187

4.2 based on 187 customer reviews

113
40
9
10
15
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26/10/2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

187 Customer Reviews

0

outstanding receiver especially with Atmos speaker

STRDN1080 07/12/2018 by Peetie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this receiver in November, 2017. On November 16, 2018 the receiver would not power on. Sony made good on the warranty and is shipping me a new one. Now for the receiver itself. It has a nice rich sound. It is very easy to hook up and is quite user friendly. It is a great value so you won't be disappointed. Can't wait to get the new one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

STRDN1080 07/12/2018 by Travel Fiends (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this receiver the setup and ease of use iis great. The sound quality and power is excellent the only problem I have is with the remote. No selection for video 1 and 2.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great addition to my home theater

STR-DN1080 02/12/2018 by None_Bob (USA)

Love everything about it except one falls short. Let’s get the con out of the way first. One cannot drive your rear surround speakers via native Bluetooth. I was fed up running wires all over so I had to buy a unit that eliminated 2long runs from receiver to couch. Cost was another$100. I realized I wanted this feature after I bought it. Shame on me. But the unit itself does everything it’s supposed to. It interfaces with your iPhone and iPad seamlessly. Sound from tv is spectacular it’s very clear not like my old receiver. I’m out in the country and it brings in loads of stations. Would have liked a co-ax hookup for antenna. But wire does a good job.so overall I would definitely recommend this receiver but with the above 2 shortcomings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Powerful

STRDN1080 02/12/2018 by Jayaikido (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is a great addition to your home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A fully loaded AVR

STRDN1080 26/11/2018 by Beginner18 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has all the features I wanted. Excellent sound, easy to setup and use. a very good avr to setup a decent HTS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound is amazing

STRDN1080 25/11/2018 by Cliff72 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only been in use for 5 days but could not be happier with purchase, especially with black friday pricing. In fact, would have been happy at regular price. Clarity/detail with music is better than ever and movie listening is so much more immersive than with previous Denon receivers, which is not meant to slam Denon products in any way. Also, contrary to some reviews I've read, did not find gui to be not slow at all.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Failure to fix known issue of switching off of sat

STR-DN1080 23/11/2018 by Gator111 (USA)

When the receiver and TV are started it is on Sat/catv, within a few seconds it switches to home. Sony knows about this issue and refuses to fix it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony won't fix known bug

STR-DN1080 23/11/2018 by blex28 (USA)

Known issue of the receiver always going to the home screen if HDMI ARC enabled. This is even if you select a different source on the remote to turn on the receiver. Sony refuses to acknowledge or fix.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features

STR-DN1080 21/11/2018 by Karlos146 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this product about 3 weeks ago. The sounds is great. I also like the phantom speakers feature as well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound

STR-DN1080 21/11/2018 by cleo8101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally got hold of this AV receiver after months of admiring it online. I paired it with Sony XF90 TV and Bose acoustimass 10 speakers and the results are mind-blowing. The sound for both movies and music is superb and ease of use and setting up even easier. Installing the AV receiver speakers cables was a bit tricky but doable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Features for the Price

STRDN1080 18/11/2018 by Detrich (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fairly easy to setup and has many HDMI inputs. Sound quality is clear & crisp, and has many speaker inputs as well. If anything, it has too many features. I don't really use the wi-du unit, as I'm using the system as a 5.1 surround sound system hub (w/ 5 Sony speakers + Sony subwoofer) for my Sony 850XF Bravia via optical audio and CD/ tape deck via RCA. The surround sound calibration wizard is slightly confusing, and the user manual doesn't give a clear walk through or state what all the abbreviated choices mean. I actually had to look online for a user thread to get adequate info on how to complete it. Audio drift between my Sony X850F Bravia TV and the unit is minimal, though once in a while it's noticeable. Compared to my old Sony unit, which was a Dolby Surround Sound unit, this one is definitely clearer. But, the controls are mostly menu embedded and not easily accessed on the unit directly.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loving the simplicity

STR-DN1080 09/11/2018 by AB123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Followed reviews from What Hi-Fi magazine and couldn't be happier. Simple to set up and sound excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great after getting it set up correctly

STRDN1080 08/11/2018 by DBF_01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The system sounds great. It took a while to get it set up. I have a Sony 65 inch tv which I think made it easier. My problem was getting Youtube on the tv to come thru the receiver. Finally got the HDMI cable in the ARC port of the TV which solved the problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony AV Reciever

STRDN1080 04/11/2018 by PapaColt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for our new house so I can have one in my media room and family room

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Deal

STRDN1080 28/10/2018 by Terry2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it. Replaced a Denon receiver. This receiver has many more features, for a lot less money. Easy to set up and has worked little a champ.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26/10/2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

really good

STRDN1080 25/10/2018 by bobby2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent Unit. Fits my style. Looks good on my shelf.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy set up

STRDN1080 24/10/2018 by cadco777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found this 7.2 Channel Home Theater AV Receiver to be easy to set up. The remote found my TV without help from me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easey to set Up

STR-DN1080 19/10/2018 by Johngorlston (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the machine for a couple of weeks now, what can I say, hard to find fault very happy with it. Easy to set up, remote easy to read (no clutter just essential buttons) I think, however, a better warning there are 215 pages in the Help Manual. I would have selected back and front page printing had I know.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality

STR-DN1080 11/10/2018 by Karmjit (Canada)

I try onkyo, Yamaha, marantz but sony 1080 has good clean, heavy bass sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great when it works

STR-DN1080 08/10/2018 by Rayzak (USA)

I Need to reset it (sometimes multiple times in the row) to make it work. It just bugs-out every other week. Sony support is a nightmare.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

It does not sound good with bluray musicals

STR-DN1080 27/09/2018 by Juliofilth (USA)

When playing bluray with concerts, the basses are quite dim, that's very annoying. I hope that with a software update it will be solved soon. There are no complaints when playing music dvds or movies, that's why I do not put five stars !!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

awesome

STRDN1080 21/09/2018 by el cid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver last month and added a set of sony atmos speakers. The sound is incredible.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

New to Sony Receivers

STRDN1080 15/09/2018 by Bigdog49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this receiver for several months and have had no major issues, sound and picture pass through are fantastic. I found it a little challenging to set up, but between the receiver, booklet and You Tube I got it done. This receiver if heads above my previous 2 receivers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Awesome sound and great features!

STR-DN1080 14/09/2018 by Prodigy Square (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from pioneer and this avr has better sound and features. Zone feature work well to. I’m having issues with some devises failing to use the ARC feature. When connected the AVR keeps going to the home screen and is totally unusable until the device is disconnected. I have now opted to connect the devise straight to the TV instead and all is well. However, Sony must deal with the issue as other users have reported having the same challenge.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great features and easy setup option

STR-DN1080 12/09/2018 by Network analyst (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this and a 4k blu ray player for my media room, it was chosen as it was an award winner and has the features and inputs I needed. Setup was easy and following the on screen instructions. So overall very pleased with the product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Receiver Question

STR-DN1080 11/09/2018 by Bryan18 (Canada)

Does this receiver have a “Night Mode” feature? This feature is on the Onkyo.

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/09/2018

Hi Bryan,

Yes, this receiver has it's own Night mode under the preset settings, you can also customize it depends on your preferences.

Please refer to this link:

http://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221338

0

Adequate

STRDN1080 05/09/2018 by BPC3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

OK for the price. Does not have the capability to tune speakers from a remote location. Big flaw with people such as myself who have the unit in a remote location. Sony needs to address this issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

3

0

Great AVR, but lacks compatibility.

STR-DN1080 04/09/2018 by Fluorescent_Adolescent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish I had read more reviews about this AVR before... I have nothing to complain about the video or sound quality, it's just superb, Sony is always doing a great job. But Sony does have a dark past with compatibility, unless you have a Sony TV (which is not my case) you will have problems with ARC and HDMI Anynet+. Just so you know be prepared to deactivate the ARC and HDMI Control for your TV and Receiver if you don't want to have any glitches or lags with the video, apart from that , the AVR is everything you need. I have a PS4 Pro, a Sony UBP-x800 and a Samsung TV connected to the AVR, If It wasn't for the compatibility problems with the TV and the AVR, everything would be 100%, but I just deactivated the HDMI ARC and I am using a Digital Optical Cable to have the sound from the TV going to the Receiver. Apart from that I'm really happy with the product!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Over achiever!

STR-DN1080 28/08/2018 by Pietrovitch (USA)

I've had this receiver in my home theater system for over two months now and although I've already written an earlier review on the Best Buy site where I purchased it, I feel compelled to write another follow-up review now that I've had more time using it. Just as I wrote in my first review, I couldn't be more impressed with this receiver! I can't tell you how many times I've found myself bewildered at how good a job this receiver does enveloping me with such realistic and explosive sound during movies. As I mentioned in my previous review, because of a broken remote and some other issues, I reluctantly replaced my Pioneer Elite SC 82 with this Sony "mid-range" unit and was preparing myself to be disappointed, expecting to have to return it to my local Best Buy store. Obviously that never happened. In my humble opinion, not only does this receiver sound more dynamic and offer up much clearer dialogue, I'm also hearing background detail that I never heard through my Pioneer. Same goes for listening to music through this Sony receiver. I find myself streaming Spotify, Amazon music or just plain YouTube stuff as background music as I get stuff done around the house. I never felt compelled to do this through my Pioneer as it never seemed to sound good. Let's be clear, it won't ever replace my several thousand dollar two channel system for music play back but I do find myself listening through the Sony unit more often out of convenience and because it's that good sounding! Btw, I recently purchased a Sony xbr 930e tv and I couldn't be more happy with this Sony product as well. All I can say is FANTASTIC JOB SONY at creating such outstanding products! At such an accessible price point the str1080 is a total over achiever!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

blew up after 2 months and not covered by warranty

STRDN1080 27/08/2018 by GaryGray (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this along with a 4K blu ray player in may.. two months later we had a storm in Florida and both devices blew up .. the Blu Ray player just opens and closes the tray repeatedly and the receiver just says "Protection" and powers off. Only happened to the Sony devices. I called for support and was basically told to pound sand... they weren't covered for that. If it was designed right it would have survived.... my other equipment did fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

12

0

Very solid and overall medium high end receiver

STRDN1080 23/08/2018 by MarcinL81 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a week ago after trying Onkyo 676 and Dennon3400X. Very easy setup especially using the included microphone. The User Interface is neatly laid out and although after reading several reviews about the latency of the UI, I have not experienced it myself. In-fact the latency on android TVs made by Sony has been longer than this so perhaps I'm used to it or am very patient. Watched multiple movies and really gave it a good test and I'm not disappointed in what I've heard so far and this receiver really outperformed Onkyo and Dennon in terms of quality of sound as well as user interface. 2 small glitches that are very minimal but something that might be helpful because it stumped me when setting this up and using it 1) Make sure to configure your settings for the type of movie/sound you're watching. For example make sure that for Dolby Atmos tracks you setup your configuration to show that you have upfiring/height speakers and set it to 5.1.2 (FD). However if you leave it in that setting than any movie with DTS:X track will not activate your upfring/height speakers and you'll lose out on the experience. Make sure when you're watching a movie with DTS:X track you'll set your configuration to 5.1.2 (FH). So while there are a lot of reviews saying this receiver doesn't support height speakers for DTS:X configuration, that is not true. I wish Sony would do an update and make the receiver automatically realize what track is playing and auto switch to proper setting so that people wouldn't have to make this change manually every time. Now if you have speakers in your ceiling you can leave it at 5.1.2 (TM) and then you won't have to worry about it. 2) Several times after finishing a movie that doesn't have an Atmos track and only has Dolby TrueHD track like Harry Potter or Clear and Present Danger and putting in a movie that has Dolby Atmos track the receiver didn't recognize it and it stated Dolby TrueHD on an Atmos track. It really shocked me and almost thought it was a defective model but a simple power off/power on function solved the problem. Now mind you I was playing around and inserting 6-7 movies back to back to test out the gear, but typically I would watch 1 movie and then turn off my stuff so probably won't matter in a long run, but might be helpful to those just to powercycle your receiver if you find that you chose an Atmos track and it still shows Dolby TrueHD from previous movie. Overall very pleased with this receiver and oh by the way very pleased with the Sony upfiring speakers as well. Even with the ceiling height of 11 feet the speakers did provide a very generous overhead sound on Atmos tracks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good Sound

STRDN1080 21/08/2018 by Irbm65 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

replaced a Sony ES and now all my speakers work as they should. navigation is easy and intuitive with the supplied remote

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Another great product.

STR-DN1080 21/08/2018 by GregC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a Sony man all my life and bought this as an upgrade from my previous STR-DB780 and I am not disappointed. The setting up of the speakers with the microphone supplied was an absolute doddle, and the final result is superb, far better than my previous unit where distances etc. had to be put in manually. The clarity and range of the sound just has to be heard. Bluetooth receive and transmit was another feature that influenced my decision, and the ability to control the unit from my smartphone including playing music stored on my phone is a bonus. However.........I am also old enough to have a large vinyl collection and I was disappointed to find that there is no phono input as on my old unit. This means that I have had to invest in a preamp to enable my turntable to be used. I think this is a retrograde omission particularly as there is now a resurgence of vinyl.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

can i setup a poweramp

STR-DN1080 19/08/2018 by starman27 (USA)

i just got the 1080 and i would like o o if i can setup a poweramp

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

STRDN1080 16/08/2018 by Duckyone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and after connecting some good speakers it works wonderfully.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Value for money, sound and pictures!

STR-DN1080 12/08/2018 by Jimny (United Kingdom)

Having had this receiver for a couple of months now (Aug '18) I can say it has achieved all my requirements. It plays !usic from my NAS, connects my TV box, disc player and TV together seemlessly and plugs into the network without fuss. The sound quality is excellent, as good if not better than higher priced boxes from a few years back. The picture pass through works fine and there are enough connections on the back to satisfy most peoples' needs. Looks good, sounds even better and you should shortlist this receiver at least. Only gripe is that the options on search for the NAS server are slow but by using the pad/phone app instead the problem goes away. No doubt better ones will appear in time but for now, this is the one you are looking for Obi-One.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony amp

STR-DN1080 05/08/2018 by Daveto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the Sony str dn 1080 about 2 weeks and am still learning what it can do. So far it produces excellent sound which is the main reason for buying it, the other features I’m adding a bit at a time. The Bluetooth is the latest I’ve setup, it seems to me the sound is a bit flat but I’ve yet to try different settings on iPod. I am using it in a 5.1 setup. It is years ahead of what my previous amp could do and look forward to exploring other aspects of it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Sound

STRDN1080 02/08/2018 by Tobeydad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with the receiver it has great sound and reception.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Two stars only!

STR-DN1080 30/07/2018  (United Kingdom)

Very disappointed with this. Firstly the positive is the sound is great but unfortunately the anynet feature does not work. I have a brand new arc compatible tv and a blue ray player and when anynet is set to on I could not see the amp menu on the tv so having researched a couple of blogs I switched anynet off and presto all devices worked fine but this meant I had to use an optical lead for sound. This is not bad as the optical is faster than arc and therefore lip sync is much better. Another disappointment is the amp menus take an age to appear on screen, it is really slow switching devices and I am not able to use the tv feature on the amp remote to switch the device to tv. To be fair to Sony they don’t guarantee this but having paired the remotes I was hoping with the new technology that would work but it doesn’t so you still have to juggle remotes and with the slow amp menu it is a pain. So sound is great but features are poor. I guess if you were using with a Sony tv it may be ok but with other brands you may get the same issues as me so do your homework before you buy and ask the retailer if these features will work with your equipment in advance. Trek.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

Best yet

STR-DN1080 28/07/2018 by Mick72 (United Kingdom)

I bought this AV a month ago and now having been used for most types of broadcasts, I can say I am very pleased with the Audio quality across the range. In conjunction with my new Sony Oled TV and Sony 4K 800 Blu-ray player, the Dolby Atmos function is superb coming out of my Crystal Acoustic speakers. This AV truly enhances, movie sound tracks and music too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wireless but can’t use wireless

STRDN1080 25/07/2018 by Salant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this SONY wireless receiver to use as my bass for all my systems I am strictly a SONY person After a lot of agriivatiom I was told it would not run my wireless speakers & had to return the SONY speakers

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Could be improved

STRDN1080 15/07/2018 by dragonpark (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall, the receiver is great, however there are some things that need to be improved upon. First and foremost, whenever you turn on a device the 'Home' screen is displayed. There is NO way to disable this without completely disable CEC. Disabling CEC prevents you from using some universal remotes that rely on it such as the LG Magic remote (which I have) and maybe even the Bravia remote (however I do not have this). This is one feature that is an absolute must and I would be much happier with the unit if I could disable the 'Home' screen without disabling CEC. Additionally, I can't seem to find a default on volume option. I would prefer the device turn on to a preset volume so I am not blasted when it turn it on if the volume was previously turned very loud. Outside of this, the unit works as expected. I would honestly return the unit due to these issues, but it was purchased using a gift card and this was the only quality receiver that was sold by the store that I had the gift card to.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Many Features Solid Performance

STRDN1080 14/07/2018 by OTACORB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace a 6 year old Sony AV Receiver. It worked perfectly until they day I replaced it and it still going strong at a new home. I am very please with the STR-DN1080. I especially find the airplay, and chromecast support good. Honestly between airplay, chromecast and bluetooth you will be able to connect to this receiver. Sound quality is very good and I was able to set it up, calibrate it without any issues. 4K HDR and Dolby Vision look great via passthru. I going to setup my add on Atmos speakers and I am sure I will be blown away. Seems this receiver has latest of everything. If you stream music you can connect via the internet. The receiver can also be upgraded via the internet which is nice. Highly recommend this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good all rounder

STR-DN1080 12/07/2018 by Odcrypt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The reason I bought this amp is that I seen great reviews and on the plus side it has Dolby vision through an update

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Hits a Home Run!

STRDN1080 07/07/2018 by Daedalus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this rig yesterday, my second Sony Amp in 20 years. This replaced a Yamaha RX-V681 due to failing audio pickup on the newer audio requirements. Out of the box this beast is shear majestic simplistic beauty. Installing 7.2 is timely but checked all the corresponding speaker configurations as I installed each. Wow! Sounds are so overwhelming. The interface is simple, I like that for guests. Only one drawback when Auto Calibration was finally run, my sub-woofer was at +10 db (way too much bass), and centre was -3.0 db ( a tad too quiet). Returned to 0 db each and combined with the phantom preset B, and sounds I have NEVER heard before came to life. Thank you Sony for showing the world you are still in leagues with the big boyz. There are so many features, its going to take time to get to know her!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

STR-DN1080 7.2 4K Dolby Atmos receiever

STRDN1080 02/07/2018 by Techtopper (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ok my Sony XBR-900e needed a sound upgrade. Went to Bestbuy paid 499+ tax. 1st impressions. Spectacular! User- friendly! Packed with features. Hooked up 2 Klipsch towers & a Klipsch sub. It recognized them thru the provided calibration mic. It even allows you to individually adjust the treble and bass on each speaker. Or it can make multiple adjustments automatically distance,height,etc. Powerful sound & crystal clear. Then I connected my Galaxy S9+ via bluetooth it recognized it immediately. Opened my music streaming app Deezer & my playlist was crystal clear with a rock-solid connection. Then I thru in a 4k disc via my Xbox One S and it passed the signal thru flawlessly with booming sound and excellent separation. Has Google chromecast & all the features you could want. It even popped my popcorn! Lol. This is a keeper guys. I'm a happy camper. My only small quibbles are. 1. The remote center/enter button is to flush with the surrounding circular buttons. It should be raised or lowered so you can hit it by feel instead of having to search for it. And a backlit one would be nice even if sold separately. 2, The provided FM antenna is a super thin piece of wire that's a joke. But both of those minor quibbles don't detract from an otherwise great product.Thanks Sony your 2/2 so far. 1.XBR-900E 2. STR-DN1080 I give 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Everything I wanted + more

STRDN1080 01/07/2018 by Mdspurbe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded my Sony Str-dn 1040, which I fully enjoyed. I expected similar quality, sound and up to date features, I wasn't disappointed! This is an amazing value. It offers great theater sound and is excellent for listening to music. Easy, intuitive set up. Really like the on screen menu. The automated set up does a really good job and it's nice to have the options to tweak the settings to your own preferences. I'm living this system as much as I did the previous system. I will likely stick with Sony for my home theater system in the many years to come. I am picky about these things and always read reviews. Both my prior system and this one recieved glowing reviews. It's clear to me that Sony knows what they are doing and will continue producing solid AV home theater systems.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Receiver

STRDN1080 27/06/2018 by Mash04 (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product 2 months ago and the Bluetooth goes of and on, there is a constant humming sound being produced. Not too happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/06/2018

Hi Mash04,

We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Let's try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps, kindly check this link:

http://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221176.html

0

A Dream Receiver.

STRDN1080 25/06/2018 by steve19711 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got my DN1080 on the 14th of this month and I couldnt be happier. Easy and simple setup and the sound of Dolby Atmos and DTSX blew me away! The DN1080 is paired up with my Sony XBR 55inch X900E and my Sony 4K Blu ray player the x800 and it's a match made in heaven to my eyes and ears. Anyone looking for an top notch AVR from Sony then look no further because the STR-DN1080 is it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fine build quality and state of the art technology

STR-DN1080 20/06/2018 by JJak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This AV receiver gives me the versatility of combining UHD Blu-ray and Sky with my UHD TV. Works flawlessly. Picture and Sound are superb.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So pleased I chose this unit...

STR-DN1080 18/06/2018 by Streetly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect unit for D-Atmos with Sky-Q and works and absolute treat. Love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unreliable receiver

STR-DN1080 12/06/2018 by Bharat56 (United Kingdom)

Bought in Feb 2018. Broken down 4 times since purchase and hav ego do repeated factory resets. Greta sound when it works

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Super purchase!

STR-DN1080 06/06/2018 by Delta4SJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Found system a dream to set up. Auto-calibration identified a loose wire and saved me a lot of time. Sounds fantastic, a world of difference from my old Sony system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Virtual 7.2 surround a treat.

STR-DN1080 01/06/2018 by Maxigooner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All you would expect from a class AV Reciever with a nice trick up it’s sleeve. Also add a second sub for more texture to your thump.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sounds like it needs to be Apple Compatible

STR-DN1080 27/05/2018 by wpbattle (USA)

Just ordered this, and found out it's Android compatible.. I hope it works seamlessly with IOS, I'm an Apple man!

2

7

0

Beautiful sound and user interface!! Minor flaws

STR-DN1080 23/05/2018 by GUERRILLA_99 (USA)

Was very excited about hooking up this receiver with my 5.1 Def Tech Bookshelves and SVS sub-woofer. Coming from a very respectable Yamaha receiver, i had high expectations and most of them all came through when i ran my calibration. The features are great and the sound quality is top tier. The user interface is very clean and looks professional & intuitive. My favorite feature besides being able to play DOLBY ATMOS and DTS X is the Phantom Rear speakers option!! It is quite amazing and really does work well in any set up you have. My biggest flaw with this receiver is when connected to the PS4 no matter what options i try, certain playback or audio only goes through as 2.1 Channel (Spotify etc). I never ran into this on my Yamaha Receiver, but i do want to mention that with the S Force Pro and Phantom Speakers, at first i was fooled thinking they were on and playing until i stood by my surround rears. Overall definitely recommend if you want an easy great full sounding receiver that can make you say WOW! if you have the right set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Good Sound & Features, Nagging Software Problems

STR-DN1080 22/05/2018 by ChiTownDude (USA)

I was a "first adopter" of this Sony receiver last year, at the same time I purchased a new 75" Sony HDR television. I have a rather high-end system with 7.2 speakers (Revel) in a nice media room. This receiver drives the Revel speakers to even unreasonable levels without problem. I like the integration between this receiver and the Sony TV, although disappointed that Sony clings to the very flawed Android system. The receiver has one serious issue that I've reported several times to Sony, as have many others judging by comments elsewhere. The receiver doesn't stay in the audio format selected - if you select "Dolby Surround", it will jump to "all speakers" or 2 channel stereo for no particular reason. You have to find the remote and switch it back. It should stay locked to the format the user selects, irregardless of the audio input. Several firmware upgrades have failed to fix this problem.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Great features/Sony quality

STRDN1080 21/05/2018 by popps101 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this just to update from my DN1060 to the latest features that the DN1080 offer's, so I can best utilize my Klipsch Atmos ss system !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 1080

STR-DN1080 14/05/2018 by Joseph68975 (USA)

i enjoyed using my Sony 1080. it is awesome. i have a 7.2 Dolby atmos configuration at home with height speakers. the sound was amazing, kind of like being at the Harkins theatre. i am loving every bit. Thank you for such a Sony Atmos Receiver product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and features. Energy hog

STRDN1080 09/05/2018 by Ignatios (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with his reciever in many ways. It has a good sound, a clean look, and it has all the features I wanted. Set up was easy and the auto calibration did a nice job. Not regretting the purchase and hoping to have it for a while. On he down side, this is a replacement unit. The first one arrived with a bad front right channel and I had to exchange it. Factory QA should have caught that, and I wonder if Sony performs preshipping QA checks. But at least this unit is working well, for now. Also, he remote is a bit cheap and the menu while better than other models, is slow and clumsy. I expect a cleaner interface from Sony. But my biggest gripe is energy efficiency. It is 2018 and amps are still wasting as much heat as they did forty years ago. Sony is supposed to be an industry leader. Why no decent sounding, well priced, energy efficient A.V. recievers no one would even buy a tv that heated up like home amps do. of course it isn’t just Sony, but some one has to move us out of the 1970s. Is Sony not up to that task? Issues aside, I am happy with the purchase and it’s sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Matches my system, works well with Sony 65 A8

STRDN1080 08/05/2018 by Dr Ron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have complete Sony system, TV, Reciever, DVD. All play 4g and they work well together for an excellent viewing and hearing experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound and easy to set up

STR-DN1080 04/05/2018 by Zuli (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first ever AV receiver so can't compare to others, Thr build quality is second to none and setting it up was very easy all the speakers were calibrated automatically to give the best sound possible for your sitting position Everything was connected to the AV and worked great sync it with my Sony 4k tv and everything was done automatically

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Receiver

STRDN1080 30/04/2018 by Rockstar55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and found it to be extremely easy to set up. I wanted something that was current with technology and this unit has it all. I previously owned a Denon and a replacement unit didn't compare to features, sound and value for the dollar. Excellant deal! Would highly recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/04/2018 by RB1978 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed an upgrade once I had bought my first UHD tv, I had chosen one from the new Sony FX range and so I didn't want to pair it with a poor AV Receiver. The 1080 hasn't disappointed, great sound easy setup. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it so far

STRDN1080 22/04/2018 by Cidershyr (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this a month ago and so far no complaints. Was easy to install and we have noticed a great improvement over our previous system. Sound is amazing and love the updated features.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent receiver!

STRDN1080 20/04/2018 by rpaz (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use. Enjoying my dolby atmos surround sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Power house amplifier

STR-DN1080 17/04/2018 by Adam72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing features, great build quality, easy to set up, lives up to the Sony brand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Test the rest of your system

STR-DN1080 11/04/2018 by One1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a few weeks ago and now got attached components workig more satisfactory than previous receivers. Now able to stream wireless from laptop

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/04/2018 by Andylkwb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, really happy with it, especially being able to listen to a large quantity of FLAC music files. Wish the built in Chromecast played videos and the USB music player showed album art. DAB would also have been nice. Not biggies or being negative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The sound is wonderful, but I need some help

STRDN1080 08/04/2018 by pjau (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot get an ARC-connection established. And I can't get the ARC the CEC connection to my Sony KDL60NX720 to work. That is:..... Last night it worked fabulously, including for the attached Amazon Fire Stick - but today it won't do any of the above. I still like the idea, so I am hopeful that I will get some support on this. If yes, I will definitely let everyone know out there...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Committed Sony man.

STR-DN1080 05/04/2018 by BigonksDad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought because I have numerous Sony products that I wanted to tie together, so far worked OK, although haven't put it fully to test (no 4k TV connected as yet) the near future will probably see that sorted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0