329

4.1 based on 329 customer reviews

191
63
27
22
26
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26/10/2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

329 Customer Reviews

0

Easy

STRDN1080 15/05/2020 by Kb9srh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product. Looks good and easy to set up. Sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Another Great Device from Sony

STRDN1080 09/05/2020 by LeoMV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Device has many distinctive features and sync with ProCinema 6D Speaker System i bought and the Bravaria TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blown away by the huge sound improvement

STR-DN1080 23/04/2020 by Nasimul40 (United Kingdom)

I’m an avid Sony customer have two LCDs Blu-ray PS4 and an str de-497, just upgraded to this much talked about DN 1080 and it’s exactly as it says on the tin. The sound is much fuller compared to my previous amp loving all the streaming services perfect for my 7.2 set up works a treat with Cambridge Audio minx 22 plus 201 sub

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Total piece of Garbage

STR-DN1080 17/04/2020 by Supergrimm (USA)

Failed a second time, this one just out of warranty. Totally bricked and unusable. No support from Sony. Absolute joke for the $.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Shuts off

STRDN1080 12/04/2020 by Reggie 65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This model does not function as well as the previous model! It shuts off during movies and while playing music! I'm in the process of sending it back! I'm not happy!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good sound but no individual control of subwoofer

STR-DN1080 09/04/2020 by SportyPete (United Kingdom)

As a system is good to get running. I would like more individual control over the subwoofer. I'm also connected to a Sony Smart TV and I can't listen to YouTube videos through the STR-DN1080. I can only listen through TV speakers

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great features

STRDN1080 31/03/2020 by Sprinman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month and love it and enjoy the features way to go

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

5 months and the unit quit

STR-DN1080 27/03/2020 by Devin67 (Canada)

Bought this 5 months ago, last few days the screen started to flicker, this morning it wont display video or audio, just static. Also with the covid outbreak the repair places are closed so i cant even get it fixed under the factory warrenty, or the extended waranty i paid for!. So now im out 700$ on this unit and have to buy a new one. AWESOME!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/03/2020

Hi Devin67, this is not the experience with like you to have. We are sorry if the receiver quit working after several months of use. Please allow us to help you and drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Awesome features, easy to use.

STRDN1080 14/03/2020 by glmaedl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got the Sony STR-DN1080 about 3 weeks ago, and we are loving it! In contrast to our old receiver, this Sony is very easy to set up and operate. The extensive features are simple to manage and understand, and it works perfectly with our other Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Seamless Chromecast but has atmos issues

STR-DN1080 27/02/2020 by Reeces pieces (USA)

sound and integration with google cast is great! had all the features I wanted but... Issues: sound cuts and intermittent speaker popping when streaming from my 950g tv connected via earc with an ultra high speed hdmi cable. specifically when streaming dolby atmos content. I have a 5.1.2 set up and have changed HDMI cables, multiple resets, connecting reciver and tv to LAN and over wifi (connected over fiber with 1gb network speed), I even changed all speaker wire to a larger gauge this was not fun due to all speakers being in-wall in-ceiling. none of the steps I have taken fixed my issue. hopefully an update will happen or I will need to change my AV to a different brand

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

My very first receiver and it's great!

STRDN1080 20/02/2020 by Kpon (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to use and it looks great! The calibration for Dobly Atmos is very cool. The weird part is that when I have it off. It sometimes randomly turn on and off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2020

Hi, Kpon20035922!

We're glad that you appreciate the use of this unit. Related to the power issue, please check the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00032091

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Great receiver

STRDN1080 12/02/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great receiver, I'm so glad I made this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HDMI Issues

STR-DN1080 09/02/2020 by Grizly87 (USA)

I bought this is 2018 and initially it sounded good. After 2 weeks audio kept cutting in and out on the HDMI to TV. Ended up putting it in the basement and bought a different receiver.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Difficult Set-up

STRDN1080 06/02/2020 by zdkb02 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was a bit of a pain to set up. No hard copy instructions provided. Downloaded PDF from web but to scroll through the 70+ pages a pain to find the right section. Had issues with setting up a simple 5.1 speaker system that were mounted ceiling. It kept pushing me to a different setting and then said I was missing 2 speakers. Finally got to the right place by accident. Needed to be at 5.1 with a ---. Then everything worked. Then could go to Audio Settings and say these are ceiling mounted speakers. The remote center Select button is a little small and not raised up high enough from the 4 arrow buttons. Had issues with it too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

a great replacement for my STR DN1000

STRDN1080 30/01/2020 by DangerousDirk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking to replace my 10 year old STR DN1000 receiver, which had served me well over the years. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews and I have found that there was a lot of positive feedback on this DN1080. I got it a few days ago, and it was easy to setup. I really like that I can connect to wifi with it, and also to my phone so I can play music over my home theater speakers. This has plenty of HDMI slots which is nice, because I was maxed out at 4 on my DN1000 and I have a lot of stuff (apple tv, ps4, xbox one, xbox 360) so it's nice to have room for other items. I have a 5.1 surround system and this DN1080 utilizes it beautifully from what I've seen thus far. I am planning on upgrading my front speakers to something with built in atmos speakers to get the full use out of what this receiver can do. I didn't even knock off a star for this, because I don't really use it because I have a universal remote, but the included remote just felt cheap, and Sony usually has decent remotes. again, I didn't buy this thing for the remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Amazing Piece of equipment

STR-DN1080 29/01/2020 by SweatyPalms (USA)

The guys at Best Buy tried to talk me into a Denon. I've been using Sony A/V receivers for as long as I can remember. I'm happy I stuck with Sony on this one. The sound is incredible and the on-screen user interface is excellent. My home theater now has Atmos and it sounds amazing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Audio/Video cuts out

STRDN1080 28/01/2020 by Fred 5564 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this STR-DN1080 receiver since October 2017 and am only now writing a review. This receiver is connected to a Sony Bravia TV XBR75X850E and an Xbox1 via a HDMI cables. Speakers are a Bose/Klipsch combo. This receiver is great... when it works. It has an issue where audio and video will cut in and out after switching to SAT/CATV from Game (Xbox1). The *only* way to resolve the cutting in/out is to simply turn the entire system, TV and receiver, off and turn back on. I've tried swapping out all HDMI cables and ensured the receiver and TV have the latest firmware. I read reviews of others with similar issues as mine but saw no viable solutions provided by Sony. This is annoying of course and there is no reason to have paid this amount of money to have this type of issue persist for years. It is because of this scenario with this receiver that I now scour the internet for user reviews for anything I plan to buy... placing blind loyalty in a brand is a recipe for being duped into purchasing sub-par components.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Annoying Sleep Timer. Great sound!

STR-DN1080 25/01/2020 by Steve305 (USA)

I purchased this December 16, 2019 and it’s already giving problems. The one minute sleep timer kicks in after 40 minutes of use. Never turned or activated it. Comes on every day after it is initially turned on. Annoying! The plus is it sounds great. But can’t get pass the annoying sleep timer. Hence only 3 stars. Sony quality control???

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound but outdated Google features

STR-DN1080 16/01/2020 by 123mill (Canada)

Good sound for price but the Google assistant features are lacking and outdated, so would look to other brands

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi, 123mill!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Decent 5.1 receiver, but not a true 7.1.2 AV AMP

STR-DN1080 08/01/2020 by rabidsquirrel (USA)

I bought this believing the 7.1.2 verbiage on the descriptions. This amp doesn't do it. It is a 5.1.2 receiver that simulates a 7.1.2 sound field via audio processing. Sony, please market and describe these units as such. I didn't have as much time to research this amp prior to purchasing it. I feel that the descriptions of the unit I read (Sony and external media reviewers) mislead me into believing this receiver could support a 7.1.2 speaker configuration (Providing power to 8 theater speakers - 8 discreet amplifiers, plus outputs for 2 active subwoofers). Now I have to figure out if I can power the two additional surround speakers with a seperate component amp in a way that effectively incorporates them in the dolby atmos sound field processed by this receiver... I think it is fair to say that I feel a bit suckered by that. BestBuy was offering a killer discount for this receiver over the holiday and I had a BestBuy giftcard burning a hole in my pocket at the time of purchase, so I made a somewhat impulsive purchasing decision while I was buying a new TV. Source switching (HDMI) could be smoother/better/faster, but it's not a mood killer for me. Not sure if this is more of a software issue, switching HW or some combo of the two. All these issues aside, it does sound great in 5.1.1 (Adding a second sub soon) with quality 6 ohm speakers (Using a combination of Dayton Audio AMT towers and AMT bookshelf speakers at present). It's a nice amp overall, and when it's on-sale, a great value for a 5.1.2 receiver. Unfortunately my latest Sony product experience with this receiver was degraded a bit by misleading specs, descriptions and reviews labeling it as a 7.1.2 integrated receiver. I'm not even sure if it will actually process the 7 (I.e. 7.1.2) channels correctly if I do happen to add a dedicated amp for the 2 additional channes to make my 7.1.2 speaker config work correctly. Not looking forward to figuring that out, Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

5

0

Excellent sound

STRDN1080 07/01/2020 by DonaldoO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is amazing, great features easy to install highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Couldn't get audio & video to play at a same time

STRDN1080 06/01/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this model on Dec. 27th, 2019 to replace my Pioneer outdated A/V receiver. Connected the wiring to my projector then faced the problem of not able to play video and audio in the same time. I was only able to display video with no audio, or audio with no video regardless of whatever configurations I did on the Settings input channels.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Excellent sound and power!

STRDN1080 05/01/2020 by Naughty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So glad I bought this Reciever, and got a smoking Black Friday deal!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Sound

STRDN1080 03/01/2020 by Robert77777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Sound, calibration was easy and I can sit in the sweet spot. Only problem is that it shuts down unexpectedly for protection error. Need a better explanation of why it is shutting down and a solution to solving the protection error. Also the speaker's connections took lots of time to connect. Need to be able to rename the imputs like the FM Stations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Two years, two months after purchase IT FAILED

STRDN1080 01/01/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upset, moving to another manufacture for electronic equipment. If a high end receiver cannot make it past the two year warranty only to fail a month or two after it means it is time to move to Onyx, Dennon or another.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

The amp failed to connect to any of the components

STR-DN1080 01/01/2020 by Gus2020 (USA)

I bought the srt dn 1080 in June 2019 by October 2019 it had failed to connect to anything. Sony's website gave steps to reset the amp. I followed it.. since October... now is Jan 1 2020 the amp has remained in "clearing" mode. Sony knows about this problem with this amp but has not acknowledged it. This is very poor service. Now I have worthless plastic solder and aluminium instead of an amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Features!

STRDN1080 30/12/2019 by George15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver a month ago and so glad I did. Sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality AV receiver

STR-DN1080 21/12/2019 by KTO_UK (United Kingdom)

Bought this with some Q accoustics speakers. Excellent sound quality and design, very easy to use and set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

extremely annoying flaws

STR-DN1080 17/12/2019 by JP19 (USA)

**Why wasn't this published? I received an email confirming it was approved, however I can't find it on the page. Resubmitting again.** This receiver turns itself and the TV back on roughly 10-20 seconds after you turn it off every single time, requiring you to repeat the process. Also, after changing inputs on the remote, the receiver switches you to the home screen, so you have to select your input again. After a few weeks, these bugs will combine to drive you insane. Did some investigating, and it looks like it is due to the HDMI control (CEC) not playing well with my Samsung TV. Sony Support suggestions: 1) Turn off Control for HDMI (CEC). -Ok this fixes the issue above, but now using the receiver with Netflix is a huge hassle, and I have to use separate remotes for the volume and powering on/off the devices. You're just switching problems 2) Get a Bravia TV 3) Talk to Samsung about it Obviously these suggestions are not helpful. The sound is fine, but I could have gotten a cheaper one, with more channels, that doesn't make me want to throw it through the window. Ultimately I was able to solve the first issue with a universal remote, but the home screen issue is still present. This is just terrible UX design. It's hard to believe Sony couldn't fix this with a firmware update (other receiver brands don't seem to have these issues) however they prefer to simply blame the TV manufacturer. Unacceptable, and will make me shy away from future Sony purchases.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

0

Ease of use/great for gaming/watching tv/movies.

STR-DN1080 13/12/2019 by Al56 (United Kingdom)

4 months in and the str-1080 keeps on impressing me. For the price it was well worth the investment to future proof myself for Atmos (sky Q/amazon prime/uhd bluray). Sounds are warm and enveloping through wharfedale diamonds, especially strings/piano. Really intuite setup. Literally set and forget. Make sure you use a 4K HDMI cable from amp to tv (at least).Really happy with purchase. The remote could be a little weightier, though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Built-In chromecast stopped working

STR-DN1080 12/12/2019  (USA)

I replaced my old trusty DN850 for this, and I was really happy with it in the beginning. Great features, a lot of power, and a very good price point. However, a couple a months casting with the built-in Chromecast stopped working, due to obsolete firmware, and Sony has yet to roll out a new firmware. It's not a specific issue to my unit either. Part of the reason I bought this was so that I could stream lossless music to Tidal, and this isn't possible anymore. Kind of regret selling my DN850 now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Returned it for a Denon model.

STRDN1080 08/12/2019 by Johnny005 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really wanted to fall in love with this AVR unit. Playing music on it sounds great, and the GUI for setup is a nice touch. But there where just too many little quirks and issues with it. Too many to list here. Long story short, I returned and got a Denon model in the same price range that is a flawless unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Outstanding Sound Quality!!!

STRDN1080 06/12/2019 by The FISHnFoolSound guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased this unit STR-DN1080 three days ago, after 11 years with my last Sony Receiver STR-DH700 it was time to update! I went with this unit because of the power and for all the different features that this unit offered and for the ease and simplicity it has and was to set up and I am Very Pleased with my decision to go with this receiver STR-DN1080, The sound quality is OUTSTANDING and the clarity and quality of the sound are just AMAZING The DOLBY ATMOS is INCREDIBLE the lows and highs are so clear and defined and the bass seems to come from the where the action is on the screen when you are watching a 4K movie the surround sound is just OUTSTANDING!!!!! A+++++

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Kind of disappointing

STR-DN1080 03/12/2019 by RFMI (USA)

Bought it to replace an older Sony product that failed after a good long service life. Besides more power I expected better sound quality, which I haven't found yet. Audio tone or EQ as they refer to it is woefully under impressive. Bass & treble ONLY for front,center & surround but no control of the sub woofer, which I have all the way up but still can barely hear. I had better sound & more control from the old unit which had half the power. Everything sounds compressed - can't get enough bass even with a SW - depressing for the $$ I spent. You can now control settings from the TV or the unit but unfortunately some things you can only set from the screen so you almost have to have the screen on to just play the radio. Also doesn't handle analog video very well - can only play analog video through the monitor out but you can only change setting through the HDMI out. should be a better way. Instructions are also weak as they don't clearly point out what I just said, plus for most of the manual you have to go online.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

So far so good

STRDN1080 02/12/2019 by WINGHAY (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to setup FM stations. Its very hard to setup. It shoud have easy auto setup and save all radio statons. I tried it for four days, up to now I still cannot find ways to store FM stations.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
07/12/2019

Hello, WINGHAY!

Please check the link below to learn more on how to preset or save FM stations on your receiver:

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221312.html

Regards,
Zac

0

Finding the product serial number

STRDN1080 18/11/2019 by Chico5757 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Serial number not easy to read once set up. It should be displayed on the box also

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

not reliable

STR-DN1080 17/11/2019 by mikeh56 (USA)

mine had hdmi output trouble after 12 months , sound was good before repair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Multiple feature

STR-DN1080 14/11/2019 by Steve 0106 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to hdmi passthrough on this amp but can be a little complicated getting everything to work as it should..... menu scrolling via remote is slow and temperamental but sound is good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Good sound

STR-DN1080 01/11/2019 by Plymouh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this reciever to replace an old Denon model,this is a great improvement due to the fact that the 1080 has dolby surround,replacing pro logic II. However,there is one minor gripe that i have and that is when i switch on my tv or HD recorder,everything else switches on ok, but after a short time the 1080 goes into the home page which then i have to select what i want to watch when i already had what i wanted to watch,just a minor gripe i know,but i am happy with the sound and features otherwise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

It's buzzing!

STRDN1080 30/10/2019 by Peiman (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

after a few month using, It's buzzing after getting warm.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hello, Peiman!

We sincerely regret what happened. Let's try to isolate the issue by performing some troubleshooting steps on the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00028883
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00027601

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Audio

STR-DN1080 30/10/2019 by eggyiek (USA)

i bought this 10 months ago. i now have a problem with not passing audio to my Sony TV. I will have to switch off the power & turn on again for it to pass. Also sometimes the volume display on the bottom left of the screen show a black rectangle, have to unplug & plug and inn again to work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Sony product

STRDN1080 23/10/2019 by etjsd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this close to 2 months ago, and it is everything I was hoping it would be. This receive, to me is one great product. To buy this receiver you will not be unhappy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hard to beat a Sony for performance and price!

STRDN1080 17/10/2019 by GMan46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replacement for my DN1030 receiver. Great surround sound effect. Simpler to set up than my old Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Breadth of speaker positioning

STRDN1080 11/10/2019 by Ronko (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed some initial help configuring Bluetooth and wireless speakers and SONY Tech Support was terrific!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Transparent sound and confusing interface

STR-DN1080 02/10/2019 by mirrormurr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a week weighing back and forth, I decided to keep the DN1080, despite the fact that the interface is both slow and confusing, and there seem to be some HDMI-handshake issues plus some sync-problems mainly while it offers a clear and spacious sound, and fits our living-room good for both classical listening and movie-nights. Additionally, the possibility to connect via bluetooth (both ways) and the in-build chromecast functions are a bonus in connectivity. Only drawback is that Spotify-in-build has to be use with a premium-account.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Protector error when palying UHD discs

STRDN1080 24/09/2019 by JaL3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All worked fine until for about a month ago when it errored out during John Wick 3 and then again when watching X-Men: Dark Phoenix. Still works great when watching TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound plenty of audio features

STR-DN1080 18/09/2019 by Stephen 72 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my Yamaha receiver that was getting on a bit.Im so glad I did excellent product with lots of great features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not good

STRDN1080 11/09/2019 by SavD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After connecting all speakers, hdmi and network cables, the pictures on all peripherals were washed out and not consistent. Tried resetting numerous times to no avail. Had to return unit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Excellent AV Receiver at a great price

STR-DN1080 09/09/2019 by PACman63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had it 10 days but very pleased with its features and performance. Connected to Sony UBP-X700 UHD Blu-ray and LG OLED TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STR-DN1080 03/09/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product wonderful all round surrounding sound you feel like your in the theatre

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Read the specs carefully

STR-DN1080 30/08/2019 by Elrey79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decent enough receiver, but not superb. Upscaling requires a 1080p/24 signal else it won't work, therefore what's the point?! So stuff like Sky boxes etc aren't compatible with the upscaling feature. The operating system is painfully slow to respond (just like Sony Android TV's). I had this receiver for a week before returning it and buying a Denon 3500H which is far better all round.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Well specified but frustrating integration with TV

STR-DN1080 30/08/2019 by MusicManBaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A well specified receiver with the latest features and good interface. Frustrated by the unpredictable sound field selection when used with other devices including a Sony TV - may resort to turning off HDMI CEC and letting a Harmony remote take charge. Be aware that the audio input sockets are shared with the relevant HDMI channels.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Fantastic sound and an introduction to Dolby Atmos

STR-DN1080 28/08/2019 by EastAngular (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this amp for over a year now and it continues to impress me with its audio performance. Plenty of inputs for HDMI connections from various devices and support for a 5.1.2 Atmos speaker configuration. Set up is easy, with the supplied mic allowing the amp to balance the speakers automatically, though you have complete manual control if you prefer. My only negative is the menu system, which is surprisingly slow, and the amp itself when you first turn it on can take a few seconds to deliver a picture to your TV. It's a minor grumble but I'd love it if Sony could sort that out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony AV Amp

STR-DN1080 27/08/2019 by March1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value and specification product. hope it lasts as long as every other Sony product I have ever brought. Only tiny down side is as with most amps. Tight space getting all the speaker wires connected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Ease of set up

STR-DN1080 27/08/2019 by mrb2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product seems to work well though the different settings are quite confusing.I have experienced loud base notes out of the subwoofer which are becoming annoying. I have yet to find a way of adjusting this

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony Home Theater Receiver

STRDN1080 11/08/2019 by White Rabbit 2 (USA)

I bought this receiver about 18 months ago and had it fail. It was still under warranty. I contacted a sony rep and they sent me the information to get it repaired. I am very pleased with the results.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Receiver

STRDN1080 24/07/2019 by ssdm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought This Receiver Month Ago, Very Happy With Purchace

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive

STR-DN1080 20/07/2019 by Hovitose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the fourth AVR I’ve owned and the second Sony. I replaced a second Denon that I had. I’d read many positive reviews and decided to get one. It’s a powerful and capable AVR. The sound I’m getting is superb. Fills the room when watching movies. Most importantly for me is the sound quality when streaming music. My sources are either Apple Music or Tidal. The latter because of MQA quality. I’m extremely satisfied. And, ease of use is a significant factor. That is, the settings are straight forward and it was a breeze to set up initially. Choosing different sound settings is also easy. It does what you need it to do, simply and efficiently. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic abilities

STRDN1080 01/07/2019 by Charger212 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace a Sony home theater receiver that I have had for 25 years. It finally developed a problem with one of the channels, which I might add I’m going to get fixed. I loved the old one and I didn’t think they could improve on it but I was totally wrong, the new one is fantastic also and has many new things I couldn’t have thought of. I’m staying Sony......

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good amp power great features

STRDN1080 29/06/2019 by Sudaraminamoto78 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I.always research extensively before i buy tvs or receivers and this is perfect for my needs beefy amp high res wifi and bluetooth and its is the true successor to my es line receiver only being five watts less at 165 got a deal at best buy and compliments my Str dh750

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceeded expectations!

STR-DN1080 24/06/2019 by 2poc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My father has owned a Sony Amplifier since the late 1980's and It's still in amazing working order. With this in mind, I decided to buy this Amplifier (or receiver if you're American). I didn't really do much research into the product prior to buying (which in hindsight sounds a bit stupid) but one browse of the instruction manual is enough to see what this baby can do. Watch a YouTube review and buy. You won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

STRDN1080 21/06/2019 by John xyz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Our old receiver started sounding staticly. We went out and bought a better receiver than we needed. We are happy with the sound quality and the sound going to the back speakers. Setting it up was more than we could handle. Our tech savvy son came over and did a great job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

str-dn1080

STR-DN1080 21/06/2019 by top Hat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent AV Receiver good sound so meny settings you will find one that suits you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like it but had problems

STRDN1080 19/06/2019 by ARay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver first about 18 months ago for our family room. Liked all features and was working great! I bought another one for our media room about six months ago. All worked fine for a while. Then the new one stopped working. The HDMI/ARC port would not work. After consulting the customer service this unit was sent out for repair under warranty. After repair-work the unit is working fine. However, the other unit stopped displaying the home screen. As a result this had to be sent out for repair as well. In both repairs, they had to change the central process controller board. Both are now working fine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound and features

STRDN1080 18/06/2019 by DHJ1487 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this unit for about a month and am very pleased with it. I was on the fence between this unit and several other brands, but the price decreased on this and I jumped. Great sound. My 5.1.2 Atmos configured speakers produce fantastic clear sound with with a great fullness. My only problem to this point is getting my APpleTV (which passes through the receiver) to get Dolby Vision to my LG OLED TV. It may have nothing to do with the receiver. I'll have to figure that otherwise. Otherwise, very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Receiver!!

STRDN1080 18/06/2019 by Wlj22443 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this over the weekend my older Sony receiver died on me so I got another one. (Had the previous one over 8 yrs) So easy to set up and the option to rename the inputs are so cool!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound. Lots of features

STRDN1080 18/06/2019 by Whitetiger022574 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just awesome. I was super happy. And the ps4 rocks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

STRDN 1080 amplifier

STRDN1080 17/06/2019 by Pjaspar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about a month ago and I am very happy with the performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound & quality!

STRDN1080 15/06/2019 by nancyjoey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy we decided on this Sony receiver. The sound is incredible. Now if we could only get the ultimate Sony TV!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

STRDN1080 14/06/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoyed my sony atmos receiver. it is awesome. the features are easy to set up. I own multiple sony products. Sony for Life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid performer!

STR-DN1080 12/06/2019 by Ray82 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Updated from Sony STR DA2400ES. Good solid performer with all the latest features and hardware to date

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cotton Picking freaking awesome

STRDN1080 09/06/2019 by Ningastixx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

OMG!! This rocks. Sony really make good products for midrange price points.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0