Skip to Content
24

3.7 based on 24 customer reviews

11
5
2
2
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great for music streaming; not surround sound

SRSZR5 05/01/2017 by nicneo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a pair to setup surround sound with Sony htnt5 sound bar. The srszr5 work great when streaming music individually or paired as group; not so great when used for surround sound. Could be improved with software update to allow user control or management.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great speaker, poor connectivity

SRSZR5 18/12/2016 by DanGSevernaPark (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the sound quality of this speaker much more than the Sonos Play:1 or the comparable Bose SoundTouch. It plays highs much clearer and crisper. The other reason I bought this over Sonos is the more open architecture of the network. However, the bluetooth often drops out for a beat or gets scratchy. I have only been able to get WiFi connection through the app to play music loaded on my phone, which sounds great, but the music will stop playing randomly. I then have to reopen the app, which often freezes, and restart everything. I have not been able to play any streaming services to the speaker through WiFi yet as the Google Cast button often doesn't appear on any of the supposedly supported services, except for Spotify which requires a premium account. Even Google's own 'Play' app doesn't have a Cast button. Luckily there are other ways to connect to this speaker, but it would be great if the WiFi/bluetooth worked as it was supposed to, so that this would be a wireless speaker. The manual and troubleshooting are extremely sparse for a speaker with so many options, and not much more information is available on the Sony site to try to resolve these issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

24 Customer Reviews

0

No wall mounting screw

SRS-ZR5 13/09/2017 by Tachen (USA)

Very hard to find screws that fit this speaker for wall mounting. Have bought several different screws but nothing fits !!! In Sweden it is very difficult to find just the screws that fit. Otherwise OK speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Portable or surround.

SRSZR5 09/09/2017 by tva3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We love the option of using these speakers as part of our surround sound, which works flawlessly, or taking them outside with us to enjoy. The portability and versatility really makes these a great addition to our audio needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality

SRS-ZR5 27/08/2017  (USA)

Very hard to get to work with surround sound. Doesnt work all the time. Would not recommend as have to reset them to work with surround sound. Best Buy and sony no help on getting them to work. Poor service as well

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great for Music!

SRS-ZR5 17/08/2017 by Charlie28751 (USA)

The reviews for this unit are all over the place. Perhaps that’s understandable, since we all have different levels of technical ability/comfort and the ZR5 can be used in many different ways. Different scenarios can present different challenges… I purchased two ZR5s to be used as a stereo pair in a small office. They flank a Sony XBR-43X800D and I sit about five feet away at 90 degrees from them. I listen to music mostly but occasionally watch TV news and once in a great while watch a Blu-ray on an Xbox that is ostensibly for the grandkids when they visit. I listened only briefly to a single ZR5. I thought the sound was about the same as a Bose SoundLink Revolve+ that I use outdoors. But I can’t say that I did any serious listening. Some have noted that the documentation was poor and the setup painful. There are so many functions that the printed documentation mentions everything but does not delve deeply into anything and is lacking in trouble-shooting advice. Since my TV and speakers are adjacent to my desk computer, I downloaded the PDF manual and pulled up the product support page on my browser before I started. I downloaded and used the SongPal app for configuration and set up a stereo pair without difficulty. I’d have to say that it was no more difficult than other recent setups and everything that I tested worked properly. You have to enable CEC on your TV to use the HDMI connection. I haven’t had any connection drops—my wireless router is close by. Bluetooth has also been flawless, but I’m only a few feet away at my desk and not roaming around. Music has been a treat—a real pleasure. Voices are crisp and clear. The bass is better than I expected. Although my B&W 803s floorstanders are naturally better, it’s nice to have satisfying sound at your desk and sitting five feet away from the speakers in the sweet spot does the trick. TV sound via HDMI or stereo minijack is much better than the native TV audio. I’d say it was equal to a soundbar without a subwoofer. While the ZR5 is nice for music bass, it falls short on Blu-ray explosions and car crashes. So for my usage scenario—mostly music, stationary listener, close proximity to wireless—these speakers are great. I’ve enjoyed them immensely. In fact, I’m curious to see how they would sound with a good soundbar and sub in a surround sound setup… for the grandkids, of course. YMMV. Good luck!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for Music!

SRSZR5 16/08/2017 by Charlie28751 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The reviews for this unit are all over the place. Perhaps that’s understandable, since we all have different levels of technical ability/comfort and the ZR5 can be used in many different ways. Different scenarios can present different challenges… I purchased two ZR5s to be used as a stereo pair in a small office. They flank a Sony XBR-43X800D and I sit about five feet away at 90 degrees from them. I listen to music mostly but occasionally watch TV news and once in a great while watch a Blu-ray on an Xbox that is ostensibly for the grandkids when they visit. I listened only briefly to a single ZR5. I thought the sound was about the same as a Bose SoundLink Revolve+ that I use outdoors. But I can’t say that I did any serious listening. Some have noted that the documentation was poor and the setup painful. There are so many functions that the printed documentation mentions everything but does not delve deeply into anything and is lacking in trouble-shooting advice. Since my TV and speakers are adjacent to my desk computer, I downloaded the PDF manual and pulled up the product support page on my browser before I started. I downloaded and used the SongPal app for configuration and set up a stereo pair without difficulty. I’d have to say that it was no more difficult than other recent setups and everything that I tested worked properly. You have to enable CEC on your TV to use the HDMI connection. I haven’t had any connection drops—my wireless router is close by. Bluetooth has also been flawless, but I’m only a few feet away at my desk and not roaming around. Music has been a treat—a real pleasure. Voices are crisp and clear. The bass is better than I expected. Although my B&W 803s floorstanders are naturally better, it’s nice to have satisfying sound at your desk and sitting five feet away from the speakers in the sweet spot does the trick. TV sound via HDMI or stereo minijack is much better than the native TV audio. I’d say it was equal to a soundbar without a subwoofer. While the ZR5 is nice for music bass, it falls short on Blu-ray explosions and car crashes. So for my usage scenario—mostly music, stationary listener, close proximity to wireless—these speakers are great. I’ve enjoyed them immensely. In fact, I’m curious to see how they would sound with a good soundbar and sub in a surround sound setup… for the grandkids, of course. YMMV. Good luck!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor sound

SRSZR5 31/07/2017 by Cantankerious (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Added to soundbar for surround sound quality but can only hear in movie mode

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Disapointed

SRS-ZR5 17/06/2017 by Basscoll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to set up Must reset every day to get it to work Poor quality sound

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Nice speaker but unreliable in wireless stereo

SRS-ZR5 28/04/2017 by Howdie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought two of these to get wireless stereo but found them to be a bit unreliable. Sony support tried to help but couldn't solve it - not given up yet but I'm not sure they are up to it. Great sound and design otherwise, so it's disappointing. Operating as individual speakers they are great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great products

SRS-ZR5 23/04/2017 by G Dub (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great products but instructions are nowhere up to usual Sony standard to integrate within a sound bar and sub woofer system. Also the mounting bolts should be provided to ensure that they can be fitted to stands.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

0

Little speaker, big sound

SRS-ZR5 06/04/2017 by Cramarion (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to go with echo dot, great deep powerful sound with a range of connection options

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Simplicity and quality

SRS-ZR5 31/03/2017 by IanTh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good quality of an excellent simple design. Worked brilliantlyafter simple set up procedure with wifi, once setup both speakers stay linked to sound bar. Can be moved to another room if playing music etc.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Poor documentation

SRS-ZR5 17/02/2017 by None stupid question (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent speakers but poor documentation makes it difficult to get best out of them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Sony Product

SRS-ZR5 30/01/2017 by WWood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony product lives up to all my expectations. It is the same result that I've had with all my Sony products. Well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very easy to connect

SRS-ZR5 25/01/2017 by Gemsop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought these to replace an elderly Sony surround system very impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SRS ZR5 review

SRS-ZR5 10/01/2017 by SteveH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a christmas present and have found it to be an excellent piece of kit. The sound if fabulous for such a small speaker. I have all my albums on a USB drive and it works a treat. The SongPal software leaves a lot to be desired but can be used. I have also connected my bluetooth Akai deck to this speaker and the sound is great.....all the vinyls are back out of the cupboard.!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Google Cast stereo

SRS-ZR5 06/01/2017 by Casteasy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two of these to provide stereo in a study as part of moving towards a multi-room audio system. Already had a Sony SRS-HG1 speaker in the kitchen which I liked and the 2 x ZR5s integrated seamlessly into my Google Cast system. A deeper sound than the HG1, smart minimalist look, linked easily to produce stereo, and have a decent range of connections to link in different ways. SongPal app that configures the speakers is problematic, and needs the Google Home app to group the speakers together for multi-room functionality, but so far I'm impressed. Sony back on form again

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for music streaming; not surround sound

SRSZR5 05/01/2017 by nicneo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a pair to setup surround sound with Sony htnt5 sound bar. The srszr5 work great when streaming music individually or paired as group; not so great when used for surround sound. Could be improved with software update to allow user control or management.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Perfect for Echo Dot, and anything else...

SRS-ZR5 02/01/2017 by butterbeanmash (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony SRS-ZR5 as a standalone bluetooth speaker to use with my Echo Dot. I wanted a speaker that would sound better than the Echo but, since I already own a Bose Soundlink Mini, portability was not something I needed. I looked at several speakers but none had such a wide range of features and connectivity. The speaker is always on, although if I switch it to 'Network Standby' mode a voice command to the Echo Dot will turn it on and reconnect it. The sound is excellent; It is clear, sharp and warm. Having read several reviews I was not disappointed. I use the speaker to listen to voice and music radio, Amazon Prime Music, and to cast my own music with Google Chromecast - it has replaced an ageing DAB/CD stereo. Set up was clunky with the SongPal app and I actually used the WPS function on the router in the end (the app could not complete set up and I gave up "trying again"). I have had cause to set it up again (router problem, not speaker) and used the NFC function with my Android smartphone, which worked flawlessly. The app is probably the weakest link in the system at the moment. I am delighted with the Sony SRS-ZR5. It fulfills the role for which it was purchased perfectly, and in combination with the Echo Dot has replaced the audio equpment I was using. It has a wealth of connectivity options, sounds fantastic and appears to be fairly future-proof. I intend to purchase another ZR5 in the near future for the stereo pairing capability, and may at that point connect the system to my television also via the HDMI.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great speaker, poor connectivity

SRSZR5 18/12/2016 by DanGSevernaPark (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the sound quality of this speaker much more than the Sonos Play:1 or the comparable Bose SoundTouch. It plays highs much clearer and crisper. The other reason I bought this over Sonos is the more open architecture of the network. However, the bluetooth often drops out for a beat or gets scratchy. I have only been able to get WiFi connection through the app to play music loaded on my phone, which sounds great, but the music will stop playing randomly. I then have to reopen the app, which often freezes, and restart everything. I have not been able to play any streaming services to the speaker through WiFi yet as the Google Cast button often doesn't appear on any of the supposedly supported services, except for Spotify which requires a premium account. Even Google's own 'Play' app doesn't have a Cast button. Luckily there are other ways to connect to this speaker, but it would be great if the WiFi/bluetooth worked as it was supposed to, so that this would be a wireless speaker. The manual and troubleshooting are extremely sparse for a speaker with so many options, and not much more information is available on the Sony site to try to resolve these issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

SRS-ZR5

SRS-ZR5 21/11/2016 by David9148 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the SRS-ZR5 for about 3 weeks now, you need to be a rocket scientist to set this up so it's linked to the compatible soundplate and TV. The instructions that come with it are useless and not much help from the store I'm sure the product will work but it's incredibly difficult to set it up. Unless you are very technically minded I'd steer clear of this.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

5

6

0

Great speakers

SRS-ZR5 11/10/2016 by BC1900 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 to go with XT2 sound base to create surround sound. Easy to set up and great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Didn't work correctly

SRS-ZR5 11/10/2016 by Davr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The hdmi connection to TV did not work so I took the product back and shop who did not have a replacement. So I get my money back.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

5

0

Good Value

SRS-ZR5 07/10/2016 by PDM70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound, especially for its size. Easy to set up and works well as part of a multiroom system

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Expensive but effective

SRS-ZR5 20/09/2016 by Denam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to complete a surround sound system. It would be nice to have additional speakers around the hose but the cost is prohibitive

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1