15

4.8 based on 15 customer reviews

13
1
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

15 Customer Reviews

0

Great receiver

STRZA1100ES 27/03/2021 by Jeff in Peoria (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this about a month. Great receiver. I still thinks it needs an equalizer but it does well by itself

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound!

STRZA1100ES 03/03/2021 by The Flying Dutchman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first impression was great sound and easy to do the basic setup. Only had this less than a week!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best A/V Receiver I Have Ever Owned

STRZA1100ES 27/02/2021 by Roig (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I am very happy with the results. Sounds great and it does NOT have all those features that I do NOT use or need like Bluetooth, streaming applications, Wi-Fi, Apple AirPlay® 2, Google Assistant-compatible, Chromecast built-in, DTS Play-Fi, and Amazon Alexa compatibility. I do not even use Dolby Atmos; I only use 5 channels and the subwoofer outputs of course. All I needed was a simple AV receiver with great sound, 5 HDMI inputs, excellent reliability, 2 subwoofer outputs, DSD via HDMI, and 4K video pass through. The 3 year warranty is the best in the business. This Sony replaced an Anthem MRX520 that I accidentally damaged the subwoofer outputs, and I like the Sony better than the more expensive Anthem. The only feature that would have been nice at this price range and model is a 5 channel pre-out section to hook up a power amplifier, but the more I think about it, this unit sounds so good that maybe I do not need an external power amplifier. :-) Great job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing receiver!

STRZA1100ES 30/08/2020 by JL5150 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago, have needed to upgrade for years. But with two toddler boys running around, I've put it off. The old Yamaha still sounded good, but was old tech. The features, flexibility, and solid ES performance are so far, top notch! I would highly recommend the STR-ZA1100ES!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

IMPRESSIVE RECEIVER but NO BLUETOOTH, NFC, or WIFI

STR-ZA1100ES 29/06/2020 by born_a_Prince (USA)

So my friend bought this receiver thinking he could stream music from a music service from his phone or tablet but he can't because this receiver even though it is more expensive than my DN1080 DOESN'T COME WITH BLUETOOTH or NFC, or WIFI. What the H3LL? How can this receiver be so jam packed with awesomeness but lack the basic fundamentals for today's home theater needs for an all-in-one receiver for music and video. Also the FAQ says you can turn on Dolby Atmos by clicking on Display and I have YET to find such a feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Powerful

STRZA1100ES 04/02/2020 by Dunwoody Dad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This AV receiver has multiple input connections with great power to each channel. While this is a great unit, I would not recommend it for a beginner as the installation and user manuals are rather vague. Expect to invest a day or two to install it and learn how to use it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Sweetest sound

STRZA1100ES 26/01/2020 by Exkaap (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for month now. Wanted quality over features which fit this product. No wifi or bluetooth but wanted discrete amps and 7.1 running 5.1.2 sou ads fantastic. My old amp doesn't touch it for sound. The only gripe is when it keeps switching to multi stereo all the time like its confused. Its powerful and integrated to tv nicely. TV is sony too. The remote is functional and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Beautiful sound

STR-ZA1100ES 04/01/2020 by Exkaap (USA)

I upgraded from da1800es . Othe had more bells and whistles but not powerfull enough. Sound wasnt as pure. This has no bluetooth etc but sounds fantastic. The configuring to tv and blue ray was much harder than old receiver. But after 2 days of fiddling reading manuals got it perfer. matched up with b&w 603 7.1 sound fantastic. Music and movies . Better than at the theater. As I can pause movie for popcorn. The turn on off feature with tv remote was fiddling y till dug up all settings correctly took a bit long . But now setup works great. The old receiver was setup much easier. But this sounds fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Grout sound nice clean design

STR-ZA1100ES 17/05/2019 by Tonys J (USA)

I bought this Receiver and so happy with it, it took me a bit to figure out how to set it up with my speakers and smart TV , great crisp sound and powerful no need for the extra Wifi, bleutooth .... if you have a smart Tv , or any other smart devise, I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Satisfied with Replacement Process

STRZA1100ES 02/02/2019 by jb9999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to have the original replaced due to failure of first receiver. I was completely pleased that Sony replaced with no hassle. Very impressed with attitude toward a warranty replacement and the help I got to accomplish.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sounds louder than it looks

STRZA1100ES 07/10/2018 by TheReviewdator (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 1100 ES kicks a**! If you just want a A/V reciever for 7.1(2), to watch movies and listen to music that doesn't have a bunch of other stuff on it this will work. I have it installed in an average size room with 2 smaller subs., set-up in 7.1 with an older 65X900A connected to it(mostly 1080p viewing). It gets loud and I don't have it turned way up and doesn't seem to run "hot". Out of the box, installed, simple to program, set-up in about two hours, not bad. Good job Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb AV Receiver but with limitations

STR-ZA1100ES 23/02/2018 by sandeepn (USA)

I have a 5.1.2(TM) speaker layout in my HT with a diverse blend of Atlantic Tech, Polk and Kef speakers. After testing several receivers (Denon AVR 4400, Marantz 5012, Yamaha A760, A1060, Onkyo RZ810), I finally decided to keep this unit, well, at least for now. Granted, with this receiver you choose to not have convenient features that come standard with all the latest receivers but I would make do with workarounds to keep my sensitive ears happy. DCAC Auto Calibration is short and perfect, measured and set all the speaker characteristics close to what I would prefer manually. This receiver has several great features but this review is to highlight what it does that stands apart. Music (multichannel): The sound processing implemented by this receiver is amazing! It is a perfect blend of lows, mids and highs. I could hear all the instruments without the need to crack up volume or use DSP (like Onkyo's THX loudness, Denon's auto volume and Yamaha's YPAO volume). I could add more details as to what's wrong with other receivers but that will be a blog post by itself. Music (neural:x, dsu): So far the best music upmixing I've heard. I prefer neural:x to DSU though. Movies (5.1/7.1/atmos/dts:x, direct/AFD): The receiver produces clean and powerful sound with good channel separation. There is no overlapping of sounds between R/L channels like Denons/Marantz. ATMOS 5.1 sounds better than DTS:X 5.1. I had to increase source level and surround levels to achieve HT sweet spot. Now comes the frustrating thing about this receiver or any recent Sony AVR. You CANNOT have both Atmos/DSU and DTS:X/neural:x decoding with TOP middle/rear/front speaker configuration. After painstakingly installing middle ceiling speakers, I realized dts:x or neural:x can be decoded or upmixed to 5.1.2 only with Front Height channels, or else it'll output to just 5.1. There is an option to switch between TM and FH speaker layout using receiver's web-browser configuration but there are no pre-outs to setup both FH and TM and use any one configuration at a time. Let's say you enjoyed a dolby atmos movie, next if you want play a DTS:x movie, you'd need to hook up FH speaker and re-calibrate the whole thing again. It is nothing but a marketing gimmick to trap customers. So, in short, PROS: - Clean, powerful sound with great channel separation. - Web interface to configure all the settings, including access to a virtual remote - DCAC is simple and short with best results - Speaker relocation modes and virtual surround back speaker mixed with surrounds CONS: - Completely thoughtless speaker layout options for atmos/dts:x. Pay more and get 2100ES with pre-outs - NO audio playback through USB port. When it's already there, why can't it be used for audio?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

20

2

0

Does the job

STRZA1100ES 06/01/2018 by BillMc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far, I'm very pleased with the STR ZA1100ES receiver. Basically, once it's set up, you have little to do. I put mine on AFD, which lets the receiver decide on the soundfield for whatever input I've selected. (I have a 7.1 speaker array.) I've listened to LPs, CDs, radio, TV, and movies via DVD, and been very pleased with the sound from all sources. I have an LED TV from a couple of years ago, and the video quality from this receiver is definitely enhanced over what I was seeing, so I'm very pleased with the video output as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

Review of STR-ZA1100ES AVR

STRZA1100ES 18/11/2017 by Chinooky47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This AVR has everything except bluetooth and Wi-Fi connectivity. But for an entry level receiver that does what it does it is fantastic. The setup and sound and video quality are excellant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

True Sound

STRZA1100ES 21/09/2017 by MFAB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Once you get to experience the value of this receiver, you can experience the value of true sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

9