Skip to Content
53

3.3 based on 53 customer reviews

13
15
7
10
8
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sounds great!

MDRXB50BS/B 21/09/2017 by Chrissony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been trying so many other headsets and this is the one. The bass is perfect and the highs are clear. They stay in your ears while exercising.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Build Quality is Cheap and Terrible.

MDRXB50BS/R 15/01/2017 by Grimes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first received this it didn't come with a carry pouch or case which is downer but what really disappointed me was it had already had signs like it was put together terribly and 2 months later pieces of it falling apart which is horrible...I really don't recommend buying these specific earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

54 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Product

MDR-XB50BS 23/11/2017 by loz1710 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is excellent and the product is so easy to use. I use it while I'm running and it is very comfortable to wear, especially doing longer distances.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Sound

MDR-XB50BS 08/11/2017 by SERGEiM (United Kingdom)

Good sound Good sound Good sound Good sound Bad Customer service

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great sound and convenient, but falls apart.

MDR-XB50BS 30/10/2017 by mdg0028 (USA)

It was great for the longest time, but the rubber buttons fell out of the main earpiece and the rubber ear buds would not stay on the earpiece. Can't beat the sound though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Great for Sports

MDR-XB50BS 30/10/2017  (USA)

This is a very good equipment for sports, I can say that you will certainly enjoy the sound quality and the sound stability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great Bass

MDR-XB50BS 28/10/2017 by Rpp0113 (USA)

I bought this headphones less than 30 days ago and it just quit playing sound...I can still hear static but no music. At first I thought it was my device but after pairing it with a few more, I still can't hear music! It was great for the short amount of time it worked!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Bass!!!

MDR-XB50BS 28/10/2017 by Sherpakicker (Canada)

Awesome bass . No problems with this product. Great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely

MDR-XB50BS 20/10/2017 by Roots (USA)

Bought this a few days ago and the only feature is it DOESN'T VIBRATE.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Sound

MDRXB50BS/B 19/10/2017 by golden eagle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these head phones 3 weeks ago. Excellent product so far.Iam very happy with it.It's a little pricey but well worth it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Wireless sport ear phones

MDR-XB50BS 19/10/2017 by Yukio (United Kingdom)

These sport ear phones habe a Fair price / quality

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Junk

MDR-XB50BS 14/10/2017 by Nicole25131 (USA)

I bought these a month ago, they overheat and the battery dies after 15 minutes of use. I would not recommend these at all

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Comfortable

MDR-XB50BS 14/10/2017 by YOcas (USA)

They have a great adjustment you can do what ever come to your mind and they won't come off and the microphone has a great quality. The only problem I found was that when you are on a quiet environment you can hear relatively loud static, it is like you can hear the headphones working, anyway it only happen when you are listening to music, not while it's pause.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Buttons fall out

MDR-XB50BS 13/10/2017 by Dan828 (USA)

Love these headphones overall. Great sound quality, straight forward user interface, stay in my ears well during long runs. Only real problem I have is that the buttons keep falling out. I've now completely lost the power button, so turning the headphones on and off, pausing music, etc. is a real challenge. Also can't seem to find any replacement buttons.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Amazing

MDR-XB50BS 09/10/2017 by Crawley56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, strong bass, lightweight, long lasting battery

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Love them but may become useless at any time

MDR-XB50BS 29/09/2017 by Ivie (USA)

I love these headsets, the sound is great, love my electronic music while working out. They stay put, ear piece fits perfect even while doing cardio. Yes, I love them but I can't give them a 5 star because the volume button keeps falling off. They fell off immediately after taking them out of the package and once that tiny plastic piece gets lost, they're useless. I'd expect a little better built for an $80 headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Always sticking by me

MDR-XB50BS 27/09/2017 by bodyd94 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two weeks ago and I love it. It has a very long battery life, the sound is just awesome (especially the bass), and I love the fact that it can't fall out of my ears.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sounds great!

MDRXB50BS/B 21/09/2017 by Chrissony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been trying so many other headsets and this is the one. The bass is perfect and the highs are clear. They stay in your ears while exercising.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

I like it!

MDR-XB50BS 20/09/2017 by Kmhad (USA)

these are very good, comfort and have a good battery life.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Poor quality!

MDR-XB50BS 20/09/2017 by ChaseB (USA)

I purchased the headphones two weeks ago. I listen to music while I work out. I have tried several brands along with these. Yesterday I dropped them and the two buttons it has came off. The sound isn't the best but they do ok with all the water. Would not purchase another set.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Not bad, hope they will last

MDRXB50BS/B 07/09/2017 by Toronto Shopper (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am normally a fan of the other major headphone company manufacturer, but decided to give Sony a chance. So far the sound is good, the design is a bit awkward and on larger side. Everyone can see you are wearing headphones... Luckily they seem to stay in place without problems. The flat cable on the back is taking a bit of getting used to. I read a few bad reviews about very poor build quality (especially power button falling off). These headphones are all plastic so I can see why there could be an issue over time. I hope they will last at least a year without major troubles otherwise I will be e-mailing Sony for a service or replacement. Keeping a receipt and box for a warranty just in case.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Wonderful sound, very poor craftmanship

MDR-XB50BS 29/08/2017 by DianeP (Canada)

Bought these headphones and sound is absolutely wonderful, fits well in ears too.... Unfortunately, all the buttons fall off and as a result, hard to turn on and off, adjust sound and pair with other bluetooth devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2017

Hi, DianeP, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial number, address, and phone number.
Regards, _Bob

0

power button fell off

MDR-XB50BS 28/08/2017 by sweet1 (USA)

the sound is good and it stays in my ear when i run. the power button fell off :(

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Bluetooth connectivity & sound quality

MDR-XB50BS 16/08/2017 by Garry57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a prize, and have made good use of it since then. The Bluetooth connectivity is very simple and reliable, and has not yet cut out. The sound is warm and high quality. The earpieces are a little clunky but reasonably comfortable, with a choice of several sizes for the rubber tips in the ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

They work great!

MDR-XB50BS 14/08/2017 by Randy T (USA)

I received these as a gift in April, they work amazing. Loud and long lasting battery great for working out and doing yard work. They truly stay in your ear once you figure out which size adapter works best for your ears. Only complaint is that the cable did not include an accessory to adjust the length of it. Sometimes it gets caught on the back of my shirt. A round firm cable might work in future models.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Amazing

MDR-XB50BS 12/08/2017 by TheParadigm (Canada)

These are awesome! Definitely recommend! The never fall out and feel like they aren't even there

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not that great

MDR-XB50BS 09/08/2017 by Victagg (USA)

Great when they work but they fell apart within a month of having the buttons fell out .

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

XB50BS wirelessl headphones

MDR-XB50BS 30/07/2017 by Missyjane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these for about 2 weeks, absolutely brilliant. I was expecting some interference and sound outside the earphones, but they are great and have great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great headphones, 1 flaw

MDR-XB50BS 21/07/2017 by BassAdict (Canada)

Pros:Bass is amazing! You won't need to even turn it up to 50% volume. Battery life is stated. Nice and long. Cons:Call volume is horrendous. Callers cannot hear you wel. Likely because the mic is far away from your mouth. If its a quiet area then no problem. Overall really good headphones and I'm happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good

MDR-XB50BS 20/07/2017 by sportsgeek (USA)

I brought the headphones around Christmas 2016. They work good but the power button came off after workout and cannot find it. How do I get another power button? How do you get the volume up when using the phone so others hearwhen I am speaking? I like the headphones and want to keep using them. How can you help me out?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Sound AMAZING. However, won't connect to Galaxy S7

MDR-XB50BS 17/07/2017 by Kevin76 (USA)

Received as a gift. Great build quality. No buttons falling off nor do I see faults in the finishing. They sound great when connected to my HP laptop. However I can't give it 5 stars as it will not connect to my Samsung Galaxy S7 phone. Bad software? Very disappointed as I use my phone for music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

6

0

0

Great Sound, Lightweight, but not PS4 Compatible

MDR-XB50BS 14/07/2017 by Coffmn (USA)

I bought these headphones to take calls while on the road, to have music while I work around the house, and to connect to my PS4. It has hit the mark on two of these goals. I get calls when I am on the road and I've never had a problem. Callers understand me perfectly and the option to select the size of earbuds keep road noise at a minimum. The bass boost to the music gives all the songs I stream a full, rounded sounds. The only disappointment came when I tried to use Bluetooth to connect to my PS4. It doesn't work. :/ I assumed that all Sony products were compatible considering how the Xperia and Sony TVs work well with the Playstation lineup. I assumed incorrectly. These are great Bluetooth earbuds and would recommend to anyone looking for a pair to calls or casually listen to music.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great sound, buttons fall off

MDR-XB50BS 13/07/2017 by Tdoe (USA)

My husband bought 2 pair of these headphone for us to use while working out. I love the sound, the bass is impressive. I like the fit, as they don't fall out while running. I also am happy that they are ready to go straight out of the box, no need to adjust any sound settings. Unfortunately during the first week the power button of one pair fell off. My husband returned them. The second week the power button fell off my pair, but loving the sound and fit I continued to use them. (Have to use the tip of a pen to power them on and off) now after 6 weeks of use the volume button fell off! I really wish these were more durable:(

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Diappointed

MDR-XB50BS 13/07/2017 by Edinme (USA)

I bought the head phones a month ago for running. They will not keep a charge. I only wear them to 30 to 60 minutes at a time. After each time I have to charge them again. Now they do not even work. I charge them and they will not turn on. They also fall out of my ears when running. I tried to take them back to the store, but they will not take them back because it is a little over a month.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great bass, bad finishing

MDR-XB50BS 07/07/2017 by bláblá2017 (USA)

The headphones are great and they have an awesome bass! However, the product seems unfinished somehow. You can actually see some indentations on them. Overall, the price is fair (but it could be cheaper), considering what I just wrote before. Sony, if you're going to deliver a product, please, finish them up before selling to your costumers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Software out of date

MDR-XB50BS 07/07/2017 by Bunnies (USA)

The head phones worked great until I bought a new phone, the S8 plus. They do not pair with my new phones blue tooth. I tested a couple other blue tooth head phones and they all paired with my phone. Its dissppointing since I enjoyed these.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Terrible: only worked a week

MDR-XB50BS 02/07/2017 by aham16 (USA)

A week after I bought them I lost all the bass on the left side and the sound was spotty in the left earbud. Do not buy these. Already returned them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Bluetooth stoped connecting

MDR-XB50BS 24/06/2017 by Bri123 (USA)

They wouldn't connect to Bluetooth within acouple weeks of purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

the microphone quality it is bad

MDR-XB50BS 21/06/2017 by almoosawi (USA)

i buy it this month and i'm not happy with it i cant use it to make call because the voice not clear

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Negative Headphone Review

MDRXB50BS/B 15/06/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth quit working within 30 days of purchase.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not good for sports

MDR-XB50BS 12/06/2017 by FedeFran (USA)

The sound quality is great, but this is not a sport headphone. The design is terrible, when you run they keep bouncing up and down until they fell off your ears. I bought them to play music while running and now I have to buy another set with better design. Useless piece of equipment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

I don't know

MDR-XB50BS 11/06/2017 by TheWeeknd (USA)

the sound quality is weird and they look so stupid and are uncomfortable.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

GRATE SOUND WITH OR WITHOUT HI-RES PHONE OR DEVICE

MDR-XB50BS 30/05/2017 by Mo T (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

GRATE SOUND WITH OR WITHOUT HI-RES PHONE OR DEVICES. YOU'RE IN REAL CONCERT WHEN YOU WEAR IT. I USE WITH Z3 AND XZ XPERIA, SO POWERFUL AND AMAZED. SONY ALWAYS ON TOP...Mo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Looks a bit ridiculous but they are confortable

MDR-XB50BS 21/05/2017 by Renee10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like a look a bit ridiculous when I were these but I only wear them for running and I run in a very secluded area. However I was fed up with my old pair because they kept falling out but these never do! They fit beautifully and have great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0