Skip to Content
15

4.2 based on 15 customer reviews

6
6
3
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brilliant

HDRCX900/B 17/05/2014 by AaronH (USA)

First off, please ignore the reviewer who stated that the camera does not have zebras. As he indicated, he did not have the camera in his possession, nor had he used one, so his review is pretty meaningless. The camera DOES have zebras. This camera packs a lot of functionality and artistic latitude into a... not-so-small package. It may seem like your average Handycam at a glance, but it's about twice the size. The bulk and weight of the big glass is noticeable, but not uncomfortable. My only regret is that the hip holster I've enjoyed using with my smaller Handycams won't work with this one -- a minor complaint, really. Low-light performance is very good, as you'd expect from a large sensor and a downscaled image. The picture is very sharp, and the depth of field is shallow enough for rack-focus shots while remaining deep enough that small focus errors aren't a total catastrophe. Manual controls are accessible, and full-auto mode yields nice results. There is some confusion around the use of XAVC-S with Adobe Premiere CS5.5, and many are claiming that XAVC requires Premiere CS6. This is not correct. The XAVC-S 50Mbit/S from the CX900 loads right up in CS5.5 and edits without a hitch. And looks awesome. In short: If you're prepared to fork out a bit more and don't mind a slightly bulkier camera, the CX900 will reward you with top-notch control and a crazy-good image.

23

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Weak on Automatic Focus

HDRCX900/B 27/09/2014 by kitelover (USA)

While basically a very good video camera in many respects, I find it unsatisfactory in automatic focus arena. There is no point of focus indicator you can use to maintain proper focus. I find the focus is often on what I do not want in sharp focus, particularly in wide or semi-wide angle of view. Also, the screen is intermittently blocked with a black screen saying to 'Choose Autofocus or Manual Focus'. Sometimes this screen keeps coming up frequently, blocking what I am trying to film for several seconds at a time. This seems to happen mostly when the camera is 'cold' at the start-up. When that happens, it often keeps happening throughout the filming session. At a more basic level, I find it disconcerting, because it indicates to me that the camera is having problems focusing. And as I zoom in, the image is not sharp after this happens, and I have to resort to manual mode to correct - which only works for a relevant focus range because focus changes with amount of zoom. Also, I find the viewfinder screen inadequate. If you are nearsighted and wear glasses when shooting, you cannot see the full screen, no matter how close you get to viewfinder. And part of screen is blocked by mask over of 'W' T'', etc on left side. Obviously, not ideal. I am going to see if there is a way to alleviate these problems. Maybe, there is a bios update available or something undocumented in how to deal with all of this. Perhaps a diopter supplemental lens to allow change if screen focus so I can see full screen using my glasses. I should mention that I use the 'on the fly' feature to keep manual brightness setting wheel on all the time. Perhaps the focus glitch above only occurs because that feature is in use. But, it definitely makes my use of this cameral less than ideal, as I need that brightness control to film things like dark subjects {e..g. musicians in front of white tents and darker kites in brighter sky backgrounds}.

12

5

15 Customer Reviews

0

CX900 CAN BE EXCEPTIONAL CAMERA

HDR-CX900 15/09/2017 by MarianI (USA)

A year ago, along with my cousin, I bought a Sony CX900 and an AX100 for a variety of events. Both cameras offer a picture quality that is hard to match and a consistent sound, but autofocus is very weak. The cameras came with the latest v3 manufacturer's frimware installed by the manufacturer but with the risk of repeating autofocus is catastrophic. We sent files with autofocus slides to the Romanian representative and we were advised to send the cameras to the warranty. By contacting different friends or faced with the same problems, we have come to the conclusion that the only solution is a new version of frimware. Since the chances of Sony releasing a new version of frimware in a timely manner were small, we decided to sell the devices of some buddies who use them more on manual focus. I started using Sony cameras with the launch of my first HD camcorder, but now I quit passing on Canon and Pansonic which although it does not have the Sony image offers a better autofocus. In vain you have star image if it is not clear. If these issues are resolved, we will surely return to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

TECHNICIAN

HDRCX900/B 16/03/2017 by Edwardslifesciences (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sony product nice photos, easy to use, steady shot, download to computer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesomb videos

HDRCX900/B 09/01/2017 by betoven (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this purchase. the camera is really good and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

"As of today"

HDRCX900/B 28/06/2015 by FppMedia (USA)

I now own 3x cx900's.. I record live stage plays and not only do I care about visual quality,but I also emphasize high quality audio.. I use an xlr adapter on one of the cx900's and sync the other in camera mic to the main audio. I'm not that bothered about losing 5.1 audio when I use an xlr adapter. This camera takes amazing video data and hands you a gorgeous image... And very NLE friendly in any format that you record.. Also in my "toolbox " I have 3 Cx 330's for extra perspectives not needing a lot of details. All my audio comes from a 18 channel wi fi controlled mixer with a line level xlr bus to main camera. Every actor has wireless headsets. I feel like I stole sumthin' man... Cause I have a for real production rig. My inspiration for this long crazy testament started from my first Sony HDR CX900.. Once I figured out the amazing power it possesses, I knew I could build a multicam operation worthy of broadcast nods. Buy this camera, learn it well and you will not be sorry. I have to say that this is a universal camera.. It will do consumers and Professionals well.

9

0

0

Solid performer

HDRCX900/B 28/05/2015 by JamesGang (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved to HD 1080 from Std definition with this one, and a good pick it was. HD res. and 5.1 Surround sound has made huge difference. Quality Zeiss optics like my last Sony. I have compared to other HD Camcorders and it is better and has a full 1" CMOS Sensor. Easy menu navigation, set up, and formatting. AVCHD format capability is phenomenal in playback quality. I was reluctant to go Sony again because of proprietary software but at least the current PlayMemories software is easy to use... Important if you want to share with DVD, and Blu-Ray creation. My only dislike so far is the zoom speed, too fast in its slowest speed for some applications, but just right, if you are filming sports events like Track & Field or Soccer events. I am taking advantage of the camera more and more as the quality is very good at 20MP and the ability to capture a photograph WHILE recording video. Bottom line, the CX900 has expensive Camcorder features at a mid-line price. Would purchase again.

6

3

0

Powerful Camera but with flaws

HDRCX900/B 28/05/2015 by LeChevalierNoir (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera's night vision, even without Nightshot, is extraordinary It takes great pictures and videos. Nightshot is great, too; however, I would have like to have seen Supernightshot as well. Now--here are my criticisms: Having the USB lead come out of the chassis as a wire is just plain stupid. With use one can see this breaking off causing an expensive repair. Instead there should be a micro USB plug on the chassis. This camera also should have been configured to charge and download on a base as my previous Sony camcorder does. .

2

1

0

To expensive

HDRCX900/B 05/01/2015 by salzy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had many sony Camcorder, this is the worst . Heavy and cumbersome also only a very small Operating Guide.

5

33

0

Great camcorter

HDRCX900/B 29/09/2014 by neco31 (USA)

Sony is best. But Had it s-log2 gamma It would be nice :)

2

12

0

Good Set of Easy to Access Manual Controls, WIFI.

HDRCX900/B 28/09/2014 by BofusII (USA)

I own an HDR-CX760. Purchased this unit as a companion to my 760. Unit is much larger than Sony's other consumer units. Zoom speed is very good and not too fast. Viewfinder has eyecup to help deflect stray light. Focus speed is slower than the CX760 but not unreasonable. Many of the manual features of the camera can be accessed from buttons on the side of the camera not needing to select them from the display. Being able to zoom or focus from the large ring near the front of the camera is a nice feature that was present on Sony's older DV camcorders. Camera does not have Balanced Optical Steady Shot that the CX760 has and movies are not as smooth when filming and walking with the camera. Low light performance is very good with little noise even at max gain. JPEG images are slightly better than the CX760's JPEGS but compression is still too high and magnifying images reveals lots of compression artifacts. Sony should offer a high quality mode for stills. Lens hood connection is very good and will not come off even when hit.

21

0

0

Weak on Automatic Focus

HDRCX900/B 27/09/2014 by kitelover (USA)

While basically a very good video camera in many respects, I find it unsatisfactory in automatic focus arena. There is no point of focus indicator you can use to maintain proper focus. I find the focus is often on what I do not want in sharp focus, particularly in wide or semi-wide angle of view. Also, the screen is intermittently blocked with a black screen saying to 'Choose Autofocus or Manual Focus'. Sometimes this screen keeps coming up frequently, blocking what I am trying to film for several seconds at a time. This seems to happen mostly when the camera is 'cold' at the start-up. When that happens, it often keeps happening throughout the filming session. At a more basic level, I find it disconcerting, because it indicates to me that the camera is having problems focusing. And as I zoom in, the image is not sharp after this happens, and I have to resort to manual mode to correct - which only works for a relevant focus range because focus changes with amount of zoom. Also, I find the viewfinder screen inadequate. If you are nearsighted and wear glasses when shooting, you cannot see the full screen, no matter how close you get to viewfinder. And part of screen is blocked by mask over of 'W' T'', etc on left side. Obviously, not ideal. I am going to see if there is a way to alleviate these problems. Maybe, there is a bios update available or something undocumented in how to deal with all of this. Perhaps a diopter supplemental lens to allow change if screen focus so I can see full screen using my glasses. I should mention that I use the 'on the fly' feature to keep manual brightness setting wheel on all the time. Perhaps the focus glitch above only occurs because that feature is in use. But, it definitely makes my use of this cameral less than ideal, as I need that brightness control to film things like dark subjects {e..g. musicians in front of white tents and darker kites in brighter sky backgrounds}.

12

5

0

Nothing beats a Sony!

HDRCX900/B 18/07/2014 by luvsony (USA)

I use camcorders for streaming live video 24/7/365. This means the camera is never turned off. Two years ago I purchased two Canon Vixia HFG10 camcorders because of their low light capabilities (which are quite good). Well 13 months later (1 month out of warranty) I had to pay $350.00 to get one of them repaired because it was constantly turning itself off! Now the other Canon is starting to have the same problem. I just received my new Sony HDR-CX900 and the quality is phenomenal! I pretty much let it do auto everything due to the fact that it is left unattended for months at a time so I'm not going to comment on all the other bells and whistles. I will say it has a much more solid feel and all around it's just a better product than any Canon in this price range. The 1" Exmor sensor takes this camcorder over the top in terms of picture quality! Want to see for yourself? Check out www.niagarafallslive.com/niagara_river.htm. The low light capability is much better than the Canon and anything else in the "prosumer" market. I'll be doing a few more weeks of testing and then this baby will be broadcasting my live Niagara Falls video feed. Thank you Sony! YOU ARE THE BEST!!!!

23

1

0

Great video but problem with 60p sound

HDRCX900/B 22/05/2014 by RedmanGA (USA)

This Sony model takes great video at each frame rate option (though auto focus is a little slow). However, there appears to be a technical issue with recording at 60p (and only at 60p)-- the sound recording is clipped/cuts in and out and also has a loud hiss. I have tested it in numerous indoor and outdoor settings including a quiet closet and it happens every time at 60p. I sent my original camera back to the retailer thinking that I had a bad model. Got the replacement and it does the exact same thing. I tried adding an external mic (Sony ECM-XYST1M) and the clipping and hiss sound goes away. So . . . do not plan on recording with the CX-900 at 60p without an external mic. I called Sony Support and reported my experience - but it was a quick conversation. It was hard to tell if they already knew about the issue and they provided no operational suggestions. Seems to be a great camera with that exception. Would be interesting if others could test and see if they have the same problem.

39

2

0

Brilliant

HDRCX900/B 17/05/2014 by AaronH (USA)

First off, please ignore the reviewer who stated that the camera does not have zebras. As he indicated, he did not have the camera in his possession, nor had he used one, so his review is pretty meaningless. The camera DOES have zebras. This camera packs a lot of functionality and artistic latitude into a... not-so-small package. It may seem like your average Handycam at a glance, but it's about twice the size. The bulk and weight of the big glass is noticeable, but not uncomfortable. My only regret is that the hip holster I've enjoyed using with my smaller Handycams won't work with this one -- a minor complaint, really. Low-light performance is very good, as you'd expect from a large sensor and a downscaled image. The picture is very sharp, and the depth of field is shallow enough for rack-focus shots while remaining deep enough that small focus errors aren't a total catastrophe. Manual controls are accessible, and full-auto mode yields nice results. There is some confusion around the use of XAVC-S with Adobe Premiere CS5.5, and many are claiming that XAVC requires Premiere CS6. This is not correct. The XAVC-S 50Mbit/S from the CX900 loads right up in CS5.5 and edits without a hitch. And looks awesome. In short: If you're prepared to fork out a bit more and don't mind a slightly bulkier camera, the CX900 will reward you with top-notch control and a crazy-good image.

23

0

0

Great camera based on one-week of intensive usage.

HDRCX900/B 29/03/2014  (USA)

I am very happy with the HDR CX900 after one intensive week of shooting with this camera and editing in Final Cut Pro 10. First I’ll tell you what I like and then I’ll list my most important nitpicks. Here are the best features of the Sony HDR-CX900 in order of importance to me: Larger sensor, lens and video codec that result in significantly better video than my very highly rated (by rating professionals) Canon HF G20. Physical buttons, dials and menus make it easy to get the specific settings/results that I want when conditions are changing fast. 12X zoom range which is about as right as any prosumer camcorder delivers. XAVC-S codec allows more refined color correction in post than AVCHD. ND filters are a wonderful addition (not seen by me on any other “consumer” camcorder) to control light and achieve narrower DOF in combination with larger than normal-camcorder sensor. Large still photo format that can be used for Ken Burns style pans and zooms in videos. These points are based on my 14 years as a video hobbyist owning 7 different video cameras. I'm not a pro, but my youtube channel is approaching 500,000 views. My judgements are also based on one week of intensive study, shooting and editing so that I can make sure that this is a camera for me. It’s keeper. I was, and may once again become a fan of Canon, but owning the combination of the Sony RX100 and HDR CX900 provides a great combination. If you have read this far, next you will read what could and should be changed. These points are nitpicks. The multi-interface shoe will not hold standard shoe accessories without a Sony adapter. I love the My Button feature (which should be called My Buttons) but Sony should and could have programmed six My Buttons instead of three. Sony released the camera without a decent manual. The one that comes with the camera is too short to be useful. This problem will go away with time, but according to Sony Support, the full User Manual won’t be out until April 15th and support is handicapped until then. I downloaded the English European version from here: http://download.sony-europe.com/pub/manuals/consumer/FDRAX100_CX900_HG_EN.pdf. It proved to be very useful. Hope this helps you decide what is right for you. JoeD

69

3

0

Great if you don't need 4K, but no zebra pattern?

HDRCX900/B 25/01/2014 by KrisAK (USA)

This looks like a game-changing camera for those of us not-yet-ready for 4K (essentially the non-4K version of the FDR-AX100.) I'd pre-order right now, but.... ZEBRA PATTERN DISPLAY is not listed as a feature, while it is listed for the FDR-AX100. Have zebra stripes really been hobbled in this camera? That makes accurate control of exposure considerably more difficult. (I'm hoping it's just a typo.)

40

84