284

4.4 based on 284 customer reviews

186
59
11
13
15
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Probably the best ANC headphones available

MDR-1000X 04/06/2017 by martininberks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these prior to a flight from London to New York. Glad I did. Comfortable, great noise cancelling but with the flexibility to pause the cancelling or to allow speech or ambient noise to penetrate. Good sound quality also. My one criticism would be there is no provision for the cables inside the case - unlike the Bose QC35. Otherwise, very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great features but plastic prone to cracking

MDR-1000X 21/06/2017 by HEXfire (United Kingdom)

I bought this a little over a month ago. The noise cancelling and sound quality are excellent. The features worked as described, with the ambient sound modes being useful and novel. The only minor annoyances were not being able to listen while charging, and simultaneously connecting to multiple audio devices. That said, you can pair a device for audio and one for voice at the same time. A month on, the plastic developed a crack along the foldable joint, resulting in the plastic to protrude and the fit not being as tight. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result. Beware! said cracking is classified as physical / cosmetic damage and not covered under the warranty.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

30

0

285 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound / Faulty Construction

MDR1000X/B 16/02/2018 by Jaimar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones last April (10 months ago) for several hundred dollars looking for quality from Sony. I wanted a pair of headphones that were noise cancelling to combat the sounds of the inner city NYC trains. The noise cancelling is actually nearly perfect; however the construction of the headphones are made with plastic and cracked on both sides. Because of the crack, the headphones do not fit properly and the noise cancelling is affected. To make matters worse, many comments on blogs suggest that this issue is quite common and not repairable, and my headphones will need to be replaced. I will place a support call and follow the procedures and do what's suggested. We shall see.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Product

MDR-1000X 14/02/2018 by Crock182 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use these headphones when playing my guitar! The sound quality is impeccable, noise cancelling function is epic, and the ambient noise ‘voice’ means someone can grab my attention without having to take the headphones off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic noise cancellation

MDR-1000X 14/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this headset two weeks ago as my office was pretty loud and I wanted to get a noise cancellation headset. I tried this at a shop, and it immediately blew my mind. It is extremely comfortable, the pads are very soft and well fitting. The noise cancellation is top-notch: I have four pretty loud vents next to my head, but I can't hear anything at all! It is sitting well on my hears, don't actually touch them, which is a HUGE point for me. It is very comfortable for an extended period of a time - I wear it for at least 8 hours a day without getting uncomfortable or hurting my ears. I didn't tried the ambient mode nor used it on the street so I can't say anything about it, but the noise cancellation is fantastic!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Noise Cancelling

MDR-1000X 13/02/2018 by Triple B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a month ago, mainly for use on plane journeys, and they are great to get rid on the constant noise of the plane! Also, I've used them for commuting and they give a great sound without the constant background noise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful purchase

MDR-1000X 10/02/2018 by Cy4326 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling works so well especially at train stations. Great for work commuters

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-1000X 08/02/2018 by None that I know of (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does exactly what it says, excellent noise cancelling feature. Very comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Cans

MDR-1000X 07/02/2018 by Smithys (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good, first of all non of the 'cracking' issues you see reported, so hopefully that's been fixed! Sound cancelling is as good my wife's Bose QC 35's and the sound quality is somewhat better!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fluid experience

MDR-1000X 06/02/2018 by PAMillet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got what I wanted. Bluetooth connects instantly. Battery life is will last all day. The hardbound case is very reliable. Noise cancelation is good. Though it gets uncomfortable on the ears in about 2 hours of constant use. Sound quality will never disappoint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

They do not go loud enough

MDR-1000X 06/02/2018 by meggs17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these to save complaints from the neighbours. I’m hard of hearing, and where there are no subtitles on programmes, I would otherwise need to turn up the Tv volume too much. Unfortunately I have not found a way to sufficiently increase the volume through the headphones. A wired connection is fine, but that defeats the object of wireless. I am disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great ANC Headphones!

MDR-1000X 06/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the last month I've experienced nothing but extreme comfort, fantastic audio quality and warp-like noise cancellation, would highly recommend to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Go for Superb Battery, Features and Sound Quality

MDR-1000X 02/02/2018 by Sas9915 (USA)

I bought this close to a year ago. This is a beautiful piece with long lasting battery, excellent features and sound quality. I was little disappointed with the lack of app for such an expensive headphone. Bass is lower, and you might feel little different if you have been using Bose or Parrot Zik etc. But I love this piece, very lightweight on head. Apart from this, white the build quality is superb.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound quality

MDR-1000X 02/02/2018 by AirborneWarrior (United Kingdom)

These headphones are the best money i have ever spent, i travel a lot and have had many many headphones over the years all different makes and types, these are by far the best i have ever had, comfortable stylish crisp and quality sounds, great for movies or music, would never buy another make again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Generally great headphones

MDR-1000X 01/02/2018 by Chani90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these just after Christmas as a present for myself. They are really great headphones most of the time. The sound cancelling is much better than a previous pair I had been using, they are really comfortable and fit my head well. Personally I think the sound quality is really good but I am slightly deff so probably don’t have the whole picture. The only problem I had for a while was that the sound kept breaking up at times when there was no reason for it to, this would happen quite regularly and got very annoying so I started using the wired connection. Have recently restarted using Bluetooth and haven’t had any issues yet, fingers crossed it stays like that!! Side note the ambient sound voice setting is a dream if you need to hear anything as is the quick attention setting!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

automatically turns on

MDR-1000X 31/01/2018 by majid73 (USA)

Hi When my headphone is beside a cellphone, it turns on automatically after a while, also when the cellphone has an income  call it turns on suddenly, it happen with all cellphones which may are beside my headphone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Do NOT waste time and money on these

MDR-1000X 30/01/2018 by simplejack (USA)

Are they great, sure? Will they break, almost definitely. Search in google for the band breaking on each side and you'll see a treasure trove of similar product defects as I had. repair staff are working on them now but im not too thrilled that they will likely replace them with the same product (same issue)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great headphones. Poor headband build quality

MDR-1000X 28/01/2018 by Richie78 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I’m really pleased with these headphones, and would definitely recommend them to anyone. The only drawbacks are; poor headband build quality (mine cracked, and this seems to be a common issue), sound can be muddy at times, swapping Bluetooth source could be better. Sony’s customer service to get my headphones replaced was terrible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The noise cancellation is superb

MDR-1000X 26/01/2018 by Buffalo Sutton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The noise cancellation has to be the best feature of the MDR 1000 headphones. As soon as you put them on they block out nearly every sound instantaneously. The sound is great of them, a great balance between high and lows, could do with a bit more lows Ness on occasion but I guess my ears are better protected by there not being. They can thud a bit when your walking at pace or running which is probably the worst thing about the headphones. Apart from that these are belter.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very poorly made in terms of quality

MDR-1000X 23/01/2018 by Yuth162000 (USA)

I bought these pair of headphones for two days and it begins to crack at the headbands.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Superb sound

MDR-1000X 23/01/2018 by THE ROCO (USA)

Great headphones, amazing sound. Easy to use and very comfortable

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent pro headphones.

MDR-1000X 22/01/2018 by Nemrac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wear headphones for most of the day Mon - Fri for my job, so I need something of high quality and these are absolutely brilliant. I need to listen to music and watch content often in noisy environments and the noise cancelling is excellent. They are also really comfortable even for long wear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony's are best by far over the Bose

MDR1000X/B 21/01/2018 by Sapper Dawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The MDR1000X puts the Bose 35 II to shame. Great product; thank you Sony Team!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Smart

MDR-1000X 20/01/2018 by Sleeage (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are the first noise cancelling headphones I have bought. They seem effective but I have only used them around the house. I have not used high resolution audio yet but the lossless from my iPod sounds very good.with clear definition. I find the on/off button rather small. But the voice response is good. They are quite comfortable but I feel a little pressure on my ears,perhaps they are a little tight for a big head. They feel solidly built but the hinges look fragile. I would have liked more written instructions on their use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing sound quality

MDR-1000X 19/01/2018 by Illuminate_eng (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this headphone for a few weeks now and I can tell you i am in love with them, the only downside is that can only pair on device at a time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Thoroughly impressed

MDR-1000X 19/01/2018 by JFURL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had these headphones for a week now. The battery life is exceptional. I have used these everyday on the commute to and from work, on lunch and back in the house and only had to charge them yesterday. The noise cancelling is outstanding. With previously earphones I have had to crank up the music to full blast to drown out the background noise, but with these Theres no need to as they doo all the work. The feature of covering the right earcup to enable to you speak to someone without sounding like a complete idiot, comes in really handy. The touch pad for volume, track skip, play and pause wasn’t working great when I first started using them, but wth time and usage this has improved drastically. I can only think that the leather pad might take a few days to wear in. They’re really comfortable to wear and I’ve not experienced and fatigue or sweating after hours of usage. Overall, really impressed by these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound and fantastic features

MDR-1000X 18/01/2018 by Silverrr Fox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been very pleased with the Headphones they are very user friendly. The touch operations are brilliant and one of the reasons I choose this model and are far better than my expectations. I would recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb sound quality

MDR-1000X 18/01/2018 by Uris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with the quality of this product. It comes with a neat travelling case. However I had trouble pairing these with more than one source and had to go online to a Sony Help Page to get the correct information. Instructions with the product need more detail, especially pairing, and despite the excellent product the instructions were poor.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disappointing

MDR1000X/B 18/01/2018 by Azaniah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound on these are excellent but the build quality is lacking. They have cracked and unnoticed that here are tons of complaints about other customers headphones cracking in the exact same place. I am seeking to get these replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Well engineered but of kit.

MDR-1000X 17/01/2018 by Akagoose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best in its class, cheaper but far more functional and easy to use over its rivals, better build quality. Just glad I made the choice

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

MDR-1000X 17/01/2018 by Gazzahotspur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great headphones, amazing sound. Easy to use and very comfortable on my ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise Cancelling - Never heard anything like it!

MDR-1000X 17/01/2018 by Rob L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are so many good things you can say about these head phones, but far and wide the truly outstanding feature is the noise cancelling. I can sit in my front room, connected to the TV via Bluetooth, washing machine on, going at full spin and I wont even know it's running, add to the that the actual sound quality, a very warm and rounded audio, I cannot recommend these headphones enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones - Noise Cancellation isn't

MDR-1000X 16/01/2018 by jlau (USA)

I love these headphones. The fit, feel, touch controls, they all feel premium and responsive. The bluetooth connection time snappy, the latency between play pause is minimal. They're impressive all around, except for the noise cancellation. For all the type of modes they have, this panel of options doesn't have one that gets rid of sound completely. In my opinion, this model is far behind what other reviews have stated. I am disappointed in this purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Exceptional!

MDR-1000X 14/01/2018 by JALC48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these 2 weeks ago and they exceed my expectations.The sound quality is phenomenal and the noise reduction is superb.All controls are well positioned and easy to operate.Worth every penny!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones but a bit pricey.

MDR-1000X 13/01/2018 by Philipus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good headphones; very comfortable to wear. The noise cancelling and is not as effective as my wife's Bose headphones, but I think the music sounds better with the Sonys.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent noise cancellation

MDR-1000X 12/01/2018 by JENAVAR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought less than a month and have been using regularly. All features work fine. Noise cancelLation is excellent. Touch controls are pretty good once you get used to them. Depending on the ear shape etc. For me they are not too comfortable. They are quit new will see in a month or so if the ear pads get softer, break them in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic sound

MDR-1000X 12/01/2018 by Nikje (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the headphones for a month now. I took my time researching the best headphones and am pleased I choose these. Set-up was easy and the sound is fantastic. I have slight hearing loss but even I can hear the details of the sounds which is amazing. The headphones use touch controls and I had to get used to it but it is so much better than having to use small buttons. Overall a great product made with excellent materials and comfortable to wear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Producr Design and Sound Quality

MDR-1000X 12/01/2018 by askew97 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Reviewed this product carefully as previous sony headphone to headband mounting failed. The 1000X mountings failed on both sides after 11 months usage. To Sony's credit this set has been repaired under warranty, first class service. Trust the construction materials have improved in strength. The sound quality and all featured contections and controls on the 1000x are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

"Stunning"

MDR-1000X 09/01/2018 by Farqy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a long review of headphones I bought 1000X, stunning noise cancellation, great sound quality (what you expect from Sony) very comfortable to wear for long periods. What more do you need.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Noise cancelling is outstanding

MDR-1000X 09/01/2018 by Mikebainesss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to own the Bose QC35 but these failed so I got a return and tried these out instead, noise cancelling is outstanding and I commute on a bus daily. Sound quality amazing and the cover to talk feature is amazing for quick attention. Would recommend to anyone passionate about music or who commutes a lot.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds great

MDR-1000X 09/01/2018 by Tazbert1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality fantastic, so easy to use, just great headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous headphones

MDR-1000X 08/01/2018 by Dee11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great noise cancelling. Cuts out a lot of news on commute. Great sound and design too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ahead Of The Game

MDR-1000X 06/01/2018 by Brooksby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound. Nice and comfortable. Easy to connect. Excellent all round headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound paired with brilliant technology

MDR1000X/B 06/01/2018 by cueball9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these to replace the Bose QC 35 II's I got for Christmas. The sound from these is awesome and the Bluetooth connection was fast and easy. The volume control is pure genius.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everthing works a treat!

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by tvs17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling is great and hand movements to increase or decrease sound etc is very useful

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, comfortable experience.

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by Swiss Garry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these for Christmas, after trying on multiple options in store (sorry dear for that!). I was happy I made the right choice then, and I’m even happier now. The noise cancelling is brilliant, it even blocks out 98% of the underground which is too noisy, and most of the time I have NC off because the isolation alone is perfectly fine in most situations. And the touch features on the ear piece, make the whole thing seemless, I’ve yet to see this on any other pairs. Great battery life too!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing so far

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by Pet_ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these a couple of weeks ago, and so far only used a handful of times, but they are absolutely amazing. The sound quality is very good as is the noise cancelling. Holding you hand on the right headphone to stop the noise canceling and boost the background noise so you can hear announcements etc is a great feature and on every used a lot on my commutes. The volume seems to dip every now and again, but this might be my phone, so the only reason I give it 4 rather than 5 stars, but doesn't reduce the listening experience and I'd still fully recommend. Especially as it still cancels the background noise. The battery life is good so far, and like that it adds the headphone battery life to the Bluetooth icon on my phone once connected

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight and comfortable

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by SmartMart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After checking out some reviews i decided not to buy Bose headphones. These Sony ones fit just right and they don't move when you move your head. I really like having the option of being hard wired or wireless and the blutooth connectivity is easy to set up. The carry case is nice for protection but i think i would have liked the cables a little longer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile Headphones

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by ChrisPops (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received these for Christmas so did not choose them but since using them I would have definitely chosen these. I have used them with my phone producing Hires music via Bluetooth and sitting down late at night watching TV listening to the Sound bar also through Bluetooth so as not to disturb the rest of the household. Noise cancelling works really well and the touch controls are really useful overall highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound Quality Awesome.

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by wes1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A Gift from my wife, Sound quality awesome, I'm getting it linked to my Phone, TV and GIGABOX via Bluetooth at the age of 64 its like a new world of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb! Better than Bose?

MDR-1000X 05/01/2018 by Sam95 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was bought these after selecting them for Christmas, and couldn’t be happier! The sound quality is incredible, with a fantastic range, solid bass and good mid tones. Noise cancelling is virtually perfect and the optimiser works well. The added features of ambient sound, are very helpful and allow for more functionality in a variety of environments. However the optimiser can occasionally make the noise cancelling worse and it is then a faf to switch them on and off again! The added features for both noise cancelling and song/ volume changes make these and excellent purchase. With them also being incredibly comfortable, I can hardly fault them. Would definitely recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good noise cancelling but unfortable

MDR-1000X 03/01/2018 by cdias (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the MDR-1000X for 2 weeks now. I used to own the base QC35, so a lot of my comparisons are based on the QC35. I read a few reviews which called into question the quality of the headset, but having used it for 2 weeks, I can say the headset is well built. The Good: Excellent noise cancelling and features like the tap to hear hear voice. The sound quality is on par with the QC35. Battery life is fantastic. I can get 3 to 4 days out of a single charge with about 4-5 hours of listening per day. The Bad: Uncomfortable for periods over 30 minutes. The padding is adequate, but the elliptical nature of the cups does dig into my ears. I am not sure if this will adjust oveer time. The headset does not connect to multiple devices like the QC35. You can only connect to one device at a time, which is a shame. The audio quality on calls is not very good. It is passable but nothing to write home about. Overall Cerdict: Decent headset with excelent noise cancelling. Good features, but a bit of a let down in terms of comfort compared to the QC35. The price is a lot less than the QC35, so I would recommend buying if budget is your main concern. These are great at noise cancelling and if you can ignore a couple of the issues like connection to multiple devices, it is a good investment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I am in love

MDR-1000X 03/01/2018 by luciarb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredibly comfortable, noise cancelling is incredible, sound quality is gorgeous, bluetooth range is really good. Setup was easy. I can't (and am not) taking these off. I also love the way you can pause, skip forward/back, and increase volume with gestures on the right hand side headphone. Would definitely recommend (and already have!).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome headphones

MDR-1000X 03/01/2018 by fasi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable, noise cancelling is brilliant and there is an ambient noise feature for outside if you don't want full noise cancelling. The touch gestures are good too meaning you don't have to get your phone/iPod out your pocket. A great set of headphones and awesome if you travel lots

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best headphones

MDR-1000X 31/12/2017 by Aled Tudur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Expensive but worth it. Touch sensor takes a lot of getting used too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good noise cancelling, terrible sound quality

MDR-1000X 30/12/2017 by varsakov (USA)

Bought this offline but the sound quality is terrible.. sounds way too bassey, and sound attenuation is really low.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent Noise cancelling and sound quality

MDR1000X/B 30/12/2017 by narayan1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I almost tried all the noise cancelling headphones(Bose QC35, JBL NC750, Beats Studio2) and finally I landed with SONY 1000X. It got blend of excellent noise cancelling capability with superior sound quality. this is great!! Down sides: I feel to bulky compared to the other headphones, and touch controls are too sensitive. Also the volume level is low when you connect using bluetooth. other then these too, I don't think it should under go any major design changes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for everyday

MDR1000X/B 30/12/2017 by mteseaeag (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones since Sept, and can't imagine my life without them now! I'm a computer science student and these headphones really help to completely block out my surroundings if I choose to use them in that mode. But being able to still hear my surroundings for when I'm out in public is great too! I have a pair of audio technica headphones and those sound great but after awhile with becomes slightly uncomfortable. These do not have that problem at all! I can wear them all day and only have some slight warming when wearing. They are made of great materials and can't recommend these enough!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

click sound occur

MDR-1000X 29/12/2017  (USA)

this is the second time. I have already exchanged this headphone once. When you connect it with Bluetooth, click sound occurs. Very nervous. I am worried about whether I should exchange again or just refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Headband cracked

MDR1000X/B 24/12/2017 by Keegan313 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Headband cracked like everyone else's defective set heard a rumor that Sony is replacing headsets that make number fall between 5xxxxx-and 5xxxxx and yes mine does fall between the rumord make number

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features, great sound

MDR-1000X 24/12/2017 by shrub (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for use on flights and train journeys. The sound is so good I've spent many hours listening music just for the pleasure of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features sound quality

MDR-1000X 23/12/2017 by Thio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with everything about this product. It however gets a little tiring using them for long hours

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise Cancelling and Mic not so great !!!

MDR-1000X 21/12/2017 by Partha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling in London Tubes are great... Also, while taking calls, my voice is superseded by background noise...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic Product

MDR-1000X 21/12/2017 by Kil4u2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing looks and design, fantastic sound quality and extremely comfortable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-1000X 20/12/2017 by SecJenn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this pair a few weeks ago and have loved them. Great number of features for those who don’t always want NC on. Comfortable and great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stunning sound

MDR-1000X 19/12/2017 by ChrissyCakey (United Kingdom)

Great pair of headphones. Have had them since Black Friday and have used them daily. After reading reviews about them cracking was a bit nervous but they seem made to a high standard

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awful product no power after light use

MDR-1000X 17/12/2017 by Jesus9814 (USA)

Ir does nota power only workshop sometimes detective product with Hugh Prince Tag don't buy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good Quality Noise Cancelling headphones

MDR-1000X 16/12/2017 by philoli (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy, that I bought these hedphnes. I didn't think, I would need Noisecancelling Headphones, until I had them. Living in a big City like London can be very noisy. This just gives you a very smooth commute. And even when flying you can hardly hear the engine. Very smart in cancelling noise, but keeping the voices around you at a good level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Product

MDR1000X/B 16/12/2017 by dydy392 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great device I love this is one of the best headphone, The serial number is under the letter L on the left side, that's the only thing I couldn't find

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sound - great feature

MDR-1000X 16/12/2017 by Yadgi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased after checking reviews and can say I'm very happy with the sound and noise reduction performance - competes with the best and gives more features especially the "hold hand over right speaker" to mute the track and close off the noise reduction which allows you to hear outside content i.e someone wishing to talk to you, train/flight announcements etc. Using the touch sensitive surface of the right ear cup to adjust track volume or track select is not that easy as you can find yourself inadvertently changing track when adjusting the volume. Takes a bit of getting use to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

super

MDR1000X/B 16/12/2017 by chris123456789 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with my purchase.... this is the best so far

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

MDR-1000X 15/12/2017 by sparkind (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for a recent trans-Atlantic flight, and they were fantastic! Excellent noise cancelling, great sound, a really useful features. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Headphones

MDR-1000X 14/12/2017 by Whytegir7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones couple of weeks and so far they have lived up to what I expect from a Sony product. Only time will tell but for now I'm so blown away with these headphones as they were a replacement for a pair that I had lost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0