49

4.0 based on 49 customer reviews

24
12
8
0
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Improve your TV sound!

HT-XT2 19/09/2016 by Beechla01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a simple way to get near theatre quality sound, without the need to run cables and speakers around your room

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Worked for a while but now is just a paperweight!

HT-XT2 05/03/2018 by jason_t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was great whilst it worked, but now that's it's just out of warranty it's developed a fault and no longer works. Disappointed - I'd expect this to last for more than a year!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

49 Customer Reviews

0

New great experience for beginners

170W 14/04/2018 by LifeinMP4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit about 11 months ago and was amazed at what it can do. Unfortunately, my sound base was a lemon. Sent it in for warranty repair and I got what I was expecting -- a speaker with great sound and features.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Constantly Disconnects from Bluetooth

HT-XT2 27/03/2018 by gbev (USA)

I bought this less than a year ago and it has been constantly disconnecting from bluetooth. It has progressively started to disconnect from my bluetooth. Initially, I was not having issues with this product, but recently it has been disconnecting within a couple of minutes of using. It now does not connect at all.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very low grade

HT-XT2 19/03/2018 by Munty (USA)

My Sony TV sound is a lot better than this sound system. Extremely low sound to the extent of frustration. I normally keep my Sony TV volume to about 15 to 25 but with this system I have to crank it up to 65 to 70 for normal listening. Voice, music and bass are not up to the mark. Not a good choice.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does the job well

HT-XT2 06/03/2018 by jimbo27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We were having problems with the sound range on our tv and decided to investigate a sound bar solution. We decided on the Sony sound base speaker as it fitted perfetly under our tv and the sound we have now is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Worked for a while but now is just a paperweight!

HT-XT2 05/03/2018 by jason_t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was great whilst it worked, but now that's it's just out of warranty it's developed a fault and no longer works. Disappointed - I'd expect this to last for more than a year!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Great whilst it lasted

HT-XT2 03/03/2018 by Russ458 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last April and needed a new motherboard by January

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent Connectivity and Quality

HT-XT2 12/02/2018 by BTSony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So pleased with the features and build quality of the HTXT2 after having its predecessor the HTXT1 for the last three years. Amazing connectivity for other devices including WiFi which makes it a fantastic replacement for a home audio system. Love the remote which echoes the design of our new Sony TV's (much easier than the wand of the HTXT1) and love the on-screen display. Amazing again Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best hardware, worst software.

HT-XT2 10/02/2018 by jangoloti (USA)

Very good sound, dismal usability through the Music Center app (before called SongPal). You cannot search for a song and you need to browse them all (I have 5000!). You cannot add them to the queue. They are all repeated when they are not repeated in the server. And so many more... Just look at the evaluations on the Apple Store and get your own conclusion before buying this loudspeaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Product, which you can add to

HT-XT2 05/01/2018 by Hailes 50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial I borought it to use on my computer but at the moment it is on the TV, I might yet move to the computer but the sound is a great inprovment on the tv speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality soundbase.

HT-XT2 20/12/2017 by MrDJax (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent value for money. Well built. Good sound. Expandable system. Improves TV sound immensely.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best for those wanting everything in one box

HT-XT2 19/12/2017 by Chrisgolfer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound quality without the clutter of additional boxes. Decent size means you TV easily stands on the floating glass top.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound....realistic

HT-XT2 17/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set this unit up 1 month ago ,only 1 hdmi (arc) cable and set up my BT box to switch on TV and Sounbar. So easy and quick. Watched few films so far and sound is great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-XT2 17/12/2017 by as previously given (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A perfect match for our Sony TV, looks good with excellent sound.Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but .....

HT-XT2 07/12/2017 by BrianCP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Managed to set up the audio links satisfactorily. The bass note/woofer control effect is very good indeed. The ability to plug in a USB containing your favourite music tracks is a bonus. However .... I could not achieve Screen Mirroring/MIRACAST between my Sony TV & laptop which is disappointing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does what it should

HT-XT2 02/12/2017 by corny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the Base Speaker, easy to use and a good sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great looking and superb sound

HT-XT2 01/12/2017 by Ashby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple if weeks around am delighted. My TV sits perfectly on top inside my TV cabinet. The sound is awesome and it looks great Just what I was after.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

HT-XT2 20/11/2017 by ukwelshguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have just bought this it is very easy to connect to your tv and the sound is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pleased

HT-XT2 01/11/2017 by Paulpp (United Kingdom)

Sound good - better when louder. Manual could be better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super product

HT-XT2 21/10/2017 by Tony Calzone (United Kingdom)

Replaced a sound bar with this and it does evrrything that I wanted from it and more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

2.1ch TV Base speaker with Wi Fi/Bluetooth

HT-XT2 05/10/2017 by Jimf58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so pleased with this sound system I got it just under a month ago thinking now I should have got it at the beginning of the year along with my TV the sound quality is excellent USB port and Bluetooth plus more.would I recommend it well I did my sister and friend has now got one. I also liked the price. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Improves clarity.

HT-XT2 22/09/2017 by Alex9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased this due to finding dialogue sometimes difficult to catch. Now find that speech is clearer. I prefer the sound base to sound bars for two reasons. Firstly it slightly elevates the tv and secondly it does not "hide" the infra red "receiver" on the tv. Whilst there are many features I was really only interested in clarity.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good sound - poor connectivity

HT-XT2 10/09/2017 by JBSJBS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony XT2 Soundbase is a well featured and good-sounding speaker that is let down a bit by poor physical connectivity. Great for a fully wireless system but no good if you need HDMI ports like the older XT1 model had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

HT-XT2 09/08/2017 by Golfdon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar allows you to sit TV on top of it, saves space and looks great with the TV on top.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

sony base speaker

HT-XT2 29/07/2017 by bazzaboy (United Kingdom)

I bought this base speaker system about a month ago to improve the sound of my TV and am not disappointed listening to sound tracks on movies is superb, I have also connected my smart phone via bluetooth to listen to music it was very good and not being technically minded I found the instructions really easy to follow another plus. With the 100 watt subwoofer built in it meant less cabling and more space.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

excellent sound quality

HT-XT2 08/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality really enhances the viewing experience

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stylish piece of equipment

HT-XT2 27/05/2017 by DIY man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have now had this unit a few weeks now and it is excellent in the sound quality and the additional functions it can do

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to set up

HT-XT2 01/05/2017 by Chris 100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im glad I bought this, as the tv speakers are a bit tinny to say the least. this base speaker has just enough in the sound spectrum to make watching tv enjoyable. A sound bar is a must when buying a large flat screen tv

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing crisp clear sounds

170W 06/04/2017 by Nickelsass (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for my folks 2 years back. Always wanted it for myself. Finally did it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Curate's Egg

HT-XT2 08/03/2017 by daveoji (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Performance varies a lot according to the source. With DVDs , it works well but is very variable with satellite sourced material. Depending on the quality of the broadcast, sometimes is offers no improvement at all; at other times, it is satisfactory.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Impressed!

HT-XT2 12/02/2017 by DianeT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value for money! Excellent sound quality and so pleased it pairs up with my iPad si I can play my playlist.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound deck

HT-XT2 10/02/2017 by Tabatoe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple of weeks ago really pleased with the output and the look.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to set up & use

HT-XT2 28/01/2017 by N19 SKN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this at the beginning of January to go with a new Sony TV. Work well together, as they should!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound quality

HT-XT2 23/01/2017 by Belts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned a Hitachi sound bar I was used to having decent sound to go with good picture quality. I decided to upgrade my TV to a Sony Bravia KD43XD8305 a couple of weeks ago and at the same time decided to go for the HT-XT2 sound base. This is an excellent addition to a fantastic TV the choice of sound modes are really good adding realistic depth to whatever you are viewing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Hhhhm!

HT-XT2 17/01/2017 by Hicksy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago but wasn't advised it doesn't produce full Surround Sound - extra speakers now required

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Goes great with TV

HT-XT2 14/01/2017 by Azzy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works perfectly with TV, sounds good and looks good. Great peace of kit. Keep up the good work Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Clear Sound

HT-XT2 09/01/2017 by Bradders913 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a Christmas gift and has very clear sound and plenty of bass as the subwoofer has a separate volume setting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great Product

HT-XT2 06/01/2017 by Bays281 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product from Sony, great match to my Sony tv, and switches off when I turn my tv off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good value speaker system

HT-XT2 28/12/2016 by Shrewstyke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago because I wanted to improve the sound from the TV, particularly when watching music DVDs and Blu-rays. It does this superbly, giving a rich full sound which fills the room. It also plays the music files on my iPod over Bluetooth and enhances them whilst doing so. Set up was extremely easy using ARC via HDMI on a Sony Bravia TV. The unit is relatively inconspicuous as it sits under the tv which it is more than capable of supporting.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great addition to my Sony TV

170W 24/12/2016 by Hughesid2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been happy with the audio quality of my Bravia TV but this add-on speaker gives greatly improved audio. I love the Bluetooth feature which allows me to listen to music and audiobooks on my iPod.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT, ONCE YOU FIND THEM AND UNDERSTAND SONY SYS

170W 20/12/2016 by MACCCCCC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

MY ATTEMPT TO REGISTER IS/WAS CONVOLUTED AND I CANNOT LOCATE ANY RESPONSE FROM SONY SUCH AS CONFIRMATION OF MY REGISTRATION. SECONDLY, MODEL NBRS ARE NOT SAME AS ON UNIT

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Feisty Instalation

HT-XT2 19/12/2016 by Odysse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this unit 4 weeks ago Instructions not very clear but great sound when working On going issue when I put sony tv on standby it loses connectivity with sound box however when you power tv down it will find it when you restart Hoping to resolve sometime

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

My second sony system

HT-XT2 11/12/2016 by Caman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a good reason to buy this system as I already have one on another tv system. The sound system is easy to set up and use and has a range of different options for listening to different types of programmes. The build quality is excellent and the system is sturdy, no problem putting tv on top of this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good unit with good physical feature

170W 04/12/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like the fact that it is a base to the TV. Like that it has a remote plus built in sub-woofer. Don't like that you can not adjust the bass and treble separately.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use

HT-XT2 30/10/2016 by Jojo183 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the product a couple of weeks found it easy to install and use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

When I play 5.1ch movie, only got background sound

170W 24/10/2016 by Ronnietan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I play 5.1ch DVD movie, only got background sound or music, without human voice.. do I need to install another 2 sub-speakers to play 5.1 movie ?? Seems not a complete home theater system...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

11

17

0

Improve your TV sound!

HT-XT2 19/09/2016 by Beechla01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a simple way to get near theatre quality sound, without the need to run cables and speakers around your room

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Limited use

170W 15/09/2016 by wjaher (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just found out that it won't work with Blu-ray disc with 7.1 dts sound. Plays in all other languages. Product should not be sold as most new blu-ray discs I have are 7.1 english only unless you want comments with movie.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

5

0

Great looking Sond base

HT-XT2 22/08/2016 by Matt1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sound Base looks great with my new Sony TV on it, Being of the older generation I'm still getting to grips with all the fantastic features,but look forward to watching and listening 4K tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

4

0

Only if you are a gamer

HT-XT2 16/06/2016 by Micky 4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this three weeks ago a totally unnecessary purchase.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

16

93