55

4.1 based on 55 customer reviews

27
18
2
2
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good Purchase

4 GB 02/11/2014 by Daytrip (USA)

Excellent recording quality. Great functionality. I give it 4 stars because it did not come with a user manual. It is completely online which, for me, is very cumbersome. I like getting the most out of my purchases and enjoy having the manual at my fingertips for learning and future reference.

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good ........but

ICD-BX140 01/09/2015 by Ronata (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The auto off feature is a real pain. Why can't you choose to override it?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

55 Customer Reviews

0

no USB connection to off-load recordings

ICD-BX140 11/04/2018 by regpojgs (USA)

Bought several for a oral history project, but after recording and ready to archive the interviews...No way to connect them to a computer or off-load the recordings to a storage device. Our older Sonys had this capability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy, far more simple than an MP3

ICD-BX140 16/02/2018 by ManleyStanley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am trying to learn lines for an am dram production. I went looking for an MP3 but saw this Mono dictaphone. Far easier to use and excellent value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

ICD-BX140 15/02/2018 by brendag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to use, a good handy size. Sound quality is good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

light and great sound

ICD-BX140 26/01/2018 by bonnie1843 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very tactile easy to use would recommend to my friends

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Records just fine

4 GB 17/01/2018 by jimlov4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this to listen for leaks and it is sensitive enough for this task This is a ICD-BX140, evidently the basic model and others will do a ton more stuff, but it does what I bought it for and I am happy

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Product

ICD-BX140 17/01/2018 by Dutch 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using it to record my trombone practice and it's just great!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Eggcellent

ICD-BX140 29/12/2017 by Pedross (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very simple to use. Nice and basic for general recording and playback.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very poor product

ICD-BX140 15/11/2017 by Dymchurch calling (United Kingdom)

A very very poor product indeed. Don’t Waste your money on it

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Product

ICD-BX140 09/11/2017 by forgiven951 (USA)

Records great picks up so much.I bought it to record my house when I was gone, and it worked great Ghosts spirits and humans all picked up with High sens

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor features

ICD-BX140 04/11/2017 by Charles 1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple I weeks ago, am very unhappy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Horrible

ICD-BX140 17/10/2017 by brandy3532 (USA)

After recording detailed instructions for 2 weeks, the device will not turn on and there is no way to retrieve the info stored inside. No accessories to be found.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good so far.

ICD-BX140 28/09/2017 by barry m (United Kingdom)

..sound and workability of controls good...........................................

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

limited features

ICD-BX140 16/07/2017 by AST2112 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to make notes while I am out doing surveys, I do not keep the recordings once I have finished with them so have no need for 1000hours + of storage or lots of files. I have previosuly used analogue machines with tapes, and the main feature I want is to be able to wind back and re-record over while doing my survey. This can't be done with this digital recorder and therefore does not really meet my requirements. I have looked at other dictaphones and unfortunately they all seem to be of the same type, i.e lots of files and storage but no facillity to wind back and amke corrections. I cannot understand why this is so difficult to incorporate in a machine, it can harldy be lack of technology this can be done on phones or hi fi equipment. I will be reverting back to using an analgue tape machine which does exactly what I want. Another problem is the limited information in the manual received with the machine and on line, not very explanatory. On the plus side the sound quality on this is very good and much better than other digital machines I have tried.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Compact and effective

ICD-BX140 31/05/2017 by SusieW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The machine is very neat and easy to use except for the delete facility which takes a bit of time to master. The Usage Guide is found online which is a pest. An explanatory booklet would be helpful rather than the briefest of leaflets on Start up which is included.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy gadget

ICD-BX140 01/02/2017 by prbentley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item because it has all the features I need, is compact and small, very functional, easy to use and practical.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Not great

ICD-BX140 09/12/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's okay but it doesn't catch sound from far and it's a blurry sound

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good Quality Device.

4 GB 08/12/2016 by Jimo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this product days ago, very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Fab and the design is great and easy to carry abou

ICD-BX140 14/11/2016 by ThePhantom2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I saw this item a while ago. Wanted it but put the decision of getting it to the next day. I am sorry I did as it is absolutely marvelous and I would suggest it is a good thing to buy someone who is forgetful. I am as I make notes and I cannot read my own writting or forget where the paper is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Recorder

ICD-BX140 27/10/2016 by Grandma1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recorder is easy to carry around and easy to use. Playback is very clear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

sony voice recorder

ICD-BX140 18/09/2016 by proff 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to use and great value for money, small enough to fit in your pocket

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just what I required

ICD-BX140 28/04/2016 by steve v (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, with a good design and features, easy to use and good playback quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Very useful machine

ICD-BX140 11/04/2016 by coracledave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far it has proved to be a valuable time saver, taking notes ready for dictation

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Excellant recording unit

ICD-BX140 28/03/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this recorder to interview members for our history society and it worked perfect

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

sony digital voice recorder

ICD-BX140 01/03/2016 by yoyo 29 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

clean neat & very handy, controls easy to use , play back clear & good sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Small and handy

ICD-BX140 24/12/2015 by JDB1945 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A well designed ,small,but not too small, piece of equipment. It is well designed and easy to use . The instructions are brief and very explicit . Once the batteries are inserted it is ready to use in a moment. A super product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

My Sony voice recorder

ICD-BX140 20/12/2015 by HMPAT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Following reading the instructions ( which I found easy to understand ) I used the product. The controls were easy and simple to use and the voice recording was good quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Workhorse.

ICD-BX140 11/12/2015 by micope60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does the job as a Memo/Recorder for capturing impromptu Songs during a Jam Session - although Digital Controls are a bit fiddly.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

3

2

0

Satisfied

ICD-BX140 30/11/2015 by Soroushy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought that a few weeks ago and I am very happy with it. It is nice and easy to operate and for the price is very good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Awesome recording device

ICD-BX140 25/11/2015 by Willeton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great recorder, I use it for paranormal Hunting. Far better than the one's my friends used as it a lot bigger & not as fidley as smaller versions. I will be buying more in the future, great value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Repro very, very good

ICD-BX140 12/11/2015 by Contrary Mary (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am in a Choir & my Sony replaced my old Digital Recorder I had had for @ least 10 years But the Sony is far better than my old Recorder as the Sony is specifically a Voice Recorder ie what you see is what you get The Sony is so sensitive when recording it picks-up the least peripheral noise This is not a criticism just a warning! Great product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Does everything that it claims to do.

ICD-BX140 02/11/2015 by Looneytunes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is very simple to operate which was exactly what I wanted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice but not so good

ICD-BX140 11/09/2015 by Aeden007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not so nice but has some nice features. you can read from the ratings

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good ........but

ICD-BX140 01/09/2015 by Ronata (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The auto off feature is a real pain. Why can't you choose to override it?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Easy to use.

ICD-BX140 27/08/2015 by Bazza P (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good easy to use product at a very reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Satisfied

ICD-BX140 03/07/2015 by RUSSELLB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a few weeks ago and it does what I expected.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Heard it all before.

ICD-BX140 12/06/2015 by Ramblin Syd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago and am very pleased with it. However, the instructions for using the additional features (divide, menu, folder, etc.) need to be clearly explained to avoid accidental loss/erasure of recordings.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Disappointed.

4 GB 02/05/2015 by DaisyN (USA)

Disappointed in instructions. First digital recorder I have owned and directions pointed out names of buttons already named on device, and how to load batteries and set time. Didn't need instructions for any of those things....pretty standard. Didn't explain how to use folder or divide buttons and I have no idea what those are. Very little info on outside of box. I thought all recorders accept SD cards but this one doesn't. I will be returning it.

2

0

0

My Sony Dictaphone

ICD-BX140 15/04/2015 by BaBa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have never had the need to own a Dictaphone up till now. It is a wonderful device and works really well. I am a very satisfied customer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent recording quality & features

ICD-BX140 13/04/2015 by norm5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third of this model , I do tend to be a bit clumsy with them Had others also but none as robust & good quality as this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use and effective

ICD-BX140 12/04/2015 by rogues (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At its price, this Sony digital recorder is very good value. Particularly useful is the 3-seconds back and 10-seconds forward option under the menu, which makes for easy transcription if the recording is intended for interview purpsoes.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

ICD-BX140 21/03/2015 by nonesence (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this product is easy use even for a complete novice like me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

product

ICD-BX140 19/03/2015 by gismokid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product to use as i could gather evidence

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

ICD-BX140 16/03/2015 by burty57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this to help with memory problems, first class help

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

a good buy

ICD-BX140 02/03/2015 by shanstan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A good product. I am happy with it. Cant understand how/what DIVIDE button is for.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

0

0

0

So simple to use!

ICD-BX140 23/02/2015 by Mary63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just what I needed to record songs at my choir. Light, easy and small. Perfect for me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very useful

ICD-BX140 05/02/2015 by anton93 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little recorder is so much easier to use than my previous one (not Sony) and has a much bigger capacity. It is also much better than having to use and keep changing tapes.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An Author's Best Friend

4 GB 31/01/2015 by Boniface (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a valuable part of my toolbox in writing… My fountain pen, my iPad and my digital voice recorder by Sony! Easy to use, the Sony digital voice recorder is perfect for all of my recording needs! The date and time access is particularly valuable for those audio segments I need to access. Truly, this tool is like a hammer when I need to "pound" out those thoughts!

2

0

0

Does everything I expected

ICD-BX140 26/01/2015 by Hedley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it three weeks and very satisfied, light and simle to use.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

brilliant machine

ICD-BX140 06/01/2015 by Grahammc48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a present for my wife .It is the 3 one we have purchesd over a number of yrs .The others arfe still working fine she just needed an extra one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

really neat and easy to use

ICD-BX140 18/12/2014 by holman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This piece of kit is so neat and easy to use I would highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Micro Digital Recorder

4 GB 18/11/2014 by techmeister (USA)

If you're looking for a micro digital voice recorder for a modest price this Sony model ICD-BX140 is decent. It's about 2/3rds the size of a "bar" sized cellphone so it is small. That's a convenience for most folks. The controls are reasonably easy to use. The built in mic isn't great but it's OK for recording notes or conversation, IME. I don't know that it's good enough for music however. Recording time seems reasonable for the AAA sized batteries that are included. It will easily fit in a shirt pocket for carrying ease.

2

0

0

Good Purchase

4 GB 02/11/2014 by Daytrip (USA)

Excellent recording quality. Great functionality. I give it 4 stars because it did not come with a user manual. It is completely online which, for me, is very cumbersome. I like getting the most out of my purchases and enjoy having the manual at my fingertips for learning and future reference.

5

0

0

Does it all digital recorder......

4 GB 02/11/2014 by Renee713 (USA)

Easy to operate digital recorder that's multifunction and has excellent sound quality.

4

0

0

Noisy crackle playback

ICD-BX140 25/10/2014 by LittleTimmi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recorder a few weeks ago and whatever I try to do according to the instructions, I get a crackling sound on playback although it is not there when I record.I have moved away from anything electrical that might interfere with the recording but to no avail. I am thinking of sending it back as I am so disappointed with it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Can u expect something else?

ICD-BX140 01/09/2014 by Sayseb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought for taking "notices" when taking pictures and talking with people from the country I' visiting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0