Skip to Content
22

4.0 based on 22 customer reviews

11
5
1
4
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very Satisfied despite minor quirks

XAVAX100 18/02/2017 by rpscott02 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and have been really satisfied. As a iphone and anrdoid user it fits my needs perfectly. Installation was easy an the manual was very useful. Switches between android auto to sony interface to apple carplay seamlessly. There are a couple bugs i think (hope) Sony can address with a firmware update. There's no way to manage multiple bluetooth devices. In some radios you're able to prioritize which device you want to connect first...would be very useful for a radio designed to handle multiple devices. Would also be nice to fit all the icons on the home screen on one page rather than having to swipe to get to the settings icon. There's plenty of room to work with. Sometimes the bluetooth doesnt connect right away but give it a minute and it eventually will. The interface for making calls outside of android auto/carplay is really slow. Takes forever to access my contact list. The quirks are minor compared to all the features I love. Great product esp at this price point

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Flawed, android auto is the only good bit

XAV-AX100 29/05/2017 by MarkG1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fitted this last night, mixed initial impressions. Could have so easily been great, but ended up disappointing. Pros Screen very clear, touchscreen works well Android Auto is superb, really very very slick, lots of app support (Google Music, Spotify, Google Maps and more) Minimalist design which i like Great sound quality Very good video and audio format support Cons Startup nag screen (this is a huge issue for me) Only 1 USB port (and no fast charge from it) No support for playlists (m3u, pls) Embarrassingly bad USB playback modes (shuffle whole device, repeat track, that's it) Slow to boot up 1990's file system support (FAT12!! FAT16, FAT32, that's it, no EXT4, no exFAT, no NTFS). Windows 10 can't even format a large USB disk in these ancient formats anymore, they are so old. No Google Now/Siri from PTT button when connected via Bluetooth (totally possible, my old Pioneer unit worked fine, this one says not possible!!)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

8

6

23 Customer Reviews

0

Annoying warning message!

XAV-AX100 20/11/2017 by asturian (Canada)

This head unit is great. My only complaint is the warning message that there's no way to disable it. Every time the car goes off and starts again, you have to acknowledge the warning message. It'll be nice to get a firmware upgrade that disables this or at least gives the option to remove it through the settings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Love Carplay

XAVAX100 19/10/2017 by Mom of Teenage Driver (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my daughter's 14 year old car so it could have a back up camera and it can hook up to my daughter's iPhone thru Carplay. The car is in great shape and now with back up camera and Carplay capability- it is like a new car. You can ask Siri to get directions for you, your phone GPS shows up on the 6.4" receiver, you can don't have to touch any buttons - just talk to Siri. A great receiver if you have an iPhone - will likely get one for my husband's car for xmas

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Black screen with sony xav-100 and samsung s7.

XAV-AX100 14/10/2017  (USA)

Black screen with sony xav-100 and samsung s7. I have used several different cables with same resuly. The only cable that seems to be working is 1 ft aukey cable but that also sometimes go to black screen after extended usage. On the same unit carplay works fine. Google seems to suggest that it is due to low memory on sony head unit. Already updated the firmware to latest version 1.02.06 and android version is 7.0.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Media Receiver Great

XAVAX100 11/10/2017 by Spokane Happy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, lots of features, easy to use and does everything I was told by salesman

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glitches and overheats

XAVAX100 24/09/2017 by LongdriverCO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one and it was terrible. I do a lot of driving and using maps, but that combination made it too hot and then then the touch screen wouldn't respond. It's no good. I exchanged it for a pioneer and it is so much better!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Unit

XAV-AX100 15/09/2017 by Rigoberto (USA)

I like the simplicity, the strong sound and easy installation, I would recommend it a 100%

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple. Clean. Intuitive

XAVAX100 12/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Clean and simple design that doesn't disrupt the factory dash. Intuitive interface that integrates with Android Auto seamlessly. DSO and EQ feature really makes the factory system sounds noticeably better. Lastly, incredible value with Sony quality. Can't be beat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice!

XAV-AX100 10/09/2017 by Andy470 (USA)

I've had this head unit for 3 months and it works great. The apple car play works without any major issues. I would definitely recommend buying this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can't get any audio only on Bluetooth calls

XAV-AX100 09/09/2017 by sdotjoseph (USA)

Everything works perfectly-ish with the exception of the bluetooth hands free calling, music over BT works fine. Folks can hear me just fine, but i don't hear anything from them. I've made sure that all appropriate properties are enabled(setting BT connection up for phone and media) and that the volume and all volume boosters are maxed. Other than that, the system works okay, I guess.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can we please have a head unit with a built-in mic

XAV-AX100 27/08/2017 by Nick42 (USA)

The only thing holding me back is that I have to clip this plastic mic to my visor. Can we please have a head unit with a built in mic? Audio will be good enough.

Design

Fair

0

3

0

Great Jeep Radio

XAV-AX100 23/08/2017 by JtCe (USA)

Bought this for my 2007 Wrangler Unlimited and it provides all the upgrades I needed: Bluetooth, Camera Connection, Android Auto and great sound. There are a few bugs; most noticeable is the radio's inability to maintain time. This might be due to a wiring issue on my end but it is not a show stopper with all the other goodies. Over all it looks great and sounds great. Volume nob is nice, but a little small.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Missed opportunities

XAV-AX100 20/08/2017 by SadNCA (USA)

Why in 2017 does this not have the option for Sirius XM support and 4+ volt preouts? This is the only non-shiny head unit out right now and it doesn't even have good features. Such a waste. Also stop offering every head unit in shiny plastic. Some of us like the matte finish!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great unit, finally

XAVAX100 18/08/2017 by TechDrJohn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The XAV-AX100 is a great head unit. I said "finally" because the original device I received was DOA! Love the UI and the simplicity of use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony head unit

XAV-AX100 30/07/2017 by Tony2pp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works ok but won't connect to android auto. Have tried everything to get it to work!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Awesome product! BUT....

XAVAX100 02/07/2017 by Bigb350 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They radio works great and absolutely love it but when I went to register it I couldn't find any support to find the serial number. I had to register without put it in. I had already installed the radio but would assume the serial number would be on the box somewhere. I think I found where it should be but it is unmarked. Better support on that and it would be a perfect experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Product

XAVAX100 23/06/2017 by thisnameistaken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

-great EQ features and considerations for getting the most out of the sound -love the volume knob - THANK YOU -NEEDS AN SD card SLOT AND/OR FRONT-FACING USB -lawyer disclaimer screen on EVERY startup is ridiculous. Thanks america. -the screen has a different feel/look than what you're used to on a premium smart phone. that said, the price point and function are both great so no complaints.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

75% there

XAV-AX100 29/05/2017 by Gloukus (USA)

Radio works well most of the time. Sometimes looses connection with phone and if an iPhone alarm goes off, the unit will need a hard reset. startup warning/ agreement screen is incredibly Ann

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Flawed, android auto is the only good bit

XAV-AX100 29/05/2017 by MarkG1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fitted this last night, mixed initial impressions. Could have so easily been great, but ended up disappointing. Pros Screen very clear, touchscreen works well Android Auto is superb, really very very slick, lots of app support (Google Music, Spotify, Google Maps and more) Minimalist design which i like Great sound quality Very good video and audio format support Cons Startup nag screen (this is a huge issue for me) Only 1 USB port (and no fast charge from it) No support for playlists (m3u, pls) Embarrassingly bad USB playback modes (shuffle whole device, repeat track, that's it) Slow to boot up 1990's file system support (FAT12!! FAT16, FAT32, that's it, no EXT4, no exFAT, no NTFS). Windows 10 can't even format a large USB disk in these ancient formats anymore, they are so old. No Google Now/Siri from PTT button when connected via Bluetooth (totally possible, my old Pioneer unit worked fine, this one says not possible!!)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

8

6

0

Great integration with your mobile

XAV-AX100 24/04/2017 by toga01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a best car media receiver if you are looking for integration with your mobile Fantastic ratio price - quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

2

0

Very responsive divice

XAVAX100 04/04/2017 by ffej (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love how quickly it functions with no delay even when searching music on a device. The screen is very responsive but it a little washed out. The settings menu is very minimal could use a few more options to customized the look like the clock or the colors of the buttons. It is missing a aux but that doesn't really matter to me. Sound quality is very good and it has both apple car play and android auto. The only real negative is that my ipod nano is not usb compatible with the device. Ways to improve the device would be to add a better screen and add some customizing options layout, colors, key colors and full usb compatibility with ipod devices like the nano. Overall this is offers the best value for you money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome CarPlay receiver

XAVAX100 19/03/2017 by jdmac29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simple hookup and works great with my iPhone. Love the bluetooth and now I have a microphone in my truck so I don't have to touch my phone while driving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Very Satisfied despite minor quirks

XAVAX100 18/02/2017 by rpscott02 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and have been really satisfied. As a iphone and anrdoid user it fits my needs perfectly. Installation was easy an the manual was very useful. Switches between android auto to sony interface to apple carplay seamlessly. There are a couple bugs i think (hope) Sony can address with a firmware update. There's no way to manage multiple bluetooth devices. In some radios you're able to prioritize which device you want to connect first...would be very useful for a radio designed to handle multiple devices. Would also be nice to fit all the icons on the home screen on one page rather than having to swipe to get to the settings icon. There's plenty of room to work with. Sometimes the bluetooth doesnt connect right away but give it a minute and it eventually will. The interface for making calls outside of android auto/carplay is really slow. Takes forever to access my contact list. The quirks are minor compared to all the features I love. Great product esp at this price point

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

EXCELLENT RADIO GREAT FEATURES SOUNDS AWESOME !

XAVAX100 21/01/2017 by DKRIPPA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS RADIO EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS EXCELLENT SOUND GREAT FEATURES ANDROID AUTO IS GREAT .THIS RADIO SHOULD HAVE A CD PLAYER THOUGH BUT IT IS STILL A GREAT RADIO !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

9