Skip to Content
74

4.5 based on 74 customer reviews

52
14
4
0
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera!!!

Body Only 20/07/2014 by Lacroix (USA)

Although not perfect but I'm happy to replace my Nikon D800E. I love the ease of use and the light weight aspect of this camera. I've been a Nikon user for 15 plus years and was really skeptical in switching to the Sony A7r. Before selling my beloved Nikon D800E, I did few comparison shoots and found that the only thing going for Nikon was their lens selection, other than that, the A7r was light, as sharp, cheaper, and for me, the video quality was better. Sony wins here but let's hope they have some native Ultra-wide glass for landscapes like a 14-24mm f2.8 soon...

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Handling

ILCE-7R 25/03/2015 by chansan (United Kingdom)

Best experience ever, great image quality in a small body

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

75 Customer Reviews

0

Great Versatility

ILCE-7R 31/08/2017 by Sidlee (USA)

I use a 18-70 ( wish it was 18-105) lens for casual shooting but depend on the 24-240 zoom for demanding situations. I easily adapt other good lenses, even manual focuses, from other brands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Extremely Helful Features

Body Only 29/08/2017 by Sidlee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I keep three Alpha models. On different occasions I use the 5100, the 6000 and the 7R for more critical work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very versatile lens companion.

ILCE-7R 22/08/2017 by Wee Peem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera body two weeks ago. I use it with the lens adapter LA-EAF lens adapter as I have a number of Minolta and Konica Minolta A series auto lenses,together with a number of Sony E- mount lenses.I find that it is excellent with wide angle lenses. This is the best camera that I have purchased.The build quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning image quality

ILCE-7R 03/07/2017 by Aurbey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera can take your photograph to another level paired with a Sony G lens the images are spectacular

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant SONY Upgrade

ILCE-7R 21/06/2017 by aw93L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Second camera purchase, second Sony. This camera was unrivalled in it's size. If you are going to shoot amateur portraits it is often good to be discrete. The A7 allows me to do this. To move about in crowded spaces, shoot around businesses (with the owners permission) and get the highest resolution images. Since purchase, i have shot portraits while holding a light source. Great stabilisation! Since purchase i have shot animals (butterfly house) and very fast shutter speeds and 2500+ ISO without any sacrifice on quality. With more compatible lenses i have toured my city to test it out on buildings, street scenes and architecture. HDR mode and flicking into it super quick has been very useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb camera. Very well built.Great detail

ILCE-7R 10/02/2017 by fish1965 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Early days but all seems good. Love the menus also use my Nikon lenses which is ideal..LOVE IT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Full Frame but a loud shutter

Body Only 22/01/2017 by hhhhh430us (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great full frame sensor with small size body. Just the shutter is too loud. I also have A5000 body and that one sounds good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features.

Body Only 18/12/2016 by DrDave43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camera for some time and not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

a very gread camera

Body Only 26/11/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this a week age and so very happy that is picture clearly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Quality

ILCE-7R 22/11/2016 by Tiny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced Nikon with Mirrorless and so glad I did reduced the weight and complexity of my camera gear added ability to use legacy lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

BRICKED! - Tanked a Travel Production--

Body Only 28/09/2016 by Thundergod (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera Sensor Shutter permanently closed. Fatal. Camera Errors out. Sometimes won't respond to power switch. The support page tells you to remove battery for 24 hours and then "try again"? This happened in the middle of a Shoot -- Killed our project, destroyed the Location Shoot. I've only powered this camera on for a few test runs and setups -- maybe under 10 hours of actual "ON" time-- Now I find this is a VERY COMMON FAILURE, that has occurred for multiple generations and YEARS. I babied these Cameras - We purchased 4 A7rii for a VR RIG...Now I seriously doubt the other 3.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

So many promises to many problems

ILCE-7R 20/05/2016 by Mackattack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my a7r for just under a year and for the money I payed I expect things to be working fine . But it was not to be. First the camera says that the lens is not attach propely and the screen was going black and interference ocurring on screen . In cold conditions I would have to switch it on and off to get it to work propaly missing photo opportunities in the prosess

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great Quality Images

ILCE-7R 18/05/2016 by revdavephotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to add full frame capability to my Sony A6300 and to replace my Canon 6D.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

At the new price, very good value

ILCE-7R 17/05/2016 by Bazza2 (United Kingdom)

I had one of the original A7s - could not stretch to the A7R at the time - and was very happy with it. I P/Xd it for the A7M2 and have been delighted with this for the past year - the Steadyshot function is excellent. However, I recently decided to add this to my collection and after the first month I am delighted with it. When working on a tripod it is absolutely superb - the detail of macro shots is what I value most and in this I am not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Focus Zoom

ILCE-7R 09/04/2016 by Artographer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love using the focus peaking and the focus zooming which I have programmed to the C1 button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superb image quality that needs quality lenses

ILCE-7R 10/03/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the first time I have purchased a camera without having any native lenses to use on it. I have an adapter to use Canon L lenses. The results are very impressive. Detail on the photographs is great. The camera really does need quality lenses to get the best out of the sensor. My cheaper Canon lenses are just not good enough. And you need to slow down to get the best out of the camera too. The menus take a bit of getting used to. Setting up the camera does take s bit of time. File sizes are large and will eat up disk space very quickly. Auto focus is not great using the adapter but manual focusing is great and is easily achieved. I intend to use the camera for still life, studio and landscape work. I have not used the cameras tilt screen as yet. The camera is a lot smaller than my Canon 5D mark 2 but it does not feel as robust. I'll have to see how it takes knocks and tumbles over the coming months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Great camera

ILCE-7R 05/02/2016 by DoctorChris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this camera, its even better than the A6000 i already have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Features

ILCE-7R 17/11/2015 by abcd199 (United Kingdom)

Great camera, love the handling and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A Bit Of A Disappointment

ILCE-7R 20/10/2015 by Seawolf (United Kingdom)

I've had the camera now for a few weeks, but it has not seen a lot of use. Reason for this is that there are no software discs supplied with the camera, and no comprehensive user's manual. All this has to be downloaded from the internet, but this is not possible in my case as I am running Windows 10 in my computer and the Sony downloads seem to be not compatible with Windows 10, so I can't get the software for the camera into my computer. I have also had to buy an aftermarket user's guide due to this problem. I have managed to get the camera working in basic modes, but I know it can do so much more which hopefully I'll get to when I get my instruction book. Image quality seems to be good, and I have managed to get my collection of treasured old lenses working on the camera via adapters. I think I may be happy with the camera eventually, but so far the experience has been a bit of an anti climax.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

15

0

What a camera!

ILCE-7R 14/09/2015 by Aconka (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a professional photographer for some years now, and I have had the luck to work with some of the best cameras on the market such as Canon 5D's and Nikons D800's etc. The problem I find with these camera's is the colour reproductions of the system, Canons are very warm leaving skin tunes very pasty warm and Nikons very called and blue which can be a nightmare when white balancing the camera. What I adore about the Sony A7R is the colour tunes of the system. Sony have really pushed the boundaries of colour and censer production. I really do believe the A7R is one of the best camera on the market. The 36MP is astonishing, the sharpness is breathtaking. This camera is a true workhorse. I have worked with this camera on documentary assignments from sub zero conditions to heat weaves 40 plus this camera just works and works. If you are looking to buy A7R or any Sony A7 system, don't think about it just do it. you wont go back!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Not happy!

ILCE-7R 07/07/2015 by UK_PHS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my camera in June 2015 and have not used it a huge amount, 300 photographs at most. Two days ago I had arranged a surprise 80 birthday party for my mother. I was unable to take a single photograph due to an error - Camera Error Turn Power Off The On. This I did. Even replaced the battery, left it without a battery for a while. Nothing. Luckily my wife had her 6 year old Nikon with her.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

ilce7rb 10/06/2015 by carrierejonathan (USA)

5

4

0

Support is awful

Body Only 15/05/2015 by Phil28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In the case of this camera, go to U-Tube to use its features Sony manuals tell you what the knobs and buttons do U-tube tells you how to use them. A real let down Sorry - You asked

1

11

0

Stunning images created by the SonyA7r

Body Only 04/05/2015 by Cooper53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I made this purchase. In conjunction with my Leica lenses this camera makes great images!

0

0

0

Superb quality

ILCE-7R 04/05/2015 by minfansony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the A7R to complement my A7II, got to admit I prefer using this over the A7II, even though it doesn't have IS. The quality of results you get if you work carefully is amazing, you need to make sure your camera in on a tripod or decent shutter speed and focus is critical, but the excellent Focus Peaking takes care of that. Being able to move the screen to a horizontal position is a great feature, especially for low shots. I'm starting to get used to electronic viewfinder, rather than optical, being able to see your images displayed in the viewfinder is great on a bright day. Also having the spirit level in the viewfinder is great too. Just a shame you can miss items in shadows when the light is bright compared to an optical one, plus you have to have the camera switched on to see anything. Shame the shutter speed is only 1.5fps (I know it has 4 fps but without focus/exposure) and as I use bracketing, can slow things down a bit, but still no deal breaker, I'm used to medium format. Not a big fan of the side doors, very difficult to open with gloves on, prefer the type on my old A850. Also the 2 custom buttons are a little on the small side and difficult to get to when the camera is held up to your face. Prefer the front and rear dials on this camera compared to the A7II though, nice size, nice feel. I use this camera with the LA-EA3 in manual focus mode, as its so easy to focus with the said focus peaking. Works great with my Alpha lenses such as the 16-35mmf2.8 and the 70-300mm G, no drop off in quality at the edges, which I was concerned about. I like the way this camera makes me think about each shot and slows me down to makes sure I get the best result. Take your time and you'll get some amazing images that you'd only get with medium format for a fraction of the cost.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

DSLR Contender

ILCE-7R 03/05/2015 by Balthazar001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the A7R two months ago. Very pleased with the ease of menu, controls customisation and image quality great. Now converted to mirrorless design I got the A7 as a backup and not disapointed with this model either..........can not say no more Great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The most useful camera I have ever purchased

ILCE-7R 13/04/2015 by ViktorD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is actually my second A7r. This camera has single handedly restored the passion in photography for many photographers. I also have the new Sony 24-240mm zoom lens, and that combination is what I carry with me everywhere. But what is utterly amazing is that you can, literally, mount ANY old lens on this camera body. I'm having such fun using my old lenses it's not true. So I give it a huge thumbs u.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Third Time Lucky!

ILCE-7R 08/04/2015 by kensom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is it. Seriously I have had this camera model twice before. I've had a Nikon 810 and a Fujifilm X-T1 in between times. Lack of extensive lens line-up and frustration with slow delivery of the FE 70-200 made me throw in the towel. But...I missed my A7R deeply, the ability to carry it around without concern in comparison to a dslr, as well comparing the images taken with the X-T1 and the A7R. Mmm... Yes, I know we all complain about loud shutters and shutter shock, but I have learnt to accomodate these little peccadillos - they're part of the A7R character. So, am I now a Sony fanboy? I'm guessing I am and have ordered an A7II to clinch my status. Am I stupidly impatient - probably. Do I enjoy using the A7r - absolutely!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great Camera let down by things that can be easy s

ILCE-7R 26/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not good battery life, write time onto fast sd cards slow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Handling

ILCE-7R 25/03/2015 by chansan (United Kingdom)

Best experience ever, great image quality in a small body

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Travelling Landscape Photographers Dream Camera

ILCE-7R 05/03/2015 by G3WDL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera nearly a year ago and am now travelling the world for the next year. The A7r delivers the quality I am used to in a package that is small and light enough to be a joy to travel with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Camera!

Body Only 05/02/2015 by TheCameraManInJaxonville (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality is excellent. The only thing I would like to see is the ability to do more than 3 bracketed exposures because I do a lot of landscape HDR shots. I'm hoping for a firmware update for this. I also own the A6000 so between the 2 cameras, I can do most anything. I used to own a Canon 5DMarkiii so I am loving the small size of this camera!

3

0

0

Amazing Camera

Body Only 27/01/2015 by JKphoto (USA)

I have used this camera for a little over a year now and I still think it was one of the best purchases I have made.I have found no major issues with the camera. It works great from everything from street to HDR photography. Would highly recommend this and any of the alpha mirrorless cameras!

3

0

0

Excellent camera.

ILCE-7R 11/11/2014  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Full frame Sensor and the quality of the photographs are far better then my Nikon D90.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent camera, good price, unmissable gear.

ILCE-7R 10/11/2014 by Joas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm delighted to be able to use the D800E sensor with my Canon lenses, it is all that I was looking for. Unbelievable sharpness and image quality. Thanks Sony! Just a suggestion. Would be amazing if you guys could develop the smart remote control better, or maybe design a pro version for professionals, covering the same features that CamRanger does. CamRanger is the most powerful wireless remote available today, but unfortunately just for Nikon and Canon cameras, so, if you guys could give one step ahead and launch something even better for the pro Sony cameras, it would be very interesting for all photographer who already migrate from Canon/Nikon to Sony, and probable will be a green light to all who still thinking about the migration.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera, apart from the noise.

ILCE-7R 03/11/2014 by Jeff13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A really great camera, just a shame that the shutter makes such a loud noise, when the 7S is so quite.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High Calibre, but a couple of flaws

Body Only 16/10/2014 by CoastShooter (USA)

I was looking for a camera I could fit in a jacket pocket that had images that I could live with (I normally shoot a Canon 5D III and a PhaseOne with a Q140 back). The Alpha7R does a good job of providing respectable images, especially with the Zeiss lenses. The two draw backs are battery life and the delay between shots. The first can be dealt with using extra batteries. The second is a killer if shooting action shots.

7

0

0

After 15 years of Canon bodies, moved to Sony

Body Only 10/10/2014 by cca651 (USA)

As an 'enthusiast' as opposed to a 'pro' I can say that I have never enjoyed taking pictures as much as I do now with the A7R. The camera goes with me everywhere because it's not a burden to carry (so I take it along even on those days which don't necessarily feel like they might produce a photo op). I get better results from my Canon lenses now than I did when they were on Canon bodies, and with the 2 Zeiss lenses I own the results still amaze me. Love the EVF, the control layout and custom-ability. Would buy again in a heartbeat!

7

0

0

A Advance in Photography

ILCE-7R 07/10/2014 by chriscamera (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I classed myself as a 'Canon' man having used Canon cameras for sometime and having a bag full of high end Canon lenses. I decided to upgrade my camera, it having to be full frame and the obvious choice was a Canon 5D Mk III or 6D, since I would be able to use al my lenses, filters etc.. I read all the reviews and went to an exhibition and handed the cameras, but also visited a Sony stand to look at the A7R/A7, which were doing very well in reviews and would take my lenses. I then started to narrow down my buying criteria, to one of these excellent cameras, to my surprise I decided against the 5D and also the A7 mainly because the former in my opinion had a lot on it that I did not need as basically a landscape photographer (value for money?), and the latter is aimed at sport etc.. This left me with the 6D or the A7R, the A7R winning because it has a lot more pixels (yes I think it does matter in landscape), the camera is smaller and lighter (easier to cart around), has a lot of features which would be of use to me and last but not least I would be able to use my current lenses. After a month I am very pleased with the A7R, the picture quality is excellent, so good that cropped areas retain high detail in focus and colour. Once I had worked my way through the steep learning curve on the various buttons and menus the camera was easy to handle in the field. It is great to have both a high end view finder and a screen for composition. The facility to view what the picture will be captured as under different settings is a tremendous aid. I have yet to use my Canon lenses with the cameras and have only used the Zeiss 55mm with it, but will make further comments at a latter date when I have some experiences. I only have two criticisms - the instruction manual is not very helpful. - I don't seem to be able to take HDR raw sets to produce separate photos using a delayed shooting setup, allowing me to step away from the camera. (the camera does have auto HDR and more, but I like to combine photos in my computer software). - the camera shutters are very noisy. To sum up, a great camera. Yes it costs a fair amount, but you do get a camera that is very suited for landscape photography, portraiture, still life, macro and every thing bar sport and moving wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Finally, a Great Weight Has Been Lifted

Body Only 07/10/2014 by LarryW2EJ (USA)

I loved my traditional DSLR, but somehow I got older and the camera seemed to keep getting heavier on those long vacation days. I just couldn't do it any longer. When Sony came out with the NEX series, I bought the first model, the NEX5. My wife and I went to Europe and I lugged the big DSLR and I gave her the Sony and told her to just shoot a bunch of pictures, movies and panoramas. When we came home and I put all the pix on the computer, I was stunned by the quality of the Sony images. The NEX5 didn't have the versatility of the big DSLR, but the image quality was undeniable. I said that if Sony continues along these lines, that will be the way to go for me. They came out with the NEX7 and that was the camera that freed me from the big heavy DSLR. I was very happy with that one, and now the A7R, with a full frame sensor and 36 Megapixels no less, really outdoes them all. The A7R is very customizable and is a pleasure to use. The OLED viewfinder is spectacular and the versatility and sheer picture taking power of this new system makes me never wish I still had the old DSLR. This baby more than replaces it, and I can walk around all day long with this camera and never have any strain at all. It really is the next step in the high quality camera progression.

6

0

0

Simply A Fantastic Camera

Body Only 30/09/2014 by EFPhoto (USA)

After years of shooting with various Canon products (the latest a 5D Mk II) I was tired of watching all of the innovative companies (like Sony) come up with a barrage of cool products that pushed the envelope at every turn. Not to mention I was tired of carrying around 15lbs worth of gear around my neck. When you can equally as good of photos with lighter more nimble equipment. I was just about to pull the trigger on a MFT and was torn between Oly and Fuji. Then Sony announced this!!!! After a few prelim reviews and Sony's reputation I was sold! I sold ALL of my Cannon gear and the MFT Panny I was testing out. At first there was a shortage of lenses for the A7 series but all good things come to those who wait. More are being announced almost every few months. Right now I have all of the lenses I need (3) from Sony native and two off-brand lenses I use manually. I haven't looked back since making the move and have been overjoyed that I was able to do it! I have even had other die hard Nikon shooters ask to use my camera for a weekend so they can test it out. So far everyone that has used this camera has bought in as well! You will hear some people complain that there aren't enough lenses..I saw BS! Using these camera's in manual focus mode is as easy as it gets and these people are IMO lazy and haven't tried it yet. I was skeptical too but after trying it I was hooked...I find myself looking online for cheap old film lenses I can try on it just because they are soooo cheap...LOL! Probably one of the most important things is the IQ that these camera's produce! Initially I did a head to head comparison of this to my Canon 5D MKII and it blew the Canon out of the water...the Canon was absolute garbage! I could hardly believe it to be honest. I even sent images to friends to show them the comparison they were all shocked. The Sony beat the Canon in sharpness (no AA filter), color rendition and most of dynamic range!!!! Believe me when I saw it is very difficult to lose detail in a properly exposed photo using this camera. I have taken shots I thought were severely underexposed and got them in LR and bam a few adjustments all is good! I could go on and on about it but I think you get the picture I'm a fan..big time...LOL!

6

3

0

real innovation

Body Only 30/09/2014 by lenscap6 (USA)

I am extremely pleased with what this camera can do, the light weight and resolution; but like many others, I am very disappointed at the slow pace Sony / Zeiss are bringing out high quality prime lenses to match it. At this rate, by the time they actually do, the mainstream competition will have caught up and be releasing their own light weight 36 Mpixel versions, with a full spectrum of their own lenses. It is cumbersome always using an adaptor.

0

0

0

Landscape Photographers' Near Perfect Camera

Body Only 27/09/2014 by bpegadgets (USA)

First off, on the camera itself...I would rate at 5 stars but I gave 4 stars because of not having a very good lens selection yet. I shoot landscapes, fine art, still life, and some HDR work. I used to shoot with the Nikon D800 and I am getting better IQ out of the Sony A7r. The color and dynamic range seem to be about the same which is AMAZING! At first I had an issue with it's limited bracketing options, but after using it for awhile now I've realized that I don't need anymore than what it gives me because of the very high dynamic range. I shoot mostly on a tripod so super fast focusing isn't an issue for me but if you are a wedding or event photographer you would be better off getting the A7, A6000, or the higher end DSLR options. I don't really care for the menu button being on the left side. I also which they would have added an extra function button on the front near the lens like how the Nikon DOF button is. These 2 are really just nitpicking as there really isn't much negative to say about this camera for what I use it for. There are a lot of buttons that can be customized so you can set it up for whatever is best for you. Between the customized buttons and the FN button, I rarely have to go into the camera's menu which is a huge benefit to me. Lastly, any camera is only as good as the lens you mount to it. With that said, I wouldn't recommend getting the kit lens. Other than that, all of the other lenses are very, very good with the exception of the 24-70 f/4 which is still a very good lens but nowhere near the standard of the 55mm or 70-200mm lenses.

12

0

0

Outstanding camera

Body Only 27/09/2014 by FoxIsleGeorge (USA)

Excellent image quality. Easy and convenient to use. I wish I had the option to capture in Adobe DNG but Sony format works fine in Adobe Bridge. I purchased with the Zeiss lens. I was disappointed to subsequently read a somewhat negative evaluation. However, I have no complaints regarding image quality.

1

0

0

Get simple Sony.

Body Only 27/09/2014 by ieye (USA)

Sony is to be commended very highly in creating some real category breaking products in the last few years and I have been the owner of several. The NEX series was a great breakthru in size, features, and quality and the A7R is an amazing piece of technology bringing such a high pixel sensor in such a small form. However, that being said, the ergonomics is terrible (and this was largely the case with the NEX series too. It is too easy to hit the wrong button on the A7R and then you find yourself with a new and unwanted colour balance, or switched to movie mode, or with a display mode that you never asked for and never wanted and by the time you figure out how to correct it (going into badly designed menus) the shot is long gone. Aside from the frequency of the above, the other problems are in no especial order: Terrible start up time (and unlike my Canons the battery life is too insufficient to just leave the camera on all the time); Which leads to the second problem which is the terribly insufficient battery. Even tho I always have a second battery with me, to feel truly secure, one must carry at least 4 to be up to the standard set by my Canon cameras single battery, then there is the terrible and unnecessarily loud and prolonged shutter sound. Why there can't be a silent shutter given this is a mirrorless camera (as is very well achieved by my Fuji x100s or at least a queiter shutter option is beyond me. It is as if Sony thinks photographers want to hear a noisy shutter the way a Harley owner wants his bike to roar. I for one, do not. Finally I do not like the placement of the dials - they just do not feel natural or logical in use - instead there is a sense of randomness in their placement and i must keep reminding myself in the field which one does what or going thru a trial and error process to remind myself. Even tho this is a great camera, capable of great pictures, with a great ability to use many lenses with able adapters, I strongly suspect I am going to sell mine soon. I hope Sony eventually learns how to design cameras that are as much a pleasure to use as they are technologically advanced. They need to go back to pre-digital camera design and see what worked then as well as what is best of class today from the user point of view. Too many features crammed into too small a place added to bad ergonomic design mars what could have been my favourite camera and turns it into a somewhat clumsy mess. Alas.

5

3

0

Color Issue / Not Resolved

Body Only 27/09/2014 by iParentesi (USA)

The Camera lacks professional Bracketing Options. It is just the Software, nothing else. But a good Bracketing option is in any Semit-Pro Level Camera, except in a sony Camera. Not useable to create HDR-Domes and HDRi Landscape/Architectural Images. ANSWER FROM SONY: That is how the camera should be. (Invented the wheel new and gave it 16-Edges) And even worst: The Camera has an color issue, when taking pictures next to each other, in RAW, in Manuel, In same set White-Balance, that the colors or WB is different in these images, so you can not stitch them together, as the tonality does not match. ANSWER FROM SONY: Use auto WB (This way the colors shot towards ground then horizontal and then to the sky do not even match slightly, they are at a total different WB/Tonality/color. What makes sense, but does not resolve the issue at all)

7

5

0

a7r with other lenses.

Body Only 27/09/2014  (USA)

Sony did really great here in producing a camera that (in this case) has 36MP and so far has handled most of my Leica and old Zeiss lenses with real fine results. The marriage of the old art in fine lenses and the latest in high tech for resolving pictures is a great thing. This camera has done it well. There is another camera and maybe more by now out there that offer mirror less, high resolution, full frame, compact, interchangeable lens capability, for more money or less features. This Sony has done it well for me. I recommend this camera to anyone with a similar situation or just as a good quality camera with high resolution. I am not a guy who nit picks so this would not be a review. However if you collect older lenses and want to get them back into service with high tech results, this is a great camera. My results have been wonderful.

5

0

0

Beautiful Sensor - Great Detail

Body Only 26/09/2014 by signgrap (USA)

Great camera with a wonderful sensor! There are a few things that need improvement. The shutter opens and closes with too much shock, as a result the fabulous detail that this camera can render is softened a bit. You do get usable files but not up to the full potential of the sensor. The auto focus needs to be made faster. There are a number of things that could be fixed in the menus by a firmware update. Overall the best full frame, small camera very small and lightweight which makes it a joy to carry around.

3

0

0

Awesome fantastic camera

Body Only 26/09/2014 by CoachTaylor72 (USA)

I have had an A7R for about 6 months. Its a fantastic camera,photos are awesome. The size and weight are perfect for traveling. The lens selection is getting better, but ridiculously expensive. I have been a Canon user and will not duplicate some of the lenses as it is too cost prohibitive. If they got the quality and price of the lenses in line. This camera is unbeatable.

0

0

0

Excellent quality

ILCE-7R 24/09/2014 by John22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

1week ago I bought the A7r and 2 x FE lenses (24-70, 70-200)... The camera funtions and buttons are well layed out with quick access using the function key button. The full frame sensor 36 megapixel image processor produces incredible natural pictures. The FE G lenses produce high end results with no vignetting. But it is important to upload the latest firmware into camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Groundbreaking

Body Only 14/09/2014 by menion (USA)

Amazing landscape camera, high resolution and DR in a small package. Great FE 35 and FE 55 and can use adapted SLR lenses from just about any mount.

0

0

0

so far, so.good

ILCE-7R 12/09/2014 by acg69 (United Kingdom)

Excellent. The combination of quality, size, features and price is unbeatable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very good but horribly noisy shutter

ILCE-7R 17/08/2014  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to supplement my A6000 - image quality seems to be good when you take trouble to minimise camera shake. Controls & menus easier to use than A6000. Not sure whether it will replace my Canon 5D III

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Lighter than I expected, performs like they say.

ILCE-7R 11/08/2014  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At 76, I found that my Nikon kit was getting too heavy to carry all day. After reviewing the options, the new Sony A7 series seemed to provide the answer. It was difficult to choose from the 3 available models, but, having chosen the A7R, I am happy with my decision - the shutter-induced shake reported by some users at low shutter speeds has not yet shown itself to be a problem for me and there seem to be no other problems to mar a superb camera. Using it with 'legacy' lenses is so easy it isn't really worth worrying about.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent value for money.

ILCE-7R 29/07/2014 by Keef (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Full frame without remortgaging the house, adaptor enables me to use current lenses until Sony release further lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera!!!

Body Only 20/07/2014 by Lacroix (USA)

Although not perfect but I'm happy to replace my Nikon D800E. I love the ease of use and the light weight aspect of this camera. I've been a Nikon user for 15 plus years and was really skeptical in switching to the Sony A7r. Before selling my beloved Nikon D800E, I did few comparison shoots and found that the only thing going for Nikon was their lens selection, other than that, the A7r was light, as sharp, cheaper, and for me, the video quality was better. Sony wins here but let's hope they have some native Ultra-wide glass for landscapes like a 14-24mm f2.8 soon...

21

0

0

Best Mirrorless system to date but not perfect

Body Only 14/07/2014 by viktas (USA)

Excellent sensor but different from my 5D3. Colors are cleaner crisper and more dynamic range is a nice touch. Ergonomics work best with battery grip and so does time and amount of shots available on one charge. Four batteries and grip will last 8 hour day shoot. Easy configuration of C1/2/3 buttons. I favor flexy spot for shooting fast lens and accuratecy with clients. Set C1 to flexy settings brinning up display and ability to set postioning with one touch. Also set both a7r and a6000 front wheel to shutter, rear to aperture and scroll wheel on a7r to iso easy, all in menu. Menu was easy to learn but best read manual as I did. will have to try focus peaking since I rearly ever focus manualy but evf works lovely just a bit small. LCD shows noise when zooming in but raw files look great in LR5. coulple of weakness, though. No high speed sync unless set to wireless and use line of sight flash. I use the 20 and 43 flashes for this line of sight or the a6000 pop up works here also. Shutter on a7r can cause movement with longer lenses, mostly past 100mm. takes some practice with my 150mm macro and sony a-mount to e-mount adapter or I can use a tripod and trigger and sitting works great also. I use a a6000 with soon to uptain 10-18, 16-50 works lovely for my youtube files and the 55-210 is very nice. then there's the a7r, 55 f1.8 and adator with 150mm macro lens true 1/1 magnification. Plus grip and two sony flashes. I will need to test 10-18 on a7r since reports are this lens has a range it will work FF on a7r. I dumped all my Canon gear and didn't want to go Nikon but want the portablily of this form factor with such beautiful files. Files are true pro grade. I am also finding I need to change my work flow in LR5 since files seem less saturated but definitely with more dynamic range similar to black magic video files.

6

1

0

Excellent image quality in a small package!

ILCE-7R 01/07/2014 by Charlie09 (United Kingdom)

Much more compact and shoulder friendly than rival products, with excellent image quality and features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Formidable Resolution

ILCE-7R 28/06/2014 by Countryman (United Kingdom)

Having owned a Sony Nex 7 camera since it was introduced nearly three years ago I had little doubt of the potential which Sony's full frame 7R camera would deliver when introduced. Having now used this camera for the past two months I am happy to confirm my assumptions as correct. Resolution is truly outstanding with the finest detail being recorded in all images. Focussing is swift and the camera performs well in low light. Noise levels are non existent at ISO levels below 1600 and above that level some luminance noise is evident but can easily be dealt with in raw processing. This is a specialist camera ideally suited to photographers wishing to produce very high quality large prints for sale or exhibition. The camera is the perfect partner for Scapes photography and coupled with the Sony/Zeiss FE 35mm 2.8 lens (the one I purchased) has proved to be an excellent combination. The only downside of this remarkable camera is the rather noisy shutter, which in some cases may handicap potential wedding photographers wishing to cover wedding ceremony's in church. Finally as a professional photographer who, over the years has used most top end film and digital cameras, all I can say is that the competitor camera manufactures must be green with envy & amazement at Sony's achievement in producing such beautiful handling small/lightweight full frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

7

0

Sublime image quality

ILCE-7R 26/06/2014 by Nige (United Kingdom)

I have three Canon DSLRs plus advanced compacts. This image quality from the A7R is just so much better than any camera I own apart perhaps from my FUJI X100S which also has superb image quality but the pics are less than half the size of the A7r, so much scope for cropping.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

great sensor and viewfinder

ILCE-7R 23/06/2014 by malbraman (United Kingdom)

Great camera, great features, great sensor, great size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent all round camera

ILCE-7R 04/06/2014 by jrh1 (United Kingdom)

Good lens flexibility (retro lens fitting) and excellent options for exposure control

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Worth waiting for!

ILCE-7R 02/06/2014 by doug48 (United Kingdom)

I traded-in my (non-Sony) full-frame SLR and lenses bought last year for the A7R with the Zeiss 24-70 zoom lens, primarily to use on world travel trips where I expect the reduced weight and compactness will be a bonus, together with no giveaway in features, reliability and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Resolution Resolution

ILCE-7R 02/06/2014 by Soobong (United Kingdom)

- Love the size, now I can carry the camera whereever I go. - It is not the easiest camera to use. AF speed and shutter vibration are always giving me more "work" to do everyt time. Not in a bad way but feels like work - In the process of selling everything in Canon and Nikon gears I own, I will be sticking to FE system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

A great product

ILCE-7R 02/06/2014 by jmlelectro (United Kingdom)

Have had the A7R some months now and it is a delight to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The A7r. A versatile photgraphic tool

ILCE-7R 02/06/2014 by Billtimepilot (United Kingdom)

The A7r represents the specification of CLC camera long awaited by professional and amateur photographers. Together with its full frame sensor, it provides very high resolution and can be used with legacy lenses utilising the brilliant focus peaking facility. Ergonomics are almost perfect. A highly satisfying camera in countless respects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

wish upon a star

Body Only 24/03/2014 by torcedor (USA)

I have the Sony RX1 and this is a direct descendent of that. the RX1 is a great camera and I love it, but there was still room for improvement and all the things that I truly wanted in the RX1 has been implemented in this and so much more, I want this so bad and as of now is the only camera I would exchange the RX1 for (if that was possible). expensive but will shut up all the non believers.

7

7

0

Great new camera...easy to carry, sharp focus

Body Only 22/12/2013 by elklover (USA)

I had an NEX7, which I always thought was a pretty good value, but this blows it away. Plenty of file, and best part is, you can use with Voigtlander manual focus lenses with the OLED finder and truly get right "on" with the magnifier mode. The camera lags a little still, but not terrible. I have a Canon markIII, and this one is still quickly becoming my main shooter.

13

3

0

Finest Full Frame Image Quality

Body Only 15/12/2013 by photocolor (USA)

I'm using the camera with the 35mm f/2.8 lens and plan on getting more FE lenses in the future. I use the spot AF (and move it around the screen if necessary to select the area I want to focus on). and for landscapes I often use manual focus. You can customize the various buttons to your heart's content and I have. I have one of the buttons do spot AF when I'm in manual focus mode. It's easy to switch between the two (or more) options. I can get consistent exact focus easily via the EVF and magnify the view while handholding the camera. With the 36mp DSLR I used to have I had a hard time getting exact focus even with that camera was on a tripod and using live view. The a7r is totally superior. The a7r with the 35mm lens provides image quality that is overall the best I have seen - similar sharpness to the 36mp DSLR (also w/o anti-aliasing filter, like the a7r) I used to have, but with a more natural rendering of detail, and in addition I prefer the color rendering of the a7r. I turned the Pre-Af focus off (otherwise, when the camera is set to AF mode then it will continuously attempt to focus on whatever the lens is looking at, even though I'm not pressing the shutter button). Battery life is not great and the shutter sound is more than I expected for a mirrorless camera. I wouldn't recommend the camera as the best option for fast action sports, or for shooting silently in churches etc. But for just about everything else it's a winner. To be able to get class leading image quality and ease of use in a package (body and lens) that is a pleasure to carry around (as opposed to a real pain in the neck with the usual heavy and bulky DSLR and honking big and heavy lens) is really wonderful.

32

1

0

So you want higher resolution....

Body Only 15/12/2013 by SharpShooter (USA)

I was one of the first to purchase the A900 and have never regretted it. Nikon and Canon users have laughed at my "Sony", that is until they saw the images I had made...idiots...but I digress. This is an impressive little camera! Little, because it is about a third smaller than my a900 and much lighter...even with the additional vertical grip. This will only be a preliminary review, I am still getting acquainted with the camera. First, I didn't purchase the "E mount" lens because I have a few "A mounts" and had purchased the LA-EA4 adapter. The adapter and camera does function as advertised. My old Minolta lenses even work as well on this camera as they did on the a900. However, to get the full benefits of the higher resolution, you will need superior glass. While I could see some difference between my average priced and higher quality lenses on my a900, the differences on the a7r are obvious. Super rich detail and image quality on the higher priced lenses, especially the primes! Image quality - what you see is what you get. Color and exposure are phenomenal! No surprises when you open your images for editing. Color is extremely true to life. Electronic viewfinder - I was not thrilled about the loss of the optical viewfinder but the resolution on this thing is incredible. Not only that, the focus assist and level tools are something you couldn't have with the OFV. Focus assist, when in manual mode, is a cool little tool that highlights the area in focus with either red, white, or yellow highlights. I am preferring it over auto focus...and I wear bifocal glasses! WiFi - I have already connected my android Motorola Matrix phone to the camera. I can view the live image on my phone and activate the shutter release. Not much else at this point, but I think that is a matter of time. Build quality - solid, well made. The shutter release sound is not as loud as people have commented on, at least in my opinion. I also have not noticed the delay in depressing the shutter release I have read about in early pre-release reviews. My biggest caution concerning this camera? With no in camera image stabilization, you will definitely need a good solid tripod. Adobe Raw 8.3 with support for this camera is out and was included in the last CS6 update I ran. Accessories I have purchased - "A" mount adapter, vertical grip, and battery charger...will review separately. I will follow up this review after I get more familiar with the camera, but so far I am please with my purchase and am looking forward to getting the camera out in the field.

31

5

0

Spectacular camera

Body Only 13/12/2013 by lucky89 (USA)

Picture quality is spectacular (Sony-Zeiss 35mm f2.8.) Easily equal to Fuji XPro1 and almost Canon 5DMkIII. Obviously a billion times easier to carry around than the MkIII. Really handles more smoothly than the Fuji, though the Fuji does have the non-electric viewfinder that I sometimes like. This camera is really well built, not heavy, but put together nicely, not a tinny or loose feel to it at all. Sony has a winner with this body.

11

3

0

Hard to beat this camera in resolution

Body Only 04/12/2013 by SonyBoom (USA)

Have not found any cons yet. Previous reviews may be a little harsh because of minor issues. This camera competes with the best full frame in production Nikon and Canon included. Battery life not a big issue, buy a battery grip, or a few spare batteries. What photographer does not carry spare batteries? The detail is amazing. No morie so far. Sony needs to add new lens to their collection, which they will. I think Nikon and Canon may be a step behind now that Sony has produced this camera.

29

5