138

4.2 based on 138 customer reviews

82
31
7
8
10
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointing

STRDN1080 07/10/2017 by Sad2017 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this when I purchased my Sony OLED TV & Sony Blu Ray player - with expectations that all would work well together. I found out two days ago that my issue with loss of picture with my TV was actually due to this particular receiver. One week after purchase (June 2017), I would have sound but no picture that required me to shut everything down and start fresh. Two weeks ago, I lost the picture completely - the expert installers I used paid a home visit and determined the receiver was malfunctioning. I am receiving the receiver with another manufacturer's receiver as soon as I can.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

138 Customer Reviews

0

Fine build quality and state of the art technology

STR-DN1080 20/06/2018 by JJak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This AV receiver gives me the versatility of combining UHD Blu-ray and Sky with my UHD TV. Works flawlessly. Picture and Sound are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So pleased I chose this unit...

STR-DN1080 18/06/2018 by Streetly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect unit for D-Atmos with Sky-Q and works and absolute treat. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unreliable receiver

STR-DN1080 12/06/2018 by Bharat56 (United Kingdom)

Bought in Feb 2018. Broken down 4 times since purchase and hav ego do repeated factory resets. Greta sound when it works

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super purchase!

STR-DN1080 06/06/2018 by Delta4SJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Found system a dream to set up. Auto-calibration identified a loose wire and saved me a lot of time. Sounds fantastic, a world of difference from my old Sony system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Virtual 7.2 surround a treat.

STR-DN1080 01/06/2018 by Maxigooner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All you would expect from a class AV Reciever with a nice trick up it’s sleeve. Also add a second sub for more texture to your thump.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds like it needs to be Apple Compatible

STR-DN1080 27/05/2018 by wpbattle (USA)

Just ordered this, and found out it's Android compatible.. I hope it works seamlessly with IOS, I'm an Apple man!

1

1

0

Beautiful sound and user interface!! Minor flaws

STR-DN1080 23/05/2018 by GUERRILLA_99 (USA)

Was very excited about hooking up this receiver with my 5.1 Def Tech Bookshelves and SVS sub-woofer. Coming from a very respectable Yamaha receiver, i had high expectations and most of them all came through when i ran my calibration. The features are great and the sound quality is top tier. The user interface is very clean and looks professional & intuitive. My favorite feature besides being able to play DOLBY ATMOS and DTS X is the Phantom Rear speakers option!! It is quite amazing and really does work well in any set up you have. My biggest flaw with this receiver is when connected to the PS4 no matter what options i try, certain playback or audio only goes through as 2.1 Channel (Spotify etc). I never ran into this on my Yamaha Receiver, but i do want to mention that with the S Force Pro and Phantom Speakers, at first i was fooled thinking they were on and playing until i stood by my surround rears. Overall definitely recommend if you want an easy great full sounding receiver that can make you say WOW! if you have the right set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good Sound & Features, Nagging Software Problems

STR-DN1080 22/05/2018 by ChiTownDude (USA)

I was a "first adopter" of this Sony receiver last year, at the same time I purchased a new 75" Sony HDR television. I have a rather high-end system with 7.2 speakers (Revel) in a nice media room. This receiver drives the Revel speakers to even unreasonable levels without problem. I like the integration between this receiver and the Sony TV, although disappointed that Sony clings to the very flawed Android system. The receiver has one serious issue that I've reported several times to Sony, as have many others judging by comments elsewhere. The receiver doesn't stay in the audio format selected - if you select "Dolby Surround", it will jump to "all speakers" or 2 channel stereo for no particular reason. You have to find the remote and switch it back. It should stay locked to the format the user selects, irregardless of the audio input. Several firmware upgrades have failed to fix this problem.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features/Sony quality

STRDN1080 21/05/2018 by popps101 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this just to update from my DN1060 to the latest features that the DN1080 offer's, so I can best utilize my Klipsch Atmos ss system !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 1080

STR-DN1080 14/05/2018 by Joseph68975 (USA)

i enjoyed using my Sony 1080. it is awesome. i have a 7.2 Dolby atmos configuration at home with height speakers. the sound was amazing, kind of like being at the Harkins theatre. i am loving every bit. Thank you for such a Sony Atmos Receiver product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and features. Energy hog

STRDN1080 09/05/2018 by Ignatios (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with his reciever in many ways. It has a good sound, a clean look, and it has all the features I wanted. Set up was easy and the auto calibration did a nice job. Not regretting the purchase and hoping to have it for a while. On he down side, this is a replacement unit. The first one arrived with a bad front right channel and I had to exchange it. Factory QA should have caught that, and I wonder if Sony performs preshipping QA checks. But at least this unit is working well, for now. Also, he remote is a bit cheap and the menu while better than other models, is slow and clumsy. I expect a cleaner interface from Sony. But my biggest gripe is energy efficiency. It is 2018 and amps are still wasting as much heat as they did forty years ago. Sony is supposed to be an industry leader. Why no decent sounding, well priced, energy efficient A.V. recievers no one would even buy a tv that heated up like home amps do. of course it isn’t just Sony, but some one has to move us out of the 1970s. Is Sony not up to that task? Issues aside, I am happy with the purchase and it’s sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Matches my system, works well with Sony 65 A8

STRDN1080 08/05/2018 by Dr Ron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have complete Sony system, TV, Reciever, DVD. All play 4g and they work well together for an excellent viewing and hearing experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound and easy to set up

STR-DN1080 04/05/2018 by Zuli (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first ever AV receiver so can't compare to others, Thr build quality is second to none and setting it up was very easy all the speakers were calibrated automatically to give the best sound possible for your sitting position Everything was connected to the AV and worked great sync it with my Sony 4k tv and everything was done automatically

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Receiver

STRDN1080 30/04/2018 by Rockstar55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and found it to be extremely easy to set up. I wanted something that was current with technology and this unit has it all. I previously owned a Denon and a replacement unit didn't compare to features, sound and value for the dollar. Excellant deal! Would highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/04/2018 by RB1978 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed an upgrade once I had bought my first UHD tv, I had chosen one from the new Sony FX range and so I didn't want to pair it with a poor AV Receiver. The 1080 hasn't disappointed, great sound easy setup. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it so far

STRDN1080 22/04/2018 by Cidershyr (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this a month ago and so far no complaints. Was easy to install and we have noticed a great improvement over our previous system. Sound is amazing and love the updated features.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent receiver!

STRDN1080 20/04/2018 by rpaz (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use. Enjoying my dolby atmos surround sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Power house amplifier

STR-DN1080 17/04/2018 by Adam72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing features, great build quality, easy to set up, lives up to the Sony brand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Returned for a refund...

STRDN1080 13/04/2018 by RLBI (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice interface but kept losing hdmi out signal to tv. Sony tech help said reset reciever by holding the on/off button. Well that worked for a few hours but then signal would drop out again. Reset and good but each time unit had to be reprogrammed. Sony tech could not tell me what the problem was- they felt they succeeded by getting the signal back. Sony if you think reprogramming this unit multiple time a day is acceptable you are mistaken. Back she went as soon as the stable working Yamaha receiver arrived... plus Yamaha’s phone app control is sweet!! Seeya Sony...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Test the rest of your system

STR-DN1080 11/04/2018 by One1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a few weeks ago and now got attached components workig more satisfactory than previous receivers. Now able to stream wireless from laptop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/04/2018 by Andylkwb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, really happy with it, especially being able to listen to a large quantity of FLAC music files. Wish the built in Chromecast played videos and the USB music player showed album art. DAB would also have been nice. Not biggies or being negative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sound is wonderful, but I need some help

STRDN1080 08/04/2018 by pjau (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot get an ARC-connection established. And I can't get the ARC the CEC connection to my Sony KDL60NX720 to work. That is:..... Last night it worked fabulously, including for the attached Amazon Fire Stick - but today it won't do any of the above. I still like the idea, so I am hopeful that I will get some support on this. If yes, I will definitely let everyone know out there...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Committed Sony man.

STR-DN1080 05/04/2018 by BigonksDad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought because I have numerous Sony products that I wanted to tie together, so far worked OK, although haven't put it fully to test (no 4k TV connected as yet) the near future will probably see that sorted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome receiver with tons of great features!

STRDN1080 30/03/2018 by Wraith (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great addition to my Sony XBR-65X900E, 4K content looks and sounds incredible. Couldn’t be happier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good value for money

STR-DN1080 28/03/2018 by Brian A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good product especialy at the price paid, bought to replace another Sony AV reciever I have had for several years. I was a little apprehensive about buying at first as my old reciever cost treble the price and was very good, I need not have worried the 1080 did not let me down it's an excellent product and is a definite improvement can't fault it at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Product!

STRDN1080 19/03/2018 by kruppdm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've had this for several weeks and are quite pleased with the sound, the features and the overall appearance of the Receiver. We enjoy good sound while listening to music and watching movies. This Receiver definitely delivers! The Bluetooth and Home Network features are particularly handy for us.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Receiver let down by poor software

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Paul60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent receiver let down by poor front end software which is slow. Why you have to select Listen or Watch instead of the input. The home page takes ages to boot up and having directly selected the source the amp suddenly reverts to the Home page.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Sony 7.2 4k

STR-DN1080 17/03/2018 by Shiftykev78 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for over 1 month and dammm it sounds awsome . Everything i was looking to run my home cinema

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

outstanding receiver upgrade for me

STRDN1080 11/03/2018 by Lew65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i had purchased a Sony smart TV and found my 9 year old Yamaha receiver could not utilize all the modern features of the new TV. Did a lot of research on HDMI smart receivers and decided on the Sony STR-DN1080. It is even better than i'd hoped it would be. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would be 5 star if it last, HDMI has no video out

STRDN1080 10/03/2018 by menky (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked great for ~2 months, then I went to play DVD and found out that HDMI

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Some good some bad

STR-DN1080 09/03/2018 by Brianb426 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought amp in January and found it easy to set up and worked well with Virgin TiVo v3 box for cable tv. However Virgin are currently upgrading their TiVo boxes here in the uk to v6 version for free at the moment and I have just spent 5 days establishing that this upgrade is incompatible with the amp and have had to go back to the previous version. Surprised that sony equipment is not working with uk's biggest cable tv suppliers gear! Regards Brian

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Would not buy if you want to use iphone ipad ipod

STR-DN1080 05/03/2018 by axel4 (Canada)

Doesn't work with iphone cable in usb port, it did worked with str-dn1040.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/03/2018

Hi axel4,


We regret to hear that this receiver failed to meet your expectations, the receiver will display the error message No USB or Not Supported if an Apple® iPod® player or iPhone® mobile device is connected to it directly using a USB cable. This is a normal operation of this unit.


For more information, you may visit this link below:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/36687


Regards,
Zac

0

Great Quality and Sound

STR-DN1080 04/03/2018 by Martinkelly93 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great connectivity, superb sound, many excellent features. Easy to use and configure. Ideal!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to connect speakers, tv, and dvd player.

STRDN1080 04/03/2018 by moonshine01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband is very happy with our new receiver....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Seriously good. Really. Just go buy one.

STR-DN1080 03/03/2018 by TonyaNorway (USA)

I'm a sound engineer by trade and I was looking to change out my Atmos home cinema amplifier with something better yet it had to be simple to operate as my wife does not speak geek. After having several amps by another brand over the years and constantly having HDMI problems, my local dealer suggested this Sony. I said I would give it a try but I'm not really a Sony fan. After I set it up and calibrated the settings with the supplied stereo microphone, I haven't stopped smiling. To be honest I wasn't expecting the sound to be THIS good from an amp at this price but it literally blew me away. It's got everything I need in one box - 4K HDR video that handles HDCP 2.2 on ALL the HDMI inputs, 3D support, 9 channel Dolby Atmos & DTS:X, BT, NFC, network services, ARC support, etc. This baby even has ChromeCast built in for instant casting! Six HDMI inputs should cover most domestic installations. A second HDMI output makes it perfect for either a second zone or projector. The power output is rated at 1,155 watts but it feels like so much more as it handles transients like large explosions effortlessly with plenty of power in reserve. If you are a fan of action movies and you want to be blown away this is the amp for you. It is a true 7.2 device but Sony have a system that gives you two extra phantom channels that works remarkably well, I was very surprised indeed. But where it absolutely excels is in the HD audio playback, it managed to handle everything I had on my NAS network including DTS CD, HD tracks and SACD ISO files without transcoding first. Nice and clean "wife friendly" user interface makes it perfect for home use. There are a few small issues but nothing I can't work around : Remote is a bit simple, would have been nice if it was backlit. The Android app is OK for streaming music but doesn't offer much control over anything else. No RS232 control interface but most people probably won't use that anyway. Still in 2018 they build in an FM tuner but no DAB+ platform . . . . But in saying that, this is without doubt the best home cinema amplifier you can buy anywhere near the price ticket so it's no surprise that it won the What HiFi award last year. That's it, I have to get back to my DN1080 now and listen to my favourite music tracks all over again . . . .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Dipping toe into very comfortable water

STRDN1080 27/02/2018 by route151 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Three months of varied use from moves via $k Blu Ray, internet streaming, music and of course video games. To me, it is a stepping stone receiver, an excuse to upgrade speakers, then to upgrade again to 9.2.4... who knows. If you are capable with the internet, any and all issues that I have encountered have been solved via Sony's app and Google. The UI build with-in is worthy of much praise. Add to that, the ease of calibration via included left right microphone. Side-note: I have it paired with Sony 4k tv, bluray and PS4 Pro. It is awesome to hit a button and everything awakes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound for music

STR-DN1080 27/02/2018 by Sandyman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Forced into upgrade from yamaha 677 having acquired 4k tv. Pass thru problems proved too frustrating. Sony 1080 is a big step up-quality and depth of sound is excellent and i could not believe the difference listening to Spotify via connect. Only minor gripe is time lag for switching between inputs but overall i am delighted with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Sound Definition, Lacking Essential Basics

STR-DN1080 23/02/2018 by ZM76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed an AV receiver capable of 5.1 surround sound with the option to enable an Atmos setup in future and also to handle 4K sources with HDR and Dolby Vision support. I initially purchased a Yamaha RXV 683 AV Receiver, the menu and GUI system were nothing amazing but did the job, the HDMI CEC control worked perfectly with my LG OLED TV however the amp was lacking in definition especially at low volumes. I had read the What HiFi review for the Sony STR DN1080 and decided to return the Yamaha in favour of the Sony despite some of the negative user based reviews online. I can say the sound definition on the DN1080 is the best I have heard in ages, so the quality of the product is right up there. However what could be an amazing purchase is let down by some basic essential tech requirements. Firstly, the latest January 2018 update takes care of Dolby Vision passthrough which it didn't have initially. The AV receiver has a habit of randomly going over to the Home Menu screen which has plagues a lot of users. The other issue is that sometimes mid movie, you may want to check the input and output sound format just to ensure it is set correctly to say Dolby True HD or Dolby Atmos or DTS. Pressing the Display button on the remote control does not do this. This is an absolute basic requirement that I have seen on numerous AV receivers and I really don't understand why it doesn't work on the Sony STR DN1080. The only way I can manage to get somewhat a display is by switching channels or source then the sound format is briefly displayed on the AV Receiver visual display. This detracts from the general experience and am sure it would be a trivial firmware change to resolve this, not sure why it hasn't surfaced yet with a lot of others having raised the issue. I contacted LG recently to ask why the magic remote function which seems to take care of a lot of manufactures devices and allows them to be controlled by the LG OLED TV remote does not work at all for the Sony AV receiver. They got back to me to advise that Sony had not sent them the software information for the STR DN1080 and therefore they couldn't support it. There are reviews online that state the AV receiver takes a long time to output sound from the moment it is turned on, or when you switch source, this is generally exaggerated, I feel the it boots up quite quickly and also the delay isn't that bad at all when switching sources. The other issue is the menu system, it is more of a graphical interface than most other menu systems on other AV receivers and looks very impressive however there is a sluggish delay while the home menu screen is displayed and this varies and is not consistent. Its almost as if the processor on the AV receiver for handling the menu system is struggling. Summary: Great AV Receiver for sound quality and definition, really nice looking on screen menu system with intuitive setup, let down by niggly technical faults/issues that need acknowledgement or ETA to fix by Sony, if so I am sure there would be a much higher take up of this product as right now I understand how many people are put off by the lack of successful integration of this amp to a lot of setups.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

A tremendous upgrade

STR-DN1080 21/02/2018 by Marky Mark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace the STR-DN1060 I have had for a couple of years because this offer 4K HDR capability rather than the 4K only of the DN1060. I have been impressed by the fact that the sound quality and usability of the unit have now also significantly improved, especially the 'phantom back' speakers! Just now need to invest in a Dolby Atmos speaker system to get the full benefits!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, great features easy to use

STRDN1080 18/02/2018 by Dgbk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would recommend this as a A+ receiver for all who are looking to advance their listening experience

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Needed to Upgrade - Pioneer crapped out on me

STRDN1080 15/02/2018 by stryker83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had it plugged in and working after auto-calibrate a few nights now but it's awesome. I thought old Pioneer Dolby and Atmos was good... but this is MUCH better quality even with my old 8ohm speakers! the only thing I have a small issue with right now is that it thinks my sub is a 3" but it's a 12" ... and the sound was supposed to be set around half mark, but i had to turn it down to 1/4 "up" as it's actually TOO much bass for me. Well... not for ME - but for my neighbors! When I try to turn the SUB down in speaker menu... then it goes "off" auto-calibrate...?? I need to learn what I'm doing wrong maybe ... :) It's a great product so far! (OH - and the BT headset TX I just learned about I'm very eager to also use to I can work out and use headset without TX I had before that was flaky - nice to have built-in!!)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Receiver

STRDN1080 15/02/2018 by DummyC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good I have just had it a couple days. Replaced a DN1040 this one seems to be a little bit better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound and ease of setup

STR-DN1080 14/02/2018 by Norfolkdan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased last month to compliment Sony xe93 tv buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value!

STRDN1080 13/02/2018 by Davidsal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Better than expected. Great sound and nice set of features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Zero app support

STR-DN1080 10/02/2018 by jay42 (USA)

Shortly after you buy this product, Sony will disable all apps and cease support - just like they did with the str-dn1050 http://community.sony.com/t5/Home-Theater-Products/STR-DN1050-and-Music-Center/td-p/637625

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Lacking inputs and flexibility of previous models

STR-DN1080 10/02/2018 by Ray999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third Sony AV amplifier and will be my last I have a Sony TV less than a year old which has been a nightmare to sync to this AV unit despite having engineers out and speaking to Sony over the phone this problem has still not been resolved you need to use at least 3 remote controls to get the sound to work when I previous models all I did switch the TV on and you got surround sound or stereo or everyone's playing on the TV when it goes like this and is really good the problem is it doesn't work most of the time I would never buy another Sony product in my life

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

6

0

Great sound and picture

STR-DN1080 06/02/2018 by Have none (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Sony surround sound system before I purchased this and was surprised how much better the new one is

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it!

STRDN1080 31/01/2018 by Campervic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. Sound is phenomenal. Easy to set up. Changing the dynamics was easy. Liked the calibration. Helped me move my speakers to get the best sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

STR-DN1080 28/01/2018 by Damooon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only been able to test the system as about to move home, but chose this system due to glowing What Hi-fi review. I've not read the instructions other than wiring set up, sounds amazing, and is easy to use. Big thumbs up, I'm massively happy with it. Just lacks a socket to trigger sub to take off standby

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Early Review

STRDN1080 26/01/2018 by LawDawg 88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this receiver less than a week ago and the set up was easy. You definitely do not need to be a techno geek to get it up and running. I bought it to upgrade a Pioneer that was 8-10 years old. The Sony has a more power which is something I wanted. I had checked many reviews and expert opinions and for the money, this unit seemed to be a good choice. So far it has been with one exception that I will get to. Most notably, it sounds GREAT! Also, the on screen programming on the TV is sleek looking. It takes a moment for it to appear on screen but that is no big deal. I have not been home much this week so have not put it through all of its paces but so far, I am glad I chose the Sony. The one issue I am having is that for some reason, the audio from any of the HDMI inputs cannot be played in zone 2. I have a 5.1 system in my living room and zone 2 is two speakers on my back deck. I would like to be able to play TV audio out there sometimes (like when I am grilling and something is on the TV inside that I would like to hear for the brief time I am outside) but more importantly, I would like to be able to hear music from my Apple TV (connected to one of the HDMI inputs) in zone two. The only way I have figured out how to play music in zone 2 is to connect my phone through Bluetooth to the receiver and then port that to zone 2. That works fine, but it seems I should be able to simply use my Apple TV and not have my phone around. Maybe I am missing something with how I set up the receiver or in how I am using zone 2. Outside of that, I am quite happy. Also while this is not an issue for me, I notice there are no buttons on the remote to go directly to video 1 or 2 HDMI inputs. There are direct link buttons for the other inputs but not video 1 and 2. Odd. I only have my cable TV and my Apple TV connected to the receiver so I do not need all of the inputs anyway.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality

STR-DN1080 23/01/2018 by Christy9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and set up with first rate sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works really well.

STRDN1080 20/01/2018 by ARKANSAS BILL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this over a month ago for the 4K pass through. Was easy set up and the sound wow. Very satisfied. No apps to use bit they are own everything so don't need . The FM radio is a plus with the sound..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good value but major issue with remote speakers.

STRDN1080 13/01/2018 by johnb22 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probable best buy for whats available with these features right now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Almost 5 Stars

STR-DN1080 13/01/2018 by Sparkle1979 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After almost a year of research I finally took the plunge and upgraded my 5 year old Sony STR-DH820 which had served me well, to the highly commended STR-DN1080. One major concern for me was reading numerous comments about the ‘HOME’ menu appearing when hdmi-cec is enabled, unfortunately this is happening with my setup, which is pretty basic. I have a SKY HD box and PS4 connected directly to the amp, if I power either up they turn my tv and amp on but the dreaded unwanted ‘HOME’ menu is displayed after approx 10 seconds. If I hit the ‘Sky’ button or ‘PS4’ button the menu disappears so it’s not a major problem. Setup was straightforward for my 5.1 speaker configuration and my Tannoy HTS-101 speakers sound great! I’m considering upgrading to Sky Q to take advantage of their 4K content so needed an amp that could handle it, this amp should future proof me for a while at least. So far I can’t comment on the quality of how it handles ultra hd video, but I’m confident that the Sony brand won’t let me down. When powered up the unit does produce more noise than my old amp but it’s only noticeable when the sound is almost at zero. Ultimately the products primary function is to produce quality sound and it does this effortlessly. Would have scored it 5 stars but it’s the annoying ‘Home’ menu issue that stopped me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing and highly capable

STR-DN1080 11/01/2018 by DirkHellfire (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My dated AV amp was due for upgrading having S-video sockets and a faulty remote. Most things TV related are now Sony in my house as they are typically easy to use and work straight out of the box. Thus the decision to buy a Sony AV amplifier was a natural choice and as expected the unit excelled in everyway. Most impressive was its ability to refresh my somewhat dated speakers and make them sing. The DCAC auto set up was a breeze and resulted in a perfect soundstage straight away without hours of experimentation. The unit handled all sound formats thrown it’s way and Airplay is better and livelier than ever before. Well done Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Receiver

STR-DN1080 08/01/2018 by vihealey67 (Canada)

I have had this for only a few weeks and am definitely impressed. I did a lot of research and nothing came close in my opinion. I won't be using the 4K pass through or ATMOS for a while but I wanted the network and app additions as well as the high res audio. Set up was very easy with the on screen menus and the speaker auto calibration was quick and only required a few tweaks. Spotify works great and Chromecast was recognized as soon as it was plugged in. My wife hasn't used the apple airplay yet but I am sure it will work great. Plan on having this for many years. It replaced my 12 year old Sony STR-DG500 that still worked perfectly with the older tech. PS4 and Eastlink Arris DVR sounds amazing with Dolby Surround. Have a 5.1 setup Polk fronts/center/subwoofer and Bose161 surround.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Humming amp

STRDN1080 05/01/2018 by Lllanfair (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

there is an audible hum from this amp when not in use and stays warm until powered off. Have to switch off at power bar to stop these problems.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Struggled to install. Instructions inadequate.

STRDN1080 03/01/2018 by Photo Bug (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Struggled to install until I went online and got the complete instructions for the device. Thereafter, things began to make more sense. Instructions assume that you are attaching it to a Sony TV with a HDMI ARC port. I wasn't; therefore, the struggle. (Do not buy unless your TV has a HDMI ARC port!) Once installed, it is a great device for the price. However, I will go back to an Onkyo the first chance I get!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

New Sony Fan

STRDN1080 01/01/2018 by jass31 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is Amazing!!! I was septical to get a Sony receiver i went from a Flagship Pionner Elite to this sony and i must say the sound is so Much beter!!! Believe it or not the sony sound really much better then the Elite i'm in shock fro this entry level of receiver.... Build quality is great the interface is very good and simple to use, and the most important the sound is Awesome!!! Only thing i wish sony improv is the front display is very small , ill like to see more information on the display without having to press the infront button,, I'm really impressed my next receiver will be the Sony ES Real soon, I had almost all brand in my theater room, and none of the others comes close to the quality of the sound reproduction... Good job Sony YOu got a new Fan Here!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not what i expected...

STR-DN1080 31/12/2017 by CaptBruce (USA)

I bought this receiver for a few reasons.. all of which it fell short on One, 2nd zone, with preamp out. This was difficult to control and switch back and forth between zone controls. next issue, the 2nd video HDMI out, I was hoping that this could be independent of the all other HDMI's, but this is too smart for its self. I wanted to be be able to watch football (video 2), and listen to music on main channel, but this is not possible. also... and this very frustrating! Next issue, chromecast! Why is this ONLY audio??? Chromecast is an audio/video product, and this is AV (that would mean Audio AND Video ) receiver! With my new smart home product, I will now need to PURCHASE a separate chromecast, and attach it to my chromecast enabled receiver, so I can cast video through my "chromecast" enabled device.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Brilliant sound & Features

STR-DN1080 31/12/2017 by Jonathonstrand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Sony 2400ES, so glad that I did, this has so much better sound, lots more modern features and decoding. It is very easy to set up and was up and running within an hour.I have had it around a month now, the only thing that I have needed to do has been to tweak the subwoofer setting down a bit for my room. It is a fantastic AV amp, to say that I am pleased with it would be an understatement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Comes as advertised.

STRDN1080 30/12/2017 by RazorbackBill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Merry Christmas to me, Needed to update receiver for 4K Sony TV. Never had a more easier set up. Sounds best I heard these speakers sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great receiver - waiting for MQA update

STR-DN1080 30/12/2017 by somedatapacket (USA)

The device provides excellent performance and sound quality, while supporting the full range of HDMI/HDCP/HDR standards. I have two major feature requests that I believe are critical to add in future software releases: MQA decoding, and better support for DSD playback using DLNA and USB sources. Currently, properly packaged DSD files fail to play back.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great value

STRDN1080 30/12/2017 by Yervant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although my time with this product is only one day, I can tell you that the quality of build is excellent. My experience with Sony products is pretty extensive owing many of their products including 4K blue-ray, Mirrorless cameras and lenses etc. This AV unit is a bargain for the features it has. Sound and picture quality is wonderful. I've read other reviews that stated the setup and navigating through menus takes a fair amount of time. I've sound neither to be the case. The "Easy" setup and auto calibration of the speakers could not be any easier and faster. From opening the box connecting the speakers and other peripherals, updating the software and tailoring the menu setting took no more than 1 hours time. Connecting to my internet wirelessly was a breeze. Downloading the software update took 15 minutes of that total one hour setup period. Using the remote to open the Menu from the "Home" button responded very fast so I don't understand so of the other reviewers when they said it was slow. Perhaps they didn't download the receivers updates? Watched Avatar in regular blue-ray was stunning. The picture looked like glass. Just beautiful. I will put an actual 4K movie in tonight and if regular blue-ray is any indication, 4k will be amazing. Good work Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Superb quality

STR-DN1080 27/12/2017 by Ranger41ljn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this a month but am really happy with the build quality and the superb sound. This receiver has plenty of input ports and am impressed with the 4K pass through and upscaling from my non 4K kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Easy setup , like features

STRDN1080 27/12/2017 by Mustang24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

To setup the receiver to my home theater system was simple and easy. It took a few minutes. I like the different mode features on this device. Love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent feature package and good value

STR-DN1080 27/12/2017 by Basher II (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a Dolby Atmos AV receiver with a decent number of HDMI input supporting ARC, this fits the bill.. Set up and calibration is easy. Just missing an App to control it now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

It is okay - interface is strange

STRDN1080 26/12/2017 by AVChallenged (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has been over six months and I am still learning my way around this product. I bought because I wanted two zone and to connect multiple of my old devices. I got a Samsung TV, an old sony DVD (5 disc), a cassette player and bose speakers (5.1). Still having to figure an easy way to jump among all of them. Too many remotes, too many controls. I think I would have been better off with all sony and newer devices

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

2 weeks in, delighted!

STR-DN1080 22/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Top quality amp, very solid construction, excellent sound through my Tannoy speakers and sub. Lots of features, indeed many more than I will ever use. The Chromecast feature is excellent and I find I use it a lot as it was super easy to set up. Good on-line setup info and instructions. Easy update ability.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

First Impressions are Great!

STRDN1080 21/12/2017 by ctm3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced a Yamaha AV Receiver, with a Denon, and not this Sony. The priot two seemed to be good for right at 3 years before becoming defunct. I hope this one lasts longer. But, after installing this one today, I am very impressed with how much cooler it seems to run, the sheer power of the output, the quality of the sound, and the setup options. That is especially true at this price point. We'll see if it lasts, but I do like that it has a 2 year warranty. It also looks more expensive than Sony equipment that I considered in the past.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy to use and plenty of features

STRDN1080 20/12/2017 by Detour Dave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace a very complicated and dated Marantz. Easy to set up, blends well with my Sony 4K TV, and Sony blue ray player. For some reason, Japanese love to use one size fits all manuals. The manual was a joke. Even got a 75 page manual in French.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good value for features.

STRDN1080 19/12/2017 by dave0920 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

However, the Zone 2 set up is a disappointment and way too sophisticated for my needs. I have a set of speakers in my patio area and JUST want to be able hear what i am playing as my SOURCE input out there either independently or as part of the overall group. However the only sound i can drive out there is the FM Radio--which as i read the Help guide is basically my only option w/o a lot of other gyrations.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0