Skip to Content
69

3.9 based on 69 customer reviews

27
22
10
4
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Deep rumble, sonic clarity

HT-XT100 22/05/2016 by MattH76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the sound plate rather than the sound bar because of the integral sub - I was not disappointed. Hardly have it off the mark and it really packs a punch. Voice is crystal clear, low frequencies are felt through the floor. All the features are so easy to use. Provided with an optical cable is a real bonus

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

nothing

HT-XT100 07/10/2016 by eurodrift (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couldn't get it to set up I had a lead conecting it to my tv but it kept jumping to blootooth and the sound would go off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

69 Customer Reviews

0

Better sound reproduction than TV

HT-XT100 12/11/2017 by MJR1 (United Kingdom)

Improved listening quality, bit I did find it somewhat difficult to set up to my satisfaction.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

interesting product...

80W 28/10/2017 by Bobfixit (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

hook up went well, lots of features, the optical connection created a weird echo in the sound, used the HDMI-ARC all was good, TV remote could then adjust speaker volume. sound was different but not necessarily better than the computers speakers that it replaced

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/10/2017

Hi Bobfixit, We are glad that you appreciate the features of this unit. Thank you for sharing this feedback. We will make sure for the improvement of this TV Sound Base Speaker System. Regards, -Jay

0

Sounds better than expected

HT-XT100 24/10/2017 by willidw (Canada)

Bought for my son for his Birthday. Works well in his apartment. Enough base to sound good, but not enough to annoy the neighbours in his apartment. Perfect for apartment living.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony sound system

HT-XT100 08/10/2017 by Johnnofj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound, supports tv well, a little to big lifting the tv a bit to high bit the price was good a sounds great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than boss solo 5

HT-XT100 01/10/2017 by Oladipo (Canada)

I have this to replace Boss speaker, I'm happy i took the decision. It's an excellent speaker better than bose solo 5 i had

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Major firmware issue do not recommend!

HT-XT100 29/09/2017 by unhappy1647 (Canada)

I bought this a few months ago. Now it automatically jumps to Bluetooth (even if turned off). It is now unusable, I can't get through a commercial break before it jumps inputs. This is a know issue affecting other models too and nothing has been done to fix it in years.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/09/2017

Hi unhappy1647, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if there is any so we can review your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

A Very Good Purchase

HT-XT100 19/08/2017 by kev47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife is hard of hearing and over the years has purchased various devices to aidher listening to the tv but this is by far the best. The TV sound is mainly out the back of the TV but this device allows it to be directional towards the listener with the added advantage that the sub woofer allows the deeper base sounds to be louder. The voice button allows the dialogue to be accentuated and easier to hear. Ideal for my wife even when playing back DVDS without subtitles.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony HT-XT 100

HT-XT100 20/05/2017 by NoneIknow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Out of box up and operating with Optical cable within minutes of delivery. However using HDMI (arc) was, and still is annoying, as every time I change from say TV to any other setting, it goes back to optical , so I reset it and when I change again back it goes to optical. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong .Any feedback on this would be appreciated. All that said ,I find the sound quality excellent and can be tuned to your own ear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sounds amazing

HT-XT100 13/05/2017 by 99999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for two weeks and have not been disapointed.Had sync problems,solved by plugging direct to sky box.If you want to use other inputs,playstation,dvd,amazon, netflix ect get toselink splitter (from the back of unit,then 1 toeslink from splitter to tv,other from sky box to splitter.If that makes any sence).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple but effective

HT-XT100 06/05/2017 by Scotfree (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Few bells or whistles, but quickly connected to aging but still excellent TV upgrading sound which was the whole point. I neither need nor want HiFi in this set up, but significant improvement in sound. Straightforward setup. Great for playback of music and voice radio. Lag on film has been reported but, as I don't watch film on this setup, can't comment and largely irrelevant.Blue tooth connection rarely required, but good to have. Perhaps not the ideal solution for a HiFi enthusiast, but ideal for my needs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Well worth having

HT-XT100 04/04/2017 by Dad dad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Stylish, nice looking and very smart with the 40inch Sony T V.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Better than expected....

HT-XT100 03/04/2017 by Sonymad777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is certainly better than expected as the price was so good. i was looking at sound bars but certainly this has all the features and more highly recommended

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not able to use all feachers

HT-XT100 21/02/2017 by jonan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

cannot get to work properly with my sony tv, and emails sent to sony support for help have been ignored

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Trust Sony products

HT-XT100 20/01/2017 by Jess23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound made good choice,looks good sits nicely under my tv

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - 2.1ch TV Base Speaker with Bluetooth

HT-XT100 15/10/2016 by paulha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very pleased with the sound quality but i cannot link this to my Bravia tv through the AVC HDMI to enable my tv remote to control the soundbase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

nothing

HT-XT100 07/10/2016 by eurodrift (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couldn't get it to set up I had a lead conecting it to my tv but it kept jumping to blootooth and the sound would go off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great product

HT-XT100 04/10/2016 by Annabelles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago & so pleased with the quality & price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound improvement!

HT-XT100 10/07/2016 by Mart0257 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First sound base had a communication error which meant periodically the sound would switch back to the tv spkrs. Only unplugging from the mains and after a short while plug back in and switch on again for it to continue to work. When the replacement came & with a little help from retailer, the sound base seems to be working very well! Using only the optical digital cable, the tv spkrs setting although set to audio, still turn the tv sound right down to zero and use only the sound base remote for sound level. The lip sync error doesn't seem to occur & neither does the intermittent loss of sound occur.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

not as exspected

HT-XT100 22/06/2016 by Barith Suffolk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Dos not seem to improve the TV sound, I don't use it on the TV anymore grate for playing music from my kindle H D the wand is difficult to use as its multi functional and dos not seem to work when you wont to alter tone

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Troublesome!

HT-XT100 16/06/2016 by Unhappy52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not very impressed. Often when turning on there is no sound at all or sound from both TV and soundstage. Each time I have to unplug the HDMI cable and reconnect to get it working. It is connected to an equally new Sony TV via the ARC socket. Also the 'sound-lag' between picture and sound is very noticeable at times.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Deep rumble, sonic clarity

HT-XT100 22/05/2016 by MattH76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the sound plate rather than the sound bar because of the integral sub - I was not disappointed. Hardly have it off the mark and it really packs a punch. Voice is crystal clear, low frequencies are felt through the floor. All the features are so easy to use. Provided with an optical cable is a real bonus

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

good value & that

HT-XT100 06/05/2016 by Edinborg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to use and install. good value. I've been using Sony products for years

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds good

HT-XT100 05/05/2016 by Ken8261 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As the TV sits on the sound bar it takes up no more room and doesn’t look like an add on. It took a little time to set it up to the way I wanted it but now you can tell the difference in the sound quality to a normal TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

HT-XT100 19/04/2016 by RedTel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speaker has great sound quality in the lower and mid range volumes but disappoints at loud. Even worse the HDMI port stopped working after a week and I had to switch to the optical cable. I live on Crete and the hassle to send it back after waiting FIVE weeks for delivery is too great.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Probably incompatible with Sony BRAVIA 32 TV KD

HT-XT100 06/04/2016 by Cousin of James (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had 2 problems - a lip sync delay between lips moving and speech being heard that varied from very short to several seconds; and a complete loss of sound for several seconds, followed by faint croaks which then became recognisable speech, before the sound recovered. Both problems were variable, and did not seem to correlate with any specific part of the film/DVD. I have now traded up to the Sony HT-XT1 Soundstage, and I am very happy to report that the performance is now superb!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Nice Addition

HT-XT100 23/03/2016 by Malky68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it just over a month ago and I am very satisfied with it, easy to connect to the TV and my I-Pod. I liked the idea of standing my TV on it saving space.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

LOOKS NEAT AND SOUNDS GOOD

HT-XT100 16/03/2016 by DOCO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT. WAS A GOOD PURCHACE AND GLAD IVE GOT IT

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

HT-XT100 12/03/2016 by Jim82 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 weeks ago to go with my Somy TVs. It only improved the sound marginally. I had it linked to the TV by a HDMI connection, but a few days ago that ceased to work, and now l have to use the OSC connection. It is going back to the dealer in a few days

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Good Sound

HT-XT100 27/02/2016 by Kampas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a few weeks ago to enhance the sound on my JVC TV which was dreadful. I looked at a number of soundplates but this one seemed to fit the bill. The sound is very good on both TV and Bluetooth. My only comment is that the volume on the TV is set at 11 but when on Bluetooth it has to start at 25, it could also have a higher volume on the sub woofer. I would not hesitate to buy this product again, it is value for money

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Lip Sync Problems

HT-XT100 24/02/2016 by Ian_T (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this with new 48" Smart Sony TV and expected them to work together, however when connected through HDMI (ARC) as recommended (so the volume can be controlled with the TV remote, the picture and sound repeatedly go out of sync, and the sound glitches occasionally when they get back in sync. Had to connect through optical cable instead which means using 2 remotes. Expected better, but researching this further, it is a common problem with this sound base.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great Sound Box

HT-XT100 23/02/2016 by Railwayman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound. Easy to set up. Big and strong enough to place tv on top

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased

HT-XT100 20/02/2016 by Olgirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just had it two weeks, but what a difference the sound is....my son is also very impressed and hoping to purchase one for his family...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Sound

HT-XT100 14/02/2016 by Klees (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to go with Sony bravia kdlw48705c, tv sits nice on top of sound base and looks great.The sound totally transforms watching TV, especially watching movies and gives surround sound. Easy to set up, plug and play, and optical lead comes with the sound base so everything is there to get going. I also set up using hdmi lead, and base turns off automatically when turning the TV off with its remote, only thing is i sometimes get a crackling sound through the sound base which kinda annoys me so switched back to the optical lead but to be honest the sound is that good i cant tell the difference. would recommend all day to everyone glad i got this, always Sony for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good but lip sync problems with HDMI ARC

HT-XT100 08/02/2016 by EdwardPC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Generally pleased as this is a vast improvement over my TV's built in speakers (KDL-40EX713). The optical audio connection works fine but the HDMI ARC does not, with hopeless lip sync which cannot be resolved by adjusting the output from the media sources (Blu-ray and PVR). As this issue has been reported my many users this suggests that there is an underlying fault that needs to be addressed (perhaps by a firmware update?). I would welcome some feedback from SONY on this matter.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony Sound Base

HT-XT100 07/02/2016 by Robbie1853 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item, just before Christmas 2015, and because I already have a Sony TV , I wanted to keep things compatible, and I also wanted the sub woofer built into the unit, I didn't want a separate speaker from the main unit. It was so easy to set up, and it enhances the TV, I am very pleased with this item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Nice sound easy setup

HT-XT100 04/02/2016 by Numpty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it 3 weeks no problems night setting to protect neighbours .dogs don't like subwoofer though

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good add on for my HD tv

HT-XT100 02/02/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good upgrade for HD TV. Easy set up, I particularly liked the HDMI ARC connection allowing single remote control for soundbase and tv. I eventually found the menu to change the default audio settng from optical to HDMI and after trying out all the sound settings I have settled on the Clearaudio+ setting as a good all round choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony x 100

HT-XT100 25/01/2016 by blip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

not very good would not recommend it to a friend or anyone

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Sony What can I say

HT-XT100 25/01/2016 by karlmancs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a brilliant piece of kit. Looks great underneath my Sony TV. Really easy to set up. LED writing comes up at the front gives options on which to have your Sony speak base on. IE. game, choral, Standard etc. It's Bluetooth too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not a bad sound base

HT-XT100 22/01/2016 by SHERMINATOR1985 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Item does sound good however I seem to have issues of what I can describe as 'hicups' with the 'surround effect' switched on, when turned off I don't experience any issues and it is a improvement over the std TV speakers.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for money product

HT-XT100 17/01/2016 by Barcud (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 43in.Sony Bravia with this product installed them beginning of the year. Took a few days to familiarise with them both.As sound was out of sync with the digiskybox I connected the optical cable to the skybox and soundbase seemed to sort the problem. When on terrestial input on tele switched to Hamilton arc input. Took some time to adjust the the way to adjust bass and treble.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Comfortable size to suit TV

HT-XT100 17/01/2016 by Moey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased primarily to assist wife to hear TV owing to hearing problem. Excellent sound reproduction. Needs HDMI cable to realise full potential

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0