Skip to Content
70

3.8 based on 70 customer reviews

30
18
10
1
11
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of a Select Group

4GB 03/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had each iteration of this MP3 player as Sony has in my opinion produced the best music player for gym users such as myself. But. The competition is very limited for wearable MP3 headphone combinations and by no means is this Sony item perfect. It is however, a considerable improvement on the previous version which had a grim power on/off button and serious failure issues whereby it would simply stop working - which happened to mine. First off the buttons are much nicer to use and that makes a real difference. Once you have got the muscle memory in place it's all good. The overall construction both appears and feels very good and Sony seem to have moved back up a step from the previous model fortunately. It is also very secure on the ears and there is an additional rubber adjuster that can be fitted along with different ear buds to turn this into a MP3 player suitable for swimming with. And Sony seem to have worked out that they can't make software and this is a simple drag and drop operation for compatible files or you can sync using Microsoft Media Player which I do. But - like each version Sony have made there are improvements and retrograde steps. Whilst there is no doubt this is a much better player than before Sony have taken away the storage/charging cradle which held the player together securely which was ideal when being dumped in a sports bag. This player has a very small charging-transfer unit that fits to one side only meaning you have to be very careful when removing it from a bag in case it is pulled apart too much. In use the sound is good not brilliant. For my ears slightly bright. And not loud enough as Sony being a responsible company adhere to the dB safe levels which may not be loud enough to completely drown out the piped in stuff in some gyms. For use outside it would be fine I guess. There is a function to allow ambient noise to be heard which is something that road runners may find useful as cars etc. can be heard. Overall though, this is my gym player of choice because it sounds good and I don't have faffy wires hanging around me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Stopped working after 2 uses

4GB 23/09/2016 by musicless (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A present for me to use when swimming. Followed all instructions and began to use it, but after 2 30 minute swims, in fresh water, it just gave up and became completely unresponsive despite all fixes / advice, including from Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

70 Customer Reviews

0

I can barely hear a thing.

8GB 16/11/2017 by alilow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unless I am an absolutely quiet environment, I can barely hear a thing using this.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Much improved on old model

4GB 10/11/2017 by GinoC (United Kingdom)

Does everything I require and I am very happy with the performance and quality

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent product

8GB 06/11/2017 by Cloda (United Kingdom)

I purchased these to help me swim, amazing product what a great idea highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality sound, fairly easy to set up, comfortable.

4GB 06/11/2017 by Sinarbol (United Kingdom)

Great product! Would have been 5star if actual band had slide mechanism for size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Very Disapointed

4GB 22/09/2017 by Rhett (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched the market for waterproof MP3 players and thought...SONY really good name etc. It was to be my Fathers day present. Open the box, nicely made, followed the instructions carefully, fitted the CORRECT earbuds and off to the pool I went....The sound was TERRIBLE. I was so disappointed. The volume was abysmal, the clarity was poor. The controls were good and the fit good too BUT if the sound is hopeless whats the point.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Great upgrade

8GB 18/09/2017 by ChrissyGC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one to replace the previous Walkman that I'd had for a couple of years and had been worn to death! It's reasonably easy to use but I'm still struggling with the different buttons and what they do. The written instructions that come along with the product aren't very good, so I had to go on line to work out what's what and print it out. Other than that, all good so far.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

A new way of swimming

NW-WS410 Series 30/08/2017 by FFRE (USA)

Takes the boredom out of swimming. Listen to books or music while swimming. Even running works well. Hours of entertainment while on the go without wireless setups. Press and play.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfection!

NW-WS410 Series 30/08/2017 by Scrouby (USA)

Excellent headphones for swimming or running, especially if you don't want to carry on your phone with you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

TREMENDOUS VALUE FOR MONEY SPENT

4 GB 25/08/2017 by CDKD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS WALKMAN A MONTH AGO PRIMARILY FOR MY TIME IN THE POOL. IT IS EASY TO USE, EASY TO LOAD MUSIC FROM MY COMPUTER, AND PLENTY OF VOLUME UNDER WATER. YES, IT REALLY IS WATERPROOF AND KEEPS TRACK OF MINUTES, DISTANCE, AND MORE!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good, but could be better.

NW-WS410 Series 20/08/2017 by Chris10010101 (USA)

These function very well in lieu of an MP3 player with traditional headphones. I was disappointed at first by the awful randomizer for shuffle play, but the firmware update fixed that wonderfully. After using them practically every day for almost a year (got them last Christmas), I have only one continued complaint: no battery life indicator. Yes, the unit has a light that alternates green and orange when "battery is low", but that hits around the halfway point for the battery. I can still get almost two weeks of use once they start blinking orange. Since there is no further warning, I'll be listening and my music will abruptly end with a "Low battery" warning. If there was a audible battery level, like a short push of the power button that causes the voice to read out your approximate battery percentage, I would be satisfied and given this a full 5-star rating. Overall, the unit is solid: good fit, good sound quality, and easy to use. My only complaint is the lack of a battery life indicator.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Where does the sound go?

8GB 13/08/2017 by Europa1557 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In an otherwise quiet room, the maximum available sound (EU-restricted apparently) is just about audible - in a swimming pool with people, or in a Jacuzzi with water sounds, I can't hear anything. The manual says there's an over-ride, but since tthe manual's from Malaysia it's impossible to find it. Not at all happy so far.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Made my ears hurt.

4GB 12/07/2017 by Denis8158 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perhaps because of my non-standard physical structure (I'm a big guy), but my ears remained hurt about 10 minutes after I took them off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent

8GB 04/07/2017 by tessjade (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for my husband to use at the gym for a bit of music while he is exercising. He says they are perfect for the task, good quality, excellent design and a very comfortable fit.. He would definately recommend them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything is perfect keep improving

NW-WS410 Series 18/06/2017 by Lonewwolf13 (Canada)

Everything is perfect, I love it! Keep improving please and thank you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NOT AS EXPECTED

NW-WS410 Series 05/06/2017 by satish1104 (USA)

Bought it 8 months ago and spoilt. Just used for jogging three days In a week. Doesn't satisfy me and its just waste of money. Although Sony replaced with new set but it was dirty and the warranty still follows the date I purchased. What will happen in another few months??Being a faithful Sony customer, I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Instructions for the nwws413

NW-WS410 Series 02/06/2017 by Edwardo 111 (USA)

Instructions poor for this product, still having problems

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Swimming Motivator

4GB 25/05/2017 by Clockwork56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this product to help me keep a fitness routine in my local pool. I am in my sixties and enjoy listening to music and I find the time I have swimming three times a week is an ideal opportunity to have a music boost. I was a little sceptical about how this walkman would sound and operate. It is very simple to use and load music onto. I think the key to the best sound is down to the correct earbuds, even if this means two different sizes. I have not been disappointed and find the music a good motivator for me. I have not so far had any problems with water ingression and the volume perfectly adequate, especially when the ambient button is switched off. They are comfortable to wear and compact. I am glad I did my research and came up with these. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Cant get it to play music

4GB 15/05/2017 by Paul K (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I downloaded my music files as usual and all I got was "Data Error"....dont know why and am struggling to find out how to rectify the situation as the instructions are extremely sketchy.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Poor preform

4GB 22/04/2017 by Shayts1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The volume is too low and it's hard to operate between songs

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

replacement for old mp3

4GB 19/04/2017 by walt44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

purchased a few days ago. instructions not all that good. so downloaded better instructions from Sony. I bought this item mainly to use when I am out running. downloading my music was fairly straightforward. I have only used it a couple of times but initial thoughts are am pleased with purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor sound quality on WS413

4GB 15/04/2017 by Tracy O (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Waterproof MP3 player a few months ago as an upgrade from my original model and am disappointed to say it is an upgrade, i do not find the latest model as good. The main problem is the sound quality when the waterproof earbuds are in place I have now resorted to swimming with the non waterproof earbuds in place which works better for me but will not help the life of the machine It feels like I have to try to turn it up a couple of notches to receive the level I like for swimming I find the ambience reducer confusing and unnecessary for me but can understand it's use for jogging etc for others I also find switching from playing albums and shuffle etc a bit confusing

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great purchase

4GB 13/04/2017 by Redgreg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact and easy to use. Easy to follow guidelines for loading

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works Ok, a bit quiet

4GB 10/03/2017 by Taffnob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It fits well and I like the voice commands. The thing I don't like is the way the volume is controlled. There seems to be a lot of effort made into not disturbing others when I can only just hear it myself. I don't think it needs to be so complicated,it would be better if it was simplified and Sony trusted us to moderate our own volume.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Love it! My search for running headphones is over!

4GB 08/03/2017 by SmartyPants123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been searching for good sports headphones for the past 2 years. I used an iPod shuffle so couldn't have bluetooth. I like the neckbands but they are either way too expensive or have really poor sound. Considered the bone conduction ones but wasn't keen on the fact that people around you can hear your music. I have bought numerous pairs, sent some back, broke some, binned others, etc until someone recently mentioned the Sony MP3 waterproof player. Not the cheapest but after much consideration, I decided to try this as a last resort. All I can say is WOW! This is absolutely amazing. Good sound, volume goes high enough (but there's ambient sound mode too), music transfer is way easier than via itunes, and most importantly, there are no wires around my face and no untangling while running. When I first put it on, the first thing that struck me was the feeling of freedom due to the lack of things being clipped onto my shirt, wires going around, etc. I purchased this for running but it will be used while traveling too, it is so good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality Construction and design poor sound quality

4GB 08/03/2017 by Jools4merk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like the design and build of these headphones but the sound quality is really quiet when you fit the waterproof earbuds. I know the waterproof earbuds will naturally reduce the volume but the unit should be capable of getting loud enough to compensate them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good item / bad software

4GB 27/02/2017 by uncleorange (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've got these just for the gym - the soul quality is better than i expected and they fit quite well, after an hour they can be a bit painful. The software is the thing that really lets them down, it's clunky and basically a pain in the bum to use,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

good features clear sound

4GB 17/02/2017 by Jules m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with this controls a little fiddly sound good easy to wear sorft wear a little temperamental at times

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Support!

4GB 12/02/2017 by Kerryg (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this device with high hopes but I can't even understand the lousy picture instructions! I finally figured out that I needed to download Media Go and was able to successfully transfer the music onto the device. As my vision is not the best, I have to use a magnifying glass to look at the buttons and none of them work although the device has been charged and will communicate no problem with my computer. I searched for 45 minutes on the Sony site for a proper instruction manual with no results and there are almost no links to the device model at all. It may be a great walkman but how can I tell if it won't work and there is no support to help me?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

I can't believe it fits my ears!

4GB 02/02/2017 by HappyTriathlete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having spent significantly more on running earphones, that were totally useless I was not optimistic that these would stay put. Gladly I was wrong. I noticed in the advertisement photos that the earpieces did not appear to sit flush against the women's heads, although it did for men, this concerned me as I have struggled for years to find earphones that stay in my ears whilst running. As in the photos, the mp3 player does not sit so flush for me, but it happily stays in place for 12+ mile runs without adjustment. This alone makes the product worth the investment, but I can also use it for swimming! Because it doesn't sit flush against my head, it does "snag" in the water, and doesn't sit underneath a swim cap. I also have to adjust my stroke so as not to knock it. I did have to readjust several times. This is a minor inconvenience, though would be more irritating if I had bought it primarily as a swimming device. In truth I use it mostly for running. I expect these issues are due to my tiny ears, and I wouldn't expect everyone to find this. The option to turn on ambient sounds is great, although rustling sounds of hair/hats are also amplified. This mp3 player allows drag and drop of files, which is my preferred option. My previous Sony Walkman needed software to do this and was incredibly frustrating as it often did not work. I am not an audiophile, so cannot really comment on the quality of the sound, however I was pleased that the volume has enough range that I can run along side a dual carriageway or above a motorway and still hear my music. I would 100% recommend this for running for anyone, but there may be better options for swimming if you have small ears (I didn't look into those).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not for activity

4GB 02/02/2017 by Yaskaldima (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Doesn't fit on my ears. Impossible to walk or run. Laying is okay

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product but one downfall

4GB 30/01/2017 by Summertime (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift for Xmas for swim training. It's a great product but the volume does not go loud enough.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

COOL

4GB 27/01/2017 by Olibongo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have replaced the original NWZ-W202 with this model as i had many years of problem free mobile music. I have started using these and the sound is great hope they last as long as the others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No more boredom

4GB 24/01/2017 by Mick112 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony Walkman has relieved the boredom of swimming up and down relentlessly! Only thing is, I can't really get it loud enough in the water, it's plenty loud enough on dry land. Also, can be a bit of a fiddle wearing swimming goggles, hat and trying to fit the ear pieces around all this. Love the fact there's no wires!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Terrible

4GB 14/01/2017 by 3li2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Stopped working after first use, even though i followed the manual to the T.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

It's the best

4GB 14/01/2017 by Elou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is actually my second Sony waterproof Walkman. I was really sad when I lost the first one because I love it so much so I bought the second one. I wear it with my every single swimming. The only thing is that the second one, which I bought in U.K., is more expensive than the first one, which I got in China XD.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for swimming.

4GB 10/01/2017 by Robgy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for an xmas present and very pleased with its performance.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One size does not fit all!

4GB 09/01/2017 by Melanie77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a petite 5.3 women and the headphones were too big! They didn't sit correctly and were too heavy for my ears. I hope Sony can develop different sizes as its overall a fantastic idea but needs work!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Walkman

4GB 09/01/2017 by Swimmer 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy I especially like the function buttons you can easily use them whilst in the pool

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great no wires to get caught up in and water proof

4GB 09/01/2017 by Mryseand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present have used it gardening,fast walking on treadmill, and went swimming with them today, perfect fit and stayed put and no slipping really love them. It was a little confusing setting up but I'm 73 so a bit slow when it comes to te you things.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Music while you swim

8GB 09/01/2017 by Absfabgabs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tried it for the first time yesterday and it worked well . Sound quality good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not entirely happy

4GB 09/01/2017 by Andreaaevars (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband gave me the waterproof and dustproof Walkman for christmas and I intended to use it mainly for swimming. The first time I used it, I found that the volume was very low, I couldn't crank it up and lose myself in the music while I was swimming like I wanted. After I got out and read the manual I found out that if you have the waterproof earplugs in, the volume will be a bit muffled, but that bothers me a bit. Also, the earpieces are a bit large, so when I've got my swimming cap on, I can't fit it over the earpieces without severe discomfort since they press into my head and ears in several places. Also, a bit bothersome. I don't hate them and I will continue to use them since they are quite pricey here in Iceland, and I don't intend to buy new ones, but not an instant favorite. Also, what a bummer that they don't support bluetooth as well!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

No Wires!!

8GB 08/01/2017 by lillywhite23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really happy with my headset, it was a Christmas present and was bought so I could use it in the swimming pool. Once I found out about the features I have used it once in the pool for podcasts. The volume is a little on the low side for the spoken word in the pool. I have yet to try it with music

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sounds and portability

8GB 07/01/2017 by enzod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 4th Sony's player. I have been using them since 2009, the sound quality keeps improving , i love the volume automatic control of the decibel out put makes sure the ears are not whistling. I have only one small remark which is on the battery, there is no way at the moment to replace the battery, if you are an heavy user like me (8~10 hours weekly usage) , you need to replace the product after a couple of years because the battery life degrades. The above is the only hiccup of a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

good so far

4GB 06/01/2017 by PeteLin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received as a gift for Christmas, so far so good. Had some trouble loading music from my MacBook so resorted to old windows computer and it was fine. Love being able to swim and listen to my favourite tracks, it helps to alleviate the boredom of swimming lengths. Still getting used to the controls but am sure will soon be able to do it whilst wearing. Obviously only used a few times since Christmas but hopefully will continue to be great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

More help needed

4GB 27/12/2016 by Josto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't used this yet because the leaflet doesn't tell me how to download podcasts, music, CDs etc. I don't have a Mac computer and haven't got the technical knowledge to proceed. The older generation need more help.

0

3