120

4.3 based on 120 customer reviews

76
21
7
11
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing little Atmos av receiver

STR-DH790 06/08/2018 by PhilfromEaling (United Kingdom)

So ... after having Yamaha receivers for years, I thought it was a good idea to get a soundbar after moving to a new house! Yes - there was a wife involved who did not want the wires and mess. Warning! You can never accept the surround sound from a soundbar once you've had a discrete system and after a year and a half I opted to go for a Yamaha 683. Great amp but, after looking at the monster in its box, I realised that most of the receivers do not fit into our John Lewis wooden TV stand. I got rid of my PC World cheap unit which would have accommodated the Yamaha which is large but not unusual. It was either a new TV glass/chrome stand which shows all the wires or a smaller AMP. After a lot of research, I came across this Sony and realised that it did everything I wanted it to do and was the smallest ATMOS RV receiver available in the UK. No multi-room, no Wi-Fi linking to expensive speakers and no Spotify but ... I never really needed this anyway. And wow!! This is a great AMP that performs amazingly well with my 2016 LG TV and passes through HDR, Dolby Vision and Atmos from Netflix, SKY etc. My 3D movies work well and although the on-screen GUI is simple - it works. I am so glad I went back to proper speakers. My wife is happy I'm happy and in reality, the wooden, stylish TV cabinet hides the wires. So far, the setup is 5.1 and I am going to wait to see if ATMOS speakers get cheaper but the system, with cheap Pioneer 5.1 speakers sounds amazing and no dependence on being in a perfect sitting room that doesn't exist. Very happy! (Purchased from Richer Sounds).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Avoid. This is a terrible AVR

STR-DH790 20/11/2020 by Nickname12345 (USA)

Purchased it thinking it did multi zones with the 7.2 nomenclature but it does not. ARC does not work with my XBR900 series tv with certified HDMI cables. Menu on this is like going back in time. Some settings can be done via the on screen display while other settings can only be done while fidgeting with the AVR looking at its calculator like display. PASS on this one. Avoid if possible. For the money you spend on it you can get better equipment from another brand.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

120 Customer Reviews

0

Great Receiver

STRDH790 17/02/2021 by Renzo q (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super user friendly and very reliable receiver and great value for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great receiver

STRDH790 04/02/2021 by Chuck8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used it for about 2 months. Absolutely great receiver! Connection very easy. Calibration took a bit to figure out which setup I was using. Once loaded, no more problems. Power is really good, Bluetooth connection was seamless, and getting the tv to talk to it was easy. Finding all the shortcuts has been fun. It probably does more but I’ve got it set up where I want it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

STRDH790 03/02/2021 by Slipstream (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound with a fairly easy setup. Super value, no need to spend more on a 7.1 setup. Connected via eARC with TV and media unit, works seamlessly. Dolby processing really enhances the sound field. Speaker connections are easy, something my older more expensive receiver made difficult. My only complaint, I'd like a brighter display. Even the brightest setting is dim.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

STRDH790 29/01/2021 by Former Customer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a two zone 4K pass through AVR for a new home theatre system. Replaced a 10 yr old Sony receiver that worked great but didn’t support 4K. The audio in Zone 2 of this new receiver is analog only, can not directly stream digital audio to Zone 2. Can stream music from a separate device via Chromecast or Apple Play. My old receiver did not have this limitation. Would not buy this new receiver again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

True 4k surround

STRDH790 17/01/2021 by TommyB69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up. Hooked up to my Onkyo 5.1 and really sound Awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good value

STRDH790 04/01/2021 by Maz22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice capabilities for your basic 7.2 or 5.1.2 requirements. I like the versatility of the second zone/5.1.2/7.2 terminals. One of the best features is the auto calibration. This is a powerful tool. Loved its compact size compared to others in its class. I purchased two fans to keep it cool. Menu navigation interface leaves a lot to be desired. You have to really read the online manual to understand and work on the more advanced settings. It is not intuitive at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

DISAPPOINTED

STRDH790 30/12/2020 by Sniper17 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this receiver over a year. It switches sources randomly all by itself. it is very aggravating. It has great sound and features........not impressed!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great receiver

STRDH790 24/12/2020 by RIKKA 2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this theater av receiver is a great product and has Dolby Atmos and DTS-hd

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

superb sound quality and balance

STRDH790 20/12/2020 by robl719 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit a little over a month ago to replace an 20 yr. old 5.1 system that was incompatible with my new Blu-Ray player and big screen TV. It has integrated perfectly and has allowed me to reuse my original speakers that have always sounded great. I really like the calibration microphone feature that has provided a near perfect audio balance across the 5 channels I use. I also really like the fact that I can turn on the display and the DVD player and audio amp come up automatically thanks to the e-ARC connection. Works great and sounds excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Feature rich inexpensive 5.1.2 Amp

STR-DH790 15/12/2020 by AndyMal (United Kingdom)

After buying a new 4k (Sony) TV I wanted to update and upgrade my all in one surround sound package, and allow 4k pass through. Given past good experiences with Sony synchronisation between TVs and AV amps, positive reviews and being in stock (given Covid the choice was slightly limited) I bout the STR-DH790. The speakers are connected to Polk TL1600 5.1 speakers and Sony BRAVIA KD43XH81 TV and Tivo V6. I also have Fire TV Stick, Apple TV and Nintendo Wii inputs. Set up was straight forward and although I have played with settings I settled for the auto-set up selection. Sound for movies and music is as impressive a my speakers and ears can cope with, so happy I did not spend any more on the amp. Blutooth connectivity for music is seamless and really easy. Interconnectivity (via HDMI) is good, so rationalises my remote control selection. Th one minor irritant is the menus - there are on screen and LED on the unit, neither are great, but to be fair they work and as you don't use them much after initial set up I can live with those short-comings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SONY RECEIVER

STRDH790 09/12/2020 by BBHELP1951 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

STR DH790 RECEIVER NO OUT PUT BUT A RECEIVER NO TUNER BUT IT WANT ME TO CONNECT EVERY THING TO RECEIVER.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect balance of price and performance

STRDH790 04/12/2020 by TheRad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this unit for it's excellent capability with the Sony television, Sony Blue Ray player, and Sony subwoofer. I was able to leverage speakers from a previous entertainment system that I was updating from (make sure to double-check ohms/max wattage), and the surround sound works perfectly. Video game systems also run through this to great affect, and it's beautiful sound for my 5.1 Dolby setup. (I hope for Dolby 7 someday...)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound! Love it!

STRDH790 04/12/2020 by BowhunterTY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just set this up and tried many sound configurations and settings for all my input devices. I can’t believe what audio I’ve been missing these years. Hopefully it will all hold up for many years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy set up, easy to navigate!

STRDH790 02/12/2020 by s begonias (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Automatically connectected with and set up my tv, dvd and speakers for easy use! The sound and picture quality transfer is excellent. I always buy Sony though because I like knowing I will always receive something of quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good amp but some issues that need to be resolved

STR-DH790 29/11/2020 by Musa1978 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good amp thin fits into most cabinets. But last firmware update was 2018 and DD+ does not work at all in auto format decode and dolby.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Avoid. This is a terrible AVR

STR-DH790 20/11/2020 by Nickname12345 (USA)

Purchased it thinking it did multi zones with the 7.2 nomenclature but it does not. ARC does not work with my XBR900 series tv with certified HDMI cables. Menu on this is like going back in time. Some settings can be done via the on screen display while other settings can only be done while fidgeting with the AVR looking at its calculator like display. PASS on this one. Avoid if possible. For the money you spend on it you can get better equipment from another brand.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Some trouble with directions and getting the feaf

STRDH790 18/11/2020 by Cony DD508 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product directions for setting up the sound seem to be confusing!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very nice value for an amazing unit.

STR-DH790 16/11/2020 by Vaxn8 (USA)

Does everything I need with clean vibrant soundstage, and power to spare. Nice looking also. I actually prefer the silver brushed metal and Walnut systems they had back in the 70s and early 80s but, if you have to make it completely black, then the minimalist design and straightforward controls make this a winner in the design department as well. This is off topic but hey sony: how about making a new series of really decent but low price turntables and reel to reels I had one of your nice smaller reel to reels several years back but lost it in a fire would really like to have another one. I know it's considered a dead format but really for analog sound there's nothing that's better than a good clean tape.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bravia Sync

STR-DH790 01/11/2020 by Fred 22 (USA)

This is my second unit. First stopped producing sound and was replaced. This one works well, good sound, Atmos is great. Problem with Bravia Sync. Keeps turning on and off after being shut off. First one had same problem until it died.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Receiver Appraisal

STRDH790 19/10/2020 by Frank40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's features work as advertised. Easy to use. Happy with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works Awesome

STRDH790 16/10/2020 by 9 Finger Bubba (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was easy to install and set-up. I bought a PLYE because this one wasn't available at the time and had bad luck with them. Both were defective when I first tried them. Soglad this one became available and it works awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

790

STRDH790 24/09/2020 by michael 1952 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent receiver. so glad i made this purchase. will buy sony again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The optical don’t work

STRDH790 17/09/2020 by Joelucky7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a year ago the optical does not work Not getting no sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

many things to set up

STRDH790 29/08/2020 by Not a Sony lover (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this a week now. It sounds okay when you finally get it figured out, not great but good. The instructions should be written better for those of us that only buy something like this every decade or so. I'm not even an amateur audio guy I just want great surround sound and VERY easy setup. Once I manually set the speaker distances (kind of stumbled onto that option) the automatic speaker volume optimization worked great. It would not work at first on the stock speaker settings, it gave an error code for the left front speaker. As I said I stumbled on to the speaker distance manual setting and then it worked. No prompts to lead you there. Kind of frustrating for me, a true newby. Now when I power the audio on it is coming on in "mute" and I have to un mute it. Nothing I can find in the manual about that problem. Maybe I'll buy another brand next time.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Engineering Needs Help

STRDH790 25/08/2020 by kkaiser13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had it home and working for a week or so. I had to send it in for repairs within 24 hours of receiving it. There was no way to make the necessary setup, the remote didn't work, and there was no apparent work around on the unit. Additionally the RFI rejection is way sub-standard. This is my fourth major AV unit purchase but the first that has poor RFI rejection.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

STR-DH790

STRDH790 10/08/2020 by Buckman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this product for about a week. Easy setup and great sound. I am using it as 5.1 system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound keeps cutting out

STR-DH790 10/08/2020 by Peter915 (USA)

I purchased this about 6 months ago. After about 20 minutes, the sound keeps cutting out. I then need to restart my complete system to get the sound back on. The about 15-20 minutes, it cuts off again. You can hear an audible 'click' as it turns off the sound. Any ideas why its doing this? Purchased online from Best Buy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 08/08/2020 by Dickie75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 months ago and the quality of the sound is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice receiver but sony has program issues

STRDH790 02/08/2020 by GHW61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice receiver but had to spend a long time with support to stop the main menu from popping up evertime you turned the system on. They have no way to turn this display off or hide. Had to hook up from cable box to tv directly then optic audio from TV to receiver and set out put to TV. My old yahama or onkyo receiver never had this kind of issue.Sony need to address this issue if the hook I finally ended up with did not work this unit would have been returned.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great music quality

STRDH790 27/07/2020 by Teddylow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a few months ago. Good decision and no regrets.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME PRODUCT

STRDH790 13/07/2020 by NetNou (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just connected the unit and it sounds "Amazing"!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/07/2020

Hi NetNou, Great! We're glad to hear you like the sound quality of your new AV receiver. Thanks so much for choosing our STR-DH790 7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver. Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! -Sam

0

easy to set up.

STRDH790 08/07/2020 by erara (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good replacement.Easy to install. Fits in my set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH790 24/06/2020 by DJEastwood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it love it and take it with on party outdoor backyard movie nights... love it for whatever....

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great overall receiver

STRDH790 22/06/2020 by Gilbert59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older Yamaha, and needed the 4K HDR feature. Setup was easy with the help from my son-n-law who is very good at tech stuff. My Firestick and Roku streaming devices are working worked amazingly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH790 19/06/2020 by Cool J (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely please with this purchase. Very fond of the bluetooth feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do not buy

STR-DH790 06/06/2020 by Joey bass (USA)

I bought this same exact product about three months ago and it's already broke i will never buy sony product ever again

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Amazing Amp

STR-DH790 03/06/2020 by Warwick71 (United Kingdom)

Was looking at the Dn1080, but realised I didn’t actually need the two hdmi outputs or the chrome cast or any of the other networking features. I didn’t care about the banana connectors missing of the back as I like the clip connectors. So for me this was well worth the £150 saving. Still offers the same sound features and loud enough for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

works exactly as advertised. Sony always superior

STRDH790 01/06/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with the product. It was a little hard to translate from my old receiver and took longer than I expected but excellent sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sounds great but video went out

STR-DH790 30/05/2020 by Mr G of Birmingham (USA)

Bought about six months ago worked great than video just stop working. Try all the resets. changed cable nothing happen sent it back for repairs wanting for it to come back. I miss my sounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Ease of use, quality and features

STRDH790 24/05/2020 by gmoosep (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased, better than theater during Covid-19.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far So good with some standard leakage

STR-DH790 21/05/2020 by kyawzeya555 (USA)

Overall great. All latest technology in one piece. Dolby Cinema=Dolby Vision + Dolby Atmos DTS X Only down size is 1. Don’t have AM tuner 2. FM antenna connector is not standard connector 3. Speaker connectors (except main L+R) not support banana connector. For this great product but not perfect. But I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for home theater

STRDH790 21/05/2020 by Detail83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for about a month and so far I love it does what I need it to do. I have my home theater setup along with my 4k tv Im able to play music from my iPad via Bluetooth. I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Mixed opinion

STRDH790 13/05/2020 by gary075A (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cheap speaker terminals, broke two in my first week. Also, auto calibration mic doesn't seem to work. No tech support due to corona-19, will have to wait.

0

0

0

Great products!

STRDH790 04/05/2020 by stan619 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent product. Style and performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome sound. very crisp when you have a 4k Tv

STRDH790 25/04/2020 by roryjojo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i hooked my tv up to this and it sounds twice as good as before. very crisp and clear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Product

STRDH790 19/04/2020 by michael_uu (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to setup, easy to use, beyond happy with my upgrade from my older Sony receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/04/2020

Hi Michael_uu, We're glad to hear you're happy with the upgrade. The powerful STR-DH790 7.2ch Home Theater AV receiver supports Dolby Atmos giving you 360` surround sound, by accurately positioning sound from every angle in your environment. It also supports DTS:X which delivers sounds that are precisely around and above you. This is done with object based audio decoding. Plus, you can enjoy superior picture quality to match with 4K HDR pass-through. You will enjoy an immersive theater-like experience in the comfort of your own home for a long time! Enjoy!- Sam

0

Great sound

STRDH790 14/04/2020 by DBRob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this receiver and am thoroughly satisfied with the performance and the options it offers. I like the variable sound configurations from front stereo to full surround with subwoofer. I enjoy the "movement" of sound in action movies as it follows the visual effects. The sound from my iPad using Bluetooth is awesome. You can clearly pick out every individual instrument played. Remote is easy to use. Nice unit a

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Unit!!

STRDH790 13/04/2020 by Beardo76 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Highly recommended!! Great Bang for the Buck. Sounds great with my surround system!! Love the Bluetooth for music from our phones too!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Value!

STRDH790 17/03/2020 by bigdholley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Researched Atmos receivers, this receiver had everything I wanted for a small man cave. Sound quality is excellent with my Elite speaker 5.1.2 system with HSU subwoofer. Very, very content when playing SACD's and Blu-ray movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Straightforward and sound quality are good

STR-DH790 15/03/2020 by Louie32779 (USA)

So happy about this purchase i am looking for a receiver intendes just for movie and music use, i do not need casting features and home automation we all know it is not necessary how do we often use voice command just to power the receiver? Almost none because we have a cec features on hdmi from our devices and TV. If you already have streaming device a smart TV all those extra features are not needed from a receiver. Just get these 7.2 channel for a very reasonable price and invest on good speakers like the sony bookshelf and towers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointment, so far

STR-DH790 18/02/2020 by Jovan1210 (USA)

Big Box retailer had on sale for President's day sale at under $300. I was working on Sunday so went to pick up on Monday just to find out price was now $349! I had done my research so bit the bullet and bought anyway. First mistake. Got the unit home and disconnected my STR-DN1000, which still works flawlessly but does not support HDCP2.2 so could not get Atmos or 4K through. Unable to have Easy Setup calibrate the speakers-Error 35 SW something or other...Then, Mediabox HDMI input with AppleTV 4k just won't work. Keeps going in and out, even on Enhanced HDMI mode. After swapping HDMI cables, cycling power to TV, AVR and ATV etc...Swap to BD HDMI and works fine. Bad HDMI. Next, can't get eARC to work. Find out the AVR receiver I bought YESTERDAY has firmware ver 1.068, circa 2018!! I had even asked the Big Box rep if I would have THIS specific issue and they said NO WAY, it was definitely an updated receiver, yada yada...Update firmware to 1.171... NOW there is eARC on the receiver. BUT connected to XBR85X850G HDMI-3 eARC--Crickets... No ATMOS from the TV either on Netflix or Disney+. The most I can get is DD+. I have spent 5 hours on what should have been at MOST 1 hour!! I gave up at 1am and am considering throwing everything back in the box and returning today.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Quality product

STRDH790 17/02/2020 by walt68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We really like this receiver. we bought it to replace a different brand at the same price point and was immediately impressed with the sound quality, ease of set up, and features. thanks Sony for a great job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice Receiver

STRDH790 11/02/2020 by Dusky49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

75 yrs old, had trouble setting up. SONY was excellent after several calls we finally got it to work properly. A younger person probably wouldn't have a problem. Works great now and sounds good. Would buy again. SONY support was excellent. They had lots of patience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Receiver

STRDH790 10/02/2020 by Ritter69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up and great sound. Very pleased with this purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love the receiver

STR-DH790 05/02/2020 by Jacked66 (USA)

I bought this for myself for Christmas Mainly for Dolby Atmos and bluetooth.not sure I'm getting all the benefits of Atmos I have read the manual many times as well as the Enhanced 4k features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works great!

STRDH790 26/01/2020 by Stanged (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony STR-DH790 because my new TV only has HDMI in/out. I was able BlueTooth to the TV and use the cable outputs to the Sony receiver to connect to my older Bose surround sound system! Very happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 23/01/2020 by Big Tex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I bought it..................................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, feature rich, simple set up

STR-DH790 20/01/2020 by BigWut (United Kingdom)

I had a Sony 5.1 tuner (STR-DH510) but needed to upgrade when I went UltraHD on my TV so it would support UHD (4K) pass trough. I purchased a new 5.1 Denon amp but had to return it because of a fault with the audio (random white noise) and nowhere to get support easily. I spent ages trying to find someone I could speak to, or a web site that would offer rather than take it in to the retailer. I returned the Denon to the retailer and upgraded to the DH970 from Sony. Great choice! Works perfectly (with Samsung TV and Sky Q box) straight out of the box! Sound is really good (Wharfdale 5.1 speakers at the moment but will soon now add two high level Atmos speakers). This is also smaller than my last amp, but still a stylish and quality appearance. Only minor points are with the Tuner part of the system. It's only FM (no AM or DAB); the aerial socket at the back is a strange almost PCN edge connector type rather than for coax (is there an adaptor available??) so my external roof mounted di-pole aerial can't be connected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Detail lacking

STRDH790 18/01/2020 by Pete1946 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace STR-DE675 that had Tuner failure, 3 out of 5 channels ions, and other functions not able to be set. Got the new one, set it up as described in the documentation and numerous aspects of it failed. Microphone auto calibration failed to work or respond to any changes in troubleshooting. Read this on line as a problem and don't use it . They were right. Doesn't work. Trying to listen to DVD's with all the right parameters to work on this new receiver failed as well. Had to manually set all aspects of the system manually. Big pain. Overall disappointed with this product offering out of the box. Works but fails to excel as Sony has alway done for me. Have owned Sony exclusively for all audio/video products for the last 30 years.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 13/01/2020 by Shakaman65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the box due to the connections as i do not have equipment that supposrts all the new HDMI connections. Love the set up which was a bit confusing at first because of the older TV set I have and the Firestick. Once I figure it out it was was easee peezee.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for modest home theater

STRDH790 31/12/2019 by PCSTEBB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a new receiver that had HDMI connections so this fit the bill at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect quality piece of equipment.

STRDH790 31/12/2019 by MrBIGGxDEAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had my last stereo surround sound receiver for probably 10 years and I had finally decided I needed to complete the final piece of my home entertainment setup.I know I needed 7.2ch, 4k sound, a decent amount of hdmi inputs and I was willing to pay big if I had to. So I went on down the you-tube / internet review rabbit hole and one particular model kept coming up. It was reasonably priced(and on sale) and so I took the plunge and I've felt the sy of relief and been more than satisfied with my purchase. It was easy to set up and program and now its completely integrated into my full 4kI surround sound big screen/ projector screen entertainment and video game super set up. Seriously it sounds great my bluetooth android phone connects to it and it's all packaged in a sleek unintrusive design. I recommend it highly. It's worth the price and then some.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

STRDH790 29/12/2019 by LInda Gail (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was disappointed that there is no AM receiver and the antenna for the FM receiver is so flimsy. It is easy to use, the remote works great and it was easy to set up to work with our old speakers and new TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Works great

STRDH790 25/12/2019 by Txgentsr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about 2 months ago and very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very poor product. No TV display for settings

STR-DH790 03/12/2019 by yodavim (United Kingdom)

Used for a short duration just to experience ATMOS. The product is very poor- low quality sound output even with Bose speakers. Do not buy this tin box

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

14

0

Exceptional Home Theater Receiver

STRDH790 22/11/2019 by Bmick57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a Sony STR-DA50ES for close to 25 years and she finally bit the dust. Did have a lot of money to spend. Saw this DH790 and it seemed very similar to the DA50. At this point, I couldn't be more satisfied. Easy setup and operation. Great features allowing a great deal of variance in speaker settings. Very nice unit. Highly recommend for those with a budget.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great receiver at a great price

STRDH790 06/11/2019 by mbinsurance (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent, Easy set up, high quality as always from Sony. My last receiver lasted 25 yrs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

STR-DH790 19/10/2019 by Bowste (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up. Functions work well. Sound is great. Excellent product for the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceeded my expectations!

STR-DH790 25/09/2019 by bullie76 (USA)

Very pleased with my new str-dh790 receiver. I wanted dolby atmos so it was time to upgrade from my 20 y/o receiver. Pretty simple to set up although I didn't really care for the automatic calibration system. I guess it's useful as a starting point but I had to make several manual adjustments to get the sound balance I wanted. I also purchased the SS-CSE upfiring speakers and they work well with receiver. Overall pleased with my upgrades.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great Product at great price

STRDH790 16/09/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am the new user to home theater AV and wanted to start with something that falls in my budget. Sony STR - DH790 do really met my expectiation and it is a great product to buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Design and great product Operation

STRDH790 05/09/2019 by JohnnyBlaze420 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the bluetooth option on the receiver. I can control sound wirelessly from anywhere in my home. The Speaker Calibration that measures the speakers space and volume is awesome

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features!

STRDH790 23/08/2019 by Ricky g (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this about a month ago. It is awesome. The only feature I would like to see is the hey capabilities to edit the device names. Exp. Fios TV for cable box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0