242

4.0 based on 242 customer reviews

128
59
14
20
21
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Absolutely Phenomenal

55" class (54.6" diag) 09/10/2016 by RyanK2012 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV specifically for the upcoming 4k / HDR consoles, and I am absolutely blown away by the Reality Creation Feature and the upscaling of Regular HD content. The Android Smart Service is hard to get used to at first, but once you learn to navigate it, it is awesome. The only downside would be the sound quality, which is actually pretty decent for such a thin panel TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Glitchy Android platform

164 cm (65") 24/07/2017 by Bob333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're an Android phone user, this might be ok ok for you, but as an Apple user I am less tolerant of software glitches that frequently occur with this unit. We have business class internet 50+ Mbps service, hard-wired ethernet connected directly to the TV and still it pauses and the sound cuts out intermittently. If working ok, don't change the volume or the connectivity issues will return for a few seconds.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

11

0

242 Customer Reviews

4 Models

Models

0

Amazing Picture Quality

164 cm (65") 15/02/2018 by Daveton (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this TV for little more than 2 months now and I love the picture quality from this set. I owned the kdl55w900a, which completely impressed me. I wanted a bigger tv and eventually decided on this set, couldn’t be more happy! Another great experience from Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY is the BEST

55" class (54.6" diag) 03/02/2018 by Ken F (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV 16 months ago, still Great!!!!!!! NO, I do not work for Sony!!! Just think they are GREAT PRODUCTS!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Not Happy Campers

164 cm (65") 02/02/2018 by kelly29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a year of having the X850D 4K HDR with Android TV we are not pleased. We cut the cable and use streaming and casting for our entertainment and over the air for local channels. This X850D 4K HDR with Android TV has a very weak tuner and when the product updates the software its a iffy as to what will work. We have LG and Samsung TVs in other rooms of the house and don't have these issues with them. We have had mixed results with Sony products in the past are likely done with Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Not sure if X850D with AndroidTV is great..

XBR X850D Series 28/01/2018 by AudioDisabled (USA)

Great TV, great features to have, but overall user experience sucks with this TV. It would crash a few minutes after boot up. Tried to reset/reinstalling the TV software, but it would still crash. At one time, TV would have a line of stuck pixels across the TV on any inputs, any channels. For it to go away, I had to restart, but to do this, you have to navigate to a specific setting to restart - not by powering down, powering on! There was one time the picture settings went out of wack, and I had extremely hard time reverting back to the way it was. I have 2015 model, bought in November 2016. Hulu app is not up to date as of present date. Have this TV been obsoleted already? When opening home page of AndroidTV on X850D, it would take a while, slow response. Slow to change inputs. From time to time, apps would crash. Overall user experience sucks with X850D.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Awesome Picture & Sound

55" class (54.6" diag) 21/01/2018 by Route 66 Purchase (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV is one of the best I have purchased. We almost to a year since purchasing this TV & have decided to purchase the XBR-43X800E as well to replace an outdated TV. This TV is our first smart tv purchase & now will not go purchase anything less. Although this model is probably no longer available for purchase the Sony Brand I would recommend to anyone. The one fallback is the newest update changed the look of all setting design location & look & now must learn where all the settings are again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

nice tv, few issues trying to resolve sony

164 cm (65") 20/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Appears that a few pixels are burnt out also the TV abruptly turns off when various button (voice talk) are hit at least twice on the remote. The software is up to date and I have reset the TV multiple times with no resolve. Working with customer support to figure out a solution... stay tuned.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

8

0

Screen went bad -distorted and straight lines

55" class (54.6" diag) 17/01/2018 by Rick A (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought online from my United Mileage Store and picture stopped working in less than a year.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

13

0

Android glitchy

189 cm (75”) 16/01/2018 by Pruggy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall good, but a lot of room for improvement. Feels like some features were rushed to market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

12

0

Fantastic clarity and definition

215 cm (85'') 15/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We love it. Great definition. 4K is the best we have ever seen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

16

0

Sony 850d

XBR X850D Series 13/01/2018 by Jortiz88 (USA)

This TV was not what was promised look grainy once I brought home didn't think much of it said it did well in all lighting not true it was horrible in the dark and a year later it's only gotten worse with clouding stay away from this TV

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

22

0

Blinking Screen

189 cm (75”) 09/01/2018 by llebocat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV will intermittently blink when turning the device on. It is a known issue by Sony and is not being taken care of. We have attempted to contact Sony regarding this issue and they have stated that we should call back later and maybe they'll have a fix at that time. I purchased a TV near $3k to have it not working properly and to have the manufacturer not support the product. Not recommended at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

22

0

Good TV, Great picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 31/12/2017 by John2184 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the tv in May of 2017 (I also bought another one for a sales contest I ran). It's my third XBR in 30 years. The first tv was recycled recently, and it was still operational. The 2nd tv (40"XBR was purchased 13 years ago, and only lasted 3 years. I decided to give Sony another try after 10 years of other models. I must say the picture quality is awesome, however I am starting to have issues with the tv shutting itself off. Sometimes it restarts on its own, other times it needs to be turned restarted. Other than this issue, great tv!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

24

0

5*

55" class (54.6" diag) 21/12/2017 by Blvdal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best TV I ever purchased. Cant wait to upgrade in 2018

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

28

0

Bluetooth Speaker/Headphone do not get connected.

55" class (54.6" diag) 20/12/2017 by XBR55X850D missing A2DP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bluetooth Speaker/Headphone do not get connected. A2PD profile is missing. Can you please update firmware to make this model compatible with Bluetooth Speaker/Headphone?

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

23

0

do not buy

XBR X850D Series 20/12/2017 by radria82 (USA)

We bought this tv black Friday 2016, December 17 2017 screen went black, called for service determined the panel is bad. Past warranty by 22 days, phone support referred us to online chat, would not assist, site down. Thought we were buying a premium product, obviously not.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

20

0

Great picture

164 cm (65") 19/12/2017 by DoxieMomma (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great picture and has all the apps I need without having to use a Fire Stick or an Apple Tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

20

0

BEST OF THE BESTT TV EVER LOVE IT

XBR X850D Series 16/12/2017 by blankito (USA)

This Tv is wonderful the sound the picture easy imput I can download app and games works fast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

17

0

Exactly what I was hoping for!

XBR X850D Series 15/12/2017 by Daveton (Canada)

The picture is outstanding, vivid colours and amazing motion. The Picture is so sharp and bright, that I actually had to reduce some of the brightness! Movies just jump off this screen, WOW. I upgraded from my 55” kdlx900a, and that was an amazing picture as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not impressed

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/12/2017 by BigFatDad1968 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV about 6 to 8 months ago. Not impressed. At first, you would press the input button on the remote and it would take OVER 20 seconds for the menu to come up. It would lock up and I would have to unplug it and wait the extremely long time for it to boot. A firmware update fixed the input menu issue but apps frequently crash or the TV quits responding to anything regularly. I am powering it off (unplugging the power supply) at least twice a week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

17

0

Great picture, but it needs rebooted often

189 cm (75”) 27/11/2017 by Handsome Rob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this TV about a year. It is great when it is working correctly. Sometimes when I turn it on, the picture flickers, and I have to turn it off, and back on. Other times the sound bar goes out, and I have to unplug the TV and reboot it, kind of frustrating. But over all a good TV

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

11

0

Great Picture Quality

164 cm (65") 27/11/2017 by Xcv4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this TV for a year now and when it comes to picture quality, I don’t think it can be beat for the price range it is being sold at. I have absolutely no complaints with picture. I love the picture quality. However, the TV has been giving me lots of problems since the last update. Specifically not switching from Netflix to TV and not recognizing the HDMI inputs. I often struggle with TV not seeing my Sony Blueray Player resulting in having to unplug the TV from the wall and plugging back in. This causes the TV to do a clean reboot. After it comes back from a clean reboot, it will then decide to recognize a signal front the BD player. Most annoying. I don’t know why it’s doing that. Not sure if just mine or something that is wrong with the software inside the TV. It didn’t matter witch HDMI inputs I plugged into when it goes into it’s Bad moments. If you decide to get this TV, you may have to deal with my issue of TV not always recognizing the HDMI inputs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Nice screen, janky OS, voice search won't work

164 cm (65") 24/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice screen etc., but I'm really disappointed with the quality of the Android TV OS. The voice search feature is particularly hard to use. The remote is slow to respond a lot of the time, the TV can take ages to reboot, and even though I have a PhD in Computer Science I can't for the life of me get the voice search to work on the remote control - all updates are applied, I've combed the help center, unpaired and re-activated the remote/voice feature. I'm on the verge of returning the TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Nice screen, janky OS, voice search won't work

XBR X850D Series 24/11/2017  (USA)

Nice screen etc., but I'm really disappointed with the quality of the Android TV OS. The voice search feature is particularly hard to use. The remote is slow to respond a lot of the time, the TV can take ages to reboot, and even though I have a PhD in Computer Science I can't for the life of me get the voice search to work on the remote control - all updates are applied, I've combed the help center, unpaired and re-activated the remote/voice feature. I'm on the verge of returning the TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

I Love sony

XBR X850D Series 23/11/2017 by Niaki (USA)

I have it and very very good,and very beatiful,show mkv and I am happy,,thank you SONY

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Sony tv

164 cm (65") 17/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had it for about 6 months now and it is absolutely stunning. After buying an LG, and 2 sharp 65 inch 4k tv's I finally settled on the Sony, and wasn't disappointed, 0 backlight bleed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Very good Picture

55" class (54.6" diag) 16/11/2017 by Akimoko12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this thru Dell Advantage inline store. It’s was a perfect size fir my room. The pictures are great and sound is fine. But but the system upgrade the TV turn on but itself. At first I thought it’s just the remote control but its not. It turn on by itself several times. I tried resetting to original setting so far its not turning by itself. Now its the Wireless connection that require attention. The whole online apps require reset everytime you watch especially Netflix. I hope no more issues later.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Can’t use Bluetooth headphones with tv

164 cm (65") 16/11/2017 by Littlepitt75 (USA)

I purchased this tv since it advertised Bluetooth. After trying unsuccessfully to connect my Bluetooth headphones with this tv I discovered SONY made this model tv not include the A2DP Bluetooth technology thereby making it not possible to connect Bluetooth headphones to the tv. Sure I could buy a Bluetooth audio transmitter and connect it to the audio output jack of the tv, but I did NOT but this tv to have to do this with. Sony has disappointed me. Sony has lost me as a future customer.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

It was good until Wifi stopped working

55" class (54.6" diag) 16/11/2017 by Neto99 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV almost one year ago and WiFi stopped working 6 months later. I have spent several hours with tech support and the problem is not fixed. I know I can use a hard wired connection but that is not the point.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2017

Hi Neto99, We are sorry to hear this issue with your unit. Our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused. Let's isolate and fix the issue by following the troubleshooting steps from this link. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/34310
Regards, -Jay

0

Beautiful Color

189 cm (75”) 14/11/2017 by SammyT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this TV on December 26, 2016. Replacing my 50" Sony TV. I bought it because I wanted a larger screen & of course 4K feature. The picture out of the box is stunning. the color is natural. I mostly watch Basketball and movies & of course youtube. Because of the clarity it is like you are in the game or you are at the movie theater.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HDMI Issues

XBR X850D Series 09/11/2017 by Neal1 (USA)

Bought TV last Black Friday. Worked fine for 11 months. Now HDMI not compatable with cable provider. We have tried replacing the cable box 3 times, and replaced HDMI circuit board to no avail.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture, nice features, not overly stable

164 cm (65") 08/11/2017 by Underdogdb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the picture on this screen, 4K detail is amazing and the colors are bright and vivid. The ability to add software to the android platform is also an excellent bonus feature, and I like the fact that the unit adheres to standards rather than being super proprietary. My only problem with the unit is that it's not overly stable. When I first got the unit I would be watching a movie and the screen would display "no signal detected, shutting down in 60 seconds". The countdown would continue even though the movie was clearly playing. So I disabled the "feature" that turns off the screen automatically when no signal was detected. Now my only gripe is that when I switch between inputs (AT&T UVerse and Xbox One) the unit frequently just displays a black screen as if it is receiving no input, I think this is likely the same problem that was causing the problem above, but that is pure speculation. I can usually switch it back and forth a few times and it will suddenly recognize the video stream and begin displaying, but sometimes I have to fully reboot the TV (not simply turning it off and on, but hard rebooting the Android platform. Once I do that, it will always recognize the video signal on reboot. I regularly check for updates in the hopes that a patch will come down that will correct this issue as quite frankly this is all that's standing in the way of a five star rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor picture quality

XBR X850D Series 04/11/2017 by asharpe225 (USA)

I bought this TV from a box store April 2017 and I am not happy with this picture at all. I had been researching a 65" TV for my Home Theater. I wanted a Sony because it is suppose to have one of the best pictures and great motion. The motion is the only thing that is good about this TV. My TV has an extremely bad light that beams up from the bottom of the screen as seen in the picture. I have called Sony and they informed me that the "light bleed" is exceptable. I don't think so.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony - X850D 4K HDR with Android TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 02/11/2017 by KEVIN123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

BOUGHT 6 MOS AGO, NOW HAVING ISSUES CONNECTING TO HDMI PORTS. HAD TO GO THROUGH 1HR PHONE CALL 10/29/17 TO TROUBLESHOOT AND RESOLVE ISSUE (RESET FACTORY SETTINGS). HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY 11/2/17 AND HAD TO DO SIMPLE POWER RESTART. CALLING INTO TECH SUPPORT DIFFICULT BECAUSE CONNECTION OVER PHONE (FROM LANDLINE) IS TERRIBLE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I KNOW THERE ARE BEST BUT "SONY" IS SONY!

XBR X850D Series 30/10/2017 by GEMTIAN (USA)

QUALITY , CUSTOMER SUPPORT , AND ONE OF THE BEST IN OVER ALL "SONY" MY ONLY COMPLAIN IS THE REMOTE CONTROL IS COMPLICATE TO TYPE, AND AT NIGHT MAKE NOISE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just a fantastic picture

189 cm (75”) 29/10/2017 by scruff08 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic picture quality. Normally I wear glasses to watch TV, but I don't need them with this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good 4k Tv but flawed

XBR X850D Series 24/10/2017 by Ruff (USA)

Great color accuracy with 4k content an 720/1080p content. Sounds is very decent, most of the time I have no need to turn on surround sound system. Lots of inputs to wire almost everything an there tuck away behind the TV , which is awesome an it's so hard to find TV's with 4 HDMI inputs. HDR picture is very dark an color suffers tremendously when using this picture mode to watch 4k content , so I usually have to use standard mode , after less than 1 yes of use my UI is constantly freezing an my TV resets at least 5x weekly.... My TV an apps are all up to date by the way. Tons of apps to use but 4k content again looks terrible in HDR viewing mode. I really want to switch to a different model because I'm disappointed in Sony . If other models have similar issues I'm seriously considering selling my 850D an switching to Samsung.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Tv ever

55" class (54.6" diag) 22/10/2017 by Malik14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a while ago but all my PS4 Pro game titles look amazing on it. I am also taking advantage of the 4K HDR Netflix content. This is a feature packed Tv and looks and sounds amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Glitchy, poorly executed, UI a disaster.

189 cm (75”) 18/10/2017 by buick301 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the money, I expected a whole lot more. The UI is trouble. Sometimes it accepts my commands, sometimes it doesn't. In several instances, I have had to pull the power plug to reset the TV in order to get control back. The remote has also become unresponsive several times. Applications seem haphazardly strewn across multiple "feeds" on the home screen. It is not user friendly. The picture quality is okay but only with tweaks. You have to turn off all kinds of automatic picture controls or else the picture becomes washed out in certian conditions. One of the auto picture features, I forget which, wreaks havoc on the picture when closed captioning is selected. Every time closed caption text appears on the screen the entire image becomes brighter and then darker as the closed captioning goes by. The latest issue is the set will turn itself on after you turn it off. I feel like the remote is repeating power toggle requests for some reason because if I cover the ir LED after I request a power off, this doesn't happen. So far this set is much more trouble than I thought Sony was going to bring me.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice tv

189 cm (75”) 16/10/2017 by Vic2day (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lacks customization fratures with all apps and Android settings

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony tv

164 cm (65") 15/10/2017 by Pebbles124345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Always shots off randomly because it freezes. Has ok picture quality and sounds ok. Would recommend a lg tv over Sony

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

great but....

55" class (54.6" diag) 13/10/2017 by Mr Mike (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am very happy with this TV for 4k and HDR content, how ever input lag even in game mode is still very noticeable when play FPS on PlayStation pro console. Up scaling 720p and 1080p is okay, how ever there is a big learning curve when trying to get a great picture. Sports even with cable broad cast is checkered, i have tried sports picture setting and live football mode and still judder picture when camera pans fast action plays. Watching online sports is awful to say the least. Movies from Netflix is mint and so are shows streamed from my computer via HDMI enhanced option enabled via settings for HDMI input. Over all I am happy for the most part as I spent over 6 hours researching and learning all picture settings to get close to what I am looking for. If you watch a lot of movies and shows this TV is amazing, if you watch a lot of sports and online gaming....look for a better option this TV is not it.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2017

Hi Mr Mike, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Please refer to the link below to isolate the issue:
https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75995
https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75705

If the issue persists, please give us a call at your most convenient time so we can assist you further.
https://esupport.sony.com/CA/p/support-contacts.pl


Thanks,
~Erin

0

beautiful picture

164 cm (65") 05/10/2017 by C DOG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the quality of the picture and features are nice. My only concern is sound quality is definitely low. I expected a better sound considering the sony brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Almost a great TV

XBR X850D Series 04/10/2017 by FajS (USA)

I bought this several months ago. Picture is fantastic, sound is very good, BUT... I have 50MBPS cable internet, and the TV is hardwired into the network, even so, quite often, it tells me that it needs an internet connection to connect to Netflix. Netflix will randomly stop working, and I have to unplug the TV and let the software reset. Watching Amazon TV, the program will freeze while it tries to adjust volume. Often enough to really be annoying, it will stop working while watching TV, or playing a game on the PS4 connected to this TV, and I have to unplug the TV, wait for it to run through set up again, and then, most times, it will work for at least a day or 2 before it happens again. Sad, because I have had only Sony TV's for decades, and I have a Sony sound system that integrates with the TV remove (and vice-versa).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic Picture, Questionable Support Staff

55" class (54.6" diag) 04/10/2017 by Norris575 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife bought this Android based Sony TV in December, and it was so good that she bought me the SECOND TV in August for the bedroom. Now that is a 55" bedroom MEDIA CENTER. With this TV you can watch television from around the world. Internet television is a whole new world and is now at your fingertips. If you can add an "APP" to a telephone, you will be able to set up this TV for services around the world. From Ireland, Britian, Germany, well you name it and you will be able to watch it for a small subscription fee, and I do mean small. With the 4K, your picture is fantastic, even while using the internet for your services. Also you will find Netflix, Hulu and about 1500 more App's that you will be able to use. The single draw back is, you cannot ask SONY for help on these. I have called numerous times and the agents have either no knowledge of how they work, or they have been told to keep it quiet. The owner's manual, on line or internal is the same way, you are going to need U-TUBE for your education. However, there are lots of videos to guide you, just don't stay with the Sony name when searching, use the key word of Android and you will be just fine. Make sure to shop around and you will enjoy this TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My worst TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 29/09/2017 by GeilMen (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very slow TV (processor) Lack of after sale support Very bad menu structure Image is ok

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/09/2017

Hello GeilMen, Thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These feedbacks are very much welcome for further improvements of our products and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter. Thanks, _Bob

0

Great tv

189 cm (75”) 29/09/2017 by Bigjim 408 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought thi tv about 4moth ago still trying to figure it out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid picture. Great features. Ho-hum Android TV

55" class (54.6" diag) 26/09/2017 by WhyLieDude1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this T.V. in December of 2016. The 4K truly stands out when compared to a 1080p picture. The amount of control you have over the fine tooting of the picture is fantastic. The only downfall of the TV is that the Android feature is subpar. I have a hard time streaming games and any other kind of media with Android TV feature otherwise the Sony television is fantastic and a must-buy for anybody looking for a cheap 4K television

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good tv but the apps are limited not very good

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it in January like but like I mentioned the apps are limited and not vary appealing. Tried to go to google play could not download new apps. Stuck with the ones installed on tv, not good

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

SONY XBR65X850D

164 cm (65") 22/09/2017 by ROBCENTRAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS TV 5 MONTHS AGO. GREAT PICTURE BUT NOW IT WONT TURN ON. ONLY 5 MONTHS OLD. 3-5 DAYS BEFORE SONT WILL HAVE SOMEONE CALL ME. AAARRRGGGGHHH!!!!!SEND ME A NEW ONE.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Motion blurring watching football

XBR X850D Series 10/09/2017 by justin405 (USA)

Great true cinema experience when watching movies, but watching live action sports creates issues with motion blurring or ghosting. The smooth setting doesnt seem to do the trick either. Anybody had any luck?

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Not bad when the HDMI works.

XBR X850D Series 03/09/2017 by soccerglue (USA)

I love the picture on this TV but for some reason the sound on HDMI 1 goes out from time to time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great product

55" class (54.6" diag) 31/08/2017 by obwan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this TV. Picture is bright and clear. The value for the price cannot be beat

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent overall, but Android apps/search lacking

55" class (54.6" diag) 28/08/2017 by NobodyInParticular (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV has a great picture and generally good functionality. Even reproducing standard 1080p is far superior to what I experienced with my older HD Panasonic. I found though that the Smart TV features are lacking as they are so Google specific, not having the search features of a normal Roku, and some of the apps are not as updated under Android as I would have liked as compared to a Roku (having one, I use it instead of many of the Smart TV features). Also, the newer Roku up-samples all content to match the 4K capability of this TV, making for a better streaming experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Wonderful

164 cm (65") 27/08/2017 by RichH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I compared Sony with Samsung for my 4k TV. Sony's provided a natural color to the images and Samsung was just over processed. Both are good choices however the Sony edged out Samsung for my viewing. The Anroid feature works flawlessly with no issues. I like the fact that Sony continues to update the product via software updates. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony never disappoints

55" class (54.6" diag) 25/08/2017 by ELSAGIRL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very please with this TV. Sony never disappoints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just as expected

189 cm (75”) 24/08/2017 by sam5454 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have had numerous Sony Tvs over the years with great results. Our newest one is just wonderful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Tv HDR

189 cm (75”) 24/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last year for xmas it's great product 4K experience very good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great except for light bleed

189 cm (75”) 24/08/2017 by Bf5502 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome tv but it has terrible light bleed on the edges and corners. Too bad it has this issue, otherwise it would be a 5 star product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Complete TV. COMES WITH MORE FEATURES

55" class (54.6" diag) 24/08/2017 by TampaGR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this television over a month ago after I compared all the brands and all the TVs. This was by far the best value but the most features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SAY "NO" TO ANDROID

XBR X850D Series 23/08/2017 by Bizzee1 (USA)

This TV has a beautiful picture. Sound is OK though I use a sound bar and sub-woofer with it. My problem is that it is CONSTANTLY crashing. TV shuts off and reboots while watching it. Apps close randomly - even when you're not using them. Another TERRIBLE flaw with this TV is that you have to go through several steps to set the "sleep timer". Generally there is a button or 1 step to set on the remote control, however, with this TV you have to stop watching the TV, go to settings and set the sleep timer from there - a bit inconvenient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Needs Help

XBR X850D Series 16/08/2017 by wild0110 (USA)

Does Not work with Alexa as previously advertised. Only the 750 does. Sony is promising to update these but it has yet to happen... I am patient but slowly losing respect for Sony as time passes. Probably will sell on Craigslist and buy a Samsung at the end of summer is it's not updated yet...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible light bleed !

XBR X850D Series 08/08/2017 by Dbarb (USA)

I bought this a couple months back and while I think the picture is great the black light bleed is terrible. When the closed caption is on and the little white words pop up the whole screen gets brighter ! Really annoying. Also on a straight black screen with a title name you can see light spots ! Also called sony and they claim this is normal instead of apologizing and trying to fix the situation. I have pictures but it won't let me post

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great TV / Terrible Manual

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/07/2017 by GRooks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great screen and features, however the manual is a generic manual to cover several models, i have extra parts that aren't identified in any of the paperwork. they're very brief on instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Slow performacne

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/07/2017 by Sgadewar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

TV is very poor in performance in terms of Apps. Everything is super slow in terms of operation of apps. ALso when I increase the volume of TV the apps on the TV freeze. Very annoying

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

0

0

Great Product !

55" class (54.6" diag) 30/07/2017 by Ardy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture Quality is excellent.Connectivity is well. Remote Control ease of use is not Good. Hard Drive filing manager is not Good. all other function working well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

tv

55" class (54.6" diag) 29/07/2017 by dan4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i purchased it thinking it would work with my wireless head phone but even the geek squad could not make it work so i returned it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony Quality!

189 cm (75”) 29/07/2017 by CarlsbadSam17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a Sony brand guy for 50 years now, always impressed with their products and the two latest tv purchases are no different - excellent products, I just hope the OS is not buggy!! : (

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Android TV

164 cm (65") 27/07/2017 by Yzapper (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely picture, minor light bleed on edges of panel, not true HDR contrast but great nonetheless. Android TV is amazing... When it works... Error messages make the tv useless and require hard resetting for simple things like removing a USB or using the tv guide. If there is an error it will constantly bring you back to the home screen and alert you of the failure. The system forgets settings and wireless networks. Changing between picture settings takes ages as you have to wait between each change as you scroll.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/07/2017

Hi Yzapper, we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number so that we can assist you. Thank you. -Erin

0

Glitchy Android platform

164 cm (65") 24/07/2017 by Bob333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're an Android phone user, this might be ok ok for you, but as an Apple user I am less tolerant of software glitches that frequently occur with this unit. We have business class internet 50+ Mbps service, hard-wired ethernet connected directly to the TV and still it pauses and the sound cuts out intermittently. If working ok, don't change the volume or the connectivity issues will return for a few seconds.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

11

0

0

TV looks good. But, Operating Sys is Poor - read!

XBR X850D Series 24/07/2017 by cpierre (USA)

I bought this TV in November 2016. The TV operating system reboots all by itself and right in the middle of a program or movie. This happens at least 6 times each week. Sometimes it reboots several times per day. Additionally, when Sling TV plays, we need to manually reboot the TV just to be able to select Sling channels. This is very disappointing. I would have bought a comparably priced LG or a Samsung and I believe that I would have been happier and had a better TV.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Great TV to behold

XBR X850D Series 23/07/2017 by Nochie1 (USA)

After going through reviews by both tech experts and owners, I decided to take the plunge. So far so good. The issue I have is that the speaker system is not so good. I already have LG sound bar which I have attached to the tv via bluetooth.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Picture

164 cm (65") 22/07/2017 by tewjax (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 5 months ago and love TV and features. I have an issue however with the TV rebooting - it shuts down then immediately powers back up to the Android screen. So far no resolution!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0