Skip to Content
11

4.8 based on 11 customer reviews

9
2
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

11 Customer Reviews

0

Great Sound!

SSCS5 25/01/2017 by John in SC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought them a month ago and I'm very happy with them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound for the price!

SSCS5 18/12/2016 by zaphodbeeblebro (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound quality for the price range. Easy to set-up. Wish they included a reel of speaker cable in the package.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Grreat speakers

SSCS5 09/06/2015 by jab134500 (USA)

As a past owner of AR3 and Heil speakers I am sp pleased with the mid to high freq. response of these speakers. Clarity and range are top notch.

11

0

0

SSCS5 31/05/2015 by Davey7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

0

0

0

One Bedroom Apt. Sound Reinforcement. Best Ever!

SSCS5 30/01/2015 by pressanseal1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They together will put most to shame. They ROCK!!! I am positively pleased with the set. Nice sound every in my apt. Sony Rocks!

14

0

0

Awesome speaker

SSCS5 20/01/2015 by Solaris72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm using this surround back on a 7.2 setup. while my other speakers are energy, I'm hearing sound clearly. I wish i will use it as front speakers, but i have energy wall mounted.

5

0

0

Great speakers

SSCS5 08/01/2015 by Boricua (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speakers for the money.

5

5

0

Great Bargain!

SSCS5 27/12/2014 by MarkWellman (USA)

I have owned many pairs of speakers over the years. These have super detail and balance. The midrange is top notch. The bass is OK, but for many a subwoofer would be necessary. These little gems plus my trusty Sony subwoofer make for some great listening. I am quite pleased with how they sound.

10

0

0

Unbelievable Wide Sound Stage For Tiny Speakers!

SSCS5 10/12/2014 by sandiegodom (USA)

In many ways the SS-CS5 reminds me of the vintage Baby Advents designed by the legendary Advent Corporation (founded by the even more legendary Henry Kloss). The Baby Advents had a big sound and decent bass response for their small footprint. While Sony has bragging rights for innovations on the electronic side of things they have been lauded quite a bit less on speaker design. The SS-CS5 are an impressive step forward. BUILD The solid, well built enclosure itself is an uninspiring rectangular box with what feels like a vinyl finish (although, according to Sony, underneath the finish is actual wood). Yes, they are inexpensive bookshelf speakers…but a wood finish feels so much more high-end in my opinion. The cloth grills are also rather standard and boring. Remove the grills though and you are looking at a very handsome face: the three drivers are quite attractive and when exposed give the set a much more contemporary feel. BASIC FEATURES & SETUP The cabinet is a three-way design featuring what Sony calls a ¾-inch super tweeter (output up to 50 kHz), 1-inch tweeter and 5-inch woofer (output down to 53 Hz). There is also a port directly behind the woofer. The port is an obvious necessity with a bass driver of this size. SOUND I connected the SS-CS5s to a two channel amp and fed it the optical output from my Apple TV. I used vocal tracks from Diane Schuur, Dire Straits as well as Lorde to evaluate the overall balance of the system. As usual with Sony speakers (and especially given the inclusion of the super tweeter) the high-end response was more than enough (too much). After making some adjustments with iTune's onboard EQ I was able to tame the highs and balance out the sound to where it was very listenable, clear and full. That last adjective is what I will talk about a bit more: full. In what on the surface looks like a simple three way design Sony has managed to create a speaker that with no active electronics creates a sound field that literally wraps around you. The sound is incredibly live and expansive with the vocals rock solid in the middle of the soundstage. Especially when listening to the Lorde tracks I kept looking to see if somehow my main system was on and powering the rear speakers! Placed on the floor and with a few EQ tweaks you can tease some pretty decent bass out of SS-CS5 (although I feel the bass is not tight as would be the case with a sealed design). They perform well with modern pop music (with it’s electronic rhythm section) and excel with jazz and classical. As there is a separate optional subwoofer you can add this to the set at a later date if you really want more on the low end. I also placed them on stands and was a bit less satisfied with the overall balance. I feel that these speakers will produce a more balanced sound when they can interact with the surfaces around them (e.g. the floor, wall, bookshelf or table). CONCLUSION As strictly bookshelf speakers, and with a little equalization applied, the system provides a balanced sound that should satisfy casual and even more discerning listeners. The expanded soundstage and articulate vocals though put it in a very different class. I can’t overemphasize how impressed I was with the width and depth of the soundstage created by these very unassuming little speakers. And they are dirt-cheap.

22

0

0

HEARING A DIFFERENCE

SSCS5 04/12/2014 by BeJay2 (USA)

I’m not an audiophile or technophile; although I do appreciate good-sounding music. I was initially skeptical around “Hi-Res Audio” and whether adding Hi-Res components to my home audio equipment could justify the cost. Short answer: it’s definitely worth the price, in part because these new Hi-Res SS-CS5 Bookshelf speakers are surprisingly affordable for their quality. So, I recently added a Sony UDA-1/B USB DAC as the hub of my computer-based digital music system. This digital-to-analog converter/amplifier is meant to power a pair of quality bookshelf/desktop speakers or to drive high-end headphones. Naturally those devices need to be of sufficient quality before you can appreciate what your Hi-Res Audio amplifier will supply – hence my addition of a set of Sony’s SS-CS5 speakers (see photo below). These remarkable 6-ohm speakers are part of Sony’s new Core Series and these are a three-way design with a 5.1-inch foamed mica-reinforced woofer, a 1-inch polyester dome tweeter, and a 0.75-inch dome super tweeter that extends the high-frequency response up to 50KHz. There is a bass port and heavy-duty speaker wire connectors on the back panel of each 7x13.3x8.6 inch enclosure. The other three Core Series products are a floor-standing tower, a center-channel and a 10-inch subwoofer. Used all together, the Core Series speakers would form a 5.1 channel home theater configuration. I discovered that high-resolution audio really does sound better even to my over-60 ears, or should I say, especially with my compromised hearing. I read in reviews that the SS-CS5s had “superior detail and clarity.” I was anxious to put that to a test. As soon as I set up my UDA-1/B with a pair of these bookshelf speakers, my digital music files seemed to burst open with tone and texture. Over time I had forgotten how fine the original recordings ought to sound. And, the combination of the DAC with these particular speakers works nicely in both sound quality and level. At the 20 watts per channel that my DAC can output, these speakers will fill a good-sized room (see photo below). Specs aside, it’s all in the hearing. I particularly like to listen to cello solos and cello with full orchestra. It was a revelation to hear pieces that I am very familiar with sounding so clear and, well, exciting! I’ve only had the SS-CS5s for a short time and already find I am listening more often and enjoying what I can hear now. The very first track I played, YoYo Ma playing the first movement of Elgar’s Cello Concerto (Chicago Symphony), convinced me. But you’ll need to hear your own music through them to agree. Curious now, I decided to throw additional tracks at the SS-CS5s to see how they handle different musical situations. First, the second movement of Charles Ives’ Symphony No. 4 (Chicago Symphony) where the music builds to several riotous climaxes – I could hear detail and separation that surprised me given the complexity of Ives’ compositions and the small footprint that the SS-CS5s have. Next I switched genres to a live digital recording of T-Bone Walker’s “Stormy Monday” by Hummingbird (a band from Connecticut’s Northwest Corner that plays an eclectic blend of blues, jazz, and country). It pleased me to recognize the acoustic ambiance of Miranda Vineyard’s club-like tasting room behind Bobbi Soares’ melodic, jazz-influenced voice – nicely resolved by the DAC and voiced by the SS-CS5s. To represent another chunk of my listening time, I wanted to try a close mic’d track without instrumental distraction. I chose the title track of singer-songwriter Shane Faubert’s new “Line in the Sand” album on the French Bam Balam label. It’s a non-compressed Folk/Pop recording with a lot of air around his smooth, buttery-voiced and intimate vocals. Again, the SS-CS5s performed with a presence that felt as if the artist was in the room with me. Very nice, indeed. For convenience, I have been using the source configuration in the accompanying photograph. That’s my Xperia Tablet Z attached to my Sony DAC’s front-panel USB port and playing tracks from their Walkman app. I am also a MacBook Pro user. So, to listen to digital music that lives on my laptop I downloaded and installed a free app called Hi-Res Audio Player and a driver named SONY USB DAC Amp Driver (Mac). The Player launches from the OSX 10.9.5 Desktop, finds Sony’s UDA-1/B, and presents a straight-forward playlist interface, see screenshot below. There is also iTunes…. Like most of Sony’s home audio products, the SS-CS5s have a clean design that is quite compact. Of course, you will need to supply speaker wiring (don’t skimp) and sound sources like mine that have the ability to provide the fine Hi-Res Audio this speaker system is capable of delivering. For my listening taste there is more than enough bass, eliminating any thought to add a sub woofer. I am more than satisfied with my SS-CS5s. I can recommend this Hi-Res Audio speaker system without hesitation – you’ll get a lot of enjoyment from them.

15

2

0

Great value

SSCS5 28/09/2014 by Belenbaa (USA)

These speakers were recommended to us by store salesman who said I could return them if not satisfied. I was skeptical that speakers in this price range would be good enough. I have been very pleased. They sound better than my other much more expensive top brand speakers in my living room.

25

1