111

4.2 based on 111 customer reviews

63
25
10
5
8
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing Sound

STRDH770 14/10/2016 by mkschrag93 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband got this as a replacement for one we bought on a few years ago. We both immediately noticed how much better the music sounded! The only thing that I do not like is how long it takes to scan through the radio stations. Not a big deal, just a pain.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nothing spectacular about this unit

STRDH770 16/12/2017 by cheechNchong (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An average receiver. 4 HDMI inputs and 7.2 sound which is nice. What don't I like? 1. Can only get audio from the same source as video. Ie: I can't display my PS4 on my projector AND play music from my phone via bluetooth and hear it via the receiver. Annoying. I might have to go back to my old receiver because of this alone. 2. No switched power outlet on the receiver. 3. I've had issues where my PS4, (yes, a Sony product) wouldn't sync up with the receiver and I'd have to switch the input to something else, then back to the PS4 input. 4. There are times when the on-screen display for the input (or the volume) gets "stuck" on the screen. Other than that, it wasn't bad for the price, but these items are annoying me to the point where I'm about put this thing up for sale.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

111 Customer Reviews

0

was great now terrible

STR-DH770 17/06/2018 by douglasformerjayhawk (USA)

bought this in feb 2017 worked great for quite awhile. in the last few months it started to randomly shut off. two days ago it shut off completely and no sound will come out of it at all. display on front completely blank. back to using sound from tv only

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Such a disappointment. Want a better receiver.

STR-DH770 11/06/2018 by Immortalis (USA)

It refuses to ‘remember’ any setting I use, it will randomly have the sound cut out, or just not work correctly at all when I start it up. I had a sony receiver a few years ago and it was fantastic. This, unfortunately, is a complete waste of money. Stay far away.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent

STR-DH770 01/06/2018 by Gpereira1 (USA)

I bought this receiver 2 months ago and I couldn’t be happier with it. Great sound quality, easy to setup, Bluetooth connects almost instantly, looks amazing and sounds amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product love it!

STRDH770 25/05/2018 by Richie66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got that s for Christmas 2017 and love it. It really makes my klipsch home theater system sound awesome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Protector Alert

STR-DH770 21/05/2018 by Goose7777 (USA)

It had been 30 years since I owned a Sony receiver for the fact that the last one I had was littered with problems. My recent purchases of Sony's excellent PS4 and Television changed my mind towards Sony electronics, so I purchased this receiver to upgrade from my Harman Kardon. At first I was very pleased with this receiver! It has great sound and really pushed my Polks nicely. I didn't care about internet access. I wanted a receiver that sounded great at a great price. The other day I turned it on and got a protector alert. I looked it up on the internet and went through the necessary steps and the receiver worked again. Unfortunately, it did not last long, and I got the protector alert again. I went through the steps again and it is still broken. I have new speaker wires, have never set anything on it to prevent overheating and I even turned it on with nothing hooked up, cleared it back to factory default and it still doesn't work. This is not uncommon for Sony receivers as I saw when I googled the problem. A warning sign I did not know about would be that the receiver would turn on all by itself at times. It is a shame because everything about this product is excellent, it just doesn't work. I am glad I didn't get rid of my 20 year old Harman Kardon. All it took was a 10 ones for a cable extension to make it work with my TV and it works and sounds great! It is amazing to me that after 30 years that Sony still can't get their receivers right.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Initially Great, now having issues

STRDH770 17/05/2018 by caperry_oh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this back 6 months ago, and it worked like a charm for all of my inputs. I even added a nice Klipsch 12" sub. However now that my kid is playing a lot of Fortnite, the receiver randomly turns off while playing. I have checked the heat in the location where I keep the receiver and it is not overheating. I have also check some fo the speaker wire to see if they were shorting the receiver into protect mode. Now my son just uses all sound through his headphones but it still randomly turns off. Not happy with the current operation of the unit, very close to returning.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Read carefully about iPod capability

STRDH770 05/05/2018 by DjE1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am overall happy with this product. However, it is a little misleading that all of the literature says that it's "made for iPod." It is not, you cannot hook the iPod directly into the USB port on the front. I didn't realize this until I had the receiver hooked up, and the screen said "no support." Sony needs to change its language on this product, so people know that the USB port is not for iPods.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Mildly disappointed

STRDH770 03/05/2018 by Gdogsnipes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is 2 months old and the Bluetooth no longer works. Trouble shooting was fruitless. Tried several devices for connectivity with no luck, isolated the unit from other signal interferance, still no luck. All other functionality has been working fine and an overall sound product but i am now questioning that. I hope i don't have to wait for a month or more to get the unit back from service. We'll see

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

new reciever

STRDH770 01/05/2018 by kenwood64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had a sony receiver for my home theater system for the last 20 years and love the features and great sound that they and this new one that i got produce.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No FM reception in fringe area

STR-DH770 29/04/2018 by trainguy (USA)

Can someone recommend a method to connect the JST-PH 2.0 FM aerial to an f connector? Then I could rate the product higher in value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

New sony!

STRDH770 22/04/2018 by bushybush (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Should have bought this long time ago! It have an great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not to bad receiver for the price

STRDH770 17/04/2018 by Search1110 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it as I already got my Sony TV 65" X850. I also have got speakers Bose 5.1. In the beginning I noticed that after a few minutes some sudden loud noises appears and then the sound disappeared. I had to turn off the device , wait for several minutes and then turn it on hearing the sound again. Very sad , now I am thinking to return it back unless I find what it really happens to solve the issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great features and ease of use

STRDH770 09/04/2018 by Patrick 111 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great tuner for the price! Ease of use, plenty of features and sound quality are very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bluetooth function not coming up on display

STR-DH770 09/04/2018 by Way2 (USA)

I bought this STR-DH770 sony receiver last year summer and have not been able to connect my bluetooth devices

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

0

0

0

Home theater

STRDH770 07/04/2018 by LBDon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 18 year old amplifier quit and after some research, decided on this unit for features and price. All my devices feed through this unit and that feTure is good. When I turn off the tv, the amplifier also turns off automatically. That is a nice re is a microphone for automatically setting the six speakers which worked fairly well. I have had to manually adjust the center speaker but it works well. I really like this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I hate this receiver.

STR-DH770 06/04/2018 by RyanL85 (USA)

I bought this around Christmas time last year and am very disappointed. There is no dedicated bass or treble adjustment so i cant control the levels with my remote and have to manually adjust my subwoofer constantly. The unit itself if also oversized and is an eyesore on my entertainment center.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Excellent value

STRDH770 06/04/2018 by Pappy AC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this product about a month ago along with a new TV. Couldn't be happier. Am still tinkering around with setting up a 3-3 surround sound, but the manual is fairly clear on how to do it. Its because my speaker system is a 6 channel set-up with a un-powered woofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Only if you're on a budget.

STR-DH770 05/04/2018 by WhatHappenedSony (USA)

This receiver is ok if you're in need of a 4k receiver and on a budget and are willing to roll the dice. The sounds is good and the menus are easy to navigate. The enhanced HDMI setting is a little bit of a pain to get to in order for 4k support. The issues I have with the unit are that the black banner showing the current input across the bottom of the T.V. screen will often get stuck. same goes for volume indication. This is ok to deal with as it can be fixed by changing the input to something else then coming back or changing the volume again. However still pretty annoying from a brand new Sony product. Also, I find that if a video device (like xbox/apple tv) is turned on before the receiver, it will only show a black screen. Sometimes you have a black screen. The issue can only fix it by power cycling the receiver. This is unacceptable and renders the device unusable to me. Getting back behind the entertainment center to un-plug and re-plug the unit is ridiculous. I am going to contact Sony for solutions/return. I understand not everyone will have the same issues I have. This could be an isolated problem. This is just a warning as to what I have seen. good luck.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Easy to use

STRDH770 05/04/2018 by GW Jones (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with Receiver. Extremely easy set with Sony Products. Contrary to the one & two stars reviews, almost sets itself up by it's self. I agree 200% with Sony's bad reviews opinions, a triple *(Red F) manual. Come on Sony, it should be printed at least half what the Startup guide is. (*)extremely bad grade in school)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good features

STRDH770 04/04/2018 by Bob the man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and it has been easy enough to figure out how to make its features work.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great!

STRDH770 25/03/2018 by Electech (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great piece of equipment for a great price! Easy to use!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture and sound

STRDH770 23/03/2018 by Chugs (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product today and I am very pleased with the ease of setup, and the performance of the receiver.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future-proof budget AV Receiver

STRDH770 14/03/2018 by Ron_D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 10 year old Sony Receiver needed to be replaced to accommodate the digital format for 4k. This receiver allows me to use HDMI connections instead of the old analog component cables. This is a budget unit that will accommodate 5.1 and 7.2 speaker systems but not the very expensive Atmos system which has limited availability. I did not like the documentation that was provided.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Decent receiver - Good price

STRDH770 11/03/2018 by Tama drummer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is very decent for a price. Warranty is very good 2 years. Has HDMI inputs, sound Bluetooth ready. Built in sounds are OK although receiver lacks of manual settings for EQ and lack of speakers setting for High, Treble, Bass. Amps are very powerful to run surround system of your choice or just to run plain big speakers. For now this product meet all expectations. Will see how reliable it is

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

STRDH770 05/03/2018 by Rick01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased another Sony AV Receiver because these units work and last - in my case, my previous receiver lasted 17 years before it failed! It lost output sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice look

STR-DH770 04/03/2018 by mlee16 (USA)

I have this product for less than a week.Somewhat difficult setting up. I've had to go on-line to find the complete set-up process. Nice sound but I can't figure how to install my passive sub-woofer to the system (wish I had known that before I bought it). I'm buying a Sony active sub to see if that helps. I'll post the results when the sub arrives and I've tested it out.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent Quality!

STRDH770 25/02/2018 by BrotherHawkJim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super 4K video. Very easy to set up. Super small gripe...Why not have the HDMI inputs marked as HDMI 1, HDMI 2, etc. Having them preset to names that cannot be changed drops the ball a bit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound for a great price

STRDH770 12/02/2018 by JT3k (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned Sony receivers before and expected good quality. This model is no exception. It puts out plenty of power and clear sound that fills the house. I used the auto calibration but still had to make a couple minor adjustments. I love the Bluetooth feature- I can use my phone and play music from any app. I’m very pleased so far with this receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features And Sound Qualities

STRDH770 06/02/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS IS A GREAT 7.2 RECEIVER I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT. 5-STARS

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Repaired Twice

STR-DH770.US 01/02/2018 by Renzoed (USA)

Had to have unit repair twice before it was replaced

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Easy to set up great audio and video.

STRDH770 29/01/2018 by Rudy5150 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned Sony Electronics for over 45 years and have never been disappointed with their quality. This receiver is no exception.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice receiver at a great price.

STRDH770 27/01/2018 by Gman1963 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the receiver to replace another popular brand that didn’t work properly, and which never worked good from the beginning. I have owned many Sony products and purchased this receiver to go with my 65” Sony Bravia TV, which I love. The receiver does the job, it is easy to setup, has great sound with the right speakers, In my case I have several Sony speakers for surround sound effects, including two subwoofers. The receiver has many of the pertinent ports, jacks or connectors, excluding a RJ45 Network Port and Built-in-WiFi. However, the Bluetooth feature is an added value and for my purpose I didn’t need the aforementioned network features. I would highly recommend this product if you are seeking an entry level receiver at a reasonable price for all the features included.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice Sound Quality

STRDH770 24/01/2018 by Foxcntry (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my Onkyo Receiver that quit working. We have been Very Happy with it. High Quality Sound and Easy to Operate.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

unhappy

STRDH770 24/01/2018 by tall dad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the sound, but still unable to get the sub woofer to work. The installation book shows there is only one out put to the woofer. The back of my receiver has two outputs. One for left and one for right. I give a top rating if this woofer would work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Replacement

STRDH770 21/01/2018 by tjs31541 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought it to replace my old receiver & it has been a pleasant surprise.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

STRDH770 14/01/2018 by Silver Bullet (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

12/2017 Out of the box easy connection and set up. Connected to existing surround speakers sounds great. Easy pairing. Went back and bought 2nd unit for outdoor kitchen sound system. Plenty of power for large spaces.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Very Practical Amp

STRDH770 13/01/2018 by wchdoc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got this amp fully set up and running as a 5.0 (7.2 capable - so I may add to my system later). Seems to provide plenty of power with some excellent surround fields to choose from. I especially like the blue tooth feature, so I can re-purpose my old cell phone as a handy hand-held album/play list selector for all my music. The HDMI ARC feature allows me to send sound signals back to the amp from my internet connected TV, so I can get home theater sound from internet content without a whole lot of wire re-routing (and switching) back and forth between TV and receiver. And finally, the HDMI pass through feature allows me to watch TV without having to have the amp on with the whole home theater experience. For the price, this is a great practical amp, but you do loose a few features you would get with a higher priced amp -- AM radio, FM HD (still gets regular FM), wifi -- so if you must have those in your AV receiver, you should be prepared to shell out a few hundred dollars more; otherwise, you find this amp performs quite admirably.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Love my new receiver!

STRDH770 12/01/2018 by flynnstone9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the STRDH770 to replace a Pioneer whose ARC function died after a couple of years. I've had the Sony for about a month, & I couldn't be happier. The Pioneer isn't even close to this amazing Sony in terms of easy set-up, the menus, & a nice, easy to use remote (the remote for my old receiver was a joke, w/rows upon rows of the same friggin buttons). For me the system sounds great, & video passed through the receiver looks great on my Samsung 4K TV. I'm currently using only 5 speakers; I plan to use the Front B connections for outdoor speakers once it warms up outside. And Bluetooth pairing with the SongPal app was a breeze. No complaints at all so far. I'll update this review if I run into any issues. Until then, I highly recommend this receiver -- a great system, especially at this price point.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good so far.

STRDH770 07/01/2018 by crazy4orange68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy set up. My only con is that my Directv remote can not find the code for this receiver to control the volume.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Has features that I need

STRDH770 07/01/2018 by Rickstar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was easy to hook up and has features that will work with any future equipment that I might purchase. My Onkyo after 8 years quit on me and this was an ideal replacement and up grade.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great

STR-DH770 07/01/2018 by Arunkumar (USA)

Mp3 to 7.1 surround sound is good Better sound quality Easy EQ and speakers setup

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value for such good performance

STRDH770 05/01/2018 by Shawn99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy I purchased this product and would recommend it to others.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value, horrible HDMI experience

STR-DH770 02/01/2018  (USA)

The Good: Better than average sound quality, good results after the mic EQ. The Bad: There is a menu that pops up every time the source is changed, AND every time the HDCP protocol resets, i.e. scene changes in movies and video games. The popup does not go away on its own, and you must use the remote's "HOME" button to get the popup to go away. In summary: Avoid this receiver until that horrible popup is removed from the product line.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

So glad I bought this

STRDH770 31/12/2017 by ihatenicknamesx2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been living with great speakers and old poorly working receiver but the thought of rewiring and hooking up a new one was a bit intimidating. But so glad I did. Simple set up great sound,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for the price!

STRDH770 28/12/2017 by Signaleur (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it ,to go with my XBR-55X900E TV Freatures are great, except the lack of a Phono input...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nice unit - difficult to set up

STRDH770 27/12/2017 by Minigo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for X-mas. Nice unit with many up-to-date features. However, instructions are confusing. There are none for how to set-up the radio stations for preset. Although it accepted the 5 surround speakers, is it not compatible with my existing sub-woofer, which does not have the required monaural wire.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Enjoy all the features

STRDH770 23/12/2017 by Sue7467 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoy the Bluetooth features and the slick design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH770 20/12/2017 by Robert Jirak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced my old system and this is so much more advanced! Now it changes automatically when I change from tv, to cable, to music, etc. I love it so far,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nothing spectacular about this unit

STRDH770 16/12/2017 by cheechNchong (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An average receiver. 4 HDMI inputs and 7.2 sound which is nice. What don't I like? 1. Can only get audio from the same source as video. Ie: I can't display my PS4 on my projector AND play music from my phone via bluetooth and hear it via the receiver. Annoying. I might have to go back to my old receiver because of this alone. 2. No switched power outlet on the receiver. 3. I've had issues where my PS4, (yes, a Sony product) wouldn't sync up with the receiver and I'd have to switch the input to something else, then back to the PS4 input. 4. There are times when the on-screen display for the input (or the volume) gets "stuck" on the screen. Other than that, it wasn't bad for the price, but these items are annoying me to the point where I'm about put this thing up for sale.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

Amazing sound, disappointing UI and companion app

STRDH770 15/12/2017 by CreyX (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound this system produces, it has clear, house shaking bass with unmuttled mids and widow shattering clean highs. The Arc and HDMI imputs switch without any need to push extra buttons and the auto calibration makes set up easy. The onscreen menu and companion app, however, both sucks. It is Missing half of the features and settings of the amp menu accessible only through the remote amp menu, and to change those settings, you have to use the little LCD screen on the front of the device.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Great sound for the price I am surprised!

STR-DH770 14/12/2017 by Sfns (USA)

I had Sony str-da4ES wich was excellent unit but after 15 years of hard work it starts giving problem and I got Sony str-da770 yesterday and I love the sound, price is cheap I hope later on will be no problem !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great value

STRDH770 08/12/2017 by OldJim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound with my old Velodyne based sound system. Easy to hook up until the remote wouldn't work (batteries dead on arrival). Excellent documentation on how to configure for various speaker arrangements. 4K from Direct TV is very impressive on the LG TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy setup

STRDH770 08/12/2017 by Surfdoc 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am impressed by the overall design and ease of function.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Keeps turning itself on and off

STRDH770 04/12/2017 by benfris (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the first receiver 11/24/17. After I turn everything off, the receiver turns itself on about every 20 minutes and turns off after less than a minute. I spent hours on the phone with Sony trying everything they could think of to remedy the problem. Nothing worked and they advised me to send it in to be fixed or exchange it at the store. The store is a two hour round trip for me which I made today and after hooking up the new receiver and turning it on to make sure the TV worked, I turned everything off and sure enough, 20 minutes later the receiver turned itself on. Same problem! If they can't get this fixed, it's going to be another two hour drive to buy a different brand of receiver.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Lots of great features for a low price

STR-DH770 29/11/2017 by TimK22 (USA)

I picked up this receiver several months ago to replace an older 5.1 Onkyo receiver that died. The price was great and it has all the features I wanted, and then some. I don't really have high end speakers, but everything sounds great and crystal clear. It was easy to set up and I'm looking forward to using the ARC features with the new 4K TV we just ordered. I definitely recommend this receiver!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product would buy again and tell a friend

STRDH770 26/11/2017 by C2 sweden (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this receiver a mouth ago and i altead told my friends about it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clear Audio, Amazing Power

STRDH770 24/11/2017 by Neanderthal0 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Love this product. It has all the features I was looking for and the best sound quality I have heard in a long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it!

STRDH770 21/11/2017 by MadTenebrism (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the first time since High School, I am now turning it down. Not because it's too loud, but that I don't need to turn it up to get all the details. Sounds occur naturally in a 7.2 surround environment - and I don't think I'll ever go out to the movies again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound, easy setup

STRDH770 20/11/2017 by G Ray (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this receiver a week ago to go with a LG uhh TV. I was surprised at the ease of setup. I almost paid someone else to set it up, but after a few deep breaths I decided to try it myself. Was really surprised at how easily it set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing product

STRDH770 17/11/2017 by xen3p (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on Nov. 8th 2017. I got it hooked up a week later. I am so impressed with the sound, it's amazing. Allready owning Sony products, I am thrilled to have another. I love the fact that it picked up all remotes. I love the energy savings. Auto shut off , if paused to long, but starts right back up with a push of a button, right where you left off. So impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Made a great reciever medicore.

STRDH770 16/11/2017 by Danadane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looking to replace the dead Sony surround sound amp I had, I bought this receiver because of the well rounded balance of features. But setting it up I noticed a strange connection used for hooking up the FM antenna included with this product. The problem is that the antenna is only a string of wire that just only good enough for the closest stations. I was more than happy to buy a better FM antenna to increase the range of the receiver but due to connection, which is totally nonstandard, my choice is take it or leave it. Sony reps can't even give me a name or number for this connector, and they sell no adapters so customers can use another antenna the connects by standard means. Why some engineer thought this was a good idea, I'll never know. But this flaw is a customer disservice, and Sony should move to a 75 ohm connector in future models. It's an ugly flaw in a otherwise fine product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

Very nice receiver

STRDH770 13/11/2017 by mrsteve 6105 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really nice reciever, all the options i was looking for and then some.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT PRICE! GREAT SOUND!

STRDH770 13/11/2017 by luarcajr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THE MANUAL IS HARD TO READ AND and confusing set up! The easy setup did not work! Use the manual way

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Buy

STRDH770 04/11/2017 by Tokenbg1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous receiver had died after almost 8 years and needed a new receiver. This one is so good for the price and value. May not have all the bells and whistles as the beefer versions but has everthing I need for the family room entertainment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything I wanted at a good price

STRDH770 17/10/2017 by Julian62 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just installed it last night. As easy as my previous Sony models, with more features. I use as the center of my entertainment system (TV, cable, phono, DVD).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great receiver for backyard entertaining!

STRDH770 09/10/2017 by CA_Brant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a high powered receiver with Bluetooth connectivity to power the outdoor speakers in my backyard and this receiver really is perfect. It easily syncs to the families smart phones to stream music and the power really drives our speakers well. Plus if we do movie night outside we can use this to have great 2.1 sound outdoors. I would definitely buy this receiver again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Audio cuts out

STR-DH770 04/10/2017 by pepsi24 (USA)

Let me first say, I have always been all about SONY..... but this receiver, the audio cuts in and out constantly on anything that is playing on TV. There are a ton of other reviews of the same thing and people trying all kinds of different thing to fix it. I wrote them today, and this is the response I got: Thank you for contacting Sony Video and Sound Support. Based on the information you provided, we understand that the audio is going out. This might be an inconvenience. Please perform the below troubleshooting steps: Please disconnect the Receiver from power socket and then wait for 60 seconds. Re-connect the device to power socket without any surge or power extension. Note: Try connecting the Receiver to another power outlet (if possible). Please access the below link and follow the instructions to reset the Receiver: REALLY? This might be an inconvenience??? Duh! But, for some reason this does not happen (for a day so far) if you play shows on your DVR. It can last for 5 seconds to a full minute of silence (but the video is playing). I have 2 new HDMI cords that I bought because of this, but that didn't work (another waste of money). I just wonder why this is a KNOWN ISSUE with sony and they have not done anything about it....... just do a search on google and you will find a ton of articles and message boards about this issue. Very very poor instructions also...... it just shows you how to hook it up, nothing about setting.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

Great so far

STRDH770 02/10/2017 by prairieguy (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Will know more when 4k content becomes more accessible. Easy setup, calibration picked up that my subwoofer wasn't putting out any sound. Enough power for my large living room. Bravia Sync worked well with my new Bravia 4k TV. No optical or Toslink cords required (arc to arc) via HDMI cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH770 30/09/2017 by RexC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I test drive Oynko, Pioneer and Kenwood receivers and found that despite many reviews regarding the above receivers, all models of Sony have more punch from the subwoofer and better sound from the speakers. Why pay more and get less when you can buy a Sony and get more bang from the buck.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice look

STRDH770 23/09/2017 by Tpeteaz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased today and have not yet had time to complete the surround sound set-up.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Performance is outstanding.

STRDH770 22/09/2017 by ronald1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a little over a month ago and it has exceeded my expectations!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great receiver

STRDH770 20/09/2017 by ratpak216 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a replacement of a previous Sony receiver that had finally failed after 8 years. The features were similar to the previous model and was easy to setup and configure. I buy Sony for quality and reliability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0