33

4.1 based on 33 customer reviews

19
5
3
5
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very Satisfied despite minor quirks

XAVAX100 18/02/2017 by rpscott02 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and have been really satisfied. As a iphone and anrdoid user it fits my needs perfectly. Installation was easy an the manual was very useful. Switches between android auto to sony interface to apple carplay seamlessly. There are a couple bugs i think (hope) Sony can address with a firmware update. There's no way to manage multiple bluetooth devices. In some radios you're able to prioritize which device you want to connect first...would be very useful for a radio designed to handle multiple devices. Would also be nice to fit all the icons on the home screen on one page rather than having to swipe to get to the settings icon. There's plenty of room to work with. Sometimes the bluetooth doesnt connect right away but give it a minute and it eventually will. The interface for making calls outside of android auto/carplay is really slow. Takes forever to access my contact list. The quirks are minor compared to all the features I love. Great product esp at this price point

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good sound, terrible camera boot time

XAV-AX100 15/01/2018 by Singtall (USA)

I bought this specifically for the reason of using a reverse camera. By the time this stereo boots up I'm already down the street. it doesn't automatically go to camera either which is yet another inconvenience. On the good side it does sound really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

33 Customer Reviews

0

Love having Spotify as my car stereo

XAV-AX100 24/01/2018 by AAAndy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So I bought this as an Xmas present to myself with the help of my family and I was really excited to update my 10 year old car with some new tech. I had already upgraded the front speakers and I had been using an aftermarket mini jack input to my stereo but the sound quality was never right. As expected the Sony unit is very capable in the sound department with a 10 band EQ and decent, clear bass enhancing modes. However, the usability and reliability seems to be let down by unstable software. Sometimes when I connect my phone to Android Auto and press play, it plays the music out of the phone. When I select to list my music by artists in Spotify, it tries to load for a while and then crashes - I don't know if this is due to having a large list of artists to load, but I don't imagine it's an unreasonable length to deal with. Now, I don't know if the software which needs updating is a part of Android (on the phone or the stereo) or Sony's software, but I'm hoping for an update soon. I would also mention the touch screen as being difficult to use when the car is moving. Obviously the car is shaking so it's hard to keep a finger steady when touching the screen, but the screen seems to default to detecting a swipe over a button press whereas it should be defaulted the other way due to the likelihood of the finger moving unintentionally. Overall it feels like the software is not to the historical high standards expected from Sony as these issues would be apparent from testing the stereo for a few hours. As the unit is really just a screen and some software, I'm hoping my issues can be fixed with a software update. But in the meantime at least I can enjoy my personalised radio and Sat Nav in the car :)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

It's Alive!

XAV-AX100 22/01/2018 by GandalfGreyhelm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A Double Din ICE driven by my XZ Premium (either by BT or, preferably, USB) with a usable touchscreen giving me album art and satellite navigation whilst listening to HiRes files from a 200GB SSD... What's not to like?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound, terrible camera boot time

XAV-AX100 15/01/2018 by Singtall (USA)

I bought this specifically for the reason of using a reverse camera. By the time this stereo boots up I'm already down the street. it doesn't automatically go to camera either which is yet another inconvenience. On the good side it does sound really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great radio for great price

XAV-AX100 13/01/2018 by MaxdeJ (USA)

Recently installed this in my car, very happy with it. It changed my 2003 car into a 2017 featured car. All the menus are easy and responsive. Would absolutely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like the DSO

XAVAX100 04/01/2018 by Michigan Rider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This really opens up the sound system in my truck with the factory speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound, great features, great value

XAVAX100 29/12/2017 by GSDriver (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to upgrade the stock base radio in my 2011 Corvette. I had a previous Sony double din nav unit that I had a lot of engine noise problems with that I could never get rid of - even professional installers couldn't resolve - so I took it out and haven't looked at Sony car audio since. But when I read the features and reviews of this product, I reconsidered and decided to give Sony another chance. I'm glad I did! The most important features I wanted was Android Auto and a clean design that looks as close to stock as possible. This unit fits perfect and looks great with the matte finish that matches the rest of the center console trim. The user interface is simple and the physical volume knob is a big plus. The resistive screen is surprisingly responsive - the best resistive screen I've ever used. Sound quality is excellent. Integration with my phone and camera was seamless. Had a brief issue with steering wheel controls, but a quick adjustment on the interface resolved the problem. I would have probably gotten the XAV-AX200 for the CD/DVD slot and XM radio expansion capability, but it was just slightly too deep to fit properly. That being said, since I can probably either stream or load anything I'd want onto a usb drive, I don't think I'll be missing the extra features that much. Overall this is a great upgrade and I'm very pleased with the performance and value of XAV-AX100.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Perfect Gift

XAVAX100 28/12/2017 by SteveQ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my son's Christmas gift. It fit perfectly and has made his 2008 VW Passat safer to drive. Also, it sounds and looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Add more customization Please!

XAV-AX100 19/12/2017 by sonycustomer678 (USA)

This is by far my favorite after market radio. It’s sleek and simple design matches well with the interior design of my vehicle. I would really like if Sony enabled the ability to move the icons around in the home screen. For example, I do not have a rear camera so I would like to move that to the second page or even delete the icon entirely. Also, if there were different themes for the icons to help match the look of my vehicle. Also, I would like a quick toggle to be able to turn Bluetooth on and off without having to go to the settings to do so. Clicking the volume wheel to show the quick menu would be a great place to add an icon to enable/disable Bluetooth quickly. Great radio overall, the best.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Clean! Good quality

XAVAX100 09/12/2017 by Foxoff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple weeks ago. They installed quick and looks good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Features

XAV-AX100 05/12/2017 by derenglander (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did a lot of research before buying this product and it really is what I have been looking for

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Annoying warning message!

XAV-AX100 20/11/2017 by asturian (Canada)

This head unit is great. My only complaint is the warning message that there's no way to disable it. Every time the car goes off and starts again, you have to acknowledge the warning message. It'll be nice to get a firmware upgrade that disables this or at least gives the option to remove it through the settings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/11/2017

Hi asturian, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! _Bob

0

Love Carplay

XAVAX100 19/10/2017 by Mom of Teenage Driver (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my daughter's 14 year old car so it could have a back up camera and it can hook up to my daughter's iPhone thru Carplay. The car is in great shape and now with back up camera and Carplay capability- it is like a new car. You can ask Siri to get directions for you, your phone GPS shows up on the 6.4" receiver, you can don't have to touch any buttons - just talk to Siri. A great receiver if you have an iPhone - will likely get one for my husband's car for xmas

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Black screen with sony xav-100 and samsung s7.

XAV-AX100 14/10/2017  (USA)

Black screen with sony xav-100 and samsung s7. I have used several different cables with same resuly. The only cable that seems to be working is 1 ft aukey cable but that also sometimes go to black screen after extended usage. On the same unit carplay works fine. Google seems to suggest that it is due to low memory on sony head unit. Already updated the firmware to latest version 1.02.06 and android version is 7.0.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Media Receiver Great

XAVAX100 11/10/2017 by Spokane Happy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, lots of features, easy to use and does everything I was told by salesman

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Glitches and overheats

XAVAX100 24/09/2017 by LongdriverCO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one and it was terrible. I do a lot of driving and using maps, but that combination made it too hot and then then the touch screen wouldn't respond. It's no good. I exchanged it for a pioneer and it is so much better!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Unit

XAV-AX100 15/09/2017 by Rigoberto (USA)

I like the simplicity, the strong sound and easy installation, I would recommend it a 100%

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple. Clean. Intuitive

XAVAX100 12/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Clean and simple design that doesn't disrupt the factory dash. Intuitive interface that integrates with Android Auto seamlessly. DSO and EQ feature really makes the factory system sounds noticeably better. Lastly, incredible value with Sony quality. Can't be beat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice!

XAV-AX100 10/09/2017 by Andy470 (USA)

I've had this head unit for 3 months and it works great. The apple car play works without any major issues. I would definitely recommend buying this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can't get any audio only on Bluetooth calls

XAV-AX100 09/09/2017 by sdotjoseph (USA)

Everything works perfectly-ish with the exception of the bluetooth hands free calling, music over BT works fine. Folks can hear me just fine, but i don't hear anything from them. I've made sure that all appropriate properties are enabled(setting BT connection up for phone and media) and that the volume and all volume boosters are maxed. Other than that, the system works okay, I guess.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can we please have a head unit with a built-in mic

XAV-AX100 27/08/2017 by Nick42 (USA)

The only thing holding me back is that I have to clip this plastic mic to my visor. Can we please have a head unit with a built in mic? Audio will be good enough.

Design

Fair

0

4

0

Great Jeep Radio

XAV-AX100 23/08/2017 by JtCe (USA)

Bought this for my 2007 Wrangler Unlimited and it provides all the upgrades I needed: Bluetooth, Camera Connection, Android Auto and great sound. There are a few bugs; most noticeable is the radio's inability to maintain time. This might be due to a wiring issue on my end but it is not a show stopper with all the other goodies. Over all it looks great and sounds great. Volume nob is nice, but a little small.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Missed opportunities

XAV-AX100 20/08/2017 by SadNCA (USA)

Why in 2017 does this not have the option for Sirius XM support and 4+ volt preouts? This is the only non-shiny head unit out right now and it doesn't even have good features. Such a waste. Also stop offering every head unit in shiny plastic. Some of us like the matte finish!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great unit, finally

XAVAX100 18/08/2017 by TechDrJohn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The XAV-AX100 is a great head unit. I said "finally" because the original device I received was DOA! Love the UI and the simplicity of use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony head unit

XAV-AX100 30/07/2017 by Tony2pp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works ok but won't connect to android auto. Have tried everything to get it to work!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Awesome product! BUT....

XAVAX100 02/07/2017 by Bigb350 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They radio works great and absolutely love it but when I went to register it I couldn't find any support to find the serial number. I had to register without put it in. I had already installed the radio but would assume the serial number would be on the box somewhere. I think I found where it should be but it is unmarked. Better support on that and it would be a perfect experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Product

XAVAX100 23/06/2017 by thisnameistaken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

-great EQ features and considerations for getting the most out of the sound -love the volume knob - THANK YOU -NEEDS AN SD card SLOT AND/OR FRONT-FACING USB -lawyer disclaimer screen on EVERY startup is ridiculous. Thanks america. -the screen has a different feel/look than what you're used to on a premium smart phone. that said, the price point and function are both great so no complaints.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

75% there

XAV-AX100 29/05/2017 by Gloukus (USA)

Radio works well most of the time. Sometimes looses connection with phone and if an iPhone alarm goes off, the unit will need a hard reset. startup warning/ agreement screen is incredibly Ann

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Flawed, android auto is the only good bit

XAV-AX100 29/05/2017 by MarkG1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fitted this last night, mixed initial impressions. Could have so easily been great, but ended up disappointing. Pros Screen very clear, touchscreen works well Android Auto is superb, really very very slick, lots of app support (Google Music, Spotify, Google Maps and more) Minimalist design which i like Great sound quality Very good video and audio format support Cons Startup nag screen (this is a huge issue for me) Only 1 USB port (and no fast charge from it) No support for playlists (m3u, pls) Embarrassingly bad USB playback modes (shuffle whole device, repeat track, that's it) Slow to boot up 1990's file system support (FAT12!! FAT16, FAT32, that's it, no EXT4, no exFAT, no NTFS). Windows 10 can't even format a large USB disk in these ancient formats anymore, they are so old. No Google Now/Siri from PTT button when connected via Bluetooth (totally possible, my old Pioneer unit worked fine, this one says not possible!!)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

9

7

0

Great integration with your mobile

XAV-AX100 24/04/2017 by toga01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a best car media receiver if you are looking for integration with your mobile Fantastic ratio price - quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

3

0

Very responsive divice

XAVAX100 04/04/2017 by ffej (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love how quickly it functions with no delay even when searching music on a device. The screen is very responsive but it a little washed out. The settings menu is very minimal could use a few more options to customized the look like the clock or the colors of the buttons. It is missing a aux but that doesn't really matter to me. Sound quality is very good and it has both apple car play and android auto. The only real negative is that my ipod nano is not usb compatible with the device. Ways to improve the device would be to add a better screen and add some customizing options layout, colors, key colors and full usb compatibility with ipod devices like the nano. Overall this is offers the best value for you money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome CarPlay receiver

XAVAX100 19/03/2017 by jdmac29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simple hookup and works great with my iPhone. Love the bluetooth and now I have a microphone in my truck so I don't have to touch my phone while driving.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Very Satisfied despite minor quirks

XAVAX100 18/02/2017 by rpscott02 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and have been really satisfied. As a iphone and anrdoid user it fits my needs perfectly. Installation was easy an the manual was very useful. Switches between android auto to sony interface to apple carplay seamlessly. There are a couple bugs i think (hope) Sony can address with a firmware update. There's no way to manage multiple bluetooth devices. In some radios you're able to prioritize which device you want to connect first...would be very useful for a radio designed to handle multiple devices. Would also be nice to fit all the icons on the home screen on one page rather than having to swipe to get to the settings icon. There's plenty of room to work with. Sometimes the bluetooth doesnt connect right away but give it a minute and it eventually will. The interface for making calls outside of android auto/carplay is really slow. Takes forever to access my contact list. The quirks are minor compared to all the features I love. Great product esp at this price point

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

EXCELLENT RADIO GREAT FEATURES SOUNDS AWESOME !

XAVAX100 21/01/2017 by DKRIPPA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS RADIO EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS EXCELLENT SOUND GREAT FEATURES ANDROID AUTO IS GREAT .THIS RADIO SHOULD HAVE A CD PLAYER THOUGH BUT IT IS STILL A GREAT RADIO !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

9