181

3.9 based on 181 customer reviews

96
38
13
9
25
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great product

BDPS1700 14/06/2018 by RachelD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I bought this product. I really like quality of the picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Six days and One movie watched

BDPS1700 04/02/2017 by Phillimonster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband purchased this product only six days ago and managed to watch one movie. After purchasing another 4 brand new movies we find the player has stopped working completely, failing to recognize even the BD we had originally watched. After updating the firmware, pouring through the customer support pages (243 posts) in total, we realize we purchased poor workmanship at best. My suggestion is steer clear of this product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

182 Customer Reviews

0

Great features

BDP-S1700 15/08/2018  (United Kingdom)

I purchased this today and only wish to register it at this stage

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great product

BDP-S1700 10/08/2018 by cuenca123456 (United Kingdom)

focus only on the product is that i need and expected

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

BDPS1700 03/08/2018 by Jeanette 83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really glad I got this I am so happy with it I would tell my friends about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This player SUCKS

BDP-S1700 02/08/2018 by Becca1885 (USA)

I just bought this bluray player and it will not play my movies

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

SIze and weight

BDPS1700 27/07/2018 by Sansi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this July 23rd to supplement an older Sony Video to DVD player/recorder, which is currently malfunctioning.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy set up!

BDPS1700 23/07/2018 by Sparky_B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up and configuration with internet. Additional apps available to load!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SECOND ONE PURCHASED

BDPS1700 14/07/2018 by KUYA DAVE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

REPLACING AN OLDER MODEL WHICH GAVE MANY YEARS OF GOOD SERVICE. SIMPLE TO OPERATE

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for my needs

BDP-S1700 10/07/2018 by Sunny76 (United Kingdom)

Bought this this past spring and I love the fact I can get Netflix and other streaming apps as well as blu-ray dads to watch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice piece of home entertainment system

BDPS1700 08/07/2018 by BillV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 3 months ago but finally hooked it up yesterday and really like it, compact design, Ethernet port, HDMI, easy to setup.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stop working to play DVD and Blu-Ray

BDP-S1700 08/07/2018 by dun199 (USA)

I have had this for just under a year and it stop playing DVD and Blu-Ray. I use it to watch Netflixs movie. No more cd.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features

BDPS1700 03/07/2018 by Annie9177 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this product.was given to me as a gift for years of service

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

USEFULNESS

BDPS1700 01/07/2018 by Josie GAR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy to have THE BRD PLAYER and bought the BRD PLAYER

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

BDPS1700 14/06/2018 by RachelD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I bought this product. I really like quality of the picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great picture

BDPS1700 10/06/2018 by pinhead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

receiver as a reward like the streaming ability and close captures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Piece of garbage!

BDP-S1700 07/06/2018 by MikeSteffler (Canada)

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! We got a couple of them and they are both paperweights a year later.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2018

Hi MikeSteffler, we're sorry to hear what happened. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with a brief description of the issue you have so we can help you. Thanks. -Erin

0

Works

BDPS1700 02/06/2018 by Tctc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think it’s nice but is difficult to get info is it WiFi wireless or not and can I do WiFi wireless with a adapter??????

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very good product

BDP-S1700 30/05/2018 by jontam53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift last Christmas and love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice device

BDPS1700 29/05/2018 by Jamp59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to operate and perfect size. But it needs to be programmed frequently because it looses the internet settings. However, it set up easily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great reviews

BDPS1700 20/05/2018 by Sholly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recommended by the rep from Best Buy . I already own the new Sony tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

AGGRAVATING

BDP-S1700 10/05/2018 by noway1 (USA)

MY GOD, what a piece of garbage. First off, I definitely paid more for this than listed, which is infuriating in itself. Second, I have to rip this apart. This accesses apps, right? Netflix, Amazon, etc. What they DON'T tell you is that it turns on automatically and restarts itself at random times. When it does this, it literally wipes all over your passwords for every single app. Maybe you think I'm being a baby about this, but let me let you...when I have to re-enter and re-start every single apps five times in a day, IT GETS OLD QUICK. The buttons aren't always responsive, the "connection" goes out constantly, the image quality (on a brand new tv no less) is GARBAGE, and then this password thing totally does me in. Why is this such a complaint? Because I've owned like four dvd/blue rays prior to this one and never had any issues ever until they just simply needed replacing. Spend extra and get yourself a different player. I never expected such a garbage device from SONY. Next time I'll buy from someone else.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

sony DVD player

BDPS1700 07/05/2018 by cableman 565 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony makes good products however I could not get this product to connect to my router....even on auto

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

BDPS1700 MULTI-ZONE BLU RAY PLAYER SUPERB PICTURE.

BDP-S1700 06/05/2018 by Superspy (USA)

This Blu-Ray player was simple to set-up, accomplished in less than ten minutes. The picture quality is superb, especially for films and television from different zones or regions. Ideal for the Sony Blu-Ray devotee.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony, it's in the name.

BDPS1700 17/04/2018 by FSG70 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony, the name says it all. Easy set up, improve DVDs playback.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony- Blu-Ray Disc Player

BDPS1700 15/04/2018 by Don4550 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product a month ago. Very easy to set up. The instructions were easy to understand even for an old dude like me. You can't beat a Sony product. My first stereo was a Sony bought in 1971. Still works and I can still play my classic vinyl. My Blu Ray was bought at Best Buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love the size and easiness of it

BDP-S1700 13/04/2018 by ecbauer63 (USA)

Bought as a Christmas gift and love it. Buying another for the kids bedroom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

BDPS1700 08/04/2018 by Pebboles876 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I bought this. It plays really well. My daughter loves it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Difficulty with this product

BDP-S1700 05/04/2018 by ScottAlan (USA)

I purchased this player in mid-January 2018. My wife and family used it for 2 weeks, then it stopped functioning. Stopped playing videos and remote stopped working. We returned it to the store. Then gave us a replacement. That one lasted 1 week before it stopped functioning. I have now returned this 2nd device to Sony who is going to replace it under warranty.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy to Operate

BDPS1700 05/04/2018 by Chief280 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a 78 yr old learning to play guitar, I purchased this to play my instructional videos. It works perfectly and was really easy for me to set up. My grandkids love the fact that they can now watch their movies at pawpaw's house.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great product

BDPS1700 27/03/2018 by Judyk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is a Great product. Picture is great...........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great product, easy to setup...

BDPS1700 25/03/2018 by Lord Rando (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needing a blu ray for the bedroom? Perfect. Remote functions perfect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I can't get it to recognize my network.

BDPS1700 21/03/2018 by RichD79 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have an internet supplied by Spectrum and it works well with my other wired and wireless devices but I can not get it to connect to my Blu-ray Disc. I have a LAN cable (CAT 5e) connected from the Spectrum box to the Blu-ray box. But it won't let me get a connection to the internet and consequently I can't use the futures that require a network connection.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great player

BDPS1700 15/03/2018 by Ammagirl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased this and liking it so far. Hopefully will continue too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Like sleek, small box

BDPS1700 12/03/2018 by memere M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was given to me as a gift, paperwork did not mention to use HDM2 on my TV. Just a little word of advice for those of us who are technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Small and compact.

BDPS1700 12/03/2018 by Boca Barry (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a replacement for an eight year old player and the difference is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Blu-ray Disc™ Player

BDPS1700 12/03/2018 by TallScientistWalking (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product, excellent price and performer. I would buy Sony products again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very simple to use

BDPS1700 09/03/2018 by Lizbeth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with my choice, measurements and compact .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

You really do get what you pay for...

BDPS1700 08/03/2018 by WD40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is adequate...Just...Has a problem with home made DVD's...Burned on Macs...Should have known...The two companies can't play nice together...Once inserted...It shows as "no disc"...Drawer won't open...Finally unplugged the power supply multiple times till it did...I'd return it but it was a gift...

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Works fine

BDPS1700 03/03/2018 by Mack 10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does what its suppose to do. The price was good. The only thing missing was wireless internet connectabillity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Product

BDPS1700 03/03/2018 by caligiant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has the BEST and highest quality of products. I tried many other in the same category, but nothing compares to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Blu-Ray Disc Player

BDPS1700 26/02/2018 by Tucson1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the product as an upgrade. The main reason in addition to Blu-Ray is the ability to use a front access for USB and playing music DVDs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good size

BDPS1700 25/02/2018 by max50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It won't play some of my DVDs. It says they are the wrong format. (??) Would give it a better rating if it would play all of my DVDs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible product

BDP-S1700 22/02/2018 by sammyd (USA)

I am on my second Sony BDS-1700 , the second lasted about as long as the first one. It looses power and will not reboot. Get extended warranty, you can get your money back, it Will fail to reboot after a year of service

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Works well

BDPS1700 20/02/2018 by Franklyn II (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up; easy operation; good picture; decent value

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Is just the size which fitted in easily

BDP-S1700 12/02/2018 by No Nickname I am aware of (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased that I bought this product it is modern

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony brings it!

BDPS1700 06/02/2018 by Rapture85 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works just as it should, Looks cool and also upscales dvd's and they look even better!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good unit.

BDPS1700 04/02/2018 by Patsfanrob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it, and so far, it looks great. Easy to hook up. All I needed was an hdmi cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

User friendly

BDPS1700 03/02/2018 by Highwayman 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used this unit for a month with no problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Neat Little Unit

BDP-S1700 29/01/2018 by Superfin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with new Sony Bravia TV. Couldn't be more pleased. It is small and neat, sits in the cupboard under the TV and so easy to use. Replay quality is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good product

BDPS1700 24/01/2018 by Lalotj (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy this product very much , good features, compact

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

stopped reading everything

BDP-S1700 19/01/2018 by DeathMasterG (Canada)

we bought this back in june after 3months started not reading some blue-rays now it refuses to ready anything its not engaging the disc or activating the lazers

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/01/2018

Hello DeathMasterG, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Kindly check the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps provided:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30372
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/33679
Regards, _Bob

0

Not Happy.Keeps kicking me out not saving password

BDP-S1700 17/01/2018 by kimmmy (USA)

For some reason if I try to play stream for more than 2 movies .. it kicks me out and locks up and then I have to sign everything all over again, it doesn't keep my passwords or anything.. and I only had it since Christmas.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Default language French???

BDPS1700 16/01/2018 by donsnowbird (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I now have the DVD player working after a second trip to Best Buy and a visit to Sony's website. The player defaults to French instructions and the installation instructions are not at all clear!!! Best Buy had me waste an hour or so to "fix" my DVD Blue ray player. They also sold me the wrong connection (Ether net cable instead of HDMI cable). A DVD player should be user friendly and intuitive installation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony Blu-ray player

BDPS1700 16/01/2018 by dreamweaver (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

received this as a gift....works great would recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to set up and use

BDPS1700 15/01/2018 by wpalcher7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Blu-ray player for my sister, who is intellectually challenged. It was simple to set up with her TV, and I was able to help her learn how to work it, which is saying a lot. Her new DVD of her old movie favorites played beautifully with great clarity. I can't testify to the Blu-ray projection because she doesn't yet have any Blu-ray discs, but if the DVD of old movies looks that good, I imagine a Blu-ray disc would be awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little device for the price.

BDPS1700 14/01/2018 by Baha (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

As soon as I got it, I set it up adapting it to my AV receiver. The biggest job was unplugging and disentangling all the wires from 3 units this player replaced. So far so good! It replaced a Sony DVD player that was still going strong after 10 years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works fine. Small size.

BDPS1700 13/01/2018 by Hoosierdaddy2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the compact size and great picture quality; also I like that when I insert a disk my Sony 850D TV automatically switches to the HDMI input of this device. Very easy to set up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and user friendly

BDPS1700 11/01/2018 by Trekker2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this DVD player about 3 or 4 weeks ago and really liked it instantly. I really like the smart features they made my dumb T.V. a smart T.V.. Great little unit!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0