Skip to Content
17

2.7 based on 17 customer reviews

4
3
0
4
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

great sound until...................

MDR-RF995RK 19/10/2017 by mo1971 (USA)

if it wasn't for this one problem, i would give these speakers a 5, but.............. the problem is when i am using them, the sound is great, everything is fine and then i get blasted with static and the headphones go dead. i have yet to figure out why the static occurs, but when it does my ears get blasted with static and the speakers go dead. not happy. would love to hear from customer support regarding this issue. if i could get rid of the static blast i would be very happy! thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

17 Customer Reviews

0

Great Product

MDRRF995RK 08/11/2017 by Nalu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift from my son to replace my previous Sony MDRRF970R which is out of production now. This product is much better.Great sound quality, snug fit, and better charging system. Old one was a struggle to make contact.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good experience

MDRRF995RK 06/11/2017 by Papa1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones replace a very similar set of Sony headphones. my experience with them led me to sray with Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

lose sound

MDR-RF995RK 28/10/2017 by maryjoe (USA)

when I plug headphones in lose TV speaker audio. wanted to use with someone that has bad hearing and myself hear regular TV speaker

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HEADPHONES

MDR-RF995RK 27/10/2017 by BULL DOG (USA)

I PURCHASED THESE TO REPLACE A OLD PAIR OF SONY HEADPHONES.THE OLDER ONES ARE MUCH BETTER.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

great sound until...................

MDR-RF995RK 19/10/2017 by mo1971 (USA)

if it wasn't for this one problem, i would give these speakers a 5, but.............. the problem is when i am using them, the sound is great, everything is fine and then i get blasted with static and the headphones go dead. i have yet to figure out why the static occurs, but when it does my ears get blasted with static and the speakers go dead. not happy. would love to hear from customer support regarding this issue. if i could get rid of the static blast i would be very happy! thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Product

MDRRF995RK 15/10/2017 by d424 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My hearing isn't what it used to be. The rest of my household gets blasted my TV volume. I have not sacrificed sound quality with these headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great with hearing aids

MDRRF995RK 03/10/2017 by edwardo2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The MDR-RF995RK headset fits better on my ears than my earlier model. Volume is better over the older Sony MDR headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Garbage, do not buy.

MDR-RF995RK 21/09/2017 by Blister762 (USA)

Had these less than 2 days and has been the worst Sony product I've ever purchased in decades. Proprietary battery that wouldn't charge past 1.35 volts and will only last 3 hours at that charge. Will run on AAA's but even using Ni-Mh cells it won't recharge them so after a several hours I had to swap them out and recharge them on an external charger. Noisy. Popping, hissing and crackling even when no audio signal. Put the AC adapter on a filter and it still was noisy. I bought these to replace my old Auvio wireless that cost half as much but were twice, no ten times the quality. Returning them not exchanging them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Waste of money!!!!!

MDR-RF995RK 24/08/2017 by bsalm1277 (USA)

I don't know how Sony puts their name on these. I wish there were other options out there. The charge light comes on as it is supposed to and stays on as long as it is supposed to, but the battery will not charge. I even bought new batteries, same exact specs as the factory specs, same thing, charge light comes on, stays on, but the battery won't charge. Now I am reduced to using replaceable batteries on these things which is annoying. To make things worse, the sound and reception is terrible. I am literally 5 feet from the transmitter and it is crackly and bad sounding. I couldn't be more disappointed. I wish I had kept my receipt!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

No other model choices!

MDR-RF995RK 18/08/2017 by 383 D (USA)

I bought this a few days ago and the left ear adjustment arm has loosened and will not stay in place. I have also experienced the and "of and on again" sound issue with these headsets. This one is going back for a replacement. If the replacement does the same thing, I will NOT be buying three additional units for my TV sets. I will update this at a later date...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good buy

MDRRF995RK 15/08/2017 by Meatloaf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the product very much. I like the features Sony provides.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Requires higher audio output than my TV provides

MDR-RF995RK 10/08/2017 by BILLinAZ (USA)

Purchased these to use with one of the household's 2015 major brand TVs that has the proper RCA audio outputs. The output is at a fixed (line) level which is apparently not strong enough to be recognize by this headphones' transmitter. I cannot increase the level. Works fine with a similarly connected radio, but not the TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not very impressed

MDR-RF995RK 10/08/2017 by Tech1230 (Canada)

Bought these for my elderly mother to use while watching tv, testing them in my house before she gets them. Sound totally cuts out in the next room only 20 ft away. These will not work at 150 ft even in line of sight.Also the sound cuts in and out in the same room only 10 -15 ft away.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2017

We appreciate your input, Tech1230. Make sure the units are away from many steel file cabinets, electrical appliances capable of
generating electromagnetic fields or on a metal instrument. These may reduce the reception range or cause interference. For more details, please visit this page: https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4691893111.pdf. We apologize for any inconvenience, Regards, Vincent

0

poor quality

MDRRF995RK 19/07/2017 by dksully (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I obtained this product with my credit card points so I am unable to return it. The reception was never very good, it would cut out in the next room. After only 4 months it does not hold a charge any more, it will only last about 5 minutes and only charges for about 30 seconds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

0

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks

MDR-RF995RK 07/07/2017 by hcook (USA)

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks. They worked fine and liked the product, but had to be replaced as they were not working.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Dissapointed

MDRRF995RK 29/06/2017 by Calin2017 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it few weeks ago, not impressed. bad reception, lot of static, only works fine in front of the receiver. Cut off often becoming annoying, try all the three channels on back of the receiver, changed locations, bought a new cable, quality of sound poor.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/06/2017

Hi Calin2017, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. You can troubleshoot the issue by following the guidelines here: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39681. -Erin