17

4.3 based on 17 customer reviews

9
5
2
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Everything I expected - and more

HAP-S1 08/10/2014 by flakjacket (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HAPS-1 has released my ATRAC lossless files from their SonicStage prison on my pc and reinvigorated them with sparkling resolution and detail. This was just what I wanted and I get to control the beast from my tablet. It's well worth the cost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Decent Player

HAPS1/B 28/03/2015 by SonyFan3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unit plays well and sounds good. Easy to store songs, albeit a little slow. Drawbacks are that you cannot delete a song from a playlist without deleting the song entirely and unable to view songs within a playlist. Has no HD playback outputs. Also would be useful to have it's IR codes so it could be controlled by a master remote.

24

14

17 Customer Reviews

0

Great Value

HAPS1B 26/05/2018 by ScottNC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Music Servo, I'm using it with a Woo WA6 headphone amp and Sennheiser HD660s phones, very pleased so far, a lot of great features and he included amp is a real plus.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

HAP-S1 Horizontal Line

HAPS1/B 29/04/2018 by PMC3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely happy with the device. But it has developed horizontal line. https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/news-item.pl?news_id=501&mdl=HAPS1 Having hard time getting it repaired. Lost receipt.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This thing is wonderful

HAPS1/B 06/01/2018 by Birdman22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a large and ever growing CD music collection. I had two Sony CD carousels, one was a 300 CD unit, the other a 400 CD. After many years of use the 300 CD unit began to fail and the CD's sounded terrible. Knowing I eventually had to change from CD's, I started several years ago to load all my music onto I-Tunes. It remains an on going process. I searched for a new product that would both store all my music and play them back. Bought the HAP-S1 unit and it has delighted me from opening the box. I took it out plugged it into my router with the supplied Ethernet cable and the HAP-S1 unit took over. It reached into my I-Tune library and began to download all my music. About 12 hours later all my music was on the HAP-S1. After disconnecting my old 300 CD player I found several older CD's that I were not on I-Tunes. I loaded them on and they were automatically loaded onto the HAP-S1. Very nice. The sound from the unit blows away my old CD units. I plug the output into my 7 channel Yamaha surround sound HD amp and I am enjoying my music like never before. This HAP-S1 is great. This is a great player for someone or a commercial establishment that has and plays large music collections. Buy one, you'll love it. I could continue on but I think you get the idea. Bye now, enjoy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great piece of kit

HAP-S1 04/01/2018 by rogeregon (Canada)

I had not heard of this device when I saw it on sale an unusual occurrence by the look of things. After reading about it online I knew it was for me. I have been very generously given a huge properly tagged flac file collection made from jazz vinyl LPS and this is the perfect place for storing and playing that collection. Plus I now am working through my CD collection and burning them to flac using the HAP S1. It took me only one evening to get it running, networked, the software on my laptop and the remote app on my phablet and everything worked right away. The amp sounds gorgeous through good speakers. I bypass burning the CDs to my laptop first using a cheap simple external CD drive with a commonly available double USB power supply cable connected to the HAP S1 so that I can supply additional USB power from a USB power bank. I keep this on charge so the power bank acts as a filter between the 2 USB supplies. Its taking a while to get my collection into the unit but I am using the verification and retry option on the unit which is slower. The Gracenote app in the unit accesses the CD information with ease. I love this piece of kit ! I am a high fi vinyl fan and have moved away from digital recordings but this unt has happily returned me to my CD collection. The wide capacity of formats, the ease of the on screen menus and the overall software design of the unit is great. The unit is so solid and well built from the heavy nicely stiff volume knob to the larger diameter gold plated speaker terminals, its a joy to use. Thank you Sony my faith in you is restored !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent product!

HAP-S1 26/12/2017 by Juanjito (USA)

I bought the HAP-S1 about 10 months ago and I have been entirely happy with it. I have paired it with the SS-HW1 Sony speakers and the sound quality is very good. I can't say if the sound is perfect or extraordinary because I do not know what the sound would be like with a much more expensive (and better of course) pair of speakers. As is of course it is a great hi-fi system,built quality, sound, design and features are all great and is really worth every single penny.! After 10 months of usage I am still excited to use it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perhaps the most under rated product ever made!

HAP-S1 23/07/2017 by SteveELees (USA)

Too many people see this product as being small, and therefore do not expect or accept that it's performance far out weighs it's small footprint. But, most importantly, if you are looking for a device to stream music from elsewhere, move on, this is not for you. So, lets get straight to the point, this device is a very high quality music playback system, with excellent DACs and an excellent amplification system that is not only dual mono in design, it utilises a different type of transistor that the designers brought back to life from the 1980s because of it's sound quality, so this is not a product thrown together from off the shelf parts, it is a very thoughtfully designed and executed product! The integration with the mobile app for playback works flawlessly and thankfully Sony have kept the app updated as well as the systems main software. I would go so far as to say there is nothing else on the market like the HAP-S1 that has this level of thoughtfulness and sound quality, period. Is it cheap? No, but in this case you truly get what you pay for, which is a very high quality music playback system built like a tank and on a rather small footprint, buy it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Best ever investment for a dedicated Music setup

HAP-S1 11/06/2017 by jatin0211 (Canada)

I pair this player up with Sony's SS-HA1 speakers and added an inline passive 40 year old PSB sub in the setup. The resulting audio quality is just jaw dropping. I have never been so much in love with music before. Almost every single old and new track I play just feels like rediscovering a ton of details for the first time. All my friend/family who come by and experience this keep on asking me to get them the same setup. Anyway, there are enough people who covered the technical side so I am going to keep this short and to the point. Money well spent. Worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product but a few caveats

HAP-S1 14/05/2017 by db205 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought to replace defunct digital anaologue converter which I used for separate CD & DAB players and for connecting a PC to an existing amplifier. Unfortunately I cannot use the Sony as a pass through DAC with external sources if not using as an amplifier. This is a serious omission as I would suspect most people would be purchasing the Sony to fit in with existing kit. So in my case my it hasn't fullfilled all my requirements as I still need a separate DAC. However I like the idea of being able to store FLAC files to player and this has greatly improved access and selection of my music collection, especially using the app on a pad. Surprisingly I am using the Sense-Me feature more frequently and do enjoy it's results. So, overall it's a great product and is a joy to use but I feel limits it's appeal to those wanting to replace a system rather than add to an existing one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Hugely exceeds expectations

HAP-S1 17/04/2016 by broombank (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After three weeks use I have nothing but praise for this amazing machine. The extraordinary sound quality does not only result from high resolution files but also from the top notch amplification which the machine provides. Operationally if it is simplicity itself. The controls are very straightforward and the phone app works brilliantly. I have already recommended the product to other friends.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Excellent Quality

HAP-S1 10/03/2016 by Andson1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is one of the best I have ever bought. Brilliant quality, internet radio very good too. Could benefit from Bluetooth/network connection to play, but otherwise faultless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Flawed Perfection

HAP-S1 26/06/2015 by Paul102 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I do really like what Sony have produced with this HDD player, however certain aspects have left me very frustrated. The file transfer software is very basic and failed a number of times. I 'phoned the helpdesk in the end who were helpful. I had over 4,000 tracks to transfer and left it running overnight, so don't expect anything too quick. It then took a good part of the following day to get the album art etc. Had to turn off and restart on a number of occassions for it too eventually work through the admittedly large number of tracks. Finally, it seemed to have done a very strange thing - the Number 1 track appeared to be missing from a great many of the albums. I eventually twigged to what had happened when I saw there were over 400 tracks the Unknown Artist subdirectory. I am now labouriously working through trying to get them back to where they belong - whether this is a weakness of Gracenote, how they were stored on my computer or the HAP-S1 who knows? But the sound is good, the interface also. The 'phone app seems to work very well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

2

0

Great music but no storage

HAPS1/S 28/04/2015 by 2Setters (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the unit so I could download & listen to hi-rez music - the system works great in that regard but it will not accept an external hard drive through the USB port as advertised. On-line product manual lacks a troubleshooting section. So instead of 3.5 tb of storage I'm stuck with the unit's internal hard drive - highly disappointed & frustrated. No hotline from Sony to help so what's one to do?

33

71

0

Decent Player

HAPS1/B 28/03/2015 by SonyFan3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unit plays well and sounds good. Easy to store songs, albeit a little slow. Drawbacks are that you cannot delete a song from a playlist without deleting the song entirely and unable to view songs within a playlist. Has no HD playback outputs. Also would be useful to have it's IR codes so it could be controlled by a master remote.

24

14

0

Excellent sound but short on features

HAP-S1 25/11/2014 by JohnEG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a fine music player but it is also a missed opportunity. No Bluetooth or Airplay is a glaring omission. The file management software is also pretty poor as you're never quite sure what is about to be transferred and there's no means of formatting or defragging the internal hard disc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

4

0

Great sound and built but control app let it down

HAP-S1 09/10/2014 by JJK84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this system as a replacement for my Hi-End hybrid tube amplifier, cd player and record player as I wanted something compact and easy to transport if I decided to move in the future ... I basically wanted to rip all my CD's and free space at home too.. To be honest I wasn't expecting much, but I was positively surprised! The system takes a while to break in - it sounds terrible out of the box so give it some time - I left it for a couple of days playing heavy sounding music, and it sounds great now. Sound is on the cold side as you would expect from Japanese audio brand but it is clinically precise - so acoustic, jazz and orchestral music sounds divine on it. Bit worse with busy pop and rock - I guess you can compensate this by choosing right speaker cables and speakers itself. I use KEF Q1's and XLO cables which are all known for cold sound.. Connections let you expand and send the Hi-Res audio to another amplifier if you choose so. There is few inputs so you can connect the TV, CD player or whatever you want. Shame about lack of Spotify Connect or Bluetooth, but I resolved it with additional PURE Jongo adapter. The only and major drawback is the control app which just doesn't seem to work on Apple devices. I am lucky to have a spare Sony Xperia phone which acts as a remote otherwise I would be stuck with constantly freezing app. So Sony engineers, PLEASE! fix the apple issue, otherwise it would be an excellent product ! J

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

5

0

Everything I expected - and more

HAP-S1 08/10/2014 by flakjacket (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HAPS-1 has released my ATRAC lossless files from their SonicStage prison on my pc and reinvigorated them with sparkling resolution and detail. This was just what I wanted and I get to control the beast from my tablet. It's well worth the cost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Great sound

HAP-S1 04/06/2014 by Not so old boy (United Kingdom)

I bought this Sony to store all my music , selling or giving most of my CDs. Sound quality is great paired with a pair of Boston a26 speakers. The down side There are not many hi-def down loads avalible in the UK Both the control app (android) and the transfer software (windows) need a lot of work on them. The transfer software fails to update automatically and I have start the transfer in the manual mode and control app often fails to find the Hap-s1 Get the software sorted and you would have a top class product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

14

17