Skip to Content
14

4.8 based on 14 customer reviews

12
1
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good Choice/Addition for the A77!

VGC77AM 29/02/2012 by Jorito70 (USA)

The a77 felt great to begin, but wow what a handle I have on my camera now! It has been years since I used a grip so I wasn't sure I wanted to make the investment. But, I don't even consider taking it off the A77 now. Sony did a fantastic job on the design on this unit, Kudos! It fits perfectly to the camera. I was leery of having to take the battery door off, but it is designed to leave the door on as it fits into a slot without having to remove. Perfect! In the event you need to take it off you do not have to search for the misplaced battery door. Just take the unit off, close the battery door and carry on. Next, all of the function buttons work flawlessly. I think the button placement is better on the attachment than the camera. The additional battery capacity, battery not included, is great. It even enables the display to show both batteries and which one is in use. The battery tray is numbered (1) and (2) so if one battery needs charging and the other does not, you can tell which one to charge. The additional shutter button for vertical use, AWESOME, and it is perfectly placed! If you are shooting vertical, you already have muscle memory for the horizontal button, so you are not searching for the button hitting other stuff. Sweet! Although the unit adds a little weight to the camera, it is built solid. This is not an issue for me personally, I think it balances the unit. Probably at the low end of importance and also a personal observation only is I think it is aesthetically pleasing to my eye. It just looks like it belongs. The functionality of the unit justifies this purchase for me. It adds to in almost every way, yet takes away almost nothing for me. It is a little pricey, but I use it, and I like it!

30

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Solid grip with a serious drawback

VGC77AM 19/01/2014 by Adontech (USA)

I like the grip and the professional feel that it gives my A77. I did think it was over priced, but it was part of the package that I purchased. The A77 goes through batteries faster than the Konica Minolta DSLR that I had before. I was looking forward to using the grip mostly because of the having the 2 batteries loaded at once, BUT the A77 / grip let me down today. I was working on outside family pictures today and I kept getting an "Incompatible battery" message even though I have bought nothing but Sony batteries for this camera. I looked up the error when I got home and tons of people are having the same problem with batteries in this grip. It is unacceptable to sell a camera and grip at this price and have the camera tell you that the battery is not compatible; especially when I did not go cheap on 3rd party batteries. Buyer beware.

13

5

14 Customer Reviews

0

High quality product to complement your camera.

VG-C77AM 31/07/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When attaching the Vertical grip to your Alpha 77/77II it feels more like a professional camera in your hands. Taking photos with the vertical grip in portrait orientation is very comfortable, especially during long photo sessions. The shutter release button on the Sony vertical grip is located in a more natural position compared to other brands that placed it on the side. The vertical grip also balances the camera perfectly especially when used with heavy lenses. The build quality is excellent made from high quality composite materials. Its not made from the same metal body construction as the camera which would have added too much weight. The vertical grip also have the dust and moisture resistance as the camera. The vertical grip includes all the useful dials and buttons that you regularly use on the camera. There function can be customised in the camera menu. The vertical grip hold two batteries which will switch over automatically when the first is flat, therefore you will not miss a critical shot dueto a flat battery.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cool one for an excellent portrait grip

VG-C77AM 29/03/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use it for Sony A77 II. Too good a product for shooting vertical for portraits. Has all the controls easily accessible to access all the settings. It seamlessly allows the battery flap to sink into a holder so it fits perfectly. Added benefits are a holder for 2 batteries that gives longevity especially when shooting long exposures for astrophotography and the whole piece is dust and moisture resistant like the A77 II camera. Quite happy

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for those who want the next battery life

VGC77AM 16/02/2015 by DrPanda (USA)

The grip also add some weight to the ILCA camera for those looking for a balance in their way of holding a camera. But don't forget that the extra battery support and the feature is a plus. I'd happen to love this products and only recommended purchasing a grip from Sony. Don't buy knock off items because they will not last long and they are not water-resisted

1

0

0

A MUST have accessory for the A77ii

VG-C77AM 25/01/2015 by PMAJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find that the use of a vertical grip is invaluable, it's must have accessory. I have vertical grips fitted to my old Konica-Minolta 35mm cameras and also my Sony A500 DSLR, it's the first accessory I purchase with every camera. The functions that are most used are replicated onto the vertical grip. Great design, extremely useful to have the additional battery in the vertical grip, no need to worry about power being drained whilst out shooting for the day (or two).

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Addition

VG-C77AM 24/01/2015 by BJW1947 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only owned this for a couple weeks. Seems a great addition to my A77. When tried with my Sony 70-400mm lens it gives a better balance to the camera. Would certainly recommend this grip.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

VG-C77AM 05/12/2014 by Sony man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would not be without a vertical grip on any of my cameras. They permit easy shooting in vertical mode with all buttons and dials easily accessible and give extra battery capacity for extended use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Must have accessory

VG-C77AM 02/06/2014 by Tiny (United Kingdom)

A must for the extra Battery required for time lapse photography, star trails. The added convenience of having a comfortable hand hold and buttons readily available when taking Portraits is a bonus

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid grip with a serious drawback

VGC77AM 19/01/2014 by Adontech (USA)

I like the grip and the professional feel that it gives my A77. I did think it was over priced, but it was part of the package that I purchased. The A77 goes through batteries faster than the Konica Minolta DSLR that I had before. I was looking forward to using the grip mostly because of the having the 2 batteries loaded at once, BUT the A77 / grip let me down today. I was working on outside family pictures today and I kept getting an "Incompatible battery" message even though I have bought nothing but Sony batteries for this camera. I looked up the error when I got home and tons of people are having the same problem with batteries in this grip. It is unacceptable to sell a camera and grip at this price and have the camera tell you that the battery is not compatible; especially when I did not go cheap on 3rd party batteries. Buyer beware.

13

5

0

VGC77AM 12/11/2013 by Brad81 (USA)

I recently purchased this grip to aid in balancing my SAL70200g lens for nature photography, which it does quite well. I was pleasantly surprised with all the other advantages this attachment brings to the system. My a77, which has considerable weight in the first place, has become much more comfortable and easier to hold and use for longer periods of time. The controls are well placed and easy to use after a few usages. The second battery is quite welcome when spending a few hours in the field. I am quite happy with this purchase

7

1

0

Very well built...

VGC77AM 02/09/2013 by weldman1 (USA)

The VG-C77AM is built like a tank. As other reviewers said the controls are where they should be to quickly "snap" pictures. It is very tight fitting to the a77 as it should be. Great feature not having to remove the battery cover, great engineering. Grip is also great for horizontal photo's also, feels natural in your hands and keeps your hand off the lens if that's what you need to keep the camera steadier. Duel batteries are a great feature as the a77 sucks power. Only complaint is they should have made it possible to charge "both" batteries in the camera with the optional power cord, cord is not needed unless you use the a77 in a studio or similar surroundings.

9

1

0

Excellent Accessory!!!

VGC77AM 27/08/2013 by ChefZ (USA)

I finally received my grip today! This was part of the bundle, which was an awesome deal, that I had purchased back in July. The grip is an awesome addition. The camera is a little heavy when attached but feels great when handling. The one feature I really like is not having to take off the battery cover like other brands. This grip will come in handy when I travel overseas!

2

1

0

Vertical Grip a pleasure to use!

VGC77AM 27/06/2012 by msebe (USA)

I had not used a vertical grip with prior cameras so was unsure what to expect. This grip is so well integrated to the a77 and controls beautifully placed I may not take it off. What a pleasure to use and it sure has generated many compliments.

11

1

0

Good Choice/Addition for the A77!

VGC77AM 29/02/2012 by Jorito70 (USA)

The a77 felt great to begin, but wow what a handle I have on my camera now! It has been years since I used a grip so I wasn't sure I wanted to make the investment. But, I don't even consider taking it off the A77 now. Sony did a fantastic job on the design on this unit, Kudos! It fits perfectly to the camera. I was leery of having to take the battery door off, but it is designed to leave the door on as it fits into a slot without having to remove. Perfect! In the event you need to take it off you do not have to search for the misplaced battery door. Just take the unit off, close the battery door and carry on. Next, all of the function buttons work flawlessly. I think the button placement is better on the attachment than the camera. The additional battery capacity, battery not included, is great. It even enables the display to show both batteries and which one is in use. The battery tray is numbered (1) and (2) so if one battery needs charging and the other does not, you can tell which one to charge. The additional shutter button for vertical use, AWESOME, and it is perfectly placed! If you are shooting vertical, you already have muscle memory for the horizontal button, so you are not searching for the button hitting other stuff. Sweet! Although the unit adds a little weight to the camera, it is built solid. This is not an issue for me personally, I think it balances the unit. Probably at the low end of importance and also a personal observation only is I think it is aesthetically pleasing to my eye. It just looks like it belongs. The functionality of the unit justifies this purchase for me. It adds to in almost every way, yet takes away almost nothing for me. It is a little pricey, but I use it, and I like it!

30

0

0

Great Addition To The Sony SLT-A77VQ

VGC77AM 26/11/2011 by Kevinzilla (USA)

This comfortable vertical battery grip is intended for use with the Sony Alpha SLT-A77VQ Camera... It is very comfortable and fits into hand very easily... Gasket sealed to prevent dust and moisture... Controls and buttons are easily accessed and in reach for greater comfort... Vertical grip holds up to two (2) NP-FM500H Info Lithium Batteries and can achieve close to 1100 images on a full charge... This is a great item for continuous shooting without having to replace batteries as much... The only one flaw I have, if you plan on not using the buttons and controls on the grip for a long period of time, please make sure to power off the grip because it will drain batteries if it is always on... You can still use the grip while the power is set to off, just not the controls and buttons... The grip will still provide power to the SLT-A77VQ when the power switch is set to off... Besides this issue, it is a very handy and useful item for the Sony SLT-A77VQ... The Sony brand-name is the reason I gave it a five (5) star rating because I am very happy with it's performance... I Would highly recommend this item to anyone who wants extra power for extended shooting...

51

1