Skip to Content
29

3.7 based on 29 customer reviews

6
14
4
4
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Closeup recording only

HDRMV1 26/09/2014 by ThePinkPig (USA)

Great video, decent audio but only for closeup recording. Since it is fixed focus with no zoom, it is impossible to isolate one person at a time without physically getting closer, or get any detail from more than 15 to 20 feet away. For a set-and-record setup, it is great, especially with its wide angle.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

could be better

HDRMV1 27/09/2014  (USA)

This is a good camera for young musicians who just want a music video. Not great for profession musicians looking for a good promo video. Without a zoom or any real adjustments the videos are disappointing. The Audio is good but could be better. I would say the best thing the music video cam can do is, to make one realize it would be better to bite the bullet and spend the money for a quality video cam with more control and a good external Mic. I would not buy it again but might give it as a gift to a teenager with a garage band who just want YouTube videos for fun.

4

0

29 Customer Reviews

0

too wide angle, dont but more than one

HDRMV1 15/08/2017 by ziphler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For what it is its very good. The wide angle is so extreme however that it becomes a specialization cam and i wouldn't buy more than one (i bought three thinking they would be good to cut between from diferent angles but too wide angle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for musicians

HDR-MV1 11/07/2017 by Malc63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used this quite a lot now and really happy with it. This is not like a standard handycam, with lots of functions like image stabilisation and a zoom lens - it is very specialised and the focus is firmly on superb audio quality with good quality video, even in low light. It basically powers on and there's a start/stop recording button. Yes the features are very limited but it does what it was designed to do very well. Very wide angle lens allows you to get up close to the sound source and still get the whole band in frame. Instruments and vocals all sound clear, clean and true with no distortion or noise. I've tested the sound quality back to back with my GoPro Black Hero5 and the Sony is leagues ahead. I very slightly prefer the image from the Hero5 as there's less wide-angle distortion and I like the GoPro as a second camera but would definitely use the MV1 audio. Really easy to use straight out of the box, easy to navigate around the menus and it connected to my android phone first time. The phone connection/control is super handy as the built in screen is not viewable when the MV1 is actually recording. I'd have given this 5 stars if it came with a micro card, as you can't use it without one. For best results use with a tripod.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

hdr-mv1

HDRMV1 16/11/2016 by tom9763 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

taking awhile to get to know it.good sound quality .excellent picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Recording choirs and seminars

HDR-MV1 12/11/2016 by GrahamDZ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it to record our Male Voice Choir and to record a 3 day industry seminar. It worked well for both but the battery life seems short when using phone to start and stop it. It cannot be run off the mains even with a Sony USB power supply which means having two batteries and charging them every 2 hours on a separate charger. A zoom would help for recording the choir when the camera cannot be used up close but the microphones are great, picking up questions from the back of an auditorium and giving great sound quality for the choir. I would recommend it for the sound quality and remote operation but recognise that the picture is limited by the wide angle.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Very god simple to use product

HDR-MV1 09/10/2016 by Python1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with thes ease of use and is a very small and compact unit

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great touring musician's Camera

HDR-MV1 28/05/2016 by Ed The Piper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an Irish Uilleann (illan) Piper, My job involves teaching, recording for bands or artists, session work and marketing for my website. I used to rely on a zoom H5 audio recorder but found that with some requests from potential clients, video would be a huge help. So, I did some serious research and finally went for the Sony HDR-MV1 above zoom's Q8 system. What made me purchase the HDR-MV1? well there's a number of factors that matter to me as a piper. Sound quality is critical to my work, so the built in mics HAVE to work the way I need them to and this certainly does it in spades. 1080P resolution with PCM audio means I can edit without any hassle on my workstation. A major feature for me is wifi based connection between camera and iphone. this means whilst sat on a stool with my pipes in my arms, all I do is tap a button on the application recommended by Sony which is free, you know when you're recording and not as there's audio alerts so that does help a lot. USB charging is a great feature though to charge a battery up does take a good few hours but it's worth it. There are a few small issues though that I wish sony had considered when developing this camera. ZOOM for a start sadly doesn't exist. If sony were to release another camera for musicians there's something rather important that needs to be included here. XLR balanced connections for microphones. 2 are enough or combination TRS/XLR balanced terminals. This would give musicians and professionals alike better support for using shotgun or condensor microphones used in studios and live venues, especially if micing up an instrument directly for better support. The app does need a tweak or two in terms of better controls and also a VU for stereo audio channels to check for best recording quality and adjustment of the volume of the internal mics, other than that, this is a decent camera and does what I need it to, though missing certain features which would make my touring life easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Fit for purpose.

HDR-MV1 29/04/2016 by Nohead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use great audio ideal for intimate recordings ie Jazz Trio Solo videos, best used close range given wide angle lens, wifi nice control feature, edit in vegas can produce stills ect. Best of the bunch.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Music video

HDR-MV1 12/09/2015 by Bored (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have yet to use product fully yet. Not quite as simple to use as I had hoped but will persevere with it, once I can plan a recording session with my band.

1

0

0

Great features

HDR-MV1 02/07/2015 by Birty04 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera a few weeks ago to record the band that my son plays in! Had a go whilst they practised and it is so easy to use! so simple to put on computer and memory stick! Going to film them doing a live gig tomorrow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

easy to use

HDR-MV1 05/05/2015 by kegsy0 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used this to record my band's gigs. Great quality sound especially.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant little camera

HDR-MV1 11/04/2015 by Suki (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a clever little camera, it is so easy to use, once you know how. The viewing screen goes off when in the record mode but this in a way is an advantage so you know it's recording. Also the fact that it is not a touch screen means that you can't make an era and delete footage by mistake. The only problem I have found is that the instruction manual is not detailed enough and I have had to ring Sony on a couple of occasions in order to interpret some of the settings. However, generally it is easy to find your way around the menu using the mini joystick. I am using the camera to record live music the picture quality is good, the sound quality is excellent. The wide angle lens is great and although it doesn't have a zoom facility this is not a problem for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good Value

HDR-MV1 06/04/2015 by pbmick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little video recorder for recording music live, does what it says on the tin. Good quality results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Super product

HDR-MV1 07/03/2015 by george1111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've bought this video camera about 3 weeks ago. I've very much enjoyed the design. I wasn't able to take any shootings, until I've purchased a micro memory card. It is very basic, but a very useful camera, especially for musicians who would like to post their music. It suits best as a selfie camera, therefore no zoom or movable display required (presumably you won't play and adjust your camera on the same time..). If you want a video-clip or an artistic video with yourself, it might not be the best option, but if you want to apply for a job and need to have a video, that's the best option. Make sure you're doing your best (this camera captures the wrong notes very clearly), and you'll amaze everyone with your skills.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Could've been so much more awesome!

HDR-MV1 24/01/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The MV1 Music recorder has so many great features: shame it's let down so badly by its unbelievably poor and impractical design. How can Sony market this camera as a music video tool when it has no zoom function, a viewer on the SIDE of the camera and badly (as in virtually NOT) implemented software/phone apps and no bluetooth? The only reason I havent returned it is because of its HD video, live sound with its dual mics and the ability to record music via a line in, its greatest strengths. With a lot of planning and craftiness plus a lotta editing, something decent can be made with this device, but its shortcomings are an unnecessary added burden based on all the fanfare!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

Needs zoom capacity

HDRMV1 04/12/2014 by Rockstarteacher (USA)

The camera has a wide angle lens and captures a lot but the camera has no zoom capability. The audio works well. Who would think that in this day and age I would have to ensure that a digital camera had a zoom lens ? Buyers remorse to be sure :(

10

2

0

Music Videio Recorder was Disappointing…...

HDRMV1 13/11/2014 by Ferraridrive (USA)

I love sony products. However, this one was not funtionable. No zoom in or out, which in the world of making videos you need to be able to zoom. Poor low light recording. Low batery life. The only plus for this camera has is the wifi autho transfer to ipad. Even the voice recording compaire to Iphone 5s was little bit better! There is really a great demand for camers that have better voice recording capability in concerts/ events and better recording options at night. Dont forget the zooming! I am sure sony can imrove this product.

15

5

0

Great ease of use - missing some useful features

HDR-MV1 17/10/2014 by CathyB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago. I teach singing and want to give pupils a copy of their lessons to review. What is good automatic: sound levelling so no need to worry about clipping, great quality sound, wide angle captures room well, good quality video even in normal artificial lighting. What could be better: the wide angle is very wide so in larger venues you need to put the camera close to the action which is not always possible. For me the addition of an optical zoom would be ideal even if it made the product more expensive. I would like to see a higher bit rate option(s) recording AAC sound. An option of SD video recording would make file sizes more manageable. Using a phone as a monitor is great however playback to phone / tablet would be a very useful addition as transferring the file then playing it is much too slow (even if you have room to store the file on the phone). The documentation could be better: for example how to set the ideal sound level, how to merge the 4GB files it creates etc. Finally the MVR studio software is OK but very limited and I found I mainly use Playmemories Home

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

HUMMMMM

HDR-MV1 29/09/2014 by USA hater (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

okay but why not a flip open screen to see what your filming. Would it of cost so much more?????????????

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Great for sound, but camera isn't worth it.

HDRMV1 29/09/2014 by churchtechguy (USA)

The audio recorded is excellent, but the lack of camera features really hinders this product. It is frustrating to have a recording in HD and not have it be able to view a full stage without looking like a fish bowl.

14

2

0

Excellent Product at a Great Value!

HDRMV1 27/09/2014 by Kaehlis82 (USA)

Aside from a rather spendy case, the product alone is a fantastic value. The video is clear and very crisp, and the audio is flawless and perfectly balanced. It really is pretty perfect for a musician that wants to create music videos or audition reels.

1

0

0

could be better

HDRMV1 27/09/2014  (USA)

This is a good camera for young musicians who just want a music video. Not great for profession musicians looking for a good promo video. Without a zoom or any real adjustments the videos are disappointing. The Audio is good but could be better. I would say the best thing the music video cam can do is, to make one realize it would be better to bite the bullet and spend the money for a quality video cam with more control and a good external Mic. I would not buy it again but might give it as a gift to a teenager with a garage band who just want YouTube videos for fun.

4

0

0

Closeup recording only

HDRMV1 26/09/2014 by ThePinkPig (USA)

Great video, decent audio but only for closeup recording. Since it is fixed focus with no zoom, it is impossible to isolate one person at a time without physically getting closer, or get any detail from more than 15 to 20 feet away. For a set-and-record setup, it is great, especially with its wide angle.

9

0

0

great hardware, mediocre video

HDRMV1 26/09/2014 by SwingShift (USA)

Great build here. Good sound. Video quality very blurred at edges, and overall not up to GoPro, or Cannon Vixia Mini X when used indoors.

2

2

0

Decent Overall - GREAT AOUND

HDRMV1 19/08/2014 by Baldguy71 (USA)

I got this camera originally for the soul purpose of getting some videos of my band playing live to post online for friends and family outside our area to be able to see us. I was originally looking into a GoPro camera until I found out that the audio gets compressed when used for what I wanted it for. Someone told me about this Sony HDR-MV1, which was the same price as the GoPro I was looking at.. So far the only issue I have with this camera and I knew this before I got it was there is no zoom feature, but the camera has a very wide angle lens on in so with the camera on a tripod only about 6 feet in front of the stage this one night, it captured the entire stage. The audio was really good as well as the video quality. I've actually had a number of ppl who've seen the videos I posted remark on how great it looked and sounded. Also love that there is a app for the phone that allows me to actually see exactly what the camera is picking up and I can remotely start and stop the recording - this is extremely helpful as I'm the drummer and saves me from running back and forth from behind my drum kit to hit the button. So over all its a great camera for use in band situations - only reason I only gave it 3 stars is no zoom feature, so its hard sometime to get it onto a good position in a place where it won't be knocked over by ppl who might be dancing while we play.

19

1

0

VG, but beware fatal shutdown flaw.

HDRMV1 16/06/2014 by BHMcNultey (USA)

Performs great but there is a serious bug. If the battery runs out while recording the current file is corrupt and cannot be repaired. This happened to me 3 consecutive nights where I had the camera on a stand to get an overhead shot of a drum set. There is a repair app available from Sony, but it is Windows only, I'm Mac. I ran the on-camera repair tool and file does appear on desktop but won't play back. Shouldn't the unit auto-save before shutdown? Every other camera does. I certainly can't run on to the stage in the middle of a show to change a battery. So disappointing, because it is a great product, but too risky for me even as an auxiliary camera. Audio good, picture good, easy to use. Firmware upgrade soon? Would love to keep this one. Don't use without external power.

40

2

0

a must for youtuber musicians

HDR-MV1 05/06/2014 by peteg (United Kingdom)

Bought this so i could record my musician kids to post on you tube. The main attraction to me buying this product was the sound quality. I was more than happy with the sound quality this little beauty produces, sounds fantastic. If i lost my Sony hdr mv1 i would buy another the next day, i love it. The picture quality is excellent, love the wide angled lens, great for capturing a whole band. Well done to sony for this great little camera, i ordered mine before it was selling in the UK. Was calling up the shop every day asking is it in yet, so glad i choose this product the videos i posted on YouTube have gone down a storm.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very good sound

HDRMV1 03/05/2014 by stros29 (USA)

Although I am quite pleased with the sound pickup, I am not equally thrilled with the video recordings. If the video is set up too close there is a fisheye effect and if the camera is set back, further away, the subject, me, seems very far away. I would think the lens has to be rethought..

11

1

0

It exceeded my expectations

HDRMV1 20/12/2013 by MattRexy (USA)

I am a private percussion teacher and wanted to up my game in the lesson room. I was close to purchasing the top tier GoPro camera but when I heard the audio I knew it would have been a mistake. After countless hours of research I stumbled upon the HDR-MV1. I purchased it and was amazed how easy it is to use, how clear the video is and the quality of the audio. I put it through its paces with the students last night and all were amazed. Great work guys! What a fantastic product.

60

2

0

Not a car dashcam

HDRMV1 29/10/2013 by bluesky67 (USA)

This is a great compact video camera. I have been attracted to it by its form factor and low light performance. It is unfortunately not a suitable auto dashboard camcorder. t lacks the power-on auto auto-record mode and ability to overwrite older recordings when the SD card media becomes full. I am also not sure if it timestamps the recording. These are minor software features that can be easily added. Hope that SONY will add them in the final product as these will extend the potential market for it.

34

47