Skip to Content
32

4.2 based on 32 customer reviews

18
8
2
1
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

User friendly

HT-RT5 07/12/2015 by JamesC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a little disappointed with the output when used with the TV or blue ray player etc. You have to max out on the volume to get any wow factor. However it pushes some watts when connected by Bluetooth to any media player. Shame output isn't the same with the TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Looks good but doesn't work

HT-RT5 27/07/2016 by AntBoots (United Kingdom)

Bought two months ago, sound is good through USB films bit that's about it. Sky, Bluetooth too quiet. Only lasted 6 weeks then packed in with a "Please Wait" message and nothing works. Would not recommend as fault seems common with these models.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

32 Customer Reviews

0

Sony HT-RT5 with soundbar

HT-RT5 26/10/2017 by cookiemonster26720 (United Kingdom)

Hi l have just bought the Sony HT - RT5 with sound bar I am very pleased with the sound quality and find it a good partner to sky Q.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy set up

HT-RT5 26/08/2017 by Sehiel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for a home cinema that I set up . Setup was straight forward . The wireless sub woofer and rear speakers linked up remotely with the soundbar themselves,so that was handy . The sound quality is very mpressive , I am an amateur when it comes to stuff like this and I was very impressed . The only problem I have had so far is connecting with Bluetooth . It's a bit temperamental, however great when it works. I have it connected it to my plays toon with an optical cable. You have to go into setting and change the output to optical cable if you do it this way. It's the same if you connect it up to your television with an optical cable . You have to go to setting and change the output to external speakers. I have also noticed that if I stream programs or movies through my PlayStation you only get sound from the sound bar and subwoofer. I think this is what happens if you stream , not sure though, so that is a little dissapointing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Bluetooth

HT-RT5 17/05/2017 by BigBellySLIM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the unit its self is first class. Looks,sounds and works great... was a bit let down because I bought some expensive sony head phones at the same time and you can not pair them with this unit..... cheers Slim

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does whats written on the tin

HT-RT5 19/03/2017 by LCC Chris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it after xmas 2016. It is easy to set up. It could be better and easier instalation guide as it would be difficult for someone with a lack of DIY knowledge. The sou d is good and provide many different features for sound. Unfortuately you can not alter the sound manual, like bass and treble etc. But overall a very good product only a bit overpriced but therefore its a SONY

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nowhere near as powerful as I'd hoped

HT-RT5 25/02/2017 by matelodave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it for a couple of weeks and I'm a bit disappointed with the sound level. It's only just about loud enough but not as good as I'd hoped.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent

HT-RT5 25/01/2017 by Pampea58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound bar and system. The sub woofer gives real grunt to things. Very pleased with this as an addition to our TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Truly a home cinema

HT-RT5 21/01/2017 by Mike52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent entertainment compared with my older home cinema system, Just shows how technology has lept forward

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Sound

HT-RT5 17/12/2016 by Knobby BRW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice looking equipment that compliments my TV perfectly. The sound is very impressive, most apparent when watching or listening to music. Individual controls for the Sub Woofer and a "night" button on the remote are very handy if you are concerned about upsetting the neighbours.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb quality

HT-RT5 08/11/2016 by SonyKing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this with a TV last week and for the money, I am very impressed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cinematic sounds great!

HT-RT5 19/10/2016 by Psychpreneur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish I bought one sooner, it does great job! Love it, hope they'll make a bigger one!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound great

HT-RT5 02/10/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a few weeks ago not only sounds great but looks great as well, wireless rear speakers and subwoofer work really igwell,really good pre set sounds give good option, not quite right on football preset does not marry with the TV, highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor system

HT-RT5 25/09/2016 by Fireblade666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this several months never worked properly since purchased

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Sony 5.1 sound bar with WiFi. Bluetooth

HT-RT5 21/09/2016 by jonjo7727 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All round excellent ptoduct and easy to set up and wife likes that there are no wires around the room

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound and gorgeous looks!

HT-RT5 21/09/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So, I've had this soundbar sound system for 3 months now....and it's stunning! Amazing sound, the surround speakers are really easy to hang on a couple of screws, and the surrounding effect from them is superb. I would say that I would like a switch on the satellite speakers somewhere to turn them off, because they are constantly plugged in behind the sofa so I can't reach the plugs! Subwoofer is really powerful.....not needed to have it up too loud, more than capable of really upsetting my neighbours! Songpal App is excellent too...definitely download to enhance your enjoyment. Brilliant system....I'd like it if the soundbar connections were more thought-out so it can sit right against the wall....as they are now it sticks out the depth of the HDMI cable connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

not working in 6 months

HT-RT5 18/09/2016 by mejor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good quality of sound with bad reliabality. 'Pleaes wait 'message rolling showup after 6 months using. My TV is LG and I checked online. If you have LG tv, please do not choose this soundbar. Not onlyme but also lots of people have the same problem. Since my friend give me this soundbar as a gift, we can not get reparie with Sony without orginal receipt.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

P Vasilev

HT-RT5 04/09/2016 by Vasilev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound, very good basses. Wi-fi connection to rear speakers. Good work Sony Team.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Looks good but doesn't work

HT-RT5 27/07/2016 by AntBoots (United Kingdom)

Bought two months ago, sound is good through USB films bit that's about it. Sky, Bluetooth too quiet. Only lasted 6 weeks then packed in with a "Please Wait" message and nothing works. Would not recommend as fault seems common with these models.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

0

Great sound system

HT-RT5 10/05/2016 by Mad hatter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought item about 5 weeks ago with a Sony tv. We use it mainly for films , football or music. Adds brilliant sound and base. Makes films sound as they should be heard adds to the atmosphere. If you listen to a cd on your DVD player the sound is superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good

HT-RT5 18/04/2016 by Mantle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound bar not as loud as I thought it was only when listening to music

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound quality

HT-RT5 04/03/2016 by Dhills (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the home theatre system to go with the Sony Bravia 9005 55" TV. Very impressed with the look and quality of the product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Nice looking system

HT-RT5 01/03/2016 by Irvine (United Kingdom)

This was purchased 6 weeks ago to replace on older system. Came in a large box, well packed and with easy to set up instructions. Worked well for the first 5 weeks then stopped working and is currently in for repair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

works great

HT-RT5 29/01/2016 by mappy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it end of december because i wanted a surround sound system with out all the wires and this does that just great.sounds really clear you can mess about in the sound settings to get speakers to go louder if you dont think there loud enough,ive never had to have it at full volume as i think id be getting complaints of the neighbours.all round brilliant system which lets you connect hdmi,optical and more which is something the sonos cant do.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfect

HT-RT5 28/01/2016 by Strangeways17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to go with 65inch bravia TV. The sound is excellent as you would expect. The extra features really make the difference. Total integration with the TV so that one remote does all. Links to Spotify. Cast to it via Bluetooth and Google cast so you can use your phone as a media player. Just completely ace.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound

HT-RT5 21/01/2016 by Sparky1947 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had it a month now and find it to be just what i wanted in a sound bar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Very happy BUT...

HT-RT5 17/01/2016 by TheLuggage (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it for a month and I'm happy with the quality of the build and the sounds is amazing. The only gripe I have is that after setting everything up with the brackets and the screws in the wall I plugged the HDMI cables in (3 of them) and realised they all faced upwards?? So have had to put it on the cabinet (which I didn't want) and recover and paint the wall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great sound, great features.

HT-RT5 15/12/2015 by Paul71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this 5.1 sound bar for about 1 month and it works great with 3 HDMI inputs I get full surround sound from all my devices and with ARC it's very easy to connect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

simple and user frendly

HT-RT5 14/12/2015 by andijo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for fortnight and have to say delighted as addition to main hifi is best for my needs head room even in my converted chapel is fab like being in cinema!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

User friendly

HT-RT5 07/12/2015 by JamesC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a little disappointed with the output when used with the TV or blue ray player etc. You have to max out on the volume to get any wow factor. However it pushes some watts when connected by Bluetooth to any media player. Shame output isn't the same with the TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Excellent system

HT-RT5 11/11/2015 by Smoo57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the sound quality and ease of use, highly recommend this product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Not Bad

HT-RT5 21/10/2015 by Kel520 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Has some good features if they work. I have Sonos too and although it picks it up on the network cant seem to play the files. Though I may need to set something or other to make it work. Sound overall is prity good so much better with the rear speakers. I have a sony tv with speaker each side of the screen cant have these on at the same time which is a little annoying. Overall I'm pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

perfect for my flat

HT-RT5 15/10/2015 by malcalpha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this a week ago to replace a surround system with lots of wires

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

5

0

belting piece of kit

HT-RT5 02/10/2015 by didd1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent home cinema system easy to set up sounds fantastic. Does sometimes drop out but since firmware update things seem to work better. Also a bonus that its networked hope Sony will add new features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

24