404

4.1 based on 404 customer reviews

236
75
29
29
35
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26/10/2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

406 Customer Reviews

0

Works great

STRDN1080 02/03/2021 by rustyrussell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I set this up about three weeks ago and it has performed well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Room-shaking power, great sound, good interface

STR-DN1080 01/03/2021 by mrnmn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Straightforward setup with easy auto-configuration using the provided mic. Great sound. Really user-friendly interface makes device selection and setup easy. More than enough power for my needs at home. Ample HDMI inputs. The remote control received with the unit didn't work and had to be replaced - and the unit is difficult or impossible to operate fully without the remote.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent receiver

STRDN1080 27/02/2021 by Diowoptom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a replacement for my twenty year old cd recorder and receiver. I lived the cd recorder but Sony has no replacement I’m very happy with the receiver but setting it up can be problematic since you need to connect the unit to your tv to get any sort of instruction and be able to set it up properly. However, once you figure out how to do it, the sound is fantastic. No AM capability and still having trouble setting pre-set stations. No phono input so you need to use one of the video hookups. My primary use is for playing cds and when combined with a CD player you won’t be disappointed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

The best bang for your buck

STR-DN1080 26/02/2021 by Budget Enthusiast (USA)

I have had this DN1080 for about 2 years now. I had an Onkyo before I got this one and I like the sound of the Sony better. It is powering the JBL Venue series speakers (towers for fronts, large center, and nice sized rears), and some Sony Atmos Front height speakers. The TV is a Sony 65X900H. It all sounds awesome, and I like the ease of use. The thing that blew me away the most was the sound quality with music. I stream Spotify through it and when you turn the sound optimizer on it really gives the music depth and nuance. You can't beat all the features, sound Codecs, user interface, and sound quality for the price. It's a budget AV enthusiasts dream!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good and a bad, one box solution!

STR-DN1080 26/02/2021 by Scottie148 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the DN1080 Sony amp on the back of some great reviews by those in the know. Unfortunately, though it’s packed with features, it keeps hanging, locking up. The Home, Listen and Watch buttons on the remote control, just don’t do anything, after a while. The only way to get round this is to clear the amps system, but that leads to having to set the whole amp up again, from scratch. It happens three times a week. Yes, I’ve checked the software’s up to date, before I’m asked. I see from looking online, that many have encountered this problem, but sat after clearing the system, theirs has been OK. Well, mine hadn’t been! When it is working, it’s very good. I’ve a 5.1 speaker system connected. I also use Zone 2, to play hi-res music through my tri-amped Linn Ninka speakers, though as the Home button doesn’t work, I can’t navigate to the Zone control feature, so you can’t control the volume. Hence, a good and a bad one box solution.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Doesn't play well with older TVs

STRDN1080 21/02/2021 by Masked Mosquito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When programming it to play from a cable box through a Harmony remote, setting the input to Cbl/Sat the unit will revert to TV mode after awhile and no sound will play, just video. I talked with Tech support and it doesn't appear to be a way to get it to stay on the Cbl/Sat input and get the audio from the HDMI cable. Going to try an HDMI video/audio splitter to see if that helps.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Another Sony

STRDN1080 18/02/2021 by DU1974 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with new unit . Had similar Sony unit almost 40 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Powerhouse Packed with Features

STRDN1080 09/02/2021 by Wynndi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't say enough about this Receiver! All of the features I need and then some - enough HDMI to connect all of my gear and then some. The auto-calibration using provided microphone is an exceptional feature that should be used at setup for impressive results - glad that Sony continues to provide the feature!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound outstanding easy-to-use

STRDN1080 08/02/2021 by Andy35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great piece of sound equipment. Ease of installation and interface with other features, surround sound and video.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Versatile,good sound and a bargain!

STR-DN1080 08/02/2021 by Bullivap (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Versatile,sounds great and a bargain! I needed flexibility around the TV and Blu-ray/4K set up! I looked around and saw this model- all singing all dancing and a repeat What Hifi winner! So bought it- Richer sounds were great and once set up with good quality HDMI leads I was in business! The picture from Blu-ray was outstanding with the Audioquest Chocolate HDMI leads- couldn’t stop watching and the sound I bi amped ( a form of biamping) into a stereo pair of speakers! Once again the sound was great from the TV- did coaxial out on an old Rotel CD player effectively turning into a CD transport and again lovely detailed sound! Happy yes! Future proof! Well for what my needs are yes- HDMI 2.1 and 8k broadcasting is not around the corner and 4K pass through to an 8k TV will allow the TV to upscale which is the usual way to go about things! So plenty of mileage here! Great product and great price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic sound!

STRDN1080 31/01/2021 by Extremely good looking (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The extras are amazing and the sound is fantastic!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feature packed A/V Amplifier

STR-DN1080 28/01/2021 by No Sa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace an older model found this had everything I required for the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

overheating unit

STR-DN1080 26/01/2021 by Romeo1964 (USA)

I brought home the Sony STR-DN1080 with the highest of confidence I made the right choice. After playing the receiver at a relatively high level it shut off by itself. I mirrored the scenario again.checked all my connections and again it failed.but this time we noticed the unit was exceptionally hot. long story short my second receiver preformed the same as the first.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWEsome Sound!!!

STRDN1080 25/01/2021 by Grif (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy that I bought this and it is so easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound with all 7.2 Speakers.

STR-DN1080 25/01/2021 by Step1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kit when it arrived in very good packaging. Set the unit up using my smart TV which is needed for this kit. instructions could be better. Sound can be processed in a few ways. I found just using my ears give me the sound I wanted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

brilliant amp

STR-DN1080 21/01/2021 by norm83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb amp in every way purchased to replace older Sony str-dn1030 Just one complaint the lack of proper fm aerial socket

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great features

STRDN1080 19/01/2021 by bearz40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this sounds so good easy to use and better than our onkyo!!!! we had 4 onkyo receivers and this one beats them by far!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice upgrade!

STRDN1080 17/01/2021 by Tom6951 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to upgrade my previous Sony receiver. More features and more power. I love how it improved the sound of my klipsch speakers with the extra power. The 4K pass through is definitely a plus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality of STR-DN1080

STRDN1080 14/01/2021 by labdr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit several weeks ago and use it with my Sony TV. I am amazed at the sound quality and ease of use when combined with my TV and the ease of use with the Bravia sync.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the new technology.

STRDN1080 05/01/2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish I did not wait so long to buy a new receiver and believe I bought the right one. With the ARC on TVs and all the Bluetooth devices of today’s era this receiver is easy to make all things look and sound great. You can notice a better picture runnings HDMI cables through the receiver and Bluetooth and all the features to make all things sound great was easy. Hooked up some old Bose speakers and a stand alone base and wow sounds great. I’ll bet if I invest in some nice speakers I could even take it up another level. I think the system is simple to set up and to calibrate with Sony’s technology and pretty awesome. The only thing I wished was I could have 1 remote for receiver and cable tv. Glad I spent the money wellwithin my budget.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it, but...

STRDN1080 02/01/2021 by Upper NW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a 1060 that I really like, but wanted the new audio features (Atmos, etc.), so I bought the 1080. It's working well with my 7.1 setup and my 4K HDR TV. The "but.." comes from two issues. I live in a small city on the north coast of Washington. I listen a lot to an FM station that is many miles away via a rooftop antenna. For whatever reason, Sony changed from the coax connector to a single wire connector which may be okay for a big city, but is lousy for here. I've built a coax connector from a TV adapter and a JST plug that works, but what a pain. The other "but.." is the change to the remote for choosing "presets". The old remote has 1, 2, and 3 while the new remote only has 1. Fortunately, the old remote works with the 1080. Other than those issues (antenna being the real pain), I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Value

STR-DN1080 31/12/2020 by Kk2K (Canada)

Sony is back. I mean this AVR has the features and specs of others that are 30% more expensive. It packs all the features you want at a very reasonable price. The only 2 things missing are preouts and HDMI 2.1 (which I cannot fault them for as it predates the tech). The UI is clean and very easy to navigate unlike some other brands (looking at you Denon/Merantz)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/12/2020

Hi Kk2K, We're very grateful for this positive feedback! Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. Good to know that you like the ease of use and amazing features. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for sharing your feedback and for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Awesome

STRDN1080 29/12/2020 by Shorty123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've never heard my Bose surround sound speakers sound so good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Installation was self intuitive...!

STRDN1080 29/12/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the receiver a week ago, & it has performed flawlessly...!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good unit but has some glitches

STRDN1080 28/12/2020 by AV8TER (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this unit last month after multiple online recommendations. We were also lucky to score a PS5 for my son but when we tried connecting via the DN1080 we were only able to get audio only (no video). I was surprised as both of these units are Sony products. After researching the issue online it seems to be a well known issue and the only fix is to wait for a software patch from Sony. Last week we were unable to get any video to display from this unit and ended up having to do a total reboot to get the video back which requires me to go back and redo my speaker setup and renaming all my source inputs again. I hope this does not continue otherwise I will be returning the unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding features and support is great

STRDN1080 26/12/2020 by RayRap (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We brought the new Receiver last November, six weeks ago, and the sound is fantastic. The built in FM antenna provides very good reception. We have established six pre-set channels, which works very well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound / but poor functionality

STR-DN1080 26/12/2020 by Disappointed Ted (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We brought this produce as it was suggested as being a compatible product for Sony’s Master range KD-65AG9 Bravia TV. It’s produces a fantastic range of sound with a full deep rich spectrum. This was also a replacement for an earlier STR-DB925 which gave years of service without a glitch and is still fully functional. I love the ease of the set up process. However if you can’t get a picture there’s no way to access the setup meme. The only way I could change basic settings after a software glitch which Sony still have not corrected was to use a none Sony product which supported HDMI ( eARC / ARC ) It’s a great product if Sony would only get their finger out and sort its software issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent Upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/12/2020 by Charmer67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace a Sony STRDN1030 that had served me well for a number of years. This is a definite step up with better sound, 4K capability, HDR capability and Dolby Atmos. Very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Impressive Value

STRDN1080 19/12/2020 by Tarp1960 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to set up and the sound fills the room...Plenty of power to drive 7 speakers and sub...I have set up at 5.1.2 with over head atmos...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for the price!

STR-DN1080 17/12/2020 by Tony100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The plus points are that this box has brought my home cinema system to life. My old Pioneer was very outdated and wouldn’t work with HDMI ARC or the latest Dolby sound sound releases. Only disappointment is that I haven’t been able to get it to work with Alexa to channel music through the surround sound speakers. But I can do this bluetooth from my iPhone. Highly recommend this system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

VRR PASSTHROUGH !!!!!!

STR-DN1080 17/12/2020 by Will1962 (USA)

Please for the love of god!!! Add VRR PASSTHROUGH . I have a ps5 and would like to use vrr

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Very Intuitive Set-up

STRDN1080 16/12/2020 by Jimmy708 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took about 2 hours to set-up. Thought the receiver had a problem as the speakers on the lanai we're not working. Turns out the volume control on the lanai had died. Replaced it, receiver worked fine. Like the Spotify button. Nice feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really nice but....

STRDN1080 16/12/2020 by Scottthedentaltech (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's great has all the bells and whistles. My only issue is when using the hdmi port with my computer, I try to play a file it will screech super loud and you have to restart the file. Oh 31 clicks to set the sleep timer? Seriously sony, 31?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony delivers again!

STRDN1080 13/12/2020 by Sunny1966 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We used/enjoyed our last Sony Amp Model STR-K9900P for 15 years and it performed well. We were over due for an upgrade so we stayed with Sony. We are very happy thus far. Many inputs, HDMI, and we don't own a 4K TV yet so we are covered there too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Value!

STRDN1080 06/12/2020 by Don708 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I currently have three Sony receivers at home and I really like them. I've never found the power and features for comparable prices from anyone else.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor, Useless for FM Reception

STR-DN1080 01/12/2020 by M7955 (USA)

The FM jack to plug in the antenna is an unconventional design, and is NOT compatible to connect to a industry standard outdoor FM antenna. The single wire, OEM antenna included with the purchase provides extremely poor reception. For as many decades as FM radio has existed, this is an unacceptable and an embarrassing product for SONY to even consider putting on the market. When contacting SONY technical support, they tell you to try relocating the unit in the room, which is only an excuse, not a solution

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Can't Go Wrong

STRDN1080 30/11/2020 by Sotak72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The receiver has features that on any other receiver would cost much more. It has plenty of inputs and supports all the major sound formats. It makes movies sound amazing. You won't regret buying this receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Complete garbage

STR-DN1080 30/11/2020 by Gpet (USA)

Keeps dropping video audio drops more often and zone 2 operation is an engineering disaster. Returning it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing sound for music aswell

STR-DN1080 27/11/2020 by monitorshelf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this receiver 11 months. I have Q Acoustic 3050 floor standing speakers and 3010 centre speaker. After auto calibration, please do a manual calibration and enter the values exactly with the calibration type set to "flat" The bass is deep and solid with clear vocals and high tones. You don't need a subwoofer has this receiver drives bass easy. High praise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Atmos and x900h tv problems

STR-DN1080 25/11/2020 by digital4fun (Canada)

when using atmos from a sony x900h tv the amplifier puts out very loud clicks / popping noises in the speakers. The sony tv x900h combine with this amplifers is a disaster. Sound drops off for 15 seconds intervals. Harsh Popping noise when using pause and fast forward during atmos movies. Seriously disapointed and a lot of waisted time trouble shooting , my research as shown that many others have the same issues meanwhile calls to Sony have never helped. Now the receiver is gone for repairs , i expect it to come back exactly the same as it is probalbly a software issue making it hard to communicate with other sony products

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/11/2020

Hi digital4fun,

We are sorry to hear about what happened. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have in our product. We will surely take note of your feedback as we always strive to make this a better experience. We would like to ensure that you are taken care of. May we contact you to help and get more information? If so, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Issue:
Model Number:

We're looking forward to your message!

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Love the new features.

STRDN1080 23/11/2020 by Stormin Norman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My picture Quality improved on my television! Sound Quality is Awsome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fabulous sound!

STR-DN1080 15/11/2020 by MelNHead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The setting up was smooth sailing and had the unit up and working within an hour... including wiring the speakers in! The sound is well balanced and fabulous both for classical and rock/pop.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Receiver

STRDN1080 09/11/2020 by Jonnychistar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't been able to use it too much yet, but I was able to set it up and run it through some tests with music and Dolby Atmos videos. It sounds great and was very easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best bang for the buck

STR-DN1080 06/11/2020 by Dig 14 (USA)

Research told me this set was the best bang for the buck and they weren’t kidding. Right now I have a set of Atmos set up the AVR handles them expertly only thing I hate was I had to sacrifice my back surround speakers but you can phase the front surround to make up the difference. Also the Upscale is very good as well if you have 4 K. I definitely made the right choice I could have spent muck more and got much less.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing sound

STRDN1080 29/10/2020  (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this AV receiver after reading several glowing reviews. Almost returned this to Best Buy as I had trouble with initial set up. Seems like the remote was not interacting smoothly with the receiver. Needed to fiddle with the input selector knob and inserting and removing cables a few times before the set up issues would be resolved. Glad I decided to keep it as the amazing sound was a deal breaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/10/2020

Hi Melvin, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your
strdn1080. We're glad to hear you've managed to sort out the initial set up. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Looks Mean

STRDN1080 24/10/2020 by Bridge55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it set up, at 65 years old - it has great sound so far - will let you know after I get to watch a concert or good movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not compatible with Dolby Atmos in DD+

STR-DN1080 23/10/2020 by Tharaka (Canada)

I’m a IG fan of Sony, All my TV’s, 4K blu-ray players, headphones and portable music players are from Sony. But this unit disappointed me like no other. While this decode all audio formats without any issues when played from the Blu-ray player, literally unusable when streaming - ie when Dolby Atmos comes packaged in Dolby Digital Plus. It plays fine as long as you don’t pause or stop. When you pause or stop a really loud popping/cracking noise comes from the speakers. I use all high quality cables from Audioquest and monster and Kilmerkable for speakers. I actually upgraded my speaker and all cabling again to see if the issue go away. But it didn’t. On a quick google search revealed that I’m not alone on this. I tried to get help from Sony support and community but no one has the answer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2020

Hi Tharaka, thank you for being a long time Sony fan! We are glad that you like all audio formats, we regret that you're having an issue when streaming Dolby Atmos. We’d love to help you troubleshoot your problem. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

no good

STR-DN1080 16/10/2020 by disappointed in upstate (USA)

Everything works fine except the video. My television repeatedly turns on and off with this unit only. NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT!!!!!!! I either need to buy another brand home theater unit or replace a perfectly fine TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Amazing

STR-DN1080 15/10/2020 by Justinc87 (USA)

I believe Sony is the best brand, I’ve owned other brands like Harmon kardon and onkio and pioneer and Ken wood, but Sony has always been the best quality, and has always lasted the longest. I own the str dn 850, but used to have a DN 1030, till lightning struck it, but no repair shops really exist, however I wish that Sony would make affordable 8 ohm units rather than making them 6 ohms. I have to turn my unit up more than halfway to get good volum, other than that my product is amazing and would t trade it for the world. Hopefully Sony has plans to fix their balancing and calibrations on newer models to come. If my DN 850 were an 8 ohm receiver I would have no complaints ! I will always stand with Sony when it comes to home audio. I also love that you stick with the slick design for most models. However I’m in love with the design of the DN 1030 because you could use a knob to tune the unit rather than pushing buttons, I think Sony should add hdmi inputs to the front And stick with a design similar to the DN850, and combine it with the DN1030!!! Hopefully Sony will read my request and they’ll make a design that is like both those models!! Sony I believe definitely out lasts most other brands!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality for home cinema and stereo too

STR-DN1080 13/10/2020 by Galadier (USA)

I would have like to buy an amplifier, that has builtnin chromecast and also has good sound quality in stereo listenning. (We use 80% in stereo mode and 20% in cinema mode). However there is no built in internet radio and Deezer, but not needed, because there can be useable within chromecast and bluetooth as well from mobile phone. The competitor amplifiers have these apps with joking usability, so I do not miss them at all. The sound optimizer is feelable to vol.12 and it is enough to listen the silent music with well enjoyable sound quality without disturbing the neighbours. If you buy good cables and/or source it is remarkable on the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great AV Receiver

STRDN1080 10/10/2020 by CDicus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just spent the morning marking and sizing all the speaker cables, video cables, etc. Connected everything based on the Manual. Watched a couple good You Tube videos on how to program this unit. Spent about an hour programming. And everything sounded and looked great the first time I tested a Dolby Surround Movie! Next I’m purchasing the Sony 4K 65’ model 950H Smart TV w/ HDMI eARC!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Home Theater Receiver

STRDN1080 07/10/2020 by ljstartrek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver 6 months ago and it has provided me with satisfaction in its performance and versatility.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Music Sound Quaility

STR-DN1080 30/09/2020 by JohnD74 (USA)

The surround sound for a movie is good, but the power for music is very low. The 165 watts per channel seams like 50 watts per channel. The power efficiency out ways the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Top Notch

STR-DN1080 21/09/2020 by Nas41 (USA)

Hi normally I don’t have time to write reviews but this one is an exception. I’m an avid fan of Sony all my products for entertainment is from Sony. Brought this Amp to upgrade my old Sony Amp and I’m very impressed with the fuller sound that you get. I’m using 7 speakers and 2 Subs tried the conventional setup 7.1 for a few months and it don’t disappoint. Whole reason for this amp is the Atoms and DTS X now my setup is just that. No need to crank the volume up no more than 25 is just too loud smiles all the way for night time 15 on the master volume is enough to feel the cinematic soundtrack. Got all my devices plugged in and room for more still. The only 2 issues I have had is that when you turn the amp on and you select a input it doesn’t register the input signal so at times I have to rest the device (not the amp) then the signal is detected. Lastly when I turn the amp on for the 1st time any day I experience a popping noise from the speakers front left and right. All my cables are new including speakers can’t seem to fix but it’s a minor. Would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy to set up

STRDN1080 21/09/2020 by Huskeratheart (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago after a lightening strike fried the other receiver. Glad we did we now have true HDR and 4K Television on our Sony TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

FAILURE TO LAUNCH

STRDN1080 11/09/2020 by UBERPOP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WANTED ATMOS EXPERIENCE, NEW A/V, NEW BLU RAY, NEW SPEAKERS. $1600.00 WORTH OF PAPERWEIGHTS

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Amazing Receiver

STR-DN1080 11/09/2020 by Kydraiden (USA)

I Bought this about a month ago and I'm glad I did!! The Auto Cal is a amazing feature and it didn't disappoint. The Dolby Atmos is amazing. Everything is easy to navigate. Recommend for sure if your looking to move from Soundbar to your first Receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/09/2020 by Ants777 (United Kingdom)

Sound quality is superb. Options are great although I did expect a lot more options for music there only flaw is three chromecast cuts out every now and then but I use bluetooth for music anyway

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

easy setup

STRDN1080 06/09/2020 by kents (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very happy with sound / easy setup have always liked quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

TIDAL no longer works!

STR-DN1080 05/09/2020 by jasonfr1974 (USA)

Tidal no longer works with this unit due to Sony not updating in Chromecast Built-In software provided by Google. If you're looking to use this with Chromecast Audio, forget it. Sony doesn't update it so it will continue to work with current Chromecast Audio apps.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

AAA+++ BEST SONY I HAVE BOUGHT IN 30 YEARS!!!

STRDN1080 03/09/2020 by Deke1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have alway bought SONY for 30 years and I love the STR-DN1080. I am sure I will find something I may be unhappy with but me at being 73 yrs. Old, it's ok.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Decent performance, easy set up

STRDN1080 02/09/2020 by Marty H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit to replace a much heavier, much larger unit made by a competitor that died. The Sony unit is about half the weight, very easy to set up, much less complicated to operate and good at what it does. Using a Sony 4k Blu Ray player and a Sony Bravia TV makes it all work together nicely. The unit is responds slowly to menu items which is annoying. Overall the sound is pretty good - it plays SACD format well and that's what I really needed. But sadly, there are some Blu Ray disks (Lord of the Rings) that just cause problems such as severe breakup and distortion. That's using the HD Master audio channel. My old receiver didn't have that problem with the Klipsch surround sound 7.1 set I use. I do wish this unit had some nice optional audio enhancements such as adapting to different concert halls, etc. In the meantime, this will do.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Powerfully sound

STR-DN1080 24/08/2020 by Blesse (USA)

I brought it but i steel don't know how to operate it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Absolutely Fantastic !!!

STR-DN1080 21/08/2020 by MJJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

I owe this amazing receiver for over 6 month by now and can tell you that it's brilliant. The design, the sound quality, video processing and 4K pass through - all great! Dolby Atmos works like a dream too. Powerful, crystal clear full of depth sound, great bass, well what else you need??? I watch most of my content with Dolby Atmos on 4K ULTRA HD Blu-Ray Discs. All connected with my Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-Ray player & Sony 65" TV KD-65XF9005. Would be very happy to upgrade to a new model Sony UBP-X800M2 and benefit from Full HDR & Dolby Vision, but for the time been I'm pretty happy with what I've got. Sony is great again and multiple awards for this product just confirms that! Buy with confidence, you won't be disappointed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Does everything I need and more

STR-DN1080 30/07/2020 by spokeshave33 (United Kingdom)

Lived up to all expectations from the research I did

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features

STRDN1080 29/07/2020 by kkevic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is wonderful. It was easy to hook up. Everything is labeled in the rear for easy hookup. The on screen feature are great and it make it easy to move from playing movies to watch tv, bluetooth and much more. The sound out put is great. I would recommend this receiver

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clean Clear Sound, Bought Two

STR-DN1080 27/07/2020 by kens121 (USA)

I bought an STR-DN1080 to replace my old Sony DS4ES. I was skeptical because the DS weighs much more than the 1080. Then I hooked it up and the audio is so good I bought a second one for my work shop.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy setup

STRDN1080 06/07/2020 by john1000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality product with all options i was looking for

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great amp with no distortion, sounds great

STRDN1080 03/07/2020 by Billy0007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really happy that I purchased this Sony Amplifier

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worthless and Worthless support

STR-DN1080 27/06/2020 by Ryan4 (USA)

This is my 2nd receiver I have bought the 1040 and the 1080. I had the same issue happen on both rendering them useless. Sony refused to offer any support. Looks like it's a common problem. https://community.sony.co.uk/t5/home-cinema-projectors-players/str-dn1040-home-menu-gui-not-working/td-p/2384375 https://us.community.sony.com/s/question/0D50B00004IL1fRSAT/strdn1040-broken-home-menu-yellow-boxes?language=en_US Denon will get my money from now on.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Amazing

STRDN1080 25/06/2020 by nye34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago and got it working today. Everything is very easy to hook up and the features are amazing. It money well spent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very disappointed in receiver!

STRDN1080 10/06/2020 by None67 (USA)

Receiver is overly complex to operate! Example: Rafio presets took 4 seperate steps to set stations, then, can not be accessed without turning TV on and viewing presets. Bluetooth requires resetting source when used, as it resets itself when turned off. "Zone 2", where separate speakers can be set up in remote location, does NOT TURN OFF when turning off amp! Requires going to set up and at least 4 more steps to turn it off! Never did get cable box video to react TV through receiver. Had to bypass receiver with RBG cables to view picture. Instruction book lacks info on radio and bluetooth. Have to PAY EXTRA for those written instructions! I'll NEVER buy SONY again!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0