Skip to Content

Top High-Res Albums

Top 5 Most Popular High-Resolution Audio Albums of 2015 in the U.S. and Europe

The availability of songs in High-Resolution Audio format is on the rise across all genres. But with this huge selection of high quality songs now accessible through music downloading sites or streaming services, sometimes it's hard to narrow down your choices.

Sony reached out to HDtracks, which has one of the biggest collections of downloadable High-Resolution Audio songs in the U.S., and Qobuz, which allows you to stream and download high-resolution songs in Europe, to identify the top music in 2015 high-resolution music libraries.

"New rock, classic rock and classic jazz are our most popular genres. However, these are followed closely by metal, pop rock, pop, and mainstream classical releases," senior vice president of HDtracks Lisa Marks said. "Our typical consumer is an avid mature music fan with wide-ranging tastes who wants the best audio experience."

HDtracks' best seller list ranges from audiophile classics like "Jazz At The Pawnshop" to Daft Punk's "Random Access Memories."

Here are this year's five most popular High-Resolution Audio albums downloaded from HDtracks:

1. "Wallflower"

Artist: Diana Krall

Trading in jazz for pop, Krall teamed up with 16 time Grammy®-winner and pianist David Foster to pull this album off. She revisits pop ballads from her childhood in the 60s and 70s in "Wallflower," even singing with Timothy Schmit of The Eagles to recreate "I Can't Tell You Why."

2. "Aqualung"

Artist: Jethro Tull

Originally released in 1971, this cerebral album was quite different from what most rock fans were listening to at the time. Even though the sound was different, the album ended up being Jethro's best-selling album. This version was released in 2015 and was mixed and remastered by Steven Wilson.

3. "Physical Graffiti"

Artist: Led Zeppelin

This album was originally released in 1975 by English rock band Led Zeppelin. It was released as a double album because the long song lengths stretched the record beyond the length of a typical LP. It has sold over 8 million copies in the United States.

4. "Come Away with Me"

Artist: Norah Jones

Jones' debut album, "Come Away with Me" mixes several different genres including pop, country, blues, and jazz. It won eight Grammy® Awards along with countless other major music honours. It has sold more than 26 million copies worldwide.

5. "Kind of Blue"

Artist: Miles Davis

One of the best-selling Jazz records of all time, this 1959 album has influenced many writers and musicians around the world. Davis focused on modality, which is a contrast from the hard bop style of jazz found in his previous albums. Music critics regard "Kind of Blue" as Miles Davis' great masterpiece.

Below are the other five albums that made HDtrack's Top 10 Albums of 2015:

"Amused to Death" by Roger Walter

"Led Zeppelin IV" by Led Zeppelin

"Hand Cannot Erase" by Steve Wilson

"Before This World" by James Taylor

"Morning Phase" by Beck

Across the pond, Qobuz sold twice the number of albums in High-Resolution Audio this year than it did in 2014. Not only that, but the top albums sold are a diversification of genres.

"Many different genres are present in the charts in 2015," Marketing Manager Malcolm Ouzeri said. "While jazz and classical music were stronger before, now there are more pop and rock albums. Somehow, the High-Resolution market became more accessible."

Here are the five most popular High-Resolution Audio albums downloaded from Qobuz:

1. "Crime of the Century (HD Remaster)"

Artist: Supertramp

As the breakthrough album for the progressive rock band, "Crime of the Century" was the first to feature new band members drummer Bob Siebenberg, woodwinds player John Anthony Helliwell and bassist Dougie Thomson. It was a UK Top 10 album.

2. "Thriller"

Artist: Michael Jackson

A staple in any top hits list, "Thriller" is the best-selling album of all time, with sales of 65 million copies worldwide. Winning eight Grammy® Awards in 1984, "Thriller" still withstands the test of time.

3. "Drones"

Artist: Muse

"Drones" is Muse's seventh album, released in June this year. It marks a return to the simpler guitar-bass-drums rock of the albums released in Muse's earlier years

4. "Tracker (Deluxe)"

Artist: Mark Knopfler

This British singer-songwriter released "Tracker" this year. Although Knopfler is best known for being the lead guitarist and singer for Dire Straits, he went solo to showcase his own unique sound when the band split up in 1995.

5. "Currency of Man (Deluxe Edition)"

Artist: Melody Gardot

Even though this album was released this year, Gardot has been inspired by elements of 70s funk coupled with string instruments and bursts of horns. "Currency of Man" is a testament to her ever-evolving sound with flashes of the unexpected.

Now that you know what your fellow audiophiles in the U.S. and Europe are downloading the most, your new sound-quality experience is just one click away. Plus, with the new ZX2 High-Resolution Walkman®, you can store 128 GB worth of High-Resolution Audio songs. So you can download as many new albums as you wish and bring them with you wherever you go!

(HDtracks is available in the U.S., UK, and Germany. Qobuz is available in France, UK, and Germany)

New Music & Life Articles

Music and life: trends and news for music lovers and audiophiles.

Accéder directement au contenu

Meilleurs albums haute résolution

Les cinq albums audio haute résolution les plus populaires de 2015 aux États-Unis et en Europe

La disponibilité de chansons en format audio haute résolution est en hausse dans tous les genres. Mais puisqu'il est maintenant possible d'accéder à une immense sélection de chansons de grande qualité par l'intermédiaire de sites de téléchargement ou de services de diffusion, il est parfois difficile de choisir ce qui vous convient le mieux.

Sony a fait appel à HDtracks, qui détient l'une des plus grandes collections de musique haute résolution téléchargeable aux États-Unis, et à Qobuz, qui vous permet de diffuser et de télécharger de la musique haute résolution en Europe, pour trouver la meilleure musique parmi les bibliothèques musicales haute résolution de 2015.

« Le nouveau rock tout comme le rock et le jazz classiques sont nos genres les plus populaires. Toutefois, suivent de près le métal, le pop rock, le pop et la musique classique grand public, relate Lisa Marks, vice-présidente directrice de HDtracks. Notre consommateur typique est un amateur de musique mature qui a des goûts très variés et qui veut obtenir la meilleure expérience audio. »

La liste d'albums à succès de HDtracks inclut autant des classiques d'audiophiles comme « Jazz At The Pawnshop » que « Random Access Memories » de Daft Punk.

Voici les cinq albums audio haute résolution les plus téléchargés de l'année sur HDtracks :

1. « Wallflower »

Artiste : Diana Krall

Pour réaliser cet album à la facture plus pop que jazz, Krall a collaboré avec David Foster, pianiste primé 16 fois aux Grammy Awards. « Wallflower » propose une nouvelle lecture des ballades populaires qui ont marqué l'enfance de Krall dans les années 60 et 70. La chanteuse nous offre même un duo avec Timothy Schmit, chanteur des Eagles, pour recréer « I Can’t Tell You Why ».

2. « Aqualung »

Artiste : Jethro Tull

Paru en 1971, cet album cérébral se distingue énormément de la musique rock de l'époque. Malgré la sonorité différente qui le caractérise, ce disque deviendra l'album le plus vendu du groupe. Cette version est sortie en 2015, et elle a été mixée et rematricée par Steven Wilson.

3. « Physical Graffiti »

Artiste : Led Zeppelin

Cet album du groupe anglais Led Zeppelin paru pour la première fois en 1975. Il est sorti en tant qu'album double en raison de la durée trop longue des chansons pour un disque 33 tours. Plus de 8 millions d'exemplaires ont été vendus aux États-Unis.

4. « Come Away With Me »

Artiste : Norah Jones

Premier album de Jones, « Come Away With Me » présente un mélange de genres musicaux passant par le pop, le country, le blues et le jazz. Il reçut huit prix aux Grammy Awards et fut applaudi par de nombreuses critiques de musique. À l'échelle planétaire, 26 millions d'exemplaires ont été vendus.

5. « Kind Of Blue »

Artiste : Miles Davis

L'un des albums de jazz les plus vendus de l'histoire, ce disque paru en 1959 a également influencé un grand nombre de musiciens et de compositeurs partout dans le monde. Sur cet album, Miles focalise sur l'harmonie modale, un contraste avec le style de jazz hard bop que l'artiste avait jusqu'ici présenté sur ces disques précédents. Les critiques de musique considèrent « Kind Of Blue » comme le chef-d'œuvre de Miles Davis.

Voici plus bas les cinq autres titres qui font partie de la liste des 10 meilleurs albums de 2015 de HDtrack :

« Amused to Death » par Roger Walter

« Led Zeppelin IV » de Led Zeppelin

« Hand. Cannot. Erase » de Steve Wilson

« Before This World » de James Taylor

« Morning Phase » de Beck

De l'autre côté de l'Atlantique, Qobuz a vendu le double d'albums audio haute résolution cette année par rapport à 2014. De plus, les meilleurs vendeurs regroupent une diversité de genres.

« On trouve de nombreux genres dans les palmarès en 2015, raconte Malcom Ouzeri, directeur du marketing. La musique jazz et classique étaient plus populaires autrefois; on remarque désormais plus d'albums pop et rock. D'une certaine façon, le marché de la haute résolution est devenu plus accessible. »

Voici les cinq albums audio haute résolution les plus téléchargés sur Qobuz :

1. « Crime of the Century » (rematriçage HD)

Artiste : Supertramp

À titre d'album qui a permis au groupe de rock progressif de connaître un succès commercial, « Crime of the Century » présentait également des nouveaux membres du groupe de l'époque, y compris le batteur Bob Siebenberg, le joueur de bois John Anthony Helliwell et le bassiste Dougie Thomson. Le disque a fait partie des 10 meilleurs albums au R.-U.

2. « Thriller »

Artiste : Michael Jackson

Un incontournable à tout type de palmarès, « Thriller » est l'album le plus vendu de tous les temps, fort de 65 millions d'exemplaires partout dans le monde. Primé huit fois au Grammy Awards de 1984, « Thriller » résiste toujours à l'épreuve du temps.

3. « Drones »

Artiste : Muse

Paru en juin dernier, « Drones » est le septième album de Muse. Il est marqué par un retour au rock épuré à la formule guitare-basse-batterie qui a caractérisé les premiers albums du groupe

4. « Tracker » (de luxe)

Artiste : Mark Knopfler

Cet auteur-compositeur-interprète anglais a sorti « Tracker » en 2015. Même si Knopfler est mieux connu en tant que chanteur et guitariste principal de Dire Straits, il a entrepris une carrière solo en 1995 lorsque le groupe s'est séparé pour mettre en valeur sa sonorité unique.

5. « Currency of Man » (édition de luxe)

Artiste : Melody Gardot

Bien que cet album soit sorti cette année, on y trouve des éléments de la musique funk des années 70, là où Gardot a puisé son inspiration. Elle y a ajouté des instruments à cordes et une touche de cuivres. « Currency of Man » nous réserve quelques surprises et témoigne de la sonorité en constante évolution de Gardot.

Maintenant que vous savez ce que vos collègues audiophiles américains et européens téléchargent le plus, votre nouvelle expérience sonore de qualité n'est plus qu'à un clic. Et grâce au nouveau WalkmanMD ZX2 haute résolution, vous pouvez stocker 128 Go de chansons audio haute résolution. Vous pouvez donc télécharger autant d'albums que vous le souhaitez et les apporter partout où vous allez!

(HDtracks est offert aux É.-U., au R.-U. et en Allemagne. Qobuz est offert en France, au R.-U. et en Allemagne)

Articles Nouveautés musicales

Musique vivante : tendances et nouvelles pour mélomanes et audiophiles.