Skip to Content
19

3.9 based on 19 customer reviews

10
4
2
0
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

33 Customer Reviews

0

Nice quality sound around the room

HT-CT290 21/11/2017 by Man72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this along with my Sony 4K 55 inch screen, the sound quality with the sound bar is good quality and highly recommend if you got good ears for the quality sound

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant clear screen

HT-CT290 21/11/2017 by Britgirl19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

True to natural colours. The sound bar is out of this worlf

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

htct290-b 20/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We wanted a nice sound bar that wasn't bulky but had a great sound. Once set up we were not disappointed. Great sound and looks great. It's more than enough sound in our apartment complex. It gets so loud we still have not had it to the max.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound was great until Bluetooth did not work anymo

htct290-b 19/11/2017 by JGOMEZ90 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product relying on the brand and thinking what can go wrong. well I've had it just 25 days now and the blue tooth is no longer staying connected to my tablet, I phone or a pc. This has been a very annoying experience because it syncs up for like 30 seconds and then the CT290 drops the connection. Bummer I had hopes of enjoying this as the sound is really good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD

HT-CT290 16/11/2017 by iandmcc1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago to replace an older system I had. The Sound bar looks very good and was very simple to set up and having the Subwoofer Wireless is Brilliant no Wires showing the sound Quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound bar

HT-CT290 15/11/2017 by Roming 10 (United Kingdom)

Brought this to go with tv works great, sounds fab

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy to use

htct290-b 14/11/2017 by Nick Pop Pop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it, I am able to hear the voices clearer, with just the TV, I would miss much of the dialogue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds great!

htct290-b 12/11/2017 by msm83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth capability is awesome! Sony always delivers reliable products that look and sound great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Grate sound

htct290-b 12/11/2017 by tom46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it. Working my way through all the features. Give my time to enjoy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

We love it!

htct290-b 11/11/2017 by Felixoxo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought an LG soundbar initially and had 2 issues. The dialogue couldn't really be heard in adjoining rooms (like when we went to get something in the kitchen) and we had to constantly adjust the volume due to variations in sound between shows and commercials, etc. We got the Sony HT-CT290 and both of those issues have gone away! It seems to be a better product and we are very happy :-)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds Great on music, TV is above average

htct290-b 05/11/2017 by Buck615 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the sale price that I bought this Sony Soundbar for, I think I got a great bargain. Even though my Smart TV is a Samsung, I usually try to fit all the same manufacturer but after listening to both Sony and Samsung sound bars, the clear choice-for me-was Sony. Both for the size and fit on my entertainment center and the sound. To be honest-The Sony & Samsung sound bars both sound great w/music but only above average on the TV-which is better than the sound from the TV's.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great addition

HT-CT290 31/10/2017 by Harleybot (United Kingdom)

This has great sound and syncs brilliantly with the tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Average

HT-CT290 31/10/2017 by w4rrn (United Kingdom)

Reasonable sound for a soundbar, better than the TV itself. Very basic controls on the remote. The system sounds better the more you turn the volume up.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Junk

htct290-b 31/10/2017  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less then a month ago . And I’m not impressed

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Terrible,3 months it doesn't work,terrible support

HT-CT290 29/10/2017 by rickyricky (USA)

I bought this product 3 months ago. Now it stopped working. Device is powering on. But it does not respond to the button or remote. I tried unplug/plug and reset as per manual multiple times, still no luck. Then I tried the online support. The person wasted 40 minutes of mine, and then asked me to call the service number. Now i am afraid that I have to spend another 1 hour at work to call them. Why is their office hour so short? Why isn't a online portal to submit repair request?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT290 25/10/2017 by Shaunchad88 (United Kingdom)

Great sound for such little price, very easy to set up and use takes 5 mins A++

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound from sound bar and bass box

HT-CT290 22/10/2017 by Shauno (United Kingdom)

Great sound would have been nice if you could Add another bass box to system

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good soundbar, decent value, hard to hook up...

htct290-b 19/10/2017 by AV Lover (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good soundbar and it is a decent value, but the digital optical cable was very hard to hook up. I needed to purchase a longer optical cable and I had to shave it down as the hook up area on the soundbar is very tight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GOOD SOUND

HT-CT290 18/10/2017 by MikeML (United Kingdom)

Bought in conjunction with a 4K HDR Sony XE90 TV. The soundbar fits perfectly below the TV to allow for the use of the infra red handset. Easy to set up and plug in with HDMI (ARC) and bluetooth with the sub woofer which sits on the floor next to TV unit. Synchronisation with TV was faultless. Quality of sound is excellent especially with movies even when used without the sub woofer switched on. Plays music from a plug in USB to the rear with an on screen menu although does not include shuffling of songs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Less than 1 year and doesnt work!

HT-CT290 27/09/2017 by GMJD (USA)

I bought this product because I have always bought SONY products so I felt confident. Less than 1 year old, and it does not work. Ive tried everything, the sound bar does not get power. Going to try calling Sony but I doubt they will be of any help.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

excellent quality product.

HT-CT290 25/09/2017 by sheikh asim (USA)

excellent sound. easy to use. perfect for home. nice design. wireless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Soundbar

HT-CT290 12/09/2017 by Steve23467 (Canada)

I bought this several weeks ago and the sound is so much better than the thin TV. The bass is decent and you can tone it down for things other than movies. I love the fact I can use my Sony tv controller for volume using the ARC hdmi on the tv and bar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product for the price

htct290-b 27/08/2017 by kvvsm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product for the price. Great Sound. Great Design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Sound bar at a reasonable price

htct290-b 10/08/2017 by Jones99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The set up with my TV was straight forward & the sound bar was operational within 10 minutes. In addition, I was able to connect the sound bar with my iPad Air 2 via Bluetooth without any issues & the sound quality is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice

htct290-b 02/08/2017 by 1les (USA)

I Bought It A Couple Of Days Ago. And Love It. I Would Buy Another One.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good bang for the buck

htct290-b 31/07/2017 by voicemanb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the product earlier today and it took about 20 mins to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great piece of kit

HT-CT290 21/07/2017 by Harelawn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago, and just love it!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great budget soundbar

HT-CT290 20/07/2017 by ipharris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great price. Easy to set up, interacts with my Sony TV & blu-ray flawlessly. Also easy connection with my Sony z & other non Sony products I own. Fantastic budget soundbar, go buy one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not as good as I hoped

HT-CT290 08/07/2017 by Haiku (USA)

Sound quality is very tinny and has little to no adjustment capability. I can barely tell the difference between modes. Unit has minimal interface capabilities with my Sony XBR-65X930D which is new enough that I still have packaging remnants in my living room. Only a marginal step-up in audio quality from the tv's built in speakers.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sleek design

HT-CT290 05/07/2017 by DC11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value for money Sits under the 56 inch TV looks and sounds great Wished I purchased this earlier

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Exellent Sounbar

htct290-b 02/07/2017 by NVSTG8TR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my 83 year old dad to be able to hear the tv better and he is blown away by how good the sound is and how clear the voices are. He can watch movies again and the sound doesn't have to shake the walls for him to hear it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ok but it's not surround sound

HT-CT290 29/06/2017 by Elgar1258 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Previously used a Panasonic cinema system supplying 5:1 Dolby. The sound bar is neat and ok but does not replace proper surround. It was free with the TV bundle so I am giving it a try. Probably spend some time now looking for a better option....or I may yet reinstate the Panasonic.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

gREAT dEAL

HT-CT290 21/06/2017 by mas1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up easy to switch on and off with one remote save messing with different handsets good performance

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0