Skip to Content
14

2.9 based on 14 customer reviews

3
4
1
1
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Little Perfomer

HVLF20M 12/12/2013  (USA)

This flash is a good companion for my A99 when I don't want to carry F60M or F43M. Works great in small premises, but even better just as a wireless trigger - it doesn't add lots of bulk to the camera. Basically the flash can be considered as a wireless trigger with a bonus - lighting :) Two the reviewers that give the flash one star - both reviews have nothing to do with the unit features or failures, so not sure about the point of rating a product without even testing it. Just return the flash and get your refund.

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Performs well

HVL-F20M 24/05/2016 by salarymanjam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This very light flash performs very consistently. I'm happy with its compact form and power level.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

14 Customer Reviews

0

Perfect extra flashgun for Cybershot DSC-HX400V

HVL-F20M 25/02/2017 by Saxman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for an integrated flash for my HX400V and already have a Canon TTL flashgun. There isn't much I could actually do with that except use it in manual mode - rather negates the idea of an automatic camera! I was not after a huge flashgun and I saw this one that seemed to fit the bill. Guide number 20 which is about 4 times more powerful than the built in flash on the Cybershot. The flash is semi-automatic in that wide angle or telephoto has to be set manually, but this is a small niggle for a flashgun that works through the lens and integrates as a wireless sender for remote flashguns as well. It can also be used as a bounce flash. In my (limited) usage I have found it to be very reliable and produces good light coverage against camera settings. Now for the not so good. The head can not be switched on and off manually except by either lowering it against the shoe mount or switching off the camera with the flash attached. This is a nuisance as the OFF position leaves the hot shoe at a 90 degree angle and this bungs up your camera bag. The flash cannot be used effectively in bounce mode with the camera in portrait orientation as the flash does not twist. Other than that it does the job.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Performs well

HVL-F20M 24/05/2016 by salarymanjam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This very light flash performs very consistently. I'm happy with its compact form and power level.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little flash!

HVLF20M 25/07/2015 by mrNewt (USA)

I don't understand why people are complaining about the build quality... I use this flash, I hold it in my hands and for what it is, the flash is very well built. Maybe is a later model that they had!? Yes, is not a tank, but considering how small it is, this thing is built as good as it can get. Works flawlessly on my a7m2 and a6000. My only complain will be about the price (that's why the 4 star only)... maybe a little high for what it is. I only purchased it because I used my points and brought the price considerably low enough to make it worth (around $130 with taxes). I would like to buy another one, but only if price gets considerably lower than what it is now.

5

1

0

great flash, poor construction

HVLF20M 19/02/2015 by aphotographer1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this flash on my sony rx100. I'm a pro photographer and use a dslr, but also like to have a small point and shoot. This flash really brings the rx100 to a new level and I love the picture quality it gave me. I dropped the camera and the flash broke instantly. I bought a new one, dropped it, and the same thing happened. It broke in the exact same spot, the very thin point where the flash meets the attachment screw. I think Sony should redesign this flash and make this pivot point wider. Yes, I know I dropped it, but it did not drop very far either time (I'm short...from my hip to the ground), and all of my other equipment has gone through so much more without ever breaking. Probably will not buy a third one. I'd recommend the flash if you're careful!

5

14

0

Faulty Sony

HVL-F20M 05/02/2015 by Norrie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product 3 weeks ago and sorry to say that having bought Sony products for over 30 years without a problem, this was the first faulty item I have ever received. Item returned for full refund from seller. Wont change my high opinion of Sony products but with this item I have a problem as it is the only type available for my A3000 camera.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

15

0

Perfect for the A6000

HVLF20M 07/01/2015 by SonyTerpFan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great flash for the A6000, this is my first flash so I cannot really compare it to others but it works great. This is my first flash that lets me take bounce flash pictures. Over the holidays, I took several hundred pictures with it and I have been really impressed with its performance. I used my Sony (CycleEnergy, 800 mAh) AAA rechargeable batteries and they worked great with the flash and the fact that it only uses 2 batteries is a plus since I can swap out them out for another pair fairly quickly.

8

0

0

It was good for a while

HVLF20M 09/12/2014  (USA)

I bought this flash less than a year ago for my NEX-7. It complimented the camera well since the built it flash is not high enough to get over some of the lenses. Also, it allowed bounce flash pictures. It was a reasonably good flash for it's size. However, within a year it would only take one picture and would stop (batteries were not the problem). I may have taken 40 - 50 pictures with it. Now it does not work at all.

13

2

0

A great little Flash

HVL-F20M 09/06/2014 by johnnyfb (United Kingdom)

A useful , lightweight portable flash that overcomes the built in flash's limitations, able to "bounce" light effectively. Only downside is that the unit's off position is "folded" so soaring in a amore streamlined fashion will drain batteries so if not using for some time take the batteries out (always good practice!) I would recommend this for use with NEX models and possibly withe the new A7's too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Outstanding Value and Performance

HVLF20M 31/03/2014 by MiaAlpha (USA)

Very compact and adds great clarity to my photos. I use this as an add on to my A35 and I could not be more satisfied. Huge upgrade from built-in flash.

8

2

0

Nice flash, but poorly constructed

HVLF20M 06/01/2014 by type5keith (USA)

I bought this flash to use on my SLT-99V to command my HVL-F58 flash wirelessly. I used it one time in this manner and it worked amazingly well. However, when I took the flash off of my camera, using extreme care as I had been warned about the frailty of it's mount connector, the mount connector separated from the flash and could not be reattached. Upon a closer examination I saw how poorly designed and cheaply built the connection was between the flash's mount connector and the main part of the flash. I returned the flash to my vendor and replaced it with a HVL-F43M, albeit at a $250 cost differential. The F43M has given me no problem whatsoever. It's mount connector is outstanding and seems to be constructed to the level of excellence that I have come to expect out of Sony camera products.. unfortunately I cannot say that about the HVL-F20M.

42

4

0

Good for small places

HVLF20M 01/01/2014 by Karaingermany (USA)

Was visiting family for Christmas and I did not like the flash results on my A77. I wanted something small to easily take with me and use while taking pictures of family in the house. You are able to bounce the light so that your subjects do not have that glossy flash look. I was really happy with the Christmas pictures. It worked well also taking pictures of groups outside at night close up. The only down side is that after a few shots with the flash it takes some time to recharge. I missed a couple shots because of that. I found that if I shut it off (folding flash down toward the camera) then turned it back on (flipping back up) it helped recharge a little faster. There is also a etched piece if plastic in the flash that you can turn down so that a direct flash is not so harsh. Works up to 100 ft IMO but better 75 and under I did not need any adapter for this to fit my A77. I am pleased with the purchase.

15

1

0

Great Little Perfomer

HVLF20M 12/12/2013  (USA)

This flash is a good companion for my A99 when I don't want to carry F60M or F43M. Works great in small premises, but even better just as a wireless trigger - it doesn't add lots of bulk to the camera. Basically the flash can be considered as a wireless trigger with a bonus - lighting :) Two the reviewers that give the flash one star - both reviews have nothing to do with the unit features or failures, so not sure about the point of rating a product without even testing it. Just return the flash and get your refund.

19

0

0

What they fail to Mention

HVLF20M 08/10/2013 by BDHPhotoED (USA)

I was very excited to finally get an external flash for my camera, as I take many portraits. I have a Sony a65. The description for this item says its compatible with the camera, however they fail to mention that in order to make it work you must purchase an adapter. Thus the flash is useless until you buy an adapter as well.

44

28

0

Flash does not fit the NEX 7

HVLF20M 16/08/2013 by dapastor (USA)

I purchased this flash for my NEX 7, because it is listed as compatible. It is NOT compatible.

36

32