Skip to Content
20

3.8 based on 20 customer reviews

12
2
0
1
5
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

favourite earphones EVER

MDR-E9LP 07/06/2017 by poopie11 (USA)

I have had my pair now for 2 years and they are still playing strong going to the gym with me twice a week at least!!! I bought my sister a pair and she still has hers too one year later

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

MDR E10LP were much better

MDRE9LP/GRN 28/04/2013 by HowlPendragon (USA)

For some reason Sony thinks the specs for this new model (E9LP) are exactly the same as the E10LP's which sounded fantastic. At least be decent enough to admit the newer models are completely and utterly inferior to the older ones.

22

1

20 Customer Reviews

0

these suck

MDR-E9LP 25/06/2017 by ashley2394848 (USA)

I got these when my apple earbuds broke...in comparison these suck. The sound quality is awful and they are crackling a lot on the first use. And I known that ear shape varies, but these fall out of my ears to the point where they are basically unusable. I can barely move without them falling off, which sucks because I often used my old Apple earbuds while exercising and now I can't. I definitely wouldn't recommend these.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

favourite earphones EVER

MDR-E9LP 07/06/2017 by poopie11 (USA)

I have had my pair now for 2 years and they are still playing strong going to the gym with me twice a week at least!!! I bought my sister a pair and she still has hers too one year later

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

New Headphones

MDR-E9LP 12/01/2017 by Pierre Gas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product at an affordable price....I love Sony products...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Extremely Disappointing

MDRE9LP/BLK 06/01/2017 by Linda1012 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones at Reagan airport on 12/21/16. I tried to use the headphones immediately after boarding the plane and the ear speaker fell out and was not repairable.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

I'll just be lucky if this gets posted.

MDR-E9LP 16/03/2016 by BeatleUK (United Kingdom)

Okay third time lucky.....focus only on the product, does that mean I can't compare it to other products.....that isn't in the Avoid list, so here we go. Previously I had a pair of Sony earphones, the MDR-E11LP/W model, but one of the wires broke, so how do these compare? Without the foam pads they sounded airey and not as bassy as I had been lead to believe, also they fell out my ears a bit. Attaching the foam pads, taking care not to break them, the fit was better, though not as close to my eardrum but the sound was more rounded, a little bass, sorta like the sound I had previously experienced with the MDR-E11LP/W. However, which one might expect, these don't hold a candle next to the MDR-ZX300W, more expensive, and a little older, and harder to travel with. I bought these because I can just roll them into my pocket, I can listen to the music in the rain without fear of headphones getting wet, and I can recreate the experience I get when listening to music at home. I do own a further pair of Sony headphones, but these are just for my digital piano. So for the price they're reasonable, and if you're not a fan of in-ears (Sony do these too, I've just never tried them) then these with their bright colours and bright sound might brighten your day.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4

0

Not great

MDR-E9LP 15/05/2015 by dt1984 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Connection between jack and wire is not great, getting crackling sound with first use

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

8

0

excellent

MDR-E9LP 18/03/2015 by silverline (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

brilliant sound snugglyfits into your ears awsome sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

never again

MDR-E9LP 06/02/2015 by allison (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i got them and the first time using them one ear phone keeps cutting out, it also crackles like the cables are breaking

1

10

0

Perfect fit

MDR-E9LP 24/10/2014 by NatC87 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have bought 3 sets of these earphones & they do not disappoint. Great fit and sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great

MDRE9LP/VLT 16/09/2013 by Blueducky (USA)

Good, cute and inexpensive headphones. Shipped Fast!

6

1

0

best earbuds ever!

MDRE9LP/GRN 30/05/2013 by Alinabina (USA)

i have bought countless earbuds, with no success. and i cant get the ones with the squishy (cant find a better word sorry) piece at the end, as my ears are tiny. but i stumbled across these, and they intensify the bass. plus they never fall out. i have had mine for months and they still work, even though i am hard on them. i think that these are the best earbuds to buy on the market.

18

5

0

amazing

MDRE9LP/BLK 06/05/2013 by frenchpanda9999 (USA)

I had the old model for about 2-3 years. they worked beautifully. I recently smashed one of the ear buds in my car door, and I was very upset. But I found these, the new model, and they work just as well.

14

2

0

MDR E10LP were much better

MDRE9LP/GRN 28/04/2013 by HowlPendragon (USA)

For some reason Sony thinks the specs for this new model (E9LP) are exactly the same as the E10LP's which sounded fantastic. At least be decent enough to admit the newer models are completely and utterly inferior to the older ones.

22

1

0

New smaller model with smaller sound

MDRE9LP/WHI 27/04/2013 by HowlPendragon (USA)

I still have my pair of MDR-E10LP earbuds and they still sound fantastic. This new model however doesn't even come close to the audio quality in the E10 models. I would greatly appreciate if Sony gave accurate specifications for this new model of earbud because they gave it identical specs to those of the E10 earbuds but do not sound anywhere near the level the E10's are at. The E10's were worth $20 or more and yet were priced at a generous $10. The E9's however are worth $5 and yet are priced at $10. They are a waste of money.

18

1

0

Long-lasting

MDRE9LP/GRN 16/03/2013 by standfold (USA)

These have great audio quality and are pretty comfortable. Best part: I've had these since 2008....and they still work better than any other earbuds I've had. Great value. Thank you, Sony.

13

5

0

Excellent

MDRE9LP/VLT 26/01/2013 by bluehawaii19 (USA)

I decided to try these after becoming disappointed with the Apple earbuds. I had purchased a couple of those in the span of about a year and found the quality seriously lacking for the money. The Sony ones however are excellent. My current pair I purchased over a year ago (in purple) and they still work just as good as when I first bought them and are very affordable. They work perfectly with my iPhone and my MacBook and I will never switch back to buying the more expensive earbuds (I don't even need the microphone feature the Apple earbuds come with). I also like the variety of colours to choose from and they are readably available in different stores. These will be a repurchase from me when mine stop working.

7

4

0

best earbuds ever

MDRE9LP/GRAY 12/11/2012 by abz91 (USA)

Just wanted to say that these are the best earbuds I have ever bought. They were very inexpensive and have very good quality sound. I accidentally put mine through the washer and the dryer. When I found them after my laundry was finished I was sad and thought for sure I would have to buy a new pair; however when I plugged them in the sound was just as good as when I first bought them! I will be a Sony customer for life. Thank you!

9

2

0

Gets the Job done,

MDRE9LP/GRN 22/09/2012 by Achro (USA)

I picked a green pair from target a few months back, as a spare pair of buds to use with my 3ds and mp3 player at the library. SOUND: The sound is about on par with ipod earbuds, though they can be a little tinny. For the price, though, it's acceptable. AESTHETIC: The small amount of color on the buds proves to be really useful in quickly finding and untangling your head phones. It also looks a lot cooler than you might expect it to. Just so you know, the green color shown in the picture is off. The ones I purchased were more of a slightly bluish emerald color. DESIGN: The shape of these ear buds is much more comfortable than the plain circular ipod ear buds. I have small ears, and these fit much better, and rarely fall out. QUALITY: These buds are fairly durable. I've been pretty hard on them, and they've held up nicely over a few months. OVER ALL: If you're looking for a cheap pair of buds to use for casual listening, I'd recommend checking them out. Their sound isn't the best, (but by no means bad) but for this price range, I'm not really complaining. Overall, The MDR-EGLPs are durable, comfortable, cool looking, AND cheap with satisfactory audio.

20

2

0

Best Earbuds

MDRE9LP/BLK 16/12/2011 by Slater (USA)

I had these ear buds for a while and they still work the same way as they have when I first bought them. Also, I have washed and dryed the ear buds on numerous accounts and they still work. This is the best brand to buy.

11

2

0

AMAZING FOR A AFFORDABLE PRICE

MDRE9LP/BLK 10/04/2011 by HeadphoneMan5311 (USA)

I have owned many headphones From the 10-100 dollars mark and I would have to say that these are the best 10 dollar headphones I have ever used awesome product would defiantly recommend affordable

19

5