225

3.8 based on 225 customer reviews

113
44
21
15
32
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

just what I needed

BDPS1700 10/01/2019 by hermit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a blu-ray DVD by mistake on line. So I needed a blu-ray player. I when to Wal-mart and bought a Sony blu-ray player. And the sun has been shining ever since...D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Six days and One movie watched

BDPS1700 04/02/2017 by Phillimonster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband purchased this product only six days ago and managed to watch one movie. After purchasing another 4 brand new movies we find the player has stopped working completely, failing to recognize even the BD we had originally watched. After updating the firmware, pouring through the customer support pages (243 posts) in total, we realize we purchased poor workmanship at best. My suggestion is steer clear of this product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

225 Customer Reviews

0

Plays DVDs well, but practical issues

BDP-S1700 13/01/2019 by Beema (United Kingdom)

Plays DVDs well.. Micro format unit, far too light - it has to be held down to do anything. Flimsy plastic case. construction. Another unit with separate power adapter - more clutter. Not wifi - a fact not clearly stated on box/advertising. Expensive

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent choice to buy

BDP-S1700 11/01/2019 by Cynt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 2 months ago and I'm glad i did thanks Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Got fed up with it freezing!

BDP-S1700 11/01/2019 by troubleudk (USA)

I bought the unit in July 2018. And have had on and off issues with it freezing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

just what I needed

BDPS1700 10/01/2019 by hermit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a blu-ray DVD by mistake on line. So I needed a blu-ray player. I when to Wal-mart and bought a Sony blu-ray player. And the sun has been shining ever since...D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A versatile machine

BDP-S1700 08/01/2019 by CAROLVII (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased it a few weeks ago and connected it immediately to my Sony Bravia TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great price

BDPS1700 07/01/2019 by Mimi N FL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm not techie by any means, so buying a DVD player these days is confusing to say the least. I read reviews, get confused and tend to buy the one that doesn't cost an arm and a leg and has an overall good rating. This Sony player did not disappoint. It was very easy to set up, and figure out how to use. I've used both Bluray and DVDs in it and the movies have played beautifully. In my opinion it's a great buy and great product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture from a little machine

BDPS1700 07/01/2019 by Engineer Joe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works great, very nice picture on my 4K tv, added full surround sound to make the movie experience great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Picture and that's all folks...

BDPS1700 06/01/2019 by hoondogg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic for watching DVDs but the app aspect feature not explained too well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Shuts off and resets

BDPS1700 06/01/2019 by Breemb89 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Complete garbage. Shuts off and resets, has been slowly getting worse for months.

0

0

0

Initial set up was terrible

BDPS1700 28/12/2018 by LaceyP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I set up the player per included instructions, there was a “format not supported” alert on my TV. I called Sony but was having trouble making the rep understand me and vice versa. I ended up googling a resolution.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good Bluray player but lack connectivity to Visio

BDPS1700 28/12/2018 by SebCal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does everything as expected. A bit slow to load. But the main issue is that it is not working with a Vision TV or the remote can't be programmed to be used with a Vision TV.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fits the requirement.

BDP-S1700 27/12/2018 by Do not wish to answer (United Kingdom)

I was bought this item as a Christmas present from my son. It is very compact and extremely easy to set up. All that was required was an HDMI cable and two minutes later we wer in business.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Machine, Bit Disapointed

BDPS1700 15/12/2018 by BJCot (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product believing it had the Amazon Prime video app on it and was disappointed to find it does not. However it is a great Blu Ray player and good for streaming Netflix.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

BDPS1700 11/12/2018 by Mac832 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player so we could watch our bluerays and dvds and I'm really pleased! Simple and user friendly, neat, compact size, and great quality! I highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only pro...price & brand

BDP-S1700 07/12/2018 by GeekPR77 (USA)

Have had it for about 2 years, freezes and slows down way too much! Ver problematic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Real Steal

BDPS1700 06/12/2018 by ellenr23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just about a month ago when my other Blu-Ray Player died and find this one not only better designed but also simpler to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Took a while to figure out

BDPS1700 02/12/2018 by Me from PA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this yesterday but had to go back to the store and get a cable to hook it to my new television. I had a problem figuring out how to get the new Roku television to switch over to the DVD player without any instructions but I finally did it. The worst problem I had by far was the half hour or more it took me to register the DVD player doing it over and over and over and over! Someone must have hacked the Sony home page.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overheating problems

BDPS1700 02/12/2018 by Jannybananny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player periodically loses responsiveness to the remote control, making it inoperable, until we unplug it for several hours. We’ve only used it about 5 times and it’s jappened twice. We will be taking it back to the point of purchase for exchange and hope the next unit performs better.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WHAT A FREAKIN HUNK OF JUNK

BDP-S1700 28/11/2018 by Yourmom2525 (USA)

We’ve had this for half a year now. Our DVD player of nearly 10 years died and I saw this and thought it’d be cool. WRONG. I should’ve just bought a new dvd/bluray player and then a roku or fire stick. THIS THING IS A HUNK OF JUNK. The streaming rarely if ever works, takes forever to connect to our extremely fast internet, it freezes randomly, and is just overall a pain in the butt!!! What a terrible, terrible buy. Never again will I trust a Sony to do a Samsung’s job.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Region Free Blu-Ray Player

BDPS1700 28/11/2018 by Steve144 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very reliable blu-ray player that also plays DVD's from other regions, not just region 1. It is not wireless but, it has streaming ability by using a network cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AC cord not included

BDP-S1700 26/11/2018 by OldSchoolRural (USA)

I bought this today and it will not work with my current set up. This Blu-ray unit has a wall pack/ adapter that has to be plugged in. I have a battery back up/ surge protector and the wall packs will not fit. I HATE when you put power adapters on these units. Put a regular ac cord on the thing. I wish they would have shown a rear view of this unit on the box. It would have saved me from wasting my time buying and returning.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

It's ok

BDPS1700 25/11/2018 by Frankey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It a ok. I thought it would give us some free streaming passes.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony Blue-ray player

BDP-S1700 20/11/2018 by Rg3437 (USA)

This is the second Sony Blue-ray player we bought. The first one worked for years. Then started to freeze up. The second one started to freeze up within three months. It's very annoying, Because you can't get it to turn off or on. It just stays there on the last frame.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Hope it lasts

BDPS1700 18/11/2018 by nadanickname (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think it is a good unit so far but have only had it one day. I bought it from a local store walmart. I have read all the reviews about this unit on Amazon. There are quite a few that complained of this unit failing within a month or 4 months or prematurely. This is replacing a sony we had for 10 years..........I hope this is built as well as that one was.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Useless

BDP-S1700 12/11/2018 by britt87 (USA)

I bought this today so that I could watch my wedding videos. It will not play it, instead it just loops back to the main menu. I even tried other movies and it does the same thing. I have tried everything. It is a waste of money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent Blu-Ray Player with Extra Features

BDPS1700 11/11/2018 by T Bob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

While the unit has only been recently installed, I am greatly impressed with its features and performance. I'm getting the impression that this particular model may soon be superceded by a newer model, but the basic design is nonetheless quite commendable. Though I have only two Blu-Ray discs at present, video performance far exceeds DVD video due to the inherent superiority of the Blu-Ray disc over that older standard. Installation was quite simple, and it integrates well with both my Sony KDL-40W600B Bravia television as well as my Harmony 650 Remote. This unit distinguishes itself over most other players with the built in web interface, which provides the "Smart TV" features of the Sony TV. It may well be that the video quality of Netflix and other applications is a bit sharper from the BDPS1700 through its HDMI connection than from the Smart TV interface of the Sony TV itself. I am still learning some of the features of this player, but so far I am very impressed, and would recommend this or any other similar Sony Blu-Ray player without hesitation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not the best product

BDP-S1700 01/11/2018 by SeanP (USA)

I brought this in the beginning of October this year. Have been watching horror movies all month. The other night turned the power on the light is constant on. The dvd won't eject from the player. The HDMI is connected from the player to the TV saying no signal even through it is on the right setting. If I unplug the player then plug it back in it shows SONY and says blue-ray disc but won't do anything.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Worked great

BDPS1700 29/10/2018 by VE6BAR (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked great right out of the box. No fussy setup involved. Simple to use and small space friendly . In my experience it is typical Sony perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Good

BDPS1700 22/10/2018 by Totoreco (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s an almost perfect dvd and Blu Ray player . I am very happy to have it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Will not work. Green light comes on then out.

BDPS1700 21/10/2018 by Jim P (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Returned it to Target and got another. Same problem with the second one.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Excellent Features

BDPS1700 13/10/2018 by Mack327 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good price, easy to operate reliable easy to install software

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features - and pricing was perfect!

BDPS1700 11/10/2018 by marks4999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price, I expected a bare-minimum player...you know....pop in a DVD or a Blu-Ray disk and that would be it. But were we ever surprised! Our old player was so old that we didn't even know about Hulu, YouTube, Pandora, etc - as features on a player. Easy to set up, worked right out of the box, and one of the easiest players we've ever owned. I would buy this player again for any of our other tv's if needed. Control is also easy to work with. Fits great right in your hand and easy to figure out without having to read a manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Missing HDMI Cable

BDPS1700 07/10/2018 by Robert91663 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sealed in the box missing cable, travel 45 minutes back to get one or wait 6 weeks to get one from Sony. Sucks either way.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

It'a a Sony Blue Ray

BDPS1700 07/10/2018 by Grimmr1946 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this unit about 3 weeks ago and have so far been very pleased with the quality of the machine and the picture quality we get on our 4K TV. This replaced another Sony DVD that was still working after over 15 years of service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Inexpensive Easy to use BluRay

BDPS1700 02/10/2018 by Sleepless teary eye guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming out a broken relationship and starting over isnt easy to do, but with the cost effective device this Blu-ray player kept me occupied many of times when i couldn't do anything but cry. Point being easy to use, cause with tears streaming down your face who has time to adjust your vision thats full blown blurry due to water filled eyes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor app performance

BDPS1700 22/09/2018 by Bad Billy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes a long time for Netflix to load and YouTube was stalled until reset everything. Not what I expect fro Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Talk about false advertising

BDP-S1700 20/09/2018 by Sloan84 (USA)

I bought this blu-ray DVD player because it said “it was WiFi and I could stream my Netflix and Hulu and guess what you CAN’T.” So mad!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very nice blu ray player.

BDPS1700 10/09/2018 by donaldlee3314 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice player. Works great and a good streaming device. I wish it had a web browser like my old sony blu ray. I'm not complaining it's still a nice player and worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

will not connect to internet with out a password

BDPS1700 10/09/2018 by monteib (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i purchased this today to connect to netflix and that will not happen because your product is not set up in install a passwork for the internet.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

GREAT FEATURES-GOOD PRICE-INFORMATIVE DIRECTIONS

BDPS1700 23/08/2018 by COBIAX (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

after 2 days its still working-GREAT PICTURE!I JUST GOT IT!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful things in a tiny package!!!

BDPS1700 23/08/2018 by ricksf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This plays EVERYTHING PERFECTLY! Plays all media you can throw at it... CD, DVD, BluRay, even thumbdrives.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice machine

BDPS1700 20/08/2018 by Never given one (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice player. Offers a very nice picture. Great quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

BDPS1700 19/08/2018 by Jocko3376 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few months ago and I love iti would recommend this to everyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

BDP-S1700 15/08/2018 by Jonnob (United Kingdom)

I purchased this today and only wish to register it at this stage

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great product

BDP-S1700 10/08/2018 by cuenca123456 (United Kingdom)

focus only on the product is that i need and expected

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

BDPS1700 03/08/2018 by Jeanette 83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really glad I got this I am so happy with it I would tell my friends about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This player SUCKS

BDP-S1700 02/08/2018 by Becca1885 (USA)

I just bought this bluray player and it will not play my movies

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

SIze and weight

BDPS1700 27/07/2018 by Sansi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this July 23rd to supplement an older Sony Video to DVD player/recorder, which is currently malfunctioning.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy set up!

BDPS1700 23/07/2018 by Sparky_B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up and configuration with internet. Additional apps available to load!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SECOND ONE PURCHASED

BDPS1700 14/07/2018 by KUYA DAVE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

REPLACING AN OLDER MODEL WHICH GAVE MANY YEARS OF GOOD SERVICE. SIMPLE TO OPERATE

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for my needs

BDP-S1700 10/07/2018 by Sunny76 (United Kingdom)

Bought this this past spring and I love the fact I can get Netflix and other streaming apps as well as blu-ray dads to watch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice piece of home entertainment system

BDPS1700 08/07/2018 by BillV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 3 months ago but finally hooked it up yesterday and really like it, compact design, Ethernet port, HDMI, easy to setup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stop working to play DVD and Blu-Ray

BDP-S1700 08/07/2018 by dun199 (USA)

I have had this for just under a year and it stop playing DVD and Blu-Ray. I use it to watch Netflixs movie. No more cd.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features

BDPS1700 03/07/2018 by Annie9177 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this product.was given to me as a gift for years of service

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

USEFULNESS

BDPS1700 01/07/2018 by Josie GAR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy to have THE BRD PLAYER and bought the BRD PLAYER

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

BDPS1700 14/06/2018 by RachelD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I bought this product. I really like quality of the picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great picture

BDPS1700 10/06/2018 by pinhead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

receiver as a reward like the streaming ability and close captures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Piece of garbage!

BDP-S1700 07/06/2018 by MikeSteffler (Canada)

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! We got a couple of them and they are both paperweights a year later.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2018

Hi MikeSteffler, we're sorry to hear what happened. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with a brief description of the issue you have so we can help you. Thanks. -Erin