built-in memory 29/04/2017 by Jesus Saves (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is our second Sony Camera. We upgraded it. Since we purched a second Sony should show that we are happy with the product.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Microphone and Filters can be Used!!!

Without built-in memory 02/04/2017 by Iancraig10 (United Kingdom)

As far as the cx625 goes, it is extremely close to my cx405 in the way that the menu works. In fact the screen is almost exactly the same. The only reason I was looking for an upgrade was that I wanted to use a separate microphone, both on the camera and on a long lead and I wanted to be able to use ND filters to keep to the 180 degree shutter. This camera makes both possible, plus the stabilisation is absolutely superb. Handheld shots with even some zoom can be held still with the aid of the inbuilt software. The weaker aspect for me is the touch screen. It can be a bit insensitive to thicker fingers, encouraging you to push harder. The microphone has to be disconnected every time that you close the screen. The camera isn't really impact safe and the type of plastic used on the casing looks like it would crack on impact to me. Another slight annoyance to me is the fact that you aren't able to go fully manual. If you adjust the shutter manually, you can't adjust the aperture. It switches the shutter back to auto again. Some switches stop other things from working on manual which can be a slight problem. If you want to lower the exposure, then the aperture and shutter both go into auto mode again. A bit more manual control over exposure would have been nice. It's a good camera though, for a beginner since it's mostly automatic in what it does. Results with a good editor are extremely good but I do find myself often altering exposure and contrast levels in post production.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very nice features

32 GB built-in memory 22/03/2017 by Farmer1927 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camcorder 2 days ago, I think this a very good product on market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Autofocus makes a clicking noise

32 GB built-in memory 11/02/2017 by Darkstonecastle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera was defective right out of the box. Autofocus makes clicking noise.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

0

Action camcorder

Without built-in memory 12/01/2017 by Highwayman Ted (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camcorder was a belated Christmas gift received in the New Year and I have had little opportunity to use it apart from practising.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Camera for Private Investigators

32 GB built-in memory 18/12/2016 by Shogun71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The ability to disable audio by lowering the mic volume and obtain steady clear video is a big plus with this camera. Not too heavy, relatively steady even at high zoom and a reasonable price for such a high quality camera. 10.5 hours of record time on a 128 gb micro sd card and an extra 2.5 hours in the internal 32gb memory on high settings. Lowering settings to normal could easily double this recording time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SUPERB SONY

Without built-in memory 25/10/2016 by MELBERRY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

HELLO TO ALL==WELL THIS CX 625 HAS SEEN ME THROUGH MY TRANSITION PERIOD FROM A SONY CAMCORDER OF 12 YEARS OF AGE WITH A HARD DRIVE==THIS CX 625 IS A JOY==ALL OUTSIDE CONTROLS CLEVERLY PLACED==THE INTELLIGENCE MODE IS OUTSTANDING.MOST IMPORTANT TO MYSELF FOR MY YOU TUBE VIDEOS====HAVE TAKEN STILLS AND THE BEST I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED.====THE BATTERY LIFE WILL SURPRISE YOU==VERY CLEVER THAT THE CAMCORDER TURNS OFF AFTER 2 MINUTES OF NON USE====THIS SAVES THE BATTERY.===THERE IS A HANDBOOK WHICH EXPLAINS ENOUGH IN A BIG WAY TO MAKE YOU PROFICIENT QUICKLY==IT REALLY WILL===ANYBODY CAN STEP UP TO USING THIS CX 625==REGARDS TO ALL==COLIN===SENIOR CITIZEN

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

Sony Digital Camcorder

Without built-in memory 19/08/2016 by Pipputt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good camera. Easy to use and gives excellent results and conectivity via usb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Not compatible with Windows 10

Without built-in memory 25/07/2016 by SSis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not been able to use it as my computer does not recognise it

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

19

0

Does everything that I require.

Without built-in memory 18/07/2016 by SignalmanGKB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first "Movie Camera" and I am very happy with my purchase. A handy sized Camcorder which produces a clear and steady picture when viewed on a 32" television.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony HDR CX625

Without built-in memory 29/05/2016 by dickydo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Top quality video full HD 1080 50fps video camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent camcorder, but..........

Without built-in memory 16/05/2016 by Steve41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camcorder 10 days ago and am very pleased with it. One major gripe, is it does not have (along with all camcorders these days), a remote control. All our previous camcorders have had them, so you can connect to your tv, sit back, and play, rewind, slow motion, or frame by frame from the comfort of your sofa. Sad i know, but we record our horses showjumping, and it's nice to analyse afterwards sometimes. It can be connected to tv by wifi, keeping the camera with you, but you are then unable to use slow motion etc, merely able to play and pause. It seems odd in this day and age, all manufacturers seem to have done away with remotes; they are so useful. That apart, it is an excellent camcorder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

2

0

Excellent for the price

Without built-in memory 09/04/2016 by Di G (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ok bought this to replace my Sony HDR-XR105. It is compact and lightweight and produces good quality stills and video. It connects faultlessly to my MacBook Pro and Final Cut software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3