Skip to Content
11

4.5 based on 11 customer reviews

8
2
0
0
1
Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

11 Customer Reviews

0

Ergonomics are superb!

VG-C2EM 10/12/2017 by Webby1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the Sony own grip as I’ve had malfunctions on two of these ‘alternatives’ you can buy, one totally seized up my camera during a job! That’s why I paid for the best and have no regrets! The size is just right, I love the ergonomics esp all the controls just where you need them working in the portrait angle. Of course having the two batteries is essential for long shoots and it’s great being able to see how much power is in each battery all the time!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome

VGC2EM 23/11/2017 by Fuzzball (USA)

I was afraid that i would have to keep 2 batteries in at all times, but it will run off of one while you charge the other - great feature! works great and doubles your battery life.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautifully balances the camera with longer lenses

VG-C2EM 13/11/2017 by Vision of You (United Kingdom)

The A7rii has a bit of a reputation for being very heavy on batteries, this is a reputation that is a little unfair depending on how you use the camera. If you use live view on any camera it is going to be at the cost of the battery life. With the battery grip in place you will double your battery life AND it will be more balanced in the hand when shooting portrait or user heavier lenses. The duplication of the C buttons is very easy and all fall easily to hand when shooting portrait mode. The only small niggle is the battery door is awkward to get off the camera and secure on the battery grip, admittedly it is not something you will repeat on a regular basis but it annoying fiddly to do

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Essential extra

VG-C2EM 12/08/2017 by Freddyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great addition to the camera. In fact the camera becomes something totally different and better to use. Highly recommended. Just a bit pricey.....but worth it, .....actually!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Vertical Grip for a7ii

VG-C2EM 17/04/2017 by Dompetrus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have not had this grip long and was undecided whether to go for the Sony (expensive) or a generic grip (much cheaper). Opted for the original Sony Vertical Grip. Not used it a lot to date (hence only 4 stars). Give me six months and then I'll decide if it is worth the money. Haven't taken a lot of photos with it yet. I fact I'm just getting used to the camera as well, so it will be some time before I can review both camera and grip.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Vertical Grip A7R II

VG-C2EM 08/02/2017 by DaveyBlues (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got the grip to finish off the feel for my A7R ii body. Great fit, lovely quality. Now feels solid in the hand. Highly recommended here! Thanks Sony.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony hand grip

VG-C2EM 12/08/2016 by Smerdy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not tried it yet but am well pleased with the feel and build.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

0

Most Useful accessorie

VG-C2EM 16/01/2016 by Kloverton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Firstly it is making the camera more comfortable to hold in hand, bigger battery life with battery slot. It is amaizingly built at looks nice. Perfect product. If you are gatting an A7 series camera you have to get these one for it!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A nice physical handful. ??

VG-C2EM 30/10/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It provides a nice handful to steady the camera. Pity it cannot hold a bigger battery capacity.?

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Very good addition for a7 II

VGC2EM 13/03/2015 by Remote (USA)

While I agree with the previous reviewer that Sony could have made better provisions for charging, this grip is the perfect companion for the new a7 II body. Coming from the bigger DSLR body like a77 II, the smaller a7II body felt small and sometimes a little clumpsy. Adding the grip not only increases usability, but provides a better grip of the camera especially if you have big hands. Another plus is the extended battery life. I bought an external charger and charge the batteries separately. For the price I am considering buying another charger So i can charge both batteries. Great product!

14

3

0

Doesn't Charge batteries

VGC2EM 26/02/2015 by Photomangg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very annoyed that this item doesn't charge the batteries when it is connected to the camera! And, seeing that Sony does not supply a career with the cameras, only a USB cable, the only way to charge the batteries is to remove the vertical grip, replace the little door on the body, charge each battery separately via the USB cable connected to the camera, remove the little door and reattach the grip. Not the smartest way to engineer something. This is going back as it is easier to just carry a backup battery then deal with all this nonsense.

15

32