Skip to Content
25

4.4 based on 25 customer reviews

14
9
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20/08/2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Slog!?

ILCE-9 04/09/2017 by knsn (USA)

I bought this product a week ago. It is quite good however there is no log profile for video recording. It is, it think, inexcusable for a camera at this price point... and touch is screen is not that useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

3

25 Customer Reviews

0

amazing camera

ILCE-9 09/11/2017 by ChrisS9 (United Kingdom)

Bought a few months ago and have used regularly for weddings since July this year (2017) Love using it and the speed and tracking is great using eye autofocus and for other uses like for birds in flight etc tracking is incredible

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Camera

ILCE-9 08/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

This is probably the best camera I've ever owned. Having followed the evolution of the A7 series I made the leap from the A7RII to the A9 and haven't regretted it at all. Superb quality, ease of handling - the best of the best?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

INCREDIBLE!!!!

ILCE-9 27/10/2017 by Mystro (USA)

Short and sweet, I truly believe that this is the best camera in the world for speed and auto focus, the video is excellent!!! Great job Sony. Blown away!!!! Sony all i can say is wow!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is ALMOST the perfect camera!

ILCE-9 20/10/2017 by vibe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely LOVE this camera. This is my first Sony camera. I have previously shot with Nikon and Canon (Nikon D600 + D750 as well as the Canon 5d Mark IV and III) and I love that this camera essentially combines both the ergonomics of the 2 brands, as well as makes it into a small form factor with more technology! I just love how this feels in my hands, especially with the battery grip extender as even though I have small hands, my pinky does feel more comfortable with the extender. And I love the inclusion of the joystick, the raised control pad, and the slightly edged out dial on the back that makes it easier to achieve (unlike that of the a7rii). I have tried the a7rii and sony a6500 and it just does not compare to the Sony a9 in terms of feel. Plus the extended battery life and the dual card slot? This is a pro camera for sure. I was really bothered by the battery life of the A7rii. In addition, this sony a9 has a lot faster of a Processor, so navigating thru it is quick and snappy. The ONLY thing that I wish this camera had (and I'm hoping so much for this in a firmware update) is S-LOG. Sony's earlier cameras, and point and shoots ,have this feature but it's hard for me to believe that this Sony a9 does not have it, especially at this price point. As someone mentioned before, the Sony A7sii and A7rii bought together (used) is equal to the price of this a9. But I did not want to get the other two because I have shot with the a7rii and the form factor was just not there for me (as mentioned above). Sony please please please get S-Log on this camera! You will definitely get a lot more convertors forking over the money; especially because it'll have the best of both worlds. I know the Canon 5d Mark IV had C-Log added in later, and I'm hoping this is the case with the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best camera in the market

ILCE-9 27/09/2017 by cocotinho (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera in June of 2017 to start replacing my Canon gear. Hands down the best decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best for outdoor and Fashion Show Shooting

ILCE-9 18/09/2017 by wilson75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this a few month ago for my Wedding day Shooting and i am so happy that i did. it is a good Cameras for outdoor Shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SLOG

ILCE-9 15/09/2017 by Apogee (USA)

Fantastic camera with a ton of great features. I needed something for both stills and video. It took me days to decide between the Canon 5D Mk IV and the A9. I ultimately chose to go with the A9, but I made a HUGE oversight... No SLOG... At the price point of this camera it didn't even cross my mind that they would leave something like that out. If Sony decides to add this feature via firmware I would rate the A9 5 Stars easily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

NO BLACK OUT SPEED!!!

ILCE-9 11/09/2017 by Gabe Rogel (USA)

As a Sony Artisan of Imagery and adventure sport photographer, I have been waiting patiently for this camera to be released. I was in need of a faster camera... one that could shoot more frames per second. Well, Sony delivered! Not only am I blown away by the 20 frames-per-second RAW capability with almost no buffer, but the fact the camera will do this with NO shutter black out, is unbelievable!!! In other words, as you're shooting stills and looking through the viewfinder, it almost looks as though you're shooting video... a continuous image. This is of course extremely helpful for tracking fast-moving subjects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

No Slog!?

ILCE-9 04/09/2017 by knsn (USA)

I bought this product a week ago. It is quite good however there is no log profile for video recording. It is, it think, inexcusable for a camera at this price point... and touch is screen is not that useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

3

0

Only one thing missing

ILCE-9 03/09/2017 by MNPNW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really great system with only one issue. When using flash (Sony speedlight, third-party speedlight and studio), the camera is not as responsive as in most situations. For corporate events in low-light situations with on-camera flash, focus acquisition is significantly slower than with Canon 5DIII, 5DIV, 80D, and 1Dx. For me the IBIS, silent shutter, and generally excellent overall performance convinced me to change systems. I hope Sony is able to figure out a way for the flash usability improved.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Works Great With My Super-telephoto EF Lenses

ILCE-9 01/09/2017 by dcstep (USA)

Working with recent editions of EF super-telephoto lenses, with the very latest EF-to-E adapters, the autofocus' ability to track a bird in flight is unsurpassed. Use Google to find complete reviews of this application. I'd like to see GPS added, along with higher resolution, faster card options and higher dynamic range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Difficulty with playmemories connection/poor custo

ILCE-9 29/08/2017  (USA)

I purchased my Sony a9 2 months ago and have been trying to connect it to the Sony App Playmemories. This was an important piece of purchasing this camera. After 2 months of reading the Manual, online resources and tech support I reached out to an expert in hardware software. It took 4 hours but it now connects. One of the areas that I could not find was how to get the password if the QR scan did not work. The person who helped me ended up adding an app that transferred the QR to text. The password is embedded in that text. It follows P: Sony tech support was not helpful. I felt that Atheir knowledge base is not nearly what Canon's is. One of the techs was rushing through the instructions as if reading them off and despite asking him to slow down to allow time for me to navigate the menu his speed did not change. I wish I had purchased another Canon now instead. Their customer service is absolutely top notch and their products are solid.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

11

0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20/08/2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

Power and versality

ILCE-9 29/07/2017 by Autokesariaa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am amazed at how well it performed. Form, function and engineering combine to make a truly remarkable camera. The focus acquisition speed is incredible, image quality is excellent, and the build quality and feel of the machine are exceptional. I love the joystick. The ergonomics are excellent. The AF speed, especially Eye AF, is phenomenal with native lenses. The new toggle focus mode option is great to quickly switch, with a Custom button, between say Wide Area and Focus Point. The new menu is an improvement as are the new dials. The touchscreen works very well with no discernible lag. Burst is really great to catch just the right moment in portraits, sports, and wildlife. The battery is a huge improvement. Silent shooting takes some getting used to, but is excellent for many situations. In general, all operations are far snappier, especially shot reviewing. This camera is so versatile and well made that I would use it in any situation.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Sony a9 vs Nikon

ILCE-9 28/07/2017 by Zeevk (USA)

Hi, I am a Nikon D5 and D810 user for years. Two very good cameras. I got and tried the Sony a7r2 and found it to be a fantastic toy, but still a toy, with the best full frame sensor but with many shortcomings. When the a9 came I got it and I must say that it is BETTER than the D5 in every aspect but for three exceptions: 1. The sealing against the elements is far from acceptable. 2. The ergonomics (phisical design and menu) are still much behind the Nikon which I feel is just perfect. It is way better than the a7r2 but still legs behind. That said, overall I find myself using it way more than the D5 and the D810, also beyond the point of mastering a new proffesional and complex tool. 3. The sensor collects much more dust due to being exposed when replacing lenses. With regards to the dust issue, I solved it almost completely by blowing air into the back of the replacing lens and into the sensor whenever I exchange lenses. Of course, it makes the process more combersome but it solves it. In the DSLRs the shutter curtain is normally closed and it protects the sensor. Also the a9 has such curtain. Were it closed, then it would have protected the sensor when removing the lens. In the case of mirrorless, the default status without being energized is an open curtain for obvious reason and keeping it close when the camera is off will drain the battery. However, sony can make a modification: to close it when the len is removed and provide the option to open it for cleaning the sensor via a command in the menu. It will use some battery power, but in my opinion as an electroniic engineer, not that much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

13

5

0

great for MF lens from another lens company

ILCE-9 21/07/2017 by Dienson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with A9, because IBIS for use MF lens from Zeiss and Leica lens lens FE is expensive but I don't need AF

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Sony Revue the A9The speed of the camera is the ma

ILCE-9 14/07/2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speed of the camera is the main reason I purchased it also the size making it easier to carry

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

5

0

An Almost Professional Camera

ILCE-9 09/07/2017 by pete984 (USA)

So this camera is great but there are some weird things that prevent it from being a "pro" camera. SD cards for starters. SD cards are cheap plastic and slow. I cannot understand why Sony didn't put two XQD slots in. There is occasionally banding in images. I have not experienced this but I have seen banding happen to someone. There is no long glass available. I know Sony is working on this but I need a 500mm and 300mm prime. 20 frames a second is only possible with the G master lenses and while shooting in Jpeg or compressed raw. Using the mechanical shutter makes the camera slow and basically unusable. When changing lenses there is nothing to protect the sensor. The shutter doesn't come down to protect the sensor from dust which is a problem.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

10

4

0

The A9 is outstanding

ILCE-9 25/06/2017  (USA)

I am a Sony Alpha Imaging Collective Member and was able to shoot with the new A9 on the Kando trip. It really is an amazing camera with exceptional image quality with a very solid and sturdy feel. Being able to shoot at 20 FPS will really come in handy for action shots and being able to have the stacked drive mode to choose between different speeds is awesome. You can slow it down for more posed shots or speed it up to catch people in action at events with faster action. I also shot astro with this camera on the 16-35 F4 lens and it was exceptional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

Great Features

ILCE-9 19/06/2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about 3 weeks ago and so far I'm delighted with its ease of use, excellent auto focus and its light weight, I traded in a Canon 1DX plus Canon lenses and I'm 100% sure I made the right decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

18

4

0

Game Changer

ILCE-9 16/06/2017 by Micanthony (USA)

As a member of the Sony Apha Collective I got to test this camera early. I do a wide range of photography and videography, so the silent shutter would be very useful for me. I wish it had weather sealing, but the extended battery and no blackout viewfinder are definitely worth the price if you do this for a living.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

9

0

Never miss a shot

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since my purchase of the A9, my photography has moved to a higher level. The fast focus, Eye focus and stabilization, means perfection in every shot. Erganomics of this camera makes the A9 ready within seconds for any situation. The silent shutter is perfect for wildlife. I am not a professional, but having the A9 makes me feel like one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

8

0

Breakthrough technology

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by MaxBon (USA)

As a Sony Alpha Imaging Collective Member, I was eagerly anticipating this new camera. After testing it out exceeded my expectations, mostly due to two technological innovations. First, there is no blackout! The shutter moves at 20 frames per second and therefore you are not missing anything ever again! Second, is the impressive AF, it tracks everything. So sport, wedding and event photographers this is a game changer!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

The perfect wedding camera

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by TomB11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lack of banding with the electronic shutter means I can use it with confidence all day at a wedding under any lighting conditions without disturbing anyone or disrupting a ceremony with an annoying click. The new joystick and touchscreen makes precision spot focusing a breeze and coupled with the fast auto foucs I rarely miss a shot. The improved battery lasts so long I only need two for a 12 hour day shooting up to 5000 photos. A 2nd card slot means I can shoot with two in all day and not worry about switching cards regularly throughout the day to guard against card failure. I really like the new dial for drive mode & focus mode select, and the overall design is a step up from the a7ii series. The no blackout takes a bit of getting used to, but once you've used it for a while it's annoying going back to another camera without it. These cameras instantly feel outdated compared to using the a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

2

0

Perfect

ILCE-9 13/06/2017 by CarlosEAT (USA)

Fast, precise, beatifull, sexy, Ths camera is SUPER!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

7