Skip to Content
8

3.7 based on 8 customer reviews

3
2
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

HVL-F43M works well

HVLF43M 16/05/2015 by Dave43 (USA)

There are two things that are lacking. One is lack of a port for the Sony off camera flash cable. Also no one makes a simple off camera MIS flash cable. MIS has the worse support of any dedicated hot shoe by the oem or third party. This is a major weakness of MIS.

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Flash when it works

HVL-F43M 09/07/2014 by Steve114 (United Kingdom)

The flash is really good when it works the few times Ive used it in anger in any great amount, Wedding and fashion show after a few shots about 10 it shuts down due to over heating. Ive seen no one else with this fault so it might be mine only but its really annoying and I have to open the battery compartment and allow a minute or so for cool down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

7

8 Customer Reviews

0

Overheated badly

HVL-F43M 05/12/2016 by Salti Sea Dog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago when I switched systems from Nikon to Sony to go with my new A7R2. The first time I used it for a job it wasn't recognised by the A7R2 so I used it with my older A7. After about half an hour, of not continuous use, it over heated and kept overheating for the rest of the evening - making shooting impossible until it had cooled down enough. I never had this problem over many years of using my Nikon flash with my Nikon camera so hadn't even thought this might be an issue. Disappointed, sadly.

Performance

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

A wide array of sophisticated features.

HVL-F43M 04/04/2016 by Intereverything (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very sophisticated speed light with an embedded video light so you could double it as a steady light source on a tripod or stand if necessary. Its array of features within the menu compels me to understand how it works best, and when to use it wirelessly outdoors.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lighter than I thought and great recycle speed

HVL-F43M 26/10/2015 by Andysonyfan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wasn't sure what to get but the Sony f43m seemed to fit the photography I wanted to do, portraits etc. Ok, so The only down side is that you can't use it wirelessly right away with out another flash but you can always get a commander stick to do that as it not always everyone's cup of tea. over all it's been amazing and the things I've done with it have made my pictures that fraction better and more professional. Thanks Sony

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

HVL-F43M works well

HVLF43M 16/05/2015 by Dave43 (USA)

There are two things that are lacking. One is lack of a port for the Sony off camera flash cable. Also no one makes a simple off camera MIS flash cable. MIS has the worse support of any dedicated hot shoe by the oem or third party. This is a major weakness of MIS.

11

0

0

Well made product with very poor instruction.

HVLF43M 03/01/2015 by MartinBrossman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so disappointed in Sony's poor commitment to quality education on this product. Nothing but a quick video showing what is may do but not how to do it. The manual is write for someone with perfect vision and fall very short. There are no tutorials on the support page. I hope for more from Sony and hope they will read this and learn. I as a customer don't want another fancy "pro" photographer showing I could do I want clear instructions on how to use it. Again the product seems well built but it is a big fail in useful instruction on how to use it. - Disappointed Sony Customer.

13

12

0

Great for wireless

HVL-F43M 22/12/2014 by Nate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the F43M flash mainly for wireless HSS (high speed sync) so I can photograph at higher shutter speeds outdoors whilst still retaining/combating natural light. Mainly used with my portable softbox and beauty dish and so far the F43M hasn't let me down. It kicks out enough power for my usage, although if you require something more powerfull I would have to recommend the F60. The unit is very simple to use with a generous sized LCD screen on the back displaying all the info. To access HSS, you just need to change your shutter speed above 1/250th (depending on your camera sync speed) and the flash will automatically turn on HSS which is very handy. The quick shift bounce is quite an intuitive design and makes it easier to get the flash positioned. Definitely recomended for those who want a wireless setup with some excellent features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

The Sony F43m Flash gun

HVL-F43M 19/09/2014 by Harriflex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I realised the dual potential of recording High Definition stills and video with my new Sony Alpha 7, this intelligent flash/video light seemed the obvious "must have" accessory. It's pocket size and versatile 'bounce' facility ensures the highest level of creative lighting control. Having trained as a photographer and with 49 years in broadcast television, (both as a film-editor and lighting cameraman), I strive for perfection in image control. The combination of the latest Alpha 7 camera range and this flash unit, make for the perfect professional kit (for a very attractive investment in quality). I have used my local independent high street dealers "The Hythe Camera Shop" for over 30 years. As Sony stockists their advice and recommendations have been enormously valued. Their enthusiasm and friendly advice is always matched by a willingness to offer a competitive price, together with a caring customer service, often lacking in nationwide dealerships.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great Flash when it works

HVL-F43M 09/07/2014 by Steve114 (United Kingdom)

The flash is really good when it works the few times Ive used it in anger in any great amount, Wedding and fashion show after a few shots about 10 it shuts down due to over heating. Ive seen no one else with this fault so it might be mine only but its really annoying and I have to open the battery compartment and allow a minute or so for cool down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

7