136

4.6 based on 136 customer reviews

96
31
5
2
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

sony a7 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Body Only 04/06/2014 by paul01071968 (United Kingdom)

i bought my a7 to replace my sony a850 mainly because of the weight difference and i was blowen away with the picture quality and the realy impresive video the fact i can use all my a mount lens with a lea 4 adaptor ment i did not have to go out and replace all my lens the build quality like all the sony cameres i own is realy good the menu system is very easy to use the camera is a quality piece of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

it is not what i expected from camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 31/03/2015 by Bato (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

it has problem with focus. the camera is freezing a lot of time. need to switch off/on to start to use again.

10

2

137 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Though camera

Body Only 13/02/2018 by om2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an expedition leader and this camera follow me around the planet from the Baja desert, patagonia rain forest and Scandinavian winter, this camera performs well at -30c

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Experienced Sony Digital Photographer

Body Only 09/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Exp Comp scale is out of the focus range of the diopter. Shutter butter is difficult to locate especially in portrait mode, is too low resulting in missed shots. Three dials not easy to locate and turn. C2 button is out of the way Battery size and access is poor.Shutter slap too loud for wildlife photography. Mains adapter is expensive. Control dial too easily moved by accident as us C1 button under the Exp Comp dial. Good AEL and AF function when MF is configured on down lever position. Good solid construction, feel, size and weight, screen and tilt. Good display options, mode dial and Customise buttons. Good Apps and Remote connectivity. Great pictures. Overall the control aspects of the A7 are the most disappointing of all the Sony cameras I have owned(and of my Leica Cameras too) and the out of focus Exp Comp scale looks like a cpnstruction fault.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent Quality Shots in the right light

Body Only 23/01/2018 by Cally429 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used at a Nephews wedding on its first outing. The wedding was in winter so light was an issue. The kit lens, it came with, suffered because of the limited f stop, but I didn't realise that the ISO range was so wide on automatic that the camera fooled me into believing I could get away with it. The consequences are a number blurred or noisy shots. The outside shots were crisp and sharp, so I can't blame the camera, it was obviously the user. I'm looking forward to using it in better light conditions and obviously getting to know it better. It looks beautiful and is very light and compact for a full frame. I just wished it had a bit of fill in flash, or a mini flash like the OMDs. I note the flash unit is expensive for what it is. I may consider the faster 50mm standard lens for the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Camera....glad l bought it

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 18/01/2018 by Jcody (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for only a few weeks but so far l am very pleased with it. Nice size, good functions and excellent picture quality. Main draw back is battery life but all in all l am happy with this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2018 by KeithManchesterUk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to practice doing portrait and wedding photography and as a backup travel camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb build, functionality and handling

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 04/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I realise this product is now 4 years old and the technology has progressed but a fantastic product now at a great price point too. Superb build, handling, design, results and packaging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03/01/2018 by Pod62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been used other camera brands for years but finally got around toi get a Sony A7. All I can say is that is faster, the image quality is great. It has the best dynamic range in any camera I've had before.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great cameras

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 20/12/2017 by Gerry111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month ago and this camera works very well. The full-frame picture is really good to show what you see.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera :)

Body Only 19/12/2017 by Jay F (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to use and excellent build quality. A great all round camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

found it

Body Only 17/12/2017 by Marcmarc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally a digital camera that replicates analogue. I'm used to 35mm film and would only make the switch to digital when I find the digital that shoots authentic looking film. And this is it, I use with Zeiss vintage glass. I have had this camera for a few weeks and it's been superb for winter landscape, nature shots. I love how this is hands on, with control dials on top of the camera, rather than pushing buttons. Perfect for my needs and will upgrade to sony A9 when I got as much use out this as possible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera!

Body Only 16/12/2017 by worldtraveler123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Images my first outing with the camera was on a work trip to Asia and it performed great!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture quality!

Body Only 16/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good picture quality, bad battery life and no touchscreen. The menu system takes some time to get used to.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony A7

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 15/12/2017 by Steve t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent well built product, great picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 15/12/2017 by Henrique dArce (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good camera, but the menus are a somewhat complicated, it takes a while to get used

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera for the price

Body Only 09/12/2017 by pfernand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fast focus, real live colors, good image quality (better in RAW), nice build, very good electronic viewfinder, good image with high ISO.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact powerful full-frame camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07/12/2017 by Lukie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This mirrorless camera is superb product! It is indded great balance between models a7r and a7s. Captures FHD clear videos and you can enjoy full-frame sensor taking great quality pictures. Festures on this camera are amazing. You can take full control of the camera in any way and adjust every aspect. Battery life is not so good, however you can get a set of spare ones and you can charge your camera with your power bank anywhere. I’m very happy with this product. It’s light, perfect for traveling, powerful, delicate with great design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What a picture!

Body Only 07/12/2017 by Workman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a few weeks ago to upgrade from an APS-C Sony, this camera produces an even better quality photo. Excellent features, easy to use and rugged.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little big camera

ilce7b 22/11/2017 by Hal67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera in April after purchasing 2 Canons and returning them. I explained to the salesman that I shoot sunrises and sunsets, and I need a camera that is good in low light(which the Canons were not) and the a7 filled the bill.I'm very happy with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy to use. Lots of features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 19/11/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to get a full frame mirrorless camera that was portable, easy to use and produced great pictures. Having had Sony cameras before and currently using tho RX 100 as my compact camera I knew the picture quality would be great. The menu is easy to navigate and options seen endless. The transfer feature is still a great option. Although having to use an on-board application to use the remote option is a little cumbersome. Having it as a menu option like it is on the RX models is much better. Overall I'm very pleased with the camera and the results I've got so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Couldn't be happier

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03/11/2017 by gwtog (United Kingdom)

The A7 was my first leap into the world of full frame cameras. It's easy to use, intuitive, well designed and feature rich. Even in challenging situations, this camera is robust and delivers high quality images every time. Very happy with my purchase and would recommend to anyone considering it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Full-Frame Camera for beginners, period!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 29/10/2017 by jmrthms (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera, the full frame capabilities are amazing. I am very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love it!

Body Only 03/10/2017 by Lorriiee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera a month ago and I love it! The only thing I miss it's the image stabilisation but I do just static videos so it's fine :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera and great size

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 21/09/2017 by stmcd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my DSLR as I wanted something more compact but with similar or better image quality. Initially looked at a few options until I came across the A7 with its full frame sensor; the full frame sensor immediately caught my attention. I went and had a look/play about with it at my local camera shop and was sold on it immediately; feels good in the hand, well balanced, and the image quality is very very good. Overall very happy with it and will now need to save up and build up a selection of lenses for it; bought with kit 28-70mm which is a good lens for a kit lens as well as a 50mm. Great value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

No Limitation except me

Body Only 16/09/2017 by The Mountain Photographer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a long time user of Olympus cameras starting from the E-1. Just love the colour rendition. Sadly, the love affair came to an end because the sensors are lacking - I push my files quite a bit and the Olympus sensors go noisy very quickly. I don't like Canon or Nikon colour output either and the Canon sensors are also woefully lacking in dynamic range with very noisy shadows. After months of thought and research I decided to go with the Sony A7. I am not disappointed. The dynamic range is huge, the colour rendition not that far from Olympus the AF is fast enough for my purposes. The body is amazingly small and light and the "kit" lens just puts other "kit" lenses to shame. It is a really excellent performer. The RAW files are just amazingly plastic. Wonderful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

sony a7 mirrorless !

Body Only 13/09/2017 by Caferacer 1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product over a year ago, switched from cannon . I'm not totally convinced that I made the right decision. I've taken some great shots with this camera and it's associated Sony Zeiss lenses . Down sides for me 1 .lack of battery life 2 . back vew screen size 3 . there's a small amount of play between the lens and the body ( all my lenses are Sony Fe } Upside for me 1 .size 2 .weight

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Lightweight and small but big performance

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 05/09/2017 by One F (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My main cameras are a Nikon D7200 and D750 the latter produces superb results, but with a batter pack and zoom it is heavy. I have a Sony RX100 IV and that is very good for a pocket snap shot camera. I ready reviews about the Sony A7 and decided to give is a try. The results are outstanding, even with some vintage Minolta lenses attached. I am now selling my Nike D7200. If you want a light easy to carry full frame camera that can produce outstanding results this is the one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Built like a tank

Body Only 04/09/2017 by dkingdom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this sturdy, mirrorless, full frame camera. The kit lens is pretty good too. Feels good in the hand, navigation takes some getting used to but I'm coming from having Canons. Wish you didn't have to recharge the battery through the camera. Takes ages too. Generally very happy though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic spec in an affordable package

Body Only 23/08/2017 by pmpphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still working my way through the features having moved from Canon 5D111's after my retirement. Get a Zeiss T* lens and this is a stunning piece of kit. I downsized due to my back pain problems and this is just perfect. The ergonomics of the camera are taking a little to get used to after the space and size of a full size SLR, but the quality of the files it is producing have alone me away. Very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic full frame mirrorless camera.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 11/08/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is exceptionally well built and the size is amazing for a full frame camera. It is compact, sturdy and a dream to use. I bought this camera in particular for portrait and landscape although it is excellent with whichever lens you use. It is a first for a mirrorless frame camera and Sony have got it spot on. An appropriate adapter enables the use of a multitude of lenses and opens up a whole new world of photographic opportunity. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I am new to the Sony but i like what I've got

Body Only 30/07/2017 by ags2017 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product i am well pleased with my Sony a7 camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fantastic quality and easy to use

Body Only 23/06/2017 by jde64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using a 1 2/3 sensor camera for year I wanted a full frame camera so bought the Sony, I am very pleased with the results, the picture quality is amazing and the camera is very easy to use, it has enough features to satisfy anyone but if you want to use it manually as I do it's very easy, the live view viewfinder is brilliant and does exactly what your shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7 from Canon 5D

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 19/06/2017 by Emrad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Part exchanged a Canon 5D II for this. Big difference in weight and lens combination- so I am able to carry it on long treks without any problems. The display is smaller and not bright. The electronic viewfinder is not great either- but the ability to see same information as the back screen is a bonus. The control wheels and customisable buttons are good easily reachable. The menu system is not as bad as it is reputed to be. The layout out is intuitive and logical. Glad I made the switch. The 28-70 is nearly as sharp as the Canon 24-105L it replaced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

my first full frame camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 18/06/2017 by JB Newcastle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera 2x weeks ago from a retailer shop in Kendal, so I've not had a big lot of use from, but so so good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony - α7 E-mount Camera with Full Frame Sensor

Body Only 14/06/2017 by phylpot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good design,well thought out controls and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camera with Full Frame Sensor without being weight

Body Only 09/06/2017 by Trebor 3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

just getting back into photography with great expectations

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera but needs XAVC-S codec

Body Only 23/05/2017 by Jimbly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for work - still images and video.. and it's the video that needs the firmware updated to include the XAVC-S codec. The processor is capable of handing it - so why leave it out?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Solid performance ease of use

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 12/05/2017 by Trev 39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as I always wanted full frame performance. Wow great product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent value full frame camera

Body Only 09/04/2017 by Zakk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to use with my legacy Olympus OM lenses. A perfect partnership. The magnified view as a focus aid is fantastic and the results are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Light, compact for perfect performance.

Body Only 02/04/2017 by Link17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera more than 3 months ago and i feel very happy. It's easy to use and the performance is amazing. I sold my ex Dslr for this mirrorless and I'm happy for my choice. If you want change, change whit sony a7!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great customizability & image quality

Body Only 25/03/2017 by Ming72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade from a Sony Nex 6. I love my Nex - which I will still be using for less critical work & as a backup - but I have been wanting to go full-frame for a few reasons. As I am about to go professional I needed a camera with higher performance & low light capabilities. So far the α7 has been excellent, I can't fault the image quality. And the level of customization of the many buttons & dials is incredibly useful in tailoring the camera to your shooting style. An unexpected & very welcome bonus was how much easier it is to focus when using legacy manual lenses, compared to using the same lenses on the Nex.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good sensor, processing & color not adequate

Body Only 15/03/2017 by lepborzoi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Canon and Nikons both have superior processing software post sensor and both are color truer. I was disappointed in this full frame..sensor is okay but Sony is way behind in all the other attributes. I actually shoot a suite of Canon FD film lenses via adapters manually to make the workarounds work. Your camera is behind Canon and my nikon d4 by a mile..I can make it work to max the sensor but a lot of workarounds are necessary. You know how to make sensors but not how to process or autofocus or have true color nearly as well as either Canon or Nikon.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Great camera easy to use

Body Only 18/01/2017 by Malcolmh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the camera for a few weeks and am very impressed with the quality of the camera. Feels solid and substantial, all controls fall easily to hand and it has delivered some fantastic shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

SIMPLY THE VERY BEST.

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 16/01/2017 by CHRIS24FRAMES (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Another fantastic Sony full frame camera that ticks all the boxes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony A7

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 01/01/2017 by nala64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought my camera about 2 months ago and cant get over ow good it is fits my hand perfect infact its never out it now over 5k piture taken already people say its hard to use not any harder than any other camera mirroless or dslr not going into all the tec stuff as not needed the camera does what it says and does it very well happy happy photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Best thing i ever did

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 23/11/2016 by TimmB15 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mirror less is the way to go, compact , light, have used in the wet with on problems, i like that i can use high iso's with very little noise, like all the information available to me in the view finder. Kit lens is of a good quality, use it 80% of the time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

1

0

I love it so will you

Body Only 31/10/2016 by Branco1971 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this after having the a6000, I was super impressed with the a6000 but needed a full frame as myvwirkbas a photographer was increasing and I needed to up my game with a full frame. Wow is all I can say the picture quality is great. It's functions are easy to use even one handed. It's an amazing piece of equipment well worth the money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Produces great images.

Body Only 03/09/2016 by Ben_14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Once I had got used to handling the camera and learning how to obtain the best results I have never looked back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing upgrade from Canon 50d

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 22/08/2016 by Superstafik (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am over the moon with this camera. You have to know your needs and the type of photographer you are before making up your mind when you change the camera. Not only all the general superb features of this camera you can find in all specification description but I also want to concentrate on some of the facts and features I have particularly enjoyed since picking up the camera. First of all I am a fan of HDR photography and the built-in system in Sony a7 is just Amazing. Some other digital effects features are also a great addon. Ease of use of the camera is exceptional. It probably took me 3 days to get used to the buttons and it's facilities. If people have reservations about battery life... well: Get a second battery or only use a viewfinder! And comparing to my bigger Canon Sony is really not that noisy. Kit lens is also worth the price. The most amazing benefit of this camera, and I can't stress is enough, is it's size and it trumps minor issues you can find online about this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Images in a lightweight body

Body Only 29/07/2016 by muies69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best camera i have every owned. so many easy to use features and short cut buttons. The lens that comes with the camera is great don't be told you need a better lens i think the only lens better is the sony zeiss 55mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Value, rigid build, function design.

Body Only 25/07/2016 by Rupert1119 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, a lot of helpful features, clean internal design, very good ergonomics despite of what most reviews say(wide hands, short fingers). The glass is good (but it will become large and bulku if you're into pro zooms (g master 24-70), which still gives you an option to break it down for easier bag packing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

As a full frame camera it is ideal for potraits.

Body Only 16/07/2016 by Shogun66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

as a small camera it punches way over its weght extremely happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Best Camera I've used in a long time.

Body Only 15/06/2016 by Joshyyeezzz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always been a Pentax Guy but when my gear got damaged I thought why not change. Working in a camera shop in Barnstaple Uk I get to see all upcoming cameras and Sony a7 has been my favourite all together. Image quality is super sharp and crisp, colours are bright and the depth of field you can get is amazing. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who is thinking about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Upgrade from Nex-7

Body Only 29/05/2016 by Jolyon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decided to upgrade from Nex-7, and found the Alpha 7 to be the obvious choice. This was aided by the fact that I had some A-mount lenses that I wished to be able to use, so bought the LA Ea4 as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Lens versitality

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 27/05/2016 by joby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still learning but so far so good . Needs assistance in addition to the manual to get the best out of.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great cameras

Body Only 23/04/2016 by jayneil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A7 its so good excellent quality, excellent pictures, and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony a7

Body Only 03/04/2016 by xemxia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

stepped up the a77ii which is a great camera but this whole new ball game well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice design and spec but costly lenses

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 31/03/2016 by APR9999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The design and specification of this camera is excellent. However, after hours of research, I realised that lenses (to take advantage of the full frame sensor) are very expensive and, unlike other brands, there aren't good alternatives from 3rd party lens manufacturers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great features!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 04/03/2016 by danbar67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a compact, full frame mirror less camera. This is perfect!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 09/02/2016 by Kazoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always wanted a good, mid range camera for night photography and all round quality photos. I asked at my local photo store which camera is good and they suggested the Sony A7. After much research, 2 weeks ago i bought the A7 and was not disappointed. Sharp photos, great at low light and small and light makes it easy to carry and use outside. The kit lens is good for a starter but I can't wait to buy a good, wide lens for the nights sky and a good prime. Sony have made a lovely, high quality camera and i am so, so happy i took the advice and bought one, its the best camera i have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fall in love with taking photographs again

Body Only 01/02/2016 by Maclaren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use my Sony A7 in mainly manual mode with legacy lenses that mean manual focussing, it gets me so much more involved in the process of taking pictures, rather than just point, bang, take a picture!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A great camera to use.

Body Only 28/01/2016 by Old geezer 68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a great camera in the short time that I have been using it.It is balanced for handling in all positions .All controls are easy to use.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great little full-frame camera at a great price!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2016 by David in Northeast (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this with the 28-70mm kit lens. I have a full-sized, full frame camera with a professional (big and heavy) lens and was tired carrying it in the heat on a visit to China. I wanted a full-frame camera that was smaller and lighter to carry around but would give me quality pictures, hence the purchase of the Sony a7. As I am used to cameras allowing such a combination of settings, it wasn't difficult to find my way around the Sony a7. I love the custom buttons but more so the Fn button which gives me immediate access to a range of settings of my choice. On using the camera's wifi to transfer 31 photos to my phone, I was blown away at the speed they transferred; literally a few seconds! Incredible! I like the fact they transfer at 2Mb/photo thus saving valuable space on your phone. However, you do have the option to send full-size photos but you'd need a phone with a lot of storage. If you are new to photography or to this kind of camera, take your time reading the on-line manual which you can download to your lap-top, computer etc as you will get so much more out of this camera. Loving it so far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The A7 went beyond my expectations

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 26/12/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Previous cameras in order NEX5, NEX5N, NEX7 and NEX6. I still have the NEX6 as I liked everything about that camera. I have full frame SLRs, APSC's, Four Thirds sensor cameras and wanted to try Sony's Fullframe compact. I deliberately waited until now for any new product issues to be addressed and cost to plateau. I love the form, although took a little time to get used to the shutter button position, which has now moved on the mk2 models. I have now settled on how to comfortably holding the camera. The EVF is as really as good as anything I have seen on any other camera, clear, large and bright with all the shooting info to hand on screen. The rear screen is the same in terms of quality although I have fitted a matt screen protector which I do to all my cameras out of preference. Image quality is very very good, I now have the high ISO set to 'off' as I like to deal with any image noise myself. Images contain a huge amount of detail as expected from 24Mp cameras. The benefits of full frame are there, with huge dynamic range and the ability to have lovely shallow depth of field if wanted. Higher ISO images were initially of concern with heavy noise reduction being applied as standard. Images above as low as 800iso had loss of detail due to the 'standard' noise reduction being a little heavy. My camera had firmware 2.00 installed that had additional choices of noise reduction available. Setting this to low improved low light images but using 'off' was my preference. High ISO was overall better than I was expecting and compared to other very good cameras in this respect such as my Nikon D610. At ISO 3200 and above there was about 1/2 a stop difference in image noise in favour of the Nikon, so that is really good in my opinion. I have saved images that I have been pleased with up to ISO 4000 and would print up to 6400 up to A3 size, once worked on just a little bit. The camera has all the nice extras for people that use them, I like and use the panorama feature but there are also scene modes available. I normally shoot in Aperture mode but I have moved to Manual mode due to a 'quirk' with shutter speeds. There is not the option to choose a minimum shutter speed, as there is on other high end cameras - Nikon, Olympus, Fuji etc. The Sony A7 like others in the range shoots at a preferred minimum of 1/60th second and only goes slower once your ISO ceiling has been reached. With a stabilised lens or the 28mm prime that coule be faster than necessary and as a result cause loss of image quality due to the camera using higher ISO's to keep the image properly exposed. I can only guess 1/60th was chosen as it is a 'safe' shutter speed for general use. A quick example using Aperture mode with my 28mm lens at F4 aperture the camera defaults to 1/60th second shutter speed and an ISO of 3200 for my chosen image. If I move to manual mode and set 1/25th second and F4, as my image is static, the camera onlt needs to use ISO 1250 and the image is improved with less noise and more detail. It is my only real niggle with this otherwise superb camera but one potential owners who like to use Program mode or Aperture mode need to be aware of. No minimum shuuter speed option is a rather suprising omission. Another way I have tried to get around the no min shutter speed was to buy the HVL-F20M flash, not to be reviewed here, but it is nice and small, easy to use, has a built in bounce feature that I have used extensively. A built in small flash would have been great for fill flash and candid front room family shots as fitting the flash increases the camera size and takes away from spontaneous moments. I guess there is just not the physical room to have everything on a camera of this size, oh well. I recommend the camera to a rather wide spectrum of potential users from novices wanting to move on and up - they can use the auto features and scene modes and progress as they like. I recommend it also to amatuers and all the way up to professional photographers who work out in the field due to its small size and light weight. A caveat on that is to keep size down the battery has a small capacity and you will need a spare. Third party higher powered batteries are available but it would be nice if Sony provided a higher powered battery option. I could write a whole pages more but will end it here. Suffice to say that I am very pleased with my purchase and I am very much looking forward to using the camera more and exploring more of its options and capabilites.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

SONY THE INNOVATORS

Body Only 20/10/2015 by ABEY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think that the anti moire filter is reducing the sharpness of the photograph and wish that the filter could be removed can this be done?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

1

0

The Sony A7 . Big Pictures from a small Body !

Body Only 07/10/2015 by dont have one Paul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned a Sony A 7 camera for 2 weeks , and have nearly got the feel of it .Not bad ! For a sophisticated digital SLR. The A7 is well thought out , and the function controls are positive and straight forward . Love the exposure compensation dial.The greatest feature for me is the choice of lenses, that can be used with it, I have Minolta/ sony alpha lenses Sigma 10-20mm lens, Leica R lenses , Pentax M42mm lenses and a Novoflex 400mm lens .All can be made with adapters to work with it., Movies as well. I already have a Sony Handicam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony A7

Body Only 03/10/2015 by Phil W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality of the A7 is apparent the moment you pick it up. Controls feel like they are built to last and the overall specification is excellent. The bundled 28-70mm Sony lens produces excellent results combined with the camera's high res senor. The price is very decent too. Plus the camera is about a third the weight of a typical full frame DSLR. The only downside I can see is unlike most classic DSLR the Sony A7 camera does not have a mirror. This means when you change a lens the senor is exposed to the environment. For this reason Sony recommend you change lens indoors in a dust free space. It's not an issue for me as the 28-70mm lens is for my needs. But it's a limitation that may concern some.

2

0

0

Good features and build quality++

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 27/09/2015 by fiftysixa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good compact and light weight camera, which feels solidly build and has a good feature set. The only criticisms would be that it is slow to auto focus and battery life could be better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 25/09/2015 by Manphibian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply the best thing I've ever bought. I've had a lot of cameras in the last 2 years trying to find my perfect camera... Happy to say I've found it... Amazing quality, unbelievably small and such a great price. Anyone thinking about getting this camera, just do it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great image quality!

Body Only 16/09/2015 by darkzbaron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the camera for little bit more than one year and I am extremely satisfied. Indeed, I was looking for something portable without compromising with image quality. This perfectly fits the bill ,I have been able to take the camera with me all my trips while shooting at the highest quality. I can only recommend this camera, it misses a few features and I think the connectivity over Wi-Fi is a little bit too complicated. On top of that, it is impossible to change the language having both my camera in Japan this is really annoying.This highlights the fact that although the hardware is great, the software is sometimes a little short of expectations..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review of Sony alpha 7

Body Only 13/09/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is superb and I am very happy with it. I have a problem with being unable to download the latest firmware - the website is not easy to follow. The kit lens is not up to the quality of the camera - serious barrel distortion at the wide angle end.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

On the way towards perfection

Body Only 12/09/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a tripod user shooting landscapes, not needing IBIS and not printing large, this is still my first choice. Small, light and with a wonderful sensor giving wide dynamic range. Plus, it's a great platform for using legacy manual focus lenses with. However:- It should have a more robust base mount and lens mount...(sorted on the MkII) I'd prefer a multi angle and larger LCD, there is room for at least a 3.2". I wish I could record in EXIF which legacy lens I used for each shot. AWB with non native lenses is poor (coming from Canon 5DII). You do need a good user guide to get your head round all the custom setting options. (I use G. Friedman's) Yet even with these failings it is still my favourite camera. (I may be tempted by the A7rII when prices have fallen...a lot, though it is 151g heavier.)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0