Skip to Content
192

4.4 based on 192 customer reviews

134
33
10
6
9
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Probably the best ANC headphones available

MDR-1000X 04/06/2017 by martininberks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these prior to a flight from London to New York. Glad I did. Comfortable, great noise cancelling but with the flexibility to pause the cancelling or to allow speech or ambient noise to penetrate. Good sound quality also. My one criticism would be there is no provision for the cables inside the case - unlike the Bose QC35. Otherwise, very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great features but plastic prone to cracking

MDR-1000X 21/06/2017 by HEXfire (United Kingdom)

I bought this a little over a month ago. The noise cancelling and sound quality are excellent. The features worked as described, with the ambient sound modes being useful and novel. The only minor annoyances were not being able to listen while charging, and simultaneously connecting to multiple audio devices. That said, you can pair a device for audio and one for voice at the same time. A month on, the plastic developed a crack along the foldable joint, resulting in the plastic to protrude and the fit not being as tight. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result. Beware! said cracking is classified as physical / cosmetic damage and not covered under the warranty.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

29

0

192 Customer Reviews

0

Great, best headphones i have ever used

MDR-1000X 18/11/2017 by imzino (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find most high end headphones perform similarly, just as smartphones these days. However, it caught me by suprise that that Sony would compete with Bose, Bowers & Wilkins and such by implementing an even better noise cancellation option where competitors have ambient sound modes which is also offered at different levels, a very nifty feature. On the other hand, during calls it is nearly impossible for the person on the other side of the call to hear me, which i believe could be due to the noice cancellation mics picking up excess noise, which could be fixed with a software upgrade...but the likeliness of Sony offering it now is the same as it was a few years ago when it released.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound Over Noise Yes

MDR-1000X 14/11/2017 by out2bme (USA)

I had invested in several cheap Bluetooth headphones over the years and wore them briefly before they were set aside to neve be used again. I had never considered buying an expensive set of Bluetooth technology headphones, until I happened upon the Sony booth. I tried a pair on and was blown away by the noise canceling property, the sound quality and overall features that the headphones provided. I had been against spending that kind of money on any headphones, neither Beats or Bose would have compelled me to buy a pair of expensive headphones. In all fairness, I tried the Bose headphones and was disappointed in the noise canceling property. The sales rep kept turning the volume up to drown out his voice. The Sony headphones did it effortlessly and at a very low volume. I was totally impressed and bought two pairs. Way to go Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

commuters best friend

MDR-1000X 12/11/2017 by Yizoyizo (United Kingdom)

I've had these now for 2 weeks and primarily use them on the commute to work. When i initially got them out of the packaging i did think - wow !!! - these look really good. Soft to the touch and really comfortable and light for the daily commute. The sound is ok especially when combined with my device equalizer. The NC is effective especially on the London Tube - you will be immersed into whatever your'e listening to. Over all the good set of cans for the money The down sides - when receive a call i have to shout and the cable does not have in line remote but is good quality. The hinges do feel a little delicate when i do unfold them but once they're on they do feel solid. For the duration of time i have had these i am happy so far - let's see how durable they are over time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simple to use, simply brilliant

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by Newty (United Kingdom)

Noise cancelling excellence that deliver superb sound and totally eliminate background nuisance noise .. Wish I'd got them ages ago...

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for music; not so much for phone calls.

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by Hoppie (USA)

Love listening to music with these. However, phone calls are always muffled and others say they can’t hear you very well. The mics are placed above your ears, away from your mouth. Engineering failure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Noise Cancelling

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by kingsleyadio (United Kingdom)

Happy with the product so far. I realized the new version is now in the market just a day before I got the MDR-1000X, which was 110 EUR more expensive. sadly :( However, this is really good. Sound quality is great. No problem whatsoever. Would be great if Sony makes the Headphones app work with the MDR-1000X too though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Had for 6 months now, absolutely love it

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by TashW88 (Canada)

The Sony sound signature in my opinion dominates the competition from Bose. I have lived with this paid for half a year now to give a well used review. It sits comfortably on the head with not too much tension. I actually use the swiping feature to skip tracks, double tap to pause/play, and cover the earcup to silence, on a weekly basis. When I first bought the pair I thought these would be gimmicks I would never use, but I was very wrong. They are VERY functional and useful features and have worked without fail. Connections have also worked without fail (note I used to own the Bose QC 15 which had regular trouble with connections and maintaining consistent noise cancelling). Very happy with the product, very happy with the work Sony is doing these days. I highly recommend the MDR 1000X. I do regularly to my friends/family/colleagues when they ask me about it - which happens often because they look so slick!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor design/quality but sounds great

MDR-1000X 06/11/2017 by wizzled (United Kingdom)

Excellent noise cancellation, quality of sound is one of the best. Comfortable. Unfortunately they will inevitably break/crack at the point the earpiece connects to the headband. This is because of poor design causing a stress fracture at this site from simply wearing the headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

it works realy good in any situation

MDR-1000X 02/11/2017 by beauf0001 (USA)

i use the sony mdr 1000x every day with happyness en joy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great until...

MDR-1000X 01/11/2017 by JustAnAverageGuy (USA)

These headphones where great until the left ear band started showing stress and the right ear band finally snapped. I'm sure these still get great sound, but they are not unusable. I have had these headphones since Dec 28th, 2016 and they should have lasted much longer than that for the price. The bands for the cups are too ridgid and not very flexible as I have learned apparently. I used to recommend these, but now I cannot! I would love to have a refund if possible or at least a replacement pair...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best Headphones Ever !!

MDR-1000X 31/10/2017 by Macmac (United Kingdom)

Needed to replace Senns' phones which snapped, wanted good overall sound with DEEP bass. Checked all the "Big Names" and the 1000X were easily the best. The sound has good highs, very clear and defined mids and SUPERB punchy and tight bass. They destroyed Beats, Bang & O and way better than Bose!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Unlike Any Other

MDR1000X/B 28/10/2017 by Joey B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pure brilliance is all I can say about the MDR-1000XX with its build quality and exceptional noise cancelation making these the best headphones ever released.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I'm a happy & I tell all my friends!

MDR1000X/B 25/10/2017 by Chucki3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got them as a gift and I would tell others to buy them other that the reason of the microphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features and sound

MDR-1000X 23/10/2017 by marco_gea (United Kingdom)

I bought this looking for some cans that would be comfortable to wear for long hours, and which could be used both at home when listening to my home stereo as well as "on the go", and especially on long-haul flights. They have not disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent product

MDR-1000X 17/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I just love it Easy to handle and use Light Elegant design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great sound; poor construction

MDR-1000X 17/10/2017 by Marconioni (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones about six months ago. They had great sound and the noise cancelation was first rate. Got a bit uncomfortable to wear for me after about an hour (hot ears). However, I would question the quality of materials used in construction as one of the ear steams broke completely under (what I would consider) normal usage. Sony makes it clear that this kind of damage is not covered under the terms of their guarantee. Therefore, I cannot recommend this product to anyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

4

0

Plastic is cheap and cracks easily

MDR-1000X 16/10/2017 by amanda2017 (USA)

I used these for travel and daily wear and loved them until 2 months in the plastic developed a hairline crack along the foldable joints on the inside of the headband. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result and this is not covered by warranty. Do not waste your money.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

0

Amassing

MDR-1000X 15/10/2017  (USA)

I bought this 1year ago and I'm so proud for this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Noise canceling buzz

MDR-1000X 13/10/2017 by Mfranca (USA)

I bought this headphones and after 4 months in normal use it started to make a annoying buzz sound on left ear when the noise canceling is on. Now I can’t use the main feature of the device.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

great sounds

MDR-1000X 09/10/2017 by Bebbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used on a recent flight the noise cancelling worked brilliantly great sound and comfortable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

MDR - 1000X Headphones review

MDR-1000X 07/10/2017 by copyrightismine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The good points sound & build quality, the bad point is the very fiddly controls on the side of the headphones. This device would get 5 stars if there was an app. in the UK for controlling the volume, answering calls and having an equaliser on your phone, tablet etc..As it is they 4 stars for a good not perfect product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

The Phones

MDR-1000X 07/10/2017 by Jock7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these headphones a couple of week ago after buying the Bose QC35's which gave me problems with the wireless by the music dropping out if I had the phone in the wrong pocket and even when I turned my head the music dropped out. The Sony's on the other hand gives me no problem and the signal is very strong. Music is brilliant to listen to and even for long periods with no adverse affects. I do not do reviews of products as they should do it themselves but the headphones are so good that I had to in this case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Poor volume

MDR-1000X 06/10/2017 by Tugger 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these headphones to connect with my sonos system which it didn't but that's not sonys fault. But when I got them working I was disappointed with the sound volume,not loud enough for me!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Almost perfect

MDR-1000X 03/10/2017 by Downy8 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, fantastic. Kiss cancelling but let down by design faults, cracking plastics limited BT connections and too big for a smallish head.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Just awesome...

MDR-1000X 03/10/2017 by Clint C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't say anything new about these headphones that haven't already been said before. One thing I have noticed isn't mentioned is how safe these headphones can be. Having the ability to have ambient sound coming in can be a life saver as you're more aware of your surroundings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Not bad

MDR-1000X 02/10/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 10 days ago and it sounds good... although my ears sometimes ache after 30 mins i have the headphones on and the noise canceling is not that satisfactory

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

WOW!

MDR-1000X 24/09/2017 by Philbz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones sound amazing. The noise cancelling is excellent. Shame they can’t connect to more than one devices at a time, then they would be near perfect. Yes, expensive but worth every penny once you’ve heard them. Makes your music sound new.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Sony - 1000X Wireless Noise-Canceling Headphones

MDR1000X/C 22/09/2017 by Grantho (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just simple the best. i can't leave without. I love it my new baby. way better than Bear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great pair of headphones

MDR-1000X 20/09/2017 by benh1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these headphones a couple of weeks ago, in part to reduce distractions in a busy office. They have effective noise cancelling and excellent sound quality, and are comfortable to wear. The touch controls take a little bit of getting used to but work effectively. The only minor negative is the size adjustment strips slip quite easily.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Incredible noise cancelling and outstanding design

MDR-1000X 19/09/2017 by sneakybear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling is genuinely the best I've experienced. Functions are effective and simple to use, instant NFC link is so fast. Unit talks to you to confirm actions! Finally, use of the touch pad was a concern from previous reviews but I found it really simple and effective. Fully recommend these headphones, in my opinion these are better than the Bose, on sound quality and functions, and better than the Sennheiser, on noise cancelling and functions.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Hesitant due to price - GLAD I MADE THE PURCHASE

MDR-1000X 12/09/2017 by TeamNSM (USA)

I bought these are a gift to myself - only way I will get something nice :). I have been looking for new headphones for almost 4 months and was really hesitant to buy the Sony due to the price. Glad I made the leap because I have Sony audio (as far back as the Walkman) and camera products for years and was confident with the reputation of the company to produce great products. I upgraded from Harman Kardon NC headphones that were 3 years old. Definite improvement - I will not consider myself an audiophile but I like good sound and can immediately tell the difference. The bass is clean even at the deeper end. The mids and highs are crisp. The noise cancelling is amazing and the ability to cut the music by cupping the right ear is really handy - and a good trick. Had a lot of "cool feature" comments. The touch controls and buttons are easy to use after getting used to position. The fit is fine for me and the earpads are comfortable to wear for hours. I have used these headphones everyday at work since buying them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Love these headphones

MDR-1000X 04/09/2017 by Edeil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a 75th birthday gift from my sons.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Impressive build quality and attention to detail.

MDR-1000X 30/08/2017 by MikeP40 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a few problems, the hreadphones paired with my iPad and iPhone easily. But pairing to the Bluetooth dongle I use for TV sound require several atteempts. Finally I got it working. The sound quality and noise cancellation is v/good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Amazing sound and noise cancelling!!

MDR1000X/B 29/08/2017 by Drago24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a week ago and am extremely happy! I did not want to spend the money on them but they are definitely worth the high price tag. Sound cancelling is so nice when I'm trying to get stuff done and need peace and quiet. If I could change two things about them it would be making the earcup a little deeper and making them louder. Overall though I am happy with them! They are so much better than beats!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

CRACKS ON THE SIDE

MDR1000X/B 27/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

USE JUST 3 MONTH ,It has quality problems of the side it cracked by it self

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

13

2

0

Not as conformable as Bose QC35

MDR1000X/C 27/08/2017 by WinMyan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I went BestBuy to purchase Bose QC35. QC35 put too much pressure on my ear drums, so I went ahead and look at others. I’m sure that is definitely something to do with individual. Here is what I like and I don’t like about this Sony 1000x. *** Pro *** - Head support is covered with synthetic leather instead of micro filter cloth like QC35. So, I don’t have worry about soaking with hair cream over time. - Instantly stop the noise cancelling, and boost the ambient sound, if I cover the right ear cap. - Option to choose the ambient sound, when I’m on the phone. *** Cons *** - I’m not a fun of touch control. If I accidently touch it, it could change the tracks. - A little bit heavy and not as comfortable as Bose QC35 However, the pros out weight the cons, and I’m happy with the purchase of Sony 1000x.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Best earphones I ever used!

MDR-1000X 26/08/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this earphones a week ago, i use them every day. The sound quality is amazingly balanced, it's a pleasure to listen any music, the noise cancelling is perfect and when the song finishes the white noise is not pushing my ears like BOSE 35. Very Well Done SONY! I'm so happy with the product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great features for a competitive price

MDR-1000X 24/08/2017 by Aks1984 (USA)

Best decision ever, wish the price and they sound great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great but has many issues

MDR-1000X 23/08/2017 by Mahe (USA)

I bought 2 days back great sound and features but disappointed with connectivity can't connect with iPad and iPhone at once, no multi device connectivity have to disconnect one and connect other which badly disappointed me this problem we don't have with qc35, also ear fatigue for 1hr of use with mid volume range, can't even complete watching full movie...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

You will not be disappointed

MDR-1000X 22/08/2017 by Audiophile1530 (USA)

Better sound and NC quality than Bose of a higher price. 100% recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

There is a lot of features

MDR-1000X 21/08/2017 by Wal12160902070 (USA)

Would like it more if it has a bass Booster and in white color

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very nice headphones with great features

MDR1000X/C 19/08/2017 by Pugh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ordered these headphones after being very disappointed with the Bose QC35 headphones. I find the Sony headphones better in overall quality, design, bluetooth connectivity, audio quality, color and ergonomics. The Bose functionality and quality was simply not there. I had one of the original noise-cancelling headphones from Bose and thought the noise cancelling was pretty good. Recently, I bought two QC35s, one for my wife, but I sent them both back after having trouble with the bluetooth connectivity. I bought one pair of the Sony headphones for now but judging from performance so far I will likely buy a second pair for myself. They even feel higher quality. These headphones can be switched to ambient sound simply by cupping the right earpiece with your hand. When you take your hand away they will switch back to noise cancellation. Very handy on a plane. The right earpiece has "trackpad" controls, swipe two fingers up/down for volume or Right/Left for transport controls including start and pause. No switches to try and find on the Sony headset. When you connect the audio cable in an aircraft to a single 1/8" coax you do NOT need an adapter (unlike the Bose) and it switches off the bluetooth when it detects the cable. Not so in Bose. Instead, you will get an annoying voice in your ear from the Bose headphones saying "Ready to connect" or words to that effect. Sony says that the battery will last 20 hours (as does Bose) after a charge. We have not tested that yet. Bose had the same 20 hour battery life. The switches on the Sony headphones are different to the Bose. Bose has chunky plastic switches that do not have a quality feel. Sony uses small metal switches (3) on the headphone to control on/off, noise cancellation and ambient sound. Sony has a complete set of instructions for operating the headphones. Bose has an incomplete set of instructions. You have to go to their web site for more. Sony has a case that allows the headphones to fold into a compact shape. The case has a fixed soft divider to protect each headset. Also, the case has a colored band on either side of the zipper so that you can tell headsets apart (his/hers). I chose black, my wife chose beige. Bose does not distinguish between headsets, does not have a fixed soft divider in their case and does not have the headphone layout clearly marked on the bottom of the case like the Sony headphones. Bose has a small tab with a hard to read diagram inside the case. I thought Bose had cornered the market on noise cancellation headphones. Not So. Sony is the new product to beat in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great sound with an annoying feature

MDR1000X/B 18/08/2017 by blankslate (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I work as a professional sound mixer, so protecting my hearing, and sound integrity and quality are very important to me. While this product produces amazing sound and the noise cancelling is fantastic sound, I feel like this product has a lot of bells and whistles that are totally frivolous. The ambient sound feature is a little wack and impractical. Also, transport controls (i.e. play/pause, next track, volume) are non-physical touch sensitive areas over the right ear, meaning you could skip a song (or audio book chapter) or turn the volume all the way up when adjusting the fit. So that kind of sucks.... But aside from some very annoying little design nuisances these are great headphones. Battery life is exceptional, sound and noise cancelling are fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Outstanding

MDR-1000X 14/08/2017 by W3RPG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic quality, I can't find fault with these headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Awesome sound with caveats

MDR1000X/B 11/08/2017 by Farmer550 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound produced by the speakers are on par with Bose. I actually like the noise cancelling better on these. What is dislike is the creaking and physical noise from the body of the headphones. It is quite distracting, almost to the point you think something is broken loose in side. I also dislike that I can only charge with the cable provided with a pc. No wall bud will charge these.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best ever!

MDR-1000X 11/08/2017 by Sonyboy17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and it's excellent, sounds amazing but to listen to HI-RES audio the cable need to be use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Thoroughly impressed.

MDR-1000X 11/08/2017 by AeRo04 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these 3 weeks ago, after doing my usual intensive research. These are the third pair of Bluetooth headphones I have owned in the last 6 years. I had a Jabra headset for 2 years, and for the last four years a set of Sennheiser MM400's on a daily basis. Sennheiser have always been my first port of call when buying headphones, so I was shocked to see Sony leading the pack in reviews across the world so, after much soul searching, I opted for the Sony 1000X. The sound is awesome, a nice tight bass, great mid-range and sweet upper range. Connectivity too ticks all the boxes. Once paired, these connect to my Google Pixel XL first time, every time. Noise cancelling is really impressive, and the 'gimmicky' hand over the right cup to silence the music and play external voices through the headphones is a masterstroke! I haven't been able to check the 20 hour battery life yet, but on usage of around an hour a day, these easily last my 6 day working week. The only negative, and it's a slight one, it that they just fit my head on the smallest fitting. Perhaps I have a small head? Previous headphones have always needed a slight extension in order to fit. Price wise, they are a bit on the expensive side, but it's worth it for the quality. If you shop around, it's quite easy to bag a bargain.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Works great

MDR-1000X 11/08/2017 by stevehh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the headphones for a month now. They work fine, the noise cancelling is great. I can't compare with other brands, but it works for me. Connect's effortlessly to my bluetooth, the voice guidance confirms the connection. Battery level, press the on/off switch, and a voice will advise on the battery level. Battery works a long time,I've yet to flatten it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony 1000X

MDR-1000X 11/08/2017 by Colin2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really appreciate these headphones, the sound is great and my old CD's are much clearer to listen to. The noise cancelling is very effective.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

HDR-1000X power saving feature

MDR1000X/C 07/08/2017 by 469477 (USA)

I have owned a pair of HDR-1000X headphones for about two months. They have a "power saving" feature which seems odd for a device that claims a long battery life. If the headphones are not connected to a Bluetooth source or if the cable is not inserted into the left cup, they power off after 5 minutes. So if you want to use them for noise cancelling only, you can't on most flights, as your wireless features are supposed to be disabled, unless you dangle the cable from your left ear. So to take advantage of the ccwllent noise canceling, you must look like a dork. Sony says this is working as designed. That is a big miss in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

2

0

Bluetooth

MDR-1000X 07/08/2017 by pelle30 (USA)

I can pair them with my Windows laptop and my iPhone 6. But I have a 2015 Sony Bravia Android Smart TV and a Sony Playstation 4 and they can't pair with the headphones, no matter how hard i try, and trying all the necessary things that should be done when pairing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Best!

MDR-1000X 01/08/2017 by highfiman (USA)

I bought it 3 weeks ago and the only con is that i don't want to talk to anybody during the day. =)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great sound quality

MDR-1000X 01/08/2017 by ChelnodapV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compare to Bose QC35, which has similar price to 1000x, the sound quality is way better than it. Noise cancellation is acceptable and enough for daily use. If you are looking for a good sound quality wireless headphone with noise cancellation, 1000x will be a good choice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Headphones

MDR-1000X 26/07/2017 by Jimnal1 (USA)

I replaced my Bose over hear wired headphones with Sony Bluetooth headphones. Sound quality is excellent and the ease of use is exceptional.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Greta sound - very good isolation

MDR-1000X 24/07/2017 by Steeevo1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought these a few weeks ago on the strength of various reviews and I must say I,m very impressed They sound superb , noise cancellation is superb , and sony sound quality is very very good indeed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic

MDR-1000X 24/07/2017 by Strongbobo (United Kingdom)

Great sound headphone. Taken me months to find the right one, I'm pleased the headphone can work with TV using aptx bluetooth device & shows very little lip sync. I know Bose always stands out the best but I had a listen bose when my boss let me use his & we can tell the different... Sony has blown bose away. It's louder, clear & the separation is amazing! Can hear the clean low bass without effecting the high notes. I've read so many reviews about the creaking & cracks in headband. I find all headphones have flaws. Anyway I use gorilla tape to wrap headband & use dry silicone oil that won't harm plastics to lube the hinges. So far so good its fine! I fold carefully back in its case being a happy bunny. If Sony found a fix & offer a call out to all owners? I'd be happy to have it fix. Then this headphone will be higher than 5 stars!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent at sound, not so good at NC

MDR-1000X 24/07/2017 by rb07 (USA)

I've had these for a couple of months, I've also had BOSE's QC for years, 1000X has much better sound when it comes to music, not perfect over LDAC, and noise cancellation is not as good as my BOSE QC-20, in fact quite disappointing. The problem with LDAC is that sound is cut for an instant when you move your head, no other reason I can see, and of course its the same if you move your audio device (Xperia phone in my case). Noise cancellation problems are more complex. To start you have to run "optimize" so the headset adjusts to your head, use of glasses if any, and ambient. Even after that my headset had unequal NC from one side to the other, the left has been always more noisy, the right is fine. Finally the real NC from say planes flying overhead, traffic, someone playing the TV or stereo very loud, its disappointing, not good enough, and nowhere close to what my QC-20 does. Another detail that was problematic with my over the head BOSE is the vinyl on the ear cups, and on the Sony on the underside of the band. This material doesn't last, no matter how much you clean it, and care for it, it disintegrates. One "like to have" feature this model doesn't have is a replaceable battery. Good thing is you can use them wired, but after the battery's life is over... no more NC, or Bluetooth, seems like an unnecessary waste.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound and additional features are great

MDR-1000X 22/07/2017 by Rbramhill1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Previously owned Bose headphones which are great. I have now ventured onto these and I hope they are equally as good. I have not tried them on a flightyet but sound quality is very good so far. Would recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Immersed in Sound

MDR-1000X 21/07/2017 by GeeKnow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound. Great features. Buttons take some fiddling. Overall a very high quality product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great noise cancelling fuction

MDR1000X/B 20/07/2017 by dachuan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great noise cancelling fuction!great noise cancelling fuction!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive

MDR-1000X 17/07/2017 by Everwin (USA)

I have both the Bose QC35 and this headset. This headset, to me, cancels noise better than the Bose. The only downside is the button positions are not convenient. Plus pairing with a Bluetooth transmitter is a bit more complicated than Bose. Overall, an excellent NC headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great acoustic

MDR-1000X 17/07/2017  (USA)

Impressive sound. The sound is very clear and the bass is awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Class Leading

MDR-1000X 14/07/2017 by Eggs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones are superb, previously owner of Bose and was going to replace with QC35 from Bise, I done some research and all the feedback pointed towards the Sony as best in class, I tested both at Terminal 5 Heathrow, once compared there was no comparison, Sony won hands down and I am converted, i do already own other Somy products such as LED TV, so I knew the quality was there, I always believed Bose was the class leader, no longer with the MDX1000X wireless, keep up the great work Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Full of features, but lacking some important ones.

MDR-1000X 13/07/2017 by MackNick (United Kingdom)

First of all, these are GREAT headphones. You will not be disappointed! I also own a pair of Bose QC35's so most of my review will be in light of this. Pros:- — Noise cancelling. The 1000X's do outclass the QC35's here. I can listen at low levels, and not hear anything from the world around me. The ability to temporarily stop the noise-cancelling by covering the right ear is just awesome as well. — Ambient Sound. The control on the ambient sound is amazing. Being able to let in just voices, or regular outside noise is a great feature. — Sound. The sound quality is brilliant. It's full and rich, not muffled at all, but bassy and clear. A slight improvement on the QC35's sound. — Touch controls. Not having too many buttons all over the 1000X's is a nice touch. No feeling around trying to find the right button to press. — Design. These headphones do look very sleek to me, compared with the QC35's, but beauty is in the eye of the beholder! Cons:- — There is no indication of battery level. When you start the QC35's up, it tells you the battery level. When it's low, it lets you know. The 1000X's have none of this. — Touch controls. This is a con as well, as they can be temperamental. I don't always make a perfect horizontal swipe to change track, and instead the volume will go up. — Cellular interference. I occasionally hear my mobile phones cellular clicks through the 1000X's, which never happened on the QC35's. This was disappointing. — Microphone. I find that people just cannot hear me over the ambient noise around me when making a phone call with the 1000X's. This is very disappointing as I find myself having to use my phone normally. Not what you want with premium headphones. — Carry case. Unlike the QC35's case, the 1000X's have only one pocket on the outside, so carrying the cables in the case can leave indents on the headphones, potentially causing damage. Overall, these headphones are top notch, but there are a few basics that let them down. I wouldn't advise anyone against getting them though, they rock!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

2

0

Best noise cancellers

MDR-1000X 12/07/2017 by Grimm0878 (USA)

Just the best even bose falls on its knees. These have much superior sound compared to bose qc35 and features!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

MDR-1000X 12/07/2017 by Harper888 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Over the moon with the product. Best headphones i have ever come across in my life. Amazing battery, sound, comfort & look. Couldn't be happier. 100000%

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wireless Headphones

MDR-1000X 12/07/2017 by Robert96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted headphones for when out walking, and did some research on the internet. It was a toss up between these and and another pair, which I won't name but the reviews were good for both pairs. So decided to buy either set depending on which set I could get on the day. The only problem is I wish that you could buy a charger instead of having to plug them into the computer to charge.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

MDR-1000X 10/07/2017 by Sid Dallas (USA)

Great Sound, Great noise canceling and no ear pressure from the noise cancelling. I tried the Bose 35 but they caused ear pressure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best audio product I've bought

MDR-1000X 10/07/2017 by Malcy (United Kingdom)

Been wanting to buy these headphones for months. Noise cancelling is excellent, as are the gesture controls. Thoroughly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0