Skip to Content
44

4.7 based on 44 customer reviews

36
5
1
0
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Life changing headphones

WH-1000XM2 09/10/2017 by itsJay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was on the market for some new over ear headphones for commuting and travelling. I hadn't decided between the Bose QC 35 (which are now cheaper due to the new headphones that have come out), the Bose QC 35 II (with the addition of google talk) or the Sony - 1000XM2. I bought both pairs of the Bose and returned them both - purchased the Sonys and i'm so glad I did! These headphones are amazing - fantastic sound quality, great solid build and some of the best features around! The battery I only have to charge about once a week with full use which is mind blowing. The dynamic noise cancellation and sound is just incredible. The only weak point i feel is some of the other headphones out there are lighter and slightly more comfortable. That being said i'd trade off the marginally better comfort for the features in the Sony's any day! Definitely the best wireless bluetooth noise cancellation headphones on the market - I'm excited to put these on every time!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Refusing to address Headband issue

WH-1000XM2 27/09/2017 by WantingAnswers (USA)

Headbands on the previous model had a known defect that caused cracking. Sony has not responded to say whether they fixed the issue on the new model or not.

Design

Poor

34

16

44 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing sound

WH-1000XM2 16/11/2017 by Tom 91 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones a month ago. I travel every week on a plane and these have been a godsend. I compared them the the bose qc35s, senhheissers et al and found them to be superior in almost every way. I had previously been an on ear headphone person and was initialy put off by the on ear size. I found that with the smart folding up up and storage option they were not as cumbersome as i had first thought. An excellent buy that i would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Stunning sound over BT

WH-1000XM2 14/11/2017 by sulandus (USA)

Make sure you chose the Sound Quality Mode over Stable BT Connection in the Connect app settings and you will be blown away with clarity of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

the earphone cracked after a few days

WH-1000XM2 14/11/2017 by mbwana (USA)

the earphones cracked after light to moderate use on the sides please sony fix this problem

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great features

WH-1000XM2 14/11/2017 by Dins (USA)

Total amazing... outstanding... good looking& i love it...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality product, works as described!

WH-1000XM2 13/11/2017 by RagB (United Kingdom)

Been using the headphones a few weeks now and I really would have to try hard to fault them. They're comfortable (although do get a bit warm behind the ears after long periods), the noise cancellation is excellent, and they look great with high tech features like the touch panel on the side. Couldn't wait to try them on a plane and so I did on a recent flight - and they were incredible! The ANC worked perfectly as advertised - the sound of the plane was deafening every time I took them off so well worth the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, great nc

WH-1000XM2 12/11/2017 by Magic Man (United Kingdom)

Love these, they do a fantastic job of filtering out noise. Sound great too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great If not best headphone

WH-1000XM2 12/11/2017 by BigWen (USA)

These are the best Noise Canceling headphones in the market today hands down. I have thoroughly reviewed these headphones with the exclusion of taking them on a plane to date and are incredible product. I highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and noise cancelling

WH-1000XM2 11/11/2017 by ronhogwarts (United Kingdom)

I got this at a good price and it's a great bit of kit, noise cancelling works spookily well, and the ambient mode is very useful to quickly listen to them. The only problem is that it's less comfortable than the Bose offerings, but other than that it is probably the best set of bluetooth ANC headphones I've owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great design

WH-1000XM2 11/11/2017 by Robert5 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones a month ago and am wowed by the overall design and features great japanese quality and technology best headphones I have ever had would definitely recommend to purchase the Sony WH-1000XM2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM2 11/11/2017 by IvoVM (United Kingdom)

Great sound and noise cancelling. They feel comfortable and keep my ears warm but may be too hot to wear on a summer day

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very comfortable

WH-1000XM2 09/11/2017 by Sumo 45 (United Kingdom)

A very comfortable pair of headphones, sound quality is very good, not too loud either. Controls are all touch without buttons, needs a little getting used to.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect All-Rounder

WH-1000XM2 05/11/2017 by foreverstorm (USA)

What's good: Fantastic sound Fantastic noise-cancelling Looks sleek and professional Sturdy build quality The best noise cancelling cans you can get at the moment What could be improved: A quiet hum in the right ear-cup on my device when noise cancelling is enabled and Bluetooth is on, only noticeable when in a quiet environment anyway and you are listening to an audio-book (pauses in the sound) Being able to simultaneously pair multiple devices and switch between them with another button would make switching between devices quicker Being able to turn the touch interface on or off; showing other people the headphone is a nightmare, they'll invariably start pausing/skipping the music by holding the earcup Software ambiance modes are rather awful sounding; better sounding reverb effects would make getting used to the headphones noise-cancelling easier as the silence feels like pressure on the ears for the first few days for some people

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Loving the touch features volume cut out etc.

WH-1000XM2 05/11/2017 by Sirbreena (United Kingdom)

I bought this in the airport about a month ago for a long haul flight. What I liked first of all was the comfort and suppleness of the earpiece. However I was totally immensed in the sheer quality of in ear and the out ear sounds that my flight which I usually dread was a wonderful experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

WOW !!!

WH-1000XM2 04/11/2017 by Jimbo345 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones on my way out of the country for a 5 hour plane trip, what a great choice, noise cancelling is stunning and the sound is fantastic. Please take advantage of the mobile phone app which is available on all platforms it does make the setup and use very simple.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very, very good

WH-1000XM2 30/10/2017 by mikisapo (United Kingdom)

These do what they are meant to - great sound quality and effective noise cancelling. I like the options to allow voice only, all ambient or none. Nice touch to turn cancelling off for a moment with hand over right earphine. Couple of ‘realisms’ : there is a limit to the volume of noise that can be blocked out; on voice allow, it is opening a frequency range - while the clarity of voices is surprisingly good, it is allowing other noises of same frequency too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Best headphones

WH-1000XM2 27/10/2017 by Skdes (USA)

these are the best headphones I've ever had, amazing quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Side controls are brilliant

WH-1000XM2 27/10/2017 by Slowflame (United Kingdom)

Have had these not very long and can say I am impressed, I was suffering from headaches when a friend of mine told me to put my quality to 320 instead of 90, this solved the problem and now enjoy these headphones hours at a time. Couldn’t recommend more and while walking through the airport I still feel as though I am home in my living room still.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

They sound so good!

WH-1000XM2 25/10/2017 by musiclistenerfromslc (USA)

The quality of these headphones is indescribably good. The noise canceling works so well I take my headphones and get overwhelmed with all the background noise I didn't realize was there. My only complaint is I wish they had USB-C Charging and USB-C audio passthrough for USB-C phones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Just the best noise cancelling headphones ever had

WH-1000XM2 24/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

These are the best noise cancelling headphones ever purchased and the automatic changing from walking to transport etc enhances an already great sound experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Incredible clarity

WH-1000XM2 23/10/2017 by anonymous568853 (United Kingdom)

Bought these over a month ago and i cant take them off - these headphones are just incredible.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Unbelievable

WH-1000XM2 21/10/2017 by Mukuro (Canada)

Everything is perfect. The best noise cancellation headphone I have ever used.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Just arrived

WH-1000XM2 19/10/2017 by Kwash19 (USA)

I'm thrilled to have my 1000x. Everything seemed fine but I feel like there is a major amount of leakage when up at higher levels. Is that normal? I'm concerned that when I'm on a plane or train will be a major distraction. Is this something that can be corrected? Im contemplating returning them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Great headphones

WH-1000XM2 18/10/2017 by Phil1953 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic sound and noise cancelling is really effective. Only negative really is the instructions- very simple and basic included but there is a web based interactive manual which is ok up to a point. Problem is I get lost on the noise cancelling side- instructions seem to assume a level of understanding/ tech knowledge and I just don’t get it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Awesome !!!

WH-1000XM2 17/10/2017 by Francescb (United Kingdom)

Pretty comfortable, high qaulity sound and an amazing noise cancelling system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

As good as it gets

WH-1000XM2 17/10/2017 by PJ54 (United Kingdom)

The best active noise cancelling headphones I have yet experienced. The sound re-production is also very good indeed, although maybe not on parr with my Oppo PM3 I use at home, at least for my ears. But then that is perhaps an unfair comparison as the Oppo's are not noise cancelling as well. Subjectively, the Sony's are for my largish head more comfortable than the Bose 35s. One small issue - as with the majority of such headphones, the beautifully soft ear pads are not leather and can get hot and sweaty. However, bottom line - an excellent set that I recommend very highly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great sound, comfortable and stylish

WH-1000XM2 16/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I use these mainly on the train and they are excellent. The noise reduction function performs really well; just a quick push on the calibration button and the sound is optimised for the journey. Most importantly the sound quality is great; good definition and balanced whether it is for music or speech. Battery life is very good; I have used it on two five hour and two hour and three quarter journeys so far and there is plenty of charge remaining. These headphones are comfortable to wear and easy to fold away into the supplied case. They are not cheap to buy, prior to this I had a noise isolating pair costing a tenth of the price which performed adequately but this is a premium product and worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great headphones, compared to competitors!

WH-1000XM2 15/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

Really good headphones but lacks two things: 1) easier way to switch in between paired devices. 2) bluetooth 5.0. Apart from that, it is completely awesome and well worth the investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

6

0

very good headphones

WH-1000XM2 11/10/2017 by hifi lover (USA)

The headphones are very good. Powerful low bass and enough push for louder music. Lot's of possibilities with the Bluetooth smartphone app. To be recommended !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Life changing headphones

WH-1000XM2 09/10/2017 by itsJay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was on the market for some new over ear headphones for commuting and travelling. I hadn't decided between the Bose QC 35 (which are now cheaper due to the new headphones that have come out), the Bose QC 35 II (with the addition of google talk) or the Sony - 1000XM2. I bought both pairs of the Bose and returned them both - purchased the Sonys and i'm so glad I did! These headphones are amazing - fantastic sound quality, great solid build and some of the best features around! The battery I only have to charge about once a week with full use which is mind blowing. The dynamic noise cancellation and sound is just incredible. The only weak point i feel is some of the other headphones out there are lighter and slightly more comfortable. That being said i'd trade off the marginally better comfort for the features in the Sony's any day! Definitely the best wireless bluetooth noise cancellation headphones on the market - I'm excited to put these on every time!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Best bluetooth sound quality.

WH-1000XM2 06/10/2017 by elorest (USA)

I bought these a month ago and love them. First BT headphones where I can't tell the difference between wired and bluetooth even with my flac collection. Really wish they charged via usb-c though, like all current sony phones. I hate having to keep a micro usb cable layout around just to charge my headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

+Great sound --terrible 5 minute auto off

WH-1000XM2 06/10/2017 by Adam_DE (USA)

Negatives: --The headphones automatically turn off after 5 minutes when not connected via Bluetooth or audio jack. This is unacceptable for such an expensive product. One cannot use them as a standalone noise cancelling solution (e.g. on an aeroplane, where this product is marketed strongly). This should be customisable via the App but isn't. (60 minutes for a 30 hour battery life would be reasonable) . --DSEE HX produces worse sound quality Neutral: Mild hissing apparent when noise cancelling is activated but easy to get used to. Sound position control limited. Positives: +The active-noise cancelling is strong (combined with music works best) +Relatively good ambient-noise reduction when off. +Easy to use and intuitive +Great sound quality +Can connect to 2 different devices simultaneously +Equaliser options

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

Excellent set of wireless headphones.

WH-1000XM2 02/10/2017 by Dodge0266 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality is exceptional and I have not heard another set of wireless headphones with the same noise cancelling attributes or audio quality as these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

8

0

Impressed?!

WH-1000XM2 02/10/2017 by Iamlegend79 (USA)

I can understand why people having bose qc35 switching to these. The sound quality is much better. All sound ranges gives you a clearer sound. The ANC FEATURES.... LOVE Them. YES, THE answer is yes. They ANC workS better than Bose Qc35. I ride the subway daily in stockholm with 1/3 of max volume I hear NOTHING from the surrounding sounds. The downsides were and are, I had to reboot my phone to get them to connect with the Sony headphone app. It blows you need to re-pair them every time you wish to change device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

Switched from Bose to Sony!

WH-1000XM2 01/10/2017 by fw10ring (USA)

I travel a lot and have been using Bose QC25 headphones, which are excellent, but I wanted to move to a wireless headphone. I fully expected that I would buy the QC35 from Bose. After trying several pairs from different brands, I had to give it to Sony for creating a superb set of wireless noise canceling headphones. The noise canceling is on par Bose, but the sound quality was a bit better and the feature set and battery life was much better than Bose. I'm very happy with my purchase and strongly recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Loved these cans

WH-1000XM2 30/09/2017  (USA)

They ... are ... unbelievable!!! Went through a few of highest end noise cancelling cans to replace my worn 10 yo Bose (which I thought were quite decent). Did’t want to go on that “Bose track” Again. Tried Momentum 2, B&O H8 and H9’s for some days in a real life SAS flights around Norway. But on the trip OSL-TOS dropped by an electronics store at Gardermoen airport (which I forcefully NOT going to usually due to risks of impulse shopping). And they had everything in stock, and they were Elkjøp which meant no risk of getting stuck with this purchase for life (returnable nationwide). So they pointed at the newest Sonys which I found ugly, considering I wore B&O’s and tried Momentums, too. Oh, I felt at last rested on the 2 hour plane hearing not-a-single-sound, plus quite an audiophile musical enjoyment, plus high-techy-ish guesture controls on the right can (B&O-ish). And equalizer, and adjustable ambient noise they can let in as one wishes. Clear bass (also adjustable). And so on and so fortg... Fall in love. Still feel these are absolutely worth 3999 kr as these surpass in noise cancelling and controls/acoustic adjustability Bose QC by million on years of evolution. Warmly advised. Pick this fall’s model - 1000xm2 (something). Model denomination on the link is wrong (Sony’s internet techs aren’t as good as their sound gurus).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Really good!

WH-1000XM2 27/09/2017 by Mangs (USA)

Very comfortable, good sound and excellent noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

0

Refusing to address Headband issue

WH-1000XM2 27/09/2017 by WantingAnswers (USA)

Headbands on the previous model had a known defect that caused cracking. Sony has not responded to say whether they fixed the issue on the new model or not.

Design

Poor

34

16

0

Great sound and features

WH-1000XM2 25/09/2017 by Jackattacx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the sound quality, great highs, mids and good bass but unbelievable sub bass. Full of features that are very useful too. Also they're very comfy for over ear headphones, I highly recommend the 1000XM2's (especially if you have an LDAC compatible device like I do.)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

4

0

Better than Bose QC35 and Beats Studio 3

WH-1000XM2 20/09/2017 by squid (USA)

These noise-cancelling headphones are outstanding. The driver is impeccable. Noise-cancelling with ambient sound is unbeatable with inevitable bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

1st review ever, why? They deserve it.

WH-1000XM2 20/09/2017 by Little Alex (Canada)

I have been looking for a while now,and these are everything that I have been hoping for. And more!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Wow

WH-1000XM2 18/09/2017 by the_dude (USA)

Best noise cancellation I've experienced, hands down... decently comfortable, though Sony's less expensive cans are better for extended use :-(

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Noise canceling better than bose

WH-1000XM2 11/09/2017 by Moral (USA)

Love to use Sony product we trust in you be the number one always in sound since Walkman and present

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Great sound and features

WH-1000XM2 06/09/2017 by Lano (USA)

Hello this is very very good. Great noise cancelling. Best quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Epic

WH-1000XM2 01/09/2017  (USA)

Awesome Sony for life Salute to Sony just one word awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

12