Skip to Content
273

4.5 based on 273 customer reviews

185
55
23
3
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very Impressive Sound Bar

HTXT1 13/08/2014 by MikeK (USA)

We thought the sound bar would be decent, but we have been amazed by how good it is, particularly when watching movies. While not quite the same as our full home theater setup, this sound bar is solid, beautiful, and brings near home theater quality to the new Sony TV in our den. We couldn't be more pleased with it.

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

sound problems when streaming from Amazon or Netfl

HTXT1 23/05/2015 by gehurley (USA)

Great sound when watching normal TV or movies from a Bluray player. When streaming shows from Amazon or Netflix sound cuts in and out, stuttering,etc. Streaming same shows via Blu Ray player has no sound problem. Have not been able to solve the problem. Any help would be appreciated.

11

0

273 Customer Reviews

0

Great system for the price

HTXT1 07/09/2017 by Hank 2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this over a month ago and very happy with the performance to date.Unit has great features and sounds great

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Volume Could be Improved (Loudness)

HTXT1 05/09/2017 by RayRayFL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this external sound system to go with my new Sony Bravia X900E but I find that you really have to "crank" it up to get a reasonable sound level. Still an improvement from the TV speaker.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

OK sound for the cost

HTXT1 25/08/2017 by jhnj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to add some better sound quality to my second TV. Unfortunately this TV is relatively older than the HDMI ARC technology so I needed an Optical cable to connect the TV with the soundbar. I think this cable should be included with the equipment. It also requires an HDMI cable but if my TV supported ARC via HDMI, then I would not need any other cables. Has settings for the type of video being played, e.g. Movie, Sports, etc. Enhanced sound quality is fair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound, remote, app integration

HT-XT1 08/07/2017 by Abnj (USA)

Have had this for several years. Love it. Actually use it more for music than TV. Form factor was primary motivation to purchase. Integration with Sony music app is good. Remote control is very handy (love the design). For another room, wondering whether I can add wireless speakers and but a second, but I suspect that requires the xt2 + the speakers. Overall best Sony product I've purchased (although NW Walkman is a close second). Restored confidence in company.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

great looks great sound.

HT-XT1 04/07/2017  (USA)

I bought it because the sound on my television has decided to retire and I figured it was cheaper than buying a new one. It has great sound and I love playing with the different settings.That was probably why the remote deserted.Fine machine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Could Have Provided Measly Optical Cable

HTXT1 01/07/2017 by jghsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like a lot of folks my TV doesnt support HDMI ARC so I needed to buy an optical cable. Should have been provided its not expensive. I cannot rate anything until I get the cable.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

HTXT1 13/06/2017 by CR1944 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Big improvement over internal TV speakers. I just wish this would power up at the same time as my TV, without requiring a separate button to push.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Plenty of HDMI ports

HT-XT1 15/01/2017 by Alan 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife bought me this for Christmas. It was easy to set up and use. The ARC feature is particularly useful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good Sounds.

HTXT1 05/01/2017 by Kattmann (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Installs easy and sounds good. Good entry Sound device and nice features. Placed my tv on it and let it play.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds great for a stereo sound unit.

HTXT1 04/01/2017 by Dougo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality product, great sound for the money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony HT-CT390 or SA-

HTXT1 27/12/2016 by kraske (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound bar works fine but the Sony Registration process is a waste of time. The site would not allow me to put in my model number. Kicked it out each time so I just entered another sound bar model number to get past.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Excellent product

HT-XT1 09/12/2016 by Nobby2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does what it says on the label. Straight forward to connect to television

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

really makes a positive improvement over tv sound

HT-XT1 02/10/2016 by Zola2525 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

ideal solution for improving TV sound, excellent and simple to set up. like the bluetooth connection for streaming music too. works flawlessly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Device

HT-XT1 19/09/2016 by cowboy35 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this Sony Soundbase for about a month now.bought it after trying sounbars from differnt manufacturers & being very disapointed .so i really couldnt be more pleased with my purchase ,It gives wonderful clarity & body to the sound .cannot recommed it highly enough

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

great system

HTXT1 12/09/2016 by dudair (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

purchased this system and was very surprised at the ease of installation. system sounds like a 5 speaker system in our watching room. great sound quality that of more expensive units I have owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic,made a world of difference

HT-XT1 13/08/2016 by Barney2011 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ok, so you're not going to get a perfect surround effect but the sound is an amazing improvement for any TV. Looks neat under my TV. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Disappointing

HT-XT1 07/08/2016 by avi15uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is not Sony's most expensive base speaker or sound bar, nor is it the entry level model. I also took advantage of a very good deal on the recommended price. The sales person at the Sony Centre was vey helpful and knowledgeable and while showing the more expensive models made no pushy effort to steer me in their direction. Th item was not in stock so had to be ordered but was delivered within two days. I wanted a speaker of particular dimensions so that it fit on a specific shelf, was easy to connect, turned on and off using the TV remote and had good sound. All were met except the latter. Even with the good price deal, I did not think the improvement over the TV's inbuilt speaker warranted the expense of the base speaker. Connection was easy, one high speed HDMI cable which connects to the TV's HDMI ARC port. Using the TV's remote to turn the base speaker on and off worked intermittently. A really annoying "feature" was that the volume level was displayed on the bas speaker, but continued to be on the TV as well. The TV volume was 10 units difference to the base speaker. The volume setting needed to be much higher to achieve the same volume level sans base speaker. Return was quibble free s this was the first time I have not been happy with a Sony product or needed to return.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Great looks

HT-XT1 22/07/2016 by namronroom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this together with a Sony TV but my reservation is that the base booms because the whofers are only 2 inches away from whatever it is standing on. Even all the adjustments on the remote do not cure this problem, in my opinion a design fault

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

sounds good but not in sync with television

HT-XT1 18/07/2016 by kontact (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this Sony TV Base Speaker with Built-in Subwoofer and the sound is quite good but the sound is not in sync with the television

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sound.

HT-XT1 11/07/2016 by Johnreid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good clear sound to compliment the 4K TV sitting on it. Well worth the purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Older model 2014

HT-XT1 07/07/2016 by Daffa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Sony Home Cinema system mainly because of the wife not liking the rear speakers. The ht-x1 is decent but not a patch on a 5:1 surround system but definitely a step up from basic TV sound.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Love the Bluetooth

HT-XT1 06/07/2016 by Briar87 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this for a couple of weeks, Very stylish, Bluetooth great for smartphone music Sounds great for movies & tv lots of features deep bass & sounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great improvement

HT-XT1 20/06/2016 by Plot140 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having recently bought a Sony Bravia KD49X83 4K TV the sound base does improve the sound of the TV, there's no lip sync issues

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Think twice

HT-XT1 15/06/2016 by Bumbleturpin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A bit disappointed to be honest not the best sound quality would think again before buying another

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Improves the sound of Sony tv

HT-XT1 11/06/2016 by GUKEN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased as a bargain and works great as a stand alone sound system

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

excellent

HT-XT1 06/06/2016 by thenavogator (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had 3 weeks. Very happy with set up. Sound quality first rate for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Improves sound quality if not volume

HT-XT1 18/05/2016 by Cs Grandad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the sound bar to try to improve the volume of my Sony TV speakers which on occasions is very low. The sound bar does make the sound "richer" and with the various different "voices" it does enhance the viewing experience, but it doesn't really seem to make it louder which was my main objective. On the plus side the design including the inbuilt sub-woofer makes it really tidy and it sits very comfortably under the TV. The fact that the sound bar goes into standby mode with the TV is also very convenient.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not as easy as it makes out to be to set up

HT-XT1 16/05/2016 by jokamac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish I hadn't bought it and gone for a samsung instead

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

excellent soundbase

HT-XT1 05/05/2016 by jg12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to set up, sounds great and discreet. better than sound bars

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Stylish compact Sony Sound Base

HT-XT1 14/04/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony Sound base is compact and in my opinion a stylish solution to improving the generally poor sound quality of todays flat screen TV's. I had a sound bar and subwoofer before which gave a good level of performance but I was unhappy with the level of clutter. This sound base looks good and the sound is detailed with a good lervel of base. I would say that the sound is good for the units size and performs well for watching movies etc. Sound quality could probably be matched or bettered by seperate sub woofer units with satalite speakers but if you want a no clutter solution with a good level of sound quality and features this is a good option to consider. I would score build quality 10 out of 10, sound 8, features 8 connectivity 10.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Takes some getting to know!

HT-XT1 12/04/2016 by AngelHair (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think I have finally sorted out this sound bar, which improves the TV sound system. Sadly I had to Google instructions which were on You Tube which explained how TV settings also needed to be changed, which was not obvious from the booklet instructions. I find the remote too simplified and not easy to understand.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good sound easy to use

HT-XT1 10/04/2016 by Momeast (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with my Sony tv. Very easy to set up with optical cable only being needed.just plug HDMI leads from DVD etc . The sound from this device is of a very good quality,the unit looks good under the tv. Overall very happy with this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Hmmm could do better

HT-XT1 09/04/2016 by Ladlar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very stylish and a good looking product. Easily set up and the quality and feel of the unit is the usual high end we have come to expect from Sony. The sound experience is excellent and certainly enhances to a level I was hoping for. The only problem I have found is that it doesn't sound as good at lower volume levels and therefore maybe not suitable for smaller rooms or where noise levels would annoy neighbours etc. Several other reviews have complained about the remote but I found no problem and the fact that it is a totally original design makes it easily recognisable from all the other remotes you may own

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-XT1 22/03/2016 by Johnny Boy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading reviews of the Bose (our original choice) and seeing not favourable reviews, we found this and saw good reviews. Very impressed with sound quality, enhances the new TC well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good Quality Sound Base with lots of control.

HT-XT1 16/03/2016 by Grumpy63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very satisfied with this HT-XT1 Sound base after overcoming two issues; excessive Subwoofer output and the Sony Bravia Sync / Arc not functioning. Issue 1: The Sound base is positioned on a glass shelf just below the TV in the corner of the room. This position amplifiers the base output significantly and distorts the sound. The HT-XT1 allowed me to reduce the subwoofer output to eliminate this effect. Issue 2: I have connected the Sound base via HDMI ARC to my Sony TV (KDL-40W705C) but my HUMAX Digital Recorder that was connected via HDMI to the TV stopped the Sony Bravia Sync / ARC from working. This was solved by buying an HDMI adapter that isolated the specific HDMI control signal (Pin 13) from the HUMAX box. Now the Sony Bravia Sync / ARC functionality works brilliantly. I need to thank the Sony Community Chat Forum for helping me find the solution. In normal TV mode the Sony HT-XT1 output is not much different from the TV audio but when it comes to music or films it produces a better depth of sound. Overall build quality is first class. I think it is worth getting.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Sony soundbase

HT-XT1 10/03/2016 by d j s (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to pair our samsung phones with bluetooth is the only let down,my sons sony phone paired no problem.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Solid performer

HT-XT1 10/03/2016 by Pavlova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for playing games and it delivers great sound with decent bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Don't bother buying this

HT-XT1 08/03/2016 by Unhappy customer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a loyal Sony customer. I would not have thought of buying any other brand. I bought a new Sony TV. The Picture was superb. The audio was dreadful, "tinny" sounding and painful to listen to. Reluctantly I bought this Base Speaker to improve the audio, which it does. However the audio is out of sync with the picture. There is a sync feature but it does not make any difference. The instructions are woeful and give no guidance as to a fix. I find it better to endure the poor sound from the television and leave the base unit switched off rather than try to endure the out of sync sound. OK, the unit looks nice but that is it's only redeeming feature.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

You can hear it

HT-XT1 07/03/2016 by Whydoweneedanickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased with the hard of hearing as priority and it has been better than expected. No more subtitles, which become addictive and take your attention away from what is happening on screen. Worthwhile purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant Idea

HT-XT1 06/03/2016 by SML53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have hearing problems and this helps me hear programmes without the need for subtitles (which are annoying for others) or a load of huge speakers on the wall. Easy to set up and use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It does what it is supposed to do

HT-XT1 27/02/2016 by JeffWW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second sound bar and this one is far better than the first

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

No compromise

HT-XT1 07/02/2016 by Spock46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced a full surround sound HTSF-1000 with this stand alone unit and I'm pleased to report it's even better. Voices are clear and concise with bass being strong but unobtrusive. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Beautiful Sound

HT-XT1 23/01/2016 by Rev1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have problems hearing high frequencies (particularly speech sibilants) so it is important that any audio equipment I have can compensate. The HT-XT1 does this beautifully as well as looking very good. There is plenty of base for the boom boom fans too. Excellent all round clarity.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Cheap and clear sound, deep bass

HT-XT1 22/01/2016 by The Fez (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought with 4K tv and glad I picked this over the Bose

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-XT1 21/01/2016 by ainer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great choice for a reasonable price - sound quality is brilliant !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sound box

HT-XT1 17/01/2016 by aviator40 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

attractive looking item but sound has echo otherwise a good product

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

great product

HT-XT1 17/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this about 2 weeks now, best piece of kit I've bought in ages, especially with new Bravia tv. Highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-XT1 16/01/2016 by Carole54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was recommended this by the sales man as we had no idea which make or model to go for. We are very please with it and would recommend to anyone. The sound quality is great and it is very easy to set up and use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony HT-xt1

HT-XT1 08/01/2016 by Great sound (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Managed to set this up using digital optical cable that's supplied.Had no success with HDMI arc into tv.This sound bar is a quality piece of kit when up and running and complements Sony kd49830 nicely

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good value sound bar

HT-XT1 07/01/2016 by Rampers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this before Christmas so that we could enjoy a better quality sound for the holiday movies. It ticked that box very well. An added bonus is the feature to enhance voice quality. No more asking "what did he say??". The built in sub-woofer obviously does not give the depth of sound that a separate one achieves. However, this is more than compensated for by the fact that the TV sits on top of the sound bar thus saving space and enhancing the sound direction/stereo effect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Clean lines and good sound

HT-XT1 04/01/2016 by None1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought as an uncluttered option to surround system which gives similar sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony TV Sound base ht-xt1

HT-XT1 23/12/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the Sony TV sound base for a few weeks now and am vey impressed. I got it to replace a surround sound system and am very pleased with it, no speaker cables or setting up required most is pre-set.. The reason I didn't give it 5* was the remote although useable it could have been designed a bit more solid. That said it was a good buy and I would recommend it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy set up

HT-XT1 21/12/2015 by Delboy 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been looking at sound bases for a while and this was the best

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All the sound I need.

HT-XT1 30/11/2015 by Burt57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This replaced my HT-CT80 80W Soundbar with Subwoofer. No more struggling to reach above the soundbar to get the remote to work and tripping over the woofer. The soundbase sits nicely under the TV. Great features such as Sound Field. HDMI Arc input ensures compatibility with my Sony TV and BluRay player. All in all a great product and not overly expensive. Oh and the remote is pretty good too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Loud

HT-XT1 27/11/2015 by LauraVi25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the item couple of weeks ago, all I can say: Great price and great quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb piece of equipment.

HT-XT1 26/11/2015 by Alibasher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product recently to replace a home cinema system.This product sits on the bottom of my TV stand.It looks stylish and the sound from it is great,really rich. I am glad to be free of the old system and all its small speakers and wires. This new unit is really easy to install and operate.I am enjoying the sound quality when watching TV and Blurays.I am also using it to stream music via the Bluetooth facility which is really easy to setup and use. The only slight negative is that I find the remote control,while aesthetically pleasing,is small and I am worried it might get misplaced. All in all I am delighted with this product and would highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unbelievable sound quality

HT-XT1 25/11/2015 by Patient_listener (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only reason why I can't give a 5 star rating is due to the fact that the base was diagnosed as faulty and unable to receive remote signals. The only alternative now remains is to use it's Bluetooth based app which I forgot to mention is another great feature. Just wish there were volume buttons on the base as well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Sound Base

HT-XT1 19/11/2015 by 1cello2richard (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had this audio system for a couple of weeks now and are very pleased with it. Originally we had a surround system with speakers all round the room. Lots of untidy cables too. It was a mess! But with the Sony Sound Base we have everything in one tidy cabinet. Just one little cable between the unit and the tv keeps everything neat. The best thing though is the sound. It's terrific. It's great for music and films. The subwoofers particularly really come into their own during films. The bass frequencies really add to the action of an exciting film. Lastly the tv (which is also a Sony) sits neatly on top of the Sound Base. They compliment each other too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

GREAT SOUND

HT-XT1 07/11/2015 by SONNY MAN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

BOUGHT LESS THAN AMONTH AGO AND ITS GREAT TO USE IN FILMS. FILLS ROOM WITH SOUND, EASY TO SETUO AND USE, LIKE HOW IT SWITCHES ON WITH TV AND REMBERS SOUND VOLUME. NO PROBLEMS WITH BLUE TOOTH CONNECTIONS. I HAVE A 7.1 AMP, BUT IS TO MUCH FOR THE WIFE TO OPERATE SO GOT THIS SONY , WIFE LOVES IT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

sony soundstage

HT-XT1 24/10/2015 by coffin dodger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better than expected and good value for money Neat and compact

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Disappointing

HT-XT1 12/10/2015 by toner_cloud (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and was disappointed from the start. The intervening days have done nothing to change my views. I thought Sony were mean to not include an HDMI cable and yet they did include an optical cable. But there seems no way to specify spdif as an input so it has to be used with an HDMI cable but that's not how I want to use it. Also the sound levels seem to vary too much between inputs. The unit takes too long to power on and select inputs. My Sony tv doesn't take that long to work out which input is being used to why should this thing?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Great features

HT-XT1 26/09/2015 by arsenal1886 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 1 monts ago and I am so happy. Very good quality and sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very Good

HT-XT1 22/09/2015 by unhappy5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Improved TV performance. Much, Much better than the previous box I had from Sony. Which I returned and you refused to take on the review. Which was sad. This an item that does Sony proud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

My HT-XT1 Experience

HT-XT1 14/09/2015 by mengineer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the HT-XT1 to replace the cheaper HT-XT100 which had an inherent issue that couldn't be resolved. The smart looking HT-XT1 with subtle display has improved functionality over the XT-100 including a 3 input HDMI switcher which is useful. The smartphone App as mentioned in previous reviews works well and makes most adjustments easier than using the supplied remote, which incidentally feels very cheap. The sound quality is fairly good, although it took a little while to optimise. In my view however the sound is not quite as good as the less slim and cheaper HT-XT100. On occasions it has sounded a little 'boxy', but generally would satisfy most users and provide a valuable improvement over the integrated television speakers. I would add that the sound improved after a couple of weeks use. One final point worth noting is that that the delay through the unit is small enough not to require an audio advance from the television, so if there are no adjustments on the television it's connected to lip-sync shouldn't be an issue to even the most discerning users.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0