1532

3.7 based on 1,532 customer reviews

743
259
123
93
314
Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony Wireless Lan/ Built-in Wifi Blu-Ray DVD Combo

BDPS3700 10/03/2021 by Hobby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the Sony Product in Jan this year, and couldn't be more happier with the performance. Has a few major apps built into the player, and can add more if need be. Very clear picture when tied into Wifi at home. Highly recommend for a family or person on tight budget that needs a Movie disc player with Built in apps without spending extra cash on any Fire stick or Roku device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

GARBAGE

BDP-S3700 08/11/2020  (USA)

I purchased this player strictly for streaming and it was the largest waste of money that I've ever spent. The player will NOT stay connected to the wifi. It is the ONLY device in my house that i have this issue with. The internal LAN adapter has to be the cheapest that Sony could've put in this thing. There are days that, once i FINALLY get it connected to the internet, that it will just randomly shut off. Then when you power it back on the internal memory utterly and LITERALLY FORGETS the LAN information you JUST put in. It will turn itself off multiple times and reset before it stays connected. At least until you turn it off and the thing has another brain fart and disconnects again. It was fine for the first 3 weeks or so of owning it before it started doing this. I will NEVER purchase anything sony EVER again. I'm an extremely disappointed in this. If i could give negative stars, i would. Anytime i see someone getting ready to purchase the player, i convince them otherwise.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

0

1,532 Customer Reviews

0

Bought two and had same isdues

BDPS3700 04/10/2022 by Trww (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have two dvd players and both shut off and clear back to factory settings. Min ten times a day. Horrible product. So sad because we always trusted Sony. Not anymore!!!

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

simple but effective

BDP-S3700 23/09/2022 by Terry121 (United Kingdom)

Just have this 2 days but easy to operate and works quietly and effectively.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
26/09/2022

Hi Terry121,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your BDP-S3700.
We hope you will continue to enjoy it for many more years to come!
If you need any assistance, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Great purchase!

BDPS3700 06/09/2022 by Lison (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this Blu Ray product - should have done this sooner!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Blu-Ray Disc layer

BDPS3700 02/09/2022 by DuchessDad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in March 2022. It frequently does not respond to the remote control. It also does not respond to the buttons on the box itself. Am considering returning it as defective.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Horrible

BDPS3700 06/08/2022 by Word33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worst BR DVD player ever..........................

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

So far so good

BDPS3700 02/08/2022 by Assessess (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it so far it does what it's suppose toohk. Pushing it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent

BDP-S3700 01/08/2022 by Pete1966 (United Kingdom)

Nice and compact, easy to set up. Picture and sound perfect, Wifi worked as it should and only took a couple of minutes to set up

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works Great

BDPS3700 30/07/2022 by bamabilly45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced an LG unit that quit working. Plays dvd great and nice to have wi-fi to get Internet tv since it is connected to a non smart tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great little player

BDP-S3700 17/07/2022 by jet 36 (United Kingdom)

I bought this player with the sole purpose of being able to play American DVDs including Bluray It does that job without problems which is all i ask

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome product

BDPS3700 09/07/2022 by Tim1213 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this product is awesome Very easy to set up. I am a big fan

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not so great

BDPS3700 06/07/2022 by Mozartsjoy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this Sony Blu-ray Disc Player to replace a BDP- 1700 Blu-ray player because it kept coming up with “Cannot open this application, it is too large. The application has been terminated”. When trying to open YouTube, the only way to reset it is to get it to work is to unplug the unit wait a little then plug it back in, then it works just fine. Also, the quality of the remote is terrible! Both of the units that we purchased have the same issue BDP-3700 and the 1700, so we are sending the 3700 back!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Reliable performance

BDPS3700 20/06/2022 by Dadebot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Same great quality I've grown to expect from all Sony products I've purchased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No good!

BDPS3700 04/06/2022 by Crap product (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two in 3 months and both stopped working within weeks! Will not power up or open disk tray, nothing!!! $90 twice, wasted!!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Not So Good - Issues Sony BDP-S3700 Blu-ray

BDPS3700 04/05/2022 by jtws (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 01/09/2022 My Sony blu-ray continues to freeze- up while streaming. The remote will no longer respond to any buttons that are pressed. Once my device is unplugged the blu-ray goes to the page that reflects which apps are downloaded. Once there, the blu-ray turns itself off. Once the power button is pressed, the blu-ray goes to the page to set-up all over again. This has been going on since 04/15/2022.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Lobe it!

BDPS3700 25/04/2022 by Lyssaloo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought about 2 months ago and it's so helpful, clear and overall worth every cent I paid!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Quit working after two months.

BDPS3700 22/04/2022 by Selenacoles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product two months ago and it has quit working. I don't have kids and I have not moved it since I set it up. It will not turn off and stays on the Blu-ray screen.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Super Blu-Ray-Player, but not enough Apps

BDP-S3700 13/04/2022 by Ole60 (United Kingdom)

I bought this blu-ray player and it is quite delicious. But unfortunately it has very limited number of Apps, although it was stated in the ad, that one could: "Access over 300 online apps * including catch-up TV, VoD and more", as well as "Browse a variety of online channels, or watch the latest YouTube videos." Disappointing that Sony doesn't keep this up to date.

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony support team
15/04/2022

Hi Ole60,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad that you're enjoying your Blu-ray player despite having an issue with the apps on it.
We recommend updating your device to the latest software version here:
https://bit.ly/36gD0ZV
We would like to highlight the following article in regards to the apps availability on Blu-ray players:
https://bit.ly/3KQMav5
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link:
https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Moe @Sony Support UK

0

Nice little player

BDPS3700 20/03/2022 by John Balsak (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it. Plugged it in, turned it on. All good out of the box. Picture looks great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

BDPS3700 22/02/2022 by Sarah loves Sony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was kind of concerned because it cost a little bit more than the competition but it was well worth it. You don't know what you're missing when you buy the cheaper versions of these products Sony is excellent. The interface and the picture quality is amazing it's absolutely funny I can't even describe how much better this product is than every other streaming device I've ever purchased and every other Blu-ray device I've ever purchased. I regret being cheap in the past...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good buy

BDPS3700 12/02/2022 by Teske (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the product but it dint come with an HDMI cable!

0

0

0

Great picture, decent build quality.

BDPS3700 10/02/2022 by MarsAttacks28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned this player for 5+ years and have been very pleased with it's performance. The picture quality has been fantastic and the HDMI connection has never posed any problems. It makes for a great 3D Blu-ray player as well. At first I was disappointed that I didn't have a built-in display but I didn't miss it too much. The GUI isn't the best out there and the apps are all a bit clunky. I recommend another device for streaming. Unfortunately the disc drawer cover won't flip back up anymore.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice Blu-ray DVD player

BDPS3700 08/02/2022 by Rhon21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice player, easy to set up and use. Would rate a 5 if it made more apps of MY choice available. I bought it for an older (no Ethernet plug) tv in my bedroom. So I can only stream the available apps Sony has on the player. I would be willing to pay a fee even to use apps like: prime, HBO max, Disney, paramount plus, etc., which I cannot access through this player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worst Blu-Ray Player I've ever had!

BDPS3700 06/02/2022 by DennisKY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great when it works, but often the unit will not power on and tray won't open (whether using remote or panel buttons on unit), and it sometimes also freezes during playback. Have to keep unplugging power adapter, plugging back in, and pressing and holding power button until eventually it will power on and tray might open. It will then work for a week or so before quitting again. Found some info on support page, this seems a common problem with tray not opening and unit not powering on, but the supposed fix does not solve the problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good item for the price but instructions need help

BDPS3700 30/01/2022 by CeeBK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The set up instructions tell you to set up a receiver (not as an optional step) with parts that are not included, but that is totally not necessary. Don't buy that extra cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Failing after 3 weeks of use

BDPS3700 29/01/2022 by mik48b (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit less than 2 months ago, didn't have any problems during the 1-st months. after about 5 weeks of normal (2-3 hrs per day) operation it started freezing every 60 to 90 min of operation. You couldn't power it down using remote ot power button on the unit. All you can do is just unplug it and then plug in again. And a few days ago a new problem showed up: hundreds of small horizontal green lines on the screen practically blocking video image. Obviously a defective unit..

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Generally good

BDP-S3700 29/01/2022 by Anicknameusingonlyletters (United Kingdom)

It was bought to replace an ageing DVD player that we use to play concert and opera videos in a music appreciation group. It does this superbly well and I expect it to work equally well with Blu-rays. So 5 stars for that. The Wi-Fi facility was also very attractive as we also streamed internet performances via a laptop and I thought this would take its place. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi facility is limited to a very few apps, eg Youtube. It doesn’t give access to general internet content. It does offer access to a potentially useful site or two with its built-in apps, eg in our case the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, but this requires users to register and there’s no way that I have found that lets me do this. So a grudging 1 star for this facility.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
31/01/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your player, and for more years to come.
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the Wi-Fi through the proper channels for future consideration.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Very good product

BDPS3700 28/01/2022 by kak6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony disc player functions well and is well made (dependable)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

BDPS3700 26/01/2022 by Dboy56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My mom loves it and uses it daily. I just wish it had more apps

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Blu-ray Disc Player

BDPS3700 26/01/2022 by TulsaWalker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We received this player as a Christmas gift and are very happy with it so far. We are senior adults and still learning to use the various features, but the disc player is what we needed most, and it is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

disc player

BDPS3700 24/01/2022 by efwray (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good product and design. lots of options easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Screen mirroring does not work

BDP-S3700 18/01/2022 by Foggy 1 (United Kingdom)

Screen mirroring does not work with apple does not say in instructions. Does not work with later android phones

0

0

Response From Customer Support
20/01/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We'd like to highlight that screen mirroring function is available only for android phones as apple devices requires another software (apple air play), we will pass your feedback to the relevant department for future references.

Amr @ Sony UK

0

Problems With Replacement Player

BDPS3700 18/01/2022 by SKIII (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player is a replacement (supplied by Sony) for another of the same model. The first one began freezing at random times. This one worked fine for several months then it began freezing as well as turning off and on sporadically. There must be systemic problems with this model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Its a Sony

BDP-S3700 09/01/2022 by firemansam0_0 (United Kingdom)

This was purchased to replace an older Samsung DVD player which had ceased to function. I chose Sony primarily for the brand name and, so far, am not disappointed, it's really compact, has useful additional features and the upscaling really adds detail to non Blu-Ray discs. I would have rated as excellent if I had used the device for a longer period on which to review it.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony support team
11/01/2022

Hi firemansam0_0,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your player, and for more years to come.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Not yet working

BDP-S3700 09/01/2022 by Enjay (United Kingdom)

Don't yet have a high speed HDMI cable. The cable I have seems incompatible. So I haven't yet seen it working

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
14/01/2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you're facing difficulties using the Blu-ray
You can connect it to the TV directly using HDMI cable, or you can connect it to an amplifier, and from the amplifier to the TV, check page 13: https://bit.ly/3K8f6iq.

If you need further assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @ Sony UK

0

Unreliable brick

BDPS3700 02/01/2022 by an0ther3rJOHN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've bought 2 of these and both died just after warranty. It gets stuck on the blu-ray logo during power on and gets stuck there.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Replacement has same problem as returned DVD playe

BDPS3700 31/12/2021 by Mykul S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced under warranty with unit that has same problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

It does the job.

BDPS3700 26/12/2021 by Hamhock (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simple, inexpensive and performs well. All I need in a Blu-ray player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features

BDPS3700 25/12/2021 by lilah10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this great product for myself, our TV is not compatible for a code to use your remote for the volume have to use a separate my TV remote.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Three steps forward and two back

BDPS3700 19/12/2021 by PCRy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Sony DVD player has some great features but lost an important feature of the lesser models. Namely, the built-in ability to remember where you stopped a DVD even if you eject the DVD or turn off the unit. Also, the Apps included are not ones that I want, and I cannot add the ones I want.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good player

BDPS3700 17/12/2021 by Larryfraz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Functions well, but too much of a ‘dance’ between remotes for my wife to not demand I operate it for her! And, I have been unable to read ‘hi def’ or SACD layers. I had a Toshiba that did SACD (analogue out only) and DVD audio, but it broke, and I don’t think it was as

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Features and Price but Terrible Wi-Fi

BDPS3700 13/12/2021 by ylwpaul (Canada) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this player and set it up with my system. Ethernet works fine but Wi-Fi refused to connect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very simple setup

BDPS3700 08/12/2021 by Rick 324 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for a replacement love it my old one was getting old

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to set up and use

BDP-S3700 06/12/2021 by Dannysdiscs (United Kingdom)

I live in the UK and have multi region DVD's and Blu rays which I was unable to play . I purchased this multi region player which is small and compact. It was very easy to set up and plays the discs I was previously unable to play. I am very pleased.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

New blue Ray DVD +

BDPS3700 01/12/2021 by BbuFf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it about 11.22.21. It works most of the time, I’m on a sat. Internet so timing might be the problem.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

What a shame!,

BDP-S3700 28/11/2021 by Billyelliott59 (United Kingdom)

Set up easy and great picture from dvds and the apps initially. Got this one so I could play dvds but also to turn our TV into a smart one. Unfortunately the YouTube channel would be OK for a short time then freeze, next day not load at all then having reset everything get the freezing or not loading. In the end took it back and got a refund. Looking at the Internet the YouTube app seems to be a common issue. So...Great dvd but forget the apps. Always been a fan of Sony but not so much now!,

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony Support Team
01/12/2021

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to hear about your experience. We appreciate that the failure of any product is both disappointing and inconvenient. As a manufacturer, Sony endeavours to ensure that all of our products meet our reputation for excellent quality and reliability. However, one of the limitations of electronics is that on some occasion’s products may fail.

We want to highlight that in case you needed any assistance or had any questions about the product, don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support UK

0

Perfect Performance At A Low Cost

BDPS3700 22/11/2021 by Jingles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I followed the installation instructions exactly as written and when I powered it up, it was completely ready to use with no negative issues at all. I am very pleased with this machine. The compact size is an added bonus because it fits perfectly under the TV and has a clean appearance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0