Skip to Content
5

2.8 based on 5 customer reviews

1
0
2
1
1

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

DSXMS60 16/06/2012 by manzer74 (USA)

i have owned this unit for over a year now. I have had absolutely no problems with it. No heat issues like others have mentioned. Recently paired it with the sony marine amplifier and sub.... great combination. i receive constant comments on the quality and clarity of the system

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

DSX-MS60

DSXMS60 28/05/2012 by Hypr (USA)

I love the functionality of this unit and the performance. The main reason I bought the Sony DSX-MS60 was the iPod function and the fact that the unit holds the iPod inside and the head unit controls the iPod however after a short time of playing even a fully charged iPod the iPod shuts down from overheating and will not function again without being re-charged again. ThIs makes this feature useless and significantly lowers the advantage of owning this unit.

15

0

5 Customer Reviews

0

Great Marine Stereo

DSXMS60 19/05/2014 by jkilman (USA)

I purchased this February 2013 and had it installed into my boat on April 18th 2013. It worked flawlessly from April to September when we put the boat up for the season. I love the fact that you can use an ipod in this unit. I took the boat out of storage this April and had some issues with the unit. I was told to clean the contacts and reset the unit. I did both and found that the face plate when exposed to sunlight malfunctions. I was told by Sony that f I would return the unit they would repair or replace within 10 working days. We have a 6 month boating season and to be without a radio would be like fishing without a rod. I decided to purchase another radio and return the defective unit at my leisure. No need for an extended warranty now because I will have 2 units. I'm guaranteed to have at least 2 boating season covered. I should have gone with another manufactures unit but I like the features and would need to purchase another wiring harness for $100.00. This way I can pop one out and another in ............ so I had to spend another $200.00 for insurance and ensure I have tunes for the season. Great Unit ,Great Features, Great Sound unfortunately these seem to have a short life. We'll see if the new one exhibits the same flaws.

0

0

0

Over heating

DSXMS60 30/11/2012 by McSHU (USA)

I purchased this product in May of this year and used it throughout the 2012 boating season.This unit would constantly overheat my IPhone and my phone would shut down finally we stop using the internal connection and we started using the AUX port. By using the AUX port you lose the features that this head unit is supposed to have when you buy it. If the unit would not overheat it would be pretty cool.

10

0

0

DSXMS60 16/06/2012 by manzer74 (USA)

i have owned this unit for over a year now. I have had absolutely no problems with it. No heat issues like others have mentioned. Recently paired it with the sony marine amplifier and sub.... great combination. i receive constant comments on the quality and clarity of the system

4

0

0

DSX-MS60

DSXMS60 28/05/2012 by Hypr (USA)

I love the functionality of this unit and the performance. The main reason I bought the Sony DSX-MS60 was the iPod function and the fact that the unit holds the iPod inside and the head unit controls the iPod however after a short time of playing even a fully charged iPod the iPod shuts down from overheating and will not function again without being re-charged again. ThIs makes this feature useless and significantly lowers the advantage of owning this unit.

15

0

0

Good idea that just misses the mark

DSXMS60 26/07/2011 by Saylor (USA)

I really like the functionality and the way that the Ipod fit inside of the stereo is really nice, but after about 45 mins to a hour my iPhone or iTouch goes into over heat mode and shuts down. I have tried several different configurations, airplane mode on, back light on lowest setting, fully charged prior to hooking up, leaving the door for the glovebox open to add some cooling, leaving the face of the stereo open, ETC... If you have good airflow behind the stereo then you might be ok, but for me where my stereo is in the glovebox and sealed behind in a air and water tight area it is a big concern. I hope that this stereo doesnt ruin my iPhone!!!

54

4