Skip to Content

Product Reviews

10

4.6 based on 10 customer reviews

9
0
0
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

10 Customer Reviews

0

Wonderful projector!

VPLHW55ES 03/11/2017 by AcidSnow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm really-really impressed with the Motion Enhancer abilities of this PJ, which makes video appear smoother and less jittery. The Reality Creation ability is also topnotch, which improves the overall image sharpness with minimal artifacts and image degradation. Motion Enhancer and Reality Creation are both reason enough to buy this projector in my book. ...It also has super low input lag, of just ~40ms or so (however this lag jumps up to ~120ms with Motion Enhancer enabled).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not A Good Start

VPLHW55ES 05/05/2015 by PistNBrke (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Projector is okay but never received my free replacement lamp.

4

11

0

Excellent performance, great projector

VPL-HW55ES 17/11/2014 by Delorean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used this projector in a home cinema setting for the last few weeks and it has delivered excellent performance. Fantastic 2D performance and very good in 3D. (Only very minor crosstalk). I decided to use the optional Sony/Xpand 3D Rf transmitter with the unit and that works very well with a large range of glasses. (The built in IR transmitter was also very good also but I wanted to use different lighter glasses.) Motion handling is superb. Reality Creation is a great picture enhancement tool too, even on a fairly low setting of 20% or under. Blacks are deep and the picture has a great cinematic feel to it, very real colours and totally engaging, so much that nothing in the picture distracts from the viewing experience even with the out of the box ref settings (but even better with some tweaking). The picture is bright enough to use when there is a small amount of ambient light but excels in totally blacked out conditions! Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent performance and reputation

VPLHW55ES 31/10/2014  (USA)

I bought this unit because of the excellent reviews of the slightly older unit, and because of the Sony brand. Excellent image quality and noiseless performance.

7

4

0

Great projector!

VPLHW55ES 14/10/2014  (USA)

It has been over 6 months since I have owned the Sony VLP-HW55ES projector. I am using it with my Prismasonic HD5000 anamorphic lens and a 112 inch diagonal, 2.35 to 1 screen with a gain of 1.4. This projector puts out a spectacular picture, sharp, with great blacks and excellent factory calibration. It is almost silent on the low lamp setting. I had considered a more expensive JVC projector because of the lens settings being motorized. The louder fan noise with the JVC was the deal breaker. I am completely satisfied with my decision to purchase the Sony VLP-HW55ES projector. Job well done, Sony!

11

2

0

Amazing picture

VPLHW55ES 13/10/2014 by westernwarrior (USA)

We have a 77" diagonal screen and this projector shows EVERYTHING. It's almost too good, because you see blemishes, bad makeup jobs, all the things you don't even know are there with projectors with lower contrast ratios. I've asked friends who have watched the same programs on lower quality equipment and they haven't seen any of these issues. The contrast is more striking when new; we've become accustomed to it over time, so we just ignore the times when it's too much because all those other times the picture is just phenomenal. It's the best money we've ever spent on a projector. It has almost no fan noise with a quick cool down. One criticism: we just had to clean the filter (after every 1500 hours). Hard to get at, and before he knew it my husband had sucked the flimsy foam filter into the vacuum hose (a warning in the manual would have been nice). Hard to find a replacement!

8

3

0

Yep that's the ticket

VPLHW55ES 26/09/2014 by Marines (USA)

Looked at countless comparable projectors, nothing is close. Do yourself a huge favor if you're upgrading to this projector upgrade your screen at the same time.

7

2

0

Great Projector, Lives up to Sony's Reputation

VPLHW55ES 26/09/2014 by Richardprr (USA)

I've only owned my VPL-HW55ES a couple of months but the quality is impressive. Very sharp, high detail, excellent color, and quiet. I would purchase it again, I wish the new 4K Projects were more reasonably priced, I would have preferred a Sony 4K.

8

1

0

Great projector!

VPLHW55ES 16/07/2014 by Rodniha (USA)

Excellent image and easy setup. Because it operates so quietly compared to my previous projector, I thought it was broken when I first installed it! Blacks are true blacks and white are true whites. Very happy with this purchase. The extra lamp and the two pairs of 3D glasses make it an even better buy.

19

4

0

Great Tech Support

VPLHW55ES 25/05/2014 by BurbankBobby (USA)

The tech support (Chad) was terrific in resolving an issue with one of the parts that came with the projector. Very courteous and helpful. Also a big shout out to Andre for his help too. By the way, the resolution of this projector is incredible and the 3D image is amazing.

14

7