Skip to Content
84

4.6 based on 84 customer reviews

63
14
5
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

just keeps getting better.

With GPS 16/03/2014  (USA)

My first SLT the a55. Loved the camera but, it was to small for my hands and no battery grip in sight. Moving on to the a77 kit. What a sweet 16-50 mm lens. I was disappointed that it was FF and could not shoot the same number of frames per sec. Now my a99. I was a skeptic on making the jump but, I'm happy I did. Is it perfect? No camera will ever be but, what the SLT camera can do leaves my Canon and Nikon users looking at the a99 with respect. If you do not have this camera and are waiting, wait no more. I love making adjustments without taking my eye off my subject. Adjusting color in the viewfinder is great. So many advanced features that make the a99 the best ever todate. Now Sony it is time for the A1S that medium format camera that I've been reading about. Make like the SLT.

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony Photography truth

SLT-A99 07/09/2016 by Sony sucker (United Kingdom)

By Sony standards the A99 is along with the A77ll in appearance the best looking designs in the Sony range. I have no doubt that the performance when used in conjunction with the Carl Zeiss ZA "A" mount lenses would be acceptable to any photographer using a 24 mega pixel camera and video performance is said to be exceptional. It is also the only alternative full frame camera to the A900 on which to directly mount these superb lenses.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

84 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing picture quality, not great battery life

SLT-A99V 28/08/2017 by JeremyL (USA)

The a99 is a great full-frame camera with noticeable build quality and exceptional low-light performance. Controls are intuitive and on-screen menus are easy to navigate. The only significant weakness I've found is the battery life - it's very short. Even with extra features turned off to save power, a single battery lasts much less than a day. If you'll be shooting on the move, carrying at least a second battery is a must.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, poor level of service on maintenance

With GPS 17/06/2017 by Pllewe1 (United Kingdom)

I have two a99 and they are impressive in both the quality of picture and use. Practical and robust it and my Sony zeiss lens are the main source of the pictures I take for submitting to my stock site and most are accepted and I never have any quality issues. It a great pity that the standard of aftercare, i.e. Maintenance when carried out by Sony does not reach the same high standards as their camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

a very nice camera

SLT-A99 11/05/2017 by madge (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought the a99mark2 after using the a 77 mark 2 that is a nice camera also i am very pleased with new purchase it has avery nice feel about it at the present time having only a short time with new a99 mark2 if it is as good as the a77 i will be most pleased it looks to be a cracker well done sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No provision of A99II registration on Sony!

With GPS 07/03/2017 by NavQ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I tried to register A99II after my purchase but there is no provision in Sony's registration page, only A99...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony A99 Mirrorless

With GPS 04/03/2017 by njmiuccio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

100% love everything about this camera. I purchased mine from the stony store almost 4 years ago now. I've taken this camera on every trip and captured stunning shots and high quality video. I only have had the 50mm sigma for the whole time I've had it but will soon purchase a 70-200 once I graduate college :) 10/10 recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nearly great

SLT-A99 22/02/2017 by mrphotage (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have recently bought the A99M2 to replace the original A99 and have yet to use it extensively. However, these are my initial comments: Terrific sensor and autofocus, but absence of GPS very annoying (set-up with IPhone very cumbersome and fiddly); re-designed joystick appears vague and unresponsive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great Photo Quality.

With GPS 13/11/2016 by Yook (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 4-years ago, for my trip to Florida. so fare i'm happy with it. And I were switched from Canon EOS 5D.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb Photo Instrument

With GPS 11/11/2016 by Little Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been photographing since I was a teen ager. I have had probably over 20 cameras and the SLT A99V is by far the finest I have ever had. I admire infinitely the quality and expertise of the genius designers of this camera. Now I look forward to having the SLT A99 MkII

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

What a camera awesome!

With GPS 27/10/2016 by red69baron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought the Sony SLT-a99 to replace my DSLR-a230 purchased in 2009 wanting to improve the quality of my photographs. Basically they are similar in ergonomics and programming I thought but so wrong though it was very easy transition to get used to the a99. But boy does the a-99 come with so many additional functions and the crispness of the images both on the screen(not on a230) and the additional functions blew my mind away so much to learn and use, exciting going forward knowing this camera will give me so so much more from my photographs and brought back my passion for photography with the a99 takes it all to a brand new higher level - brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sony Photography truth

SLT-A99 07/09/2016 by Sony sucker (United Kingdom)

By Sony standards the A99 is along with the A77ll in appearance the best looking designs in the Sony range. I have no doubt that the performance when used in conjunction with the Carl Zeiss ZA "A" mount lenses would be acceptable to any photographer using a 24 mega pixel camera and video performance is said to be exceptional. It is also the only alternative full frame camera to the A900 on which to directly mount these superb lenses.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

THE ULTIMATE DIGITAL CAMERA

With GPS 24/06/2016 by Thrashster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the A99 for a few months now.I must say that it has exceeded my expectations on every level. The articulated screen itself means that I can take photographs that I wouldn't have been possible without the A99. It knocks the competition for six for image quality (Zeiss 24-70mm F2.8), build quality and features. Digital viewfinders are the way forward, they work better in low light and you also see your exposure before the picture is taken. Thank you Sony for reigniting my passion for photography, it wouldn't have happened without you. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony a99

With GPS 11/06/2016 by The Owl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the Sony A99 as a replacement for my a850, as I feel that cameras have overtaken lenses now as far as technology is concerned. I am certainly not disappointed with my purchase, and I am sure I will get a lot more this camera once I have a bit more time with it, (less than a month so far).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Great camera

With GPS 25/02/2016 by Big Fred (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had several Sony DSLR's over the years and this is the first ful frame sensor Sony DSLR I've bought, I'm so impressed with it, the quality of the images and its features are great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A99 big step up from the A77

With GPS 03/02/2016 by Trig (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the A99 after a lot of thought was it really worth it ? took the plunge in August last year and I must say the difference is incredible from the A77. The colours captured and the clarity are a big step up from the A77. The grip that was purchased separately adds a whole new feel to the camera and to me well worth the outlay. The EVF for viewing your pictures after you have taken them, brilliant for checking manual lens focussing. The overall layout is very good too and very familiar to pervious Sony cameras I have had. The flip out screen not used a great deal really, but when shooting at arms length above your head excellent or when shooting in an environment where the glare from the screen annoys people or when you would like a bit of privacy as to what you are shooting without people looking over your shoulder to see the pics on screen I simply turn it round and use the EVF for viewing this is a big thing for me as the EVF is very sharp you can magnify the picture too then push the display button which shows the picture without any overlay. The PASM button locks with a central knob and is a simple thing that has been just a little thing that I thought was very good as this is not on the A77 and numerous times the camera was taken out of the bag with the mode dial shifted. Think the only downside to this camera is the limited number of focus points all clustered around the centre but when I used my 70 300mm G lens there are lots more focussing points and the use of the AF range limiter on the camera body is a very good tool as the camera only focusses on the distance set so if you are panning round and a tree is midway it will not focus on that. The only other thing which really bugs me is that Sony have not brought out a radio trigger for flash either manual or TTL to work with their flashguns. And also apart from the mitros and Nissin Air system does not seem to be any on the market either to use with Sony flash guns. The camera also was quite difficult to get hold of and not marketed very well in my opinion and is also frowned on by the Canon and Nikon fraternity until they realise the benefits of the EVF burst speed size and weight of the set up. The way the grip fits in also without being a tee shape which is a lot easier when putting away. Overall A brilliant camera for the money as it was cheaper than its rivals and in my opinion better for the above reasons hence the reason I purchased it.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Great camera

With GPS 04/12/2015 by portobello (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for about 9 months now and i must say i really like it, It has so many features. I have always had Nikon, but changed completely after buying the A6000 first, I am totally converted to Sony now and am very pleased that i changed. Everything about the camera is great, so easy to use, light and well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

SLT A99v

With GPS 23/11/2015 by npark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned Minolta Dynax then Sony A65 cameras, it was a natural progression to go for the A99. Controls are familiar, the viewfinder is better than the A65 and having the full frame sensor brings the pictures to life . I read that people complained about the battery life, but so far I see very little difference from the A65 to the A99. Having 2 card slots is great. The camera is lighter than friends Nikons and Canons which is superb after a long day shooting. My only complaint is a minor one. I have the Sony '58 Flash and it needs an adapter. I wish that the standard camera hot shoe was the standard one for Sony Flashes and the adapter was for other makes, not the other way round.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Great Camera. However very poor Customer Services

With GPS 21/11/2015 by SonyMike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera is fantastic, I own several Aplha's (7 inc. A99)! However, the Battery charger went pop some weeks ago. Fortunately I have been able to continue using the camera as I have a few identical chargers. Sony Customer Support is terrible! I've still not got a replacement charger and it's now been 3 weeks... They recently informed me that they want the charger and battery for inspection - I've told them to send me a new charger and battery then I'll send them the faulty charger and battery, I don't think this is unreasonable. Why should I be left unable to use the camera? I have been told three times that someone will call me back within a certain time from 1 hour to 24 hours, still waiting for those call backs! The Sony customer support is the worst I have ever encountered which now puts me off recommending any Sony product to anyone ever again. Which is such a shame because I love Sony products, especially the Cameras and lenses. :(

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

full frame

With GPS 17/11/2015 by peterpen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had an A77 for the past couple of years and enjoyed that.I bought the A99 with 24-70 sony zeiss lens and love the two

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Replacing my A900 was not a task I took lightly

SLT-A99 16/11/2015 by Gosher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There was no contest. I chose the A99 as I just loved the build of the A900 and it's performance and it's amazing improvements so it complements my A77 perfectly. All bases covered now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Pretty amazing

With GPS 11/11/2015 by Mike22150 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to upgrade from my Alpha100. It is light years ahead and in truth I have hardly explored its capabilities. So far it is fantastic, the picture quality is incredible. I havent done any movies yet but I expect they will be equally as good. The only niggle is that the IDC software for RAW keeps crashing on my Mac. I have asked Sony what to do. The camera is sturdy and light and the range of lenses available is excellent. Could well be the last camera I ever buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

First class

With GPS 06/09/2015 by hamish41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sony a99 is the best full frame i've ever had,picture quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top Quality

With GPS 28/06/2015 by Bradi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, top quality images, good looking and a nice feel when in use. Controls are easy to use and quick to adjust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good one but i expect more

With GPS 20/05/2015 by tresspas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like it ,but gps on my a55ws better catch signal everywhere, I own a900 as well and is annoying to use to different cables but preform well, bit stupid idea to change hot shoe specially if is not sony flash guns to match standard one

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

A whole truck load of clever

With GPS 04/05/2015 by Phil the photo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A mass of features on this camera and I expect it will take some time to get to grips with them all. I wish the full manual was printed rather than on disc as it could then be dropped in to my camera bag for easy reference. Also have the A900 and feel that the A99 is a whole generation further on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A great full-frame camera

With GPS 22/04/2015 by SteveC72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The SLT-A99 offers great value for money and great image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera..

With GPS 14/04/2015 by John49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this camera and would have given it five stars, but none of my images will load into either Light Room 5 or Aperture, I'm somewhat disappointed and perplexed...,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Compact

With GPS 08/04/2015 by Steamer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality camera; The fairly short battery life between charges is a slight concern.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features a match for its competitors

With GPS 04/04/2015 by Robbodb5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera for a couple of weeks so still finding my way around the new functions. But so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I like my SLT A99V

With GPS 01/04/2015 by Chubbly69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about a month ago to replace my A580 and to supplant my A77, have some great pictures and I can see the benefits of full frame over APS-C. I can't wait to use it at the numerous airshows I have booked for the summer as the increased sensor sensitivity should give me even better pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb camera!

With GPS 24/03/2015 by Trilby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for a year but not used it as much as I'd like to have because of illness. Superb camera is solidly built, enough dedicated buttons to help but not too many that its confusing. Menus are pretty well set out, electronic viewfinder is superb! The only things that could be better are wifi included, a pop up flash and a firmware update to get rid of the lag when it's turned on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

GREAT CAMERA

With GPS 25/01/2015 by BOBBYLENS (USA)

THIS IS MY FIRST CAMERA BUT AFTER DOING EXTENSIVE RESEARCH BETWEEN SONY, CANON AND NIKON IVE CHOSEN SONY. IT WAS THE ONLY CAMERA THAT YOU CAN ACTUALLY SEE THE SETTINGS WHILE ADJUSTING THE APERTURE, ISO, SHUTTER SPEED, AND WHITE BALANCE. THIS IS HUGE FOR ME SINCE I AM A NEW COMER TO PHOTOGRAPHY. IN FACT, THIS HAS HELPED ME UNDERSTAND AND APPLY THE NECESSARY SETTINGS TO TAKE A PICTURE. I WENT SHOOTING WITH A FRIEND WHO IS AN ADVANCED HOBBY PHOTOGRAPHER AND USES A CANON 5D MARK III AND AFTER SHOOTING WITH MY SONY A99, HE IS NOW TRYING TO SELL HIS CAMERA IN ORDER TO BUY A SONY A99 OR A SONY A7S. I ATTEMPTED TO UPLOAD A PHOTO TO SHOW RESULTS BUT IMAGES WERE TOO LARGE.

16

2

0

A99 is superb!

With GPS 08/01/2015 by Randy6414 (USA)

I've had my Sony A99 for eleven months now, and have shot more than 13,000 frames with it. At the time of my purchase, I was at a major decision point with my gear. I researched all the systems, and shopped the A99, Canon 6D & 5DmkIII, and Nikon D600/D800. Ultimately, it was the A99's EVF that won me over (I love it#, along with the Carl Zeiss 24-70/2.8. The rest of the A99's features are superb, too. Combined with the CZ 24-70, I couldn't be happier with the A99. Still being able to use my old Minolta lenses is a bonus. Here is a more detailed explanation of the A99's features #both good & bad): Things I love: Full frame: the large sensor gives improves low light capability, and shallow depth of field--great for separating a sharp subject from a blurry background. Yes, you can get great shots with an APS-C (crop# sensor, but the full frame sensor is wonderful to work with. 24MP: this seems like a sweet spot--it's plenty for high resolution files that are 4000x6000, yet without getting massive file sizes. 16x20 prints are incredibly detailed, even if cropped. Electronic Viewfinder #EVF): it's bright, clear, and shows accurate exposure. Make an exposure compensation adjustment (I have the rear control wheel programmed for this# and you'll see it instantly in the EVF, all without taking your eye away from the viewfinder. Too dark? Too light? Dial in the desired compensation till you like what you see in the EVF--then click the shutter. Yes, you see your "picture" before you even take it. If you want, you can program the A99 to give you an image review on the EVF, and double check your image without moving your eye away from the viewfinder. I have this turned off, as the EVF already shows me what I'm going to get as I press the shutter. I prefer to just keep shooting and then look at them later. AF: it's fast and accurate, especially using the Carl Zeiss 24-70/2.8 with its SSM focus motor. I've programmed the AF/MF button on the back of the body for "back-button focus". I have the focus mode set to AF-C #continuous#. Thus, when I back-button focus I have instant, continuous focus #great for sports/action/kids#. Let off the button and the focus stops, allowing you to recompose #great for landscapes, portraits#. I can also use Direct Manual Focus to fine tune the focus if need be #but I rarely need to.# Even with my 25 year old Minolta 75-300 zoom and it's screw drive focus, I've been able to turn out some very sharp sports photos with Sony's AF system. Articulating LCD screen: this is great for shooting at ground level without laying on your belly, or shooting with the camera over your head. It's also very helpful when the camera is on a tripod pointing upward #such as shooting moon shots at night#. Articulate the screen to your liking and the camera can look upward while you look down #comfortably# at the screen. 6fps, with full AF & exposure capability: serious sports shooters may claim you need higher FPS, but I don't think so. Fire off 6fps during an athletic event and you'll come away with tons of shots. I have learned to rely less on fast FPS and more on my eye so I can capture decisive moments instead of instead of the spray & pray method. The A99 can go higher than 6fps, but you give up continuous focus & exposure adjustment capability between shots. Things that take a little getting used to: The "slideshow" effect in the EVF: generally speaking I think this concern is overstated. Shooting portraits or landscapes one at a time, the slideshow effect is a non-factor. Go to 6fp during sports, especially while tracking or panning with a subject, and it takes some getting used to. But you do get used to it, and once you learn what it is, it's far less of a factor than I originally thought it would be. Remember, even a traditional DSLR loses its optical viewfinder momentarily as the mirror flips up and down. Battery life: with an EVF being a constant drain, the battery will deplete faster than one in a traditional DSLR with OVF. But again, I think this concern is generally overstated. For example, at my son's soccer game last weekend I took 362 shots without depleting it #or even coming close#. Yes, I have the battery grip with the second battery #one in the camera and one in the grip# for long days of shooting. But for casual shooting you won't need more than a single battery. For a long day, the extra battery in the grip has you covered. For really long shoots without recharging you can put an additional battery in the grip #for a total of three#. Want to save power? You can turn off the LCD screen by flipping it inward toward the body. Also, if you aren't going to be shooting for a while, simply turn the camera off, then turn it back on when you want to shoot. It'll "wake up" between the time I turn it on and the time I lift it to my eye. Things that could be improved: AF points: the AF points are clustered near the center of the frame. Put simply, it would be nicer if they were spread out a little further, to cover more of the frame. The joystick: I actually love the joystick control on the back of the body. But I'm a left-eye shooter, and my nose often bumps the joystick, shifting my selected focus zone. I have adjusted to this now, and it rarely happens any more. If you're a right-eye shooter, this is a non-issue. The Carl Zeiss 24-70mm/f2.8: put simply, it is amazing. It's built like a tank, zooms smoothly and focuses quickly and accurately. It's very sharp, and I have no complaints. Yes, it's heavy! But if you're buying a top of the line, constant f/2.8 zoom such as this one, you have no business complaining about the weight. Good glass is heavy. The Sony HVL-F60M flash: I have found this to be easier to use than my F58. I use both--the F60 on camera as the controller, and the F58 wireless, off camera. Both the F58 and the F60 have Sony's "quick shift" bounce head. It took a little getting used to at first, but the quick shift head is great for shooting portraits while switching from landscape to portrait orientation. Simply "flop" the flash head sideways. Even when bouncing the flash off the ceiling, the quick shift is great. Compared to traditional swivel flash heads, I'll take the quick shift any day. I have read complaints about the F60 overheating, but I have not experienced it at all. However, while I use flash frequently, I am not a heavy flash user #such as a wedding photographer might be#. There is also a small delay when using Sony flashes wirelessly, such as I do. It is a small delay, but a bit unsettling when you're first getting used to it. Once you are used to it, it is much less of a concern #although it would be nice if they could make this go away altogether.# Lastly, Sony has switched from the Minolta-style flash hot shoe to Sony's new Multi-Interface shoe. While we all gripe about stuff like that, I suppose it was a necessary move to consolidate all their systems #A mount, E mount, video# to one type of shoe. I have no particular issue with the new shoe, although I happened to like the usability of the old Minolta-shoe #it was faster to slide it on and off, and it clicked #locked# into position. The new shoe takes a fraction longer to slide into positions, and although it locks, it's not as "positive" as the old style shoe. By the way, I have the Minolta-style shoe on my F58 and Maxxum 7D, and the Sony-style shoe on my F60 and A99. I have adapters to go both ways #I can use either flash on my Minolta Maxxum 7D, and either flash on my A99#. The adapters work well and are a non-issue for me. The Sony Vertical Control Grip: I initially bought the grip for the A99 because of the extra battery capacity. On long shoots I'd add the grip #with second battery#, and on short shoots I'd go without the grip. I soon found that in the vast majority of cases I didn't need the capacity of a second battery--but I really liked the ergonomics of the grip. When using a heavy lens, such as the CZ 24-70/2.8, or the Sony 70-400/4-5.6, the extra surface area of the grip is helpful for hand-holding the set up. It gives my hand some extra leverage against the torque of the heavy lenses. I now leave the grip on all the time. When using the grip for vertical shooting, I have found that the AF/MF button #which I have programmed for back button focus, and use a lot# is in an ever-so-slightly different position on the grip compared to the body. This took a little getting used to #I used to pull the camera away from my face to have a look and find the button!# but I am used to it now. Actual shooting with the grip in the vertical position is delightful. The shutter on the grip is at the same height #relative to the lens# as the regular shutter on the body, so vertical shooting is identical to horizontal shooting #except for the aforementioned issue about the AF/MF button placement. One more word on the grip: if you hope to quietly shoot pictures without being noticed, the grip will blow your chances. The A99 is large. The CZ 24-70 is large. Add the grip and the combo becomes huge. One more word about the weight--yes, again, it's heavy. The A99 + 24-70 + grip are close to five pounds. The F60 is another pound. That's serious weight--but if you are serious about image quality, it's worth putting up with it. Over eleven months and 13,000 frames, the A99 & CZ 24-70 have proven to be an excellent combination. They offer top image quality, good ergonomics/usability, they're well built, and I've had no quality problems or glitches at all. There will always be things to improve in a product as complex as a DSLR/DSLT, and I'm sure Sony will offer an upgraded model at some point. But if you're considering the A99 you shouldn't hesitate. It offers excellent image quality combined with a user friendly interface, making it an excellent choice.

45

1

0

Great product

With GPS 11/12/2014 by winker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already had an A99 and purchased this one for my wife as we both have a hobby of photography and have a studio in our home

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great camera

With GPS 04/10/2014 by simonm3trs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the a77 happy I did still use the a 77 as well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

The Mighty Atom!

With GPS 29/09/2014 by Lester (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Jimmy Wilde, the Flyweight Boxing Champion of the World was known as The Mighty Atom, because in his small frame he packed a performance that outperformed the bigger boys, killed 'em dead! And the A99, small and light weight does just that. I have moved from the A850, an excellent camera in many respects, because my hobby involves action shots and the A850 did not produce enough frames per second whereas at 10 per second the A99 certainly does, all in astonishing quality. But the upgrade does not end there.The ability to shoot high spec video and many other fascinating programmes which I am still experimenting with makes this a camera second to none, and me a very proud and happy owner. All wrapped up in a small lightweight but robust package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Amazing full frame camera

With GPS 25/09/2014 by Richie75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quite simply the best camera I have ever had the pleasure of owning. (and I've owned a few)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Stunningly sharp and clear images

With GPS 10/08/2014 by Jim57 (United Kingdom)

Used this camera with 70-400mm G SSM II lens at local folk festival, good sharp shots even at ISO 3200, so I was really pleased with results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

A99 - a step up

With GPS 08/08/2014 by caporip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a900 with A99 so much to like about it - better low light capability; the flexible screen; video; AF range and great customisable options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My first DSLR

With GPS 03/08/2014 by Alawe (USA)

Great camera with ton of capabilities

8

6

0

My first Full-Frame ever

With GPS 16/07/2014 by Megatron (USA)

I got this A99 in a combo including HVL-F60M flash and A99 grip from Sony promotion. This camera has lots of features in a compact body and the full-frame sensor is truly amazing in low light shooting condition. The image taken from my SAL 50M28 lens is tack sharp. I even tried my SAL 16105, SAL 1855, and SAL 55200 lenses on this camera and the images were also very sharp. The body is magnesium and it is not only sturdy but also with good appeal. The camera is made in Japan and it feels very good in your hand. Sony did a very good job with this design. This is my first full-frame camera and I love everything about it. My next plan is to get a Sony 2.0x teleconverter and a SAL 70-400G lens. If you're thinking about getting one, it's well very worth it for getting incredible image quality. So don't wait too long...

10

2

0

Beautiful pictures

SLT-A99 26/06/2014 by Nessy (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera a few weeks now so still getting to know the things it can do, but so far what a camera!!. Had 3 of your cameras A100, A350, A55 but this one beats them all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Amazing Camera!!!

With GPS 24/06/2014 by GrahL (United Kingdom)

Wasn't expecting to be impressed by this Sony offering but my mind changed when I was given a chance to try one out. You have to try this camera before you make your mind up, I was a Nikon die hard before I tested this camera. I was shooting with a Nikon D3 + D700 and always found them to be reliable but the Sony a99v is something different and was looking to do video also which it is able to do. Flip screen is amazing and also the EVF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

a99

With GPS 24/06/2014 by rhidav90 (United Kingdom)

I pickup my a99 while away & started to use straight away, although it takes some getting to know all of the settings, once mastered its outstanding. Picture quality is excellent, noise handling could be better, but it is better than earlier models (a77 a700) video is quite good although I have rarely used it before in the theme parks its fun to play with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Nice controls

With GPS 07/06/2014 by PI55 (United Kingdom)

I am a hobbyist amd upgrade from the Sony A580. I try to operate with manual controls and find that these are located nicely so that they are easy controlled whilst looking through the viewfinder. I have only had this camera for 6 months, so is early days yet and do look forward to capturing some great shots. The pictures I have taken to date are great. I am please with this camera as it operates so smoothly and look forward to using some of the may features such as video, HDR shooting etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Good camera for wedding

With GPS 06/06/2014 by SONYholic (USA)

a99 with 24-70 lens A good camera can beat Canon for wedding performance. I give 4 stars, for less options of lens.

12

3

0

Excellent tracking and continuous shooting

With GPS 04/06/2014 by Ralphyboy (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in April and the Sony A99 is as good as all the reviews I have seen in the press to date.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

So simple to use and great results

With GPS 02/06/2014 by CrestedNewt (United Kingdom)

Having been a Minolta user for a number of years, I had accumulated quite a few decent lenses. I first moved to the SLT-A55V which was fairly intuitive to use but I was after either the SLT-A99 or the A900 to obtain the better clarity from a Full Frame camera with decent lenses. I have not been disappointed! Pros: Liveview is fantastic especially when shooting in Manual mode. EVF has been greatly improved over previous models Image quality is SUPERB and colours are vibrant! Minolta/Sony Alpha lens mount. I haven't had a problem with using long term video capture, which was a problem with my previous model. Weatherproofing Dual SD Card - one holds RAW and the other JPG. Auto-focus is very quick Feels solid. Cons: Tethering only works using the Sony supplied software - problem for me as I am a Linux user and don't use Windows/Mac. Lightroom users will have to use "monitored folders" Support for the new 'hot-shoe' is limited and you must use a supplied adapter for Sony/compatible speedlights - pain but not an overall deal breaker. This adapter is supplied with the camera though. Overall, I am a very happy owner of this fantastic piece of equipment. It should satisfy my needs for the next few years

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great purchase

With GPS 08/05/2014 by lenhart100 (USA)

A broad range of features make it the ideal camera, my tripod and monopod has given me the ability to explore the a99.

3

0

0

I Love It

With GPS 03/05/2014 by drmrsy (USA)

I wanted to upgrade from my a350 to a newer camera, if possible a full frame. After doing some research, I decided on the a99. I like how it takes still shots. The view finder is clear & easy on my eyes. I like how easy it is to see all the info in the view finder. All the choices are great helps, like the: level, rule of thirds grid, etc. It's easy to handle. I am still learning what this camera will do. I haven't tried the video yet, but that is not important to me at this time.

3

6

0

Excellent Full-Frame SLT

With GPS 03/05/2014 by huskymed (USA)

Hands down the best upper-end digital camera I've used (and I've used just about all of them; Canon, Nikon, Fuji, etc.). The pictures are clean and crisp right out of the box, even using standard lenses. The ability to use older Minolta lenses is a plus as well! Would highly recommend this camera to any enthusiast or pro shooter, and have already done so!

12

2

0

just keeps getting better.

With GPS 16/03/2014  (USA)

My first SLT the a55. Loved the camera but, it was to small for my hands and no battery grip in sight. Moving on to the a77 kit. What a sweet 16-50 mm lens. I was disappointed that it was FF and could not shoot the same number of frames per sec. Now my a99. I was a skeptic on making the jump but, I'm happy I did. Is it perfect? No camera will ever be but, what the SLT camera can do leaves my Canon and Nikon users looking at the a99 with respect. If you do not have this camera and are waiting, wait no more. I love making adjustments without taking my eye off my subject. Adjusting color in the viewfinder is great. So many advanced features that make the a99 the best ever todate. Now Sony it is time for the A1S that medium format camera that I've been reading about. Make like the SLT.

14

0

0

Beast of a Camera

With GPS 28/02/2014 by sophot (USA)

I upgraded from the Sony a57 to this camera at the beginning of December, and so far I am blown away. I had demo'd my friends Canon 5D Mark III before purchasing this camera, and I feel that, while the Canon does a little better on the higher ISO's, this camera's features are on a completely different scale. A main selling point for the Sony line is their inclusion of Image Stabilization within the body, making nearly any lens viable in a professional setting. I don't have to worry about IS in any lens that I buy because it is built into the body. Also, while not nearly as fast as my Sony a57, this body really utilizes the 35mm Full Frame sensor to produce high quality and sharp images. I have recently purchased the Carl Zeiss f2.8 24-70mm Lens, and that lens plus this body produces some amazing, nearly 3D photos. Overall, while I sometimes get pressure from the market for not using the Canon or Nikon lines, I feel sorry for people that spend this amount of money on a camera of this quality, and then have to worry about whether or not the lens comes with IS. I am extremely pleased by the build quality of the Sony a99, and look forward to this years projects using this camera.

23

1

0

Northern Lights from Iceland

With GPS 23/07/2013 by LAfur (USA)

A full Frame camera with a Punch. This Sony FF camera is really excellent in every way. this is a camera is designed too make you wanna work with it more. Color, detail´s, sharpens and weather proof camera is a great choice too have when you are traveling and taking photo´s here on Iceland. Best camera i ever had. Lafur Photography

24

2

0

Could have been great...

With GPS 20/07/2013 by cekay1 (Canada)

Sony have wasted an opportunity here. The design is great, the implementation leaves you wondering if they field tested this camera well, or listened to what their testers really told them. My major criticism of the A99 is its battery life – it’s appalling, even with the grip, leaving the camera on drains the battery before your eyes – and its start-up time is too slow – so missing the shot is more than a good probability. I realize with and EVF and a LCD screen – that you can’t turn off (you can with an Olympus OM-D EM-5), unless you turn it into the camera body – power consumption is always going to be more than with a camera with an OVF, but Sony really need to look at this if they want this model to compete with its peers. There are things you can set to optimize battery life, but Sony need to be re-thinking certain things – battery power output for example. Sony – you could bundle 2/3 batteries with this camera, it does not solve the problem, but goes some way to helping anyone who buys it. In short you need to buy and keep charged batteries with you at all times. Its low light performance is good, but not on par with other full frame offerings from Nikon and Canon, although the EVF is wonderful, especially in low light. I do not feel that anyone who has shot Nikon or Canon, for any length of time, especially full frame will ditch them for a Sony A99, it has too many short comings compared to its peers. Though I must say, shooting with the A99 is an enjoyable experience – the camera handles well, the controls are well placed, it feels good in the hand. It does not feel or behave like a “Pro” model though, and if Sony want to pitch it as such, then they need to up their game – it my mind, it is overpriced. If you want quality glass, it’s there, at a price off course, but you don’t get options open to you from Nikon or Canon, nor are they weather sealed! Would a Pro really move to Sony? I am not a pro, but I have been shooting for over 35 years – mostly Olympus, Minolta and Nikon. Ask Sony if they have a road map – you will not get a positive answer, they acquired Konica Minolta a few years ago and recently a large share of Olympus – what will they do? What have they done? They have some good cameras – they could be great. They have the financial and technical clout, but need someone or a team with vision leading the charge. I really hope they do well, Nikon and Canon need some serious competition – Sony have the potential to provide it – come on Sony! I did not mean this to be a technical review, more my thoughts, feelings and experiences with an A99 – it could have been a great camera, but it does leave you feeling wanting in some key areas.

63

35

0

A Superior Full Featured Camera For The Long Run

With GPS 04/06/2013 by Oldmanriver (USA)

I love my A77. But the A99 takes everything to another level in a very familiar operational format. It solves for the biggest published complaint (which never bothered me) against the A77 with gorgeous clean images up to ISO 6400. The dual sensor AF-D depth mapping mode is sheer genius. And the new DMF mode further capitalizes on the A77's excellent peaking feature for accurate and rapid manual focus. The AF range limiter feature can be set to limit hunting on supported long focal length lens. The fact that my existing SAL-70400G and SAL-70300G lenses are also supported by the new AF-D mode (like the SAL-2470Z) feels like a reward for being a loyal Sony photography enthusiast. I had fantastic results with the A77 & the SAL-1680Z (and I am keeping them). By adding the massive SAL-2470Z with it's constant 2.8 aperture (coupled with the shallow depth of field of the A99 full frame sensor), I find myself exploring a wider range of available light photo opportunities on the fly. The same excellent wireless ratio flash ability that I began to enjoy on the A77 is supported by the A99. Now that I have the more powerful HVL-F60M to augment my three HVL-F43AM units, I plan to move forward with improving my portrait photography technique. (The vertical grip with added battery support is finally en route this week.) Early results show improved video quality with the A99, as well, aided by an improved articulated rear LCD screen. At the end of the day, it's all about the image quality. Simply put, this discretionary purchase represents my intent to take the A77's excellent visual results to the next level. I have an intuitive feeling that this will be my primary camera and lens combination for the long run regardless of path Sony takes with the Alpha mount system in coming years. I trust that future evolutionary firmware updates will make the utility of the A99 even better. After all these years, starting with a Minolta SRT-101 in college, and with many innovative Sony digital cameras in between, my hobby has finally evolved into the passion that I had envisioned in my mind's eye.

29

2

0

Gained Ground

With GPS 13/05/2013 by Muzics (USA)

I got the SLT A-99 as a 1 time use promo camera and its the only reason that I decided to purchase it was for the discounted price. After taking the camera and pushing it through its paces with my arsenal of CZ lenses, it so far has become a welcome addition to my photography tools. The weight of the camera is so much better than the A900 and A700 and has also made my work flow a lot easier with various shooting styles with still life. My A900 was specifically used for still life shots until I got the A-99 which proved to be a more nimble character and easier to use with the leveling on screen feature (love this). The EVF was the main selling point as it was clear and easy to view allowing me to place the camera almost anywhere and not have to worry about looking through the view finder to complete my shot in focus as with the a900. Since I had the A-99 it taken the spot as my main photography tool coupled with the CZ lens line up, its a no brainer but my favorites with the A-99 are the CZ-2470 and the SAL135F18Z. The battery pack addition is also great as it doesn't add much more camera weight, so with 3 batteries you can shoot until the cows come home. Another great feature is the low light ISO improvements over the A900, shooting in low light at higher ISO settings is a lot less noisier. Over all I think the advancements Sony has made in camera technology is fantastic and the camera shows the results in my work flow. I was trying to hold out to purchase a Sony medium format camera that I hoped would materialize soon since hearing about the connections with Hasselblad. I'm looking forward with hopes Sony will at least present a product release close to a medium format solution. For now its the A-99 and so far its a good product for me.

37

1

0

With GPS 24/04/2013  (USA)

This is my 2nd SLT-A99V, unfortunately my 1st one went for a swim (reason for the only con) even though expensive it is worth every penny

5

11

0

Many awesome features but fails in key areas

With GPS 27/03/2013 by HPsause (USA)

First let me say, I wanted to love this camera so much! It takes some really great pictures of landscapes (still pics are awesome) but where it falls down is indoor sports :( The buffer is way too small for sports - ripping off 15 pictures at 5fps (cont Hi), then waiting 8 - 10 seconds for the buffer to clear is awful as you miss so much action -- like my daughter's gymnastics routine. A camera of this caliber should be on par with the Canon 5d Mk III, which allows for 3x as many pictures in the buffer. Auto focus and tracking is a problem for things like gymnastics where the number of focus points is pretty small (19) where others are greater (ex. the 5d is 61). I know the AF-D has 102 points but they don't support the sigma 70 - 200 lens I have and so I am hobbled. ISO noise at 6400 is pretty low and I am impressed, but I wish 12800 was less noisy. For me, it came down to the buffer size -- If the buffer was bigger, I could live with the camera but I am missing too many shots now due it's size. (shoot 10 shots rapidly then not being able to shoot anything for several seconds is a killer when the gymnastics routine is only 45 - 90 seconds long in the first place) Again, this is an incredible camera for other types of photography -- the EVF is amazing, the folding screen is great, menus are easy to navigate and video support is great too. I understand not everyone does sports or even indoor sports, but for my main need (indoor gymnastics) it just doesn't work and that's a shame :(

34

21

0

GREAT CAMERA!

With GPS 05/03/2013 by jhemp (USA)

I LOVE this camera and it's Electronic View finder. I wasn't sure about the EVF the first few times I used it, but after a week I was sold. I don't want to shoot without it. Long live EVF!

18

4

0

impresive machina

With GPS 23/02/2013 by nagnet (USA)

i wish more bundle options with lens designet for this camera

11

4

0

An outstanding piece of equipment

With GPS 18/02/2013 by JMazur (Canada)

Make no mistake, this is a fantastic camera; it offers a slew of shooting settings so expansive that most of these features will remain (at least largely) unused, even by professional photographers. The image processor is, for lack of a better word, insane. It allows for (by my count) 30 full-res raw photos in a single burst before having to take a break to write to a class 10 SD card, and it's far lighter than its predecessors, the A900 and A850. That being said, the camera's improvements also remove any reason why the camera shouldn't have a pop-up flash. In classic full-frame (and generally high-end) cameras, a pentaprism was used to direct light to the viewfinder, as it allowed for larger image coverage, sometimes up to 99%. Now that the camera has dropped the optical viewfinder, the space formerly used by the pentaprism can be used for a pop-up flash, for the rare — but not nonexistent — occasions when you have to use it. The translucent mirror is also a drawback, if a corrigible one: as the mirror is only semi-transparent (after all, it is a mirror), less light gets to the sensor, effectively forcing you to use either ridiculously expensive lenses that are marginally faster, or to use slower shutter speeds, which can blur your images. Sony attempts to compensate for this by adding a new noise-reduction engine, but it unfortunately pales in comparison to the algorithm developed by Nikon, and used in their full-frame bodies. This could, on paper, be fixed through a firmware patch, but Sony must first either match/surpass Nikon's algorithm, or license it for use in its cameras. The video very nearly makes up for this issue, though, and needless to say, shooting with a 35mm sensor produces simply amazing results. But again, for video, much of the sensor's area goes unused: given that the 4K UHD TV standard has a total of about 8.25 MP per frame, this camera could, in theory, record brief 4K video clips (anything longer than about 5 minutes would likely fill up the processor's queue, once again requiring a short break to write the clip to the card). Still, it would be nice to have the feature available, even if it turned out to be limited to a minute. The microphone on the camera is rubbish, and the ones sold by sony aren't superb either. Since this camera finally uses a standard hot-shoe (as opposed to the contorted monstrosity known as the Minolta hot-shoe), I've taken the liberty to attach a Røde VideoMic to the setup. In addition to working like a charm and being one of the finest non-dedicated camera/shotgun mic combos I've seen and heard in awhile, it even *looks* awesome. Bottom line: • The camera's excellent, and should be enough for the vast majority of prosumers and professionals out there • Low-light shooting is ok, not great, but could be fixed with a firmware patch • I find this camera's lack of flash disturbing • But now you can attach a standard flash or mic using the standard hot-shoe • The OLED display is generous in size and resolution • The viewfinder takes some getting used to, but doesn't cause headaches (it doesn't flicker visibly) • If Sony plans to support this camera with major software patches addressing what I've outlined here (they should probably make a press release, or something), don't even *think* of buying any other full-frame, this is your camera.

41

4

0

Awesome

With GPS 18/01/2013 by seriously (USA)

ive seen every review possible, read anything and everything that i can find about this camera and it sounds amazing. there really is nothing better than a full frame camera. having that extra room to fill with all ones creativity really makes it something to desire. sony has come a long way from when it first stared making dslr's and now with this wonderful product it really shows how far they are willing to go. the A99 not only lets you capture photos with a wider field of view it lets you can the world with all its beauty. theres just some stories that cant be told to its full extent with a crop sized sensor and now with the a99 you dont have to leave out any details. ive already added mine to my wish list along with a few other goodies id love to have and each day that jar gets filled with more and more pennies and hopefully soon ill have my own.

8

20

0

Simply The Best

With GPS 18/01/2013 by rar1 (USA)

I love the feel of this camera and I love the results. It is capturing images will all their entire beauty. I would highly recommend this camera to those who are pursuing photography and videography seriously. http://youtu.be/Oe7-YfTGhEs

8

2

0

all the best

With GPS 15/01/2013 by BradVT (USA)

I own the Sony Rx-1, Rx-100, A99, and Nex 7. Also have owned the Nex 5 and A77. Have had many Nikon SLR's as well. I shoot JPEG and don't want to be bothered with raw, photoshop, etc. I found that the Nikon JPEGs were blurry and poor in quality due to their in camera conversion, I suppose. All of the Sony models have been great, but the A99, RX1 and RX100 are all the greatest. Best of all from my point of view is the RX1, but if you want to carry the weight, the A99 is the way to go. From my point of view, the RX1 is the perfect combination of quality and portability.

8

7

0

Groundbreaking Technology

With GPS 12/01/2013 by mpirela (USA)

Amazing camera, I love it! Definitely Sony is decided to be a leader in the DSLR market. I just want to see a wide angle Sony lens compatible with this camera.

4

4

0

Way To Go, Sony!!!

With GPS 07/01/2013 by ckapp (USA)

Unbelievable. Stunning images right out of the box. Got it all set up with my settings and the images are through-the-roof beautiful! It is so well laid out that a beginner could just leave everything in auto and have a blast. Dig in to the menus and start playing and capture becomes magical. I bought the 70200G when I bought the body, have a CZ2470 on the way and two old Minolta Rokkor primes with adapters coming just for kicks. Just ordered three HVL-F60M speedlights too! WooHoo! I bought my A99 and 70200G at the Sony store in Tampa FL. I flew in from Costa Rica. The level of customer service there was way beyond my expectations. Everyone was knowledgable, professional and fun to work with. I commend Sony for their quality regarding customer service. My buying experience online with the flashes was extremely personable and equally enjoyable. I commend Sony for going outside convention with the Alpha line up. Yeah, I could have easily bought a 5DIII or D800, but given the fact that Nikon buys their sensors from Sony, I would much rather support the parent company to the key part in the imaging chain. Plus, the articulating screen is a no-brainer. Thank you Sony for leading the way!

15

2

0

It is the king!

With GPS 07/01/2013 by sonyinstead (USA)

I love it. It is the most successfull camera Sony ever made. Forget about NC, forget about the cons of A900, forget about awful photos. Just buy it, and you would not regret!

4

4

0

Here To Stay

With GPS 04/01/2013 by HajiTJackson (USA)

The A99 gives superior image quality, even in low lighting. By far this is the best camera I've ever used. I would strongly suggest this camera to friends or anyone who wants to step their photography game up to the next level. I totally applaud Sony for introducing this excellent image producing camera. I switched from Canon to Sony and I am very happy I did.

10

2

0

Amazing Dynamic Range

With GPS 07/12/2012  (USA)

First off 70% of my photography is landscape and the rest outdoor portraits. I have owned the Olympus E3, E5, Sony a850 and a900. I also currently own a D800. For what I do the a99 is my go to camera and I prefer it to the D800 and here's why. I shoot a lot of landscapes and most of the time set up and start shooting before sunrise or after sunset. The flip out screen and focus peaking are the two best features on the a99 I enjoy. I can shoot low to the ground or over my head with the flip out LCD and also the focus peaking makes critical focus very easy. I mainly manual focus when I am shooting landscapes I find my eye more reliable than any auto focus system. The D800 has neither flip screen or focus peaking. Also with the translucent mirror there is no flipping mirror to cause camera movement during the exposure. With the D800 I have to use mirror up mode to do this and the LCD will go blank just before exposure. For me the a99 is by far the most advanced camera I have ever owned and also the best landscape camera I have ever used. I am so glad I bought this camera and now also have a back up a99 for when I do portrait work. In the past when I shot landscapes I had to use ND grad filters to help keep the highlights under control and with that still had to use software to bring up the shadows, well no more. I still use an ND grad when lighting is at it's worse but I can get out of camera exposures that are perfect most time. The dynamic range of the a99 is amazing to say the least. I hear a lot of grumbling from the Nikon and Canon shooters on the forums but again the a99 is the most advanced camera on the market with the latest cutting edge technology. I am not a fanboy as they are called for any one system. I have shot a broad variety of cameras and have had good and bad. This one is certainly the best. The D800 might handle noise better at higher ISOs but the a99 isn't to far behind as there is also a huge improvement there. If you are thinking about this camera please go ahead "add it to the cart." The a99 and Carl Zeiss 24-70mm might be the best camera lens combo ever. I have made prints as large as 19x42 and the prints are loaded with detail and NO jpeg compression artifacts. Thanks Sony, thanks for thinking outside the box.

78

1

0

User tips

With GPS 06/12/2012 by Hank5656 (Canada)

I don't like that need to take off extra battery pack grip to charge camera battery. The RAW photos will not open in CS5 and Adobe has no fix for this issue, will not have it for CS6 untill they review the a99

13

22

0

The BEST Sony camera to date!

With GPS 22/11/2012 by Deputy50 (USA)

The Sony A99 is truly a photographer's camera with the added bonus of great video features. The camera is priced below the Nikon D800 and Canon 5D MKIII with which it competes. Thus, making them both overpriced. There are a lot of interpretations of the Electronic viewfinder, both positive and negative. My advice is to physically use the camera at a local camera retailer and see for yourself. The plethora of information and seeing what you'll get should be enough to appreciate the differences.Try and use both an OVF and the A99's EVF back to back and the differences are more prevalent. Focusing speed and accuracy are excellent as expected for this class of camera body. We have had the opportunity to use the A99 for a full and real (not staged) wedding and it performed flawlessly. Much better image quality than the Canon 5D MKII and probably better than the MKIII as well. One concern was how would the A99 meter with flash since theEVF shows you the scene before the shot is taken. Well with an OVF you also see the scene before the shot is taken. The camera meters fine and the pictures come out as they would with an OVF. One plus is that your starting point is easier to see and achieve with the EVF in comparison to an OVF. Now what about high ISO and image noise. Well there is no need to fear because the A99 excels in this area. You can shoot at 6400 ISO in raw and expect images of fully useable quality. Don't compare it to the older A900 and A850 full frames as there is no comparison. This camera simply leaves them behind and finally moves Sony in the low noise high ISO ranks of Nikon and Canon. Please give it a try before knocking the EVF and listening to brand snobs. The attached images give a glimpse of the image quality from raw files. Both were taken with the Carl Zeiss 24-70mm f/2.8 lens. The figurine was shot at 6400 ISO and only given sharpening in Lightroom. No noise reduction or color corrections were performed. The sky image was only sharpened in Lightroom. Another thing that one would not do is take an image with the sun in the frame with an OVF. The EVF will compensate for that situation so your are not blinded by the sun's light. Just go and play around with one. You won't be disappointed.

50

2

0

Have owned none better

With GPS 22/11/2012 by AlanS (USA)

Expensive, but worth every penny!

8

9