Skip to Content
18

4.2 based on 18 customer reviews

9
6
1
2
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Top for sound, storage and battery life

NW-ZX100 05/03/2016 by Dave64k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great music player providing your top 3 needs are sound quality, storage and battery life. The DAP fills the void left by the iPod Classic in many ways and I'd rate it as #1 providing you don't want to use streaming services or apps and can live without touchscreen operation. Having come from the Sony X Series the user interface is very familiar and is very quick (even without touch). The unit is well built and the buttons responsive and well positioned. The screen is clear and big enough to use most of the features. The audio output is pretty good and is able to drive my Yuins, Sennheiser and Grado without the need for an external amp although it is pretty much on max to drive 150ohms headphones. The only areas where I think Sony UK need to improve on this model is the availability of accessories (they only appear to be sold in Japan) and the RRP which should be lower to be competitive. Also the data transfer rate using Media Go seems a bit slow, but this is nitpicking really. So if your needs are a good sounding player with over 200Gb of storage and 40-70 hrs playing time between charges this model is for you. If you aren't familiar with the UI go for a demo to see if you like it and then look around for deals. You wont be disappointed with this player which has ZX Series quality all over it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great hardware but let down by dubious OS/firmware

NW-ZX100 30/12/2015 by feline1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used a portable media player from a certain well-known fruit-based manufacturer for nearly 10 years, and that device finally bit the dust, I was on the look out of a replacement that could cope with my large music library. I ended up choosing the Sony NW-ZX100, which comes with Sony's noise-cancelling headphones. I am delighted with the sound quality, and honestly wonder how I ever managed without noise-cancelling headphones in the past. They are brilliant for listening to music on noisy public transport (although not so suitable for use when walking or running, as they do tend to transmit a lot of low-frequency handling noise when moving about - but you can always use ordinary headphones in that circumstance). The NW-ZX100 has a generous onboard storage capacity of 128GB, and allows for further explansion with a microSD card, meaning my entire existing library (about 16 thousand tracks!) was able to fit. I found the user interface responsive and easy to navigate. My only misgiving is certain deficiencies in the operating system. For example, it does not support searching by Composer! This is hopeless for classsical music. The suggesting workaround of "make playlists" would take me months to implement on a large library. Also at present a lot of album art formats are not supported (only baseline-encoded JPEGs). Sony's own Media Go librarian program will covert art to baseline JPEG so that it displays, but Media Go is a rather aimed at beginners with small libraries and not what I want to use. A third problem with the OS is that it does not support multi-disc albums (i.e. it cannot read "track X of Y, disc N of M" from tag metadata - so it plays tracks from multidisc albums all in the wrong order (all the track 1's, then all the track 2's) - again, making playlists for all of these is a cumbersome workaround. I hope Sony will issue updates for the device firmware/OS to address usability issues like these, as I would not expect these problems on a product at this price point.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

19

8

18 Customer Reviews

0

Beautiful Sound!!... Needs a touch screen

128 GB 24/08/2017 by Shilly64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have loaded this with HDR Music I purchased for this unit and CDs ripped with lossless compression. I truly love the sound through the included earbuds and through bluetooth Bose QC-35 headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good, but flawed

128GB 18/08/2017 by Rdstr5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound and if you only intend to listen to albums you know well, it's fine. However, there is no ability to rate tracks; no ability to track last played or play-counts; and the software is basic and has slow transfer speeds. I bought the Walkman to replace a broken iPod Classic and have subsequently bought a second-hand iPod to handle what the Walkman can't.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Simple and uncompromising sound

NW-ZX100 Series 07/07/2017 by Yotam (USA)

Simple version of NW-ZX2 But in my opinion the NW-ZX2 is better than simplicity, convenience, battery time, and reliable. A good music player with sound, no nonsense and add-ons around. It's fun to hear with him.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Good, I wish for is a shortcut to Main Menu

128 GB 16/05/2017 by abadboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this unit from a Foreign Country seller and is as grand as other Sony Hi-Res products. My only displeasure was to discover there is NO Radio. As a Disabled Person, I depend on my MP3 units to assist me to sleep, so hearing every note as they should sound lulls me better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound and well built!

128 GB 14/01/2017 by TheMagician (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. I have owned it for a month now. Easy to download. Good interface and clear menu. Having lossless sound is a real plus. No compressed music here. Good feel and solid built but it should be for the price. I love this unit and Iam glad I bought it. The extra money was worth it if you can afford it. No it does not have a touch screen and I wish it did but it only took a few times to get used to the interface and menu so it really is not a big problem. However the Bluetooth tech is jumpy at best, disconnects often and you have to reconnect over and over. That is with my landrover so I do not know about other vehicles. Would still recommend this over the other units that are around the same price. It is a Sony and I trust them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Noise cancelling works really well

NW-ZX100 12/01/2017 by Josh D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has made listening to my music so much more enjoyable than my old iPod. The high resolution audio is great quality. I'm not an audio purist so I can't honestly say how much better the sound quality is than low-res audio but this sounds great to my ears. The noise cancelling works well - I used this on the train during my commute and I was really able to switch off from all the background noise. One of the things that I really love is the ability to be able to drag and drop from a PC rather than being tied to a piece of software. I also really like the fact that you can add WAV files as I like some of my music tracks to be completely uncompressed. The operation of the player is very intuitive and does not take long to figure out. You can create custom playlists and also 'bookmark' tracks to create an ad-hoc playlist on the fly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I love it!

NW-ZX100 04/01/2017 by Popgirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've finally had to replace my old Creative Zen Vision M and was finding it difficult to get a new media player with a decent hard disk capacity, especially if you don't want to buy into all the Apple hype. I'm so glad I chose the Sony - all my music fits on with loads of room to spare, the sound quality is brilliant and the software is very easy to use. Like most Sony products it's not the cheapest on the market, but you get what you pay for. Well done!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A Great Piece of Kit

NW-ZX100 08/12/2016 by DaveyW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade from my NWZ15, mainly to increase capacity. The build is far more solid and robust plus the sound quality is even better. Very pleased with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound quality.really

NW-ZX100 05/10/2016 by Beester (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 6 mounths ago and i happy to use this.but no pictures and video player

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The outstanding portable

NW-ZX100 03/10/2016 by Gimper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After the usual research I decided on this Sony product becuase I had an earlier, cheaper version. I had in mind long flights to Austalia , for example, and the long battery life seemed ideal. The sound quality is outstanding and the capacity is greater than I shall ever need to use. A great success.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very nice product but supporting software disappoi

NW-ZX100 30/04/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Walkman is a lovely little thing with very good sound quality. My only complaint is that if I import music that is split over several CDS the music gets shuffled out of order: rather than disk 1 track1, disk 1 track 2, ... disk 2 track 1, disk 2 track 2 etc. what appears is disk 1 track 1, disk 2 track 1, disk 1 track 2, etc. I can work around it by constructing a playlist, but for an expensive device like this I shouldn't have to. Also, the Walkman does not automatically sync with Media Go: I have to manually copy new items. While I'm on the subject of Media Go, although it imports music from my iTunes library it doesn't import or revise playlists. Again, I can work around it, but I shouldn't have to. Finally, when I copy playlists to the Walkman often Media Go will tell me they've been copies while the Walkman doesn't know that they're there. It often takes several goes before they're recognised. All in all, it's a lovely high-quality player with disappointing supporting software.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Excellent quality, exceptional value for money

NW-ZX100 29/03/2016 by cjw999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony NW-ZX100 as a replacement for my 160GB Classic mp3 player which has now been discontinued. The good news is that the Sony NW-ZX100 is massively better (albeit more expensive - but it's well worth it). The sound from the ZX-100 takes listening to music to a new level. I really like Sony's operating system which is very easy to come to terms with. The SensMe feature is similar to the Genius play list provided by Apple but for me, Sony's system is just as good. The Bluetooth facility provides great connectivity with my in-car audio set-up as well as home hi-fi. It's quite a heavy machine and feels like it would survive if it was dropped from a tall building. Battery seems to last for ages. What a shame you can't replace it yourself, although Sony will do it for you. Just one caveat: the supplied Noise Cancelling headphones do cancel out extraneous noise but the sound quality isn't quite up to the mark. You'll need some better headphones. Mine are AKGs which work perfectly with this player. I thoroughly recommend this product. Well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

1

0

Easy to use sounds excellent

NW-ZX100 17/03/2016 by Brinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good quality and well made product and easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Top for sound, storage and battery life

NW-ZX100 05/03/2016 by Dave64k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great music player providing your top 3 needs are sound quality, storage and battery life. The DAP fills the void left by the iPod Classic in many ways and I'd rate it as #1 providing you don't want to use streaming services or apps and can live without touchscreen operation. Having come from the Sony X Series the user interface is very familiar and is very quick (even without touch). The unit is well built and the buttons responsive and well positioned. The screen is clear and big enough to use most of the features. The audio output is pretty good and is able to drive my Yuins, Sennheiser and Grado without the need for an external amp although it is pretty much on max to drive 150ohms headphones. The only areas where I think Sony UK need to improve on this model is the availability of accessories (they only appear to be sold in Japan) and the RRP which should be lower to be competitive. Also the data transfer rate using Media Go seems a bit slow, but this is nitpicking really. So if your needs are a good sounding player with over 200Gb of storage and 40-70 hrs playing time between charges this model is for you. If you aren't familiar with the UI go for a demo to see if you like it and then look around for deals. You wont be disappointed with this player which has ZX Series quality all over it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great hardware but let down by dubious OS/firmware

NW-ZX100 30/12/2015 by feline1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used a portable media player from a certain well-known fruit-based manufacturer for nearly 10 years, and that device finally bit the dust, I was on the look out of a replacement that could cope with my large music library. I ended up choosing the Sony NW-ZX100, which comes with Sony's noise-cancelling headphones. I am delighted with the sound quality, and honestly wonder how I ever managed without noise-cancelling headphones in the past. They are brilliant for listening to music on noisy public transport (although not so suitable for use when walking or running, as they do tend to transmit a lot of low-frequency handling noise when moving about - but you can always use ordinary headphones in that circumstance). The NW-ZX100 has a generous onboard storage capacity of 128GB, and allows for further explansion with a microSD card, meaning my entire existing library (about 16 thousand tracks!) was able to fit. I found the user interface responsive and easy to navigate. My only misgiving is certain deficiencies in the operating system. For example, it does not support searching by Composer! This is hopeless for classsical music. The suggesting workaround of "make playlists" would take me months to implement on a large library. Also at present a lot of album art formats are not supported (only baseline-encoded JPEGs). Sony's own Media Go librarian program will covert art to baseline JPEG so that it displays, but Media Go is a rather aimed at beginners with small libraries and not what I want to use. A third problem with the OS is that it does not support multi-disc albums (i.e. it cannot read "track X of Y, disc N of M" from tag metadata - so it plays tracks from multidisc albums all in the wrong order (all the track 1's, then all the track 2's) - again, making playlists for all of these is a cumbersome workaround. I hope Sony will issue updates for the device firmware/OS to address usability issues like these, as I would not expect these problems on a product at this price point.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

19

8

0

A Sound Investment

NW-ZX100 12/12/2015 by PixAl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this machine for nearly three weeks now and am still loading it with my favourite tracks. Much of my music is on CD and is being transferred as FLAC files. I am avoiding anything lower than CD standard. Everything l have loaded so far sounds crisp, full and most enjoyable. I have also bought some High Res downloads so that l can fully judge the sound quality. I am very happy. I did buy a really good pair of headphones as l am not happy using in-ear buds. (my personal preference) Therefore , l have not used the ear-buds included by Sony. However, from what l have heard so far, this player gives exceptional playback with all my files. There is 3D depth with tight bass, smooth but crisp treble and great mid range. I have used Sony MP3 Walkmans before and have always been impressed with them. This is even better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

2

0

review

128GB 11/12/2015 by Robert2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product, fair price for Hi Res music player at present.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Good build & sound; primitive OS & no Mac support

NW-ZX100 12/11/2015 by keefiman (United Kingdom)

Nicely made product with good sound. However it has a basic OS, Sony's own. This gives very limited functionality. Also the drives are split and have to be managed separately. There's no support or Sony software interface for Mac users and iTunes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

13

51