Skip to Content
8

4.9 based on 8 customer reviews

7
1
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

8 Customer Reviews

0

Technology @ its best !!!

128GB 03/09/2017 by Imadushka (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony Walkman NW-WM1A last month. Sound resolution and reproduction Excellent... You won't be disappointed in getting this piece.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Incredible! No Kidding, Really!

128GB 23/08/2017 by Norm1153 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The WM1A replaced a well liked Sony ZX2. Yes, it absolutely is an improvement, even over the highly respected ZX2! More sound shaping options, and major hardware improvements.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

The winner by a longshot! Great work Sony!!

NW-WM1A 22/07/2017 by AudioFreak (USA)

Magnificent sound quality. Its plays slightly on the warmer side of neutral. Has crystal clear sound with warmish tonality, lush midrange and punchy bass performance. I mostly listen to rock music and this thing just really sparkles with thunderous dynamics. Classical music also sounds wonderful with nice smooth and clean treble with no hint of harshness. In short its great for ALL genres of music. I feel the best sound performance is experienced when you set the "high gain" mode on output settings. I've heard the sony zx2 and all models of Astell and Kern but this thing is just the best DAP for the money. It also has a phenomenal battery life. I have only one gripe with this item. The audio enhancements(tone controls, DSEE, etc) do not work on bluetooth streaming. So if you are looking to pair this with Bluetooth headphones you will not be able to tweak the sound if you may wish. Sony - can you please allow the sound enhancements on bluetooth as well ? Thanks! I'm very impressed by the sound quality of Sony products and also wanted to buy the HAP-z1es HDD music player to add to my high end sound system, but it does not have tone controls. Sony can you fix that through a firmware upgrade? Thanks!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

0

Sound waves !!

NW-WM1A 17/05/2017 by bombay welshman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased over a month ago and generally very happy with the product. The instruction leaflet is very clear, (mainly illustrations). Probably better suited for child or female fingers rather than male, as control buttons are very close together. Sound at max is not very loud when swimming but otherwise very good. Overall, I'm quite happy that it does what it said it would do!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

19

0

Just enjoy the music!

NW-WM1A 30/03/2017 by Lingjie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are of course products with better sound in the market. But to me at this price range WM1A is the best choice, taking UI, design & battery life into consideration as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

0

Great Sound & Features

NW-WM1A 27/02/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There are good things about the 1A Walkman and a few bad. First the good. Great sounds and packed with features. A balanced connection. Well constructed. A screen that doesn't smudge. The bad. Well the worst for me is that the UK model has the high gain setting removed. Over ear headphones need a high gain setting to power them or you end up turning it up full for a normal sound level. I have faith that Sony will give us a Firmware update soon to reinstate it. No problem. The other is the 4.4mm balanced cable. I have a pair of Sony Z7 headphones with a 3.5mm dual balanced cable. Sony should give all registered Z7 owners a cable upgrade for free. I managed to get a 4.4mm adapter cable from Moon Audio for it. I had previously gotten a balanced Silver Dragon V3 for it. The Sony OS is good. Some of the settings could be more better explained. Like the Type A and B DC Phase Linearizer. What's different about them. When you use the balanced connection you get DSD which is great. We just need Sony to reinstate the high gain setting and give registered Z7 owners a 4.4mm balanced cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

43

2

0

Superb build, great sound - I'm delighted!

NW-WM1A 02/02/2017 by Lemieux66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the NW-WM1A a few weeks ago and am delighted with it overall. Firstly, the build quality is exceptional - no visible screws, just high grade brushed metal and solid buttons with an excellent non-marking touchscreen. The leather back stops slippage on surfaces but is obviously not a good choice for vegetations. Synthetic leather would've been a better choice there. I'm not good with computers so was relieved to find the bundled Media Go software was genuinely easy to use. I've imported CDs, downloaded tracks from Hi-Res music stores and MP3s from Bandcamp too and it was all very simple to do. The User Interface is not as snappy as my iPhone 6+ but it has a certain charm in being unrushed! The options are intuitively laid-out and you have a choice during playback of Album cover art, spectrum analyser or analogue level meters. The EQ and other sound-enhancement options are comprehensive and effective. The ability to play so many file formats is great - even DSD downloads work faultlessly and an SD card slot really cokes in handy with these big files. The sound via the 3.5mm output driving my B&O H6 is the best I've ever heard them. I usually think headphones make the biggest difference to sound quality but here the WM1A delivers a definite boost. I suspect the amplifier quality has a lot to do with this. The music is big and precise, with good deep bass and uncoloured midrange for vocals. The highs seem to be perfectly balanced too. I've not yet been able to try the new Balanced 4.4mm output which promises more power output. I have a pair of Audeze LCD-3 here which should benefit from Balanced drive once I get the necesssry cable. Having said that the LCD-3 still sound great with the 3.5mm output. Complaints? Not many and mainly focused on accessories I'd like to see for the WM1A: There's no docking cradle available in the UK. The BCR-NWH10 works great but is available in Japan only. The digital output cable WMP-NWM10 is also deprived from UK customers. I'd really like to see these accessories released outside Japan to make the most of the WM1A. Also, as the new 4.4mm connector becomes more common, hopefully more Sony headphones and In Ear Monitors will be available with this connector. The range is currently only two models plus after-market cables which, again, are kept from UK customers. Hopefully it's just a matter of time for Sony to deliver here. So overall I'm very pleased with the WM1A. It's my first taste of true high-end portable music players and it does everything I want whilst sounding great and being of superb build quality. Recommended for people who love great sound and portable luxury. It's a real pleasure to carry around with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

42

3

0

Awesome sound

NW-WM1A 27/01/2017 by PT88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my iPod Classic the difference in sound quality is night and day very easy to transfer my lossless tracks from iTunes to the Wm1a solid quality piece of kit, love it, my Etymotic er4p sounded great connected to my iPod. Connected to the wm1a they sound awesome, problem now is I will have to re rip all my CD,s to lossless to get the full benefit of this fantastic hi res Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

44

10