60

4.3 based on 60 customer reviews

38
15
1
1
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Quality sound and look. Nothing bad to report

SRS-XB40 15/07/2017 by Mfren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First of all the speaker itself looks great, the flashing lights are a great touch. It is light which is always handy for a portable speaker. Easy to use especially with the NFC. The buttons are a simple layout with makes it easy to use. The actual sound of the speaker is great expecially with the extra bass feature which adds an extra quality to any track you play on it. Don't really have anything bad to say about it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Wireless Party Chain, SONY wont be able to help!

SRS-XB40 15/06/2017 by Jhon98798798 (Canada)

I've called SONY several times and the agents were not able to provide help on party Chain mode so they hang up on me twice. I will return the speakers and recomend you srongly to avoid making this purchace if your desire is to link 2 or more speakers together. The instructions are unclear and the customer service is unavalable for answers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

60 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic

SRS-XB40 03/02/2018 by Millie_White (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it the sound quality is amazing its got amazing bass its basically all you need

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent

SRS-XB40 01/02/2018 by Buddy61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent in every way. First sound box I have owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 26/01/2018 by Hitchy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this XB40 speaker thinking it would party chain with my XB 3 so I was very disappointed when I found that this was not the case as they are nearly identical products apart from size. I would have given XB40 full marks on every category had this been the case. Maybe Sony after reading this review as a good will gesture could send me a XB 30 which I have found out does party chain with the XB40 THEN I will change my review to excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Love the funky lights

SRS-XB40 25/01/2018 by Alli92 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great speaker with good sound and fun display lights

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very poor connection options

SRS-XB40 23/01/2018 by Dralmi (USA)

I bought 2 BT speakers 4 days ago and my experience was awful, practically the app for the iPhone is working very bad, I think that in this 4 days I spend 1h/day trying to reconfigure the speakers, when they are plugged the faction are even worse; today I was connected with them to my phone but the sound was from my phone, I had to restart the speakers and after, guess what, they didn’t connect anymore..... I will keep it until the weekend and if they are not ok, I will return it, sorry I do not have time to spend to configure every day your product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

It's better then I first thought.

SRS-XB40 22/01/2018 by Mr Fox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got myself this about a month ago. At first I got a Jam Heavy Metal bluetooth speaker. It was very small and had a excellent sound quality. But after a few uses I noticed a rattle sound. I soon found out it was one of the buttons. So I returned it and got myself the Sony Xb40. And I found it a lot better. Though it's bigger it will still fit in a bag or backpack no problem. And it has the power to fill up a small to medium sized room. And dropped it a bowl of water and no problem it still works perfectly. It's good and if you want to make noise it's good for that too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

sony bluetooth speaker

SRS-XB40 18/01/2018 by BC72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good product in terms in portability, and sturdiness. Extra Bass does not produce a clear sound especially at low levels

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Impressive

SRS-XB40 16/01/2018 by Chappy72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought over Xmas in sale very good value for money ,,sound is very impressive as is the volume the extra bass works ,,recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sounds Great

SRS-XB40 14/01/2018 by Fozzi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this for Christmas and have linked it up with my XB20 speaker. They sound awesome and simple to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for the money

SRS-XB40 12/01/2018 by Dorins24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound , quite powerful, the fully charged battery lasts forever. Very pleased with it . The only minor inconvenience is that when the playlist finishes, the Bluetooth connection seems to drop. Quite annoying to make it work again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing piece of kit.

SRS-XB40 08/01/2018 by Studowson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son bought one first and I was amazed by the sound it produced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 07/01/2018 by Nooo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as my christmas present and am thrilled.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fabulous

SRS-XB40 06/01/2018 by Susiecol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received it as a Christmas present, very good sound quality & everyone in the house hold uses it & says how good it is. Great value for the price. Thanks Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A Happy Sony Customer

SRS-XB40 05/01/2018 by Nasir (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Another fantastic product from Sony. The sound, look, apps that work with the speaker make this a must have for anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Small and Mighty

SRS-XB40 05/01/2018 by ChloeeLouise (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this as a Christmas present. Love it. Very good bass and doesn't sound tinny, excellent battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB40 04/01/2018 by evaughan04 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for Christmas and I absolutely love it! I use it everyday

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super machine

SRS-XB40 03/01/2018 by Smudgy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it as a Christmas present and I am delighted with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Speechless

SRS-XB40 01/01/2018 by Leafninja96 (USA)

I got this BT speaker today and I’m astonished at how clear the music is. The extra bass adds the perfect amount of depth into the sound becoming so much more clear. The might show is awesome. Syncs great with all sorts of music. I rate these a perfect 10/10.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT SPEAKER!!!!

SRSXB40/BLK 23/12/2017 by Valle Negron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Bluetooth SPEAKER is so loud!!! And the Sound Quality is OWSOME!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

lovely speaker

SRS-XB40 16/12/2017 by stui916 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very very happy with this speaker, wonderful sound, great fun lighting effects and fun to be had using the apps that accompany it. a very minor issue. Make sure your fully charged. the charger does not appear to power speaker whilst charging. just something to condider, love the fact that if a button is pushed, speaks how much battery is charged. nothing negative to write. over the moon, would definatley reccomend. well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

SRSXB40/BLK 16/12/2017 by marsha5050 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very nice good but bought a second one and very hard to use party mode every time I get it set up and working the next time I turn the speakers on I have to start all over very time consuming and inconvenient so buying the second one did not help me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love this

SRS-XB40 13/12/2017 by MRP46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We’ve had this speaker for about a month now and use it every day. It’s great as it’s portable and plays music from my iPhone, radio app and YouTube. Also like the fact you can sync 8 devices to it so when my granddaughter comes round she does just that. Great product with excellent sound, love the bass button.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good in sound quality

SRS-XB40 08/12/2017 by Humtty (USA)

I brought this about 5 months ago.best speaker i have ever brought

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great speaker

SRS-XB40 04/12/2017 by Acetrace (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hardly any faults. Good sound quality and volume. If anything, has scratched quite easily.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great feature

SRS-XB40 03/12/2017 by Andriy Student (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the speaker 2 weeks ago I'm so happy very good product. Thanks Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best qualité outthere

SRSXB40/BLK 28/11/2017 by Chupalas (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a great product powerfull but could. Have. Been more. Powerfull in my taste

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Outstanding

SRS-XB40 23/11/2017 by Jake24 (USA)

It is a great product and I highly recommend it. I've had no problems. It's loud, and is a great price for what you're getting.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Blue tooth is missing teeth!

SRSXB40/BLK 24/10/2017 by Mama Laughter Yoga (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I grew up loving Sony products. I have TV's, sound systems and I brought this for the name brand of SONY and it wasn't cheap! I ordered the pretty red one and after only playing it through blue tooth, about 3 times, the music started to skip and crack. I tried it at another place and with another server outside my home and the same cracking and skipping on the songs. My internet is 5g and I troubleshooted it as much as possible. I need to have this for my volunteer work and its very troublesome when we are cooling down in meditation to have the song skip when I use the blue tooth setting. I tried to return to the store but they don't take returns over 7 days!!! Well I had to buy a 6 inch AC cord to hard wire it to my phone ...now it plays fine, but I purchased it for the blue tooth feature. If you want this for blue tooth FORGET ABOUT IT. I also noticed the store wasn't selling it any more...I wonder why.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

7

0

Quality Product

SRS-XB40 20/10/2017 by Sudath72 (United Kingdom)

It is about 2 months since I bought it and I am quite happy with it. It has been designed to use outdoors and the quality of sound is pretty good. Also it is easy to connect with other devises. I would like if there is an option to turn the lights off when not needed..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Great speaker - but you will need to tweak...

SRS-XB40 29/09/2017 by SteveLBMK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A quick scan of online videos will confirm what you need to know about this speaker - it is brilliant, when you have adjusted the grpahic equalizer settings (you can do this using Sony's "Music Center" which aslo allows you to change the light settings, or with a media player like VLC. When bass boost is on, both the mids and trebles need to be increased, otherwise it sounds to "muddy". Once tweaked, sounds brilliant and the lights are great fun!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Amazing

SRS-XB40 21/09/2017 by Crazydavid85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this speaker for work, it's so load and good I can put it in the middle of the shop and hear it over 2 floors of the shop it's out standing sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good experience

SRS-XB40 18/09/2017 by Akinjive (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product a couple of weeks back and its been a good addition to our electronic collections in the house, connects seamlessly with all hand-held devices.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound is brilliant

SRS-XB40 18/09/2017 by Keith3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been looking for sometime for a product like this the sound is most important. This product ticks all the boxes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Please read sony

SRS-XB40 07/09/2017 by Islandj (Canada)

This is a great speaker, goood build quality, excellent bass, water-resistant. Things I and im sure many others would like are an sd reader, ipx7 water resistance, and maybe a handle. Battery could always be better, though already amazing. Check out clavinetjunkie on YouTube for critique reviews. I love your products and want you to continue improving.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GOOD BASE EFFECT

SRSXB40/BLK 05/09/2017 by ernie023 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

FOR A PASSIVE NON ACTIVE SUB-WOOFER THE BASE EFFECT IS EXCELLENT. BASE ON MY EXPERIENCE AS A RETIRED BASE PLAYER

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a product for the money

SRSXB40/BLUE 23/08/2017 by Tropicola65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got this today (08.23.17) and man I'm glad I did. Unfortunately I blew the speakers off on another Sony product I had and needed something for an upcoming Wake. Glad I got this one. The sound on this thing is remarkable. Just right. I got the blue one. Looks sharp. Love it. Always love Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Perfection!

SRS-XB40 08/08/2017 by restarora (Canada)

This speaker is almost perfect. The bass is amazingly on it as well as the mid. I find it lacks treble slightly which results in a less crisp sound then others. Doesn't mean it sounds bad. It still sounds amazing regardless. The battery life is spectacular and the lights are really unique. Overall an amazing speaker

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has good quality sound

SRSXB40/BLK 01/08/2017 by big oda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very satisfied with this oriduct. I especially liike the added bass feature

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Big sound for the size

SRS-XB40 27/07/2017 by MusicPlease (USA)

I have 3 srs-xb40 and 1 xb-30 and the sound is good for the size they are. Sometimes it can be tricky to get them to sync(one speaker can sometimes be a little delayed, but re-grouping seems to help) and there seems to be no way for the volume to all sync up to the same volume other than manually trying to level it with the buttons on the speakers. Maybe the songpal app does that, but it seems to not know how to connect to its own speakers(I'm using an iPhone 7, maybe I need an NFC capable phone?). Wish the battery indicator showed up in my phones widgets(it does in the songpal app).Overall no regrets.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Best speaker But...........

SRS-XB40 26/07/2017  (USA)

It's a great speaker But why when it's 50% it's gets low volume stay permanent until it's more then 50%

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

4

0

Would recommend based on volume and bass

SRS-XB40 22/07/2017 by KP1409 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The volume level and bass level are great. The battery life is good and the lights are a nifty feature. Sleek design and although bigger than other portable speakers, it is still definitely portable. Only downside is I don't think the clarity is completely there. The music isn't as crisp as I've heard from other speakers but it definitely does the job.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

It was a good product

SRS-XB40 19/07/2017 by Shaneyboý 29 (USA)

This product works fast and is duŕrable we love that we can hear

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great sound and battery life

SRS-XB40 17/07/2017 by Dave23121985 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago and am loving it much better than my bose mini

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Quality sound and look. Nothing bad to report

SRS-XB40 15/07/2017 by Mfren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First of all the speaker itself looks great, the flashing lights are a great touch. It is light which is always handy for a portable speaker. Easy to use especially with the NFC. The buttons are a simple layout with makes it easy to use. The actual sound of the speaker is great expecially with the extra bass feature which adds an extra quality to any track you play on it. Don't really have anything bad to say about it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB40 13/07/2017 by sharkie1961 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a couple of weeks ago. Great sound and compact.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Perfect Wireless Speaker!!

SRSXB40/BLK 08/07/2017 by Answ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product, because multiple people I know have bought it, and it's a great product! The bass is amazing and when you chain speakers it sounds awesome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

80s nostalgia - 21st century sound !

SRS-XB40 06/07/2017 by Fhatto blaster (USA)

This product has an awesome 80s look but great sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent..good price.. 150

SRSXB40/BLK 05/07/2017 by Ajc0002 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love all the features.limited Battery indicator full, 70, 50, 20 percent.. Very low volume on 20% hope it will improve the fiestable app and lights..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

volume sucks

SRS-XB40 05/07/2017 by rodnyoca (USA)

24 hours of party???? no way ...after 4 hours the volume gets reduce to 30% or 40% why??? i don't know please fix it for next time going to return mine

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

13

6

0

Not good

SRS-XB40 05/07/2017 by Zakk666 (USA)

Seriously Sony...... 24 hours of battery ????? You got to be me kiding....after 4 hours speaker goes in some weird low volume ..... and is not loud anymore Please fix it

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

3

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB40 02/07/2017 by Cloudpeak (USA)

I purchased this speaker about 2 weeks ago. After shopping for portable Bluetooth speaked and with extensive research between Bose, JBL Xtreme and Beats I found that the XB40 sound quality to be impressive for the price. The base at low levels is nice. The lights are a cool option but at times they can be quite irritating. I am still trying to figure out how to turn them off completely. Another issue is the weight as the others were a bit lighter and that I hoped Sony would have included a carrying case for this speaker!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Very Happy with my spreaker!

SRS-XB40 29/06/2017 by SalthePal (USA)

I compared this speaker with other great brands at Best Buy, this one sounded the best at the store, now at home it rocks everyday! Sound is amazing, quality is top notch. Feels and looks durable. I will be happy for years to come!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

good features

SRS-XB40 29/06/2017 by Martin8219 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a good device, I'm just bugging the lights in detail

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Suck!!

SRS-XB40 26/06/2017 by Yourmom121 (USA)

It's not even extra bass. It's just cheap bass and the price is silly

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

6

0

Very good and loud speaker.

SRS-XB40 25/06/2017 by Wldzam (USA)

Good bass. Recommend to all who like outdoor party.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

GREAT!

SRS-XB40 23/06/2017 by Ton999 (USA)

JUST GREAT! I love this speaker, it is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding sound from this tiny unit

SRSXB40/BLK 23/06/2017 by donthaveone1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have other wireless speakers and they're really good products... but the SRS XB40 is so much better than I thought it would be.. it pumps out the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Wireless Party Chain, SONY wont be able to help!

SRS-XB40 15/06/2017 by Jhon98798798 (Canada)

I've called SONY several times and the agents were not able to provide help on party Chain mode so they hang up on me twice. I will return the speakers and recomend you srongly to avoid making this purchace if your desire is to link 2 or more speakers together. The instructions are unclear and the customer service is unavalable for answers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/06/2017

Hi Jhon98798798, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. If you're unable to connect to party chain mode, you may use this link for your guidelines: http://helpguide.sony.net/speaker/srs-xb40/v1/en/contents/TP0001385527.html?search=party%20chain. Regards, ~Erin

0

Simply Fantastic

SRS-XB40 14/06/2017 by J187 (USA)

Sounds amazing, battery lasts all day, very well built, lights are a fun extra touch. I couldn't be any happier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Really pleased with this powerful system

SRS-XB40 07/05/2017 by Nickname23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and everyone who sees and hears it are really impressed. Battery life is great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

49

11