Skip to Content

Negative Space

Showing what's behind premium audio

Listening to music on premium audio products is a treat. To tempt a wider audience, we have developed a new design language.

Satisfying more listeners with impeccable sound

Casual MP3 or AAC listening is now very common, fuelled by the rise of smartphones and mobile devices, as fewer seek out the fidelity of high-resolution audio. We want more people to hear what they've been missing, in listening experiences that leave CDs behind — especially now that advances in digital audio have turned up the quantity and quality in streaming and distribution. Meanwhile, the fact that wireless listening is more popular shows that people also crave simplicity and convenience. The time was right to take a fresh look at what makes premium audio premium and develop a new design language for today and tomorrow, to convey what sets this listening experience apart.

What do people look for in premium audio design? We asked audio professionals and audiophiles through research and workshops in Tokyo and London. Revisiting audiophile aesthetics reminded us how important it is to reassure listeners about audio excellence, show its technical basis and suggest high resolution through product appearance and materials. Rather than looking slim, light and futuristic, the superior product design we sought would inspire confidence by being solid and substantial.

Compression, condensing and negative space

Considering what makes a premium, high-resolution listening experience possible led us to admire how things look when they are compressed and condensed. Imagine compacting all the elements of an audio product into a single, solid mass — compressing them until the materials are fused together, and what naturally remains is what’s most essential. Inevitably, this process reveals the negative space created as these essential features are preserved. Along these lines, we decided to focus on designing this resulting space, which accentuates what makes premium audio premium.

What’s the ideal negative space to frame each kind of audio product? Three pairs of concepts guided our thinking. The shapes that emerged from this process of compression would be simple and iconic. The audio products would also look reassuringly solid and durable. And fine-grained finishes and textures would recall high-resolution music by looking precise and conveying a sense of high density.

Unconcealed signs of quality that serve as reminders impeccable

Takuma, chief art director

There's a general trend towards minimalist design, but premium audio aspires to different ideals. In design, these products should tell you a little about the features and engineering that support this level of audio performance. Hi-res music preserves detail that is normally lost, producing sound with resolution and substance. We should take the same approach in design. Rather than eliminating one element after another, we should seek shapes reminiscent of inherent quality, presented as elegantly as possible.

Pure high fidelity, condensed

NW-ZX2

Pick up a Walkman® NW-ZX2, and you'll see that we haven't tried to conceal the amplifier block inside. Instead, while the rest of the body seems compressed, you'll notice a slight protrusion on the back where the amp is. It's a distinctive shape and a reminder of what it takes to produce superior sound. Buttons are inset, with the negative space formed here making it clear by touch alone where the buttons are. Other signs of design supporting audio performance are the curved sides of the aluminium frame, which impart greater rigidity. The shot-blasted finish may remind you of high resolution. And when you set the player down, you'll see how the cradle holds it high enough to easily insert larger, high-quality plugs, thanks to the carefully designed space left there.

Interfaces neatly enclosed

PHA-3

Unlike previous headphone amp design, with the interface and control guards seemingly added as an external feature, the PHA-3 incorporates all needed components in a solid, efficient body that shows traces of these essential aspects. In condensing these features, we integrated the guards into the body, which also defines a space for the dial and headphone jacks. Screws are carefully concealed, which makes the sleek body even more coherent. Constructed of milled aluminium, and enhanced by blasting. At a touch, you'll also feel the quality of the finely ridged volume dial.

Inevitable answers in pursuit of what's essential

Yashiro, designer

It's important that the shapes premium audio products take reflect their higher standards in sound quality. For us, the space left after preserving features that determine audio quality and the listening experience represents negative space. That's how the outside took shape, as we looked inward, and it's all linked to the exceptional purity of sound and the listening experience.

Get grooving,
with dual drivers

XBA-Z5

XBA-Z5 in-ear headphones introduce dual-balanced armature units for clearer mids and highs, paired with a large dynamic driver. Here, negative space in design takes the form of a groove between them, which we ventured to leave untouched in the process of bringing features together into a single, solid mass. Visually, it hints that the earbuds house two units that are essential to their superb audio performance. The housing itself is constructed of highly rigid magnesium, with a fine-grained texture recalling high resolution.

Housings that reflect high performance

MDR-Z7

Generous 70 mm drivers in MDR-Z7 headphones create a plane wave effect, for more natural-sounding music. They're also tilted towards the ear, enabling more uniform distribution over a broad frequency range. The shape of these essential, high-performance drivers is echoed in the housing, a detail that we retained in our process of condensing the housing as much as possible without compromising performance. Here, too, the fine finish suggests their fine audio quality. Housings are held by arms of aluminium, ensuring strength while enabling slimness.

Visual cues distinguish key features

Kurihara, designer

Although we took the approach of condensing, compressing and preserving in design, some product features are more important than others. What we should emphasize—features affecting audio quality, appearance, usability and so on—varies by product. By designing the negative space of open areas, we can make it clear what's most vital and worthy of note.

Woofer-centred design,
looks how it sounds

MHC-V7D/SHAKE-X7D

Negative Space aesthetics also inspire the design of exciting non hi-res home audio systems that are the life of the party, such as MHC-V7D / SHAKE-X7D systems. Here, we focused on the woofer, which symbolizes massive sound. By varying the space between it and the surrounding mids and tweeters—grooves that emerged as we compressed each speaker into a more solid arrangement—we gave the system greater impact and emphasized certain features in particular.

From the side, the system forms an elegant silhouette, with smooth surfaces. A hint of tension in these surfaces makes it seem as if there's powerful sound pressure concentrated inside. Parallel surfaces are also minimized, which improves acoustics. On the top, controls lie flush, reflecting the same condensing in design, and making it easier to avoid contact when moving the system.

Design that stands for enduring reliability

Morimoto, designer

Professionals and fans of premium audio want products they can rely on for years. That's a good reason for the engineering behind this superior performance to be clear from product design. Nothing matters more to us than seeing these products sought out by people serious about music.

Sony Design
Pure Geometry

A symphony of audio-visual and interior elements. Discover inside stories on design inspiration.

Accéder directement au contenu

Negative Space

Coulisses de la qualité audio

L'écoute de la musique sur un appareil haut de gamme est un pur délice. Pour rejoindre un public plus vaste, nous avons mis au point un nouveau langage de conception.

Donne satisfaction à plus d'audiophiles

L'écoute quotidienne de fichiers MP3 ou AAC est désormais répandue, notamment à cause de la popularité des téléphones intelligents et des appareils mobiles. Ainsi, de moins en moins de personnes recherchent la haute qualité audio. Nous souhaitons cependant que les personnes réalisent ce qu'elles manquent et offrir une expérience d'écoute qui dépasse largement la qualité CD. Cela est d'autant plus accessible depuis que les avancées technologiques de l'audio numérique permettent une diffusion de qualité d'une grande quantité de données. De nos jours, l'écoute sans fil est de plus en plus courante, et les gens exigent la simplicité et la convivialité. Il est maintenant temps de regarder d'un nouvel œil l'audio haut de gamme et de mettre au point un nouveau langage de conception adapté à aujourd'hui et à demain afin d'interpréter ce qui distingue une telle expérience d'écoute.

Qu'est-ce que les gens recherchent dans une conception haut de gamme? Nous avons posé la question à des professionnels de l'audio et à des audiophiles au moyen d'études et d'ateliers menés à Tokyo et à Londres. Nous avons révisé l'esthétique audio et nous avons réalisé à quel point il est important de convaincre l'utilisateur de l'excellence de l'audio. Il est ainsi nécessaire de présenter les bases techniques et de suggérer une haute résolution grâce à l'apparence et au choix des matériaux.

Compression, réduction et espace négatif

En méditant sur ce qui rend possible une expérience d'écoute haute résolution, nous sommes devenus admiratifs devant l'effet créé par la compression des choses. Imaginez le fait de compacter en une seule masse solide tous les éléments d'un produit audio, de les comprimer jusqu'à ce que les matériaux en soient fusionnés et qu'il ne reste plus que l'essentiel. Inévitablement, ce processus révèle l'espace négatif, créé par la préservation des caractéristiques essentielles. En ce sens, nous avons décidé de focaliser sur la conception de cet espace, ce qui fait ressortir l'aspect haut de gamme de nos produits audio de grande qualité.

Quel est l'espace négatif idéal pour donner forme à tout type de produit audio? Trois concepts ont guidé notre pensée. Les formes émergeant de ce processus de compression devaient être simples et emblématiques. Les produits audio devaient également conférer une apparence rassurante de solidité et de durabilité. Finalement, l'aspect précis et dense des textures et des finis à grain fin devait évoquer la musique haute résolution.

Des signes manifestes de la qualité

Takuma, directeur artistique principal

Une tendance générale se dessine en matière de conception minimaliste. Toutefois, l'audio haut de gamme incarne des idéaux différents. C'est pourquoi l'apparence de ces produits se doit d'évoquer les fonctionnalités et les technologies de la haute performance. Par exemple, la musique à haute résolution préserve les détails normalement éliminés et produit un son profond. C'est ce qui doit transparaître dans la conception. Ainsi, plutôt que d'éliminer différents éléments, nous avons choisi de profiler la forme en fonction des constituants et de marquer la qualité d'une façon aussi élégante que possible.

Un pur son haute fidélité concentré

NW-ZX2

Examinez un WalkmanMD NW-ZX2 et vous remarquerez que nous n'avons pas essayé de dissimuler l'amplificateur. Bien que le reste du boîtier semble réduit, vous constaterez qu'il y a une petite partie en saillie à l'arrière, là où se trouve l'amplificateur. Il s'agit d'une forme distinctive et un rappel de ce qui est nécessaire d'avoir pour un son supérieur. Les boutons sont incrustés dans l'espace négatif ainsi formé et offrent un accès facile. Les autres signes d'une conception mettant à l'avant-plan une performance audio de qualité sont les pourtours courbés du cadre en aluminium offrant une meilleure rigidité. Le fini obtenu par la technique de grenaillage évoque également la haute résolution. Enfin, lorsque vous installerez l'appareil sur sa station d'accueil, vous aurez l'occasion de noter que celui-ci permet d'insérer des connecteurs de haute qualité volumineux.

Les interfaces sont bien intégrées

PHA-3

Contrairement à la conception des amplificateurs d'écouteurs précédente, avec l'interface et les commandes ajoutées de façon apparente comme des fonctionnalités externes, le PHA-3 intègre les composants nécessaires dans un tout uniformisé et efficace avec les traces des caractéristiques essentielles. En combinant les fonctionnalités, nous avons intégré l'espace de protection à même le boîtier, ce qui définit un espace pour les commandes et les prises pour écouteurs. Les vis ont soigneusement été dissimulées et donnent encore plus d'uniformité au boîtier. Celui-ci est fait d'aluminium fraisé et sablé. Au toucher, vous pouvez sentir la qualité du bouton de volume légèrement texturé.

Des réponses nécessaires dans la poursuite de l'essentiel

Yashiro, concepteur

Il est important que les formes des produits haut de gamme évoquent les standards de la qualité sonore de haute qualité. De notre point de vue, l'espace restant après avoir conservé les fonctionnalités nécessaires à la qualité sonore et à l'expérience d'écoute représente l'espace négatif. C'est la façon dont l'extérieur prend forme, en fonction des composants internes. Le tout est également associé à une pureté sonore exceptionnelle.

Sentir les ondes
du moteur

XBA-Z5

Les écouteurs intra-auriculaires XBA-Z5 présentent une armature équilibrée double offrant des moyennes et des hautes fréquences plus claires. Le tout est combiné à un diaphragme dynamique de grande taille. Dans ce cas, l'espace négatif se remarque par la rainure des écouteurs, que nous avons choisi de laisser telle quelle dans le procédé d'agencement des composants au sein de l'unité. Visuellement, la rainure évoque les deux unités des écouteurs, essentielles à leur excellente performance audio. En outre, le boîtier est fait de magnésium rigide présentant une texture granuleuse associée à la haute résolution.

Un boîtier de haute performance

MDR-Z7

Les très grands diaphragmes de 70 mm des écouteurs MDR-Z7 produisent un effet d'ondes planes et un son musical naturel. Ceux-ci sont inclinés en fonction de l'oreille afin de mieux distribuer le son et de créer une vaste plage de fréquences. L'inclinaison est apparente dans le boîtier, détail que nous avons choisi de conserver afin de réduire la taille, sans toutefois compromettre la qualité des écouteurs. Ici aussi, le choix de la finition suggère une audio de haute qualité, où les bras en aluminium soutiennent les écouteurs et assurent force et finesse.

Indices visuels présentant les fonctionnalités clés

Kurihara, concepteur

Nous prenons soin de condenser, de réduire et de produire une conception attrayante. Toutefois, certaines fonctionnalités de nos produits sont plus importantes que d'autres. Nous souhaitons mettre l'accent sur le fait que ces fonctionnalités ont une incidence sur la qualité audio, l'apparence, l'ergonomie, etc. des différents produits. En misant sur la conception à partir des espaces négatifs, nous rendons manifeste ce qui est le plus important et ce qui mérite d'être remarqué.

Conception avec haut-parleur de graves centré

MHC-V7D / SHAKE-X7D

L'esthétisme Negative Space a également inspiré la conception des systèmes audio à haute résolution pour la maison afin de donner vie aux fêtes, comme c'est le cas des systèmes MHC-V7D / SHAKE-X7D. Dans ces systèmes, nous avons mis l'accent sur le haut-parleur de graves, qui symbolise un son massif. En variant l'espace entre celui-ci et les autres haut-parleurs, un espacement s'est profité lors de l'agencement des différents composants dans un tout. Cela donne au système un meilleur impact et accentue certaines caractéristiques importantes.

Vu de côté, le système présente une silhouette élégante et une surface lisse. De plus, la surface offre une impression de légère tension, ce qui suggère la pression d'un son puissant concentré à l'intérieur. Les surfaces parallèles sont également réduites afin d'améliorer l'acoustique. Enfin, les commandes sont parfaitement incrustées et témoignent de la même conception épurée, qui évite par la même occasion les contacts involontaires lors du déplacement du système.

Une conception qui témoigne de la fiabilité

Morimoto, concepteur

Les professionnels et les adeptes de l'audio à haute résolution veulent des produits sur lesquels ils peuvent compter pour les années à venir. C'est pourquoi les concepteurs de produits à performance supérieure ont choisi de donner de l'importance à la qualité. Rien n'est plus important pour nous que voir que nos produits sont prisés par les personnes ayant à cœur la musique.

Sony Design,
Pure Geometry

Une symphonie d'audio-vidéo et d'éléments intérieurs. Découvrez des anecdotes sur l'inspiration qui mène à la conception.